Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 47 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

47 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

47 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
42
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 stars
0
1-20 of 47 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 47 total reviews
1-20 of 47 reviews
Great value for the money
2/12/2013

Customer review by OJinLA

5.0 stars 2/12/2013 by OJinLA
by OJinLA

I've been fishing fresh and salt water for 44 years. I own Penn's, Shimano's, Newell's, Daiwa's, Mitchells, Abu Garcia's and more. I fish for bass, perch, crappies, walleye's, trout, pike, pikeral, muskie's, arctic char or tuna, halibut, yellowtail, kelp/samd bass, barracuda, and more in the oceans. For freshwater fishing, the Pfluger President is a great reel for the price. It tends to perform more like a $100-$120 reel than a $50-$60 one. They have no backlash, stand up to heavy, constant use, are light, and come in a variety of sizes for Crappie to Perch to Walleye or Bass. If you're a on a budget, but want a quality set up, pair a President with an Ugly Stick and you'll have a great rod and reel for under $100, including monofilament, hooks, sinkers, and swivels. If you have a few more dollars to spend, look at St. Croix rods and add a few Rapala's. Yes, there are better reels, but not at this price, IMHO. Teach your kids to fish. They'll enjoy it for life, and they may have this reel for 20 years or more.

Was this review helpful? (23) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OJinLA
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great Reel
9/5/2012

Customer review by Bighorn314

5.0 stars 9/5/2012 by Bighorn314
by Bighorn314

For the price of this model I could not be happier! This is by far the smoothest reel that I personally have ever used.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bighorn314
KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Best reel Ive ever owned
2/11/2013

Customer review by YZINGERR

5.0 stars 2/11/2013 by YZINGERR
by YZINGERR

Read tons of reviews online and most said Pflueger President was the way to go. Bought the 6935 and hooked it up to my medium action 7'0" rod. This reel is solid with no flex and is as smooth as butter. 10 bearings is overkill, but they work! Love the rubber handle knob and the solid construction too. Bought a spare spool from Pflueger (only comes with one) and it was inexpensive and they offered great customer service to boot. I need another reel and keep thinking about getting a shimano, but my head tells me to get another pflueger based on the great experience Ive had with this one. Ive had this reel for over a year now and I fish at least once a week with it.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
YZINGERR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Models 6935 and 6735 review from A-Z. Test of time
4/1/2013

Customer review by kevz71243

5.0 stars 4/1/2013 by kevz71243
by kevz71243

Hello spinning reel shoppers ! Now im someone thats super hard to please when it comes to anything! And even more when it comes to my reels! I love to fish and do so almost everyday im able or when the wife let me lol. Ive read 100's of reviews on these reels 6935, and the older 6735. Never fished with any Pflueger reels before theses reels. So the first one i got was the nice looking wooded handle 6735 i was blowed alway with the way it threw, you cant feel any drag when u use heavy baits,jigs ect heck it dang near reels the line in itsself. For 60$ it was a no brainer. Guys it puts reels 140$ plus to shame! Dont believe me go put your hands on one at most any sporting good stores walmart ect u will see the smoothness of the reel is just better then 80% of anything on display. So after about 3 months I ran out and got me the news model 6935 and it was the combo for about 80$ at the time. Man was i ever more happy with this one lighter weight and threw about 10 feet further.. But now the older one reels alittle better not by much tho . Now! the CONS of these reels! Ive had both reels over 2 years Ive boat fished with them, pier fished with them and even saltwater wade fished with them both. Ive caught Red drum, black drum, specks, rays, catfish,LM bass, ect and it has no prob horsing any of these fish into my hands what so ever, I can make 3lb bass ski coming in with 14lb braided line. My wife is very rough on both of the reels lol, so im I at times haha and over time sorry guys but the reels did start making alittle noise they did! They do NOT like saltwater so dont try to wade fish with them ,pier fish? Sure just keep them out of the spray of the saltwater clean them afterward of any salt or the finish will corrode . Keep them clean oiled and greased after heavy usage and they will last. I opened mine up this year after the reverse stop working on the 6735 the older one, it had some rust in the open bearings, cleaned it up and working like new again. So ya they dont like the saltwater i cleaned them both after seeing that and the new one had closed covered bears is prob y it was holding up better but neither one ever stop performing like a boss. Making a little bit of a noise now on the older one, but nothing that u can hear over the sound of the line spooling I guess its just me being picky. And lastly the finish. It comes with a cover and u mite wanna use it every chance u get because the finish on the plastic parts just wont hold up other time. Now many ask which one is better the ole 6735 or new 6935 I like them both about the same the ole one is heavier and reels little bit better but the bale wire is thinner not as strong and thick like that come on the newer ones. The new one is lighter and I like the finish better and its built better on the inside now mine has slack in the handle nothing big but there is alittle play there. Now they mite not be like that on all of them but im just pointing out everything on mine. I prob fav the newer more due to it being lighter and i like the way it feels like the matching rod also its been dropped and stepped on still holding up like new and throws great the 6935 cast alittle better then the 6735. If I had to buy it all over again or replace them I would get the new 6935 combo again for sure . And that about covers it , keep it out of the saltwater if u can help it and never dunk your reel in water at all if u do clean it to keep it from ever becoming noisy.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kevz71243
southeast ,MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent Made in America 10 Bearing Reel
11/2/2013

