Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 226 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

226 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

5 stars
67
4 stars
63
3 stars
32
2 stars
17
1 stars
47
66%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 195 total reviews
Overall good but missing parts & parts didn't fit
8/19/2012

Customer review by MelissaShops

3.0 stars by MelissaShops

Overall I would recommend this - good price and it does work. However, they didn't send enough nuts for the bolts and the nuts were impossible to match. I ended up having bolts and nuts of my own to replace the two I was missing. And, the two side legs were too short once the entire frame was put together. They just kind of hang there without touching the ground. They are the two side legs, so I don't think it will matter too much. It took me about an hour (minus the time to find replacement parts) to put it together.

Was this review helpful? (38) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
MelissaShops
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
8/21/2012

Customer review by Teamreeg

5.0 stars by Teamreeg

This bed frame was easy to set up and was exactly what we expected!

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Teamreeg
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Bed Frame
2/28/2014

Customer review by chicagogirl8989

5.0 stars by chicagogirl8989

I bought three sets for my kids' beds and was glad to see that they were pretty heavy duty compared to previous bed frames I bought. I didn't have an issue putting them together at all. Overall I am very satisfied with this product.

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
chicagogirl8989
Fairfield, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
More Difficult to Put Together Than Expected
5/12/2014

Customer review by FrustratedApril2014

1.0 stars by FrustratedApril2014

Ok, guys, I'm not Bob Villa or anything, but I've built enough furniture that I know how to put together a simple bed frame. Well this one is NOT simple to put together. My biggest complaint is the fact that the nuts won't fit the bolts provided. The plastic lining at the end of the nut (intended to make the screw and nut fit even tighter) prevented the nut from screwing completely up the bolt. Not only could I not successfully screw it, but neither could my hockey playing male roommate nor my maintenance man who came over with more tools than Home Depot. I had to buy new nuts and additional bolts in order to put the frame together correctly. The second issue I had was that numerous bolts were missing from my package when I opened it. The container holding the nuts, bolts, wrench, and other tools was already opened and the items were carelessly frolicking about the box. My final issue with the bed frame is its height. It is SO low to the ground that I bought bed risers (need 2 packages of 4) so calculate in the additional $20+ you have to pay for the risers. Not a big expense since it's definitely worth it, but something to keep in mind. You probably want to order them at the same time as the bed frame. Overall, this bed frame is functional after you buy extra bolts, new nuts, and bed risers. It is not easy to put together, but it should be since I saved you the time of figuring out the additional stuff you need in order for it to be functional as a stable frame.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
FrustratedApril2014
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not easy to assemble or move
1/23/2014

Customer review by Donarch

1.0 stars by Donarch

The designers of the MainStays Adjustable Metal Bed Frame excelled in making their product smaller, lighter, cheaper, and easier to ship because it fit into a small box. That’s good for the manufacturer, but bad for the consumer. Assembly took more than two hours. The nuts and bolts required special tools (which were provided), but they are difficult to use, particularly if you have another pair of helping hands. The design of the three major rails required splices and additional supports at these splices. The frame (in Queen mode) has NINE supports and NO casters, so moving your bed after assembly is not going to be easy. If I had to shop for a bed frame again, I’d want to find one that came with casters and one that came in a heavy, bed-length box.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Donarch
Miami, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good buy
10/26/2012

Customer review by MimiH38

5.0 stars by MimiH38

I needed a lower bed after I got one of the new thicker mattresses. My antique bedframe made it so high that I had to have a step stool to get into bed. My son-in-law put this frame together and attached it to a bed stead that I bought separately in about an hour. It's strong, it fits perfectly and I like it very much.

Was this review helpful? (15) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
MimiH38
Clyde, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Want to ruin your Saturday? Assemble this!
12/29/2012

Customer review by STLREVIEW12

1.0 stars by STLREVIEW12

Will calmly list the reasons this product is a nightmare. 1. Impossible to tighten nuts/bolts with tools provided. 2. Directions so obviously not written by someone who speaks English. 3. This is a 2-person job. There is NO physically possible way to assemble this yourself. 4. We have assembled probably 50 pieces of furniture over our lifetime, and this is bar none the worst we've dealt with. 5. Hours later when it was *finally* put together, our queen matress did not fit - meaning we had to take out some of those god-awful nuts/bolts and make adjustments. Do NOT buy this bed frame.

