Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 322 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

322 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

322 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
201
4 stars
58
3 stars
16
2 stars
10
1 stars
37
1-20 of 314 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 314 total reviews
1-20 of 314 reviews
Better than I expected!
10/17/2014

Customer review by sshort24

5.0 stars 10/17/2014 by sshort24
by sshort24

Had the washer for more than a week and its been great! I was really surprised at how big it was and my clothes came out very clean. The only con i had with the washer was the wheels it should of been 4 instead of the flimsy 2 on the back. You have the option for hot and cold hook ups if you're attaching it to separate faucets, but if you only have one main faucet, it works just as well. For noise concerns, this machine does run quietly. The sound/noise level of the wash/spin cycles is comparable to a fan running on high. When hooking up the hoses to the sink make sure the washers are lined up perfectly before screwing them on, or it will leak out on the sides. If it leaks just take it off, and try re-screwing it back on.

Was this review helpful? (74) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sshort24
Chicago
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
We love this machine!
9/15/2012

Customer review by imagelee

5.0 stars 9/15/2012 by imagelee
by imagelee

I chose this washer because it has bigger capacity than any other portable washers. Lid window and lint filter feature is also attractive. I attached it to the bathroom sink without any leakage. The drain hose was short so I bought a discharging hose at home depot. I used a velcro tape to tie the hose with water hose. The clothes come out very clean and well spun out. Sometimes I run Air dry for 10 min for towels. One tip, I took out the bar crossing between the lid window so I can open the half even when the washer runs. It is useful when I want to check the temperature of running water etc.

Was this review helpful? (355) (78)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
imagelee
College Station, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
This is a Life Changer!!!!!
3/18/2013

Customer review by RarelyReviewProducts

5.0 stars 3/18/2013 by RarelyReviewProducts
by RarelyReviewProducts
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Ok, I do not write reviews very often but I just felt compelled to do so with this washing machine. First, it hooks up really fast open the box, attach the cold water house to the washer, attached the quick release to the sink, run the drain over the counter into the sink, and plug it in. You now have 2.1 cubic feet of washing power in your apartment. So what can it wash? I have gotten 3 pairs of jeans, a pair of woman's stretch pants, 4 long sleeve shirts, and a short sleeve shirt in one load. That fills the magic chef to the top but just set the water setting to 6, the wash setting to normal, and put your faucet on warm, 42 minutes later you have some fresh clean clothing. It also spins your clothing out really well and within 24 hours of hang drying all the cloths were dry. Here is a tip, buy some furniture pads, the ones you put under a couch to move them around, put them under the feet for easy transport. Last make sure you have the machine balanced by using a level placed on top of an upside down plate inside the drum. I used paper plates folded up to balance it by putting the folded plates between the legs and the furniture pad. Once it is balanced the machine is whisper quite and there is little to no vibration... So in short if your tired of running to the laundry room or mat and you can handle doing 3 or so loads of wash a week, while washing TV in your own apartment, then this is a life changer for apartment dwellers with 2 people or less living there. I also paired this machine up with the Haier 2.6 cubic foot 120v portable dryer and that machine works wonders also, just make sure you clean the filter and never fill more than halfway. Also only dry two towels at a time in the dryer and never put towels in with the other items your drying this will ensure everything you want to dry will be done in under 120 minutes. Good Luck and enjoy.

Was this review helpful? (215) (51)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RarelyReviewProducts
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent washing machine for small spaces!!
12/29/2012

Customer review by KiaAtl

5.0 stars 12/29/2012 by KiaAtl
by KiaAtl
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I live in a very small condo and the closet with the washer connection is too small to even for the compact stackable washer/dryer. I has to put this is the closet sideways to make it fit but it works perfectly!!! I've washed about 7 loads with it so far and the clothes come out very fresh and clean. I've even washed a twin and queen sized comforter in it just to test it out and it worked just fine. You can really fit a lot of clothes in here without over loading it! I really love the airdry function for those clothes I typically hang. I wouldn't recommend putting in about more than 4 pieces if you want them to dry all the way. No complaints from me so far. Another bonus is that it arrived 6 days early!

