Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 126 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

126 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

126 reviews | 4 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
46
4 stars
54
3 stars
13
2 stars
7
1 stars
6
1-20 of 117 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 117 total reviews
1-20 of 117 reviews
Best all-purpose bike for the money on the market
5/26/2008

Customer review by CaliforniaCory

5.0 stars 5/26/2008 by CaliforniaCory
by CaliforniaCory

I've had this bike for a year and half. Before I got this one, I had the exact same bike, only it was blue. It got stole. I wanted to buy something more fancy, high dollar, etc., but after hours of research and having known this bike, I simply HAD to order ANOTHER Avalon. For the money, there is no comparison. 7-speeds is generally all anyone needs. This has a single front crank of 38T, which allows a top out pedaled speed of about 19-20mph (according to my Schwinn cyclometer)...plenty fast. You can easily cruise at 9-13mph. Dual suspension allows for a nice ride both on hard surface and light off road. The brakes will stop on a dime if properly adjusted. I would recommend getting a fender or a back deck to cover the back tires so you won't have anything thrown up..especially if you ride in wet places. This bike is sturdy, solid, and reliable. The chainguard is a huge plus as it keeps grease and other road grime from being tossed on your legs. I would recommend changing out the tubes for Slime filled (they WORK) as I did. The larger tires actually allow you to carry rather heavy loads without fear of busting your tubes due to overloads. I added some lighting. Blaze .5watt headlight and Blinky rear light for better day or night visibility. The only thing I don't like is that the single front crank limits your high end speed, but on the good side, with a single front cog and no front derailleur, you have less things to adjust and less things to go wrong. For the price, this is the best bike on the market, bar none. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CaliforniaCory
Madera, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Low Level Bike
6/13/2008

Customer review by CHC1959

2.0 stars 6/13/2008 by CHC1959
by CHC1959

Seems fairly flimsy. The bike came mostly assembled. Not hard to assemble except for the front brakes since the instructions did not reflect the brakes that actually came with the bike. That was adjusted the following day after giving it some thought. Not a real problem, just annoying. The real problem are the pedals. Very cheaply made. They are a metal, threaded rod with a plastic outer shell in the shape of a standard pedal. After less than two weeks of occasional riding, the right pedal broke. The metal rod tore out of the plastic shell. We'll see what else falls apart.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CHC1959
Jupiter, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent Find
4/28/2008

Customer review by Exerciseman

5.0 stars 4/28/2008 by Exerciseman
by Exerciseman

Great bike for the price. Wish it had one lower gear as I am 62 and just starting to exercise.Everything works as expected,comfortable seat.great adjustable handlebars,rides smooth and easy,easy to steer. Brakes are the best I've seen ! Ride for 30min 2-3 times per week.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Exerciseman
La Quinta,CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
You Get What You Pay For
9/4/2008

Customer review by BargainHuntingShopper

2.0 stars 9/4/2008 by BargainHuntingShopper
by BargainHuntingShopper

I thought the price was unbelievably low, and it appeared to be a quality bicycle, but it is not. The sprocket cluster has excessive play in it, which makes a very audible clicking noise while pedaling in the higher gears. A bike repairman said the gearset cannot be tightened any further, and that it may remedy the problem if I changed gearsets. I decided to try this, instead of wasting the time of sending the entire bike back. The gearset was not that expensive, and it had much less play in it, and the noise was remedied. The shifting mechanism leaves a little to be desired too, whereas the click-stops do not position the chain on center of the gears, and they chatter, sometimes change unexpectedly. I think that it's possible to work with the cable tension through time and get the shifting perfected a little. The bike is fair for the price, but my previous bike was better, which was about 50 dollars more when I bought it about 10-15 years ago. It was an 18-speed, and the gears worked excellent.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BargainHuntingShopper
Altoona, Pa.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
8/10/2008

Customer review by Shawndaddy

4.0 stars 8/10/2008 by Shawndaddy
by Shawndaddy

Great bike. Handles well. The bike is very sturdy, I was a little concerned since the price is low and I weigh over 300lbs. But I after reading the reviews I decided to give the bike a try. Glad I did. It's really fun to ride and it handles my size with no probems.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shawndaddy
CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great price, but you get what you pay for!
9/12/2008

