Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4out of 5 stars
4 out of 5 | 95 reviews
5 stars
42
4 stars
31
3 stars
9
2 stars
4
1 stars
9
Sort by: 
1-20 of 80 reviews
1-20 of 80 reviews
Great for the price
1/11/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I bought this bike because I wanted an hybrid bike at a cheap price. I'm a 5'55 female, so it's too tall for me but it is still rideable. I can put my foot on the ground when stopped/seated at stoplights but when I get off my seat I can't even put my two feet on the ground. The middle bar is so high. One of the tallest bike I've seen, even too big for my father. But still, for the use and cheap price and the look, it's still good. The brakes make noises like some other reviews say. My brake pads are completely used and I just rode 100 miles. I bought new pads and I'll change them. The bike is pretty heavy, but it's normal considering it's not a real road bike. The tires/valves are schrader, not presta. I also went to my local bike shop to get the shifting ajusted. The guy tried for 30 minutes and it's still not perfect. He's a pro but still found it hard to adjust it because it's cheaply made. With all those complaints, the bike is good enough for me!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
awesome bike but skinny seats ! only for 5'10 and
5/23/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I love this bike its a aluminum bike and has really nice gears and overall great for the price . I got it for $140 after taxes and free shipping. I couldn't put it together myself so I paid $20 to a bike shop . Overall I spent $160 in total for this bike and its worth it. I love riding it ! Summer time is coming so its so good. I would only recommend it to people 5'10 and up because I'm 5'10 and I ride it on the lowest setting :D. I am 18 I shouldn't have problems with the seat because I had the same seat on my GMC road bike but now I got a bigger button so it hurts a little . But I think you should at least use it for a couple of says until deciding to change the seats. I love the look but I wish it came in different colors , the white paint has spots here and there . I will probably take it out in a few months and and spray paint it something darker. Great bike ! I would recommend getting a good lock for this baby because it sure is a looker ;)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Poor product and very poor customer service.
8/25/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased this bike primarily for the price . The installation was quite easy and it took me about 3-4 hrs to completley instal the bike. However the main issue I had is with the squeaky brakes. It was very embarassing to go riding in public just because of these brake. I tried calling the customer service (which has very limited working hours) and it was literally like they were reading off the screen. The lady got very rude with me when I told her that the suggestions she was giving me (like rubbing an alcohol swab around the rims) would work for a used bike and should not work for a brand new bike. In fact she turned around and told me to return the bike to walmart if I was unhappy with it which I promtly did. I returned the bike to walmart for a full refund the next day. There is no point have a cheap bike if you cannot ride it around because of embarrasing squeaky brakes. I even tried calling a professional bike shop and they suggested toeing the brakes which did not take care of the problem.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great starter bike - needs a little help
6/1/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I'm 5'3". This bike is definitely on the tall side for me ,but with the seat all the way down I can ride it very comfortably. I took it out for an 18 mile ride yesterday and it was great. I'm using this as a starter bike, as I am doing my first longer race soon (62 miles). You will absolutely have to adjust the gears on this. The front gears were particularly difficult to adjust, 3rd gear wouldn't work at all. With many adjustments and tuning the bike works perfectly. If you don't know what you're doing, you're going to need to take the bike to someone before you ride it. The bike is amazingly comfortable to ride. The gears (once they're tuned up) are smooth. The grips on the handlebars are nice. The seat is fantastic - my butt didnt hurt at all. For the price and value you get out of this bike, this is a must-have purchase. Good luck!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (16)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Amazing Quality for the Price!
