Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 224 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

224 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

224 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
128
4 stars
56
3 stars
11
2 stars
7
1 stars
22
1-20 of 212 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 212 total reviews
1-20 of 212 reviews
Fantastic Portable Washer
11/1/2012

Customer review by JPPS

5.0 stars 11/1/2012 by JPPS
by JPPS

It is strange how this machine can easily slip through the cracks when you are doing research on what type of machine to buy. Competing brands offer many different models to choose from and yet, hidden among them is this excellent portable washer from a name brand that you would associate more with BBQ grills and ovens. Set up was fairly easy but I have to admit that the instructional documentation could have been more specific as you are left to figure some things out for yourself. That is a small caveat however as there is a FAQ here to assist you and I'll mention of few of the vague points here to help you out. The washer is extremely quiet, so much so that at one point I thought that it was not running. The washer has various settings to choose from and does a complete rinse and spin (it will in fact do 2 rinses). The spin dry is very effiective and will only need a few hours on a drying rack to complete the process. I paid careful attention to the draining cycle to make certain that the hose did not jerk and jump about which might have led to it falling on the floor. I was pleased to see that the hose did not even move as the water drained through it. Now for a few clarifications. 1. If you find the draining hose appears to be short and cannot properly reach the sink, move the curved plastic housing further up the hose. 2. The rubber mat that you will find in the tub during unpacking is to be attached to the bottom of the machine. It is a noise buffer and no tools are needed as it clips in place. 3. If you are using a single faucet sink for your water supply, attach the hose to the "cold" intake opening and use the cold water setting on the washer's temperature settings. You then adjust the actual temp from your faucet. If you have the temperature setting on Hot or Warm, the machine will not run so make certain it is on the cold setting. Anyway this portable washer from Magic Chef is an excellent product (poor documentation not withstanding) and so I recommend it highly.

Was this review helpful? (193) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JPPS
Fords
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
So much better than the Haier!
9/15/2012

Customer review by CyberGypsy

5.0 stars 9/15/2012 by CyberGypsy
by CyberGypsy

After reading the review I first bought the haier low end model from Walmart . I had a leak on a water hose called the company the said the would ship me one, to date never Recieved anything, then after the third load the bottom started leaking, it also went off balance many time. Threw it in my trunk and got a refund, Bought this gem and I was surprised how well built it is, and how much more it holds than the cheaper haier, the spin get clothes almost dry and it has never been off balance, the haier left clothes much wetter. Easy to use and very pleasing to the eye, oh and no Leaks and many more cycles, spend the extra 50.00 and buy one it's soooo much better than the Haier.

Was this review helpful? (196) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CyberGypsy
Ocala, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
BEST COMPACT WASHER!!! More Than What I Expected!!
8/17/2013

Customer review by Monica194

5.0 stars 8/17/2013 by Monica194
by Monica194

This is by far THE BEST COMPACT WASHER OUT THERE!! At first I bought the Haier but returned it because of the washer's dysfunctions. Then I went and ordered this Magic Chef Compact Washer and I'm more than happy with this Machine. PROS: It holds so much clothing. You'll be able to wash 2 sets of Queen Size flat and fitted sheets and pillow cases, plus more. It's easy to hook up to your bathroom or kitchen sink. The digital display and timer is very helpful. The spin cycle is so efficient to the point your clothes are almost dry when done. Its very quiet while washing, which is conducive for those who live in apartments above ground floor. And lastly, it looks amazing!!! I definitlely recommend this Magic Chef Compact Washer over the Haier Washer. CONS: -It's a bit heavy, the 2 wheels on the back of the washer doesn't seem to help maneuver this washer too well on plush carpet.

Was this review helpful? (73) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Monica194
West Palm Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
This washer rocks!
10/5/2012

Customer review by PHATabulous

5.0 stars 10/5/2012 by PHATabulous
by PHATabulous

I received my Magic Chef 1.6 CU. FT. (I support American made products.) washer today! I have already done three loads of laundry! This product superseded my expectations. I took it out of the box connected the hoses to my kitchen sink and just like magic it worked. It wasn't hard to install at all. I didn't have to purchase any other parts for it. The clothes came out clean and fresh and were practically dry when the cycle was over. I couldn't be any happier!