Customer review by FortLauderdaleShopperDude

3.0 stars 9/12/2008 by FortLauderdaleShopperDude
by FortLauderdaleShopperDude

Three quick points. 1 - The reviews are correct: the pedals will break after a week. Drop the fifteen bucks and get a decent pair somewhere that they sell pedals. These ones are a cheap plastic and they snapped on me. 2 - Make sure you know how to use basic tools! This is a semi-difficult bike to put together. My front brakes still aren't calibrated correctly even after I worked on them for a couple hours the first night. The back ones were pre-installed for me, and thus they worked great. 3 - The chain sometimes slips if I'm in a higher gear and pedaling hard. It doesn't cause any problems other than a real quick slip into a lower gear. It automatically slips right back up though. Overall, the price tag is good. The looks are GREAT! I think it's a beautiful bike, and it will serve my needs fine. I just ride around Fort Lauderdale on the weekends, about an hour worth of casual riding a week. The tires, handlebar grips, and seat are all fine. The kickstand is awesome!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FortLauderdaleShopperDude
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Bargain Price & Excellent Quality
4/5/2008

Customer review by MarkB25

5.0 stars 4/5/2008 by MarkB25
by MarkB25

Where else can you get an aluminum frame bicycle that's in-between a comfort bicycle, cruiser, and a light offroad mountain bike for under a hundred dollars? Well here it is. And to top it off, it looks good, too. The components are very good. The derailleur is made by Shimano, and it shifts easily and positively at all gears. The brakes are very well constructed and stop the bike very quickly. Handlebar and stem can be adjusted for an even more upright riding posture. The saddle is made of soft neoprene and is very comfortable. The rims are high-quality and so are the tires. Every part on this bike is well made. There is nothing to replace for a better part, except for the hex nuts that keep the wheels in place...with quick-release levers. This is a real bargain in this day and age, and at last, something that also looks good compared to all of the exotic but ugly new designs out there.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MarkB25
Southern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
not a bad buy
7/17/2008

Customer review by awesometx

4.0 stars 7/17/2008 by awesometx
by awesometx

For the price this is not a bad bike. The ride is smooth. The gears shift pretty smooth for a bike of this price. Assembly took about 20 minutes. The only complaints I have were...The front handle bars have an angle adjustment. and where the two pieces are bolted together it squeaks when you push down on the bars. Slight annoyance , but I have tried tightening it to no avail. The squeak continues. The other is the grips on the handlebars. They are studded, rough and hurt on long trips. I will be switching mine out soon. Overall for the price it chugs along and I enjoy it. The seat is more comfy than most inexpensive bikes but I would suggest buying a aftermarket seat and hand grips for about $30 bucks to vastly improve the comfort of the ride. It is sturdy as I am 6 foot 4 inches and about 265lbs. so if it is comfy and lasts for me it should last for anyone. It won't train you for the Tour De France but is good for a 10 mile ride a few times a week for sure

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
awesometx
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Ok Bike
6/13/2008

Customer review by beachcruiser

3.0 stars 6/13/2008 by beachcruiser
by beachcruiser

I bought this bike about 2 weeks ago. It is a fairly comfortable ride that moves along at a good speed. The down side is the pedals are cheap plastic which cracked within the first week of riding. I since purchased aluminum pedals from a bike shop for an additional $21.30. Also the gears do sometimes skip when making a steep climb over a bridge. But even with having to buy new pedals not a bad bike for the money.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
beachcruiser
Port Orange, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not Bad, Not Great
6/1/2009

Customer review by ToddEP

3.0 stars 6/1/2009 by ToddEP
by ToddEP

This is a very pretty bike, and beautifully designed. However, even though I set the shifter at a 4 it always felt (and sounded) like it was on the verge of changing gears unexpectedly; although that never actually happened. The tires could not seem to hold air, and the handle bars were too low for me (I dislike leaning forward to ride). I since realized that they could be adjusted (with tools), but what really threw me (literally) was getting used to brakes on the handlebars - the first sudden stop I made, the bike did a cartwheel, throwing me to the road (painfully). The rear brake squealled horribly ever there after... BTW, I have since purchased the NEXT LaJolla beach cruiser, which I love, and my wife has the women's version of the NEXT Avalon comfort bike, and she has no problem with it. Maybe it was just me...

