Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 173 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

173 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

173 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
124
4 stars
19
3 stars
6
2 stars
10
1 stars
14
1-20 of 172 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 172 total reviews
1-20 of 172 reviews
None better regardless of price
5/23/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 5/23/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I have been talked into buying many high priced rods over the years by reviewers and friends and they were mostly good equipment and I liked them and used them. No more! The first time I fished with this Veritas rod I felt like this was THE ONE. I have never handled a rod this good at any price period. I have been catching just about everything in the water this season, largest a 5lb. 9oz. LMB. I have my 7ft. medium action paired with a Revo PRM30 spinning reel and I can't imagine a situation in which I would choose one of my others over this combo. The only negative, I now have to replace a lot of expensive rods as I just won't use the others anymore. Abu Garcia you got this one perfect. Great sensitivity, strong, weighs nothing, and a truly beautiful pearl white color. The split handle and your reel seat allows for every nibble to be felt and strikes feel like hammer blows on my arm. This rod is perfect and I would like to recommend it to everyone as it will become their go to rod.

An anonymous customer
Ky.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Abu Garcia Veritas: Shall set you free...
2/2/2011

Customer review by Abu4Life

5.0 stars 2/2/2011 by Abu4Life
by Abu4Life

As they say, "the TRUTH will set you free" and that is exactly what the Veritas does -- by far the best rod in the Abu Garcia line up! Currently, I have three Veritas rods in my stable that are my "go-to" sticks when out on the water -- the 6'6" M spinning rod, the 7'0" M casting, and 7'3" MH casting rod. I assure you there will be more! The rods are sharp looking -- there is no mistaking you are throwing a Veritas as the BMW Alpine White gleams brightly in your hands. What is even better is you can look good all day long because the EVA handles feel great and are extremely light in your hands which help you to fish without fatiguing. Beyond the good looks, this rod has it all -- its nicely balanced, extremely sensitive and has great backbone to it to set the hook and wrestle fish out of the thickest of cover. The Veritas performs well above its pricepoint and is one of the best values on the market. Just as the name suggests...I speak the Veritas!

Abu4Life
Toronto, ON
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Rod Purchase
2/1/2011

Customer review by thebasscollege

5.0 stars 2/1/2011 by thebasscollege
by thebasscollege

I recently purchased several of the Veritas rods for filliping and pitching 3/8 up to 3/4 ounce jigs and soft plastics. I was a little skeptical at first, as i had always used St.Croix and G.Loomis rods, and was worried about the quality and action for the price. Boy was I ever pleasantly surprised! Not only did thy look good, but they were much lighter than expected and even though I purchased the 7'6" models, they were very accurate even in close quarters, and the sensitivity was great! I used these in all our videos that I did for our website and people were asking about them from the first time they saw me catch real trophy class largemouth on them in the videos this year. These are a quality rod even at a much higher price! Thanks again for a great product and I am looking forward to using the new Verdict rods I just purchased this year and hope to land the next state record on one of them. Tight lines, Steve

thebasscollege
Lewes,Delaware
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
So far so good.
9/12/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 9/12/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I had a vendetta that snapped the first day on the water so I "upgraded" to the Veritas in hopes that it would be a little stronger and more durable. I took it out for its first day on the lake with me and I'm happy to report that it did just fine. I caught about 6 or 7 medium sized bass and the Veritas did a great job. I was a little concerned about how it would do after my experience with the Vendetta but "so far so good". I like the sensitivity... it really transmits all sensations from the lure extremely well. My only concern is that it seems to be a little too light for my comfort... I'm afraid that if I hook into a large 10-15 pounder it won't have the backbone to get it to the boat. That's pure speculation on my part since I haven't hooked anything larger than about 7-8 pounds with it so far. But it's in the back of my mind none the less. Probably due to my experience with the Vendetta. Hopefully my concerns will prove to be unwarranted and I'll be using my new Veritas for years to come. Only time will tell, I'll let you know more after my next outing.