Was this review helpful? (97) (46)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KiaAtl
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love it
6/22/2016

Customer review by Cmarie

5.0 stars 6/22/2016 by Cmarie
by Cmarie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

So far I'm loving this washer, I've had it about two weeks now and I must say I'm impressed. I've done all diff sized loads and tried the various wash cycles. Don't know if I need to level it better but I've noticed on certain parts of wash and spin cycle it can be a tad loud and squeaky. I've only ever used cold water which from what I gather is reccomended. So far I've had no leaks or any issues what so ever. Electrical cord and hose aren't super long so would need to be close to outlet to plug in and sink to drain water from hose. Now In my opinion this washer is like half the size of regular one so if you have limited space you may need to opt for a smaller one. Also this thing is not easy to move it has two wheels on back but those don't help and its pretty heavy. My washer is in my kitchen where it's in close proximity to outlet and sink. Overall it was a pretty easy set up comes with two hoses I used one for cold water hook up and am saving the other for a back up. If you run an extra spin cycle it helps a lot with getting extra water out for faster drying time. It's a good little machine and I highly reccomend giving it a try if you're looking to buy portable washer.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cmarie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Amazing portable washer!!!!!
5/29/2015

Customer review by ksjch

5.0 stars 5/29/2015 by ksjch
by ksjch
Top 25 contributor

I ordered this washer and couldn't wait to get it! When it arrived the Fedex delivery guy was very kind to help me bring it up as it was 90 lb in weight! The washer was very well packed! It had original Magic Chef packaging filled with filler then another layer of filler and another box on top of that! So if you are having any doubts about this machine being damaged in delivery process, don't! Because it was wonderfully packed! When I opened the box there was a noise reducing plate on top, what you will have to do is tip you washer on one side, insert the plate into the bottom of the washer and screw in 2 screws which do come in a package. This will help noticably reduce amount of noise while the washer is on. Also in front of the washer on the left on the bottom one of the legs is adjustable for noise reducing and leveling the washer, the only thing you have to do is unscrew it to level to your floors. On both sides of the machine there is a handle for your convenience to move it around and also 2 wheels on the back of the washer for the ease of moving it. On the back you will find a regular grounded plug, and a draining hose which is pretty long. In the package you will find 2 hoses for hot/cold water, but you can only use one and keep another one for spare. You will also find an adaptor for any type of the faucet. Most of the reviews stated that their adaptors/hoses leaked, mine did not lick a drop! The sides of the machine are metal, the top lid is plastic and the drum is stainless steel. The display is easy to use. It has got Small/Medium/Large load choice, Wash/Rinse/Spin cycle, Delay button, 6 program types : Heavy, Jeans , Normal wash and also Quick, Anti wrinkle, Air dry wash, and also you can choose from Hot/Warm/Cold water, and on/off button and start/ pause button. What's awesome about this washer is that you can set it up to do all 3 programs at one wash - Wash/Rinse/Spin or you can do one at a time, in case if you need to spin a wet towel or smth you can program it for a spin! Also the air dry function is pretty amazing too as at the end of the cycle the drum will keep on spinning and the air fry function will turn on which will dry your clothes and it will all come out 98% dry! How amazing is that? Its like you are receiving 2 in 1, washer and a dryer!!! I made my first load and I was very pleased! This portable washer is not on a small side, it is almost as big as a regular size washer and does same exact functions and job as any front load washers out there. The water did not leak none, neither out of water pipes connected to the washer or the washer itself. Also this washer does not use too much electricity, according to the user manual it only uses $39 a year! ( but it also depends on local electricity charges and usage) Also the washer comes with 1 year manufacturer warranty but at Walmart.com you can purchase an additional 3 year warranty for the fraction of the cost! In case if anything goes wrong thw only thing you will have to do is file a claim and the washer will be fixed at your home for free for 3 years! Just dont forget to register your model and product online after you receive a comfirmation email about your service plan. I love this washer! The best money ever spent! The convenience of being able to do laundry at my apartment and the quality of washing/rinsing/spinning is absolutely out of the question amazing! I highly recommend this portable washer to all the interested shoppers!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (434) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ksjch
Honaker, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Top 25 contributor
DAMAGED!
7/29/2016

