Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 53 reviews | 2 out of 5

2.0 stars

53 reviews | 2 out of 5

2.0 stars

53 reviews | 2 out of 5

23%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
11
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
6
1 stars
35
1-20 of 52 total reviews
23%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 52 total reviews
1-20 of 52 reviews
Disappointed customer
4/30/2012

Customer review by busyretiree308

2.0 stars 4/30/2012 by busyretiree308
by busyretiree308

We bought a Toshiba DVD blue ray player because we thought it would be a good quality product, But we found that although the picture and sound were great, halfway through a movie it started to Have problems....static, double speak, etc. When we checked it, it was very hot!!!! We elevated it so more air could get around it and tried it again with the same result. We even tried A different hdmi cord but the same result so we are returning it. We are very disappointed as it started off so well but if it can't get through a movie not much use. We are winter Texans and bought this while in Texas and hooked it up when we returned to Canada.

Was this review helpful? (22) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
busyretiree308
Grunthal, Manitoba
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Simply did not work out of the box.
6/4/2012

Customer review by lg1382

1.0 stars 6/4/2012 by lg1382
by lg1382

I bought this blu-ray player in store at Walmart for 78.00. It was the cheapest I've seen anywhere with Wi-Fi built in and with all the typical internet apps installed. I got home, connected it to my new tv and turned it on. It showed the "Toshiba" logo screen for about 4 seconds and the screen just went black. I could hear the disc spinning up, but nothing ever came on screen. After pressing multiple buttons on the remote, I couldn't get ANYTHING to show up on the screen (no menu, display settings... just nothing). Tried powering off and back on (with the remote) and that worked as it shutdown and then restarted. But the on-screen result was the same. Toshiba logo for a couple seconds, disc spun up, then black / blank screen. Bought last night, returning this morning. Judging from other reviews, I won't be exchanging for another one. Will try a different brand. I found an LG with Wi-Fi and internet apps for $89 at Micro Center.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lg1382
Aurora, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
What happened????
5/14/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 5/14/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought this a week ago and when I got home no problem. Hooked up easily, connected wirelessly with no problem. I would say this was fantastic. However a week goes by and the wireless stops working. When I check the Internet I see others having the same problem. Customer support is non existent. Great value but poor product.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Phoenix
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Do Not Buy
9/24/2012

Customer review by NetTechME

1.0 stars 9/24/2012 by NetTechME
by NetTechME

On paper this looks like a great Blue-Ray player, and it worked flawlessly for the first 24 hours. Now it hangs all the time. The remote control and front panel buttons will often not work requiring one to power cycle the device to recover control. The first evening I watched Netflix over WiFi and I was some impressed, the second even the disappointment began. The problem seems to be a bad WiFi system. It will associate with our AP and get an IP address but can't seem to do the network thing once it gets that far. We have several devices running on our wireless network with no issue. Toshiba customer service is a big disappointment -- no help -- either you find the answer online on their web site or you return the item for a replacement. These are the only forms of "support" available. There seems to be a software/firmware update available, but it is missing the correct ID file so it will attempt to download but will fail. This is an issue for 1.15 and 1.18 versions. This is going back to Walmart for a full refund.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NetTechME
Waterville, ME
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Do Not Purchase
5/10/2012

Customer review by jmpminnie

1.0 stars 5/10/2012 by jmpminnie
by jmpminnie

Bought this blu-ray player a little over a week ago, used it to view 3 movies & it stopped working, it was getting very hot & vibrating. I am returning it as soon as possible

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jmpminnie
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Do not buy this Blu-ray Player...
6/17/2012

Customer review by RUSA6368

1.0 stars 6/17/2012 by RUSA6368
by RUSA6368

We bought one of these players and it had difficulty reading DVDs right out of the box. It eventually came on about 6 minutes into the movie. We tried to use it again and it took longer for it to start and play. The third time we used it, it took even longer for it to start. We decided to return it and just get another one like it. The second one would not play anything and we got a refund. Do not waste your money or time on this player.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RUSA6368
Meridian, MS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Do not buy - Looks great, Internet problems
6/7/2012

