Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 64 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

64 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

64 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
49
4 stars
7
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 stars
2
1-20 of 62 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 62 total reviews
1-20 of 62 reviews
Weak but beautiful
1/15/2016

Customer review by Summer

3.0 stars 1/15/2016 by Summer
by Summer

Despite reading negative reviews, I bought this polish anyways hoping it wouldn't be true (because it's soo pretty). But it's true, this is a weak polish that chipped on the first day. I even used a thick layer of my best top coat.

Summer
Tampa, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Beautiful and fast-drying
1/10/2016

Customer review by amandahere

5.0 stars 1/10/2016 by amandahere
by amandahere

I bought this on a whim and am so glad I did. It is such a beautiful rose gold color and has a nice metallic sheen. It applied easily and without streaks. I only put one coat on and it looks great. Dried super fast, too. Love how it looks with my light olive complexion. So happy.

amandahere
Clovis, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
fast drying & great color
1/7/2016

Customer review by mnv13

5.0 stars 1/7/2016 by mnv13
by mnv13

this has been my favorite Essie color forever. dries in just a few minutes and is the perfect shade of gold. honestly I don't get how it dries so fast but I always use it when I need to paint my nails quickly

mnv13
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not a mirror finish
12/11/2015

Customer review by anna627

1.0 stars 12/11/2015 by anna627
by anna627

I searched all over for this color and I was so excited when I found it. I'm very disappointed with it. It's not a mirror finish like other people will lead you to believe. Mine turned out shiny silver and I didn't want that. I wanted the chrome I'd seen online.

anna627
Charlotte, NC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Shade like no other!
11/15/2015

Customer review by kj22

5.0 stars 11/15/2015 by kj22
by kj22

This is the best quick dry, metallic shade I have ever tried. Always get compliments from people all around the world. I've been through quite a number of bottles already. Addicted forever!

kj22
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
GORGEOUS color - won't go on perfectly
10/9/2015

Customer review by NOLA

4.0 stars 10/9/2015 by NOLA
by NOLA

I absolutely love this rose gold/copper color!! It goes on smoothly but will show every line and imperfection. That being said, the color is worth it! Don't use this color as a quick application. Give yourself the time to do a proper manicure and there won't be any issues! I did not have issues with chipping but I put a top coat on every other day and that may be helpful for this one! LOVE LOVE LOVE!! Great color even for court each day!

NOLA
New Orleans, LA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love it!
10/7/2015

Customer review by katiebat

5.0 stars 10/7/2015 by katiebat
by katiebat

This is my favorite nail color, and it's especially great for Fall and Winter when you don't always want to wear a dark color. It also lasts a long time on my nails <3

katiebat
Los Angeles, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Long lasting polish.
8/31/2012

Customer review by cpolish

5.0 stars 8/31/2012 by cpolish
by cpolish

This is the longest lasting chrome polish I have ever used. It even holds up when used on toe nails, through dishwashing, and doesnt require a top coat.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cpolish
Muncie, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
mixed feelings about this one!
8/16/2015

Customer review by addieee22

3.0 stars 8/16/2015 by addieee22
by addieee22

This really is not one of essie best polishes but it is definitely not the worst! I goes on nicely in one coat but it is very streaky and when you put on another layer to cover up the streaks it just adds more. But it's been holding up pretty well! I had it on for about a week now and there is only a minimal amount of chipping. To other people it looks beautiful because you can't really see the streaks until your'e very close. So if you want a polish other people will love and your have the strength to not be bothered by the way it looks up close then this is the polish for you!

addieee22
Simpsonville, SC, United States
Color = AMAZING. longevity = ziltch.
9/4/2015

Customer review by meander

3.0 stars 9/4/2015 by meander
by meander

I'm giving this 2.5 stars because the color alone is just a stunner; however, without a top coat this will start fading/rubbing off (not really chipping) in a couple hours. With a top coat, it still doesn't last very long, unfortunately (2-3 days). I would recommend though simply based on the color and shine of it. Gets lots of compliments, but I've never seen a polish fade SO FAST. Definitely needs a quality top coat to last beyond the morning.

meander
New York, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gold, good and great
8/4/2015

Customer review by marina_girl

4.0 stars 8/4/2015 by marina_girl
by marina_girl

Lovely finish and great to apply. The Essie shades have a large variety and are available in many dreamy colors.Wear it and be surprised as to how good it is!

marina_girl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Beautiful color
6/1/2015

Customer review by BubbaT

5.0 stars 6/1/2015 by BubbaT
by BubbaT

I bought this on "clearance" at the local pharmacy. I thought it was pretty in the bottle. Only after I applied both coats did I totally fall in love with the color! I will definitely wear again and again!

