Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 270 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

5.0 stars

270 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

5.0 stars

270 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

98%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
246
4 stars
18
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 stars
1
1-20 of 270 total reviews
98%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 270 total reviews
1-20 of 270 reviews
Great value for the money
2/12/2013

Customer review by OJinLA

5.0 stars 2/12/2013 by OJinLA
by OJinLA

I've been fishing fresh and salt water for 44 years. I own Penn's, Shimano's, Newell's, Daiwa's, Mitchells, Abu Garcia's and more. I fish for bass, perch, crappies, walleye's, trout, pike, pikeral, muskie's, arctic char or tuna, halibut, yellowtail, kelp/samd bass, barracuda, and more in the oceans. For freshwater fishing, the Pfluger President is a great reel for the price. It tends to perform more like a $100-$120 reel than a $50-$60 one. They have no backlash, stand up to heavy, constant use, are light, and come in a variety of sizes for Crappie to Perch to Walleye or Bass. If you're a on a budget, but want a quality set up, pair a President with an Ugly Stick and you'll have a great rod and reel for under $100, including monofilament, hooks, sinkers, and swivels. If you have a few more dollars to spend, look at St. Croix rods and add a few Rapala's. Yes, there are better reels, but not at this price, IMHO. Teach your kids to fish. They'll enjoy it for life, and they may have this reel for 20 years or more.

Was this review helpful? (27) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OJinLA
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Nothing but Pflueger from now on!!
1/26/2016

Customer review by Refuse2quit

5.0 stars 1/26/2016 by Refuse2quit
by Refuse2quit
Spark Reviewer - received free product

My first Pflueger purchase was a President reel that was on sale at Cabelas. The salesman talked me into one...let me just say, it was the greatest tip I ever received. The 10 bearing reel is so smooth, quiet & responsive, that I ditched every other reel that I have and have replaced them all with Pflueger!! I now own a President, a Trion combo and also a purchased bait caster style Pflueger...I love them all and use only Pflueger exclusively now. I have even converted my daughter who is also now an avid fisherman and goes out all the time with me on my boat. We have caught everything from Crappie, Bluegill, Small mouth, Largemouth Bass, Catfish, Pike, and the REAL test was hooking into Dogfish on the river, which tore my old gear up, but the Pflueger reels didn't even hesitate to reel them in effortlessly! You make a great product and have won me over completely... Thank you!!!

Refuse2quit
Hebron, IN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Spark Reviewer - received free product
SALTWATER BOUND!
1/26/2016

Customer review by BobbyK

5.0 stars 1/26/2016 by BobbyK
by BobbyK
Spark Reviewer - received free product

The Pflueger President Series are great spinning reels. Suprisingly, they are available at very low affordable prices. I have two of the 6935 reels. Although they are not touted as "saltwater" reels, they handle saltwater fishing easily with simple washdown after use. No corrosion or bearing complaints after 1 1/2 years of use. These reels balance nicely with light to medium light inshore rods, and have just the right amount of weight to feel substantial in your hand. There 6lb max drag (kept well greased) is more than ample to control flounder, spotted seatrout, and redfish. Hopefully, Pflueger will keep knocking the competition dead on quality and price. I would recommend the President series to any competent inshore fisherman.

BobbyK
Murrells Inlet, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Spark Reviewer - received free product
President
1/17/2016

Customer review by Seapimp

5.0 stars 1/17/2016 by Seapimp
by Seapimp
Spark Reviewer - received free product

I've owned 2 of the 6935 series that I've had for 5-6 years now and they are work horses .ive caught everything from panfish ,trout smallmouth bass and even up to my personal best 7.2 lbs. lg mouth and they have always performed flawlessly .easy to clean and maintain .and though I never have had an issue parts for almost every pflueger ever made are readily available . I also like the fact of having an extra spool for the ability to change line to meet the conditions . I currently own 5 pflueger spinning reels ( the only reels I use in freshwater ) and they are all in the " 35 " series so even though they are different models the extra spools ( total of 10-2 each ) gives me a wide range of options and saves me a lot of $ not having to switch line or buy another reel for multiple species .

Seapimp
Lakes region ,nh.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Spark Reviewer - received free product
Smoothest Fishing reel I have ever used
1/14/2016

Customer review by Dar8600

5.0 stars 1/14/2016 by Dar8600
by Dar8600
Spark Reviewer - received free product

I bought one of these on the recommendation of my uncle who loves these reels. In my haste I purchased the wrong size. That being said I absolutely love this reel. So much so that reordered the correct ultra light version. Smooth operating and both reels are great. The only problem I have now is that both of my kids have found out how nice they are and they like using them too. Last fishing trip I went to grab a rod to fish with and I was left with my old set up while both kids used my pflugers. Guess I need to buy another one. Like I said earlier. This is the smoothest operating fishing reel I have ever used. This year I boated plenty of yellow perch and walleye using these reels and I have found no cons for them. I am a very happy customer.

