Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 298 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

298 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

298 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
160
4 stars
73
3 stars
20
2 stars
23
1 stars
22
1-20 of 281 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 281 total reviews
1-20 of 281 reviews
BUY THIS ONE!!!! :)
2/13/2013

Customer review by Nvrgvup

5.0 stars 2/13/2013 by Nvrgvup
by Nvrgvup

I used to own a Rainbow Vacuum that had all the bells and whistles. I wanted something small and lightweight. I have a three story home which includes carpet, wood floors and tile. I checked the reviews for this vacuum and made the decision to purchase. I LOVE this vacuum!!!! I've had it for 6 mths now. It is extremely lightweight and the power that this little machine puts out is incredible!! I like the one touch release of the canister and at the push of a button, I can empty it's contents into the waste pan. The suction of this machine is better than that of my Rainbow!!! It works really well on carpets ( low pile carpeting). My Dirt Devil works extremely well on my wood floors getting everything out of the space between each plank. The attachments come in extra handy. I would like it if the power cord was longer. I use an extension cord when cleaning of my larger rooms. Should you buy this vacuum??? YES!!! If you have hardwood flooring, tile, and low pile carpets this is your vacuum!! Thx!!!

Was this review helpful? (129) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nvrgvup
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Poor attachments
5/28/2014

Customer review by msx56

3.0 stars 5/28/2014 by msx56
by msx56

The vacuum has a crevice tool with a brush to fold down. The tool is too wide to fit into the opening of a forced hot water radiator, all other crevice tools from previous brands that I have owned fit into the radiator. In a wider opening of the radiator, it fits but the brush pops down half way making it impossible to use in that way. The dust brush attached to the crevice tool is too small for practical use. The vacuum has a 1" hose hole opening. This is not a standard size and old attachments that I have (1+1/4") do not fit. I have tried to find a hose/attachment adapter without success. I will try using a little Velcro to make them fit snugly. The upholstery brush and larger floor attachment work well. The vacuum has excellent suction, I had to open the hose suction adjuster a little to vacuum hardwood floors. Even the "too big" old attachments stay in wobbly place, because the suction is strong.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
msx56
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
50/50 (good/bad)
1/14/2016

Customer review by po d

2.0 stars 1/14/2016 by po d
by po d

I bought 2 of these (for 2 different places). It's okay as far as suction, and I really like the easy empty dirt cup. However, the hose came unattached from the connector that goes into the vacuum on BOTH of them. We had to epoxy them together. Then one of the hoses got a hole in it and I had to duct tape it. (I am not rough on the vacuums.) Also, I pretty much hate the attachments. The crevis tool is too short and the little flipper brush sometimes flips by itself and gets in the way. The Dusting Brush has NO brush at all. I have to use my old attachments. I'm very surprised about the quality. I've had a Dirt Devil upright for over 10 years that I love, but this one is not very good.

po d
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not what I was hoping for...
6/30/2014

Customer review by mountainmomma357

1.0 stars 6/30/2014 by mountainmomma357
by mountainmomma357

First, let me start by saying that we are a home of 3 kiddos so dirt is abundant and we live in the country so we probably have more dirt that most families. With that being said I can say that this vacuum was terrible! If you have a little dust here and there it may work ok for you but we have dirt and occasionally clumps of it comes out of shoes and bits of grass get brought in quiet a bit. Most of the time I sweep but occasionally I like to bring out the big guns and vacuum really good under the couches along the baseboards where dirt likes to hide from the broom. I found that this vacuum only pushed the grass and clumps around it wouldn't pick it up. The head is too weak and poorly designed for any deep cleaning especially with kids. I used it on both hardwood and carpet and found it to be poor in both areas. The small head that I thought would work well for furniture left light scratches on my leather and I didn't bother to use the other attachment because at this point I knew there was no point. I wouldn't recommend this vacuum to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 7/1/2014

