Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 27 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

27 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

27 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

58%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
10
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 stars
7
1-20 of 25 total reviews
58%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 25 total reviews
1-20 of 25 reviews
Worst mascara from Maybelline!
2/6/2017

Customer review by MDLAM

1.0 stars 2/6/2017 by MDLAM
by MDLAM

I am fairly loyal to Maybelline mascaras and decided to give this one a try. As soon as I opened it up, the brush looked damaged. I have attached a picture. I did go ahead and try the formula. The brush was too flexible and several coats required. I did like that it was easy to remove although it is waterproof.

MDLAM
Toronto
Would recommend to a friend? No
Eye color:Brown
Skin type:Combination
Great product
6/17/2015

Customer review by Hithereee

5.0 stars 6/17/2015 by Hithereee
by Hithereee

Loved this mascara, this mascara never made my eyelashes clumpy and they were never flaky, the mascara held all day! My lashes looked longer and thicker.

Hithereee
Keswick ontario
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Age:14 - 18
Great, but has it's flaws
3/1/2017

Customer review by kiana

4.0 stars 3/1/2017 by kiana
by kiana

#WalmartContest I have very thick, long, straight lashes, so most mascaras just don’t work for me—I usually end up with a clumpy black mess that weighs my lashes down even more. I debated trying something from a higher-end brand but saw a review about this mascara, and, because it was so affordable, I decided on a whim to just pick it up and try it out. Because mascara tends to give a different result for each individual depending on their lashes, I was afraid it would be another fail, but I ended up loving it! Of course, it has its flaws (as do most beauty products), but it does a great job, and for a great price. PROS: -This stuff does a phenomenal job at keeping my eyelashes curled. In the past and with other products, I’ve curled my eyelashes and then applied the mascara, but instead of holding the curl, the mascara makes them sink back down to the way they were. This mascara does the opposite. It holds and even adds to the curl, and of course darkens the lashes. -I hear that a lot of people aren’t a fan of the wand of this mascara, as it’s very flexible and bendy, but I actually prefer it. It gives you a little more control of the amount of product you’re distributing on your lashes, as opposed to a traditional wand that just kind of clumps the product on there. It’s easy to build the mascara up to your liking. -It comes off easily with coconut oil. Many waterproof mascaras are an absolute pain to remove when the day is done—after all, it’s formulated to stay on your lashes under harsh circumstances! However, this product is pretty easy to remove completely with coconut oil. However, I don’t use any other eye makeup remover so I can’t speak to traditional makeup remover. CONS -While I haven’t experienced this consistently, there have been times when this mascara clumps a bit. However, it’s easy to work out either with your fingers or an eyelash comb. -If you’re looking for volume, this probably isn’t the mascara for you. I swear by its ability to curl and hold my lashes and I think the product makes them look great, but I do already have thick eyelashes. If you’re satisfied simply with a mascara that gives you a good curl (I am!), go for this--but if you’re wanting to achieve thicker, fuller eyelashes, I’d try something else. -I didn’t buy the waterproof version in order to wear it in the water (I don’t swim with makeup on) but rather because waterproof mascara has the tendency to hold curl better. Therefore, this whole issue doesn’t really affect me--but I tried keeping this product on in the shower and, while it did stay on, it ran a bit and my eyelashes sank drastically. So, if you’re looking for a waterproof mascara to actually wear in the water, I’d say pass on this one.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The only one with a real brush
5/5/2017

Customer review by Blewbary

4.0 stars 5/5/2017 by Blewbary
by Blewbary

I use this mascara because it is the only one with a non-plastic brush left by Mabelline. I really dislike the plastic brushes they put in other mascaras. This formula seems to dry out faster than others and needs replacing sooner, but it does the job for me.

Blewbary
Michigan, United States
Eye color:Blue
7/23/2012

Customer review by tigejang

1.0 stars 7/23/2012 by tigejang
by tigejang

The product was clumpy...I did not like how it went on... and it flaked.

Was this review helpful? (18) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tigejang
laurel ms
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Horrible Product
3/19/2017

Customer review by pixiegirl

1.0 stars 3/19/2017 by pixiegirl
by pixiegirl

The brush bends so much, I am unable to get the mascara on my lashes without multiple applications. Shortly after application my eyes start to burn and itch. I have been wearing mascara since I was a teen and have never had this happen, so I did not associate it with the product at first. I have tried to wear it 3 times and all 3 times my eyes itch and burn until I remove it. Very dissatisfied.

pixiegirl
Longview Wa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Eye color:Hazel
Skin type:Normal
There's a first time for everything ...
8/20/2013

Customer review by chickenpilot

2.0 stars 8/20/2013 by chickenpilot
by chickenpilot
Top 250 contributor

This is the first time I've ever been disappointed with a Maybelline product and I've been using them for many years. I opened the mascara and at first I thought the brush was broken because it bent in the center of the wand. No, that was some sort of new design feature. I found that the flexible wand defeated the purpose of the brush in the first place - to use light pressure to separate the lashes when applying the mascara, and as a result, it was hard to apply and clumped badly once it was applied. So I dug out my old mascara from the trash and replaced the brush with my old one (fortunately, it fit). However, the quality of the mascara itself is not as good as that of the old Maybelline, as it doesn't define the lashes nor extend them. Sorry, Maybelline. Although I still like your products, I won't be purchasing this particular mascara again and would not recommend it to a friend.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chickenpilot
Key Lime Key, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Top 250 contributor
Not for me
1/8/2017

Customer review by Heidi

2.0 stars 1/8/2017 by Heidi
by Heidi
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The brush has a springy bend in it, which makes it hard to put on. It doesn't flow freely across my lashes, so ends up clumpy just like my $3 mascara.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Heidi
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I'm going back to Cover Girl
8/13/2012

Customer review by Lenalee

1.0 stars 8/13/2012 by Lenalee
by Lenalee

There was hardly any mascara in this. It wasn't even really waterproof. It also does NOTHING to make your lashes look fuller. It was not worth the money at all! I'm going back to Cover Girl.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lenalee
Melrose Park, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Floppy brush.
1/22/2017

Customer review by Nanny D

1.0 stars 1/22/2017 by Nanny D
by Nanny D

time to try new mascaras. Mega Plush Volum' Express was 1 of 3 diff. ones I choose. I am unable to get enough pressure to apply it. The flex of the brush is too floppy. .

