Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 128 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

128 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

128 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
71
4 stars
37
3 stars
8
2 stars
6
1 stars
6
1-20 of 126 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 126 total reviews
1-20 of 126 reviews
Plastic
11/30/2015

Customer review by uhoh

1.0 stars 11/30/2015 by uhoh
by uhoh

This vacuum is made of cheap plastic that smells horrible. Every time we used it we had to open all the windows and air out the house. I kept it around for awhile, hoping the smell would dissipate after several uses, but it never did. Anyone who is sensitive to chemical odors should stay away from this one. As others have said, the plastic cover does not seem sturdy and does not lift easily. The suction was ok, but not impressive for a brand new vacuum. Until I find a good replacement, I've gone back to my old Samsung canister, which is limping along after years of use. It was inexpensive but so much more durable and never smelled bad.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
uhoh
Would recommend to a friend? No
Some great features, details not so good.
10/19/2013

Customer review by KennethMCK

2.0 stars 10/19/2013 by KennethMCK
by KennethMCK
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very good delivery from Walmart. The CG-917 has some nice features like the telescoping handle hose and strong coil rewind. The unit handles well but feels heavy to lift. The vac bag assembly is very unique and works well. Panasonic pushes the single head as the solution for both floors and carpet. It's not. For carpets, it works fine but on hardwood floors the vacuum power is just a trickle and you must resort to the "floor" attachment. First it's to short in length, the bristles are much to stiff and will scratch the wood, and worst of all, the bristles are no where near the edges so vacuuming on corners and seams doesn't work at all. You have to switch to the long, all-plastic attachment, another pain in the ... The telescoping handle hard hose is great, especially for us tall users. I tried to emailed their support team a request for any additional attachments but got a simple boiler plate response. I'm trying to decide on returning it next week.

Was this review helpful? (32) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KennethMCK
San Jose, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Just What I Wanted
3/13/2014

Customer review by Courtlover

5.0 stars 3/13/2014 by Courtlover
by Courtlover
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I finally had to get rid of my beloved old Kenmore canister (it was 25 years old, had duct tape all around the hose, and had one wheel left which I dragged the vacuum around on), and I was looking for a similar model. My husband was insisting on getting a Dyson, but I find them overrated and overpriced. Plus, I am probably one of the few people left who actually want a bagged vacuum. I find the bagless to be messy and gross. I convinced DH to buy the Panasonic, and it exactly what I was looking for. The suction is fantastic, and the carpet attachment easily fits under furniture. It has some great attachments, and a long cord. Yes, it's a little heavy to carry up the stairs, but I don't care. It's very quiet, as well. I would definitely recommend it!

Was this review helpful? (74) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Courtlover
Fishkill, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great vacuum.
8/15/2014

Customer review by 1Tchr

5.0 stars 8/15/2014 by 1Tchr
by 1Tchr
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased this vacuum because the one I had was a cumbersome upright. Although I've only used it twice since purchase, I am very pleased with its overall ease of use and performance. From the on/off switch on the handle to the self contained storage caddy for extra tools, this vacuum is efficient and convenient. I like the functionality of the 360* hose and the power cord is long enough for me to cover a very large room and part of another. While I have mostly hard floors to clean, I also have a fair share of low pile carpet. I found the power tool for carpet to be strong enough to clean the surface dust and debris on my carpeted areas. I do not have animals or other contributers for deep dirt on carpets to occur. Overall, this neat little machine which is not too heavy, not too expensive, and is highly mobile and functional gets five stars from me. Finding a nickname to write this post was more difficult than writing it!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1Tchr
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
So Far Great, 2 times per week user.
1/14/2014

Customer review by RonDino

4.0 stars 1/14/2014 by RonDino
by RonDino
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

They are all plastic now, get over it! but this unit seems to be built solid. After returning our Samsung vacuum (after only 6 months) to BB, as Samsung could not fix it, wirers in handle came apart, and after reviewing many at CR,BB,HD,L, Face, and Walmart, we went for this unit. We wanted a bagless, but could not find a very good model review. We have a long hair dog, so that also was a major factor. This unit does pickup the dog hair and everything else great. I check the bag after every use. The small air brush unit is useless on couches. The suction and air filters work well. A few reviews say it like the Sears Top of the line model. The unit is bigger than normal, the cord is longer than most, 24' not 18,or 20 like 95% have. one note, the unit came with three bags see how long they last, but new ones are expensive. $9.00 for 3.