Hi mountainmomma357! The Featherlite is advertised and recommend for hard floor pick up. There's two settings on your floor tool that you can press to engage the brush for tougher debris to pick up, and disengage for basic pick up on hard floors. You'll see the pedal here: _http://imgur.com/k63zmh7. We'd recommend a vacuum with a spinning brush for use on carpeting. Have you see our Total Pet Cyclonic: _http://bit.ly/1xEmesg. I has a spinning brush, is lightweight, very affordable, and can be found right her on Walmart's site! Hope this helps.

mountainmomma357
Would recommend to a friend? No
Quality built, easy to empty, loves to clean
9/19/2013

Customer review by BellSA

5.0 stars 9/19/2013 by BellSA
by BellSA
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this based on the great reviews and was still a bit concerned about the poor reviews. I made the right decision. I cannot comment on how well it would do on high pile carpet as we don't have any. We have wood floors, large and small carpet rugs. It's quality built and loves to be put to work. My house has never been so easy to clean and I mean spotless. No more broom sweeping that make the dust bunnies fly away everywhere and can't get into corners or under my dresser, or around the sofas, dining area which is difficult to do as sweeping does not pick up the dirt in these hard to reach areas, and then having to bring out the dust pan each time. This machine gets it all even under my sofa seats cushions. I like the 2 attachments as well I use both of them. I get my house clean with ease and so quickly and then I go over my floors with one of those hand held mops that use detachable washable cloths. Living out in the woods never looks so clean. I love our Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum, SD40100. Also a big Thank you to Walmart for the unbeatable price.

Was this review helpful? (53) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BellSA
Monticello
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My wife wanted it...
8/14/2012

Customer review by SerenityBrowncoat

5.0 stars 8/14/2012 by SerenityBrowncoat
by SerenityBrowncoat

... so we got it. The price was awesome compared to other online sites, the shipping fast (and free) and the product is great. She wanted something small and as a bagless canister to use several times a week to keep up with Sheltie hair that magically appears. Does the trick all around.

Was this review helpful? (129) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SerenityBrowncoat
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great product for the price!
10/12/2012

Customer review by PLavonrep

4.0 stars 10/12/2012 by PLavonrep
by PLavonrep

This vacuum works great for the purpose for which I bought it. I mainly purchased it to clean up pet hair from our hardwood floors and it does a great job! Has very good suction for the most part with lighter objects and dirt. Only area I've seen it not do so good is with picking up small rocks/larger peices of dirt. I dont think it has anything to do with the suction, but rather how the floor attachment lays on the floor when in use. Doesnt work so well on Carpet if you have lots of carpeted areas. This is more of a hard floor vac. It is easy to empty, easy to pull around behind you. Wish the cord was longer but I just attach an extension cord so that I can go further. All in all its a great little vacuum for a very reasonable price.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PLavonrep
Washington State
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great little vacuum for everyday cleaning.
11/19/2013

Customer review by utahant

5.0 stars 11/19/2013 by utahant
by utahant
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've had this vacuum for a week now, and just love it. It's light, easy to pick up by the handle and move around or just pull behind you. It's not noisy (less noisy than my Bissell upright), and easier to vacuum rugs than with upright. I have hard/wood flooring and rugs, so the upright I was using was giving me a sore shoulder. I'm glad I got this little vacuum. No pain in the shoulder anymore! Easy to roll around. The canister comes off, press a button for easy dumping, no mess. No bags to deal with. Love the design of it, buttons are easy to press with foot. The wand is telescopic, sturdy metal, I don't have to bend over (I'm 5'6"), it's long enough for me. The transition from rug to hard flooring is easy, press the retractable brush with foot. Picks up all the mess. Gets under furniture too. Only thing I wish was different would be the length of the cord, but I just unplug and plug-in where I need to go. But the retractable cord makes up for that; I guess for the size of it you can't have more cord retracting, or the unit would have to be bigger. I haven't used the other attachments, haven't needed them yet but probably will soon. Great all around and a great price! Can't beat that!

