Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 220 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

220 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

220 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
1-20 of 220 total reviews
Would recommend to a friend



1-20 of 220 total reviews
1-20 of 220 reviews
Greatly lacking wheel design takes all joy out of ownership.

Customer review by normajeanne

3.0 stars 7/31/2014 by normajeanne
by normajeanne

This is the second time I've purchased this same model of machine. I purchased the first one about two years, and was completely satisfied with its performance. Therefore, three months ago I bought a new one and, knowing someone who needed a good vacuum, I happily gave the older one away. Unlike the first machine, however, with this second one, both the wheels keeps falling off at the slightest turn of the machine on carpet or difference in floor elevation. I'm not referring here just on deep pile or shagged carpet, I'm talking about on flat floors going onto mats and area rugs, for goodness sake!! The wheels come off a dozen times or more in the course of one room, this is not a small issue at all. I'm submitting this review not only for myself, but I bragged so much about the first machine that my neighbor bought one also, and the same thing is happening with hers. Extremely embarrassing. What's the deal, Bissell? What fix have you got to keep the wheels on the machine?

Comment from Lisa - 8/4/2014

Thank you for your review. We're sorry for your difficulty. You do have a one year warranty and we want to help. Please click at this link so we can send a set of wheels out to you.

Tampa, FL, USA
Little Powerhouse!

Customer review by MamaenFuego

5.0 stars 9/29/2012 by MamaenFuego
by MamaenFuego

I bought this product at a local box chain store after looking at several cordless stick vacuums and realizing the ones with enough power were out of my budget. This unit happened to be on sale and so I grabbed the last unit. I couldn't wait to try it out at home. I was so pleased with this vacuum! My house is 90% hard wood floors, and I have a few low profile rugs. This vacuum worked great on both surfaces. I should also add that I have two dogs, a rabbit and two kids (3 & 6). I have alot of dog hair, dust and just plain junk from my kids. This little vacuum sucked up all the hair and dust and bits of debris. IT IS NOT good for sucking up cereal or other objects unless you use the hose alone. So far I am extremely happy with this purchase, especially for the price. It's a light weight powerhouse and the house fits with all my old vacuum attachments so I am one happy mommy. Thank you Bissell for making such a great product at a price families can afford.

Surprise, AZ, USA

Customer review by nursehelp

5.0 stars 8/31/2012 by nursehelp
by nursehelp

I bought this vaccum as a replacement for my electrolux that wore out. It has great suction. Cleans carpet and hardwood floors very well. It will suck up my throw rugs on high suction. The only thing I don't like about it is the brush that came with it. Bristles seem to cover the opening so I use my brush from my electrolux with this vaccum. It is easy to move on carpet and has a long hose and electrical cord. Great vaccum.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cabins, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week

Customer review by Nursetrodamus

1.0 stars 7/18/2015 by Nursetrodamus
by Nursetrodamus

I have had nothing but problems with this product since I bought it about 2 months ago. The ONLY possible "benefit" of this vacuum is that I never have to empty the cup. Now let me tell you why: the dirt/dust/hair never gets sucked all the way into the cup, it builds up in the hose and where the hose connects. To vacuum 2 rooms, I have to stop about 3 times to detach the hose, pull out all the floor dirt with my fingers, then turn the whole vacuum upside down to remove the dirt from where the hose connects. Needless to say, this is a messy and disgusting process. I am a clean person, who vacuums regularly and I have 1 short haired dog; I don't have the vacuuming needs of the world on my shoulders. This product cannot handle regular cleaning, or even light cleaning. I have tried again and again to figure out how the engineering of this vacuum has failed so miserably, but there is no apparent reason that the dirt can't get sucked up. This is the worst product I've purchased in a long time. If you want your floors to be clean, this is NOT the product for you. :(

Comment from Barbara - 7/22/2015

Thanks for your review. What you described is a large clog in your machine. It's good you took the upholstery hose off to clean; however, you need something long to push the clog through. A broom stick handle works great to push any hair through to the other end. Also, the filters need to be clean for good airflow. The best part is the foam filters are hand washable with mild soap. Make sure they are dry before reinstalling.

Wilmington, NC, USA
great disappointment

Customer review by jess

1.0 stars 9/22/2014 by jess
by jess

i purchased this vacuum in july when i moved to a new apartment because i only had a stick vac. I was very excited because it was fuschia!!! when i got it out of the box it worked famously and was great. but after the first use it stopped sucking up anything at all. the hose from the floor to the dirt trap was easily clogged so i cleaned itout thinking that it would restore suction, but no such luck. the unit now isnt even picking up dirt or anything its just pushing it around and in the air. i know this because there isnt even any dirt or anything in the dirt cup or the lint filter. i dont have any animals either. i would understand if i was trying to suck up giant fur balls. but it is for a small 2 bedroom apartment. the hose doesnt suck up anything. i tried to use the attachments to clean around my baseboards and it doesnt even have enough to suck up lint or stick to my hand!!! all in all the 3 months that i have owned this product it has done nothing but fall short. i would say that this product sucks... but it doesnt. and its suppose to. would not recommend it.