Was this review helpful? (19) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RonDino
NWA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
As Happy One Can Be Buying A Vacuum
2/1/2016

Customer review by BuyVizio

4.0 stars 2/1/2016 by BuyVizio
by BuyVizio

New Purchase....So Far So Good! My Hoover died, so decided on this Panasonic. Quieter, Good Suction, my plus is the Pet Hair Brush--does a good job and much lighter in weight than the Hoover.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BuyVizio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Optiflow 360° Swivel Canister Vacuum MC-CG917
1/18/2016

Customer review by DC

4.0 stars 1/18/2016 by DC
by DC

Overall excellent product, just wish the upholstery cleaning attachment had a bit more power. Brush driven by suction alone. Would prefer it to be powered. But still very satisfied with the vacuum.

DC
Delaware, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great item, great service
1/25/2016

Customer review by Ralph

5.0 stars 1/25/2016 by Ralph
by Ralph

This vacuum cleaner is everything the reviews said it was. More powerful than the last Panasonic I replaced. Upgraded features, better air flow, better carpet cleaner, etc. I love the Panasonic brand and think this is a real winner. My old Panasonic vacuum is still working great. I gave it away for use in a chapel. Walmart price was great and the item was shipped quickly. Good Job.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ralph
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology.
9/6/2014

Customer review by dishpack

1.0 stars 9/6/2014 by dishpack
by dishpack
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Vacuum was made mainly of plastic and seemed if you opened the top to get the tools the top would break off after a few uses. I was very disappointed because I have had a panasonic cannister vacuum the worked for 30 years and then the part necessary to fix it was not available. This is the second panisonic cannister vacuum that I had to return. The first one I ordered as we attemped to attach the cord to the wand, a small piece of plastic broke off. The old vacuum had a metal place to plug in the cord. Plastic is not the thing for something such as attaching the cord. To say I was unhappy is an understatement. Dishpack

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dishpack
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great vacuum!
6/8/2014

Customer review by BengalCatLady

5.0 stars 6/8/2014 by BengalCatLady
by BengalCatLady
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After a long search and review of canister vacuum cleaners, this is the one I chose and am very, very happy that I did. It has lots of power and all tools are kept handy inside the cleaner. I needed a vacuum for my hardwood and tile floors and it does a remarkable job. I have 4 indoor cats and a German Shepherd and it does a great job with the hair on the floor and the furniture brush takes care the rest. I highly recommend this vacuum cleaner.

Was this review helpful? (50) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BengalCatLady
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Disappointed over time
10/14/2015

Customer review by ProudAmerican

1.0 stars 10/14/2015 by ProudAmerican
by ProudAmerican

I purchased this sweeper because I was very satisfied with my previous Panasonic sweeper. It was excellent for the first 10 months. When I used it yesterday, a function ending crack appeared where the neck connects with the power rug head. I called Panasonic today and they said that it is due to usual wear and tear and is not covered by warranty. They suggested repair, but apparently the closest Panasonic repair business is 200 miles away. I asked if I could get a replacement part....that was a negative also! So basically a Panasonic vacuum is only good for 10 months with regular wear and tear. I will be changing to a new brand. Very disappointed!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ProudAmerican
Would recommend to a friend? No
Unit mostly good but air turbine brush is no good
9/12/2014

Customer review by Skip1968

2.0 stars 9/12/2014 by Skip1968
by Skip1968

Purchased the vacuum 4 months ago and soon learned that the small air-powered brush for cleaning small areas wasn't working well. Now it has stopped completely. The impellor spins great but is loose on its shaft so no power is transmitted to the brush. The brush is clean and spins readily. So I have now spent 3 days trying to get service or a warranty replacement for this "air turbine" brush. The Panasonic phone numbers are not helpful. Frequently the web site can't find my model number, or I get a recording with no information, or I'm sent to a phone number for a shop 800 miles away that only repairs TVs, etc. Extremely frustrating!! At this point I really don't know what to do because I need this brush to clean up pet hair. I certainly do not recommend the product to others, in spite of the fact that for the other tasks it seems to work very well.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Skip1968
Would recommend to a friend? No
Much better than I expected
12/30/2015

Customer review by bcnu

5.0 stars 12/30/2015 by bcnu
by bcnu

I needed to replace my old Panasonic canister vacuum with something that would remove pet fur from my carpets and furniture. I love this vacuum because it does just that. The dust bag holder has a handle on it so you can remove the basket with the full bag. The hose is shorter but that isn't a problem for me because the wand extends quit a bit. In all, I am glad I purchased this vacuum because it does a great job picking up the fur from my 2 Pomeranian's and 1 cat.

