Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 303 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

303 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

303 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
163
4 stars
74
3 stars
20
2 stars
23
1 stars
23
1-20 of 286 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 286 total reviews
1-20 of 286 reviews
Filter quickly clogged by fine dust
3/3/2015

Customer review by DissatisfiedCustomer

2.0 stars 3/3/2015 by DissatisfiedCustomer
by DissatisfiedCustomer

Bought this for cleaning hard floors because of good reviews. Unfortunately, after having used it only a few times to clean a pet-free 2 bedroom apartment, it started to shut down after only a few minutes' use, even though canister was almost empty. I finally discovered that it was overheating... because fine dust was clogging the main HEPA filter. Holding the filter under running water per the manual did NOT clean it, because dirt was so heavily compressed; the filter can only be cleaned by laboriously prying the dirt out from each leaf of the filter with the end of large paper clip. After filter was cleaned, the vacuum no longer overheated, but still got clogged after c 30 minutes of vacuuming. Since it takes c 1 hour each time to clean the leaves of the filter manually, using the Dirt Devil is counterproductive... even if one ignores the loud noise, excessively short pole (at 5'6" I need to bend down to use it), and attachments that do not stay attached. Avoid it.

DissatisfiedCustomer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:1 month
Level of expertise:Advanced
Usage frequency:Weekly
Gender:Female
This is a cheap vacuum and you will know it
1/8/2015

Customer review by Nita

2.0 stars 1/8/2015 by Nita
by Nita

I just received this vacuum today and was eager to try it out. While putting it together I was surprised at how cheaply it was made. There was no real handle for the vacuum it was simply a curved piece of pipe unlike the Dirt Devil 082700 Vision Turbo Canister Vacuum which I was replacing. The hose is stiff and hard to manage. I found that the pull of the hose was distracting and it was difficult to keep my hand from being pulled sideways. I had hoped that the hose from my old Dirt Devil would fit on this one, but it doesn't (of course). I am not pleased with this vacuum at all and went so far as to start a return. However, after looking at the other options for similar vacuums I noticed that nearly all of the ones under $200 were made almost exactly the same. So, I suppose I am going to keep it and hope it grows on me. I wish I could be happy about this purchase, but at this point I wish I hadn't ordered it.

Nita
Ohio, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:1 week
Level of expertise:Advanced
Usage frequency:Weekly
Gender:Female
Almost good for the price.
10/12/2015

Customer review by alex

3.0 stars 10/12/2015 by alex
by alex

The price is right, the size is right, but saving $0.01 cents on apparently cheap rubber gaskets and motor holding fixtures kills all the fun as these outgas pretty badly, especially when heated. While running, it produces pretty bad rubber smell. I am being pretty ignorant about various smells could not stand it for long, not to mention my wife, who is p.. off by this pretty badly. For awhile I was wondering what could be wrong with it, as knowing vacuum construction there are not that many things that could be that smelly. The detailed examination revealed two rubber elements - one on the motor intake (gasket) and the other on the base of the motor that serves as an a motor base and vibration absorber. The latter especially outgas a lot since the motor heats in matter of seconds. The rubber appears to be a cheap variety. The better choice would be a silicone based one, that stands heat and does not outgas. All in all it is a good vacuum, if not for this issue, which seems to be lot of people complain about. Could have given this product 5/5, but this issue is really bad. Knowing this ahead of time I would not have bought it.

alex
Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
AWESOME little vacuum.
10/11/2013

Customer review by PickyPeggy

5.0 stars 10/11/2013 by PickyPeggy
by PickyPeggy

I purchased this vacuum about 6 months ago. I have hardwood floors with a few rugs here and there so I was only looking for a small but good vacuum to handle mainly hardwood floors. This little vacuum has been the answer for me. It still has great suction as long as you clean the filter after many uses. It will start to loose suction so you know you need to clean the filter. haha. It has a great little feature on the handle to let a little bit of air in so you can clean drapes and rugs. My sons borrowed this vacuum when he was renovating his house because he didn't want to have to use his big upright vacuum. He loved it too so guess what...this is what he will be getting as a Christmas present this year. Couldn't ask for a better vacuum for the price. Thanks Dirt devil for a great, reasonable priced vacuum

PickyPeggy
Douglasville, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Length of ownership:1 month
Gender:Female
Fantastic for apartments
12/2/2013

Customer review by Mary

5.0 stars 12/2/2013 by Mary
by Mary

I got this on sale for $50 almost two years ago and I have to say it's pretty darn awesome. We're in a 550 square foot apartment with mainly hard floors and an area rug. We also have a dog so there is always hair everywhere and our rug gets absolutely filthy. This thing powers right through... it picks up so much dirt and hair every week I wonder how my dog isn't bald. I'm embarrassed to say this but I had never cleaned the filter before this past weekend (first time living without my parents, and our home vacuum was a central vac... what do I know??) and oh my god it was disgusting. I rinsed out every part of the cannister in the tub and I can't wait until my next vacuum session so I can see how much power I gained back. I will be sure to clean the filter on a more regular basis now... haha.