BubbaT
California, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best chrome polish
12/22/2013

Customer review by Middleagedme

5.0 stars 12/22/2013 by Middleagedme
by Middleagedme
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is my first Essie brand polish and I really like it. I have other (cheaper) chrome polishes that although have pretty color/shine, their quality just doesn't compare to Essie. Nice color and shine and the best quality for chrome polish I've used. Definitely recommend this polish.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Middleagedme
West Bend, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Essie 'Penny Talk'
11/25/2012

Customer review by TheMeter

5.0 stars 11/25/2012 by TheMeter
by TheMeter

I love Essie polishes for their formula, application, and durability. Essie's 'Penny Talk' is a beautiful rose gold color. Do a search for the color online and you'll easily find many swatches to get an idea of what it'll look like once its applied. Really beautiful, highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheMeter
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
How is this so highly rated??
2/27/2015

Customer review by MsAnnie

1.0 stars 2/27/2015 by MsAnnie
by MsAnnie

Maybe I got a bad batch or something because this is quite possibly the WORST essie polish I have ever used (and I own easily a couple dozen colors). But it's streaky and clumpy and it is sooooo hard to apply evenly. Even with a good base and top coat, I can barely get it to look halfway normal which is really disappointing because I am a huge fan of this color. I wish it performed half as well as the metallics from Orly. But this was a complete dud for me.

MsAnnie
Orange County, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
This is the best color I've ever tried ever!
11/15/2014

Customer review by Imelda

5.0 stars 11/15/2014 by Imelda
by Imelda

I love this polish. It really lasts too and stays shiny. It looks good on my fair skin. I tend to be a Fiji girl and just bought this on impulse. It was on a display with a few dark colors for fall. I thought, "Oh, dark is in just great!, that metallic one is the only one I can stand,hmm, maybe I should try it". I wasn't at all sure about it. I brought it to my next pedicure and I decided I love it. I have looked at other metallics and this is great. Not just metallic, but purple too. I think it is pretty dark on me, but I think it's beautiful. Thanks, Essie!

Imelda
Chicago
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
funky but classy look
7/26/2014

Customer review by Sandy77

5.0 stars 7/26/2014 by Sandy77
by Sandy77

I bought this color to compliment a dress I was wearing to a wedding. First of all, I dont normally buy Essie because its a little more expensive than other drug store brands and I buy quite alot of polish. After I was done, it reminded me that u get what u pay for! The 1st coat went on with just 3 strokes of the brush on each nail. And looked fabulous! The chrome color looked sleek, like a glossy mirror, glitter free. It was funky yet appropriate to wear anywhere. I was running late, so I skipped the top coat. 3 days later it still looked freshly painted. Highly recommend!!

Sandy77
Central MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice Pop!
10/9/2014

Customer review by tangela12

4.0 stars 10/9/2014 by tangela12
by tangela12

I bought this color because I decided I needed the staple of black, gold and silver in my collection. I've never bought essie nail polish before so I was hesitant in trying it out, but I love LOVE the color. It has a nice metallic pop to it without being too bright or shiny. It goes on smoothly, and doesn't chip in a few days like some of my other brand nail polish does. Since buying this I've bought 2 more and love them all equally :) Can't wait to add more to my collection!

tangela12
Santa Cruz, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
wonderful color
12/10/2014

Customer review by Janell_007

4.0 stars 12/10/2014 by Janell_007
by Janell_007

I bought this color after seeing it on pinterest and falling hard for it. Its metallic sheen is what makes it pretty but also makes it necessary to apply 2 solid coats of the somewhat streaky color. If it came out as a cream instead of a frost it would be easier to apply, but I haven't seen a shade this pretty in a metallic in Essie before; hence the review.

Janell_007
Memphis, TN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It is very metallic but purple
1/12/2015

Customer review by jackyb

5.0 stars 1/12/2015 by jackyb
by jackyb

I picked this thinking it would be sheer. It actually is not. It goes on opaque even first coat. It is eye catching but very cool. It shines like a mirror but a purple mirror. I wear my nails very short, just barely popping over and it looks like a million dollars.

jackyb
central nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 62 total reviews
1-20 of 62 reviews