Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 165 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

165 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

165 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
108
4 stars
37
3 stars
7
2 stars
5
1 stars
8
1-20 of 165 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 165 total reviews
1-20 of 165 reviews
Monster Catcher
4/10/2016

Customer review by Rpb19845

5.0 stars 4/10/2016 by Rpb19845
by Rpb19845

I have caught some Personal Best with this reel. It cast great and retrieves easy. So far I have enjoyed this reel over other baitcasters. It is my go to reel. I mostly fish for bass. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Rpb19845
Cincinnati, OH, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
Gender:Male
Great Reel For Low Price
3/24/2015

Customer review by Edgarza

3.0 stars 3/24/2015 by Edgarza
by Edgarza

I have owned the original Sliver max and the Sliver Max II, I have used both of these reels for both salt water and freshwater. The reel works great from large mouth bass and red fish and trout along the Corpus Christi coast. The body of the Reel is a little bulky compared to Revo series, but they work very similar. Reel could be a little smoother and sleek but overall the best reel on the market for the price.

Edgarza
San Antonio, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
best purchase ever
4/14/2013

Customer review by Kobe

5.0 stars 4/14/2013 by Kobe
by Kobe

i bought this reel for my skeet reese heavy cover pol and it works great with it! the flipping switch really came in handy will fishing the baks in heavy cover! pulled a 12lb bass out of sunkin trees easily with it!! yall have great things, keep it up!

Kobe
montgomery, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
4/4/2016

Customer review by Quentin

5.0 stars 4/4/2016 by Quentin
by Quentin

I actually own 2 silver Max's & I had them for almost 2 years now and they work amazing!!! I have 1 on a crank bait set up with the veritas 2.0 crankbait rod & the other on a frog set up with braid on the veritas 2.0 frog rod. They never let me down. Once I switched from quantum to Abu Garcia I became a better fisherman and after watching Kevin vandam lol but I just wanna say y'all are the best.!!! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Quentin
Katy, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
Gender:Male
good overall reel for the money
5/30/2016

Customer review by Boost_N on Instagram

5.0 stars 5/30/2016 by Boost_N on Instagram
by Boost_N on Instagram

The reel is very good if you take the time to figure it out. Bird nested twice due to my own error, 30 yard cast every time lipped 9 LMB using crank and swim baits. The drag is not the greatest it takes some getting used mg used to.

Boost_N on Instagram
Reno, NV, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great reel for the price!!!!!
11/5/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 11/5/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought one of the silver max reels about a year ago. This is a awesome reel for the money. I fish on the legendary Pickwick Lake for large mouth bass and small mouth bass. No matter if Im casting a texas rig lizard/worm or flipping a jig in heavy cover I dont have to worry about my silver max reel. It cast so easy without any backlashes that I went and bought my 11 year old son one. He had never threw a baitcaster before. After about a week of practice he was casting as good as or better than me and Ive been throwing baitcasters for nearly 20 years. With all of this said I have nothing else to say but what a GREAT REEL.

An anonymous customer
Florence, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great quality and features
5/8/2015

Customer review by dhood

5.0 stars 5/8/2015 by dhood
by dhood

I bought this reel about a month ago and Ive been using it almost every day, it fits great in my hands, casts great, and very durable, its been bashed around in the bed of my truck, and so far shows no sign of damage. Its very easy to set up and use which is very good for someone new to baitcasters like me.

dhood
Decatur, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
just as good as my revo reels
10/22/2011

Customer review by Rick

5.0 stars 10/22/2011 by Rick
by Rick

I own 2 revo stx's,a revo s, and a revo sx all on abu garcia's V series rods I needed one more reel for my 6' 9" MH veritas and saw this over at my local bass pro shops, after toying with it at the store I decided to purchased it to give it a try with the thought that I would just return it if I did'nt like it ....let me tell you this new revamped silver max performes just as good as my higher end revo reels .Cast a mile and smooth as silk definitly a keeper great job Abu...you have a customer for life...

Rick
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
best beginners baitcaster!
3/5/2015

Customer review by youngblood

5.0 stars 3/5/2015 by youngblood
by youngblood

I've had this reel for over 2 years now, and absolutely love it. The Silvermax is amazing. I learned to cast baitcasters with this reel and continue to use it all the time. I've thrown everything from 1/2 oz jigs to weightless wacky rigged senkos. Seems amazingly fluid.

youngblood
Charlotte, NC, United States
Gender:Male
Very nice reel for the money
3/5/2015

Customer review by Schneiderbeans

3.0 stars 3/5/2015 by Schneiderbeans
by Schneiderbeans

I currently own two silver max reels and was impressed on there performance. I've had the reels for three years now and they have worked great!

Schneiderbeans
Oskaloosa, IA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
The Silver Max is amazing!!!
10/11/2011

Customer review by OU Bassman

5.0 stars 10/11/2011 by OU Bassman
by OU Bassman

This real is hands down one of the best reals for its price. paired with berkley lightning rod makes for some great casting on a full day of fishing. I love this real, i am not one to buy expensive reals because of how much wear i give them. but the silver max has has held up great through hiking in the woods to those lost lakes. the real also handled great with 12lb test when i hooked into a 32lb carp. Buy the Silver Max! Its worth it!

