Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 200 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

200 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

200 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

60%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
77
4 stars
43
3 stars
26
2 stars
17
1 stars
37
1-20 of 200 total reviews
60%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 200 total reviews
1-20 of 200 reviews
Hate it Hate it Hate it
3/12/2012

Customer review by Stillhavedirtyfloors

1.0 stars 3/12/2012 by Stillhavedirtyfloors
by Stillhavedirtyfloors

When I first purchased my steam mop I was excited from hearing all the good reviews and thought I had finally found a product that would clean my floors beautifully...boy was I wrong! I was highly dissapointed with this product. It leaves debris all over the floor even after sweeping first. It leaves dirt and residue on the floors. After I mop I can wipe a paper towel over my floor and it will stain the paper towel with dirty brown residue. It doesnt fit in A LOT of areas in my home like under cabinets or around toilets etc. This is the worst floor cleaning product I have ever purchased. I might as well have thrown my $140.00 right out the window. I most definatley would NEVER recommend this product to anyone. I have yet to find anything good about it in the entire year I've had it. I've trouble shooted and looked up tips and advice from the website, I've tried different ways to use it, nothing improves the outcome. I've since returned to using the swiffer wet jet for my hard floors.

Stillhavedirtyfloors
Roanoke, VA,
Gender:Female
4/24/2013

Customer review by jandjno

5.0 stars 4/24/2013 by jandjno
by jandjno

I purchased this because I hate sweeping than mopping. I find the unit works really well. First learning to use the item correctly is key. It took practice for me. Using Distilled water is a must. When you start the steamer up you need to pump the water button on the unit down. Keep it still until it starts to steam let the pad absorb moisture once the pad is wet it will move smoother . Continuing pumping water into it. Then once you have done this it works great. The pad is made of fabric and it does get caught when cleaning tile which is understandable because the grout area doesn't always match up with height of the tile. It doesn't stop me from using it I just readjust and move on. It would be the same hang up if I used a sponge mop. The sweep part of it works really great don't do like I did and put the pad on and wonder why it's not working then realize that I put the pad over the sucking area. DUHHH works great. I hate hair don't even like picking it up in a dustpan and OHHHHHH how it gets the hair off the bathroom floor. Bottom line it is a great product and keeping it cleaned after each use keeps me going. KEY is to make sure the pad is wet. HOPE this helped someone. Also when emptying out the sweeper make sure you are over the trash can. It will be wet if you empty right after use. I turn my kitchen sink sprayer on really low and clean it out.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jandjno
East Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Not impressed!
5/4/2012

Customer review by Hja78

1.0 stars 5/4/2012 by Hja78
by Hja78

I was very excited to use this for the first time. I have a dog and 2 young children that leave messes and crumbs on my hardwood floor. I followed the recommendation of using the vac first then steam even though it states you can do both at once. The vac portion picked up some of the dirt but left a lot behind especially under the ledge of the cabinets and at baseboards. I then used the steam portion and again followed recommendations of not holding down the button continuously and only using it intermittently and it still left streaks on the floor. It also left wet strings of pet hair and dust that wasn't picked up when I vacuumed the area. Definitely doesn't stand up to the advertisement of what it can do and I feel it was pretty expensive for a machine that doesn't do what is advertised and that is just a so so machine! I am pretty sure I will be returning this and trying an alternative brand that is a bit more expensive but is worth if it can get the job done that this machine cannot! Very disappointed to say the least!

Comment from Joe - 5/7/2012

Sorry to hear about your experience with the Steam & Sweep Hja78. One point to mention is that if your floors have been waxed and you are using a steam product on them, that could cause the results you are mentioning. Make sure to keep this in mind: Your Steam & Sweep is designed to clean hard flooring such as ceramic tile, vinyl, marble, stone and sealed hard wood floors. Use of your Steam & Sweep on waxed or some unwaxed floors may result in a diminished glossiness. The Steam & Sweep is not for use on unsealed wood floors. For best results, test in an inconspicuous area and check the care instructions from your flooring manufacturer.

