Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 45 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

45 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

45 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

65%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
17
4 stars
10
3 stars
5
2 stars
7
1 stars
6
1-20 of 40 total reviews
65%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 40 total reviews
1-20 of 40 reviews
Suction is horrible
3/11/2013

Customer review by fletchandme

1.0 stars 3/11/2013 by fletchandme
by fletchandme

The main purpose of a vacuum is to suck, and this one DOES NOT. I had to go over and over things that are the easiest to pick up, like fuzz from my slipper socks. My old Bissell sucked it up immediately, this one takes 3 passes. I love so many other things about it. I love the length of the hose, the attachments, the length of the power cord, the carry handle, the light weight, and the width which fits in between furniture. But the horrible thing is, and the reason this will be returned, is Bissell thought they would be clever and let us see the dirt we're picking up before it goes into the bag. Therefore, the dirt goes into the see-through area, but has to be sucked yet again, from that area to the bag. I think this is why it loses so much suction. I've got all the dirt in the see-through bin, and none in the bag. Another thing that is REALLY bad, is the size of the bags. I'm guessing the bag is about 1/3 the size of a size 7 bissell bag (which I had with my last vacuum,) so you can expect to go through the bags quickly, which is not only a hassle, but expensive. The 3rd thing I don't like, is it is pretty darn hard to push. You would think if it's hard to push, it would be getting good suction, but not so. This makes me sad. A stupid gimmick to make it look bagless, takes the purpose of a vacuum away, which is SUCTION.

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fletchandme
Nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Simple and Practical
10/18/2012

Customer review by transformerstoys

5.0 stars 10/18/2012 by transformerstoys
by transformerstoys

Bought this vacuum because I prefer bagged models. The price was great and I have a Bissell steam mop I love. This vacuum is simple and works great. The scented bag smells good and not too overpowering or strong. You won't get a lot of bells and whistles with this model but you will end up with clean carpet.

Was this review helpful? (79) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
transformerstoys
Omaha, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love this thing!
1/24/2013

Customer review by BestFriendscc

5.0 stars 1/24/2013 by BestFriendscc
by BestFriendscc
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was upset when I had to replace my old vacuum and look long and far for another model that I liked, I am not sure why so many dont have bags any more I dont want to dump a can of dirt and dust into my trash and back into the air, its crazy, so I had found the Bissell Velocity Bagged Vacuum and had to settle for the "look at the dirt before it enters the bag window" very odd and it starts to look a little gross wondering if there is a way to clean it out but the suction and the fresh smell in the room from the febreze bag helps me get over it quickly, the on board tools are nice as well. I am very pleased with my new vacuum!

Was this review helpful? (31) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BestFriendscc
bestfriendscc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Disappointing
4/22/2013

Customer review by neutie

1.0 stars 4/22/2013 by neutie
by neutie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Having had a bagless vacuum for several years, I found it intolerable the amount of filth that escaped back into my home (and on me) and the frequency it had to be emptied. Going back to a bagged version was a necessity for me and I felt this Bissell had everything I had been looking for. I was very wrong. The suction was not even comparable to my much cheaper older vacuum and it had a very heavy awkward feel. The brushes do not stop on the bare floor setting and it scratched my wood floors. I returned it after one use and gave it one star simply because it had a bag.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
neutie
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
all around great vacuum
4/29/2013

Customer review by babygirl24495

5.0 stars 4/29/2013 by babygirl24495
by babygirl24495
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

this is a great vacuum it has been a long time since i seen such clean floors after vaccuming

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
babygirl24495
buffalo, wy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Vacaum
2/23/2014

Customer review by godmother61

5.0 stars 2/23/2014 by godmother61
by godmother61
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is the first bissell I've tired and I'm very please with it! Easy to put together

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
godmother61
Dubuque, Ia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best vacuum in its price range
2/8/2015

Customer review by 7eeyore7

4.0 stars 2/8/2015 by 7eeyore7
by 7eeyore7

The vacuum has good suction, bare floors to carpet. It will suck up the edges of throws and shoelaces, so clear your path! The onboard tools actually stay firmly onboard, unlike many vacuums in this price range and even more expensive ones. The hose and wand are plenty long to reach my 1970's era stippled ceilings, which love to trap dust globs from ceiling fans, without a stool or ladder. Much sturdier construction than the Eurekas and Dysons. Cons: The hose does not stay in its little nitch and just flops around while you vacuum. The piece that holds in the Hepa filter falls off at the slightest tap. And when changing bags there is quite a bit of taking pieces off and cleaning, which must be done outside-yep, I am out on my deck in 30 degree weather cleaning this thing! However, this cleaning stage when changing bags is true for all of the few bagged vacuums left on the market.

