Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 3.4out of 5 stars
3.4 out of 5 | 64 reviews
5 stars
22
4 stars
17
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 stars
15
Sort by: 
1-20 of 62 reviews
1-20 of 62 reviews
few small problems
9/28/2015
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
this vacuum is very good for cleaning and construction cleaning because it can be carried up and down stairs and used with just the hose and attachments, and also has the removable head to do hardwood, tile, and carpeted floors. two small problems- one is like others have mentioned is that the power cord is too short. the second problem, and this has become an issue with me, is that, where the hose detaches from the stick for the main head attachment, this vacuum does not come apart well at all after time, especially if the metal tube gets gummed up with debris. I suggest lubing it, as I have broken mine and the entire electrical connection assembly just comes right off when I try to remove the hose from the stick. I did buy another one despite this problem, and plan to keep it sprayed with wd40. I hope it doesn't happen again. another problem is the release lever to make the head and stick go at an angel. there is a tiny little foot lever that I didn't see and was wondering why it eventually broke. be careful and use the foot lever or the vacuum wont stand upright anymore when not in use.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very strong suction for the price!
9/14/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This vacuum is much better than I expected. I got it early in August 2013, about a year ago. It took about 10 minutes to assemble, which it was quite easy to do! It was also shockingly quiet compared to my previous Dirt Devil upright! It has an upholstery brush along with a crevice tool. The power brush is motor driven and the pole can detach itself and can be used as an extension wand. It does NOT come with a bare floor attachment, but I use an attachment from a vacuum kit. The power brush can be turned on and off by the switch. A really good part is if the power brush gets caught on a lose string or a rug, it automatically turns itself off, and can easily be restarted! I have never broken a belt, so far! The power brush also has a headlight and 6-level adjustments. The power brush does a remarkable job on dog hair. The upholstery brush is stiff, which is excellent on stairs and furniture! The vacuum also has an unscrew-able cap underneath the canister so dirt can be unclogged, which never happened to me. I sometimes flip the cap upside down while the cleaner is on, to reduce suction, which is super strong! The handle fits most of my attachments I use. The suction is EXCELLENT! It’s stronger than my dad’s central vacuum system. I am very pleased with this product and highly recommend it. The only things I’m not pleased with is the fact that the power brush can’t get under the bed completely, and the area where the hose attaches to the canister is very delicate. It broke and I put it back on with duck tape and screws. The power brush accidentally got the cord caught in it and I had to take it apart. But then the headlight light bulb fell out. Though, the headlight isn’t really that important to me. After several repairs, it still works fine! Very strong suction for the price!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (33)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
PLASTIC TOY VACUUM CLEANER
1/4/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I am very disappointed with this product. The directions are not very clear, especially regarding cleaning the filters and putting them back in the vacuum. It has very low suction and a very small dirt cup. I have 3 pets (who will be shedding MUCH more in the summer) and the hair clogs the dirt cup so that I have to stop 2 or 3 times to empty it during one vacuuming of a 1,000 ft. sq. house. I would like to be able to use the attachments, but I can't understand the directions regarding how to do that. The illustrations are very confusing. All in all, I would like to return this product, but with the directions was the statement that I was not to return this to Walmart, but to the manufacturer. It was too much of a hassle to repack and take this to UPS or the USPS and pay whatever fee was involved. So I am using it, but I'm sure by summer I will have to start researching to buy a new vacuum. It won't be a Dirt Devil.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great vacuum and got it for a great price
10/3/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I had been looking for a cannister vacuum for several months in various stores. I was particularly interested in getting a power roller head and a vacuum with plenty of suction. Upon using the Dirt Devil for the first time, I was thoroughly surprised at its performance. Its light weight, moves easily around the room(s) and the combination of the power head and suction, I had no problem at all getting my pet friendly carpets and hardwood floors clean. Emptying was also a breeze - no dirty hands. I love this vacuum and would recommend it to anyone who wants to make their cleaning a little easier.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (31)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Above Average Dirt Devil
8/14/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Nice product for the money. Disadvantages: Electrical card could be longer, Dirt collector could be larger, Hose from canister to handle is way too firm - not easy to maneuver. Unit moves across the floor effortlessly, Power head is great - gets up all the cat hair. (we have 4 cats), Empties very well, Controls are easily accessible & simple to use. Wand stays upright when in locked position. Adjustable power head works great.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (20)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good product so far
10/13/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Bought this a month ago. The suction is excellent. It is light and easy to handle. I use it on hard wood and tile floors and carpet. Does well on all three. It picks up dog hair and everything else you can imagine. One draw back, the cord is a bit short. Fine for the bedrooms but not so great for the rest of the house. I use a six foot extension while doing the rest of the house.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (16)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Vacuum!
8/13/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I spent a lot of time researching before I bought a vacuum and I'm very pleased that I went with this one. It's lightweight, it works great for stairs, and it has the beating brushes so it works great on carpet! This vacuum is a great value for the price!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (28)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Dirt Devil Vacuum Cleaner
6/1/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Just bought this to replace my Bristol cleaner. Very light and easy to move across. The power brush does a great job but beware not to use the power brush on a lower setting on rugs. It might pull some of the rug apart. that may cause some damage to the rug. Canister easy to remove and clean up a snap. Nice that the two filters and the foam filters are washable.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great canister vacuum!