Was this review helpful? (50) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
utahant
Ogden, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Filter quickly clogged by fine dust
3/3/2015

Customer review by DissatisfiedCustomer

2.0 stars 3/3/2015 by DissatisfiedCustomer
by DissatisfiedCustomer

Bought this for cleaning hard floors because of good reviews. Unfortunately, after having used it only a few times to clean a pet-free 2 bedroom apartment, it started to shut down after only a few minutes' use, even though canister was almost empty. I finally discovered that it was overheating... because fine dust was clogging the main HEPA filter. Holding the filter under running water per the manual did NOT clean it, because dirt was so heavily compressed; the filter can only be cleaned by laboriously prying the dirt out from each leaf of the filter with the end of large paper clip. After filter was cleaned, the vacuum no longer overheated, but still got clogged after c 30 minutes of vacuuming. Since it takes c 1 hour each time to clean the leaves of the filter manually, using the Dirt Devil is counterproductive... even if one ignores the loud noise, excessively short pole (at 5'6" I need to bend down to use it), and attachments that do not stay attached. Avoid it.

Comment from John - 3/3/2015

Hi, We want to help! You shouldn't have to go through all that effort to get your vacuum to run like it should. Please email John.Hitch@ttifloorcare.com so we can provide further assistance. Thanks!

DissatisfiedCustomer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage frequency:Weekly
Length of ownership:1 month
Gender:Female
Level of expertise:Advanced
Made for a family
12/17/2013

Customer review by GizzysMommy

5.0 stars 12/17/2013 by GizzysMommy
by GizzysMommy

I love this vacuum. It is lightweight, will suck up anything (including toys and clogs of mud), and never clogs . I am a mother of four, with a dog, and a husband who loves to hunt. They are always tracking in everything. We have a pool and it even sucks up the sand that the kids track in from the cabana area. I vacuum my wood floors, brick floors, around the firelplace, and area rug with this handy machine. The only negative thing...The cord isn't long enough.

Was this review helpful? (25) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GizzysMommy
Port Allen, La
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Cute, compact, cheap, and works like a charm.
10/9/2012

Customer review by new2flatscreenvt

4.0 stars 10/9/2012 by new2flatscreenvt
by new2flatscreenvt

I chose this for a few reasons. 1. It is compact enough to fit in a cabinet as storage is an issue in my home. 2. It does not require bags - I hate shopping for bags - I have frequently bought the wrong bags, and have several of assorted sizes and shapes and weird letters in my cleaning cabinet. 3. It is light weight, and I'm not getting any younger, anything that makes life easier is good for me! Performance - great! I have mainly hard floors, it tackles them easily - I was shocked by just how much dirt was in the canister (I live on a dirt road, have 2 kids and 1 dog). It's not great on rugs. I have just two short pile rugs, and it doesn't do the best job on those. If you have carpet, choose an upright model, but if you like to vacuum your furniture, drapes, lampshades, etc. and you have hard floors, then this is a great machine. I particularly like the feature on the handle that lets you open a vent to lessen the amount of suction so that it doesn't eat the drapes. Having the tools right there on the long shaft at your finger tips means that you are more likely to change nozzles and actually use them - another great feature. Like other reviewers before me, I wish the cord was longer. I love to plug into a central location and get everything done in one shot. An extension cord easily fixes that, and the cord retraction button is a refreshing change from having to hand wind the cord on my old machine.

Was this review helpful? (55) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
new2flatscreenvt
Vermont
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
8/2/2012

Customer review by Pinoy10

5.0 stars 8/2/2012 by Pinoy10
by Pinoy10

Works very well for our new tiled & laminated floors. Easy & light to drag around. Cord is short so I'm using an extension cord.

