Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 138 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

138 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

138 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
91
4 stars
32
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 stars
6
1-20 of 138 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 138 total reviews
1-20 of 138 reviews
Flippin Switch
7/24/2016

Customer review by G4 Joe

5.0 stars 7/24/2016 by G4 Joe
by G4 Joe
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased two of the Silver Max reels a year ago and was very impressed with the smooth operation. I use these reels for bottom bouncers and they have performed flawlessly. So I ordered two more,Shipping Department was unable to fill my order as the old version was out of stock . Customer service stepped in, I told them them I was going to be in a fishing tournament on July 30th. customer service up graded my order to the newest Silver Max 3 model and shipped them priority mail, had them in two days. Now I know why I own several Garcia and Abu Garcia reels. GREAT JOB ABU GARCIA.

G4 Joe
Glasgow, MT, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My 1st Baitcaster - Super smooth, excellent qualit
7/26/2016

Customer review by ryuken2

5.0 stars 7/26/2016 by ryuken2
by ryuken2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Just got it today, and paired it with a 6'6"MH GX2 Ugly Stik. This reel is amazing for my 1st baitcaster!

ryuken2
Mountain House, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great reel
2/1/2013

Customer review by DaddyBass

5.0 stars 2/1/2013 by DaddyBass
by DaddyBass

Excellent reel especially for the price. I love Abu Garcia products. As long as you set it up right with the tackle you are using you'll have very few if any backlashes. I carry 7 different, more expensive, baitcaster setups with me on my boat and this reel performs equally as well and better than some of my others.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DaddyBass
NE Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very good reel for the price
12/20/2013

Customer review by Jman044

4.0 stars 12/20/2013 by Jman044
by Jman044

I realize that you can pay $300 and more for a high quality reel but it is not necessary for the every day fisherman. This unit cast's well and long distance. Good quality and I highly recommend it. I have noticed that some have problems with back lash. Frustrating, yes, but it's all in the set up. You need to turn the drag on the left side of the reel all the way to off and then attach your bait. Then the small knob on the right should be turned down as well. Then tap the release on the back of the reel and loosen the small drag knob by the crank handle just until the lure begins to fall. Check it again and when you have that right just turn the bigger knob on the left side of the reel half way and start from there. Some extra adjustment might be needed but that is the basic start point. Tight lines to all. Jman

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jman044
FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
good overall reel for the money
5/30/2016

Customer review by Boost_N on Instagram

5.0 stars 5/30/2016 by Boost_N on Instagram
by Boost_N on Instagram

The reel is very good if you take the time to figure it out. Bird nested twice due to my own error, 30 yard cast every time lipped 9 LMB using crank and swim baits. The drag is not the greatest it takes some getting used mg used to.

Boost_N on Instagram
Reno, NV, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Very smooth
5/20/2013

Customer review by fishdontfight

5.0 stars 5/20/2013 by fishdontfight
by fishdontfight

Caught this on sale and I'm very happy with it. Bought it as a combination, basically got the Silver Max rod for free. Very little problem with backlash, I'm using braided line and love the way this reel casts. Both casting and retrieve are very smooth. This is one of the top two reels I use. The Silver Max rod is sensitive enough feel a light bump from a walleye and the reel gives a good set with no slip at all.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fishdontfight
South Dakota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Silver is as Good as Gold
4/28/2016

Customer review by Bigcee12

4.0 stars 4/28/2016 by Bigcee12
by Bigcee12

I love my Silver max! Proud owner for three seasons! I use it as a bait reel and also as a lure chucker :) Love the design and especially the automagical bail engage. The magnetic brake is solid and the performance is definitely up to par to the Abu standard. I've owned the Black Max, Silver Max but ready for the Pro Max. Haven't made the purchase yet but maybe soon. I did just buy the STX Ambassaduer 6601. Haven't used it yet but fishing is just about to start her in Alaska. Report will come soon. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Bigcee12
Eagle River, Alaska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Love the right hand version
5/14/2016

Customer review by Bbarras85

3.0 stars 5/14/2016 by Bbarras85
by Bbarras85
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought this on accident thinking it was right handed. The max line of reels are great though.

