Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 136 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

136 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

136 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
77
4 stars
38
3 stars
8
2 stars
7
1 stars
6
1-20 of 134 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 134 total reviews
1-20 of 134 reviews
Some great features, details not so good.
10/19/2013

Customer review by KennethMCK

2.0 stars 10/19/2013 by KennethMCK
by KennethMCK
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very good delivery from Walmart. The CG-917 has some nice features like the telescoping handle hose and strong coil rewind. The unit handles well but feels heavy to lift. The vac bag assembly is very unique and works well. Panasonic pushes the single head as the solution for both floors and carpet. It's not. For carpets, it works fine but on hardwood floors the vacuum power is just a trickle and you must resort to the "floor" attachment. First it's to short in length, the bristles are much to stiff and will scratch the wood, and worst of all, the bristles are no where near the edges so vacuuming on corners and seams doesn't work at all. You have to switch to the long, all-plastic attachment, another pain in the ... The telescoping handle hard hose is great, especially for us tall users. I tried to emailed their support team a request for any additional attachments but got a simple boiler plate response. I'm trying to decide on returning it next week.

Was this review helpful? (33) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KennethMCK
San Jose, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Just What I Wanted
3/13/2014

Customer review by Courtlover

5.0 stars 3/13/2014 by Courtlover
by Courtlover
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I finally had to get rid of my beloved old Kenmore canister (it was 25 years old, had duct tape all around the hose, and had one wheel left which I dragged the vacuum around on), and I was looking for a similar model. My husband was insisting on getting a Dyson, but I find them overrated and overpriced. Plus, I am probably one of the few people left who actually want a bagged vacuum. I find the bagless to be messy and gross. I convinced DH to buy the Panasonic, and it exactly what I was looking for. The suction is fantastic, and the carpet attachment easily fits under furniture. It has some great attachments, and a long cord. Yes, it's a little heavy to carry up the stairs, but I don't care. It's very quiet, as well. I would definitely recommend it!

Was this review helpful? (78) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Courtlover
Fishkill, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great vacuum.
8/15/2014

Customer review by 1Tchr

5.0 stars 8/15/2014 by 1Tchr
by 1Tchr
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased this vacuum because the one I had was a cumbersome upright. Although I've only used it twice since purchase, I am very pleased with its overall ease of use and performance. From the on/off switch on the handle to the self contained storage caddy for extra tools, this vacuum is efficient and convenient. I like the functionality of the 360* hose and the power cord is long enough for me to cover a very large room and part of another. While I have mostly hard floors to clean, I also have a fair share of low pile carpet. I found the power tool for carpet to be strong enough to clean the surface dust and debris on my carpeted areas. I do not have animals or other contributers for deep dirt on carpets to occur. Overall, this neat little machine which is not too heavy, not too expensive, and is highly mobile and functional gets five stars from me. Finding a nickname to write this post was more difficult than writing it!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1Tchr
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
So Far Great, 2 times per week user.
1/14/2014

Customer review by RonDino

4.0 stars 1/14/2014 by RonDino
by RonDino
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

They are all plastic now, get over it! but this unit seems to be built solid. After returning our Samsung vacuum (after only 6 months) to BB, as Samsung could not fix it, wirers in handle came apart, and after reviewing many at CR,BB,HD,L, Face, and Walmart, we went for this unit. We wanted a bagless, but could not find a very good model review. We have a long hair dog, so that also was a major factor. This unit does pickup the dog hair and everything else great. I check the bag after every use. The small air brush unit is useless on couches. The suction and air filters work well. A few reviews say it like the Sears Top of the line model. The unit is bigger than normal, the cord is longer than most, 24' not 18,or 20 like 95% have. one note, the unit came with three bags see how long they last, but new ones are expensive. $9.00 for 3.