Was this review helpful? (15) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
STLREVIEW12
Would recommend to a friend? No
9/21/2012

Customer review by hummingbird71261

4.0 stars by hummingbird71261

Looks decent. Easy to assemble. Adjustable for different sizes. I'm happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
hummingbird71261
Shelbyville, Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
8/8/2012

Customer review by windywoman

3.0 stars by windywoman

Took a while to get the item. Things were going good puting it together until the last leg. To this day I still can not get the screw put in place. Otherwise good value for the money. The only leg giving a problem is the center at the head. So not a lot of pressure will be there. Was expecting felt on the legs, had to buy those seperate. Another expense.

Was this review helpful? (13) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
windywoman
ashland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Cheap manufactured product
6/7/2014

Customer review by Crcjac

1.0 stars by Crcjac

The assembly process took longer because the pieces kept popping off due to the nuts and bolts not matching up correctly. Frame could not support the weight of the mattress/boxspring. Poor quality.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Crcjac
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/30/2013

Customer review by tuesday12

5.0 stars by tuesday12

I am very pleased with my mainstay bed frame. It is very sturdy and has good support for the mattress and box spring. I am very happy with the bed frame. I did not have to pay for shipping which was a plus.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
tuesday12
sunderland,ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It'll do
2/20/2013

Customer review by Jubakka

3.0 stars by Jubakka

Nothing special but it will get your mattress off the floor. The bag containing the nuts and bolts came with a hole torn in it. I found out why....it was one nut and bolt short. Good thing I didn't want to attach the headboard.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Jubakka
Jacksonville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great price
12/12/2013

Customer review by NiaK

4.0 stars by NiaK

Just put it together last night. You must follow the directions or it wont fit together properly (as the directions state and as the men in my life found out!). They were about to run out to buy "larger screws". They had ignored Moms number one rule of new purchases "READ THE DIRECTIONS FIRST"! Needless to say 1 hour later, Mom had it all taken apart and put back together correctly. No extra screws (or power tools and clamps) needed! Now we are looking forward to a product that is durable and gives us our moneys worth.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
NiaK
Severn, Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A Little Difficult to Assemble
11/10/2013

Customer review by ng109

5.0 stars by ng109

This is a great product, but I would recommend two pair of hands. I assembled this as a solo and it was a little tedious, but it does come together nicely and is very sturdy.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ng109
Trussville, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fast service, Great price......
10/16/2012

Customer review by Thor2112

4.0 stars by Thor2112

...The only thing stopping me from giving it 5 stars was the wrench that comes with it. Don't waste your time using it as it will take twice as long as it should to put together. If you have your own pliers, a small wrench or best yet a wratchet wrench it should not take more than 30 minutes to put together. The wrench that comes with the frame is too flimsy to grasp the nuts properly. Bed fit perfectly and the frame was nice and sturdy.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Thor2112
NYC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice and sturdy bed frame!
10/17/2012

Customer review by tke518eku

4.0 stars by tke518eku

We put a queen size bed on this frame in our guest room. It seems to be very strong and stable. My only gripe is that some of the feet look to be slightly angled instead of straight. However, I don't see this as a major issue. It is a good frame for the price!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
tke518eku
Georgetown, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
A pain to assemble
11/11/2013

Customer review by AND919

3.0 stars by AND919

Works like it should but is a royal pain in the you know what to assemble. Took a long time and it was much easier with my own tools vs. the ones included in the kit.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
AND919
Raleigh NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Poor quality
11/8/2013

Customer review by RHCinNJl

2.0 stars by RHCinNJl

Bolt holes in one of the legs were supposed to be predrilled and weren't. When I called the telephone number provided in the documentation I was told that they were experiencing difficulties and to call back some other time. I ended up having my neighbor drill the holes for me..

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
RHCinNJl
Montague, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/29/2012

Customer review by lashette

1.0 stars by lashette

Holes was not aligned right so I could not even put it together please it's flimsy waste of money.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
lashette
Washington, DC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
11/28/2012

Customer review by Nevaagin2

1.0 stars by Nevaagin2

I spent the extra money and chose this product because I wanted something that would be easy to assemble without spending a lot of time and effort. Too many screws, instructions were not "abc,123". It took too long to put together. I would have come out better buying the old fashioned rails with the wooden slats, much easier and less expensive considering all the work that went into this. Never again

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Nevaagin2
Greer, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 195 total reviews