An anonymous customer
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Veritas
2/22/2011

Customer review by Tavery5

4.0 stars 2/22/2011 by Tavery5
by Tavery5

The Veritas is a great rod in it's price range. The rod is very light and uses quality quides with Ti frames and SiC inserts. The sensitivity of the rod is just average, however it will hold its own with other rods in its price range. The power and action of the rod are slightly underated, Med power rods feel a little more like a MH .The actions are a little underated as well. Before you buy one of these rods you should hold one in hand, so you are sure of what you are buying. Build quality of the rod is just average, with lots of extra epoxy on the quides and hook holder, the wraps are loose on allot of the rods and you will need to look at several rods to find one that is neatly built. Overall a very good rod at its price point, but it is not in the same class as the Dobyns, Kistlers, Powell, and most St. Croix rods.

Tavery5
Wichita KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Satisfied
6/20/2011

Customer review by KDE

5.0 stars 6/20/2011 by KDE
by KDE

Between Veritas and Vendettas, I now own 9 Abu Garcia rods. All are paired with either SX or STX Revos. I prefer 7'3" and 7'6" MH for the style of fishing I do. They are in their 2nd and 3rd seasons. I "fun" fish and fish local club tourneys. I take care of my equipment, but by no means baby it. Like others, I have broken one rod tip and also had a guide slide out from the epoxy. AG replaced my broken rod very quickly and I repaired the guide myself. I can't say anything was faulty with the rods, as it wasn't their first trip on the water. I use braid with a belly-bruising hookset, and the drag/brake are as tight as they go. Things get roughed up in the boat and I've broken other brands in the past as well. If all goes the same, I see no reason to look elsewhere for my next rods. Looks, Price, and Dependability.

KDE
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
so close to perfection
1/18/2012

Customer review by B

4.0 stars 1/18/2012 by B
by B

I love these rods...Been wanting them for a while and finally thanks to Santa and some giftcards, I now own 2 of the 6'6" 1 piece spinning rods....I have both rods paired with Pflueger Presidents....I am in love!!!!!! So far the strength and Sensitvity stand out more than anything..This is the first time i have ever used the split grip type rod, but when i feel bites it amazing...I feel the bite all the way up my arm...Its very obvious when a fish bites on these rods...The only negitivity i have to mention would be the action...The two rods I got are the VR S66-5...Abu Claims the action on those are XF.....I disagree....I would definately say the action is Fast but not Xtra Fast..BUT the rod is still amazing and something I can live with....However I just wish I could have the 6'6" in a medium, xtra fast....

B
Oswego, Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great piece of sweedish engineering
10/8/2011

Customer review by Noah

5.0 stars 10/8/2011 by Noah
by Noah

At first, I was somewhat skeptical about the Veritas series of rods, since I heard of a lot of rods breaking, however, the good things that I heard about it made me go out on a limb and buy two 7' medium heavy rods...one of the best decisions I've made in a long time. These rods are great. I can flip fish into the boat with no hesitation as to if the rod is going to break. The reel seat design makes them very sensitive, and the 30ton graphite gives them a LOT of back bone. If anything, my only complaint would be that they are awfully stiff in some of the lighter actions, however, that problem seems to have been fixed with the new winch series of veritas rods that just came out this fall. I can't wait to get my hands on another veritas, and am looking forward to adding a couple of winches to my collection.

Noah
Platteville, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Veritas Rods
3/23/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 3/23/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I special ordered 6 of these rods from a local tackle shop in town, 4 of them arrived with eyelets that were glued completly shut!, the other two that were usable I took fishing in neighboorhood pond. 1 rod broke on the first hookset of the year(lost the fish on top of that) almost 4' down from tip, the other caught a couple of leaves on a retrieve. With 1/4oz spinnerbait out of water and in the air I pulled leaves off of hook and snap, broke another rod just past 1st eyelet. All rods were replaced by tackleshop, but come on! get it right the first time. Also, no matter how hard you tighten the reel screwlock it always loosens up making reel flop back and forth. Aside from all that their very light and sensitive. Maybe stick to making reels or work out kinks before marketing new products

An anonymous customer
Park City, Ks
Would recommend to a friend? No
Oh so light
1/1/2013