Was this review helpful? (30) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pinoy10
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Almost good for the price.
10/12/2015

Customer review by alex

3.0 stars 10/12/2015 by alex
by alex

The price is right, the size is right, but saving $0.01 cents on apparently cheap rubber gaskets and motor holding fixtures kills all the fun as these outgas pretty badly, especially when heated. While running, it produces pretty bad rubber smell. I am being pretty ignorant about various smells could not stand it for long, not to mention my wife, who is p.. off by this pretty badly. For awhile I was wondering what could be wrong with it, as knowing vacuum construction there are not that many things that could be that smelly. The detailed examination revealed two rubber elements - one on the motor intake (gasket) and the other on the base of the motor that serves as an a motor base and vibration absorber. The latter especially outgas a lot since the motor heats in matter of seconds. The rubber appears to be a cheap variety. The better choice would be a silicone based one, that stands heat and does not outgas. All in all it is a good vacuum, if not for this issue, which seems to be lot of people complain about. Could have given this product 5/5, but this issue is really bad. Knowing this ahead of time I would not have bought it.

Comment from Kenya - 10/14/2015

Hi alex! That is very strange indeed. A new vacuum may have a strong plastic smell but this usually goes away after the first few uses. We want you to know that quality is one of our top priorities. If you continue to have this problem we recommend taking your Featherlight in for inspection at a local authorized Dirt Devil center. To locate your nearest location visit: http://dirtdevil.com/locator/. Let us know if you still need us!

alex
Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
dirt devil canister
5/25/2014

Customer review by elbcastine

4.0 stars 5/25/2014 by elbcastine
by elbcastine
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

only had it a few days but i will tell you one thing it is way ahead of any up right i have ever owned..so easy to get under beds and around furniture. very quiet and plenty of suction..don't like way attachments are put on shaft so just take every thing off and just keep attachments handy..no big deal....buy it , i did and i am not sorry...

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
elbcastine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Just what I wanted !
11/11/2013

Customer review by bevshops1

5.0 stars 11/11/2013 by bevshops1
by bevshops1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Living in an apartment now,my big clunky upright could not get in the smaller spaces. I saw this and figured why not. It is perfect, good suction, has tools to get into tight spaces and takes up very little space in the closet. So glad I found it.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bevshops1
Baldwin,NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
exceeds my expectations!
9/15/2012

Customer review by worthmytime

5.0 stars 9/15/2012 by worthmytime
by worthmytime

i haven't had the best experiences with vacuum's in the past. but, this model is pretty outstanding. i have a small apartment with hardwood floors and area rugs. the first time i used it, i couldn't stop. it works amazing on both surfaces. it's super powerful!! especially, for as small as it is. the size is convenient. and there are just enough features to meet my needs. this vacuum is an outstanding value for the money! get one!

Was this review helpful? (55) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
worthmytime
los angeles, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Love it!
1/15/2013

Customer review by lovethisvacume

5.0 stars 1/15/2013 by lovethisvacume
by lovethisvacume
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I read review on Amazon for many of the vacuum cleaner and this one had best review and it was right! Though it was the cheapest, this walks amazingly! It has powerful suction it even picks up huge rug in the room. This vacuum pick up all the dust that the other vacuum left! I definitly recommend this!!

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lovethisvacume
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great
11/10/2013

Customer review by mrscleen1

5.0 stars 11/10/2013 by mrscleen1
by mrscleen1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Love this vacuum. Has great sucking power. Easy to maneuver.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mrscleen1
Glendale,az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Vacuum
7/22/2012

Customer review by LAHLASLAFLAP

5.0 stars 7/22/2012 by LAHLASLAFLAP
by LAHLASLAFLAP

I love my new Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum SD40100. It's Fabulous it is small and powerful and no bags.

Was this review helpful? (20) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LAHLASLAFLAP
East Wenatchee WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great little vac
11/27/2013

Customer review by Machone

4.0 stars 11/27/2013 by Machone
by Machone
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great suction for a small vac. Cord could be a little longer but no big deal. Love the bag less feature. Have mostly wood floors in my house and it dose a great job. Wouldn't recommend for a house with mainly carpets. Great product for the price.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Machone
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 281 total reviews
1-20 of 281 reviews