Mary
Toronto, ON, Canada
Length of ownership:3 months
Gender:Female
50/50 (good/bad)
1/14/2016

Customer review by po d

2.0 stars 1/14/2016 by po d
by po d

I bought 2 of these (for 2 different places). It's okay as far as suction, and I really like the easy empty dirt cup. However, the hose came unattached from the connector that goes into the vacuum on BOTH of them. We had to epoxy them together. Then one of the hoses got a hole in it and I had to duct tape it. (I am not rough on the vacuums.) Also, I pretty much hate the attachments. The crevis tool is too short and the little flipper brush sometimes flips by itself and gets in the way. The Dusting Brush has NO brush at all. I have to use my old attachments. I'm very surprised about the quality. I've had a Dirt Devil upright for over 10 years that I love, but this one is not very good.

po d
Would recommend to a friend? No
Dirt Devil
5/23/2016

Customer review by Richie

4.0 stars 5/23/2016 by Richie
by Richie

I tried to use this Dirt Devil-Featherlite and I got surprised on how much dust and dirt and hair on my carpet. Even my daughter tried to use it and so happy on what she have seen. All I can say good bye to my old vacuum.. Hello to my new Dirt Devil.. too bad I couldn't show the photo on how much dirt we got coz i clean the vacuum right after I clean. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Richie
Toronto, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Idiot-proof
2/13/2014

Customer review by intune

5.0 stars 2/13/2014 by intune
by intune

One of my housemates got their hands on my vacuum before I had a chance to use it and managed to "assemble" the dust canister upside down (and throw out the manual) before using it. This caused a huge blockage of hair. When I later tried to use the vacuum, it overheated and turned off. I was easily able to locate the correct user manual on dirtdevil.com, where I was delighted to discover that this vacuum has heat detection that will shut down the vacuum without burning a fuse. Sure enough, after a 30-minute cool down and a disgusting blockage removal session, the vacuum fired right back up again and made quick and easy work of my thick carpet.

intune
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Length of ownership:1 week
Gender:Female
Not a Fan
4/12/2016

Customer review by Missmini

1.0 stars 4/12/2016 by Missmini
by Missmini

We purchased this less then a year ago, And it doesn't work properly. we thought it was clogged and that's why it kept shutting off. so we cleaned it and it continues to shut off. Last about 3 minutes. Not happy with this at all

Missmini
Oakville, ON, Canada
First time buying a Dirt Devil and this one I really love it, The Animal hair on Carpets and it pulls it all up and dirt, Fell my contaier so fast be for I'm finished.
5/6/2016

Customer review by Dolly

5.0 stars 5/6/2016 by Dolly
by Dolly

I am so glad that I bought this Vacuum, It is GREAT..

Dolly
West Virginia, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Only lasted 6 months!
9/23/2015

Customer review by Jenkins150

1.0 stars 9/23/2015 by Jenkins150
by Jenkins150

I purchased this vacuum 6 months ago hoping to replace a cheap walmart vacuum that was a few years old. I guess the saying really is true "If it's not broken, don't try to fix it". By giving up my WORKING old vacuum (Bissel), I am now left with a new BROKEN vacuum (DirtDevil), 6 months later. Everything was going good with this vacuum, until as per my normal routine, I went to plug it in and it no longer turned on! Now I am left without a vacuum and nearly $100 in the hole for a large hunk of junk and plastic.

Jenkins150
Toronto, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Update to previous review....
11/30/2013

Customer review by PaulyShore4

5.0 stars 11/30/2013 by PaulyShore4
by PaulyShore4

I received an email from the customer service and they sent me a free replacement head and a filter as a courtesy....I must say, I was impressed as 9 out of 10 companies don't care, they either delete your comment or do nothing about it. I was not expecting a reply or even help from Dirt Devil as I was only giving a but I did. The new replacement head is not wobbly as the original one, it is sturdier than the original one so I have to assume they revised the unit. For the price, and customer service....this turned out to be an excellent little powerful vacuum.

PaulyShore4
Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Only vac I'll ever need.
1/21/2015

Customer review by JBandDog

5.0 stars 1/21/2015 by JBandDog
by JBandDog

I've had this model for three years now, it's fantastic. With the recent addition of a heavy shedding Malamute, I thought the end might be near for this guy. Not the case at all. Yes, the carpet still has hair in it (any dog owner knows this is a law of nature). Yes, I empty the canister six times each room. Yes, it is all worth it. I love that I can take it all apart to clean it out, let everything sit for a day and then reassemble it. It's a fantastic machine, I just need to convince the dog that they can be friends!

