Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 150 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

150 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

150 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
78
4 stars
44
3 stars
5
2 stars
9
1 stars
14
1-20 of 135 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 135 total reviews
1-20 of 135 reviews
Best Bicycle Value In America. Period.
6/13/2012

Customer review by NeilTheWheel

5.0 stars 6/13/2012 by NeilTheWheel
by NeilTheWheel

This 29 inch 7 speed beach cruiser towers above the ground and cruises effortlessly while rolling on huge 29 X 2.125 balloon tires. It has a very nice light aluminum frame saving weight. Shifting is smooth with gears that will get you up the biggest hills and flying down the other side. Very quiet, almost completely silent going down the road. This is a well built solid bike...one I cannot wait to ride on long biking adventures in New Orleans and along Florida's 30A trails. It looks terrible with all the stickers from the factory...take those off as soon as you get it home. Ditch the fenders for a muscle bike look. You will love this bike. Get it tuned up at your local professional bike shop before you ride for maximum enjoyment.

Was this review helpful? (107) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NeilTheWheel
New Orleans/Destin/Panama Beach
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A GOOD BIG BOY BIKE,
5/31/2013

Customer review by SCUBASMITTY

4.0 stars 5/31/2013 by SCUBASMITTY
by SCUBASMITTY
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

at 51 yo, I havent riden a bike since I was 12, this was a fine fit for myself at 6,4" and 250 lb's after getting pulled over by the cop's and being told I had to get some LIGHTS for night riding,I put on a front head light,(a led flash light) and a rear red tail light, I removed most of the stickers from the frame, as I did not want it stolen by some aluminum scrap salvager. why advertise ? some of the brake fitting's are of chineese pot metal,but they are replaceable ...after some fine tuning it is all in all a decent (so far) bike.

Was this review helpful? (20) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SCUBASMITTY
QUARTZSITE AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Cool looking bike
5/26/2013

Customer review by 61yearsyoung

4.0 stars 5/26/2013 by 61yearsyoung
by 61yearsyoung
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have not had a chance to ride the bike much yet. The assembly takes a while and I am a competent mechanic. The front brakes were missing a pad wich took longer to arrive than the bike did. I went to a bike shop and bought a pair of pads as i could not wait to try the bile. As people other people mentioned I did have to adjust the shifting as they would not go to the easiest gear. I think the bike will be fine for bike paths and fairly flat terain. It would not work well on very steep hills. Get something with more speeds if that is what you want. I am 6 feet tall and have a 33 inch inseam and this bike is the right size for me. If your inseam is less than 31 " this frame is proably too tall for you. I have the seat post as high as it will go and my leg does not come close to straitening when peddling. I have a shock seat post from another bike that is taller that I will put on this bike. Like others I took most of the stickers off the bike. They peel off cleanly.

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
61yearsyoung
Bethany, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
6/25/2013

Customer review by Mike4038

3.0 stars 6/25/2013 by Mike4038
by Mike4038

I liked the Onyx but really wanted the extra gears that this offered. I had this bike sent to my home and it took more time to take all the stickers off than build the bike! Adjustments to brakes were difficult as the front rim was out of round but once the spokes were adjusted all was good. I am 6’ 4” and needed to add a little taller seat post and now it is a comfortable ride. This bike is 179.00 for that you get a nice cheep bike. If you want a daily rider, spend a little more and get a better bike. This is a good weekend or around the neighborhood bike.

Was this review helpful? (17) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mike4038
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
heavyduty bike , right prices
4/2/2014

Customer review by 70bug

5.0 stars 4/2/2014 by 70bug
by 70bug
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

just what I needed for my biuld

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
70bug
me
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
4/21/2013

Customer review by brent5

5.0 stars 4/21/2013 by brent5
by brent5

Was this review helpful? (1) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
brent5
Elizabeth City NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
very nice bike
9/13/2012

Customer review by mytime101

4.0 stars 9/13/2012 by mytime101
by mytime101

great bike! I'm 6'0" and its just right to maybe a little big, which is perfect for me. Definitely for bigger men and even bigger than I as the seat and handle bars adjust much further up than I need. Other comments suggest sending to a bike shop to tune up, I think if you check out you tube like I did you'll find all the tune up info you need. Would give top scores across the board but there were some small problems that needed attention. The brakes needed to be adjusted which is simple to do but should have been done since the wheel came attached. The rear that is, the front was not. The rear fender is a little off, does not touch or rub but looks crooked. Adjusted the arms and now its alnmost prefect. May end up buying a new seat, its comfortable but I know there are even bigger and better seats out there for not a lot of money. The few small issues do not deter me from giving this bike high ratings as it is well built and more than needed for your average rider.