Was this review helpful? (158) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PHATabulous
Central Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
ALL THAT AND MORE
10/15/2012

Customer review by WantsWalmartinNYC

5.0 stars 10/15/2012 by WantsWalmartinNYC
by WantsWalmartinNYC

I had also looked at the Haier and thought for months that is what I would get. Then the Haier went up and this one came down to a $10 difference with this being 10% bigger. I was first shocked when less than 48 hours after ordering it was sitting in my living room. I figured it wasn't going to work without a trip to the hardware store. When I couldn't get the hose to work I took a picture of my faucet, the actual bottom part of the faucet and every hose and attachment. The hardware guy pressed down and suddenly I had every thing I needed, with the sad exception of the tattered shreds of my dignity. I attached everything myself and am also on my third load. I am still in shock it was this easy. I suffered for months over whether to purchase it and this is completely ridiculous. Trust me, if I can install it (single woman of a certain age with no mechanical skills whatsoever) anyone can. It is so easy to operate. was impressed with the research online that turned up the love story of a woman and her TWENTY SIX YEAR OLD Magic Chef dryer. To be freed from the tyranny of the laundromat, save money, do a MUCH better job cleaning, etc.! My only regret is I didn't buy it sooner. When they mean attach a hose and go it really is all there is to it. Plus Made in USA can't be beat!

Was this review helpful? (100) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WantsWalmartinNYC
New York City
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
This Washer Works Good
8/21/2013

Customer review by product2review

5.0 stars 8/21/2013 by product2review
by product2review

This washer has washed everything in my house. I was even able to wash a 47" X 30 shag rug. It is bigger than you think. It also washed a light weight twin blanket. The washer bin inside is 16" inches across and 17" inches deep. That is 4 inches wider than a 5 gallon bucket. It washes very well and gets your clothes clean.

Was this review helpful? (54) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
product2review
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Washer!
7/19/2013

Customer review by SDdude85

5.0 stars 7/19/2013 by SDdude85
by SDdude85

Hello Everyone, I am a 27 year old guy that just purchased this great washer about a week ago. I was going back and forth on getting this washer or the smaller Haier one. After reading a lot of reviews and watching youtube videos on how this machine works I went ahead and decided to buy it. First thing let me tell you that walmart has the cheapest prices for washers so go with them. I did all the research I could. Second i have to say that everyone that posted a review regarding how great this machine is its the TRUTH! I got the washer earlier then expected! I hooked it up to my kitchen faucet and began to wash. The washer was a little bigger then I expected from the pictures but it is not huge. The only things that I had to do for this washer was go to homedepot and get metal hoses because the connector that goes into the faucet would leak. So what I did I purchased the nice heavy hoses they came in a two pack and I am using the hot water hose for the washer. One thing that you do have to do if you are using one hose is connect to the cold connection that is behind the washer. This I found out because when the washer is rinsing it gets water from the cold connection. Now how to control the temp its the trick. For example if I am washing towels I want to use hot water. So what i do i turn on just the hot water let it fill up and then after its done i switch to cold for the rinse cycle. Now nobody on the reviews explained what the 3D water fall is. I figured it out as well! The 3D water fall is the washer sucks water from the bottom of the tub and sprays it on top of the clothes. This feature is so awesome I have never heard of a washer doing this. It is great because the clothes on the top get water and soap as well. Only one issue is that it only comes with two little wheels on the back so in order to move it around you have to tip it back and roll it which can become a pain. I am a young guy and I can move it myself or my partner helps me move it. So for an older person that cannot move heavy things I would not recommend this washer unless you set it up and it stays in one place. I was thinking of going to a hardware store to see if I could put wheels on it. How Clothes come out? The clothes come out great they are clean and smell clean as can be. Oh the washer also does two rinses on the longer cycles so on the 2nd rinse that is when i add my softer and the clothes smell soo fresh and clean. It is amazing how this little machine can do a way better job then the big washers in my complex. So if you are thinking of getting this washer I say get it! it is worth the money and it will save you laundry money in the long run.

