Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 55 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

55 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

55 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

69%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
21
4 stars
11
3 stars
7
2 stars
5
1 stars
11
1-20 of 44 total reviews
69%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 44 total reviews
1-20 of 44 reviews
Handy carpet cleaner!
1/19/2015

Customer review by LJEmerick

4.0 stars 1/19/2015 by LJEmerick
by LJEmerick

I have had the Quick and Light for 8 months and have gotten lots of good use from it. I use it to clean wall-to-wall carpet in two heavy traffic areas (hallway and stairs). It is also handy for cleaning up after "pet incidents" (cat hairballs) and random stains. Based on some of the negative reviews, there are some things to keep in mind. First, this is not a commercial carpet cleaner but it is a very good supplement to periodic thorough carpet cleanings. Second, it is very important to vacuum carpets thoroughly before using the Quick and Light--less pet hair and detritus collects in the machine. Finally, moving the cleaner very slowly, back and forth, makes cleaning better. I also suction the carpet repeatedly (without spraying) once finished to decrease drying time. I am very pleased with the Hoover and have had no problems.

LJEmerick
Parkton, MD, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Not worth the plastic its made from
9/14/2013

Customer review by justjack

1.0 stars 9/14/2013 by justjack
by justjack

I paid a little under $100.00 for this thing and it is essentially useless. I have cleaned my share of carpets over the years and I know how to operate a carpet cleaner but this hunk of garbage does little to nothing to clean a carpet - I have normal carpet - not shag carpet or anything like that, and it does not penetrate below the surface of the carpet. As a result, you cannot get out stains or do any deep cleaning. I will be making a trip to town now to rent a real carpet cleaner so I can finish what I started - INCREDIBLY FRUSTRATING! For the record, the cleaner is not clogged and the cleaning solution mixture was correct; the same as I have used on other cleaners with successful results. Buyer Beware!!!!!!!!!!!!

Comment from Ian - 9/21/2013

Hi JustJack, you may also want to make sure that the dirty water tank is secured onto the body of the machine for best cleaning results. Also make sure that the brushroll is spinning when the unit is operating. If not, then you may want to check the belt to make sure that it's not stretched or broken. Hope this helps. Thanks so much!

justjack
Tehachapi, CA
Gender:Male
Good Product
1/17/2016

Customer review by alijopeters

5.0 stars 1/17/2016 by alijopeters
by alijopeters

I've had this cleaner for about 4 years now. I have several cats and hardwood floors with white area carpets. I use my cleaner about 1-2 per month and have never had a problem. It's great for deep cleaning fur and cat litter dust, kitty hairballs and yes the occasional urine marking (3-step treatment that includes vinegar, baking soda and hydrogen peroxide). I generally use Resolve carpet cleaner which is great! The only problem I have is with the filters that tend to deteriorate, but that's probably because of the products I use. I got on line to order another filter, saw some of the neg reviews and thought I'd share my experience.

alijopeters
Portland, OR, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not bad for the money!!!!
8/23/2012

Customer review by CJ the Carpet Obsessor

4.0 stars 8/23/2012 by CJ the Carpet Obsessor
by CJ the Carpet Obsessor

I have a new puppy and if you own pets and a husband, you know the carpet takes a beating. I am kind of crazed about my carpets and I was tired of looking at stains. On a budget, didn't have many choices, I had another brand and it literally BLEW UP and left my carpet soaked... I found this at a reasonable price and tried it... NOT BAD... my carpets look great and it even soaked up the water that the broken machine left in the carpet!!! for [$] it will pay for itself in a few cleanings. Last run was just pure water and it was not really dirty and it dried in a few hours...