Comment from Lisa - 9/25/2014

Thank you for your review. We're sorry for the disappointment. No worries, we can get your machine working great again. We do have a few tips to share to make sure all areas are free of clogs. Please see this link:

great falls, mt
Its a joke

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 8/18/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This product claims that it helps to clean up pet hair and that it is the best option to do so. In reality, this vacuum should never be sold. Not only does the main head of the vacuum not work, all the other options have holes about the size of 2 quarters. It does not clean any carpets, wood floors, couches or any other furniture item around. It barely picks up dust off of the tops of cabinets! Overall, the Bissel PowerGroom Pet vacuum is a waste of anyone's time and money and no one should buy it.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Lost suction within 30 min of FIRST use!

Customer review by Flyinirish

1.0 stars 4/14/2013 by Flyinirish
by Flyinirish

I simply can't believe it but it's true! Just bought this vacuum cleaner today for my 1,400 sq. ft. house which is only about 900 sf of carpet of carpet. So the first 15-20 min. was great and I'm thinking "WOW - nice suction and NO mess to dump the cup" unlike my Eureka which had cyclone filter inside dirt canister that was AWFUL to clean every time I had to dump the cup!. I have a *very* short shag cut carpet throughout and cream-colored berber in bedroom. I get to the berber and notice that vacuum cleaner is just pushing the debris around on the carpet. Pulled the hose off to feel suction and NOTHING. Turned it over and brush was spinning, nothing stuck, clogged, etc. Just no suction. And that's all it's doing now so it's BACK to the store to dump it off and get a Dirt Devil, which has always been a great product for me!. This is an AWFUL, CHEAPLY-MADE product!!! Unbelievable!!!

Comment from Lisa - 4/15/2013

We are sorry for your trouble. The Powerforce compact vacuum is for light pick up; it sounds as if there may be hair/debris clogging your machine. Please remove the hose, and run a broom stick handle through the hose to see if any clogs can be remove. Also, there may be hair in the foot hose. Hopefully this will help you out.

Seattle, WA
WOW! What a GREAT machine!

Customer review by Donna2

5.0 stars 6/7/2015 by Donna2
by Donna2

I recently purchased this product for our RV, as I was looking for something compact and lightweight to leave in the 5th wheel. I decided today to try it out in my house just to see how it would work. I have to say I am TOTALLY impressed with this vacuum! I never considered myself a excellent housekeeper, I'm more "It's time clean when nothing else is on the schedule" type of person. But i do manage to vacuum a few times a week. After using the PowerForce Compact today, I guess I should have been vacuuming everyday. I was amazed at the amount of dirt and crime that came out of my carpet and upholstery. I showed my husband the results and his comment was "well maybe it's time to retire that Eureka and use this in the house". I'm thinking I might just have to go out and but another one just so I can have one in the house and one in the 5th wheel. Wow what a great machine.

Mount Clemens, MI, USA
Save your precious dollars

Customer review by Trish

1.0 stars 11/11/2014 by Trish
by Trish

Please think twice before purchasing this vacuum. Spend $20-30 more and really GET something. I had this vacuum a mere year--and then the wheels began coming off. Each time I swung around a corner or piece of furniture off popped a wheel. I finally had to manually lift and maneuver it until I could hie myself to the nearest store to get something better. When I vacuumed around the cat's litter box it only "picked up" about half of any scatterings and if I then had to lift the vacuum over a sill, it spit out the half it had suctioned! (Grit striking bare legs isn't pleasant.) It also kept retaining things under the "screen" that covers the brush roll. This entailed removing five Philips screws, carefully taking off the cover, then cleaning inside, hoping not to disturb the rubber belt when doing so.. Save your precious dollars and get something better designed than this model.

Comment from Lisa - 11/20/2014

Thank you for your review. You do have a warranty with your machine, and we want to help. Please see this link:

Baltimore, MD
Great Dorm Room Vac

Customer review by CollegeStudent

4.0 stars 4/29/2014 by CollegeStudent
by CollegeStudent

I bought this vacuum for my dorm room 6 months ago, and I use it about every week on my carpets. It's great because it's lightweight and picks up dirt and hair and whatever else you might find in a girl's carpet just as well as some of the more expensive vacuums do. It also works on the tile/laminate flooring fairly well, but really just buy a cheaper vacuum if that's all you need it for. It's easy to empty when it fills up, and the filter comes out easily as well for easy cleaning. The only thing that warrants four stars instead of five is that whatever kind of plastic it's made out of lets everything stick to it -- so when I'm vacuuming or emptying the filter, dust does cling to the outside and needs to be wiped off. But beyond that, I'm happy with it and I don't mind wiping it down once in a while -- everything needs to be dusted at some point anyway!