Customer review by drglenk

5.0 stars 11/2/2013 by drglenk
by drglenk

I own two Pfueger reels, and the largest of the President Series is my go to reel for fishing off the Jacksonville Beach Pier. It is exceptionally smooth with 10 stainless steel bearings, and I have it on a Calico Jack 1 piece 7' rod. It is a perfect match. I've been able to pull up everything from a 44" Red Fish to big sharks and sting rays to hard fighting Blue Fish and Spanish Mackerel. The reel has never been bested against some of these very strong fish. In terms of value for the money, I would buy this over almost any other reel in this weight class.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
drglenk
jacksonville, fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very smooth, very sensitive, a joy to fish with
3/24/2013

Customer review by Raptorssoar

5.0 stars 3/24/2013 by Raptorssoar
by Raptorssoar

I do a lot of ultra light fishing, creeks and ponds. Trout, bluegill, bass. Pflueger's have always provided good experiences for me. These are well built and should hold up for years too.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Raptorssoar
Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
4/29/2013

Customer review by bobalu12

5.0 stars 4/29/2013 by bobalu12
by bobalu12

real smooth ,a i can cast a miles on a good day,my son is getting 1 4 his birthday he does,t no it i really like this reel

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bobalu12
central pa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I've had all the models
8/22/2014

Customer review by DannyRay59

5.0 stars 8/22/2014 by DannyRay59
by DannyRay59

AG, Shimano, Diawa etc...... For the money, this puppy just can't be beat. It has lasted through years of use and abuse, and is still smooth as the day I first bought them and works perfectly fine. I have 10 of these from size 20 to size 40. I fish fresh water, (mostly bass, catfish, trout, and all other sunfish. Can't say anything bad about these reels. To top all of that, they are one of the best looking reels out there. They haven't failed me yet and I don't thing they will.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DannyRay59
Central Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great reel
8/22/2015

Customer review by wardawgll

5.0 stars 8/22/2015 by wardawgll
by wardawgll

This is not my first Pflueger President spinning Reel with each one. but my fourth and I'm very happy with each one.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wardawgll
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Smooth
10/27/2014

Customer review by Jackb

5.0 stars 10/27/2014 by Jackb
by Jackb

I bought the 6930, spooled it with 6lb. test, and put it on a light Ugly Stik GX2. I use it for bass, trout, and panfish. While bass fishing, I hooked a 4 foot carp that weighed about 25 pounds. As the fish bolted and went deep, the drag sang but operated smoothly. I definitely recommend this reel.