Hja78
Pa
Gender:Female
A Step Up
3/12/2012

Customer review by JustMe

4.0 stars 3/12/2012 by JustMe
by JustMe

This product is way better than lugging around the mop and bucket. I recommend using the sweeper first and then using the steamer, but if you're in a hurry, use both at the same time. It works great on ceramic tile and is about at the halfway mark on difficulty pushing between a standard mop and vacuum cleaner. (Probably quite a bit less than a vacuum cleaner.) It heats up very quickly and gives off very hot steam. I love that it comes with two pads. They come out great from the washing machine. You don't have to refill the water very often. Love that there are no chemicals, just hot water. All you have to do is open the windows if it's nice out and light a candle. The feel good clean this product gives is great. Chemicals are so bad when used as often as you do when you clean and this product gets rid of them. The cord is plenty long and the product isn't crazy loud. All in all, happy with my purchase. Pleased that Bissell is the first to try to make a step up in the steam cleaner department. It's a keeper. Fun to use something new.

JustMe
Gender:Female
Really cleans my floors
3/30/2012

Customer review by Eddies mom

4.0 stars 3/30/2012 by Eddies mom
by Eddies mom

I have had this steam and sweep for a few months now and I love it. It cleans my floors really well. I can feel the difference after I have used this machine; my floor feel extremely clean. The way I use it is, I vacuum my laminate floors with my feather weight vacuum and then I steam my floors with the steam and sweep. The only issue I have is that it leaves my floors pretty wet and I have to dry them or they have water stains on them. I have a dry mop that I use to wipe up the floors after I do each section. It is a little bit of a pain but when I feel how clean my floor come I don't mind a bit. I like that the head of the steam and sweep is easy to move around in order to get corners or edges. It even cleans grease of the floor from behind the stove. I would not want to be without it. Like I said before the only problem I have is it leaves my floors pretty wet. Oh and I use distilled water as recommended in the instructions.

Comment from Joe - 4/2/2012

Thanks for your feedback Eddies mom. The ‘steam on demand’ trigger does not need to be held the whole time, as this may be causing the oversaturation and excess water on the floor. Try intermittently depressing the trigger. This should help.

Eddies mom
Countryside, IL 60525, USA
Gender:Female
Disappointing
12/31/2012

Customer review by SW

3.0 stars 12/31/2012 by SW
by SW

The steamer seemed to leave streaks on my dark tile floor. Perhaps it will improve as I use it more effectively. I vacumed prior to using it, thinking that would be helpful since I have pets. Floor looked dull when finished and results were disappointing though I went over it again. Cleaning the dirt trap was a bit messy and getting that part to stay on the mop bottom was iffy. It did not stay on easily. My steamer did not come with instructions or warranty and I'm wondering if it was a defective machine returned to the store. Customer service was helpful in directing me to online instructions and guiding me in putting the sweeper together. They were able to register the product online. I just don't think all that time on the phone should have been neccessary. I will say the service person was very patient while I did what she told me to do, waited while I got on and off the phone, even though it was a tiresome activity.

Comment from Lisa - 1/2/2013

Thank you for your review. Make sure not to spray too long in one area. With waxed floors this can cause streaking. The streaks can be removed with a dry cloth and vinegar. This should reduce over time. We hope this helps.