Customer review by blueguitarplayer

5.0 stars 1/1/2013 by blueguitarplayer
by blueguitarplayer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This rod is extreamly light and strong. I can hold this all day without getting tired. I ilke it so much, I bought 4 of them at a great price.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
blueguitarplayer
willis texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
4-6kg VRS661SPM Veritas Next Generation Nano Technology Rod
6/26/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 6/26/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I purchased this rod two weeks ago and fitted the rod with a 9540 Pflueger Patriarch reel. I've owned hundreds of rods in my life and never rated one worthy of writing a review about but this one is different. Yesterday whilst chasing Australian Salmon (around 4kg) I hooked a shark that was feeding on the school of fish. The shark was around the 1.5-2M length and when I noticed its size I thought this rod might not be up to the task. It took a good 15 minutes to get the shark to the point where we could land it and I must say the rod held up admirably during the whole fight. If others are having problems with this rod, I'd suggest its your line strength, drag settings, or lack patience that is causing the rod to break. Well done Abu Garcia, you are onto a winner with this one :)

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Redfish and speckled trout tamer....
8/21/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 8/21/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Tested my VRS66-6(MH) for the first time last week on large redfish and speckled trout. The rod's backbone, action and sensitivity are perfect for this, my favorite type of fishing. The only problem I had was with a couple of the those single-foot guides. On my 3rd cast with the new rod, the first reduction guide past the butt-guide sheared off. On the next day of fishing, the second reduction guide sheared off. Both breaks appear to be brittle fractures. My guess is that impact of the double uni-knot connection between my braid line and fluorocarbon leader against the guides caused the breakages. Otherwise, it was a great fishing trip since the rod was still usable while missing 2 guides...it still allowed me to stop a couple of large redfish when they tried to run under the boat!

An anonymous customer
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Favorite rod!
10/28/2012

Customer review by JVbassin

5.0 stars 10/28/2012 by JVbassin
by JVbassin
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have two of these now. Bought the first one from bass pro for $99 so $76 shipped from Walmart is a great deal for an already great priced rod. It's super light weight and sensitive with plenty of backbone. It's just fun as heck fighting fish with these rods. The white color just tops it off. They look awesome. I'll pretty much only buy veritas rods now. The micro guides also make a big difference. They feel lighter than the standard guide rods because the weight is more evenly distributed down the shaft. If you hold them next to each other the standard guide rod will want to tip down while the micro guide rod will hold parallel to the ground. Abu Garcia also has a 3 year warranty. If it breaks for any reason, send it in, get a new rod back. No questions asked. I had one break at the tip because of the rod getting dinged and the turn around was great!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JVbassin
Ontario, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good light weight rod but stains.
4/25/2012

Customer review by Juanutb

4.0 stars 4/25/2012 by Juanutb
by Juanutb

I purchase this rod because its very light weight. I have catch lots of big reds and big sea trouts. Its one of the strongest light weight rods I have. I can be casting all day with this rod and not get tire. The only thing that I don't like is the grip handle and bottom but cap are black. All the time when I get back after my fishing trip my shirt gets stain with the black and my fishing gloves as well. It so bad that I had to put some plastic tape around the grip and the bottom buttcap because the stain it so bad that I hate it. I hope you can give me an advice as how can stop this rod from staining my shirts. I have the spining 7" foot light medium rod. Some comments say that they break but mine its very strong and so far it has done a good job fighting the fish.

Juanutb
Brownsville, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great cranking rod! Veritas Winch 7' 6" MH
10/22/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 10/22/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Recieved my new Veritas Winch 7' 6" MH rod recently and used it in the FLW Open on Guntersville. Had a tough day 1 and no bites till late on day two. Knew I needed a big fish to make a check. Takahiro had us on a ledge in about 10 feet of water. He had resorted to drop-shotting and I was able to stick with cranking a DT-10. The rod helped me make long casts into the wind and I was able to feel the bottom very well! With check-in at 4:30 I was able to boat a 5 lb. 7 oz. bruiser (at 3:30) that made three hard runs under the boat and helped me to move from 74th to 47th place and to make a check. The Veritas Winch rod and Skeet Revo worked great together. I also fished the 7' 0" Medium model in practice and liked it too. These rods weigh nothing!!! Easy to cast all day.