9/15/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
You really can't complain about the bike, the price is simply unbeatable. I took all of the unnecessary stickers off and it gives the bike a little more expensive appearance. And with the low price, you can really make it your own by getting some of your own add ons. I bought some bull horn handlebars and bright green bar tape from Amazon to match the pedals and it looks great! I get a lot of compliments on this bike, especially because of the deep-v rims. It shifts smoothly, brakes are great (brakes had to be adjusted because they squealed when I first got it but who expects Walmart employees to assemble a perfect bike?). The tires on this bike aren't really what one would consider true toad tires. They're slightly wider and have some nice tread on them which is great for my commute. There are some rough sections along the way and these tires handle them perfectly, while traditional road tires are known to not hold up very well in rough city traveling. I use this 5 days a week for commuting to school (about 3 miles round trip) and on the weekends for longer rides. I've put a few hundred miles on this bike so far and everything is holding up perfectly. The only complaint I could possibly come up with for this bike is it's super heavy(25-30lb). But if you're interested in getting something much lighter than this you're definitely going to have to shell out the big bucks for it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (48)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Pleasantly suprised
12/14/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I like the look as well as the price. I have had it for about a week and have put over 50 miles on it all ready. The seat is firm (how it should be). I am 6'0" and the geometry of the bike feels right. They should not have painted the rim where the break pads touch, makes the brakes very loud. Minor adjustments for front derailleur had to be made but I expected that. The bike does weigh a bit under 30 lbs., but doesn't really affect[?] anything. I do not like the pedals but that's just personal preference. For the price of the bike you can't go wrong. Bottom line: Buy it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (36)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excelllent bike!
5/18/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I brought the bike a couple of weeks ago and finally I had to send it out to one of my uncles who lives in Delaware because Walmart could not ship it to Puerto Rico, and then he shipped it to me. I love in the bike got it on thursday and set up up on friday and used it on 5/18/13 saturday and I love it nice bike to ride really nice colors I am 5'10 and weight 215 and the bike is perfect for me. The bike came with a couple of scratches but they are small hardly noticed. I got the bick for 179.99 and ask for Walmart if they could give me the rollback price that was 129 and they did great customer service. Today I used it for 22 miles and it was a pretty nice ride. When you recieved it you hace to do some adjustments on the transmission. But for the price and the quality of the bike its a A plus for me. I will be enjoying the ride with the bike!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
People are right on this one
6/5/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This bike is awesome. This bike is perfect for the hills in San Francisco. I road it for 6hrs and no problem. There's lots of road hills where I go and this bike can do the job. It better for that much money. I weigh 290 pounds, and im 5"9 hight my waist is 42 my length of pants is 30 and this is perfect specialy the tires. They are not thin, these tires are the next step from being thin so it supports my weight. It took exacly 1hr to put together, its worth the patience and money. This is pretty tall and it can go taller. Just to let you know the breaks are so loud it's embarrassing specially with an eye catchy bike.. Wow you see heads turn when you roll by. This literally looks like a $400 bike, Walmart so far so good, if I would have gotten the 25" model I know for a fact it would be to to big.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Amazing Looking
5/9/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Have used this bike only a few times but enough to say that this bike is really good, looks expensive and I'm really happy with the price, even now that this bike is $50 bucks cheaper than when I bought... But I'm still happy with my price $179 its easy to assemble, was my first time assembleding a bike and took like less than 40 minutes... My only problem with this bike was with the ''Quick release seat clamp'' was not ''easy'' to install, my thougts is that little thing is ti small so I decide to buy another one, that just cost $5 dollars... So I solve the ''problem''. OVERALL I TOTALLY RECOMMEND THIS BIKE
Was this review helpful?
Yes (19)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Sprocket on rear wheel breaks under stress.
6/23/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I love this bike! I rode it for about a week and one day I was pedaling up a hill and I was in 3rd gear and the rear sprocket broke under the stress of power applied while pedaling up a hill. I took it back and the Walmart associates kindly and quickly exchanged mine for another one just like it in the store. TWO DAYS LATER same thing happened again! I reluctantly returned it for the cash. Other than that this bike was the best. Hope the manufacturer's fix the problem.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (67)No (16)
Report
Was this review helpful?
6/16/2013
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Please to note that even though it says 22.5,do not think it is not for an adult less than 5'10" in height. It is a tall bike. It's a shame it was not available to try and purchase at the store. It was delivered by FedEx damaged due to the way it packaged and handled. The front brakes had broken tension adjustment screws and missing tension springs. In other words ,the front brakes could not be adjusted. This was due to the fact the tension screws are mounted in plastic; not aluminum like my other bikes in the same price range. I've tried to reach Genesis customer service but as of yet ; no luck. It needs a front brake assembly before the bike can be used. I could purchase a replacement assembly online but I don't think I should. If service does not comply ; I will return bike to Walmart.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Bike for under $200
2/27/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I'm 6'1, 200 lbs. and I'm lucky I didn't get the 25" version of this bike. It would have been too tall. This bike is perfect for 5'10" to 6'3" riders. Pros: Lightweight, durable, rides smoothly, looks great. Cons: Tuning out-of-the-box is horrible (needs to be taken to a bike shop, unless you know how to do it) and the seat needs to be upgraded, it is too stiff for my bottom. I've looked at over 10 road bikes and this is by far the best in the sub $200 category.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Value exceeds price paid.