OU Bassman
Athens Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Reel
4/22/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 4/22/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Hard to go wrong with this reel at the price point. I have replaced several of my older reels with the SMax after a great experience with two Abu Garcia spinning reels.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great reel
2/1/2013

Customer review by DaddyBass

5.0 stars 2/1/2013 by DaddyBass
by DaddyBass

Excellent reel especially for the price. I love Abu Garcia products. As long as you set it up right with the tackle you are using you'll have very few if any backlashes. I carry 7 different, more expensive, baitcaster setups with me on my boat and this reel performs equally as well and better than some of my others.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DaddyBass
NE Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
Very good reel for the price
12/20/2013

Customer review by Jman044

4.0 stars 12/20/2013 by Jman044
by Jman044

I realize that you can pay $300 and more for a high quality reel but it is not necessary for the every day fisherman. This unit cast's well and long distance. Good quality and I highly recommend it. I have noticed that some have problems with back lash. Frustrating, yes, but it's all in the set up. You need to turn the drag on the left side of the reel all the way to off and then attach your bait. Then the small knob on the right should be turned down as well. Then tap the release on the back of the reel and loosen the small drag knob by the crank handle just until the lure begins to fall. Check it again and when you have that right just turn the bigger knob on the left side of the reel half way and start from there. Some extra adjustment might be needed but that is the basic start point. Tight lines to all. Jman

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jman044
FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Age:55 - 64
Very smooth
5/20/2013

Customer review by fishdontfight

5.0 stars 5/20/2013 by fishdontfight
by fishdontfight

Caught this on sale and I'm very happy with it. Bought it as a combination, basically got the Silver Max rod for free. Very little problem with backlash, I'm using braided line and love the way this reel casts. Both casting and retrieve are very smooth. This is one of the top two reels I use. The Silver Max rod is sensitive enough feel a light bump from a walleye and the reel gives a good set with no slip at all.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fishdontfight
South Dakota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Age:65 or older
Awesome reel.
1/1/2015

Customer review by SwimbaitFreak

5.0 stars 1/1/2015 by SwimbaitFreak
by SwimbaitFreak

Perfect reel.I couldn't cast lures that weighed below 4 grams on my previous baitcaster,but with the silvermax,casting micro lures is easy.Skipping,flipping and pitching lures are not a problem for me anymore.I usually fish everyday (avg.of 6 hours a day) and in any weather.The performance of the reel is no different from the first time I used it. The mag trax breaking system is great too.My number of backlashes has decreased. The ratio is perfect for my needs as I use this one reel for all applications.The flipping switch makes pitching baits much easier.There's a lot more I would like to say about this,but I'm in a rush here. The reel looks great too,feels great to palm.I would recommend this if you are searching for your first baitcaster reel,or even if you are an experienced baitcaster user,you should try this.

SwimbaitFreak
Malaysia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
GREAT REEL FOR THE MONEY!!!!
1/27/2014

Customer review by Hamp

5.0 stars 1/27/2014 by Hamp
by Hamp

I purchased this reel on 1/1/2014 and it worked as advertised. Casting is as smooth as silk once the brake setting is adjusted. No backlashes whatsoever. My 11 year old had not issues casting with the reel as well and liked it very much I did have one mechanical issue: while fishing the SMAX-2 at one of the ponds at Ft. Hood, TX and after 3 hours of fishing, the entire right side flew off 20-30 feet and went into the water. The customer service was OUTSTANDING and they sent a replacement within 72 hours. I absolutely love the reel and just purchased a second one for my son. If anyone is skeptical of buying a baitcaster as I was some time ago, I'd highly recommend this reel! I didn't read any bad comments about this product and again I stress, it's better than advertised! Thank you again Abu Garcia!!!

Hamp
Killeen, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
What a reel!
12/7/2011

Customer review by Youngblood

5.0 stars 12/7/2011 by Youngblood
by Youngblood

Recently bought this reel as a replacement for a spinning reel. I broke one of my favorite rods, and decided to switch over to a baitcasting setup. I was on a limited budget, the guys out the local outdoor store helped me find something i could afford. I was very skeptical about this because of how affordable it is. I'm now kicking myself for not buying it sooner. I can't believe how great this reel is. I can cast with ease with everything from shakey head jigs to weightless trick worms. Ultra smooth. The drag setup is great. Handled a 6 lb largemouth the first trip out without any hiccups. Haven't really used the "flippin switch" yet, so I can't comment on that, but if you have any thumb control at all you won't need that button! This is a MUST HAVE for anyone who is new/semi-new to baitcasters!

Youngblood
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Recommend but . . .
9/24/2012

Customer review by Steelyonfly

4.0 stars 9/24/2012 by Steelyonfly
by Steelyonfly

I like what I feel and see in this reel and the price was right. However, I am concerned about how mine is working and whether it will hold up long term. My concern is how tight I must screw down the cast control knob. If I tighten it down until a lure stops falling in free spool then I can only cast gently and only a few feet to avoid getting a "professional over wind". In order to make a normal cast, say 45 -50 feet with a 3/8th oz lure, then I have to crank down the cast control knob until a lure many times heavier would stop falling in free spool. I can feel the tension during retrieve. I haven't used the reel enough to see if this may result in future problems. I hope not because I like the reel. Only 3 stars for casting performance because of my concerns.

Steelyonfly
On the lake
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Flippin Switch
7/24/2016

Customer review by G4 Joe

5.0 stars 7/24/2016 by G4 Joe
by G4 Joe
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased two of the Silver Max reels a year ago and was very impressed with the smooth operation. I use these reels for bottom bouncers and they have performed flawlessly. So I ordered two more,Shipping Department was unable to fill my order as the old version was out of stock . Customer service stepped in, I told them them I was going to be in a fishing tournament on July 30th. customer service up graded my order to the newest Silver Max 3 model and shipped them priority mail, had them in two days. Now I know why I own several Garcia and Abu Garcia reels. GREAT JOB ABU GARCIA.

G4 Joe
Glasgow, MT, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 165 total reviews
1-20 of 165 reviews