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mytime101
pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
great project bike
10/8/2013

Customer review by z1ny

5.0 stars 10/8/2013 by z1ny
by z1ny

The bike is loaded down with steel components, negating the lightness of the aluminum frame. But it's a good starting point for upgrading. The only thing not standard size is the headset, which makes it difficult (but not impossible) to swap out the heavy steel fork for an aluminum one. But if you know your headset sizes you'll be OK. Once you strip the frame of all parts, you'll see it's really featherweight. The deep cross section rims alone are 3 lbs each and the tires even heavier. You can swap them out with other 700c and find much lighter tires. The advantage of this frame is the amount of clearance for huge tires. If you leave the stock parts on, make SURE you take it to a bike shop to have everything adjusted properly. All bikes from big box stores are notorious for tight bearings and minimal lubrication, (bottom bracket & hubs) so have them adjusted and the wheels trued properly, keep your tires inflated, and you'll notice a much easier ride and a longer lasting bike.

Was this review helpful? (15) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
z1ny
nyc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This bike is a great value.
7/22/2012

Customer review by tommyvet

5.0 stars 7/22/2012 by tommyvet
by tommyvet

Having ridden bikes thousands of miles, I find the Genesis Astra the best value of the 12 bikes I've owned so far. Most of my 12 were expensive road bikes or mountain bikes with suspension. I was not familiar with this brand but I trusted the 4 1/2 star rating the bike had, 2 weeks before I bought it. The brakes and shifter needed only slight adjustments but worked well on the very first ride. Great assembly, Walmart ! I've ridden it 30 miles so far and it is so smooth and quiet. The 29" wheels really soak up the bumps. I am an avid rider, riding 3 to 4 days a week, 12 to 15 miles per day. The sitting position is very up-right and the seat and handle bar position is superb. What a great combination of features. The shifter is as precise as my Specialized Stumpjumber but the Genesis is much more comfortable. I'm a beach cruiser and get the looks on this bike (-: That makes it even more fun. This bike LOOKS expensive.

Was this review helpful? (31) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tommyvet
Huntington Beach, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great value, get alot for the money
5/17/2013

Customer review by SilentSurface

5.0 stars 5/17/2013 by SilentSurface
by SilentSurface

I picked the bike up assembled, and stopped at a bike shop on the way home to have it lubed and adjusted, derailleurs tweaked, wheels trued, etc. Picked it up 2 days later, and have been having a BlAsT riding it. The 7 gears give an adequate range for use on rail trails, (where I do 90 % of my riding) where they can get you up to a good speed on a decline but gear down enough for the climb back. ;-) The Bike almost feels too big the first time on it, BUT, it is the first bike I have owned that I can adjust the seat to where I need it without having to get an extended post. (I am 6' 1 1/2") The larger tires give it a smoother ride of small bumps, and are wide enough to handle pea gravel and dirt. All in all I spend $250.00 by the time you factor in the tune-up, and in my opinion, it was worth every penny and then some. I ride currently 40 - 50 miles a week, and am working my way up to longer rides. If you are a tall and/or long legged person, this bike rocks, even for this 52 yo out of shape Dad!

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SilentSurface
North East PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very good bike for the price
2/16/2014

Customer review by Beauslx

4.0 stars 2/16/2014 by Beauslx
by Beauslx

First Impressions: The hardware (nuts & bolts) is generally fair quality. The allen head bolts are good. The "V" brakes and Shimano shifter could be better but for casual riding they work just fine. Assembly was pretty easy if you have metric tools, but standard can be used. Yes you will need Allen wrenches. Like a lot of reviewers I removed the cheesy stickers which in my view greatly improved the looks. The Bad: The front rim has a pretty bad wobble. The brake pads are very poor quality, but easy to replace. In my case the front brakes won't hold adjustment. Like others have said, take it to a bike shop for tune-up. The Good: Once assembled it is a VERY good looking bike #even my wife likes the look# with a very smooth and easy ride. For the weekend rider you can't beat it cost wise or feature wise. Can it be better, sure it could. And over time I expect I will change out some parts. But for now it is a very nice ride. And for a big guy this is a good fit for me at 6.0' 300lb.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Beauslx
Las Vegas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
In a single word this bike is COOL!
6/4/2012