Was this review helpful? (22) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RonDino
NWA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Poor bag installaion
5/8/2016

Customer review by MaineVic

2.0 stars 5/8/2016 by MaineVic
by MaineVic

I purchased this vacuum in Dec 2015 at a great price, to be used primarily in my family room where I have a pellet stove. (My primary vacuum is a Rainbow and it doesn't do well with ash and wood dust). I was impressed with the silence of the motor--the only noise you hear is the rush of the air being sucked into the hose-- and the amount of suction. I liked the attachments, especially that both the floor and furniture brushes used natural fiber so they would not scratch wood surfaces. It seemed to work great. The disappointment came when I recently changed the as-received vacuum bag. The bag itself was nice and clean on the outside so I assumed it was doing its "hepa" job. But the entire bag compartment was covered in a layer of fine dust--in particular where the bag attaches to the basket and hose. The owners manual warns about properly installing the bag and had I been the one to do it, I would have blamed myself. But this was a factory installation. The only time I've ever seen this much dust having escaped the bag was with a old single ply bag for a Hoover Celebrity, circa 1984. The issue is apparently that foam "gasket" which does a poor job of sealing the connection between the hose and the bag. A poorly thought out design which could be easily remedied by extending the end of the hose so it protrudes farther into the bag. Anyway, I wiped out the compartment with a damp rag and installed a new bag. Will use it off and on for the next couple of months and if I get the same dust by-pass results as with the factory installed bag, the vacuum will be exiled to cleaning the car and the basement.

MaineVic
Harrison, ME
Would recommend to a friend? No
Panasonic Vacuum
5/16/2016

Customer review by Mike

5.0 stars 5/16/2016 by Mike
by Mike

Works fine

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mike
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology.
9/6/2014

Customer review by dishpack

1.0 stars 9/6/2014 by dishpack
by dishpack
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Vacuum was made mainly of plastic and seemed if you opened the top to get the tools the top would break off after a few uses. I was very disappointed because I have had a panasonic cannister vacuum the worked for 30 years and then the part necessary to fix it was not available. This is the second panisonic cannister vacuum that I had to return. The first one I ordered as we attemped to attach the cord to the wand, a small piece of plastic broke off. The old vacuum had a metal place to plug in the cord. Plastic is not the thing for something such as attaching the cord. To say I was unhappy is an understatement. Dishpack

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dishpack
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Vacuum Cleaner
4/29/2016

Customer review by HCD195601

5.0 stars 4/29/2016 by HCD195601
by HCD195601

Ihave not bought a Panasonic vacuum cleaner in many years. This one is approved by the Good Housekeeping seal for allergies and for a good reason. You have HEPA bags and a HEPA filter to trap dust and dirt. The canister is easy to roll and does a great job on both hard wood floors and carpeting and the machine gives you all the attachments you will ever need. I highly recommend this item to purchase by everyone!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HCD195601
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great vacuum!
6/8/2014

Customer review by BengalCatLady

5.0 stars 6/8/2014 by BengalCatLady
by BengalCatLady
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After a long search and review of canister vacuum cleaners, this is the one I chose and am very, very happy that I did. It has lots of power and all tools are kept handy inside the cleaner. I needed a vacuum for my hardwood and tile floors and it does a remarkable job. I have 4 indoor cats and a German Shepherd and it does a great job with the hair on the floor and the furniture brush takes care the rest. I highly recommend this vacuum cleaner.

Was this review helpful? (50) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BengalCatLady
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Unit mostly good but air turbine brush is no good
9/12/2014

Customer review by Skip1968

2.0 stars 9/12/2014 by Skip1968
by Skip1968

Purchased the vacuum 4 months ago and soon learned that the small air-powered brush for cleaning small areas wasn't working well. Now it has stopped completely. The impellor spins great but is loose on its shaft so no power is transmitted to the brush. The brush is clean and spins readily. So I have now spent 3 days trying to get service or a warranty replacement for this "air turbine" brush. The Panasonic phone numbers are not helpful. Frequently the web site can't find my model number, or I get a recording with no information, or I'm sent to a phone number for a shop 800 miles away that only repairs TVs, etc. Extremely frustrating!! At this point I really don't know what to do because I need this brush to clean up pet hair. I certainly do not recommend the product to others, in spite of the fact that for the other tasks it seems to work very well.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Skip1968
Would recommend to a friend? No
WOW FACTOR
4/26/2016