Was this review helpful? (42) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SDdude85
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
great deal
11/4/2013

Customer review by Inspiredchoice

5.0 stars 11/4/2013 by Inspiredchoice
by Inspiredchoice

I have bought this washer 3 weeks ago. I am thrilled with the results. I can wash 10 male 2XL shirts and 3 pair of jeans in one load. It is easy to install. I live in an apartment and I have carpet all over. It didn't take any extra effort to balance. I just put it in the corner I had available. The noise level is minimum. It came one week sooner than estimated and it was in great condition. The only thing I chose to replace was the hose, as I needed the washer re-positioned. It comes with TWO 3 feet hoses. Yes, two- hot and cold water. Even if you only have one faucet, you can only use one, or buy a Y divider and hook them both. It has 6 different washing programs, plus separate wash, rinse, and spin. I have a dog, so I washed his stuff on a 10 minutes program. I was surprised it wash, rinse and spin them. All these 3 functions are great (wash, rinse and spin), but I am thrilled for the spin one. It spines your clothes so good that it only takes a few hours for them to dry. I simply love it. I washed 12 times with it so far and I feel there were the best $260 spent.

Was this review helpful? (49) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Inspiredchoice
Sumter, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
very good washer machine
2/11/2014

Customer review by tinytots22

5.0 stars 2/11/2014 by tinytots22
by tinytots22

I ordered this machine and was worried at first about having it ship to my home after reading the reviews.I seen many had theirs ship to Walmart, but i took the chance and had it ship to my home and let me say it came very fast and in great condition.The washer was pack great .I love this machine it was very easy to hook up .I did my first wash and was very happy how great this washer really works .Since i am a single mom with one son this machine really came in handy for our small home .Great size it really holds a good amount of cloths ,I was shock how clean they came out .The only down fall is no wheels to move around it does have back wheels but find it hard to use them to help me move it .So with that said i don't mind since my kitchen has a nice area to keep it in. I seen the reviews with leak issues but i have no issues with hose leaks or any kind of leaks .This machine is very good and so happy i bought it .

Was this review helpful? (38) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tinytots22
patchogue
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
BE ADVISED THIS MODEL HAS BEEN DISCONTINUED
4/5/2013

Customer review by REVKGB

1.0 stars 4/5/2013 by REVKGB
by REVKGB

Be advised before buying that this model is no longer available from Magic Chef and no replacement parts can be obtained. We got it just over 90 days ago and now need a replacement part that no longer exists. Neither Magic Chef nor any replacement sites I've visited even recognize the model number. We were told via phone by Magic Chef that this items is no longer available. Bear in mind that if anything goes wrong with this model you're just out the money.

Was this review helpful? (65) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
REVKGB
IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Perfect for an apartment
1/21/2013

Customer review by Livs12

5.0 stars 1/21/2013 by Livs12
by Livs12

I was deciding between the Haier and the Magic Chef and went with the Magic Chef because of the extra cubic feet. The one con: Yes, it leaks at the sink level. I either turn off the water between rinses or just let it leak a little, it is just leaking into the sink. Perhaps going to the hardware store would solve this problem...but so far I haven't seen the point. The pros: -I can wash my Queen sheets, two towels and a hand towel all at the same time. I could wash all my clothes for the week in one run...but I like to split my darks and lights. -Lots of run options, so you can run a quick load for smaller, not so dirty linens. -It spins really well. Currently I am playing with the air dry option, which is just a spin cycle, since the towels take awhile to air dry. -It doesn't take up too much space, Note: It will not fit under a table, read the dimensions online. -I don't have to go to laundromat! (True for every portable washer, but still if you are just generally considering a portable washer)