CJ the Carpet Obsessor
North Carolina/South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great products
12/11/2013

Customer review by whch

5.0 stars 12/11/2013 by whch
by whch

I bought your product due to the picture and description. I was looking for a smaller machine and was tried of paying someone else to do what carpet I have. My other name brand product finial bit the dust after many years of service and sense I am in a wheel chair needed to size down so I could so I could do my own carpets when I wanted or needed to. Also this gives me the freedom to care for my home the way I wish to do and cuts costs. The other products are great also, the pet cleaner I believe is best over all but I did buy both to see which was best for us.

whch
Belton, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Works great in my apartment
5/20/2013

Customer review by mzjazz2u

4.0 stars 5/20/2013 by mzjazz2u
by mzjazz2u

This is a nice, low price carpet cleaner. I saw someone say theirs didn't have beater bars. I don't understand that because mine does. Yes the motor is loud but any motor I've had experience with on a carpet cleaner is loud. I imagine it has to be considering the power it needs to extract water. Mine didn't have suction at first but I figured out I didn't have the front holding tank on securely. Is this unit perfect? No but for the price, it does a good job. Perfect for my apartment and cleaning after my new puppy! 

mzjazz2u
Salt Lake City, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Don't Buy this Product
5/4/2014

Customer review by DisgustedBo1se

1.0 stars 5/4/2014 by DisgustedBo1se
by DisgustedBo1se

I love my larger Hoover carpet cleaner and thought the small, lighter product would be just a great especially since I have a small dog. I've had the cleaner less than 30 days and have used it four times. The foam filter has completely shredded to nothing at this writing. The handle has fallen off primarily because the two screws were stripped and will not stay in securely. The only way the handle stays on is due to the water container. This the worse Hoover product and definitely won't buy another Hoover brand.

DisgustedBo1se
Boise, ID, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Ease of use!
3/21/2016

Customer review by Kim38920

5.0 stars 3/21/2016 by Kim38920
by Kim38920

I bought this thinking it would be too lightweight to clean very good. BOY WAS I WRONG! I love it!

Kim38920
Cascilla, MS, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Must have a default in mine. Model # FH50005
11/22/2015

Customer review by Cummino78

1.0 stars 11/22/2015 by Cummino78
by Cummino78

Bought brand new. It sat in the closet for a year or so before we opened it up. Used it once and didn't even finish the whole rug. It maybe did a 10x8 part of the rug. Heard a loud pop. Upon looking further into the cleaner. We found that the plastic fan had broken into pieces. Cleaner is now useless. I hope to find a replacement part. Hoover can you help us?

Comment from Kenya - 11/23/2015

Hi Cummino78! Oh no, that shouldn’t have happened. The fan is actually a service part that we recommend having repaired at an authorized service center. To locate your nearest location please visit: http://hoover.com/locator/. Let us know if you still need us!

Cummino78
Greene, NY 13778, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Terrible Product... DO NOT BUY!
7/26/2014

Customer review by badluckhoover

1.0 stars 7/26/2014 by badluckhoover
by badluckhoover

Following all directions for assembly and filling the water tank, I began to clean my carpets and heard a loud POP. I took off the water tank and flipped the machine over to find the bottom of the cleaner busted. After taking the entire machine apart, I found out the fan inside had snapped in half. I tried to find a replacement part online with no luck. Rather than buying a new one I think I will just switch to Bissell. This machine cleaned an entire square foot before breaking.

Comment from Giselle - 7/27/2014

Hi badluckhoover! This is not Hoover quality. We want to make this right. You will receive a private email shortly for further assistance.

badluckhoover
Louisville, KY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Buyer Beware ! This is JUNK
4/24/2012

Customer review by UPSETNANGERYTHISCLEANERIS[*]

1.0 stars 4/24/2012 by UPSETNANGERYTHISCLEANERIS[*]
by UPSETNANGERYTHISCLEANERIS[*]

I just bought this machine from amagazine they charged me twice what its worth and this machine is Junk to say the least ! It does not pickup the water that it just barely leaks out, does not come with any FRONT wheels so you just drag the machine around over your carpet, NO beater bar action at all ! I am just Shocked that it has the HOOVER name on such a piece of JUNK cleaner. Don`t waste your money on this carpet cleaner as I`m returning mine asap in the morning !

Comment from Hoover Customer Care - 4/24/2012

We appreciate your feedback and understand your frustration! Lack of suction can indicate incorrect installation of the dirty water tank, clogged filter or a missing door on the dirty water tank. Tip: While making sure the front of the dirty water tank is resting on the base, place the rear of the tank into the base of the cleaner. Push handle down until it latches. Please check your owner's manual for further assistance or call our Customer Care Department at 1-800-944-9200, 8am - 7pm, M-F EST.