Customer review by Bibi

5.0 stars 4/26/2016 by Bibi
by Bibi

Just got it, so can't say much but, I used in some areas and it looks like a Great Vacuum, love everything about it, the weight, the suction, the size, easy to put together, love the color (green with black). It even has a light in the front, incase you want to vacuum in the dark. Great all around.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bibi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love this vacuum!
9/21/2014

Customer review by Cleanhouse123

4.0 stars 9/21/2014 by Cleanhouse123
by Cleanhouse123
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After using an upright for years I wanted to switch to a canister vacuum for my new hardwood floors. The carpet and hardwood attachments are so easy to switch and the carpet and floor options are right on the handle. I love the retractable cord and the fact that all the attachments have a place because I would probably lose them. Sometimes the little front wheel gets stuck on the cord and you have to give it an extra yank to get it over the cord but it's not too big of a deal to me. I love that it has a bag, my last vacuum was bag less and made such a mess when dumping it out. I really recommend this vacuum, I did a lot of research before purchasing and know it is very comparable to the kenmore and miel options.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cleanhouse123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome for the clean freak!
5/25/2014

Customer review by LeesaP54

5.0 stars 5/25/2014 by LeesaP54
by LeesaP54
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great suction, fabulous tool package on board! Nice thick brush attachment! Easy on/off switch on the handle. Never trusted carpet to hard wood, but this does what it says with great ease and powerful suction! Love my new vacuum! I was once told I was the queen of vacuuming as I vacuum at least 3 times a week! Most of my house is carpet, I prefer it for the long cold winters in New England.

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LeesaP54
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great item, great service
1/25/2016

Customer review by Ralph

5.0 stars 1/25/2016 by Ralph
by Ralph

This vacuum cleaner is everything the reviews said it was. More powerful than the last Panasonic I replaced. Upgraded features, better air flow, better carpet cleaner, etc. I love the Panasonic brand and think this is a real winner. My old Panasonic vacuum is still working great. I gave it away for use in a chapel. Walmart price was great and the item was shipped quickly. Good Job.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ralph
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Plastic
11/30/2015

Customer review by uhoh

1.0 stars 11/30/2015 by uhoh
by uhoh

This vacuum is made of cheap plastic that smells horrible. Every time we used it we had to open all the windows and air out the house. I kept it around for awhile, hoping the smell would dissipate after several uses, but it never did. Anyone who is sensitive to chemical odors should stay away from this one. As others have said, the plastic cover does not seem sturdy and does not lift easily. The suction was ok, but not impressive for a brand new vacuum. Until I find a good replacement, I've gone back to my old Samsung canister, which is limping along after years of use. It was inexpensive but so much more durable and never smelled bad.

Was this review helpful? (7) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
uhoh
Would recommend to a friend? No
Disappointed over time
10/14/2015

Customer review by ProudAmerican

1.0 stars 10/14/2015 by ProudAmerican
by ProudAmerican

I purchased this sweeper because I was very satisfied with my previous Panasonic sweeper. It was excellent for the first 10 months. When I used it yesterday, a function ending crack appeared where the neck connects with the power rug head. I called Panasonic today and they said that it is due to usual wear and tear and is not covered by warranty. They suggested repair, but apparently the closest Panasonic repair business is 200 miles away. I asked if I could get a replacement part....that was a negative also! So basically a Panasonic vacuum is only good for 10 months with regular wear and tear. I will be changing to a new brand. Very disappointed!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ProudAmerican
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great vacuum!!!
6/2/2013

Customer review by FLO324

5.0 stars 6/2/2013 by FLO324
by FLO324
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

At first I didn't think I was going to like this vacuum cleaner, but once I vacuumed my living room I couldn't believe how much it picked up!! I love how I don't have to lean over to vacuum. My back doesn't hurt. Great to have the attachments in the vacuum. I have had many vacuum cleaners over the years. I even have a rainbow vc, and I like using this more. This is an excellent vacuum for the price and I would buy one again!