8/24/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
At $129.00 plus tax nothing else comes close in price/quality. Only issue is one spoke is bent and loose on the front rim out of the box. I ordered Site to Store. Please don't be discouraged by the one off negative reviews by others as any brand of bicycle could be damaged OotB. The brake pads to appear to be below average quality and will be replaced before riding. The spoke as well. As for noisy brakes I am going make some stone or emery cloth "brake pads" and dress the braking surfaces. This is not a terribly light bike, it is aluminum but a substantial amount. I am 5'10" with a 31-32" inseam. This bike provides me with no extra standover clearance but does allow me to stand forward of the seat with my feet flat on the ground. If I didn't have an ambition to adjust/tune myself I would take to a LBS. I myself will use literature provided as well as Youtube. Included in addition to the owners manual were spec/manual fold outs for each of the derailleurs. I will review ride once I have a few more miles on it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good bike if you can put in a lot of maintenance .
8/15/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I used to own a Diamond Back Mountain back in college and loved riding. After I started working professionally I decided to give bike riding another try. I started off with this bike because it was everything I wanted, flat handle bars, thicker tires and best of all the price point. Out of the box the instructions are OK. It took me a few hours to put it together. I have no clue about tuning so took me even longer to set-up the brakes and derailleurs. There was one flaw because of which I ended up returning it. The treading which hold the foot pedal had a thick coat of pain on the inside. Due to this no matter how much force I applied I could not tighten it all the way. After 3-4 rides, one of the pedals came off and sheared the tread on the inside. I ended up returning it. Thats the best thing about Walmart, a strong return policy. And I ended up buying the Geneisis Roadtech bike from Walmart. I am still awaiting to receive it. But I am glad I bought this bike because now I know how much I love riding bikes.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
4/22/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This bike is lightweight aluminum (27 lb) and has a beautiful paint job. I have ridden it twice and it is mechanically perfect.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
4/3/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Really great bike for the price. But we had to bring it to a bike shop to get it assembled. Double check if your height is appropriate for this bike. For a 5'9'' tall person, the seat is at the minimum level.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very Nice Bike, Comfortable ride
4/14/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I went to my local walmart to get the bike put together when i received it, because it had a tag that said "Free Assembly", but i was told they didn't assemble bikes anymore. So, i had a little trouble putting it together at first, but everything worked out in the end. I absolutely love this bike, it is very comfortable to ride and looks very nice. Definitely worth the money i spent on it!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
very nice bike for the price
5/29/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I wanted a light road bike for moderate use without having to go to a bike shop and spend thousands of dollars on one and this bike fits the bill perfect. Thanks Walmart.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good value for money
9/8/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I read the other reviews and they had this bike on sale so I pulled the trigger. The bike was delivered quickly and was in good shape. I am fairly handy and it took me about two hours to assemble and tune properly. I took another reviewer's advice and peeled off most of the stickers while they were still new and not very stuck. It made the bike look much cleaner IMO. One note there is slight paint over-spray on middle and down ward where blue paint meets white. This is hidden by those wrap around stickers. Again for me I preferred the slight paint spray effect to the large stickers but just letting folks know about it before they peel theirs. The shifters are very basic grade and will require adjustment. Even with that these aren't ever going to be as smooth as $500 bike but considering price difference I think if it bugs me I can always buy upgraded shimano shifters at later date and still have a really good bike for a great price.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good buy if already assembled
7/2/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I ordered site to store, shipping was very fast. Upon pickup I noticed a hole in the otherwise intact box, by the rear wheel. Took it home and much to my regret found that the rear derailleur was badly bent. Packed it again and returned to the store. I am trying to locate this bike in some store, but there is none around. My overall rating is one star due to the shipping, the value seems 5 stars (if you get a working/undamaged one). Thanks Walmart for your return policy.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184643934, DC-prod-dal4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-