Dar8600
Sheffield Lake, OH, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Spark Reviewer - received free product
Best Spinning Reel Ever Made
1/28/2016

Customer review by OMrBass

5.0 stars 1/28/2016 by OMrBass
by OMrBass
Spark Reviewer - received free product

If you want a top of the line spinning reel then you must get a Pflueger President Spinning Reel model 6935. I now have 5 of them and the last forever, I have never had a problem or any issue with them over the past 4 years. They hold up to the pressure coming from fighting big fish, excellent drag system, and a tremendous bail that has never given me any issues. In just a few words I would say this reel is "unstoppable" and is second to none. Get you one and find out how wonderful they are--once you experience the power of this reel you will not want any other kind.

OMrBass
Henderson NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Spark Reviewer - received free product
Great reel for the price
1/28/2016

Customer review by dkfc13

4.0 stars 1/28/2016 by dkfc13
by dkfc13
Spark Reviewer - received free product

I was in need of a new reel for my ice rod when I cam across the President. I debated for some time between the regular and LE presidents but decided to go with the regular since it was lighter, cheaper and the LE doesn't appear to have the sealed drag in the 20 size per the illustrated parts list on Pflueger's website (one of the LE's selling points). When new, the reel seemed very tight but after removing the mounds of grease inside and replacing with an ice lube this thing is smooth as silk. I am very happy with the purchase.

dkfc13
SW Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Spark Reviewer - received free product
best reel for the money
1/28/2016

Customer review by BIG RON

5.0 stars 1/28/2016 by BIG RON
by BIG RON
Spark Reviewer - received free product

i bought all the sizes 20 through 45 , they are perfect for finesse fishing, small lure presentation, to trolling,they reel in as smooth as glass and i had no line twist ,the reels are nice and light , they cast great , i have used all of them for the past six months for trout and small mouth bass , i caught 4 lb smallies with the size 20 and the drag was fantastic .the Pflueger President is the best reel i have owned in 40 years of fishing !

BIG RON
New Bedford, MA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Spark Reviewer - received free product
Best spinner!
1/11/2016

Customer review by BrandonB

5.0 stars 1/11/2016 by BrandonB
by BrandonB
Spark Reviewer - received free product

I've had multiple Pflueger President reels and absolutely love them. These are the only spinning reels my wife and I use for salmon and steelhead. We both have smaller ones that we use for trout fishing as well. We've landed many great fish on these reels and never had a single issue. The spool holds plenty of line for the ones that run and the casting is always smooth. Really cannot beat these reels for the money. They feel better than some reels I've used that cost hundreds of dollars. These reels are also used by my father-in-law and several friends. We've recently bought some of the new Limited Edition models and my wife wants the Ladies Edition. I'll continue buying these reels as long as they make them!

BrandonB
Olympia, WA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Spark Reviewer - received free product
Good quality and very durable
1/28/2016

Customer review by Fishwest

4.0 stars 1/28/2016 by Fishwest
by Fishwest
Spark Reviewer - received free product

The President was the first spinning reel I bought when I decided to upgrade my spinning gear. The reel has been dropped too many times and has gotten muddy too often but still is very smooth reeling. It has a few scratches but still works as well as it did when it was new. I liked the Pfluger quality and expanded my spinning collection with Supremes and Supreme XTs. For the price, these reels cannot be beat.

Fishwest
Colorado, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Spark Reviewer - received free product
Best Reel at the price!
1/28/2016

Customer review by JerseyGuy

5.0 stars 1/28/2016 by JerseyGuy
by JerseyGuy
Spark Reviewer - received free product

I have 22 President reels of various sizes and have not had a mechanical set back with any of them. They are smooth operating and I have loaned them to everyone who has been on my boat for the last 5 years. You just can't fine a better affordable reel, if you use braid, fluorocarbon, or mono lines. The drags are flawless. I recommend them to everyone who fishes with a spinning reel.