Customer review by cmoreride

5.0 stars 6/4/2012 by cmoreride
by cmoreride

If you're looking for a laid back bike this really fits the bill. Great value and more than adequate quality. Bike easily fits a large person. Very comfortable bike for a relaxed riding style. Real fun if you're not in a hurry. With the low gearing you can crawl up any normal road grade. Love the unpainted aluminum finish, fenders chain guard etc. I did buy a longer seat post to accommodate my 32in inseam. This allowed getting the seat up to a slight bend knee condition and keep the seat post in the safe range. Word to the wise this bike needs to be properly assembled. For me that meant a complete disassemble of all bearing surfaces and reassemble with enough grease and proper bearing tension. The alloy stem needed to be sanded for ease of insertion and allow future removal and adjustment.

Was this review helpful? (107) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cmoreride
Sacramento Valley
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great, once it's been PROPERLY adjusted.
10/22/2012

Customer review by IanMacNeil

4.0 stars 10/22/2012 by IanMacNeil
by IanMacNeil

Seems like a real solid bike. Can't complain about the product, but I can complain about the way it was put together. Don't the Assemblers test them, before placing them on the floor?!? Bought one in Fredricksberg, Texas. Put it on the back of my RV and took it to Rockport, Texas. Went to ride it: It shifted poorly - It would not go into 1st gear and dropped off the sprocket when I tried to put it in 7th. Took it back and, as they were unable to fix the problem, they exchanged it for another - which had a similar problem. Difference being the it stayed on the sprocket, but still would not shift into 1st or 7th gear. The "Master" Bike builder will be in tomorrow and I am hoping he can properly adjust the de-railer so that it will properly shift. Otherwise, with a few modifications (changed angle of handle bars, shifter and brake levers, re adjusted the poorly installed fenders) it rides really nice. Looks much better stripped of all the cheesey decals, too! Of course, if this one can't be fixed, then it will br time to just return it and look elsewhere for another!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IanMacNeil
Rockport Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Ride for the Money
9/9/2012

Customer review by BibBoxBikeBob

5.0 stars 9/9/2012 by BibBoxBikeBob
by BibBoxBikeBob

I'm 6-2 and 250. Finding a bike that "fits" is a woderful surprise. I've had the Genesis Onyx 29er #single speed# for about a year and I only rode it a few times because of the hills on my road. The 7 speeds of the Astra make a huge difference. I love riding this bike and plan to do so daily. It has some rough edges: the rear brake cable was kinked and split open out of the box. A quick email to Kent with a scanned receipt and a new cable is on the way. The brake pads are grabby and if that doesn't calm down, I'll replace them. I'm also willing to upgrade other components as needed because the I consider the basic bike a great value. The assembly manual is a typical multi-model guessing game. If you are not well versed in bicycle mechanics, I'd suggest either buying it assembled from the store or taking it to a pro for assembly. Be careful out there.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BibBoxBikeBob
Bethel, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
It is a monster of a bike
6/7/2012

Customer review by paarlberg

5.0 stars 6/7/2012 by paarlberg
by paarlberg

I had the Onyx originally and really needed the extra gears that this offered. I returned the Onyx and pick this one up. It is a big cruiser, I am 5' 11" and can barely clear the cross bar. I need to tune it before it is perfect, but right now it is a good bike for around town if you don't have the need for more than the 7 gears. It is heavier than the Onyx, but that was to be expected with the additional weight for the gears and brakes. I haven't been on a bike in well over 20 years, and this one is easy to ride and very comfortable. I only did about 1 mile last night to test with a couple of hills along the route. A few of the components could be upgraded like the pedals, they seem a bit on the cheap side. Possibly a better tire that can hold more than 40psi (for heavier riders).