Customer review by Katrina

1.0 stars 7/29/2016 by Katrina
by Katrina

No need to explain. See for yourself. Will return this immediately!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Katrina
Would recommend to a friend? No
After 4 months, draining motor broke!
6/11/2014

Customer review by MarriedRhombus

1.0 stars 6/11/2014 by MarriedRhombus
by MarriedRhombus

Everything is sturdy, except the motor that drains the water out. I could not believe that the part that clamps them together is made of plastic! Yes, it's a brittle plastic, made from Ghuangzhou, China. I posted a video. It's dark but the water was strongly spitting out from the motor because of the broken plastic clamp.

Was this review helpful? (60) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MarriedRhombus
Would recommend to a friend? No
Happy with my purchase!
3/25/2013

Customer review by Macanoodos

5.0 stars 3/25/2013 by Macanoodos
by Macanoodos

Please Note: I am no writer to be sure. Please excuse my grammatical errors. MS Word can only fix so much. I also apologize for the length of my review. I spent many months of reading and researching before I decided on which brand to purchase. I write this review for all those that are doing the same thing. I recently bought the Magic Chef washer and love it! The first load I washed and dried came out so fluffy and clean! I've read it's recommended to use powdered detergent but I don't like powdered. So I just use a small amount of diluted liquid detergent with plenty of water I mix 3/4 tablespoon of liquid, or less, apx. 320z of water. This is enough to leave my loads super clean and still have that just-washed fresh scent and more importantly, no soap residue left in my clothes. There's no need for large amounts of suds. If you see a little bit of soapiness in the water, you have the right amount. You want to avoid **"overpouring". **"Detergent "overpouring" creates a high, foamy tide inside the machine, lifting soil and lint above the water level so it isn't rinsed away. That leaves residue on clothing that fades colors and attracts more dirt. Inside the machine, detergent buildup encourages odor and bacteria growth, and leads in time to wear and tear that will require professional attention." --The Great American Soap Overdose, By ELLEN BYRON. January 25, 2010 I really love the "Air Dry" cycle. Basically it spins the clothes for an hour at a really high speed. They are not completely dry, but this spin cycle removes tons of water. Then hang drying is faster. I bought a compact dryer and this spin cycle significantly reduces my dry times. Those little dryers are great and all, but they take a lot longer than a standard dryer. So this spin cycle makes everything work great! Below are my Pros and Cons. I also added a Neutral for those things which aren't necessarily good or bad, but may be worth mentioning what my experience with it was: PROS: • Super quiet. So great for apartments - no bothering your neighbors. Mine is running on the Air Dry cycle right this minute, which is just an hour long spin cycle, and I can't even really hear it and I'm not that far from it - just down the hall! • Lots of speed, temp and water level choices, same as a full size. • This is not a lightweight, cheaply made machine. Some of the hoses and such are, but the machine itself is substantial and feels well made. • Able to plug into any standard three prong outlet. CONS: • Having back wheels only is irritating - makes moving it difficult for someone of my smaller size. I understand why there can only be the two - it's for balancing - but still. It's a bummer. The smaller one was much easier to maneuver for me than this larger one. (But I still LOVE my larger washer!) They could have built in a handle bar in the back to tilt the unit to help move it. The 'handles' on the sides are awkward and not much use when trying to move the unit. • Drain hose is made of some super cheap plastic. It's holding up and even reaches my kitchen sink just fine, but it's still cheap. Maybe I'll look into a better replacement hose in the near future. It works for now though. Neutral: • The fill hoses are okay. Not the best made, but they do work. You just have to be careful to tighten things really well. If you still have any issues, try using Plummer’s tape to seal up any leaks. If yours still leaks, try buying a new one from your local