Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 103 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

103 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

103 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
65
4 stars
25
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 stars
5
1-20 of 103 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 103 total reviews
1-20 of 103 reviews
Great reel
2/1/2013

Customer review by DaddyBass

5.0 stars 2/1/2013 by DaddyBass
by DaddyBass

Excellent reel especially for the price. I love Abu Garcia products. As long as you set it up right with the tackle you are using you'll have very few if any backlashes. I carry 7 different, more expensive, baitcaster setups with me on my boat and this reel performs equally as well and better than some of my others.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DaddyBass
NE Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very smooth
5/20/2013

Customer review by fishdontfight

5.0 stars 5/20/2013 by fishdontfight
by fishdontfight

Caught this on sale and I'm very happy with it. Bought it as a combination, basically got the Silver Max rod for free. Very little problem with backlash, I'm using braided line and love the way this reel casts. Both casting and retrieve are very smooth. This is one of the top two reels I use. The Silver Max rod is sensitive enough feel a light bump from a walleye and the reel gives a good set with no slip at all.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fishdontfight
South Dakota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very good reel for the price
12/20/2013

Customer review by Jman044

4.0 stars 12/20/2013 by Jman044
by Jman044

I realize that you can pay $300 and more for a high quality reel but it is not necessary for the every day fisherman. This unit cast's well and long distance. Good quality and I highly recommend it. I have noticed that some have problems with back lash. Frustrating, yes, but it's all in the set up. You need to turn the drag on the left side of the reel all the way to off and then attach your bait. Then the small knob on the right should be turned down as well. Then tap the release on the back of the reel and loosen the small drag knob by the crank handle just until the lure begins to fall. Check it again and when you have that right just turn the bigger knob on the left side of the reel half way and start from there. Some extra adjustment might be needed but that is the basic start point. Tight lines to all. Jman

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jman044
FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Outstanding reel!
1/16/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/16/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Outstanding reel , I am very impressed with the smoothness and way it feels in your hand , you boys have done a great thing by making such a great baitcaster that most people can afford and be proud of.Abu Garcia makes the best reels in the world,if you don't believe it,just give one a cast!

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Quality Reel
4/22/2012

Customer review by whitecap

5.0 stars 4/22/2012 by whitecap
by whitecap

Well pleased with smoothness of reel,quality, castabilty and performance.

whitecap
Hilliard Oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
What a reel!
12/7/2011

Customer review by Youngblood

5.0 stars 12/7/2011 by Youngblood
by Youngblood

Recently bought this reel as a replacement for a spinning reel. I broke one of my favorite rods, and decided to switch over to a baitcasting setup. I was on a limited budget, the guys out the local outdoor store helped me find something i could afford. I was very skeptical about this because of how affordable it is. I'm now kicking myself for not buying it sooner. I can't believe how great this reel is. I can cast with ease with everything from shakey head jigs to weightless trick worms. Ultra smooth. The drag setup is great. Handled a 6 lb largemouth the first trip out without any hiccups. Haven't really used the "flippin switch" yet, so I can't comment on that, but if you have any thumb control at all you won't need that button! This is a MUST HAVE for anyone who is new/semi-new to baitcasters!

Youngblood
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
another reel added to the collection
1/8/2012

Customer review by fshrmngrn

5.0 stars 1/8/2012 by fshrmngrn
by fshrmngrn

I have had this reel for about a year now and haven't had any problems with it. I love the feel of the reel in my hand when fighting a bis bass. I own four other reels f and five rods! In my opinion you can't go wrong with any products from ABU GARCIA. 5600 bcx, orra sx-hs, cardinal 102i and the agenda ultralight

fshrmngrn
Powell,Tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My first baitcasting reel
5/18/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 5/18/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

First off I had only used spinning reels before I purchased the silver max2, I wanted more diversity and decided a baitcaster was in order. There was a learning curve involved, I had to get used to the feel of this style of reel. My wife thought I was crazy but at midnight I tied on a 3/4 oz weight and practiced fine tuning my reel, and slowly casting. It took a bit but I got the hang of it, backlash is now minimal to none. So I went fishing at 7:00 am at my favorite local farm pond. The advantage of being able to feel your line get taps I never felt before, and have the great torque power of this reel truly doubled the amount of fish. Great product I now feel like a pro! and what a great price! I will be getting more Abu Garcia baitcasters!

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Reel
11/17/2011

Customer review by TBullin

5.0 stars 11/17/2011 by TBullin
by TBullin

Used this reel for the first time casting small crankbaits into 20 mph winds. The reel performed flawlesly. No overruns & got great distance even into the wind. The reel fits nicely in your hand & is really light weight. I would highly reccomend this reel & am planning on getting several more to replace my older ones.

TBullin
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great reel for a great price
5/26/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 5/26/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This was my first baitcast reel purchase in many years. The one thing it took me a while to get used to was how small these low profile reels have gotten. The reel performs very well. Cranks smoothly and makes nice, long casts. The flipping switch works very well compared to those on other reels I have owned in the past. The drag feels nice and strong, I will definitely be buying a couple more Max series reels in the near future.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great little surprise
5/22/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 5/22/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I have used Shimano reels for 20 + years and - quite frankly - bought this reel because of the price, intending to use it as a spare. I paired it with my favorite 7-6 worm rod just for kicks and got a wonderful surprise. I love the smoothness and cast-ability. Pitches great. I have moved the Shimano into the backup position and the new max is now a starter!! What a great reel at a great price.