7eeyore7
Asheville, NC, USA
Gender:Female
2/19/2013

Customer review by Kenly

5.0 stars 2/19/2013 by Kenly
by Kenly
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great service! Easy store pickup and was given $10 off since the item was available in the store.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kenly
Port Charlotte
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good vacuum for my needs
12/17/2014

Customer review by Roe

3.0 stars 12/17/2014 by Roe
by Roe

While I prefer canisters for my main house, I use an upright for my patio, garage and basement only. I had a previous upright Bissell which finally keeled over so I needed another that also used the same bags since I had several unopened packages of size 7. While it is a little heavier than my old one, it still is easy to maneuver. I like the retractable cord and also being able to take out the container to replace the bags. However, I find the new bags are smaller and need to be changed more. The old size 7, though larger, can fit, though it takes a little work. I make sure it is facing the correct way, fold over the bottom and secure the top flaps to they are secure and make sure the opening is clear. I have had no problem once I figured out the best way to use the size 7 bags. For the areas I need to vacuum and that is not on a daily basis, this vacuum is perfect for my needs.

Comment from Lisa - 12/19/2014

Thank you for your posting. This really helps with product development.

Roe
New York
Gender:Female
strong suction
10/13/2014

Customer review by 1800supermom

5.0 stars 10/13/2014 by 1800supermom
by 1800supermom
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

easy to use, easy to assemble. The bag is very small and will need to be replaced often. Not too heavy

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1800supermom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The bag is tiny
3/30/2014

Customer review by verycoldwinter

2.0 stars 3/30/2014 by verycoldwinter
by verycoldwinter
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

THE BAG IS TINY. I vacuumed the living room once and the bag was half full - yes I have a dog and he sheds. At $6.00 per bag this would be an expensive piece of equipment to own. It was easy to assemble. The machine did a great job on the carpet - it pulled a lot of dirt and the dog hair. I have owned nothing but Bissell and love the quality of their products. I was very pleased at how the machine operated but it went back to the store.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
verycoldwinter
Kenosha, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Disappointed
9/2/2015

Customer review by Kim

2.0 stars 9/2/2015 by Kim
by Kim

This is the first Bissell product that I am not happy with. The vacuum is heavy and the dirt path window gets clogged constantly. Very messy to clean it. I do like the turbo brush but other than that I wish I had not purchased it

Kim
Johnstown PA
Gender:Female
difficulty
8/25/2015

Customer review by Nancy

2.0 stars 8/25/2015 by Nancy
by Nancy

I can't get the tank off the front of the vacuum to change the bag.

Nancy
Ocean City, MD, USA
Gender:Female
LOOKS GREAT BUT....
4/5/2014

Customer review by blulady48

1.0 stars 4/5/2014 by blulady48
by blulady48

I purchased this same one at another store and thought it was a bargain. I used it 3 times and the belt burned out (the belt is hard to find too). I called the company and was told to take it to an authorized dealer. The dealer wanted $50 to 'look' at it with parts and such extra!! some bargain--save your time and money DON'T buy this vacuum--you'll be very sorry. If I could rate this on a negative scale I would--will NOT buy another BISSELL

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
blulady48
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
A Little Dissappointed
3/26/2015

Customer review by KThaw

3.0 stars 3/26/2015 by KThaw
by KThaw

I was so excited when this arrived. It has strong suction. It has a bag. Most of all the rewindable cord! Oh, and the Fe breeze freshener leaves a wonderful scent while vacuuming. The bag reduces the mess from the bag less machines. I felt that after I vacuumed (cleaned) the floors with the bag-less, I add to clean the machine. That's more steps in the cleaning process. My disappointment is how small the bags are. With my use, three bags lasted two months. I have a 1 and 5 year-old plus a dog. It is a battle to keep the floor and carpets clean. bigger bags or more in the set. Furthermore, will you continue to sell this vacuum or other bagged systems?