Bbarras85
Morgan City, LA, United States
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
very smooth
5/14/2016

Customer review by nobody

5.0 stars 5/14/2016 by nobody
by nobody
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I received the real couple of weeks ago And I've been fishing once so far with it Very smooth very fast retrieve I love it

nobody
Slidell Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome for my first baitcaster!
4/16/2016

Customer review by DCooney346

5.0 stars 4/16/2016 by DCooney346
by DCooney346

I've never owned a baitcaster before and was a little nervous about purchasing one. I heard a lot of mixed reviews about this reel, but I said the heck with it and bought it anyway and am so glad I did!!! It is one of the best reels I've ever owned, I love the braking system and the way the line runs is so smooth I went out and bought a backup reel! I am so happy I decided to go with your product, you have a customer for life!!! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

DCooney346
Boyertown, PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Smooth cast
4/1/2016

Customer review by Angelis

5.0 stars 4/1/2016 by Angelis
by Angelis

I bought this reel last year about july after havi g so much trouble with my shimonu spinning 4000 ix. I got a recommandation for the abu garcia silver max bait caster and i am glad i listened. This reel has given me no trouble and best performance than any other reel i have used in the past. The casting is so smooth it takes little effort to control plus no tagles or kinks. I would recommend this reel or any other abu garcia reel. By far the best. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Angelis
Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
4/4/2016

Customer review by Quentin

5.0 stars 4/4/2016 by Quentin
by Quentin

I actually own 2 silver Max's & I had them for almost 2 years now and they work amazing!!! I have 1 on a crank bait set up with the veritas 2.0 crankbait rod & the other on a frog set up with braid on the veritas 2.0 frog rod. They never let me down. Once I switched from quantum to Abu Garcia I became a better fisherman and after watching Kevin vandam lol but I just wanna say y'all are the best.!!! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Quentin
Katy, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Low profile smooth casting and retrieve
4/10/2016

Customer review by Poultorg

5.0 stars 4/10/2016 by Poultorg
by Poultorg

I have bought plenty of reels but the Abu Garcia silver Max is the only real I will by now I use it for all my rods and baits. I own about seven of these reels and have not had one break on me. The Black Max is also a great reel as well. I would strongly recommend both reels for any Angler [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Poultorg
Schenectady, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great
4/14/2016

Customer review by Tonka

4.0 stars 4/14/2016 by Tonka
by Tonka

I've had this for a while now and I love it. It's pretty good for the price and the flipping switch on it works pretty good. I recommend this to everyone [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Tonka
Michigan, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Worried at first
4/8/2016

Customer review by Southerndrawl23

5.0 stars 4/8/2016 by Southerndrawl23
by Southerndrawl23

I bought this a little while ago and when it arrived I was a little worried. I unknowingly ordered a left handed model and being right handed I was worried but after a few casts it felt natural. Smooth on cast and retrieve would recommend [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Southerndrawl23
Victoria, TX, United States
Gender:Male
Monster Catcher
4/10/2016

Customer review by Rpb19845

5.0 stars 4/10/2016 by Rpb19845
by Rpb19845

I have caught some Personal Best with this reel. It cast great and retrieves easy. So far I have enjoyed this reel over other baitcasters. It is my go to reel. I mostly fish for bass. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Rpb19845
Cincinnati, OH, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great reel
4/11/2016

Customer review by Dwendelschafer

4.0 stars 4/11/2016 by Dwendelschafer
by Dwendelschafer

I bought my silver max about 3 months ago and it has helped me land some nice ones with the help of the varitos 2.0. Awesome rod too. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Dwendelschafer
Walker, LA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great reel!
4/13/2016

Customer review by ty21793

4.0 stars 4/13/2016 by ty21793
by ty21793

I bought this reel last year and have had nothing but good luck with it! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

ty21793
Panora, IA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Very simple
4/4/2016

Customer review by Jaydog

4.0 stars 4/4/2016 by Jaydog
by Jaydog

I've bought a used silvermax, not much ware, I'm going on my 4th year using it. It's very simple to use and maintain, so long as you have minimal baitcaster experience works great with suffix 382 30lb and works nice with just about any rod, caught many muskies with it [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Jaydog
Rice Lake, WI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
light smooth !
4/11/2016

Customer review by crankinstein

5.0 stars 4/11/2016 by crankinstein
by crankinstein

love the gen 3 max reels cast ahan mile reliable workhorse hadles rough fishing conditions [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

crankinstein
nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
1-20 of 138 total reviews
1-20 of 138 reviews