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ToddEP
St. Petersburg, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Three rides, three walks home
6/8/2008

Customer review by Bobadoo

1.0 stars 6/8/2008 by Bobadoo
by Bobadoo

I will be returning this product a day after buying it. My first ride had me walk home because one of the pedals broke. I replaced the pedals the next day and took it for another ride. This time I had to turn around because during my ride the handlebar became too loose to steer. I fix that quickly and then take it out again only to have the chain break. Poor quality and poor assembly = poor product.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bobadoo
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
The Buick of Bicycles
7/27/2007

Customer review by Bikerguy

4.0 stars 7/27/2007 by Bikerguy
by Bikerguy

This appealing bike has decent quality componentry for a low-price bike. There are alloy parts in places that are important, such as the rims, stem, fork, and handlebars. This makes the bike relative light-weight. The ride is stable, plush, and comfortable. The position is pretty upright, and the ride slow and relaxed. The dual shocks do affect pedaling efficiency. This bike is not meant for major hills. The shifting is solid, although slow. The only negative so far is the kickstand. The kickstand is in a nice location away from the cranks, but they cannot be operated with my foot alone.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bikerguy
Oakland, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Nice Bike
10/8/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 10/8/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I purchased this bike after reading some reviews of it on some biking enthusiast websites- consensus seemed to be that it was a pretty good deal, had features comparable with higher-priced bikes. Have to say I'd agree with those assessments. I bought the bike online and assembled it myself- assembly was easy for the most part- the only hassle was getting the brakes adjusted, which is common to pretty much any bike you put together yourself. My only complaint with the bike is that the chain was not connected to the gearbox when I first received it- I had to reconnect manually. Then, after riding it a few times, the chain completely broke. I took the bike to my local Wal-Mart and they were super nice about replacing the chain- since then I've had no problems and the bike rides like a charm. It's a very lightweight bike, smooth riding, shifting is smooth as well. Only has 7 gears but in my experience that's plenty for most casual riders such as me. For the price I paid (about $120 with tax) I think this bike stacks up very well against anything comparable.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
nice bike, good value
6/25/2008

Customer review by ILoveWalmartPhillip

4.0 stars 6/25/2008 by ILoveWalmartPhillip
by ILoveWalmartPhillip

I bought this bike at my local Walmart for $108. I spent several hours of research on the internet to find the best bike for the dollar, and again, Walmart won! They had several on the floor. It was professionaly assembled. It is light and comfortable. It has good street tires, shimano derailer, aluminum frame (no rust), and triple shock suspension, 2 on the frame (front double fork) and 1 rear (big center frame), and 1 on the seat, all springs. The seat has nice memory foam. My only complaints are: the fastest gear is too slow because the drive gear is too small, the shifts are not smooth and they are noisey (sounds like the gear is going to break), the grip shifter is weak (which is OK for me because I always stay in the highest gear), the grips are uncomfortable, and the handlebars need to be higher (they may be adjustable). Buy this bike at your local Walmart. :) Keep it oiled and adjusted, and ride safely :)

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ILoveWalmartPhillip
Tampa Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
TOUGH ASSEMBLY
1/3/2008

Customer review by RNDMC

3.0 stars 1/3/2008 by RNDMC
by RNDMC

Seems like a nice bike, but the assembly instructions are horrible. The kit does not include the metric allen wrenches necessary to complete the assembly. Brake adjustment is based on your best guess. I am very mechanically inclined, so I was able to muddle through this. It would be a much more difficult process for someone less inclined.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RNDMC
Brunswick, ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I like it Lots!!
6/23/2008