Dont waste your money

Customer review by Not happy about this product

1.0 stars 9/5/2012 by Not happy about this product
by Not happy about this product

You certainly get what you pay for. I just moved into a new home, got a new vaccume for our new home, and it is horrible. It does not suck hardly anything up, you have to go over the stuff three or four times, and I find that I have to empty it twice before I am finished vacumming my living room. Yes I do have children, however, we do not wear our shoes in the house, and so I cant imagine why it would be this difficult for a brand new vaccumme to clean my carpet in one room only ( the only room there is carpet in). I have had this for one month, and the belt has already broken. Yes it is lightweight, however, I believe because it is so lightweight it is a cheaper version of their better vaccum modles. Dont waste your moeny, spend the extra to get a better vaccum, in the end thats what we are going to do , and be out our 40.00 we spent on this one.

Not happy about this product
Poor Quality

Customer review by Cat2012Lover

1.0 stars 11/14/2012 by Cat2012Lover
by Cat2012Lover

I unpacked the vacuum, opened the canister to make sure there was a bag in place and the latch fell apart. At this point the machine was not operational and I returned for a refund.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Marion, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Vacuum is not good.

Customer review by tbrad

1.0 stars 6/10/2014 by tbrad
by tbrad

I bought the compact vacuum to save space and money since it was bagless. I was a bit hesitant because it looked and felt similar to a toy vacuum. It worked a few times and then it started blowing the dirt back on the floor. I have emptied the debris cup, cleared the hoses and cleaned any and all brushes to no avail. It picks up sometimes but that is rare. Even though I vacuum my carpet a few times a week, most of my rooms with carpet look as if I never vacuumed at all. It has been like this since I bought it a year ago. This vacuum needs to go back to the product development team for a redesign. It states surface type for carpet, upholstery and bare floors. Umm, interesting, perhaps small rugs and even the upholstery since you would need to use the attachments. This vacuum does not work and is a waste of money. I do not recommend this vacuum. It is going in the trash since I just bought a new vacuum that works. I probably should have returned the compact vacuum to the store when I bought it a year ago. Save your frustration and do not buy this vacuum at all. Simply terrible. I usually do not leave review but this is the worse vacuum I have used.

Redding, CT, USA
My Dyson is Jealous

Customer review by JustB

5.0 stars 9/23/2012 by JustB
by JustB

After I used this little vacuum a few times, I got on line and e-mailed Bissell to tell them how much I loved it and now I have the opportunity to tell more people! I have been through many many vacuums of many kinds from battery to turbine and from stick to Dyson (I even sold Rainbows long ago) and I simply cannot believe the job this little one does! I haven't touched the Dyson since I got it. I'm going to go get another one in case Bissell stops making them or something. We have three dogs, two of them very hairy. I use this every day and every day I am amazed again. And for that price??? How can it be? I use this on wall to wall carpet, throw rugs, tile floor, wood floor, all of it and it doesn't throw stuff out the back on the hard floors like most vacuums do. It's easy to use, easy to maintain, and easy to clean. I too wish the cord were longer, but, hey, nobody's perfect! I had one little issue with it that wasn't really even a problem, but Bissell replaced it, unasked, in case it was a problem. Who does that? It's so light, so fast, so efficient, so effective, I cannot thank Bissell enough. And the dogs thank them too; they're not even afraid of this one : )

Venice, FL, USA
Little Yet Fierce

Customer review by HappyHomemaker

4.0 stars 3/5/2015 by HappyHomemaker
by HappyHomemaker

Needless to say after countless days wasted sweeping up primarily dog hair; my husband bought this for me back in June 2014. We have two dogs and hardwood/tile floors. It's nice to no longer have to spend countless hours sweeping up dog hair thanks to the PowerForce. With that aside there have been a few times that the hair has bunched up in the primary separator area. Which has caused it's own share of messes to clean up. Though that's no reason not to give this vacuum a whirl. Other than that the suction is steady and true though I have found the suction isn't so great with the hose and attachments. And it would be nice if there was a febreze option (pet odor eliminator would be a plus) for the outer circular filter. As I have no use for deodorizing powder when I only have hardwood and tile.

Love this vacuum and great customer service with issues.