Customer review by WhyDoesThisWantUniqueName

1.0 stars 6/7/2012 by WhyDoesThisWantUniqueName
by WhyDoesThisWantUniqueName

Initially connected to wifi, and device said it wanted to download a firmware update. It did, but now it doesn't work anymore. All other devices in house work through wifi, so I know it's not my router. I bought it because of the name and because it was low-cost, but was sorely disappointed. Other reviews on the Internet show many others have the same problem. Avoid this product!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WhyDoesThisWantUniqueName
Leesburg, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Simply does not work
6/10/2012

Customer review by Makinna

1.0 stars 6/10/2012 by Makinna
by Makinna

I am having the same problems as the others here. WIFI connection is horrible. Locks up within 3 minutes of turnng the thing on......will return on the same day I bought it. Very disappointed!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Makinna
Greenville, Oh
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
6/29/2012

Customer review by marrietta

5.0 stars 6/29/2012 by marrietta
by marrietta

i read all the bad things on the product. i was affraid of buying it. i bought the blue ray player for my inlaws and the tashiba is the best name out there. the interent works great and the movies play picture perfect. i had a blue ray player that did not play all movies this ones does. the blue ray player never got to hot. netflix players great. i learn not to worry about ratings just try it yourself and see what you think. this blue ray player is so worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
marrietta
ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
DO NOT BUY THIS!! PERIOD!
6/23/2012

Customer review by MEFOETHUMB

1.0 stars 6/23/2012 by MEFOETHUMB
by MEFOETHUMB

I was on my phone looking at reviews or at least tempting to look at reviews but got interrupted. Anyways so I bought it hooked it up fired her up. It looked all good, just playing with it it than proceeded to do downloads. It finished, than another one same download, than again. Than it seamed to work fine pressed the open button nothing. Tried it again, again, turned it off than than it wouldn't even turn on. Unplugged it than let it set nothing, This thing was terribly hot. After letting it sit for about 15 minutes or so, turned it on pressed the open button and wala it opened. Not trusting it closed it waited pressed open nothing turned off wouldn't even turn back on.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MEFOETHUMB
okmulgee
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Works just fine
7/7/2012

Customer review by lonewolf1957

5.0 stars 7/7/2012 by lonewolf1957
by lonewolf1957

I bought this at my local Walmart on 7-06-12.I initially went to purchase a Roku streaming player,but seen this for the same price.What the heck I figured,I get streaming media,media share,plus a blu ray/dvd player for the same price,so I bought the Toshiba.I read the manual thoroughly and hooked it up to WiFi first.Perfect,no problem.Netflix,Youtube,Vudu,Pandora,CinemaNow,Media Share,etc. and the usb port for my own media all worked great. I've watched a half a dozen DVDs so far,its works flawlessly.Hooked up to a 2007 Samsung 50" DLP TV,and a Technics A/V Reciever through the coaxial port(the only audio connection it has).Outstanding video and audio so far.I haven't tried Blu Ray yet though.I hope mine lasts longer than the other reviews I've seen here.But I probably wouldn't have bought this if I'd read all these poor reviews beforehand.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lonewolf1957
Grand Rapids,Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Mine works great
6/19/2012

Customer review by scene610

5.0 stars 6/19/2012 by scene610
by scene610

I purchased my Toshiba BDK33 DVD Blu-ray player at a Walmart store. After setting up the WiFi the player requested two upgrades, first one, then upon rebooting, a second. Once the upgrades were installed, I proceeded to watch various movies and YouTube. To date, this unit has met and exceeded my expectations. Admittedly I was a bit hesitant after reading the posted reviews, but Toshiba has a great reputation, and for me this has proved to be true.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
scene610
Jersey City NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great product
6/30/2012

Customer review by nx6543

5.0 stars 6/30/2012 by nx6543
by nx6543

This player is great. I opened the box and 10 minutes later was watching a movie. Easy to set up and easy to use. It found my wireless internet instantly. It has been working great for weeks now - with DVDs and instant streaming. Great quality player.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nx6543
Kansas City, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Blu-ray Player
5/15/2012