Was this review helpful? (34) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Livs12
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
This washer met my expectations
11/3/2012

Customer review by Yurtat

5.0 stars 11/3/2012 by Yurtat
by Yurtat

I had Avanti before and i did not like it because it spun my clothes into knots, But Magic chef washes clean and perfect. It has options to do a short cycle or just pick any two: wash and rinse or rinse and dry... Im happy with my purchase. The delivery was very fast as well and the machine came with no damages

Was this review helpful? (43) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Yurtat
Brooklyn, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
An unbeatable Walmart buy for a superb washer!
11/9/2012

Customer review by worker555

5.0 stars 11/9/2012 by worker555
by worker555

Magic Chef's Compact Washer is the answer to an apartment dweller's dream --- or those who have limited space for laundry equipment. This is an amazing product --- at an amazing Walmart price. It is sturdily constructed and well-manufactured with easy instructions and gets the job done beautifully, perhaps better than my former Whirlpool stack machine/dryer. In shipping, it is double-boxed and packed tightly with styrofoam and heavy-duty cardboard, so nothing can move or become dislodged. Delivery was made by FedEx exactly as promised. The instructions for attaching the water intake hose to your sink faucet, however, may seem a bit confusing. Hint: After you've attached the adapter to the water intake hose, just place it under the faucet spigot, pull down lightly on the white ring and let it "spring" up into place to lock the hose onto the spigot. I made the mistake of attempting to screw it on to the faucet. Not necessary. Also, when you register the product at www.mcappliance.com, they'll tell you that you need to send/fax a copy of your sales receipt to them. And the serial number of your product is on the sticker on the back of the machine. Let's hope Magic Chef develops a compact dryer, as well, and available at Walmart. I'd be their first customer!

Was this review helpful? (26) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
worker555
Fall River, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
magic chef 1.6 top load portable washer
11/21/2013

Customer review by lillady5553

5.0 stars 11/21/2013 by lillady5553
by lillady5553

I purchased this machine within the last 2 months! It is an amazing washer :) I don't know how I have lived in apartment without this machine. The instructions that come with it really do not answer your questions or concerns. This was my experience: The hoses that come with it are not that good....I went and purchased a stainless steel hose with a better quick connect that attatches to faucet. I had a problem at the beginning of actually running the machine because it worked as stated, but when it came to the *rinse* cycle, it would not fill with water... I had to look it up on line.....make sure the hose from the faucet is connected on the back of machine to the *COLD* outlet ...you can control the water temp to either hot or cold, or mix it... it does not matter..the *BIG ISSUE* is connect hose to the *cold* outlet on back of machine....once I did that, it went right through the entire cycle...NO PROBLEMS! The setting on the front of machine for water temp MUST BE SET ON COLD.....or it will not complete the cycle.....you can use all HOT water.....but water temp setting on front of machine MUST BE ON COLD......what an awesome machine......love it :)

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lillady5553
Rhode Island
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Nice washer. Make sure you have water drain outlet
11/9/2012

Customer review by BigDaveTenn

5.0 stars 11/9/2012 by BigDaveTenn
by BigDaveTenn

I received my MC 1.6 washer at the door faster than I thought. Had to unpack it outside and wasn't too bad to carry it in.. The hoses have plastic connectors and might leak for you.. I had to buy 12' hose with metal connectors.. That fixes any small leaks. It does advertise it can connect to a kitchen sink but had to buy a 9.5 foot drain hose, small tube and metal fastener , didn't cost much, but you just can't take the drain hose of this one and put it in your sink and bought the drain hose to reach the bathtub... and that's for those who don't have a washer area in their apartment... Overall it washes really good and spins fantastic as long as it's level. The first drain of water sometimes gives an error. I just stick my hand down in there and loosen up the clothes, press start/pause again, and it drains okay. That doesn't happen all the time! Again it's a nice washer and I can imagine any other cheap brands would be even more trouble, so I'm glad I bought this one. Creates very nice clean clothes that are sometimes already dry. Good product, but be ready to be resourceful if you don't have a washer/dryer area with no drain.. But I like it very much overall..

