Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 81 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

81 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

81 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
63
4 stars
14
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
2
1-20 of 80 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 80 total reviews
1-20 of 80 reviews
Would buy another if needed
1/8/2013

Customer review by barkeeper29

5.0 stars 1/8/2013 by barkeeper29
by barkeeper29

I purchased the same model last season (only righthand style) and was very happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
barkeeper29
Monroe Twp NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Hard to beat the classics
12/26/2012

Customer review by Striperk9

5.0 stars 12/26/2012 by Striperk9
by Striperk9

I needed a left-handed retrieve model while I rehabbed my rotator cuff. The 6601 met the specs I was looking for in a reel. High speed, aluminum construction, corrosion resistant bearings and solid drive system. Also not mass produced in sweat shop like most reels you find today but true Swedish engineering and construction! Feels great in the hand. Cast great. And has plenty of power to haul in nice stripers! I may be ordering a right hand model when my shoulder heals.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Striperk9
Durham
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/5/2013

Customer review by grumpytem

5.0 stars 8/5/2013 by grumpytem
by grumpytem

I have several reels from abu garcia both low profile & round baitcasting. would not fish anything else.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
grumpytem
temecula, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Factory defect
5/9/2012

Customer review by RED

5.0 stars 5/9/2012 by RED
by RED

I bought two of these at the same time. I had never used a baitcaster before. The first trip out one reel was perfect and the other one "broke inside". Sent it off to repair and had it back in 5 days. Said a gear was not welded that should have been! The factory service center also changed to a power handle as I requested at no charge. I have now cought dozens of reds with these reel and they are all I use. Works just as advertised.

RED
North East Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
yay! abu garcia
2/5/2012

Customer review by chunkmunk007

5.0 stars 2/5/2012 by chunkmunk007
by chunkmunk007

bought a c4 when i was 13, i musky fish and have tried to wear it out and am 22 now and still unsuccesful. just bought a new c4 last summer and i bent the handle on a large fish(partially my fault). abu promptly fixed it. so great reel and customer service!

chunkmunk007
Milltown, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome Reel
1/30/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/30/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I purchased 4 of the 6600's to use for Striper fishing. I use these reels for downlining and have been very impressed. The drag and power this reel offers is perfect for bringing in the big Stripers.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Nice Reel!
4/30/2012

Customer review by MuskyHunterDave

5.0 stars 4/30/2012 by MuskyHunterDave
by MuskyHunterDave

I think this reel is worth every penny I spent. It costs a little more, but it is totally amazing. This reel makes for a very good musky and pike reel.

MuskyHunterDave
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My best reel of 4
7/6/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/6/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Use it at the beach and catching largemouth bass it's the best of both worlds. Just grease it once and a while.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good choice for my new way of fishing
1/2/2012

Customer review by peteha

5.0 stars 1/2/2012 by peteha
by peteha

After using a ABU Cardinal 44 for 39 years, (which is stil in excellent condition!), I found a ABU 5601 C4 a good choice. Very smooth and precise, with good handling. Looks good and feels solid. I hope I will have as much fun with this reel as I had with my Cardinal 44.

peteha
Netherlands
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Musky/Pike/Bass Reel
12/6/2011

Customer review by MuskyMan04

5.0 stars 12/6/2011 by MuskyMan04
by MuskyMan04

I originally purchased 2 of the Ambassadeur 6600 C4 reels in 2010 for 2 of my new Musky rods. Then, I put 80lb PowerPro Braided line on them. Next, it was too the lake... I was astonished with these reels! These are my "Go Too" reels for casting for Musky, Pike and Bass. I liked them so much, I purchased 2 more, then my father tried them and he went out and purchased 2 for himself. Then, a close friend used one of mine, loved it, then went out and bought one for himself. For the price, there is no competition for the 6600 C4. Weather fishing for Musky, Pike or even Bass, this is the reel for you. The large, full length release is easy to find and use without looking for it, the gears shift every so smoothly and the drag tension is perfect for all types of lures and fish.

