Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 138 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

138 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

138 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
91
4 stars
32
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 stars
6
1-20 of 138 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 138 total reviews
1-20 of 138 reviews
What a reel!
12/7/2011

Customer review by Youngblood

5.0 stars 12/7/2011 by Youngblood
by Youngblood

Recently bought this reel as a replacement for a spinning reel. I broke one of my favorite rods, and decided to switch over to a baitcasting setup. I was on a limited budget, the guys out the local outdoor store helped me find something i could afford. I was very skeptical about this because of how affordable it is. I'm now kicking myself for not buying it sooner. I can't believe how great this reel is. I can cast with ease with everything from shakey head jigs to weightless trick worms. Ultra smooth. The drag setup is great. Handled a 6 lb largemouth the first trip out without any hiccups. Haven't really used the "flippin switch" yet, so I can't comment on that, but if you have any thumb control at all you won't need that button! This is a MUST HAVE for anyone who is new/semi-new to baitcasters!

Youngblood
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Flippin Switch
7/24/2016

Customer review by G4 Joe

5.0 stars 7/24/2016 by G4 Joe
by G4 Joe
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased two of the Silver Max reels a year ago and was very impressed with the smooth operation. I use these reels for bottom bouncers and they have performed flawlessly. So I ordered two more,Shipping Department was unable to fill my order as the old version was out of stock . Customer service stepped in, I told them them I was going to be in a fishing tournament on July 30th. customer service up graded my order to the newest Silver Max 3 model and shipped them priority mail, had them in two days. Now I know why I own several Garcia and Abu Garcia reels. GREAT JOB ABU GARCIA.

G4 Joe
Glasgow, MT, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome reel.
1/1/2015

Customer review by SwimbaitFreak

5.0 stars 1/1/2015 by SwimbaitFreak
by SwimbaitFreak

Perfect reel.I couldn't cast lures that weighed below 4 grams on my previous baitcaster,but with the silvermax,casting micro lures is easy.Skipping,flipping and pitching lures are not a problem for me anymore.I usually fish everyday (avg.of 6 hours a day) and in any weather.The performance of the reel is no different from the first time I used it. The mag trax breaking system is great too.My number of backlashes has decreased. The ratio is perfect for my needs as I use this one reel for all applications.The flipping switch makes pitching baits much easier.There's a lot more I would like to say about this,but I'm in a rush here. The reel looks great too,feels great to palm.I would recommend this if you are searching for your first baitcaster reel,or even if you are an experienced baitcaster user,you should try this.

SwimbaitFreak
Malaysia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Recommend but . . .
9/24/2012

Customer review by Steelyonfly

4.0 stars 9/24/2012 by Steelyonfly
by Steelyonfly

I like what I feel and see in this reel and the price was right. However, I am concerned about how mine is working and whether it will hold up long term. My concern is how tight I must screw down the cast control knob. If I tighten it down until a lure stops falling in free spool then I can only cast gently and only a few feet to avoid getting a "professional over wind". In order to make a normal cast, say 45 -50 feet with a 3/8th oz lure, then I have to crank down the cast control knob until a lure many times heavier would stop falling in free spool. I can feel the tension during retrieve. I haven't used the reel enough to see if this may result in future problems. I hope not because I like the reel. Only 3 stars for casting performance because of my concerns.

Steelyonfly
On the lake
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
whosurdanny
5/13/2012

Customer review by whosurdanny

2.0 stars 5/13/2012 by whosurdanny
by whosurdanny

I bought my new rod reel combo today. I took it straight to my local lake and had alot of trouble getting a good cast. I spent more time cleaning up my line then I did fishing. I was either casting 5 feet away or untying knots from backlash. I really love the gear ratio but if I can't get this working the way it was advertised then I'm going back to an opened faced reel. Why is it so hard to include a manual? It'd be nice to have the info right out of the gate instead of having a bad expierence and then coming here to complain about it. If anything post a demo video for the novice bait cast reel buyer/user!!!!!!!!!! Also I'd like you to send me a brand new, top of the line rod and reel combo since I am ruined now on baitcast reels without manuals.