SW
Corpus Christi, TX
Gender:Female
Total Waste of Money - I am SO disappointed
2/12/2012

Customer review by island508

1.0 stars 2/12/2012 by island508
by island508

I was so excited to purchase this product - having white tile floors = two small dogs and two cats, and visitors. I have been bitterly disappointed, When I received it the water tank was broken and I had to call and speak to a rep and then wait for a replacement. I sweep and/or fiber mop at least once a day, so the floors are more in need of finish, rather than deep cleaning. I have to vacuum before using the steamer , or else dirt/dust/spills, whatever will just get smeared and I end up using a fiber mop to clean it. Also, the steamer quite often leaves small puddles of water. How safe is that on white tile? I have borrowed and used my daughter's Shark S&S and am so sorry I didn't purchase that. I was going to donate this product to Goodwill, after only five uses, but I don't want anyone else to waste their money. Shame on you Bissell. This product leaves a stain on your good name that the S&S just smears..

island508
Venice, Florida
Gender:Female
Worth the Money
1/3/2015

Customer review by sprite

4.0 stars 1/3/2015 by sprite
by sprite

I was skeptical about ordering a steam mop after getting mixed reviews from friends and reading other reviews. I was never satisfied with the Swiffer products because they are all so lightweight and flimsy. When I saw the Bissell steam mop that also vacuumed, I became very interested. Just what I was looking for. And when I saw it was on sale, I decided to take the plunge and order it. I am so happy that I did...this is by far so much better than any other mop products I have ever tried and I have tried many. I love the weight...not too heavy but not too light. The steam does a fantastic job and I love the fact that my floors are being sanitized while being cleaned. And the vacuum feature is an added bonus. It is also very easy to clean after use and the mop pads are machine washable. So far, I have not found anything negative to say about this product. I give it ***** five stars!!!

sprite
Fort Worth, TX, USA
Gender:Female
ease and speed of cleaning with this product
3/6/2012

Customer review by Kathy

5.0 stars 3/6/2012 by Kathy
by Kathy

I love this product. I am done with my beauty shop floor in no time at all. It vacuums up the hair and sanitzes the tiled floor at the same time, all for the cost of distilled water. I do not recommend using tap water, there definitely is a difference. When i first got it in the mail, i couldn't wait to try it but I didn't have any distilled water at home at the time. It gave a cloudy finish with tap water but with the distilled water it is perfect. It is worth every penny I paid for it and for the cost of distilled water at 79 cents a gallon, it won't be long before it pays for itself because the cost of floor cleaners are a lot more. I am sure the gallon of water is going to last a long time too, even doing all the hard surface floors in my house. the hardwood floors come out like brand new. the engineered wood floors also look great.

Kathy
PA
Gender:Female
love it!love it! love it!
3/10/2012

Customer review by Annie56

5.0 stars 3/10/2012 by Annie56
by Annie56

You name it,I have bought it.I have tried for sooo long to find a great floor cleaner that will give me a bit of a break.I absolutely love your Bissell steam and sweep.I have no problem getting under my cupboards on the floor.The sweeping feature does just fine.You have to get to know your machine I guess.I take care of children in my home and I get bits of playdough,flour,sawdust and cookie and cracker crumbs.Of course if you spill say,a box of marbles,that may be an issue!! Realistically;would you attempt to pick those up with a vacuum?????A can of peaches may pose a problem also.Again,would you attempt to pick those up with a vacuum?? I highly recommend it.it is well made and I like that it feels substantial.Other brands feel as if they would dissapear in a strong breeze!! This is a highly reliable machine.try it!!

Annie56
Sheboygan Wisconsin
Gender:Female
Absolutely Love It! Pick one up today!
1/31/2012

Customer review by chloeev

5.0 stars 1/31/2012 by chloeev
by chloeev

I am a volunteer foster for a dog rescue group and have quite a few Senior and Puppy Mill dogs that just cannot navigate the stairway to go down to the doggy door and outside to potty. While I put down potty pads, sometimes these Seniors just don't make it to the pad, or sometimes can't position over it. That means messes to clean up! I originally wanted something to use that would be light and take some of the work out of sweeping and cleaning the floor. I suffer from RA and osteoarthritis and cannot do heavy lifting or work. This machine is everything I need! It cleans up the messes from the dogs. It is light and easy to work with. It takes one step out of my busy day..no need to sweep before cleaning the floor! When I use my Steam & Sweep, I feel my floors are so clean, I could eat off them!! Not so when I use a mop and just push the dirt and grime around the floor. When I use the Steam & Sweep, the odors are gone as well as the dirt. Perfect for a household that wants to use less cleaners for a healthier environment. The pad that collects the dirt is easily washed out under the faucet and hung up to dry for the next use. I recommend this product for everyone!