Comment from Fiona - 3/27/2015

Thank you for your review. It's really nice to hear how well you like your BISSELL vacuums and the nice scent of our carpet powder. It's good to keep the filters clean in your machine. This will help with the airflow with your machine. The dust bags can be ordered at this link: http://www.bissell.com/parts/?sc=part&productid=23190&partid=23664&icid=ccrr1206 BISSELL will always have a bagged and bagless vacuums. We like to give lots of options for everyone's needs. The PowerForce Bagged vacuum has a bigger bag and is sold at Walmart retail stores. To view, see this link: http://www.bissell.com/powerforce-vacuum/

KThaw
Washington, DC, USA
Gender:Female
Great suction, but...
2/15/2014

Customer review by Skigirl78

3.0 stars 2/15/2014 by Skigirl78
by Skigirl78

This vacuum has great suction and it seems easy for me to push/pull. I also find the longer, retractable cord helpful. Good set of tools as well. One thing I'm unsure of is the "dirt path window." The product guide and online description says it allows you to see dirt before it enters the bag, however, that area seems to fill up quickly with dirt and it never make it to the bag, causing quite the mess when changing out the bag, not to mention, having to clean out that area with multiple paper towels each time. I checked and double-checked and everything with the bag/dirt tank, etc. are lined up correctly, so I'm not sure how to correct this messy problem.

Comment from Lisa - 2/21/2014

Thank you for your review. We're sorry for your difficulty. It sounds as if there is a clog restricting airflow with your machine. We have some easy tips to check for a clog at this link: http://www.bissell.com/FAQDetail.aspx?id=1419

Skigirl78
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Gender:Female
Does what it should
2/5/2015

Customer review by AlwaysCleaning

4.0 stars 2/5/2015 by AlwaysCleaning
by AlwaysCleaning

The Velocity Bagged Rewind Vacuum does exactly what it should! I have 2 dogs and 4 kids, and I vacuum every. single. day. Floors and furniture. I am very hard on my vacuums. This one seems to do the job just fine. Some reviews say the bags are too small, but i haven't had to change them any more frequently than my last bagged vacuum from a different manufacturer. The rotating brush attachment is particularly nice for the couches (especially if you like to let your fur-babies up on the furniture).

AlwaysCleaning
Detroit, MI, USA
Gender:Female
Vacuum Experienced Buyer
2/5/2013

Customer review by AJ47

5.0 stars 2/5/2013 by AJ47
by AJ47

I've owned several different vacuum brands over the years and I am very satisfied with my Bissell Velocity. I prefer a machine with a bag as I cannot handle emptying a dirt container. I did my research before making the decision to purchase this product and it preforms exactly as advertised. It is very powerful with deep down cleaning of my carpet! Two particular features which I favor is the extra long hose (unusual for an upright) and the Febreze Bags made especially for my Bissell. The scent while vacuuming and the scent of the vacuum itself is remarkable. Add this to the price point and I have to say one of the best values for my money!

AJ47
Alabama, USA
Gender:Female
Not Satisfied
2/21/2015

Customer review by Discouraged

2.0 stars 2/21/2015 by Discouraged
by Discouraged

I have two bissells one vacuum and carpet cleaner but my vacuum is old and I needed a new one. So I thought this would do the trick it has good suction but the bags are really small and can’t get them at the local Wat-Mart and have to purchase online which is a Down side. The other bad thing is that when you change the bag the top of bag holder has a lot of dirt and dust on it so in my opinion not a good design. It has the same tools as my other bissel except for the turbo brush which does not work as good as I thought might Since I have Pets in the house I thought it might help with the hair on the furniture

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Discouraged
Would recommend to a friend? No
good vacuum but heavy
3/7/2015

Customer review by Max

4.0 stars 3/7/2015 by Max
by Max

There are many things I really like about this vacuum. It's designed well, cleans well, easy to use bag, long retractable cord. But it's very heavy and I wasn't expecting to get a workout when I vacuum.

Max
Willow Grove, PA, USA
Gender:Female
1-20 of 40 total reviews
1-20 of 40 reviews