whosurdanny
Cincy, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My first baitcasting reel
5/18/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 5/18/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

First off I had only used spinning reels before I purchased the silver max2, I wanted more diversity and decided a baitcaster was in order. There was a learning curve involved, I had to get used to the feel of this style of reel. My wife thought I was crazy but at midnight I tied on a 3/4 oz weight and practiced fine tuning my reel, and slowly casting. It took a bit but I got the hang of it, backlash is now minimal to none. So I went fishing at 7:00 am at my favorite local farm pond. The advantage of being able to feel your line get taps I never felt before, and have the great torque power of this reel truly doubled the amount of fish. Great product I now feel like a pro! and what a great price! I will be getting more Abu Garcia baitcasters!

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My 1st Baitcaster - Super smooth, excellent qualit
7/26/2016

Customer review by ryuken2

5.0 stars 7/26/2016 by ryuken2
by ryuken2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Just got it today, and paired it with a 6'6"MH GX2 Ugly Stik. This reel is amazing for my 1st baitcaster!

ryuken2
Mountain House, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great first bait-caster reel!
7/23/2012

Customer review by turformis

5.0 stars 7/23/2012 by turformis
by turformis

While i was looking at different bait-caster reels this reel really stood out to me because of its reasonable price and quality. This is not only the my first bait-caster but it is also my first Abu Garcia, i was recommended by both my dad and a few friends that this was a quality brand. Now i sure do believe it, the Silver Max is very smooth for both casting and reeling, the brake system is very easy and quick to use, the drag is smooth, and it is very easy to clean and lubricate. When i first took it out fishing only the first 3 or 4 casts i got birds-nests, it is very easy to cast and you can cast if very far and accurately with some practice.

turformis
Belleville, ON
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Would give 5 stars but release bar sticks down
8/7/2012

Customer review by Don Ivan

4.0 stars 8/7/2012 by Don Ivan
by Don Ivan

Purchased my Silver Max last June and paired it with a 6' Ugly Stick rod. It performs quite well for casting and bottom fishing from the beach and I am very pleased with its light weight and it can cast quite far into the wind using 30# braid without any backlashes. The mag feature works great without reducing casting distance too much. However, the release bar sticks frequently and I can only reengage the retrieve by turning the flipping switch on and manually pushing the bar up. I notice that others are having this same issue with their S/Max. Is there a fix for this defect? Will Abu Garcia replace or repair my reel as I choose?

Don Ivan
Puerto Rico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Flyman
9/6/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 9/6/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

My son bought on of these reels. the first thing I noticed was it was a left handed reel. Being right handed it took a little getting use to but done it is easier and quicker to use. You have to switch the back and forth from hand to hand. The reel cast very smooth and have no problem at all with back lash. He bought this as a combo and it feels nicely balanced. I have two Browning Madalion reels which I have gotten good service out of for many years but paid a good bit more for.I hope these stand up as well. I would recommend this reel to anyone. reel has some nice features but instruction would be nice.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Silver is as Good as Gold
4/28/2016

Customer review by Bigcee12

4.0 stars 4/28/2016 by Bigcee12
by Bigcee12

I love my Silver max! Proud owner for three seasons! I use it as a bait reel and also as a lure chucker :) Love the design and especially the automagical bail engage. The magnetic brake is solid and the performance is definitely up to par to the Abu standard. I've owned the Black Max, Silver Max but ready for the Pro Max. Haven't made the purchase yet but maybe soon. I did just buy the STX Ambassaduer 6601. Haven't used it yet but fishing is just about to start her in Alaska. Report will come soon. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Bigcee12
Eagle River, Alaska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
First and Last
10/10/2011

Customer review by Jake

5.0 stars 10/10/2011 by Jake
by Jake

The Abu Garcia Silver Max was the first low profile bait casting reel I ever purchased. I have gone through many low profile bait casting reels but the Silver max has lasted me the longest (4 years). Being a broke college student makes the price appealing. Performance is awesome. Never have had any problems with reel. It is the smoothest casting reel I own and withstands any weather conditions i put it through. (rain, snow, sand, etc) It was the first low profile bait casting reel I've ever owned and it will for sure be the last I ever purchase. Great reel for great price.

