Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 253 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

253 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

253 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

54%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
99
4 stars
34
3 stars
27
2 stars
26
1 stars
67
1-20 of 251 total reviews
54%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 251 total reviews
1-20 of 251 reviews
Worst mascara from Maybelline!
2/6/2017

Customer review by MDLAM

1.0 stars 2/6/2017 by MDLAM
by MDLAM

I am fairly loyal to Maybelline mascaras and decided to give this one a try. As soon as I opened it up, the brush looked damaged. I have attached a picture. I did go ahead and try the formula. The brush was too flexible and several coats required. I did like that it was easy to remove although it is waterproof.

MDLAM
Toronto
Would recommend to a friend? No
Eye color:Brown
Skin type:Combination
Floppy brush.
1/22/2017

Customer review by Nanny D

1.0 stars 1/22/2017 by Nanny D
by Nanny D

time to try new mascaras. Mega Plush Volum' Express was 1 of 3 diff. ones I choose. I am unable to get enough pressure to apply it. The flex of the brush is too floppy. .

Nanny D
Amarillo, TX.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Eye color:Hazel
Skin type:Normal
Soft, Voluminous Lashes
10/31/2016

Customer review by LizzieM296

4.0 stars 10/31/2016 by LizzieM296
by LizzieM296

I bought this after Miss Manga was discontinued (which was probably for the best, as I would occassionally experience breakage with that formula). I wanted a mascara that wouldn't be too heavy, but would volumize my lashes. Mega Plush does the trick! I curl my lashes, apply one coat, and my lashes not only look fuller, but they don't lose their curl thanks to the lightweight gel/mousse formula. The wand does an excellent job of coating each lash on the first swipe (I've found it works best of I "roll" the brush upward from lash root to tip). A great product for anyone looking for a lightweight formula that adds a lot of volume! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

LizzieM296
Tupelo, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Eye color:Brown
Best Volumizing Formula Yet
8/14/2012

Customer review by AutumnMiss

5.0 stars 8/14/2012 by AutumnMiss
by AutumnMiss

I will start by stating I have been using Maybelline mascaras for 20 years. My first was Great Lash (of course). Whenever there is a new formula, I buy it. So when I saw this lovely blue tube, I grabbed it - fast! It was love at first swipe!!! This is one of the best formulas and brushes introduced in recent years. I saw from the other reviewers that The Falsies gets a lot of love - and I can't deny they are great - but this lightweight formula doesn't clump and dry out quickly as the Falsies formulas do for me. I usually take forever to apply my mascara (I'm a perfectionist), but this just takes a couple of swipes and wiggles and my lashes are perfectly volumized and separated. I constantly get compliments at work and people ask me if they are fake! LOL Also, my lashes stay soft (definitely less shedding), and removing this formula is a breeze. Very well done, Maybelline!

AutumnMiss
Amazing Product!
9/21/2016

Customer review by Jess11

5.0 stars 9/21/2016 by Jess11
by Jess11

This product works amazing. Is great when you want to go swimming or to the beach &still have amazing lashes. My go to mascara for summer.

Jess11
A Great Underrated Smudge Proof Mascara
3/30/2014

Customer review by kaiulani124

4.0 stars 3/30/2014 by kaiulani124
by kaiulani124

I have tried many high end and low end brands of mascara. I have been searching for an inexpensive non-waterproof mascara. My former waterproof ones gave me the following problems: 1) brittle lashes, 2) lashes falling out, 3) stinging eyes when mascara flakes fell into my eyes, 4) difficult to remove. My biggest problem with regular non-waterproofs is that they smudge. After watching a youtube review claiming that this one does not smudge, I decided to give it a try. I am happy that I did because although it is not the most lengthening, it really doesn't leave darkness under my eyes. It also doesn't cause any stinging, my lashes are soft, and it is easy to remove at the end of the day. Best of all, the price at Walmart is amazing!!! I will definitely purchase this again.