Customer review by silkscreener

5.0 stars 5/15/2012 by silkscreener
by silkscreener

Great picture and the WiFi feature is great for Netflix and other streaming programs

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
silkscreener
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
no problems at all
7/24/2012

Customer review by jagsmoore

5.0 stars 7/24/2012 by jagsmoore
by jagsmoore

was very easy to set up and worked perfectly right out of the box

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jagsmoore
Cincinnati, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great start - no finish
5/16/2012

Customer review by Vaskeptic

1.0 stars 5/16/2012 by Vaskeptic
by Vaskeptic

Agreeing with another review with the same issues: Player was easy to set up. Watched a couple Blu-ray movies, then looking forward to the wireless features, it connected to our house wi-fi network and all connections were great. Set up Pandora for music, created some stations, listened through stereo speakers.....everything was working fine After two days, the unit began to lock up - had to unplug from wall to reset. Again, then again, and again. Bottom line - It's gotten so bad, the unit won't continue to operate for more than 1-2 minutes before locking up. Remote won't work. Manual push of buttons on unit don't work. Unplug yet again. It's junk - taking it back. Lesson learned - you get what you pay for and if it sounds to good to be true, it is.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Vaskeptic
VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
BDK33 is chronically defective product.
7/7/2012

Customer review by OklahomaDave

1.0 stars 7/7/2012 by OklahomaDave
by OklahomaDave

As a long-time electronics guy, I"ve learned to live with a few hiccups and glitches among different kinds of products. When I went to purchase an inexpensive Blu-Ray player, the Toshiba BDK33 seemed a great fit; but moments after setup, I realized this unit wasn't merely finicky, it was fundamentally flawed. This unit froze while initializing new copies of "Julie and Julia" and "The Vow," rendering the front panel buttons and the remote inoperative. The unit has no reset capability other than unplugging from wall power, and after at least five "freezes" in the first ten minutes while trying to access basic configuration options, I stopped counting. This will be going back to WalMart today. I've dealt with many kinds of electronics over the years, but none so inherently flawed as this one. I would strongly encourage other customers to look elsewhere. It is my opinion that this unit should not be offered for sale at retail at *any* price, and I suspect the same basic unit is sold under different model numbers with varying features enabled, so buyers should beware of *any* Toshiba DVD players in the BD series. For $80, I don't expect a Cadillac, but I do expect a functional product. This unit fails even that basic expectation.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OklahomaDave
Oklahoma City
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Don't upgrade
11/2/2013

Customer review by crtaylor

2.0 stars 11/2/2013 by crtaylor
by crtaylor

I've had this blu ray player for about 2 years and it's been nothing but trouble. I bought it at Walmart and it had been previously returned, so obviously it's not me. Too bad I didn't keep the receipt. The player is laggy and the time between button push and desired effect on player is horrid, and it kept prompting me to upgrade to .22 from .18. I did it once and lost all internet capability so I reverted it. However, then it started turning off during DVD's playing! So I just now tried the upgrade again. Hulu+ won't load and Netflix now won't play titles. I want a new player!!!

crtaylor
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? No
horrible
11/28/2014

Customer review by LM

1.0 stars 11/28/2014 by LM
by LM

ive had this bluray for a couple years and from the get go it has been awful. it freezes all the time and takes hours for me to get it working enough to connect it to the internet. will not buy a toshiba product again

LM
boston, ma
Would recommend to a friend? No
Used two times and nothing but problems
1/8/2014

Customer review by Doug

1.0 stars 1/8/2014 by Doug
by Doug

I used the unit two times both with DVD and both times the audio was very poor and the picture jumped with lines in the pictures. The first time I thought it was the DVD so i tried another one with the same issues. The problem is that the unit is two months old and I tossed the box. This is the worst Toshiba product I ever purchased. I will really look closer before I purchase the next Toshiba product.

Doug
Green Bay, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 52 total reviews
1-20 of 52 reviews