An anonymous customer
Owens Cross Roads, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing Rod
2/9/2011

Customer review by BassFisherman94

5.0 stars 2/9/2011 by BassFisherman94
by BassFisherman94

i love this rod, its light, looks awesome, and you can feel everything with it. i have the 7'3'' MH casting rod for pitching and flipping paired with a revo sx reel. not my most expensive combo but prob my fav combo. you can cast cranks with this, pitch and flip do any technique you want and it works(just depends on what action, and everything but it works great for all techniques). if you are looking for a inexpensive rod i would def get this one. i might only be 16 but no a good rod when i see one, i think revos work best with this rod and the vendetta. i have the vendetta it is another awesome rod. if i were you i would def go and get one of these rods. they are great and can really help you become a better fisherman. go out and catch a whopper!!!

BassFisherman94
Bridgeview, iL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
First Impression: 7ft MH Baitcaster
2/22/2011

Customer review by Leviathan

5.0 stars 2/22/2011 by Leviathan
by Leviathan

I received this rod three weeks ago, and given that I live in the land of ice and snow, it'll be a while before I can test it on the water. That said, the purpose of this review is to speak to some of the issues and concerns I've occasionally seen raised on the 'net. My initial interest is in the fit and finish of the rod. I am very pleased that the rod appears to be very well assembled. The epoxy is evenly applied around the guides, and the guides themselves are straight and aligned, just as you would expect. The appearance of the rod is great. I have read reports of t the reel seat sticking, and having tried a few different reels on it, I don't think this is going to be a problem. It holds securely, and is easy to remove the reel, contrary to some early reports I have seen. This is a very striking rod, appearance-wise. I like the white and the graphics; There will be no mistaking the rod when out in the boat! The last point I'd like to make, which is a preliminary observation, is that the rod seems to have real backbone. I'll be throwing larger cranks with this rod, a purpose for which I'm sure it'll be well-suited. Hopefully, I can follow up with an on the water report come the spring, I can't wait to try this rod out!

Leviathan
Toronto, Canada
Outstanding!!!
8/11/2011

Customer review by RollTide1322

5.0 stars 8/11/2011 by RollTide1322
by RollTide1322

I am IN LOVE with this rod!!! I bought a 7' MH to use basically as a worm fishing rod, however I have been so impressed with it that I now fish many other things with it! This rod is as tough as they come yet sensitive enough to pick up different types of bottom. Even though it is sensitive it still has plenty of backbone, I have landed several Lake Guntersville Large Mouth on it this summer with no problem. The white color and the name veritas(meaning truth) just send this rod over the edge for me, it is perfect!! Keep it up ABU, I have always been a loyal supporter and I will continue to be, I can't wait to get to try out some of your new rods/reels for this upcoming year! PS: The Hoodie demo was a very nice touch too!!!

RollTide1322
Albertville, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Rods !!!!!
10/4/2011

Customer review by Jiggler

5.0 stars 10/4/2011 by Jiggler
by Jiggler

I bought one of these and after catching about 30 largemouths on it I had to go out the next week and get another one. Paired with a Curados it has a great balance and is very lightweight. After fishing all day on several occasions and using this as my main rods for the day, I didnt feel nearly the same fatigue as I was used to on some of my other combos. When paired with the Smoke reel its as light as a feather. I can feel every blade of vegetation and every twig, even the teeth of the fish as the worm moved in its mouth. Almost like having a touchable image of the bottom as one can tell what the lure is passing through by the vibrations it sends up the line with 30lb braid.

Jiggler
Marietta, Ga.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Affordable Perfection & Reliability
2/3/2011

Customer review by Fish2Win

5.0 stars 2/3/2011 by Fish2Win
by Fish2Win

I have now purchased a total of 10 of these rods in various models after purchasing my first one and using it just weeks ago. The sensitivity and action of the rod(s) were amazing not mention how much less fatiqued I was after casting my crankbait for over 8 hours. I purchased my next rod the next day for some flipping/pitching. Needless to say, I was so impressed that decided to replace all of my casting rods with these. My next endeavor is to try one of the spinning rods and perhaps my entire tournament trail will be better this season with the improvements of adding these rods to my "game". You only have to try one to be convinced how great they are. Buddy V.

Fish2Win
mid-south
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 172 total reviews
1-20 of 172 reviews