chloeev
Weare, NH
Gender:Female
Yes there is steam!
1/31/2012

Customer review by Renaegade

2.0 stars 1/31/2012 by Renaegade
by Renaegade

I purchased the Steam&Sweep to keep my floors clean since I have 18 mo old twins that play on the floor. The sweep part does not pick up any small dirt and the steam mop pads tend to just push it around after you clean 1/2 of a floor. I have to go back and use a wash cloth to pick up dirt that it leaves behind. It does not get very close to edges. After using I clean the mop pads by hand and let them air dry. The next time I use them they made my house smell not clean. Kind of like a mildew smell. This is even after scrubbing the pads with cleaner to make sure they were clean and hanging them to dry. I think this 2 in 1 system is giving me more work to do in the long run! There are no wheels so you have to use a lot of upper body strength to use this. But, yes there is steam!

Renaegade
CA
Gender:Female
I LOVE this machine !
2/5/2012

Customer review by Cindy

5.0 stars 2/5/2012 by Cindy
by Cindy

I have a huge ceramic tiled kitchen, and all hardwood floors in the main floor of our home. With the extra long cord, I can do the entire area (kitchen, LR, DR, foyer, and mudroom). I have an in home daycare, so I use the machine frequently during the week. It is amazing and cleans well. It picks up dirt well and leaves the floors clean and sanitized. Yes, it doesnt get close to the walls, where some of the debris ends up and I do have to take out my Bissell vacuum with the nozzle to get those hard to reach areas. I loved it so much, I bought one for my daughter and one for mother-in-law. FYI - I use distilled water in the machine, bought some extra pads so that I can be ready to clean . I would recommend this machine highly. So glad it was recommended to me.

Cindy
Poughkeepsie, NY, USA
Gender:Female
Steam & Sweep Pet
12/10/2012

Customer review by clean freak

2.0 stars 12/10/2012 by clean freak
by clean freak

Dear Bissell: I was so excited when I seen this product on line.I already have a bissell floor steamer that I purchased a few years back and I absolutely l love it.I was trying to kill two birds with one stone,but unfortunately this product did not work for me. I have wood floors throughout my house and tile in bathrooms,also two dogs. When using the steam and sweep I wasnt happy with the marks the rubber brushes left on my floor,I still had to go over it with my other mop..I have quite a large area to cover so it really didnt work for me because I still had to do it twice. I truly love bissell products and a clean house(floors) so if there is any other product you might have that would work for me let me know. I will be returning this very soon. Thank You

Comment from Lisa - 12/12/2012

We have not come across with what you are describing. Perhaps the Flip It would work better for your floors. To view, click at this link http://www.bissell.com/flip-it-hard-floor-cleaner/.

clean freak
Milford ,MI
Gender:Female
love this product
12/3/2014

Customer review by Marcia 54

4.0 stars 12/3/2014 by Marcia 54
by Marcia 54

I love this cleaner so much I bought two. The first cleaner I purchased in the store and loved how it performed so much, I purchased the second online with Bissell. I have a winter home that has a lot of white tile and needed this cleaner badly for it. It cleans and sweeps the white tile beautifully. The first cleaner was for my home which has wood floors. If you don't have the cleaner sit on an area for a long time, there will be no "white" marks left on your floors. I have never had a problem using this cleaner on my wood floors. The only reason I gave this a 4 star instead of 5 is the lever you have to keep holding in order for the steam to operated. If you have a large floor area, your hand gets tired and sore from the pressure.

Comment from Lisa - 12/10/2014

Thanks for your review. We will forward your comments for possible future development.