Nanny D
Amarillo, TX.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Eye color:Hazel
Skin type:Normal
So plush
1/21/2013

Customer review by TheGeekyGuru

5.0 stars 1/21/2013 by TheGeekyGuru
by TheGeekyGuru
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

THis is my HG mascara! The first time i used it i fell in love! I don't get clumps and my lashes feel different from when I use other mascaras! It's more plush and soft.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheGeekyGuru
Baltimore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Age:14 - 18
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Really nice mascara. (Love/hate product)
1/4/2013

Customer review by SarahKayeF

5.0 stars 1/4/2013 by SarahKayeF
by SarahKayeF

When I first bought this I was questionable about the wetness of the product. I didn't like it but after working with it, I love it. I got mine in brownish black because I have golden brown eyes and black looks too dark and would contrast harshly. There is a reasonable amount of product you get, but really not the best. The wand is huge and gets the tiny lashes as well. The formula smells nice, layers well, and is pretty good for all lash types. Not heavy on mine, but for a first time user, it may be. I layer mine with a Mega Protein by wet n wild first as primer to protect and then put 3-4 coats depending on the fullness I want that day. For people who has sparse lashes, you would probably need 4-5 coats. I have long full-ish lashes, but I want thickness at my roots the length and 3-4 coats does the job! Go to and everyday product along with the Volum Falsies.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SarahKayeF
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:14 - 18
Soft, Voluminous Lashes
10/31/2016

Customer review by LizzieM296

4.0 stars 10/31/2016 by LizzieM296
by LizzieM296

I bought this after Miss Manga was discontinued (which was probably for the best, as I would occassionally experience breakage with that formula). I wanted a mascara that wouldn't be too heavy, but would volumize my lashes. Mega Plush does the trick! I curl my lashes, apply one coat, and my lashes not only look fuller, but they don't lose their curl thanks to the lightweight gel/mousse formula. The wand does an excellent job of coating each lash on the first swipe (I've found it works best of I "roll" the brush upward from lash root to tip). A great product for anyone looking for a lightweight formula that adds a lot of volume! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

LizzieM296
Tupelo, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Eye color:Brown
Received free product:Yes
Full lashes
8/8/2012

Customer review by NewDays

4.0 stars 8/8/2012 by NewDays
by NewDays

I like that it makes the lashes look much fuller. Love it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NewDays
Houston, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Awesome lashes
11/18/2016

Customer review by Txmomma

5.0 stars 11/18/2016 by Txmomma
by Txmomma
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I just love this mascara... my lashes are long and thick without the clumps.. I got 4 compliments the 1st time I tried it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Txmomma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A Great Underrated Smudge Proof Mascara
3/30/2014

Customer review by kaiulani124

4.0 stars 3/30/2014 by kaiulani124
by kaiulani124

I have tried many high end and low end brands of mascara. I have been searching for an inexpensive non-waterproof mascara. My former waterproof ones gave me the following problems: 1) brittle lashes, 2) lashes falling out, 3) stinging eyes when mascara flakes fell into my eyes, 4) difficult to remove. My biggest problem with regular non-waterproofs is that they smudge. After watching a youtube review claiming that this one does not smudge, I decided to give it a try. I am happy that I did because although it is not the most lengthening, it really doesn't leave darkness under my eyes. It also doesn't cause any stinging, my lashes are soft, and it is easy to remove at the end of the day. Best of all, the price at Walmart is amazing!!! I will definitely purchase this again.

kaiulani124
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Holds curl, fanned out lashes
1/8/2015

Customer review by RebekahE

5.0 stars 1/8/2015 by RebekahE
by RebekahE

This curl works great for me. I have fairly long lashes, but they don't have natural curl. I have to curl my lashes, and I hate wet mascaras because they ruin the curl. This mascara is fairly dry, lightweight, doesn't clump on me, doesn't make my lashes stick together at all, and makes my lashes look feathered out and beautiful. The waterproof formula stays on all day, just keep in mind that you need an oil-based makeup remover to get the mascara off.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RebekahE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love the fibre extenders
2/3/2016

Customer review by Imzadigirl

5.0 stars 2/3/2016 by Imzadigirl
by Imzadigirl

The brush is very flexible but easy to get used to. Love the fibre extension formula, makes my lashes very full and super-long! This is my new favorite!!

Imzadigirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
No raccoon eyes
1/5/2015

Customer review by Christine T

5.0 stars 1/5/2015 by Christine T
by Christine T
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've used every high end Muscaria at Sephora and this cheap one ends up being the best. I have oily eyelids which leaves smudges under my eyes halfway through the day but this is the only mascara other than makeup forever that does not cause this.

Christine T
Toronto, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
What I've been looking for!
3/16/2015

Customer review by 4kidsin3years

5.0 stars 3/16/2015 by 4kidsin3years
by 4kidsin3years

My eyelashes have thinned out since I turned 40 and I've tried many mascaras to try to lengthen and bold them. This mascara does just that. Super length and boldness. Not as bold as Voluminous, but full, fanned long eye lashes!

4kidsin3years
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
1-20 of 25 total reviews
1-20 of 25 reviews