Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 7 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

7 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

7 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
5
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-7 of 7 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Affordable, Quick, and Professional Carpet Cleaner
8/20/2012

Customer review by AshleyEmbracingBeauty

5.0 stars 8/20/2012 by AshleyEmbracingBeauty
by AshleyEmbracingBeauty

I was thrilled to get my Hoover Max Extract 60 in the mail. I have wanted a professional carpet cleaning for a while now I but couldn't see wasting the money when I could just get a carpet cleaner and do it myself. First off, though, a few notes about the instructions for use and the assembly. The Max Extract was incredibly easy to assemble. It was pretty much ready to go out of the box. All I had to do was pull out a bolt, push in the handle, and screw the bolt back in to attach the handle to the base. That was it! I think that might be the fastest I've ever assembled any appliance. The instructions were pretty good with just one thing that was unclear to me. As is often the case these days one manual is made for several different models of the product and that created a bit of a stumper. The directions for use are divided in a sort of flow chart for models that have the auto wash/rinse feature and those that don't. The auto wash/rinse feature automatically washes (with soap) when the trigger is pulled and the Max Extract is pushed forward and rinses when the trigger is pulled and the machine is being pulled backward. One part of our confusion was that we couldn't easily determine from the manual or the machine if we had that feature or not. The other part of our confusion was that the directions didn't make it clear how to rinse if you did not have this auto feature. Our assumption was that you had to turn the dial to wash when going forward and then turn the dial to rinse and pull it backward but this step was not specified in the directions. After using it the first time we think our model did not have the auto feature and turning the dial manually seemed to work. Getting the machine ready to use was as easy as putting it together. It is very clear even without the manual how to add the water and detergent and empty the dirty water but the directions were good in this area. The room we decided to do was a bit of a dirty test. We have very light tan carpet and a very black lab that sleeps underneath our bed. As you can imagine if you have a dog that sheds, this part of the carpet was quite dirty and it has not been shampooed in years. As directed, we vacuumed the room thoroughly and got all the dog hair up (you can never get ALL the dog hair up but we got it pretty good). The Max Extract was easy to push with its large wheels and while the auto feature for wash and rinse would be very nice it wasn't really that bad to flip the dial back and forth manually. The floor dried pretty quickly. It was mostly dry just from using dry strokes with the Max Extract but with a fan on it was completely dried within an hour. The area where the dog sleeps under the bed did not come completely clean but, in fairness, I don't think a professional company would be able to get that completely clean at this point. I will try again with some pre-treatment in that area (the manual recommends this but I didn't do it this time). All in all, I would say we were very pleased with this model in terms of ease of use. You can get it up and going in no time. It didn't completely get rid of our worst stain but I think it did clean the floor well and there was a whole lot of dirt in the water that we discarded. Please note: I received a sample of this product to facilitate my review, but my opinions are entirely my own.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AshleyEmbracingBeauty
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Best all purpose cleaner I've found
11/27/2012

Customer review by OccasionalBuyer2

5.0 stars 11/27/2012 by OccasionalBuyer2
by OccasionalBuyer2

Does a great job! With the hard floor attachment, does a very nice job of cleaning my tile floor. I just wish it had a bigger dirty water recovery tank. I emptied it twice for every fill of the clean watter tank. Still, that's not a big problem.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OccasionalBuyer2
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/27/2012

Customer review by kylis

3.0 stars 10/27/2012 by kylis
by kylis

My problem is that it doesn't get very close to the wall. Even the attachments don't allow you to get in tight to walls or corners. It goes through cleaner/water very quickly, and the tank has to be emptied frequently. It does take multiple passes to get the dirt/spots cleaned. But... it does get the carpets clean. It is very lightweight and easy on the back. The handles make filling/emptying easy.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kylis
branson, mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Clean at a Great Price.
10/7/2012

Customer review by MomofManyNY

5.0 stars 10/7/2012 by MomofManyNY
by MomofManyNY

This is a great carpet cleaner, we have the MaxEtract All Terrain as well and love that too. I would have like the upholstery carpet brush to have the proscrub like my all terrain but I believe it will work on this cleaner. The first time I used it was to clean a new pillowtop mattress that my five year old spilled something on, it worked like a charm. I do not use chemical cleaners so I like that the soap compartment allows me to mix my own. I use a cap of Sol-U-Mel and a couple of caps of Tough and Tender and it cleans everything and leaves no bad odor after like many carpet shampoos do. If you are looking for a affordable carpet cleaner with attachment you will be very happy with this.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MomofManyNY
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
I am obsessed!
4/8/2012

Customer review by Shelley the Shampooer

5.0 stars 4/8/2012 by Shelley the Shampooer
by Shelley the Shampooer

We bought this yesterday after our dog had been very ill and had stained our carpet in many places. Even after cleaning up the mess, her condition made the stains much worse. We were worried that we would be forced to buy new carpet after having about $5000 in vet bills. We bought this and on Sunday afternoon I shampooed the heaviest traveled and marked carpet in the house. They look great and you'd have to look very, very close to see any stains left behind. I'm so relieved and am obsessed with cleaning the rest of the house now.

Shelley the Shampooer
Tigard, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This michine is awsome
2/1/2012

Customer review by LeAnn

5.0 stars 2/1/2012 by LeAnn
by LeAnn

If you are looking for a great carpet cleaner at a average price this is the one. I could not beleive how after using this machine my carpet looked extremely clean.

LeAnn
Okeechobee, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not sure it is worth buying
5/17/2012

Customer review by Ben S.

1.0 stars 5/17/2012 by Ben S.
by Ben S.

Suction works when it wants to. I have tried calling multiple times with no help from Hoover, so far. I have used the machine twice and both times have had issues with the suction.

Comment from - 5/17/2012

Ben, we are very sorry to hear about the trouble you are having and understand your frustration. With the Power Max 60 Extractor, poor suction can indicate incorrect installation of the dirty water tank, clogged filter or missing dirty water tank door. The owners manual will have troubleshooting assistance in detecting the source of the problem. You can also search for a local service dealer at http://hoover.com/locator/ . Thank you!

Ben S.
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No