store like Home Depot or Lowes. They have lots of choices in different sizes and types and most are not expensive at all. • Beeps every so often when left plugged in. This is a reminder signal to unplug the machine when not in use. I've read that some folks can't stand the beeping. Unplugging the washer stops this. It's that simple. • There's a plastic gray mat that you will find in the washer tub when you first get it. The mat goes on the [outside] bottom of the washer. I believe it's supposed to help with the noise level. Some have said their machine was so quiet that they never even put theirs on. I went ahead and installed mine. • The washer has a built-in filter, but it doesn't catch all of the lint. I just washed several pairs of new socks and they seem to have created additional fuzz in the water. I happen to come into the kitchen just as the washer was draining and the sink was nearly full of water. If I hadn't come in just then, it would have over-filled and poured all over my floor. The problem was the fuzz from the socks. I have a screen food catcher in my sink drain and the fuzz had plugged up the screen so the water wasn't draining. That made me wonder about the drain itself. If I didn't have that screen, the fuzz would all have gone down the drain. I can see this being a potential problem after a lot of loads. So either get a screen like mine to keep your drains clean or do a treatment once every few weeks with Liquid-Plumr or Drano. Here are a couple of example load sizes I've done in my first loads… Large load, top water level: 3 pairs of jeans - **2 heavyweight and 1 pair of lightweight jeans 1 pair of yoga pants 1 pair of lightweight shorts 1 pair of lightweight pajama pants 4 pairs of socks **I believe this was just at the machine's capacity based on the way the washer handled the load. I think it would have been better without one of the heavyweight pairs. I don't think I'll do that much in one load again. Also, I have noticed a small amount of water on the floor coming out from beneath the washer in the front after this load. It's nothing bad, but it is concerning. I did read that another person had this issue when they did a large load. They said that after that, they stuck to the medium water level and then didn't have a problem. Not sure if this water comes from it splashing around a lot or if it's actually leaking. Med Load - middle water level: 1 pair of lightweight jeans 1 pair of flannel pajama pants 4 pairs of socks 4 heavyweight shirts 2 lightweight shirts 1 tank top No problems at all with this load. **Update: I have been writing this off and on today and after mentioning the water level and a little water on the floor, I ran another load on the medium water level and I had no water leakage at all. So there must be a connection to the higher water level and the little water leakage. I'll stick to the medium water level to stay on the safe side. This washer does need to be 'babysat', in my opinion. I wouldn't recommend leaving the house while running the washer. Is this inconvenient? Yeah, a little. I just check on it from time to time, no biggie. Would I prefer a full sized washer and dryer that are pretty much set-it-and-forget-it? For sure. But I don't have that option. This is definitely better than going to the laundry mat on my days off from work. I'd rather sit home and watch a movie while I do laundry than to lug it all out and back again, taking up to 2 hours of my weekend time. And don't even get me started on what a pain the laundry mat is in the deep of winter! And there are the times when I was too sick to get to the laundry mat and I'd have twice as much laundry by the time I got better. It wasn't ever fun to play 'catch-up' on my built up laundry pile. Now I can run loads at home, even if I don't feel well. Love that. At this moment, I a pretty happy camper. I’ll still need to use the laundry mat for large things like heavy rugs and comforters, but that’s okay with me. But I'll update my review if I discover anything new - good or bad. For now, I love that I can do my laundry at home again after trudging to the laundry mat for the past 6 years! Good luck and happy laundering!! :-)

Was this review helpful? (288) (68)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Macanoodos
Spokane, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Does well, but will it last?
2/16/2014

