Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 113 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

113 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

113 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
74
4 stars
25
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 stars
6
1-20 of 113 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 113 total reviews
1-20 of 113 reviews
1/27/2016

Customer review by Ferg60

5.0 stars 1/27/2016 by Ferg60
by Ferg60
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've always loved your products they're top quality even for the lower end reels. Sadly they were lefty reels but I'm gonna adjust and go ambidextrous. But I say again you can't go wrong with any of your products thank you Abu Garcia.

Ferg60
Wisconsin, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Only Abu Garcia reel with a Flipping Switch!
1/3/2016

Customer review by Fish Pro

5.0 stars 1/3/2016 by Fish Pro
by Fish Pro

Thanks, Abu Garcia for having at least one low profile bait casting reel in your line that has a flipping switch.

Fish Pro
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
profile, spool speed, controlled cast
12/14/2015

Customer review by Captainwignfoot

5.0 stars 12/14/2015 by Captainwignfoot
by Captainwignfoot
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought one last year and after using it only one season was totally impressed. I have several Black Ambassador from the 60 and 70. This new Silver Max is just so much easier to use and more versatile as far as I'm concerned and every bit packed with the latest quality features. I liked it so much I just purchased two more; one for my son and one for my 14 year old grandson for Christmas. The grandson is already into casting rods and I know he will love his new real. He has already been asking me if he can throw mine when we go fishing. (He may be able to cast better that me!)

Captainwignfoot
Charlotte, NC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great little reel...
12/23/2015

Customer review by bts12

5.0 stars 12/23/2015 by bts12
by bts12
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Spark Reviewer - received free product

Low profile is so easy to handle. My wife has little hands and this makes it so easy for her to use. Smooth and tough, reel ratio is excellent.

bts12
boise, idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Spark Reviewer - received free product
The best.
12/24/2015

Customer review by NCBuck

5.0 stars 12/24/2015 by NCBuck
by NCBuck
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Spark Reviewer - received free product

What can I say. These are the best reels for the price anyone can buy.

NCBuck
Elizabeth City, NC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Spark Reviewer - received free product
Great reel
2/1/2013

Customer review by DaddyBass

5.0 stars 2/1/2013 by DaddyBass
by DaddyBass

Excellent reel especially for the price. I love Abu Garcia products. As long as you set it up right with the tackle you are using you'll have very few if any backlashes. I carry 7 different, more expensive, baitcaster setups with me on my boat and this reel performs equally as well and better than some of my others.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DaddyBass
NE Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very good reel for the price
12/20/2013

Customer review by Jman044

4.0 stars 12/20/2013 by Jman044
by Jman044

I realize that you can pay $300 and more for a high quality reel but it is not necessary for the every day fisherman. This unit cast's well and long distance. Good quality and I highly recommend it. I have noticed that some have problems with back lash. Frustrating, yes, but it's all in the set up. You need to turn the drag on the left side of the reel all the way to off and then attach your bait. Then the small knob on the right should be turned down as well. Then tap the release on the back of the reel and loosen the small drag knob by the crank handle just until the lure begins to fall. Check it again and when you have that right just turn the bigger knob on the left side of the reel half way and start from there. Some extra adjustment might be needed but that is the basic start point. Tight lines to all. Jman

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jman044
FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great reel!
11/10/2015

Customer review by Rustydrummer

5.0 stars 11/10/2015 by Rustydrummer
by Rustydrummer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is my first bait caster, coming from using spinning reels. I ordered the lefty model, as I'm used to reeling lefty an working the rod with the right, and am really enjoying it. Took a little time to get the brakes dialed in, but it works like a charm. Definitely recommend. I'm sure there are better reels out there, but for the price, this thing seems buttery smooth.

Rustydrummer
NW Ark
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome reel
11/18/2015

Customer review by allenoak

5.0 stars 11/18/2015 by allenoak
by allenoak
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this reel about a month ago and I am loving it easy casting just a great reel

allenoak
Oak City, NC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very smooth
5/20/2013

Customer review by fishdontfight

5.0 stars 5/20/2013 by fishdontfight
by fishdontfight

Caught this on sale and I'm very happy with it. Bought it as a combination, basically got the Silver Max rod for free. Very little problem with backlash, I'm using braided line and love the way this reel casts. Both casting and retrieve are very smooth. This is one of the top two reels I use. The Silver Max rod is sensitive enough feel a light bump from a walleye and the reel gives a good set with no slip at all.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fishdontfight
South Dakota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Reel Deal!
10/31/2015

Customer review by NROD1221

5.0 stars 10/31/2015 by NROD1221
by NROD1221
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Casts far, it is very smooth and its smaller profile is a perfect fit for me. Cant wait to order a few more in a higher gear ratio. Great reel for a great price! Highly recommend this reel.

NROD1221
TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Outstanding reel for the money.
10/30/2015

Customer review by Steeler Fan

5.0 stars 10/30/2015 by Steeler Fan
by Steeler Fan
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is my second silver max purchase, first one is 10 years old, and still performs great!