Jackb
Georgia, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
I won't buy another real!
2/4/2014

Customer review by cmoney87

5.0 stars 2/4/2014 by cmoney87
by cmoney87

I have used these reels for about 10 years now and absolutely love them! I bought my first president about 10 years ago and immediately went and purchased 3 more. I still use the first one I have ever bought and it still performs like day 1. I am just appalled by the quality of this product for the price. I have owned top of the line diawa and shimano reals and you get the same quality as this real for 3 to 4 times the price. I have not tried Pflugers higher end reels yet (mainly because I've been so satisfied with this reel) bit I imagine they are superb. I will never buy another reel that is not a pfuger! Thank you everyone at pfluger!

cmoney87
St. Petersburg, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Worth The Buy!!!
9/12/2014

Customer review by bb47

5.0 stars 9/12/2014 by bb47
by bb47

I have used this reel for a long time and it is still smooth! Love it and is one of the best brands of opening-chamber reels around!

bb47
Great Reel!!
9/2/2014

Customer review by Bass_slayer214

5.0 stars 9/2/2014 by Bass_slayer214
by Bass_slayer214

I bought this reel about 2 years ago and it has been a great reel. There was recently a little knocking and grinding inside of the reel so i took it apart and oiled and greased it and it works like its brand new. I would definitely recommend this reel to anyone who frequently fishes. I use it at least 4 times a week sometimes more and it has held up great.

Bass_slayer214
Monroeville, AL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great ultralight reel 6920X
10/6/2013

Customer review by Dave

5.0 stars 10/6/2013 by Dave
by Dave

I have been using the 6920x heavily for about 2 years now. I paired it up with a st.croix 1pc UL rod and spooled on 4lb nano fil, but sometimes I'll use 2lb fluro. I target small(1-2lb) red eye bass and have ball fighting them on light line. I have had no issues with the reel yet, and sence have bought the 6930x. Great product great,price point!

Dave
Clarksville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Love this reel
2/17/2014

Customer review by WolfMaster

5.0 stars 2/17/2014 by WolfMaster
by WolfMaster

I have had this reel for about 3 years. Bought a second. It works smooth and easy. Use it for everything from perch to trout. Broke on and am getting ready to order the parts to fix it. Wouldn't want any other.

WolfMaster
Western Washington state
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great Reel!
2/24/2014

Customer review by Pat1

5.0 stars 2/24/2014 by Pat1
by Pat1

Paired this reel with a St. Croix 4 1/2 foot ultralight for trout fishing on small streams in Pennsylvania.  The reel is as smooth as butter in feel---- no issues whatsoever.  I would highly recommend it to anyone.

Pat1
Pittsburgh, PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Best reel on the market for the money!
3/2/2014

Customer review by steiny

5.0 stars 3/2/2014 by steiny
by steiny

I have been using the pflueger brand for 15 years now. I have 20 reels, some of every model. Love everyone of them. The presidential is hard to beat for the money.

steiny
Minnesota, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great reel !!!
4/29/2014

Customer review by Cruzenchris

5.0 stars 4/29/2014 by Cruzenchris
by Cruzenchris

I bought this reel in august of 2013 and have put aprox. 500 hours of use on it.  Outstanding quality, still is like the day i bought it. have brought in bass up to 6 pounds no problem at all.   Buy this reel, you wont be sorry.  silky smooth !!!!!!!

Cruzenchris
Salem,NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Smooth Reel
10/4/2014

Customer review by TN21

5.0 stars 10/4/2014 by TN21
by TN21

I bought this reel for about 10 months until it was giving me problems. I take good care of all my reels and clean it every seasons. My reel was a defective product and return it back for warranty. Pflueger gave me a brand new one and I am very happy with their service. This reel is smooth and can handle big fish with ease. I mostly use this reel for salmon fishing and caught many up to 35 lbs. I am very satisfied with how Pflueger take care of their customers.

TN21
Pittsburg, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Very smooth
11/10/2013

Customer review by Moses

5.0 stars 11/10/2013 by Moses
by Moses

I am a Charter Boat Captain and have used many reels over the past 40 years and this is by far the best ever.

Moses
Lorain, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
1-20 of 47 total reviews
1-20 of 47 reviews