2/12/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
We wanted somthing with power, canister, bagless, washable filters, lighter. This is great so far. Tired of buying filters & bags. We are getting dirt out that our other upright was leaving behind.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Sadly Disappointed, Hoping for More
6/4/2013
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I purchased this product after doing hours of research on vacuums best for combo floor surfaces, with an emphasis on tile floors and some area rugs. This was the only product in the market I found with a 4 star rating, everything else was less than 4. Hoping for a great cleaning solution to all the floor surfaces in our house, I excitedly began vacuuming away! Keep in mind, this product does say it will vacuum carpets and area rugs. I didn't have the expectation that it should vacuum as well as an upright, but it barely got the carpets clean. I had to vacuum all 3 of my area rugs multiple times to pick up all the debris. My Dust Buster removes more off rugs than this did. I even experimented with all the carpet height settings, etc. Another thing, when trying to vacuum small rugs in the bathrooms this vacuum had a death grip on my cushiony mats and I had to turn the vacuum off to un-attach them. Again, I tried cleaning these with different settings. Now, as for the floor cleaning, yes, it did remove all the dirt, dust, cat fur, etc. on our floors. However, the small wheels left scuff marks all over our brand new Travertine floors! Even my husband noticed the scuffs all over. I will be returning this product and will be returning to the tried and true method of cleaning hard floor surfaces, a wide microfiber push mop! In addition, trying to dodge island corners, tables, etc. is much more challenging with an upright than a basic push dust mop. Save your money, this didn't save me any time cleaning the floors, and I don't have any hope that any vacuum out there could be easier or more effective than the push broom method.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
vaccum
11/22/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I love my new dirt devil vaccum. It has great suction and it is so easy to handle. Im glad I got it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good Suction, nice design...
3/1/2014
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Loved the size and ease of using this vacuum. Hose and wand were adequate in length and were well constructed. Size of wheels and canister was the small size I was looking for. Filtration system was definitely a plus. All seemed like a well designed vacuum until I turned it on and tried to vacuum low to medium size pile carpet. The motor floor attachment was not sturdy enough nor was it powerful enough for adequate suction. Very hard to push...not very motorized. After vacuuming a section, I took my Sharp cordless vacuum and went over the same section...the Sharp did a good job on picking up what the Dirt Devil left behind. Was really looking for a good canister vacuum with a motorized attachment for carpets and thought this was such a good deal...it was too good too be true kind of deal... Returned to Wal-Mart for refund...
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good Vacuum for the Price
7/1/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've had this vacuum for a year now and think it's a good product overall with some parts worth improving on. Pros: • Excellent price. Can't beat the feature/price/warranty. • Small and compact enough to put away in a closet • Good industrial design. Well thought out. Simple. Comes apart and assembles easily. • Powerful suction • Excellent bagless canister. Easy to remove and dump. • Powered Floor Nozzle works well on carpet with adjustable height settings for the brush. The light on the front is helpful for seeing into corners, under tables, etc. Cons: • Handles are unnecessary heavy and cumbersome to use for prolonged periods of time. This needs to be much lighter material.  And with addition of Floor Nozzle it becomes much heavier! This is unfortunate since the unit itself is so small. The weight makes it difficult for my elderly mom to use. Make this lighter and it's perfect! • Power and cord retraction buttons are large and easy to step on but needs more differentiation. I frequently step on the cord retract when I temporarily want to turn off the vacuum. Finally had to mark the power button with a marker! Small but important usability detail.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
HORRIBLE PRODUCT
9/8/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This product is definately not worth the money spent on it. It is made of cheap plastic, the cord doesn't retract correctly, the suction on it is useless with any attachment part. HORRIBLE PRODUCT! I GAVE IT ONE STAR BECAUSE YOU HAVE TO, BUT IT DOESN'T DESERVE THAT EITHER!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Too heavy
10/13/2012
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've returned it the next day after receiving it. It looks like a canister vacuum but it's like an upright because the nozzle is way to heavy. Had good suction but it is difficult to move around, vacuum the couches, under the furniture, etc. If you vacuum often (I have 3 cats) this is not a good choice.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Dirt Devil Cyclonic Vacuum
11/23/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
It is really a great little machine.... couldn't believe it when I finally started using it. I needed a newer lighter one and the little Devil fit the bill nicely. Would recommend this item to any one to any perspective customer.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Broken!
5/26/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I have returned this product.I bought it online.box was broken and the main vaacum pipe was damaged and had holes on it. I dont know how could walmart ship a damage product like this.I am very disappointed.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Husband who now loves to vacuum!
1/6/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Bought the Dirt Devil - Power Reach Multi-Cyclonic Bagless Canister vacuum six months ago and love it. Lightweight, powerful, easy to empty (no more bags), with a very handy on/off switch on the handle for the beater bar. I took a chance, after ready mixed reviews, and am so glad that I bought it for our home. It was on sale at Canadian Tire as well. Suggestion: Buy a separate broad vacuum bar and soft brush duster from a vacuum supply shop (make sure to bring in your hose handle to size). Each attachment will cost around $18 CAN, but it's well worth it, to add to the basic accessories already supplied. The power beater bar is sturdy, and cleans well, even on shag. The handy head light and telescopic stem are also cool features. Thank you Dirt Devil for making vacuuming fun!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great suction
9/10/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Picks up well on carpet and hard floors. Would be nice if seperate brush attachment for hard floors.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
So so machine
1/4/2014
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Neat looking machine. I should start off with saying that I have not used a vacuum for hardwood floors since I was a child, so my expectations are probably off. Didn't seem to have that much power just by the sound and how it does on rugs (not good for rugs at all). I also had a hard time maneuvering the head around and it is a canister, so that is even more complicated. I am sure I would get better with practice if I were going to keep it. Hardwood- Does pretty good at sucking in the pet hair and loose stuff. I find myself unwilling to rant in either direction, but I knew it would be returned within ten minutes
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184641741, DC-prod-dfw4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-