JerseyGuy
Jersey Shore, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Spark Reviewer - received free product
sweet and smooth
1/28/2016

Customer review by Fiat68

5.0 stars 1/28/2016 by Fiat68
by Fiat68
Spark Reviewer - received free product

I purchased one of the lite outfits for a crappie trip, price was great, reel impresses me ever time I pick it up, very well balanced, very smooth, great drag system this unit is perfect for panfish, have added two more to "collection" have een seriously looking at the low profile caster so if I was to win one would be even better! Thank you for the opportunity to do so Randy

Fiat68
southee illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Spark Reviewer - received free product
Beaten these reels to death and they keep ticking
1/17/2016

Customer review by Afishionado

5.0 stars 1/17/2016 by Afishionado
by Afishionado
Spark Reviewer - received free product

I have two President 6930's that I have had for three years now. These reels perform flawlessly and they are still just as smooth as they were when they came out of the box. They are small but strong and incredibly light. I have pulled in countless Redfish over 40" on them and they take the abuse and ask for more. These are by far the best reel in their price point and it performs more like a reel that carries triple the price tag. I love the President and it is the only spinning reel I will purchase from here on out, if these two original ones ever die. Thanks for such an awesome product Pflueger!

Afishionado
Cocoa Beach, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Spark Reviewer - received free product
Reel is self-repairable and works smooth
1/28/2016

Customer review by Stormwagen

4.0 stars 1/28/2016 by Stormwagen
by Stormwagen
Spark Reviewer - received free product

Bought this reel over three years ago.. While lubricating it, I dropped and lost some of the internal washers and nuts, so I was bummed. But because I had the parts list, I ordered the parts and repaired the reel myself. Works like a champ. One smooth operating spinning reel for the occasional weekend fishing trips

Stormwagen
Chesapeake, VA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Spark Reviewer - received free product
Love this reel
1/28/2016

Customer review by Bookmaster

5.0 stars 1/28/2016 by Bookmaster
by Bookmaster
Spark Reviewer - received free product

When I purchased a new pole last summer, I added the President spinning reel to the purchase, and wow! talk about falling in love fast! this is my favorite spinning reel by far. this is awesome reel from looks and design, and the exceptionally smooth operation and performance. I would recommend this reel to anyone!!

Bookmaster
Spokane Valley, WA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Spark Reviewer - received free product
mine has a catch
1/28/2016

Customer review by jrd300

3.0 stars 1/28/2016 by jrd300
by jrd300
Spark Reviewer - received free product

My Trion reel was great so when I needed to purchase another I decided to order a President. Unfortunately after closing the bail it has a catch and audible noise right after you start reeling. It's just one spot and it quits right afterward but it does it after every cast. Quality control should've caught this.

jrd300
Louisville, KY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Spark Reviewer - received free product
Great Trout Reel
1/28/2016

Customer review by TroutSlayer

5.0 stars 1/28/2016 by TroutSlayer
by TroutSlayer
Spark Reviewer - received free product

I use this for Brown Trout in the streams of Wisconsin and I love it. Drag is flawless and you can load it up with 4 - 6 lb. test fluorocarbon and it will cast some 1/32 to 1/8 lures very well. It is easy to take apart and clean. The smoothness is something you have to feel for yourself.

TroutSlayer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Spark Reviewer - received free product
Pleasantly surprised
1/28/2016

Customer review by Crash

5.0 stars 1/28/2016 by Crash
by Crash
Spark Reviewer - received free product

I purchased a Pfleugar President a few months ago as a back up for some of my other more expensive reels. It took one trip, and became my favorite. Going to pick up another one this weekend. It's about 1/2 the price of the more expensive reels, but the quality is absolutely there.

Crash
Petros, TN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Spark Reviewer - received free product
bullet prof
1/28/2016

Customer review by Bass Boat Bob

5.0 stars 1/28/2016 by Bass Boat Bob
by Bass Boat Bob
Spark Reviewer - received free product

I am 66 years old and have been fishing all my life,had many different reels.Love my Presidents more than any other types I have used.Fish fresh water bass tournaments summertime and saltwater two weeks a year in the winter.They really hold up well !!

Bass Boat Bob
Palmyra, WI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Spark Reviewer - received free product
Smooth as silk!!!
1/28/2016

Customer review by Rhinoholly

5.0 stars 1/28/2016 by Rhinoholly
by Rhinoholly
Spark Reviewer - received free product

I now have two of these guys as I loved my first President reel since the first cast. The bearing ratio really makes this reel fly and so smooth reeling in nice sized walleye and big pike. I would definitely recommend this reel!! Thanks Pfleuger !

Rhinoholly
Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Spark Reviewer - received free product
1-20 of 270 total reviews
1-20 of 270 reviews