MuskyMan04
Burton, MI.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
good
9/2/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 9/2/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

awsome good stuff no problems good reel its worth the money

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The Go to Reel.
8/11/2011

Customer review by Cowboymike

5.0 stars 8/11/2011 by Cowboymike
by Cowboymike

After 4yrs use thus far, this reel has exceeded my expectations. From the fluted spool for less tangles, to the easy and forgiving break adjustments, it has made fishing easier and its use is alot of fun still. The ratio makes retreives smooth, and allows for great action in baits used. It's durability is outstanding, as I have a habit of being hard on equipment. The casting is superb as well. No matter what the use I've need it for, it holds up. I'll be using this reel for years to come.

Cowboymike
Farmington Mo.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Bang for your Buck!!
2/3/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 2/3/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This reel is great! It doesnt cost a lot of money, and the money it does cost is worth every dime! This thing casts a mile, handles heavy braid well, reels with ease, little or no backlash, great design, and good looking! Doing a lot of musky fishing, the only downfall is that throwing huge crankbaits and double 10 bucktails, it does get a little heavy after 8 hours of casting. But no doubt about it, one of the best round reels I've purchased.

An anonymous customer
chicago, il
4600c4
8/17/2011

Customer review by crazy joe

5.0 stars 8/17/2011 by crazy joe
by crazy joe

great real. i use my 4600c4 on a 7ft medium heavy h2o ethos rod for frog fishing. cast great,cast far with braid and mono. i have no complaints.

crazy joe
pace florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Continuing the Tradition
2/8/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 2/8/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The 4600C4 continues the long tradition of Abu Garcia reels that I learned to fish with....Smoothness of gearing and bearings is beyond compare....Ruggedness is superior to most reels made today....Reel is comfortable to use for a long day on the water...With a boat full of 4600C and even a 5600C (first year offered model) the 4600C4 has some daunting competition but has so far, equalled every task...Thank You Abu Garcia for so many memories

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
4600 with thumb bar great real
12/6/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/6/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I.recieved as a gift on.my 8th birthday from my parents I am now 20 and fish on a weekly bases and use that real every time I go. And it is still just a smooth in.castin and retrievin as it was new love it . Since then I have gathered several abu reals. Dont fish with nothing else

An anonymous customer
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
my c4
8/17/2011

Customer review by sullyb

5.0 stars 8/17/2011 by sullyb
by sullyb

I recently purchased a c4 reel.When I used it for the first time Iwas pleasently surpised with the smoothness of how it casted. The only fish that I got on that trip was retreived with no problems. Iwould highly recomend this reel and believe it to be the best of my abu garcia's.which own 5 of now.

sullyb
cleveland,ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Abu Garcia Ambassadeur C4 6600c4
2/2/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 2/2/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I'm a first time musky fisher and this was my first purchase. After spending many hours researching reels I decided the C4 6600 series was the one I was looking for. The ease of use of this reel is great. It fit my hands real well and was easy to handle on long days. It has smooth casting and a quick retrieve which I like when fishing certain lures. Other than a few rookie mistakes ( backlashes ) I have had no problems at all. I think this may be the best reel out there for the price! The guys I fish with all have the expensive fancy reels but when problems arise they always go back to the good ol Abu that's on the other pole. I would highly recommend this reel to any one. G. Olson

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
5500 C4
2/1/2011

Customer review by Lenny

5.0 stars 2/1/2011 by Lenny
by Lenny

I have used this reel for a number of years now for trolling cranks and bottom bouncers for walleyes all over MN and ND. I have also used this reel for pier casting spoons for trout and salmon on Lake Michigan. So far it has stood up to all the abuse and keeps on working like a dream. The only maintaince I have done is to grease it up every spring prior to open water season.

Lenny
Fargo, ND
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best reel ever...
7/27/2011

Customer review by Big Country

5.0 stars 7/27/2011 by Big Country
by Big Country

I have all 3. The 4600, 5600, and 6600. I love fishing for red drum and this is the perfect reel. The retrieve is super smooth and fast. I get them all the time. I stop buying all these expensive reels and kept it simple. The C4's where it at. Cant go wrong and made me a better fishermen.

Big Country
TX. and FL.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 80 total reviews
1-20 of 80 reviews