Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 95 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

95 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

95 reviews | 4 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
42
4 stars
31
3 stars
9
2 stars
4
1 stars
9
1-20 of 80 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 80 total reviews
1-20 of 80 reviews
Great for the price
1/11/2013

Customer review by sandsunsurf

4.0 stars 1/11/2013 by sandsunsurf
by sandsunsurf
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this bike because I wanted an hybrid bike at a cheap price. I'm a 5'55 female, so it's too tall for me but it is still rideable. I can put my foot on the ground when stopped/seated at stoplights but when I get off my seat I can't even put my two feet on the ground. The middle bar is so high. One of the tallest bike I've seen, even too big for my father. But still, for the use and cheap price and the look, it's still good. The brakes make noises like some other reviews say. My brake pads are completely used and I just rode 100 miles. I bought new pads and I'll change them. The bike is pretty heavy, but it's normal considering it's not a real road bike. The tires/valves are schrader, not presta. I also went to my local bike shop to get the shifting ajusted. The guy tried for 30 minutes and it's still not perfect. He's a pro but still found it hard to adjust it because it's cheaply made. With all those complaints, the bike is good enough for me!

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sandsunsurf
bought in Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
awesome bike but skinny seats ! only for 5'10 and
5/23/2013

Customer review by Al1994

5.0 stars 5/23/2013 by Al1994
by Al1994

I love this bike its a aluminum bike and has really nice gears and overall great for the price . I got it for $140 after taxes and free shipping. I couldn't put it together myself so I paid $20 to a bike shop . Overall I spent $160 in total for this bike and its worth it. I love riding it ! Summer time is coming so its so good. I would only recommend it to people 5'10 and up because I'm 5'10 and I ride it on the lowest setting :D. I am 18 I shouldn't have problems with the seat because I had the same seat on my GMC road bike but now I got a bigger button so it hurts a little . But I think you should at least use it for a couple of says until deciding to change the seats. I love the look but I wish it came in different colors , the white paint has spots here and there . I will probably take it out in a few months and and spray paint it something darker. Great bike ! I would recommend getting a good lock for this baby because it sure is a looker ;)

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Al1994
NYC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Poor product and very poor customer service.
8/25/2013

Customer review by lolophysio

1.0 stars 8/25/2013 by lolophysio
by lolophysio

I purchased this bike primarily for the price . The installation was quite easy and it took me about 3-4 hrs to completley instal the bike. However the main issue I had is with the squeaky brakes. It was very embarassing to go riding in public just because of these brake. I tried calling the customer service (which has very limited working hours) and it was literally like they were reading off the screen. The lady got very rude with me when I told her that the suggestions she was giving me (like rubbing an alcohol swab around the rims) would work for a used bike and should not work for a brand new bike. In fact she turned around and told me to return the bike to walmart if I was unhappy with it which I promtly did. I returned the bike to walmart for a full refund the next day. There is no point have a cheap bike if you cannot ride it around because of embarrasing squeaky brakes. I even tried calling a professional bike shop and they suggested toeing the brakes which did not take care of the problem.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lolophysio
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Great starter bike - needs a little help
6/1/2013

Customer review by SourKrt

5.0 stars 6/1/2013 by SourKrt
by SourKrt
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I'm 5'3". This bike is definitely on the tall side for me ,but with the seat all the way down I can ride it very comfortably. I took it out for an 18 mile ride yesterday and it was great. I'm using this as a starter bike, as I am doing my first longer race soon (62 miles). You will absolutely have to adjust the gears on this. The front gears were particularly difficult to adjust, 3rd gear wouldn't work at all. With many adjustments and tuning the bike works perfectly. If you don't know what you're doing, you're going to need to take the bike to someone before you ride it. The bike is amazingly comfortable to ride. The gears (once they're tuned up) are smooth. The grips on the handlebars are nice. The seat is fantastic - my butt didnt hurt at all. For the price and value you get out of this bike, this is a must-have purchase. Good luck!

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SourKrt
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Amazing Quality for the Price!
9/15/2012

Customer review by andyroo24

5.0 stars 9/15/2012 by andyroo24
by andyroo24

You really can't complain about the bike, the price is simply unbeatable. I took all of the unnecessary stickers off and it gives the bike a little more expensive appearance. And with the low price, you can really make it your own by getting some of your own add ons. I bought some bull horn handlebars and bright green bar tape from Amazon to match the pedals and it looks great! I get a lot of compliments on this bike, especially because of the deep-v rims. It shifts smoothly, brakes are great (brakes had to be adjusted because they squealed when I first got it but who expects Walmart employees to assemble a perfect bike?). The tires on this bike aren't really what one would consider true toad tires. They're slightly wider and have some nice tread on them which is great for my commute. There are some rough sections along the way and these tires handle them perfectly, while traditional road tires are known to not hold up very well in rough city traveling. I use this 5 days a week for commuting to school (about 3 miles round trip) and on the weekends for longer rides. I've put a few hundred miles on this bike so far and everything is holding up perfectly. The only complaint I could possibly come up with for this bike is it's super heavy(25-30lb). But if you're interested in getting something much lighter than this you're definitely going to have to shell out the big bucks for it.