Jake
Platteville, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great introductory baitcaster and very reliable
5/24/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 5/24/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I purchased this reel as a combo with a Bass Pro Shop rod. I do not have too much experience with baitcasters. In one week of fishing with this reel, I am completely comfortable with them and even prefer this over my more expensive Quantum (the Quantum is a very good reel, its a code, I just prefer the feel of the Abu). It has been tested on several occasions since I have had it, and each time it performed great. The largest of which was a 6 lb 6 oz largemouth. After this experience I would look to try one of their better ones down the road.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
good overall reel for the money
5/30/2016

Customer review by Boost_N on Instagram

5.0 stars 5/30/2016 by Boost_N on Instagram
by Boost_N on Instagram

The reel is very good if you take the time to figure it out. Bird nested twice due to my own error, 30 yard cast every time lipped 9 LMB using crank and swim baits. The drag is not the greatest it takes some getting used mg used to.

Boost_N on Instagram
Reno, NV, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Awesome for my first baitcaster!
4/16/2016

Customer review by DCooney346

5.0 stars 4/16/2016 by DCooney346
by DCooney346

I've never owned a baitcaster before and was a little nervous about purchasing one. I heard a lot of mixed reviews about this reel, but I said the heck with it and bought it anyway and am so glad I did!!! It is one of the best reels I've ever owned, I love the braking system and the way the line runs is so smooth I went out and bought a backup reel! I am so happy I decided to go with your product, you have a customer for life!!! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

DCooney346
Boyertown, PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Works great sometimes...
6/10/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 6/10/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Last year I wanted this reel really bad. I tried three different stores and finally came across one. I picked up silvermax combo and was stoked to catch a fish with it however, I constantly get backlashes, ive tried about 8 different types and brands of line and each one just seems to do the same thing so I took the cover off to look at the brakes and it looks like one of the magnets are missing. Id have to say im pretty dissapointed with this reel. I have multiple abu garcias and didnt really have problems with them

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Smooth cast
4/1/2016

Customer review by Angelis

5.0 stars 4/1/2016 by Angelis
by Angelis

I bought this reel last year about july after havi g so much trouble with my shimonu spinning 4000 ix. I got a recommandation for the abu garcia silver max bait caster and i am glad i listened. This reel has given me no trouble and best performance than any other reel i have used in the past. The casting is so smooth it takes little effort to control plus no tagles or kinks. I would recommend this reel or any other abu garcia reel. By far the best. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Angelis
Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great Baitcaster paired with Vendetta Rod
8/15/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 8/15/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I've used it on a couple outings so far. I decided to go with the LH retrieve since I normally cast with my right hand and this will allow me to reel immediately. I'll have to get used to that a little bit, but otherwise its great. Its almost weird how smooth the retrieve is, I'm used to a little more resistance. I've had a couple backlashes, but I just need to make sure to adjust the tension between flipping and casting. It casts great. I haven't had any maintenance so I haven't entered anything for that.

An anonymous customer
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
just as good as my revo reels
10/22/2011

Customer review by Rick

5.0 stars 10/22/2011 by Rick
by Rick

I own 2 revo stx's,a revo s, and a revo sx all on abu garcia's V series rods I needed one more reel for my 6' 9" MH veritas and saw this over at my local bass pro shops, after toying with it at the store I decided to purchased it to give it a try with the thought that I would just return it if I did'nt like it ....let me tell you this new revamped silver max performes just as good as my higher end revo reels .Cast a mile and smooth as silk definitly a keeper great job Abu...you have a customer for life...

Rick
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
excellence.
9/28/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 9/28/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

i live in louisiana and fish lake ponchatrain all the time. have owned this reel for app. six months and have lit. caught hundreds of drum on this reel with no problem whatsoever. have also caugth trout, flounder, redfish, etc. however the larger fish are generally drum. i have caught at least sixty drum ranging from thirty inches to fourty inches without a single problem. highly reommend this reel to anyone who wishes to own an incredible reel at an outrageously low price, then this is the reel for you.

An anonymous customer
1-20 of 138 total reviews
1-20 of 138 reviews