kaiulani124
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Extremely uncomfortable....
2/21/2013

Customer review by kmarshall937

1.0 stars 2/21/2013 by kmarshall937
by kmarshall937

I don't think I have ever been this regretful of purchasing a Maybelline product until this one. Not only do I feel the brush is horrible but I have also realized that after wearing this mascara for only a couple of hours it starts to flake off into my eyes. This is somewhat painful and extremely uncomfortable! I found myself in the middle of work unable to see my PC due to the scratchiness in my eyes. I had to go to the restroom to get it off and flush my eyes. For the rest of the day I looked horrible due to the red and puffiness, everyone kept asking me if I was okay and had to explain myself several times. Definitely a bad day! I would not recommend it to anyone!

kmarshall937
Good for a young person
3/4/2013

Customer review by KellyRuth

1.0 stars 3/4/2013 by KellyRuth
by KellyRuth

First off, I do not care for the brush. It is so flexible, it does not press against my lashes, so I am unable to firmly apply the product. The product must need to be firmly applied as it is so light that after several applications, my lashes only seemed to have a slight dark tint to them. If you have a teen who wants to start wearing eye makeup, this mascara would be a good start as it is so light and hard to detect. It was just not for me as I am looking for something extreme with a false lash look. There was no volume to this mascara at all, and I actually am not sure how they can call it that..very deceiving. I guess I do not like gel mousse formulas!

KellyRuth
The Best Mascara Ive Tried So Far
12/28/2012

Customer review by SLJ716

4.0 stars 12/28/2012 by SLJ716
by SLJ716

I decided to try this even after reading some of the bad reviews it got. It's very buildable and gives me more volume and curl then the Flared Falsies or the Great Lash. The waterproof also seems more smudgeproof then the Falsies. It doesn't give me serious raccoon eyes like the Falsies did. Now it doesn't make my lashes all plush and soft as I thought it would. They are a little less hard and brittle then with other mascaras I've tried. I heard some people complain about the flexi brush. I was prepared to clean off the brush from my old Falsies mascara and use that instead. But the brush really isn't that bad. Overall I really like this mascara.

SLJ716
Horrible!
12/18/2012

Customer review by CurlyGirly

1.0 stars 12/18/2012 by CurlyGirly
by CurlyGirly

I recently purchased Mega Plush Mascara. I am very disappointed in both products. The mascara itself is very thick and weighs down my lashes, leaving them clumped and heavy. The wands are wiggly and the brush is not as pictured. My sister is a makeup artist and I asked her what I was doing wrong, she had me show her how I was applying the make-up and she said I was doing everything correct according to the provided instructions. I wish I would have never wasted my money on these two items which I now just want to throw away. Your advertising is very false.

CurlyGirly
Big soft lashes!
9/4/2012

Customer review by Trish51

5.0 stars 9/4/2012 by Trish51
by Trish51

As someone who wears contacts mascara can get very irritating. I purchased the waterproof version of this mascara and used it for the first time and I love it! I have big lashes with lots of volume but my lashes don't feel thick and stiff. They are so soft and the mascara doesn't flake off and get into my contacts. I definitely recommend this for anyone who wears contacts and hates having thick gunky lashes. You can barely feel this mascara its like nothing is there, except for the appearance of beautiful thick lashes!

Trish51
Not My Favorite
8/11/2013

Customer review by KM1588

2.0 stars 8/11/2013 by KM1588
by KM1588

I usually have success with any Maybelline mascara that I purchase, but the "Volum' Express The Mega Plush Mascara" was unfortunately the exception. I use this only as a daily mascara, not for evening. It separates my lashes very well, but only lightly coats them. As far as volume goes, there isn't much. I typically could deal with any of these issues, but it is also extremely difficult to remove, which is a deal-breaker for me. However, I LOVE "Great Lash Lots of Lashes" and "Volum' Express One-by-One!"