Was this review helpful? (48) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
andyroo24
Cincinnati, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Pleasantly suprised
12/14/2012

Customer review by Bagast

5.0 stars 12/14/2012 by Bagast
by Bagast

I like the look as well as the price. I have had it for about a week and have put over 50 miles on it all ready. The seat is firm (how it should be). I am 6'0" and the geometry of the bike feels right. They should not have painted the rim where the break pads touch, makes the brakes very loud. Minor adjustments for front derailleur had to be made but I expected that. The bike does weigh a bit under 30 lbs., but doesn't really affect[?] anything. I do not like the pedals but that's just personal preference. For the price of the bike you can't go wrong. Bottom line: Buy it.

Was this review helpful? (36) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bagast
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excelllent bike!
5/18/2013

Customer review by neljtorrespr

5.0 stars 5/18/2013 by neljtorrespr
by neljtorrespr
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I brought the bike a couple of weeks ago and finally I had to send it out to one of my uncles who lives in Delaware because Walmart could not ship it to Puerto Rico, and then he shipped it to me. I love in the bike got it on thursday and set up up on friday and used it on 5/18/13 saturday and I love it nice bike to ride really nice colors I am 5'10 and weight 215 and the bike is perfect for me. The bike came with a couple of scratches but they are small hardly noticed. I got the bick for 179.99 and ask for Walmart if they could give me the rollback price that was 129 and they did great customer service. Today I used it for 22 miles and it was a pretty nice ride. When you recieved it you hace to do some adjustments on the transmission. But for the price and the quality of the bike its a A plus for me. I will be enjoying the ride with the bike!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
neljtorrespr
Puerto Rico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
People are right on this one
6/5/2013

Customer review by NewEra2016

5.0 stars 6/5/2013 by NewEra2016
by NewEra2016

This bike is awesome. This bike is perfect for the hills in San Francisco. I road it for 6hrs and no problem. There's lots of road hills where I go and this bike can do the job. It better for that much money. I weigh 290 pounds, and im 5"9 hight my waist is 42 my length of pants is 30 and this is perfect specialy the tires. They are not thin, these tires are the next step from being thin so it supports my weight. It took exacly 1hr to put together, its worth the patience and money. This is pretty tall and it can go taller. Just to let you know the breaks are so loud it's embarrassing specially with an eye catchy bike.. Wow you see heads turn when you roll by. This literally looks like a $400 bike, Walmart so far so good, if I would have gotten the 25" model I know for a fact it would be to to big.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NewEra2016
East palo alto, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Bike for under $200
2/27/2013

Customer review by BillySeaBass

4.0 stars 2/27/2013 by BillySeaBass
by BillySeaBass
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I'm 6'1, 200 lbs. and I'm lucky I didn't get the 25" version of this bike. It would have been too tall. This bike is perfect for 5'10" to 6'3" riders. Pros: Lightweight, durable, rides smoothly, looks great. Cons: Tuning out-of-the-box is horrible (needs to be taken to a bike shop, unless you know how to do it) and the seat needs to be upgraded, it is too stiff for my bottom. I've looked at over 10 road bikes and this is by far the best in the sub $200 category.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BillySeaBass
Pompano Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Amazing Looking
5/9/2013

Customer review by R0ger

5.0 stars 5/9/2013 by R0ger
by R0ger
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Have used this bike only a few times but enough to say that this bike is really good, looks expensive and I'm really happy with the price, even now that this bike is $50 bucks cheaper than when I bought... But I'm still happy with my price $179 its easy to assemble, was my first time assembleding a bike and took like less than 40 minutes... My only problem with this bike was with the ''Quick release seat clamp'' was not ''easy'' to install, my thougts is that little thing is ti small so I decide to buy another one, that just cost $5 dollars... So I solve the ''problem''. OVERALL I TOTALLY RECOMMEND THIS BIKE

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
R0ger
Silver Spring, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Sprocket on rear wheel breaks under stress.
6/23/2012

Customer review by simplyRay

4.0 stars 6/23/2012 by simplyRay
by simplyRay

I love this bike! I rode it for about a week and one day I was pedaling up a hill and I was in 3rd gear and the rear sprocket broke under the stress of power applied while pedaling up a hill. I took it back and the Walmart associates kindly and quickly exchanged mine for another one just like it in the store. TWO DAYS LATER same thing happened again! I reluctantly returned it for the cash. Other than that this bike was the best. Hope the manufacturer's fix the problem.