bcnu
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome for the clean freak!
5/25/2014

Customer review by LeesaP54

5.0 stars 5/25/2014 by LeesaP54
by LeesaP54
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great suction, fabulous tool package on board! Nice thick brush attachment! Easy on/off switch on the handle. Never trusted carpet to hard wood, but this does what it says with great ease and powerful suction! Love my new vacuum! I was once told I was the queen of vacuuming as I vacuum at least 3 times a week! Most of my house is carpet, I prefer it for the long cold winters in New England.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LeesaP54
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love this vacuum!
9/21/2014

Customer review by Cleanhouse123

4.0 stars 9/21/2014 by Cleanhouse123
by Cleanhouse123
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After using an upright for years I wanted to switch to a canister vacuum for my new hardwood floors. The carpet and hardwood attachments are so easy to switch and the carpet and floor options are right on the handle. I love the retractable cord and the fact that all the attachments have a place because I would probably lose them. Sometimes the little front wheel gets stuck on the cord and you have to give it an extra yank to get it over the cord but it's not too big of a deal to me. I love that it has a bag, my last vacuum was bag less and made such a mess when dumping it out. I really recommend this vacuum, I did a lot of research before purchasing and know it is very comparable to the kenmore and miel options.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cleanhouse123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great vacuum cleaner
9/30/2015

Customer review by tytek

5.0 stars 9/30/2015 by tytek
by tytek

This is a typical European style vacuum that is quiet, light, and powerful. It comes with all the attachments neatly hidden inside the body of the main unit. It also come with a carpet brush that uses the same hose and all the floor attachments. The power cord for the carpet brush is inside the hose and the electrical connections are sturdy and easy to use. I only wish the hose was longer, as sometimes the main vacuum is too close to your feet. The electrical cord is in the body of the vacuum and retracts automatically - it could also be a little longer, as my rooms are large. The filters are HEPA certified and are inexpensive to replace. I really like the vacuum and it does a great job on both, hardwood and tile floors, as well as carpeted floors (the brush has height adjustments, making it effective on various thicknesses of carpets). Great price too!

tytek
Kentucky, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great vacuum
12/11/2015

Customer review by Boinie

5.0 stars 12/11/2015 by Boinie
by Boinie

Formerly owned a Kenmore which was similar in design. Panasonic has made a quality vacuum with great suction power and ease of use. The tools store nicely in the vacuum and are easily accessible. The quality of the brushes are not as good as the Kenmore and I wish there was a bag full light otherwise not bad for the price.

Boinie
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Vac We have ever owned
12/13/2015

Customer review by AJ

5.0 stars 12/13/2015 by AJ
by AJ

Have tried many brands of upright and canisters over the years. This model is far superior. light, very quiet, and has powerful suction. Have had this one for a year with almost daily use and no problems. Especially like the cord retraction device.

AJ
Fargo, ND, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
works really well
8/4/2015

Customer review by wormy1

5.0 stars 8/4/2015 by wormy1
by wormy1

so far, I think this is a great vacuum. picks up pet hair very well, which is my primary cleaning issue...and it is a bagged, which to me is the only way to go for other than just light vacuuming. The telescoping handle is nice and long, yet can be shortened very easy to get under or around tight spaces. It has great suction, a nice long cord that retracts and a nice on-board tool set - and a 14" head, makes things go quickly. It is also relatively quiet as vacuums go. It is a bit heavy so if u do a lot of up and down work, know that. but heavy means good construction. Is it perfect? no, like others have said, the plastic accessory door is supported by lever type hinges that move rough and faulty when opening and closing but that doesn't merit a derate. No real negatives. I find it well designed, effective and easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wormy1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Vacuum
9/5/2015

Customer review by CarlaB

4.0 stars 9/5/2015 by CarlaB
by CarlaB

I love my new vacuum. It's very user friendly. Suction is good and the bag keeps all the dust in. I like the adjustable suction feature. By using the upholstery brush and turning the suction all the way down, I was able to clean my silk flower arrangement. I did it very carefully of course. I found a nice bonus in the User's Manual. Step-by-step directions for changing the belt, and other minor troubleshooting directions. I really appreciate this. It saves a trip to the repair shop for a minor fix. My one complaint is the attachments aren't able to flex at the base which makes vacuuming under the bed difficult. The further you reach under furniture, the more the attachment lifts off the floor. Even knowing this, I still would purchase this vacuum.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CarlaB
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 126 total reviews
1-20 of 126 reviews