KM1588
Maybelline is my go to!
8/15/2012

Customer review by RubyElizabeth

5.0 stars 8/15/2012 by RubyElizabeth
by RubyElizabeth

I saw this product on a guru channel from you tube. She raved about it. So naturally I immediately wanted to try it. Maybelline is my go to mascara company that you can buy from the drug store. What I love about product and many other things from this company is that is doesn't clump, it is not drying to the lashes and it doesn't stink like others do. it makes my lashes look phenomenal. I naturally have long lashes anyway and mega blush makes me stand out! Recommend it to anyone!

RubyElizabeth
mega plush mascara
6/16/2013

Customer review by cassandrasharp

3.0 stars 6/16/2013 by cassandrasharp
by cassandrasharp

i think this mega plush mascara is a pretty good mascara. even though my eyelashes are brown i feel that they dont really show up so i love putting on alot of black mascara to really make them stand out and this mascara really does the trick and makes my lashes look super thick and full. id say its my 3rd favorite mascara. my current favorite is the falsies black drama mascara just cuz it gives me a longer fuller look. sometimes i put on both to get extreme lashes.

cassandrasharp
Love the fibre extenders
2/3/2016

Customer review by Imzadigirl

5.0 stars 2/3/2016 by Imzadigirl
by Imzadigirl

The brush is very flexible but easy to get used to. Love the fibre extension formula, makes my lashes very full and super-long! This is my new favorite!!

Imzadigirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
Great for long lashes
1/17/2016

Customer review by Jamie9lynn

5.0 stars 1/17/2016 by Jamie9lynn
by Jamie9lynn

Favorite mascara and wand ever. Doesn't dry up quickly in the tube. Wand is awkward at first because it is very bendy, but then so soft and easy to use once you get used to it. Does not clump at all!!

Jamie9lynn
Beautiful Formula, Terrible Brush
9/6/2013

Customer review by mascara-addict

3.0 stars 9/6/2013 by mascara-addict
by mascara-addict

I was so hesitant about buying this mascara but the commercials sold me.The formula is exceptional. It coats every lash perfectly, dries quickly, but it isn't hard to apply a second and third coat. The only problem I had was the brush. The brissles (is that a word?) weren't tough enough and didn't help give my lashes the lift they needed. I wish they would pair this formula up with a brush comparable to One by One or The Rocket.

mascara-addict
Truly disappointed.
2/25/2013

Customer review by Jenny

1.0 stars 2/25/2013 by Jenny
by Jenny

I am throughly upset with the quality of the product I bought. Not only was it did it give no soft volume, the tube itself was poor quality, as I pulled out the mascara application brush the rest of the black rubber/plastic came along with it- not allowing me to wipe the the excess of the application brush. Because of my trouble, especially since my trouble happened while on vacation, I will not be buying this product again.

Jenny
Would recommend to a friend? No
Eye color:Green
Scratchy and little results
2/16/2013

Customer review by Erica42

1.0 stars 2/16/2013 by Erica42
by Erica42

Before I bought the mega plush I had the colossal volume and decided to opt for something a bit less drastic. Well I certainly got less drastic by way more than I was bargaining for! I've had drugstore brands that did more for my lashes than the mega plush. Plus the bristles are so scratchy!! I wanted to try some other Maybelline products but now I'm concerned that they wont be worth the cost just like the mega plex.

Erica42
Mega Pluss :)
11/18/2012

Customer review by Blondiee

3.0 stars 11/18/2012 by Blondiee
by Blondiee

I have to say its not my favorite mascara by Maybelline but its not bad. First, of i would like to say that the bad thing is that it makes my eyelashes stick to each other and that gets annoying.Next it makes them look flakey and really stiff, But what i like about it is that its waterproof and even though my eyelashes look stiff they do look bold whitch is not so bad.But i would not buy this product again!

Blondiee
1-20 of 251 total reviews
1-20 of 251 reviews