UPSETNANGERYTHISCLEANERIS[*]
SPRING HILL , FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Cleans great for a light weight cleaner!
7/3/2013

Customer review by Jerri727

5.0 stars 7/3/2013 by Jerri727
by Jerri727

I bought the cleaner a month ago and was pleasantly surprised how well it cleaned. It was very easy to use because it only weighs 12 lbs. I used the pet shampoo that they recommended because we have dogs and it did a great job and left a nice scent. Just follow the instructions and you will not have any problems. Just go slow as suggested. Carpet dried really fast, which is important to me.

Jerri727
Palm Bay, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
nice job
5/10/2012

Customer review by richard

5.0 stars 5/10/2012 by richard
by richard

apartment size , easy clean up waste water tank ,it was fun & it doesn't have to be back to rental place in 24 hours , love the built in measuring cup for carpet cleaning detergent ...it works great - but it's not for industry type use - every apartment should have one next to vaccuum ...really ...my floors are a great place to hang out on ... and anytime clean makes it feel even better ...

richard
duluth mn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
50/50
12/8/2013

Customer review by MikeD

2.0 stars 12/8/2013 by MikeD
by MikeD

I was very pleased with this model after the first use. Strong suction from such a small unit and I loved the separate water tanks. Then it started dispensing less and less solution with every use until now, it doesn't dispense any solution. It's only 2 months old and I think I would rather purchase another brand than go through the warranty hassle. I guess you get what you pay for.

MikeD
Great Mills, Md
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Good cleaner
7/22/2013

Customer review by Kenneth

2.0 stars 7/22/2013 by Kenneth
by Kenneth

I bought this cleaner because I got into one of those uh oh situations and had to borrow one I have found that with it's fixed brushes and gravity feed soap sytem I can soap up and scrub the stained area without the suction motor on when done scrubbingturn on the motor and suck up the dirty water big plus for people who don't like the motor noise I give the cleaner a good rating

Kenneth
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
DO NOT BUY
11/29/2014

Customer review by mmarcum

1.0 stars 11/29/2014 by mmarcum
by mmarcum

I bought Hoover Quick & Light last year for Christmas. I used it 2 times in March (1 room) & just tried to use it a few days ago and nothing will dispense. I cleaned it put it away after use and nothing comes out this time. Very disappointed as I always buy Hoover, but of course I don't have receipt so I'm stuck. After reading reviews I see this is a common problem.

mmarcum
OHIO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Not a good buy
4/20/2013

Customer review by DebJ

1.0 stars 4/20/2013 by DebJ
by DebJ

I brought this item from Kmart because it was a good Price.  However I used it for the first time today and it is so noisy that I had to stop.  It has a sound that is still ringing in my ears.  I want  to return it but I throw out the wrapping.  Please help I also purchase this item because. I had several other hoover cleaner that was a jewel  to use.

DebJ
Farmington Hills, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Look out, motor blow up.
2/28/2013

Customer review by goober

2.0 stars 2/28/2013 by goober
by goober

I bought the quick & light from kmart on 2/4/2013. I used it twice. While it was working it was just OK. Takes a while for the spray to start and picks up water so-so. I was using it for second time and the motor revved up and bang it put the motor half way out the bottom of the machine. Don`t try to add a picture, their add a pic. thing don`t work!

goober
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
marjorie
7/29/2013

Customer review by marjorie

4.0 stars 7/29/2013 by marjorie
by marjorie

this is my second cleaner I think it would meet my needs if the clean water disspencer would work I returned the first cleaner because it only dispensed a little cleaner brought a replacement home with me it doesent dispence but a little cleaner so disappointed I needed this smaller model to use in my Rv guess I will have to return for a refund

marjorie
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Waste of money
10/11/2014

Customer review by PatHoc

1.0 stars 10/11/2014 by PatHoc
by PatHoc

I have had this carpet cleaner for less than a year and only used it 4 times. While cleaning my living room carpet today it just shut off. After checking to be sure everything is connected and correct I am frustrated and angry. I should have stuck to renting a carpet cleaner when needed could have saved me some money.

Comment from Giselle - 10/12/2014

Hi PatHoc, we strive for quality products and owner satisfaction is our priority. We want to help make this right. You will receive a private email shortly.

PatHoc
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
1-20 of 44 total reviews
1-20 of 44 reviews