Was this review helpful? (61) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
paarlberg
Atlanta
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Cadilac of Bikes
10/21/2012

Customer review by jdee115

5.0 stars 10/21/2012 by jdee115
by jdee115

I bought my husband this bike for his b-day after looking for a while for a bicycle that would be comfortable and good fit for a good size man. When I saw this bike at Wal-Mart I knew this was it. I got the bike already assemblemed and we went for a ride to test it out once I got it home. He loaned it to me to try it out too and I instantly fell in love with it. It was very smooth and quiet. The gears shifted nicely and brakes worked great. I was able to get on and off without any problems and I am 5'6. We immediately went to Wal-Mart to get myself one too since I was also looking for a bicycle for me and had not been able to find one that I really liked. They were out of stock and we had to go to a different wal-mart which had it in stock. We brought it home and went riding again. The only thing I noticed is that the first bike needed no adjustments, while the second one did. I guess some store have people that are better at putting the bikes together than others do. No big deal though, my husband adjusted it and it has been smooth riding ever since. This is not a speed bike, it is one to enjoy cruising in comfort. I bought a basket for mine and will probably buy some girly accesories to make it a little more feminine.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jdee115
Orlando, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good Bike But Needs Quality Brake Pads.
7/18/2012

Customer review by captainfuture

2.0 stars 7/18/2012 by captainfuture
by captainfuture

After reading the reviews, I purchase this bike at their Lynnwood, WA Store. Since my local Bremerton store did not have one in stock that was assembled. Then I had it taken to a Bike Shop that I have used to Tune-Up the bike that was poorly assembled, and just as poorly adjusted from brakes to gears. The one thing that stood out, was the really cheap and unsafe Brake Pads that came with it. They wore down to the shoe within 30 minutes of use. So I spent an extra $30.00 to have two pair of "Promax V-Brake Shoes" installed. After the tune-up, and having the proper brake Brake Pads installed. It worked properly as it should. However, if plan on buying this bicycle. I strongly suggest that you take it in to have it Tuned-Up by a professional, and replace the cheap Brake Pads. Plan on spending an extra $80.00 just to have a safe product to use.

Was this review helpful? (26) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
captainfuture
Bremerton, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
good fit for a big and tall guy.
7/7/2012

Customer review by UFDA

4.0 stars 7/7/2012 by UFDA
by UFDA

This bike is fun to ride and fits me great. I am 6' 4" tall and weigh 235 lbs. and I don't look like I dwarf the bike. It shifts a little rough, but once I get it tuned in it will be just fine. It is comfortable and welll balanced. I ordered it on line and when it was delivered to my local store they put it together and called me when it was ready, which was the next day. It is a good looking bike that will work just fine for me for years to come.

Was this review helpful? (33) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
UFDA
Klamath Falls, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very nice bike for the $$$
9/17/2012

Customer review by Craigrrr

4.0 stars 9/17/2012 by Craigrrr
by Craigrrr

I bought the onyx 29er it is a single speed, not good for hills, so I sold it and bought this 7 speed 29er I would rather it be black instead of silver/chrome look. It came with out a water bottle holder, so after a few days I went and bought the holder to find out that the screws are stripped in the frame that would /should hold the water bottle holder, I cant even take them out. So I might exchange this or just buy a nutsert and fix myself. But very happy with the bike otherwise. better than paying 600 and up for a 29 inch bike. I ride this everyday since I have bought it, I am a big guy 6'1 300 pounds and this is great, I did change the stock seat to a schwinn no-stress seat which is a noseless seat too.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Craigrrr
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Its a nice bike.
9/24/2012

Customer review by Chipsahoey

4.0 stars 9/24/2012 by Chipsahoey
by Chipsahoey

I bought this bike because I planned on doing alot of riding for exercise reasons. The bike looked heavy duty and very nice looking to . I bought the bike already put together , I took it home and started riding the next day after a few adjustments . After a few weeks the bike started making a very bad grinding noise some where in the drive train. I took it back hoping to get it fixed , but had know luck . Three bikes later , I had the same problem again. This time I took it to my local bike shop and $60.00 later I found out that there was no grease in any of the bearings . Now the bike is great and I love it. So if planning on buying a bike first thing , take to local bike shop or go threw it yourself and make sure everything is greased properly. Happy riding

Was this review helpful? (26) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chipsahoey
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 135 total reviews
1-20 of 135 reviews