Customer review by gmm

5.0 stars 12/3/2012 by gmm
by gmm

I love the suction and versatility I have with this vacuum. I have a dog and different flooring services throughout my home. With all the helpful attachments I get the job done quickly and my home feels and looks great. I use my vacuum on a daily basis and have had only two problems with it in the two years I have owned it. First the latch to close the door broke. It was still under warranty so I called and was sent a new latch right away. Second the power head was turning on and off while using it. It turned out to be a bad circuit board in the handle. I bought the extended warranty and was given immediate help in getting it fixed at a local repair shop. I have not experienced any of the issues other reviews have listed but if I do it only takes a phone call to get them handled.

Waterford Township, MI, USA
great for first two years

Customer review by tmd1977

3.0 stars 2/6/2015 by tmd1977
by tmd1977

I got this vacuum as a gift almost three years ago and it was perfect for my little apartment. I have two cats so I do clean the filters often and it continues to pick up cat hairs on a regular basis. My problem is the wheels keep falling off. I have mostly floors and only two thin carpets so it's not like the wheels have to struggle, but now it is just a pain in the rear cause they fall off even just picking the vacuum up to carry to my vacuuming destination in the apartment. I love the hose attachment, but recently, in the last couple weeks the house attachment has broken, but I'm sure that's just the strain of using it all the time. The wheels is what is most annoying and as I read the comments, I see I am not the other one having this issue.

Comment from Lisa - 2/9/2015

Thanks so much for taking the time to let us know about your experience. The good news is that a BISSELL Authorized Service Center will be able to help fix the wheels and get you back to cleaning. You should check out our line of tools for your machine. We are currently offering free shipping on orders over $30 so now is a great time to stock up on filters and accessories. Provide link

Nashua, NH
Fantastic Vac

Customer review by Bubba

5.0 stars 4/29/2013 by Bubba
by Bubba

My wife and I have joint pain,I have a very bad back,that makes this machine a dream! Our house is 950 square feet, single story.This vac is well made and you can tell it came from a qulity concerned factory. The clear bowl lets, you see when it is full. This is important because if you let it over fill you will lose power.That is other good thing,the fillters are easy to change,so you can maintain full power. The fillter below the collector bowl, must be kept clean or the vac will loose power. The easy thing is the foam wrap comes with the fillter and the fillter is easy to change. I would recomend this machine for any lite house work. I wouldn't be afraid to do a heavy carpet cleaning though the collection bowl may fill more than once. I was also impressed with the suction on the hose.I hadn't cleaned behind the refrigerator for 2yrs and the dust bunnys were huge and sticky.This vac pulled the out with no proplem,even the crevice tool worked! Anyone that needs a lite vac that will work this machine is it! Small apartment to small house(a big house perhaps)This vac is just the trick if you don't want to have sore back from hauling a heavy Vac around or up stairs.Esay to work with and on if the need arises,you won't go wrong with this vac!

...not disappointed, but also not overwhelmed.

Customer review by madmarz

3.0 stars 5/14/2012 by madmarz
by madmarz

Like the multiple opptions of pet grooming, tools and accessories to choose from, retractable cord feature and the canister unit seems very rugged. At first I was very hesitant to give up my bagless vacuum. I was very please on how well this pet vacuum filtered the air and not leaving any smells and I was amazed how much a bag will hold and changing the bag was so easy and I didn't have to hold my breath when tossing it into the garbage or shake out a filthy filter. I did find that the main power head didn't work that great on thicker carpets removing pet hair had to go over it multiple times, hose is too short and height level was lil hard to read. Oh one more thing the tool bag is a joke.... I mean come on what the heck.

Comment from Joe - 5/16/2012

Thanks for all of your feedback on this unit. To use the variable height adjustments step on the brush height adjuster located on the right side of the motorized powerhead to adjust for flooring type (lowest setting (1)for non-carpet, indoor areas, highest setting (6) for plush pile carpet). Just make sure you are on the 6 for thicker carpet you mentioned.

Vancouver, WA, USA
Powergroom Pet Canister Vacuum Cleans Cat's House

Customer review by CatzAPlenty

4.0 stars 3/2/2012 by CatzAPlenty
by CatzAPlenty

We have a building devoted to housing 20 cats. Although it does not have a carpeted floor, it does have carpeted cat poles and window perches. All of those cats shed and mere sweeping just stirs up a big fur ball. I love the unique pet tools, especially the small beater brush that is purrfect for vacuuming the window perches and carpeted cat poles. I also love the telescoping attachment to attach the floor brush. The vacuum is not overly noisy. I have a few cats that welcom being vacuumed with the upholstery attachment. My only complaint is that I cannot control the on/off switch from the handle. If I am vacuuming a tall cat pole or perch, and need to shut off the machine, I must turn it off at the cannister.

Flagstaff, AZ, USA
1-20 of 220 total reviews
1-20 of 220 reviews