Was this review helpful? (67) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
simplyRay
valparaiso, In
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
6/16/2013

Customer review by ScottRider

2.0 stars 6/16/2013 by ScottRider
by ScottRider
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Please to note that even though it says 22.5,do not think it is not for an adult less than 5'10" in height. It is a tall bike. It's a shame it was not available to try and purchase at the store. It was delivered by FedEx damaged due to the way it packaged and handled. The front brakes had broken tension adjustment screws and missing tension springs. In other words ,the front brakes could not be adjusted. This was due to the fact the tension screws are mounted in plastic; not aluminum like my other bikes in the same price range. I've tried to reach Genesis customer service but as of yet ; no luck. It needs a front brake assembly before the bike can be used. I could purchase a replacement assembly online but I don't think I should. If service does not comply ; I will return bike to Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ScottRider
Cleveland,Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Value exceeds price paid.
8/24/2013

Customer review by AlwaysIMHO

4.0 stars 8/24/2013 by AlwaysIMHO
by AlwaysIMHO

At $129.00 plus tax nothing else comes close in price/quality. Only issue is one spoke is bent and loose on the front rim out of the box. I ordered Site to Store. Please don't be discouraged by the one off negative reviews by others as any brand of bicycle could be damaged OotB. The brake pads to appear to be below average quality and will be replaced before riding. The spoke as well. As for noisy brakes I am going make some stone or emery cloth "brake pads" and dress the braking surfaces. This is not a terribly light bike, it is aluminum but a substantial amount. I am 5'10" with a 31-32" inseam. This bike provides me with no extra standover clearance but does allow me to stand forward of the seat with my feet flat on the ground. If I didn't have an ambition to adjust/tune myself I would take to a LBS. I myself will use literature provided as well as Youtube. Included in addition to the owners manual were spec/manual fold outs for each of the derailleurs. I will review ride once I have a few more miles on it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AlwaysIMHO
Midwest
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good bike if you can put in a lot of maintenance .
8/15/2013

Customer review by wacoo

4.0 stars 8/15/2013 by wacoo
by wacoo

I used to own a Diamond Back Mountain back in college and loved riding. After I started working professionally I decided to give bike riding another try. I started off with this bike because it was everything I wanted, flat handle bars, thicker tires and best of all the price point. Out of the box the instructions are OK. It took me a few hours to put it together. I have no clue about tuning so took me even longer to set-up the brakes and derailleurs. There was one flaw because of which I ended up returning it. The treading which hold the foot pedal had a thick coat of pain on the inside. Due to this no matter how much force I applied I could not tighten it all the way. After 3-4 rides, one of the pedals came off and sheared the tread on the inside. I ended up returning it. Thats the best thing about Walmart, a strong return policy. And I ended up buying the Geneisis Roadtech bike from Walmart. I am still awaiting to receive it. But I am glad I bought this bike because now I know how much I love riding bikes.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wacoo
Sunrise, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
4/22/2013

Customer review by Terry08453

5.0 stars 4/22/2013 by Terry08453
by Terry08453
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This bike is lightweight aluminum (27 lb) and has a beautiful paint job. I have ridden it twice and it is mechanically perfect.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Terry08453
Springfield, Il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
4/3/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 4/3/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Really great bike for the price. But we had to bring it to a bike shop to get it assembled. Double check if your height is appropriate for this bike. For a 5'9'' tall person, the seat is at the minimum level.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Mosty good BUT bottom bracket problem after 100mi
6/9/2013

Customer review by Pedewade

2.0 stars 6/9/2013 by Pedewade
by Pedewade
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bottom bracket bearing failed after 100 mi. Will be asking for warranty repair...we'll see.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pedewade
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very Nice Bike, Comfortable ride
4/14/2013

Customer review by HoneyB73

5.0 stars 4/14/2013 by HoneyB73
by HoneyB73
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I went to my local walmart to get the bike put together when i received it, because it had a tag that said "Free Assembly", but i was told they didn't assemble bikes anymore. So, i had a little trouble putting it together at first, but everything worked out in the end. I absolutely love this bike, it is very comfortable to ride and looks very nice. Definitely worth the money i spent on it!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HoneyB73
70714
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
very nice bike for the price
5/29/2013

Customer review by Wolverinefan29

5.0 stars 5/29/2013 by Wolverinefan29
by Wolverinefan29
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I wanted a light road bike for moderate use without having to go to a bike shop and spend thousands of dollars on one and this bike fits the bill perfect. Thanks Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wolverinefan29
Grand Rapids, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good value for money
9/8/2013

Customer review by DaxSFCA

4.0 stars 9/8/2013 by DaxSFCA
by DaxSFCA
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I read the other reviews and they had this bike on sale so I pulled the trigger. The bike was delivered quickly and was in good shape. I am fairly handy and it took me about two hours to assemble and tune properly. I took another reviewer's advice and peeled off most of the stickers while they were still new and not very stuck. It made the bike look much cleaner IMO. One note there is slight paint over-spray on middle and down ward where blue paint meets white. This is hidden by those wrap around stickers. Again for me I preferred the slight paint spray effect to the large stickers but just letting folks know about it before they peel theirs. The shifters are very basic grade and will require adjustment. Even with that these aren't ever going to be as smooth as $500 bike but considering price difference I think if it bugs me I can always buy upgraded shimano shifters at later date and still have a really good bike for a great price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DaxSFCA
San Francisco, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 80 total reviews
1-20 of 80 reviews