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FLO324
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Too Early for Good Reliable Conclusions
2/4/2014

Customer review by Corvair2

4.0 stars 2/4/2014 by Corvair2
by Corvair2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We have used this product only a few times and certainly not enough to give a good judgment on it's reliability, performance, and durability. It is a nice looking unit and so far has performed as expected. It seems to have all that was advertised and all the features that were named in the company specification literature. Thus far, there is only one item that we find a little troublesome and that is the door of the compartment that contains the small hand tools. The plastic door is supported by lever type hinges that move rough and faulty when opening and closing. We found the exactly same thing with the Kenmore Canister Vacuums we looked at, which, I understand are also made by Panasonic. I put a lubricant on the plastic arms that serve as hinges and it is some better but still not a quality design and definitely not up to good manufacturing standards. They could not have been inspected during the manufacturing operation or it would have stood out as a quality problem. Having said that, the unit seems to run and work very well. I hope it lasts us a long time.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Corvair2
Livonia, Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Hard working vac with perks
11/7/2013

Customer review by Gail16

5.0 stars 11/7/2013 by Gail16
by Gail16
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Excellent machine that brings its tools along for all around, one-stop cleaning. Excellent suction is adjustable and there is a stop-motor if it grabs something to prevent damage to either what it grabs or the motor. Brushes do good job of edging, so no more dark edges on the carpet. VERY mobile; moves out of the way with light touch (have a bum knee, so its very light indeed); thick bumper guards keep it from damaging furniture when you don't watch where its going. Love having all the tools on board...they were always in another room and usually downstairs when I needed them on my other machine. Very easy to make adjustments by foot; don't have to bend to remove a brush or adjust the height of the carpet/bare floor brush. The bare floor brush is better for use on wood or tile and connects to the wand with a button so it stays on the wand. This is a little tight to depress to remove the brush right out of the box, but worth having to keep the brush on the wand instead of losing it under furniture. Canister is a little heavy to lift. The wand extends; have pinched my fingers a couple of times doing this but nothing serious. Have 2 white & black cats; the pet/stair brush did a good job cleaning the carpet on the stairs. It stores by snapping on to a removable holder on the wand; not sure if this will be in the way but right now its fine. Don't care for bags (I'm used to a bag-less machine), and Walmart.com has not been helpful in finding them. The machine came with 1 bag already in place and 2 more as extras, and these are quite substantial. No dust will get out of this! But can't comment on where to find replacements just yet and/or the cost. All around, a workhorse machine. Not sexy, looks like the Kenmore machines, you can't see the amount of dirt it picked up vs the old one, but gets the cleaning done the first time.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gail16
Fountainville, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Bag fills up too quickly
10/6/2014

Customer review by OlderThingsRBetterQuality

3.0 stars 10/6/2014 by OlderThingsRBetterQuality
by OlderThingsRBetterQuality
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Its a nice vacuum, but the bag fills up too quickly. There is a lot of bag that is squished to one side when you install it and isn't filled when sweeping. That is poorly designed. It doesn't hold too much when you are picking up after 2 long haired dogs. For just general vacuuming, it is fine. I was upset with the retractable power chord. After 2 uses, it stopped retracting The price is good for what you get though. I liked all the attachments hidden inside. I must say this is no Electrolux. I had one for 35 yrs. and wished I still had it, but when I looked at the new Electrolux machines, I was disappointed at how the quality just wasn't the same as the old machines. That is why I thought I'd try this machine. All in all its a good machine for the price except for the broken cord and the inadequate space in the oversized bag. I found a good price for the replacement bags at Home Depot.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OlderThingsRBetterQuality
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 134 total reviews
1-20 of 134 reviews