Customer review by bindokam

4.0 stars 2/16/2014 by bindokam
by bindokam
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This washer is good for what it is. I mean, you can't expect a lot for the price point. It's a pulsation-type washer, and I thought that might mean clothes do not get as clean, but it does a pretty good job. In this size I am able to wash 4 pairs of jeans (36x30) and a couple of shirts in one load. That far exceeded what I thought it to be capable of. It's got a soap dispenser (though I use liquid), and also has a lint filter to help keep some gunk out of your drain. The spin cycle gets clothes dry enough that I can air dry jeans with a fan in about 4 hours. During pulsation, it's about as loud as a common dishwasher, but noticeably noisier during the spin cycles. It's just a little more than half the loudness of a full size washer. My neighbors probably hear it a little due to the floor being all concrete, but haven't heard any complaints yet. I had to purchase a longer hose and extend the drain for where I put it, and had some challenges from that, as the hose attachment on the back doesn't seem to work well with the standard size hoses. Just an extra rubber washer added to the hose and a bit of plumber's tape made it a good tight fit. Also, the included quick-release for a faucet doesn't provide a perfect seal under pressure and leaks just a tiny bit... nothing I would consider to be a problem amount, maybe like 2 drops an hour. As a sidenote: if you don't pull it off very slowly, you'll get a shot of water in the face. The biggest gripe I have is that the bottom of the unit is plastic, and requires care when moving it. It's a kit only available through a 3rd party distributor (the OEM declares it part of the cabinetry and not replaceable) that's about a third of the cost of the washer. This was a problem, but due to the Review Guidelines I cannot delve into further detail. Many parts seem ludicrously tough to find, so unless it's a common-wear thing like the pulsator or control panel, you might be better off with a replacement. With the rate at which I was going to the laundromat, and how much the prices have gone up, I calculated that as long as this machine lasts a year, it pays for itself. Now since I had to do repairs, that gets extended a few months. However, the convenience of being able to stay at home and not use a washer with who-knows-what going through it every day is almost worth the full price by itself. The rest of the unit seems sturdy enough that I have no problem believing it will last at least 2 years. I just don't hold out much expectation beyond that. Overall, disappointed by little things, but very satisfied with the purchase.

Was this review helpful? (53) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bindokam
Phoenix
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
What a shame!
4/8/2016

Customer review by Polli

1.0 stars 4/8/2016 by Polli
by Polli

I was so excited about the idea of have a portable washing machine. Small and quiet. As soon as my machine arrived I notice a few details. The manual has very poor instructions and it has a small black thing hanging under, still I had my hopes up, then the moment of truth came, I stared my first load, everything seems to be fine and then I felt my feet wet. I searched for the leak and I found it. I call customer service, register my product and send a email. About 40 hrs later I received a email asking for pictures (I thought we were in the right track but unfortunately that was not the case). The manufacturer told me that was a delivery damage and the warranty doesn't cover that, so they wash their hands. I must said, the machine was impeccable, and perfectly well protected, I simply can not understand how can delivery broke those extremely protected pieces. I've read reviews about the poor customer service of this company but I thought - it won't happen to me- I was wrong.

Was this review helpful? (17) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Polli
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not really portable
4/2/2016

Customer review by MelMyandMay

1.0 stars 4/2/2016 by MelMyandMay
by MelMyandMay

So I'm one of the few who did not like this washer and returned it because it didn't fit my needs, here's why. It has separate hoses for hot and cold. The hoses, the power cord and the hose to drain were all too short. The machine is big and they barely went around the machine. The machine needs to be very close to hot and cold taps and an electrical outlet, very very close. The two wheels are unusable, they're very small and don't even hit the floor. You just have to push the darn thing along the floor, I have wood floors. Last problem for me was I hated the way it washed. The tub inside spun around once then stopped for a few second then spun in the other direction and stopped again. It didn't spin back and forth continuously to give the clothes a good washing. The good thing was Walmarts customer service processed my return and sent fedex to pick it up and refunded me all my money, I didn't have to pay the shipping. For that I gave the 1 star. Thanks Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (17) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MelMyandMay
Would recommend to a friend? No
Don't be afraid to try
7/21/2016