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BigDaveTenn
Pigeon Forge, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Washer Machine!!!
3/29/2014

Customer review by ToffeeChips19

5.0 stars 3/29/2014 by ToffeeChips19
by ToffeeChips19

This washer machine is amazing! It's a nice size and compact. It's a very powerful machine. It left my clothes feeling really clean and washed. For the spin cycle, my clothes came out almost completely dry! Even though the machine is powerful it's surprisingly very quiet! You can barely hear it at all when it's at work. Great for apartment life. Would recommend.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ToffeeChips19
Philadelphia PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It's a bit rough on your clothes
1/11/2014

Customer review by thecatsmother

3.0 stars 1/11/2014 by thecatsmother
by thecatsmother

Clothes do come out a bit tangled and very wrinkled. This is my third "portable" washer in the past 16 years. My first was a Kenmore, it cost almost $700 and it lasted 11 years. The second was a Haier 1 cu ft. and it lasted 4 years. I've had this one about 3 months so far. I like it okay, though it's a bit bigger than I had hoped and it is not really portable like the other two were, they were fully wheeled. This one has wheels on the front, but you have to tip it just right to make it move, and frankly it's not worth the trouble, so I just keep it next to my kitchen sink. There is no gentle cycle and, as I said it is a bit rough on the clothes. However you can control the length of any cycle simply by turning it off, then on again and selecting the drain/spin whenever you want. If I get 5 years out of it, for the price I paid ($269), I'll be satisfied. Just be careful not to overload these "portable" types. They wear out a lot faster if you do.

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thecatsmother
Central New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Portable Washing Machine
11/20/2013

Customer review by Jim00000000001

4.0 stars 11/20/2013 by Jim00000000001
by Jim00000000001

if you order this, do you self a favor and have it shipped site to store, other wise it will be shipped fedex. ours was delivered today. fedex was rough with it and put 2 dents in it, but I was able to get use a dent puller a they came out ( they were shallow dents ) about the washer, this holds a lot of clothes ! there is just me and my wife and this washer was able to do 1 week worth of clothes in just 3 loads. it spins out the water out of the clothes really good. they come out slighly damp on normal wash , rinse and spin. when it is being used it is very quiet even when spinning. I would recommend this washing machine because it works well for us.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jim00000000001
Geneva,NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Magic Chef 1.6 cu/ft review
11/19/2012

Customer review by P2XSaint

5.0 stars 11/19/2012 by P2XSaint
by P2XSaint

Hello reviewers and debaters, First and foremost I am not a paid person writing this review, I am the real deal. I would like to begin with the shipping from Walmart in which case was very pleasing and very fast even before the estimated delivery date, the quality of the magic chef is very very exceptional and I must say that this washer machine has just put me at (ah) speechless. Trust me if you want a very durable, quality washer machine I will recommend this machine.

Was this review helpful? (19) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
P2XSaint
Tempe, Az.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
2/21/2013

Customer review by Lucyjo54

5.0 stars 2/21/2013 by Lucyjo54
by Lucyjo54

I received my Magic Chef Compact Washer on Friday Feb. 15th. Picked it up at Walmart and took it home. It was packed very well. I opened it up, hooked it up, and began washing my clothes. It came with everything I needed, did not have to buy anything. The normal cycle is the best. It washes, does a double rinse, and spins the clothes so they are almost dry. This washer is very quite. The whole cycle takes 42 minutes. So far I loves this little machine. The only draw back is that is pretty hard to move. I keep it right by the kitchen sink, about 3 feet away. It does have wheels on the back but they are stiff...but I think the more you use them they will become easier to move. They should have made a handle on the back of the machine to grab onto in order to move it. But I still love the way it washes my clothes. I have had it a week now, and have had no problems. If you live in an apartment it sure beats going to the laundry mat, and your clothes are much cleaner.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lucyjo54
Valdosta, Ga.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 212 total reviews
1-20 of 212 reviews