Marcia 54
Ohio
Gender:Female
Awesome Product
2/6/2012

Customer review by alot of pets

4.0 stars 2/6/2012 by alot of pets
by alot of pets

I just bought the steam and sweep and I love it. My floors are cleaner than I have ever seen them in a long time when I was using a regular mop. I have two dogs and three cats and this product is worth the money because I can sweep and mop at the same time. The only thing that I dont like is getting use to the steam you cant go as fast as a mop and you have to go a little slower. You dont have to use any chemicals in it so you save money on buying mopping chemicals The other bad thing is it is hard to get it tight places and corners like around the base boards and toliet. The sweeper isnt as good as your normal vaccum but it does just fine if you take your time with it. If it wasnt for that I would of giving this product a five star rating.

alot of pets
Gender:Male
Awesome product
9/16/2012

Customer review by Nana

5.0 stars 9/16/2012 by Nana
by Nana

Love this product. I have a very bad back and waiting on surgery. This has enabled me to keep my floors spotless with no pain. I have read complaints about sweeper not picking up, it does not work on a heavy soiled floor. I sweep mine the old fashion way if to much has been dragged in by grandchildren and dogs. As far as not getting into corner, well neither does a mop. You will always have to give those a little swipe . Any streaking you have on title or wood floors could also be caused by the water in your area. I use distilled water only and have never had a mineral deposit or streak from chemicals used in our area in the water system. Bissell is my hero and have recommended it to all my friends. Thank you for your innovative product.

Nana
Mississippi, USA
Gender:Female
A Must Have Cleaning Item
6/26/2012

Customer review by MJMama45

4.0 stars 6/26/2012 by MJMama45
by MJMama45

After using the steam&sweep for several months now, I will never go back to a nasty mop! The only thing I don't like is that it doesn't sweep very well, so I usually use a broom before I steam. I still keep the sweeping option on though to pick up any left overs from the broom. I LOVE the way it cleans my floor. A mop was streaking and this doesn't seem to do that as much. What I love the most is not having to use chemicals on my floors because I have a 10 m. old who is crawling everywhere. I feel like my floors are cleaner and safer for everyone. I use the distilled water like it recommends and I have only bought 1 or 2 jugs since December. Again, love this product all around...except for the sweeper.

MJMama45
Springfield, MO
Gender:Female
Steam & Sweep
4/5/2012

Customer review by JimL

5.0 stars 4/5/2012 by JimL
by JimL

I have a lot of tile. This works well. Easy to use & light. 1. Requires distilled/demineralized water. $88 cents/gallon at WalMart. 2. Water filter needs replaced when turns blue (unknown frequency). $13.50. 3. Can't add soap to water, but, maybe, might be able to add tablespoon of vinegar? 4. Can run both sweeper/steamer at same time. Handy. 5. Minor issue. Have to remove water tank when you put it away. Tank is not designed to sit by itself. Some water will still leak from the water filter so park it on a rag or in a bucket or on a tray. Overall, a solid product that works well and easily. No sticky floor from soap. I'd buy another. If Bissell made a large hard floor scrubber-vac, I'd buy it.

JimL
Virginia, USA
Gender:Male
Not Perfect, but very convenient
2/27/2012

Customer review by GSLadyMD

4.0 stars 2/27/2012 by GSLadyMD
by GSLadyMD

The Steam amd Sweep does combine 2 tasks well, but I agree, you have to do them separately. Still better than dragging out 2 machines. It is a little heavy to push. Easy to clean the machine and it does have a nice long cord, enough water to do a good size floor, and removes tough dirt. It does Pergo well, not putting too much water on the floor. I wish it did corners and edges better, however. You have to contort yourself and the handle to really get the corners and edges. Sometimes, it just won't get in a spot. Barhroom floors can be the worst for this, where you really want to steam/sweep well around toilets, tubs, etc. Overall, for price, convenience, quality,etc., it is a great machine.

GSLadyMD
Maryland, USA
Gender:Female
1-20 of 200 total reviews
1-20 of 200 reviews