Customer review by Dawn

3.0 stars 7/21/2016 by Dawn
by Dawn
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The price was right, $300. After a long search and hours of pondering over comparable washers in the small, portable size, I decide to try the Magic Chef. I opteed for the larger 2.1 cu size. The previous one I had was a GE 3.3 cu, 30+ years old with an agitator. It had 3 load settings but only the heavy duty setting worked. A similar GE replacement was $700-$1000. Most of the small models on the market were too deep which left 3 or 4 to choose from. The other choices I had were double the price of the Magic Chef. The Kenmore comparable does not have a steel drum. So far this wash works wonderfully. I mostly use the normal setting. It takes 39 minutes (time display lights up.) clothes come out clean, rinced and free of any dripping water.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dawn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome Washer!!! Super Quiet!!!
4/13/2014

Customer review by Biggz823

5.0 stars 4/13/2014 by Biggz823
by Biggz823
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This washer is great! It's super quiet! Your clothes come out super clean! The two wash and rinse cycles are amazing! The final spin cycle is so good that two sheet size bath towels and a regular size towel are almost dry when they come out! This the perfect machine for an apartment. There are two things that may be a factor to someone else but it would not stop me from purchasing this machine again. The hoses are something that you will want to change at some point. It's worth the small investment to me. The second thing is,(which has nothing to do with the product function) I paid for delivery not knowing that another company (not UPS) was going to be delivering. After finding this out they called me when the washer arrived at the airport and set up delivery date and informed me then that they only drop off. I live on a 5th floor of a walk up. Other than those two little things I would recommend this washer to any apartment dweller or even a small business that may need a washer.

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Biggz823
Bronx, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
joejac-great machine
11/10/2013

Customer review by joejac

4.0 stars 11/10/2013 by joejac
by joejac

I purchased this machine because of all the great reviews. and looked great for senior citizens. Not knowing some of the problems you could have. Book is very short on running and set up. Could not get it to run connecting single hose from kitchen sink faucet to either hot or cold fitting. Decided to fool the machine by purchasing a( Y ) washing machine hose at HomeDepot . Hooked hose to hot and cold fittings then connected it to single line from faucet, Worked great. Other thing is on certain type of clothing loads you cannot set for full tub of water, full tub only works on normal wash. Very quiet and gets clothes very clean. Good for apartment use, when you can't have a regular machine due to apartment rules. Wheels on back are small and you have to tip way back to move, going to make a platform with rubber wheels. A great buy and well worth the money once you get it to work properly. Tub holds good size load Looking forward to getting a portable dryer.

Was this review helpful? (34) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
joejac
Hudson NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Much better product than I expected.
3/17/2014

Customer review by Cannonmusic

5.0 stars 3/17/2014 by Cannonmusic
by Cannonmusic

Years ago I had a 1.4 cubic foot portable washer. When I saw this online I figured 2.1 cu.ft. was a little larger. Boy was I surprised at the large capacity tub in this little beauty. I am a BIG woman and was able to easily wash 4 pairs of my size 28 jeans in it. I am very impressed with the large tub, with the 6 water levels and variety of wash settings. It has a setting called Air Dry which is actually like an extractor. This washer is well constructed and once you figure it out, it is extremely easy to use. It does a very good job cleaning the clothes. The only con I can come up with is that because of it's larger capacity size, it is a little difficult to move about. But..... My son added a bar onto the front so that I can lift it up and move it more easily. AND... socks should be washed with other items. When I washed a medium sized load of socks (about 10 pairs of crew socks) they tied themselves into knots... LOL! This is a fantastic machine at a very reasonable price.