JBandDog
Ontario, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Usage frequency:Daily
Gender:Male
Does OK Job
9/9/2015

Customer review by LadyInMaine

3.0 stars 9/9/2015 by LadyInMaine
by LadyInMaine

Personally I don't consider this vacuum feather-lite. What ended up happening to me is the end of the hose that is attached to the base came off from pulling the vacuum around my apartment. So now I have to lift it to move it to keep the hose from detaching. Also the attachments are tiny and rather useless. I am ready to replace it with another Eureka product designed for homes with pets.

LadyInMaine
Kennebunk, ME, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Want one!
2/8/2016

Customer review by Lily81

5.0 stars 2/8/2016 by Lily81
by Lily81

Is this vacuum model still available? If so, where? I've looked, and everywhere says "out of stock" Please Help! TIA

Lily81
Sounds like a tiny tornado....
6/16/2014

Customer review by BlueSonikku

5.0 stars 6/16/2014 by BlueSonikku
by BlueSonikku

..and I mean this in a good way. The vacuum when running is quiet,much more so then my old Water Magic used to be. I have sensitive hearing and over a few hours of vacuuming the sound used to drive me nuts! Now I can actually finish without having a noise induced headache. It also rolls smoothly on carpet (Or any smooth flooring) because of the large non-caster wheels (Except a small one on the front) that used to catch on the cord and roll the vacuum over on me.  People have been saying this vacuum is no good for carpets,now I have a short pile carpet,Berber like and I find using this with the push brush UP works great! The suction not only sucked the vacuum head right to my carpet (to the point it takes a bit to pull it free) it also got all kinds of fine silt and fuzz my old vacuum missed! my carpet not only looked cleaner but also felt cleaner. I have had beater heads in the past for my kind of carpeting,and I found them cumbersome,tangling and noisy at best. They also love to burn out belts. I don't notice any loss of suction,only when I go over something where the head loses contact with the ground,but then I think pretty much all vacuums do this :P This light little Devil does all that I need it to and more in my cleaning needs,and was a great price to match! My only suggestion would be to toughen the plastic a little. The black plastic on the attachments,the wheels and the floor head feel as though they could be made of more tougher,rugged plastic.  Over all I'm happy with the purchase of my first Dirt Devil :)

BlueSonikku
Saskatchewan, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Length of ownership:1 week
Gender:Female
Clogs easily
3/23/2015

Customer review by Missy

2.0 stars 3/23/2015 by Missy
by Missy

I bought this vacuum about two months ago. The suction is great, however the carpet brush does not work properly. Then about a month ago, it shuts off spontaneously and the motor seems to be hot. It runs approximately fifteen minutes at a time. I contacted the company, but they sent me a step by step on how to unclog (which they stated is not a manufacturer's defect, so no warranty) which didnt work, because it doesnt clog. Poor.

Missy
Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:1 week
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Usage frequency:Weekly
Gender:Female
o
5/7/2014

Customer review by Jmcdonald

4.0 stars 5/7/2014 by Jmcdonald
by Jmcdonald

This is a good little vacuum, but some small parts on the head started falling off after the first week of regular use.  The wheels and head popped off and continue to each time we use the vacuum. We're continually duct taping the head and wheels back onto the wand, which is big inconvenience.  Overall, this is a good little vacuum, but we're unhappy with the durability of some parts. 

Jmcdonald
Philadelphia, PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Length of ownership:1 week
Gender:Female
good suction but fragile head
9/23/2013

Customer review by PaulyShore4

3.0 stars 9/23/2013 by PaulyShore4
by PaulyShore4

Bought one a year ago and got the head stuck under a couch leg (as usual when cleaning) and the head broke right off. A flimsy plastic ring with 2 clips holds the head onto the vacuum wand/pipe. It broke like a piece of porcelain. So now the head won’t stay on the wand and I had to duct tape it. The whole head needs to be replaced for $30 (almost half the price of the vacuum).

PaulyShore4
Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:1 month
Gender:Male
No suction left :(
1/3/2015

Customer review by CarmenP

1.0 stars 1/3/2015 by CarmenP
by CarmenP

I've had the cyclonic featherlite vacuum for under 2 years and it has increasingly lost suction since the 6 month mark. At the beginning, it was the perfect vacuum cleaner. It sucked up pet hair, was easy to take with me because of it's size. Now, the middle "cyclonic" part no longer turns, and the vacuum barely picks up obvious easy to clean messes. 

CarmenP
Aurora, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:3 months
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Usage frequency:Weekly
Gender:Female
1-20 of 286 total reviews
1-20 of 286 reviews