Steeler Fan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This reel is not a flippin or pitichen reel.
10/23/2015

Customer review by gambler

1.0 stars 10/23/2015 by gambler
by gambler

A true flippin reel is totally operable with one hand. You do not have to turn the handle to engage the spool. Just release the thumb bar.

gambler
Kansas, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Awesome reel.
1/1/2015

Customer review by SwimbaitFreak

5.0 stars 1/1/2015 by SwimbaitFreak
by SwimbaitFreak

Perfect reel.I couldn't cast lures that weighed below 4 grams on my previous baitcaster,but with the silvermax,casting micro lures is easy.Skipping,flipping and pitching lures are not a problem for me anymore.I usually fish everyday (avg.of 6 hours a day) and in any weather.The performance of the reel is no different from the first time I used it. The mag trax breaking system is great too.My number of backlashes has decreased. The ratio is perfect for my needs as I use this one reel for all applications.The flipping switch makes pitching baits much easier.There's a lot more I would like to say about this,but I'm in a rush here. The reel looks great too,feels great to palm.I would recommend this if you are searching for your first baitcaster reel,or even if you are an experienced baitcaster user,you should try this.

SwimbaitFreak
Malaysia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
What a reel!
12/7/2011

Customer review by Youngblood

5.0 stars 12/7/2011 by Youngblood
by Youngblood

Recently bought this reel as a replacement for a spinning reel. I broke one of my favorite rods, and decided to switch over to a baitcasting setup. I was on a limited budget, the guys out the local outdoor store helped me find something i could afford. I was very skeptical about this because of how affordable it is. I'm now kicking myself for not buying it sooner. I can't believe how great this reel is. I can cast with ease with everything from shakey head jigs to weightless trick worms. Ultra smooth. The drag setup is great. Handled a 6 lb largemouth the first trip out without any hiccups. Haven't really used the "flippin switch" yet, so I can't comment on that, but if you have any thumb control at all you won't need that button! This is a MUST HAVE for anyone who is new/semi-new to baitcasters!

Youngblood
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Recommend but . . .
9/24/2012

Customer review by Steelyonfly

4.0 stars 9/24/2012 by Steelyonfly
by Steelyonfly

I like what I feel and see in this reel and the price was right. However, I am concerned about how mine is working and whether it will hold up long term. My concern is how tight I must screw down the cast control knob. If I tighten it down until a lure stops falling in free spool then I can only cast gently and only a few feet to avoid getting a "professional over wind". In order to make a normal cast, say 45 -50 feet with a 3/8th oz lure, then I have to crank down the cast control knob until a lure many times heavier would stop falling in free spool. I can feel the tension during retrieve. I haven't used the reel enough to see if this may result in future problems. I hope not because I like the reel. Only 3 stars for casting performance because of my concerns.

Steelyonfly
On the lake
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
whosurdanny
5/13/2012

Customer review by whosurdanny

2.0 stars 5/13/2012 by whosurdanny
by whosurdanny

I bought my new rod reel combo today. I took it straight to my local lake and had alot of trouble getting a good cast. I spent more time cleaning up my line then I did fishing. I was either casting 5 feet away or untying knots from backlash. I really love the gear ratio but if I can't get this working the way it was advertised then I'm going back to an opened faced reel. Why is it so hard to include a manual? It'd be nice to have the info right out of the gate instead of having a bad expierence and then coming here to complain about it. If anything post a demo video for the novice bait cast reel buyer/user!!!!!!!!!! Also I'd like you to send me a brand new, top of the line rod and reel combo since I am ruined now on baitcast reels without manuals.

whosurdanny
Cincy, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My first baitcasting reel
5/18/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 5/18/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

First off I had only used spinning reels before I purchased the silver max2, I wanted more diversity and decided a baitcaster was in order. There was a learning curve involved, I had to get used to the feel of this style of reel. My wife thought I was crazy but at midnight I tied on a 3/4 oz weight and practiced fine tuning my reel, and slowly casting. It took a bit but I got the hang of it, backlash is now minimal to none. So I went fishing at 7:00 am at my favorite local farm pond. The advantage of being able to feel your line get taps I never felt before, and have the great torque power of this reel truly doubled the amount of fish. Great product I now feel like a pro! and what a great price! I will be getting more Abu Garcia baitcasters!

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great first bait-caster reel!
7/23/2012

Customer review by turformis

5.0 stars 7/23/2012 by turformis
by turformis

While i was looking at different bait-caster reels this reel really stood out to me because of its reasonable price and quality. This is not only the my first bait-caster but it is also my first Abu Garcia, i was recommended by both my dad and a few friends that this was a quality brand. Now i sure do believe it, the Silver Max is very smooth for both casting and reeling, the brake system is very easy and quick to use, the drag is smooth, and it is very easy to clean and lubricate. When i first took it out fishing only the first 3 or 4 casts i got birds-nests, it is very easy to cast and you can cast if very far and accurately with some practice.

turformis
Belleville, ON
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Would give 5 stars but release bar sticks down
8/7/2012

Customer review by Don Ivan

4.0 stars 8/7/2012 by Don Ivan
by Don Ivan

Purchased my Silver Max last June and paired it with a 6' Ugly Stick rod. It performs quite well for casting and bottom fishing from the beach and I am very pleased with its light weight and it can cast quite far into the wind using 30# braid without any backlashes. The mag feature works great without reducing casting distance too much. However, the release bar sticks frequently and I can only reengage the retrieve by turning the flipping switch on and manually pushing the bar up. I notice that others are having this same issue with their S/Max. Is there a fix for this defect? Will Abu Garcia replace or repair my reel as I choose?

Don Ivan
Puerto Rico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 113 total reviews
1-20 of 113 reviews