Was this review helpful? (51) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cannonmusic
North Port, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Lasted a month
5/8/2016

Customer review by Mark

1.0 stars 5/8/2016 by Mark
by Mark

It's unfortunate that this did not work out given the price point and the advanced looking control panel. The build quality is low grade which explains why it is so light. I bought it for my tenants who used it for a month before the drain pump broke. Prior to that, the unit keep going out of balance causing them to have to restart the machine mid-wash. What this unit even more disappointing was the warranty service from Magic Chef. I opened up a ticket to have the unit serviced under the one year warranty and while MC was responsive, the service company in Fairfax, VA they designated to conduct the repair was anything but. I decided to take advantage of Walmart's 90 day return policy and it arranged to have FedEx pick it up. I thought about trying another unit in case I got a lemon but decided that this just proved the timeless adage: you get what you pay for. Hopefully that holds true because I just ordered a GE washer for $765.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mark
Would recommend to a friend? No
Can't Go Wrong With This Washer!
8/20/2016

Customer review by Laurie

5.0 stars 8/20/2016 by Laurie
by Laurie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Love my washer! I bought this and when I ran it the machine wouldn't drain after the wash cycle in order to rinse and spin. It was a mess but I called Walmart.com and they arranged for it to be picked up and sent me another one right away. When it arrived I hooked it up and it worked beautifully! For such a small machine (I was used to and extra-large capacity front load machine) this washer packs quite a bit of power. It has no agitator in the middle of the tub which allows for increased volume for clothes. When the wash cycle is on it really moves my load around in the machine swishing the clothes well. I was really surprised at the amount of clothes I got in a load. Very impressive. The washer has a lid that folds in the middle so it doesn't fall in your way when loading and unloading the clothes. It has wheels I the back making it mobile. I have it plugged up to regular washer hook ups and hasn't leaked a bit. It's simple to hook up and get ready to run. I love the machine and recommend it to others needing a small machine. It would be great in an apartment or tiny house. I am in a small cottage so this is perfect for me.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Laurie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Rated poor due to defect upon arrival & appearance
1/16/2013

Customer review by meanoldladyinaz

1.0 stars 1/16/2013 by meanoldladyinaz
by meanoldladyinaz
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have not been able to use the washer. The door lock was defective when the machine arrived. The new part is on its way. Magic Chef contacted a local repairman to install it. Waiting....waiting.... He told me he'd never seen one of these machines before. OMG. The washer was covered in specks of black when removed from container. It is paper residue that will take time to remove. Looked horrible. The Magic Chef phone number on the manual is just a customer service number. They do not have technicians who can intelligently discuss any problems. The drain is on the side of the washer.. My space required it to be on the rear. Magic Chef said it was impossible to re-route it. One could easily see on the back of the machine that there was a place to re-route. My local handyman easily moved it to the back. Since I have not been able to use the washer due to the defect I have no idea how it works. As of now I have "owned" this machine for about 3 weeks but can't use it.

Was this review helpful? (21) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
meanoldladyinaz
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect
7/25/2016

Customer review by Mick

5.0 stars 7/25/2016 by Mick
by Mick
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Better than expected. The machine is taller than the old Sears Kenmore mobile washer that came in a set with a drier stand. If you want to put it under the Sears drier stand you will have to raise the drier. To lift my drier I used 4 bolts with nuts and washers to replace the drier leg bolts that connected it to the stand. I used 4 bolts that are 6 inches long, 5/8 thread and you will need four nuts and three washers per bolt. I used the bolts to lift the drier above the stand and then lock it about 5 1/5 inches above the stand. The machine is better than machines with agitator. It create water movement by turning the tank and the bottom which create strong water movement but little frictions between the cloths and any machine parts and with no agitator there is plenty space for the cloths. Overall it is the best washer I ever used. Two recommendations however to Magic Chef. First -- add a few inches to the length of the drain discharge flexible pipe. If the drain you are using is not exactly in the middle of the machine you will have to get an extension. Second, some of the text marking on some of the electronic touch control are in a dark color on dark back ground which make it impossible to read it without good lighting. Since there are led lights behind the control they should provide back lighting and it will solve the problem.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mick
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 314 total reviews
1-20 of 314 reviews