An anonymous customer
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1st Baitcaster
12/27/2011

Customer review by Catfisher

5.0 stars 12/27/2011 by Catfisher
by Catfisher

This is my first baitcaster, to own. I have used many that other people owned so I had some background going into making this purchase. The gearing is very smooth, I really like the Magnetic casting brake, and I can see where the flipping switch would come in very handy. It is also easy to take apart for maintenance. Great reel for the price.

Catfisher
Columbus, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
First and Last
10/10/2011

Customer review by Jake

5.0 stars 10/10/2011 by Jake
by Jake

The Abu Garcia Silver Max was the first low profile bait casting reel I ever purchased. I have gone through many low profile bait casting reels but the Silver max has lasted me the longest (4 years). Being a broke college student makes the price appealing. Performance is awesome. Never have had any problems with reel. It is the smoothest casting reel I own and withstands any weather conditions i put it through. (rain, snow, sand, etc) It was the first low profile bait casting reel I've ever owned and it will for sure be the last I ever purchase. Great reel for great price.

Jake
Platteville, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great introductory baitcaster and very reliable
5/24/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 5/24/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I purchased this reel as a combo with a Bass Pro Shop rod. I do not have too much experience with baitcasters. In one week of fishing with this reel, I am completely comfortable with them and even prefer this over my more expensive Quantum (the Quantum is a very good reel, its a code, I just prefer the feel of the Abu). It has been tested on several occasions since I have had it, and each time it performed great. The largest of which was a 6 lb 6 oz largemouth. After this experience I would look to try one of their better ones down the road.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The Silver Max is amazing!!!
10/11/2011

Customer review by OU Bassman

5.0 stars 10/11/2011 by OU Bassman
by OU Bassman

This real is hands down one of the best reals for its price. paired with berkley lightning rod makes for some great casting on a full day of fishing. I love this real, i am not one to buy expensive reals because of how much wear i give them. but the silver max has has held up great through hiking in the woods to those lost lakes. the real also handled great with 12lb test when i hooked into a 32lb carp. Buy the Silver Max! Its worth it!

OU Bassman
Athens Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
this is my 42nd abu reel
6/1/2012

Customer review by Paw Paw

5.0 stars 6/1/2012 by Paw Paw
by Paw Paw

I have been fishing with abu products for 57 years; I presently have 45reels and 9 veritas rods; all work except one that I broke; I fish each morning about 30 minutes and each afternoon about 2 hours; the silver max is now my favorite; I use it on a veritas and fish mostly with plastics ( flukes, worms, creature); does not seem to work good on 1/4 to 5/16 oz. jigs; use my c3 for this; will continue to buy abu silver(s)

Paw Paw
South Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I Just Love It!!
4/4/2012

Customer review by RandomGuy1115

5.0 stars 4/4/2012 by RandomGuy1115
by RandomGuy1115

I got it yesterday and it works great! Really silky smooth. I paired it up with a 6'6 vengeance rod and it's light weight. I highly recommend this reel! Great for starters. I'm going fishing on Thursday and can't wait to try it out! Fantastic job Abu Garcia! Keep it up!

RandomGuy1115
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
just as good as my revo reels
10/22/2011

Customer review by Rick

5.0 stars 10/22/2011 by Rick
by Rick

I own 2 revo stx's,a revo s, and a revo sx all on abu garcia's V series rods I needed one more reel for my 6' 9" MH veritas and saw this over at my local bass pro shops, after toying with it at the store I decided to purchased it to give it a try with the thought that I would just return it if I did'nt like it ....let me tell you this new revamped silver max performes just as good as my higher end revo reels .Cast a mile and smooth as silk definitly a keeper great job Abu...you have a customer for life...

Rick
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best all around reel
10/7/2011

Customer review by Balboa

5.0 stars 10/7/2011 by Balboa
by Balboa

Between me and my partner which is my brother we own about twelve of these and with regular maintenance like lube and cleaning they have out performed every other reels we have, we both also own revos and both think silver max's will match up against them any time , plus you cant beat the price!!!

Balboa
Lake Amistad
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great first bait-caster reel!
7/23/2012

Customer review by turformis

5.0 stars 7/23/2012 by turformis
by turformis

While i was looking at different bait-caster reels this reel really stood out to me because of its reasonable price and quality. This is not only the my first bait-caster but it is also my first Abu Garcia, i was recommended by both my dad and a few friends that this was a quality brand. Now i sure do believe it, the Silver Max is very smooth for both casting and reeling, the brake system is very easy and quick to use, the drag is smooth, and it is very easy to clean and lubricate. When i first took it out fishing only the first 3 or 4 casts i got birds-nests, it is very easy to cast and you can cast if very far and accurately with some practice.

turformis
Belleville, ON
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 103 total reviews
1-20 of 103 reviews