Customer review by davetc8

5.0 stars 6/23/2008 by davetc8
by davetc8

I can't help but give this bike a 5 star rating cause it beats out any other bike I have searched for. I had to get it online and store to store but lucky to have one, I think. They sold out fast at my Walmart. I seen it and went back 2 days later and they were gone. Yes I had to put it together myself but am not to good at it lol. I took it to my local bike shop (Beetons Cyclery) and had a $28 tune up. They trued rims and got gears working right and adjusted many other things for me. Great Job! I only had to make one adjustment to the seat height and that was easy thanks to the quick release feature. I love riding it and I can afford to customize it any way I choose because of the low initial cost $112 It's light weight 41 Lbs. and shocks front and rear, make it a nice ride. I am a happy bike owner and highly recomend the tune-up. Quality plus low cost and light wieght. Can't beat that!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
davetc8
Niagara Falls, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A Very Satisfying Bicycle
3/25/2008

Customer review by geej

5.0 stars 3/25/2008 by geej
by geej

I am very happy and satisfied with this product. I bought the bicycle online and had it shipped to the store. It came about 90% assembled. I had to attach the headset with handlebars, pedals, and front wheel. I had trouble adjusting the front brakes. Noticed the front wheel was out of tru. The rear brake pad was rubbing the wheel. Took bicycle to a bicycle repair shop and had them perform a standard tune up on it. They trued both wheels, adjusted brakes, oiled chain, adjusted rear derailer, aired tires, and checked to make sure everything was tight. The cost for that was $36.50. I'd highly recommend a tune up with any new bicycle purchase. This insures you get the best performance out of the bike possible. : The bicycle is a beautiful emerald green and silver. It's a very stylish looking bicycle. : The components on the bicycle are decent. The shifter however feels a bit flimsy and I expect it'll be the first component to break. Thankfully the bike is only a 7 speed, so there's no additional front derailer to deal with. The brakes provide good stopping power once adjusted by a professional. The frame feels sturdy but light. The seat is gelish and is comfortable enough for short rides. The wheels are made of aluminum so there's no chance for rush. The rubber tires have a nice tread pattern perfect for riding on a variety of terrains. The front and rear suspension provides good shock absorption, a big improvement over my old bike that had none. The chain guard is absolutely wonderful and I love it. Having it allows me to ride my bike in regular pants, without worry of my pant leg getting caught in the sproket or oil getting on the leg from the chain. : I am 6'1" tall. I was afraid the frame might be to small for my long legs. I've found the bike to be adequate sized for me. The seat post provides enough length to adjust the height for my leg length. My knees are not into the handle bars like they are on smaller framed bicycles. The handbars height can be adjusted several ways to decrease how much back bend is needed. : This is not a long distance or road bike. This bike shines in a urban or rural environment. It's a perfect bike for short commutes to the neighbor grocery, restaurant, or ride around the neighborhood with the kids. The upright position aides in visiblity to motorists. The bike is fast, fun, affordable, and easy to ride. I found the seven gears were adequate for the occasional hill. The low gear was low enough to make climbing a relatively less cumbersome. The 7th gear was large enough to add additional peddling down a hill and I reach about 25 mph. : I've added a rearview mirror to the left handle to help me see cars approaching from behind without me having to turn. I plan to transfer my rear carrier and front and rear fenders from my old bike to this one. I recommend if you plan to use your bicycle as an alternative mode of transportation to add these accessories. The mirror will help keep you safer. The fenders will keep road grim, sand, rocks, and water from spashing up in your face. Plus having fenders will allow you to ride when The rear carrier is my favorite accessory. I like to ride to the library or the grocery and it's easy to just throw the stuff in a crate attached to the carrier. : This bike for is well worth the $99.98 price tag. I paid a total of $141.50 for the bicycle, tune up, and taxes. I believe this bicycle will last me a long time. I'm very happy with it and if you're looking for a bicycle, this is the bicycle to buy.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
geej
Bedford, In
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
excellent value
9/17/2008

Customer review by droy

5.0 stars 9/17/2008 by droy
by droy

I've had this bike for about a month now and it has performed flawlessly. I first started looking at it and noticed the frame is of high quality construction 6061 alluminum. Most of the components are very good. I immediately replaced the seat for a nice comfortable Bell seat for $21 and fine tuned all the adjustments to my liking. The kick stand on mine works great by simply kicking it down to a locked position, and the rearward location is much better than the traditional center mount. The fit and finish is good except the decals are very cheap and won't last very long after getting wet. I haven't had any pedal issues like some of the other reviews showed. The 7 speeds are adequate and more speeds are usually only duplicates of other ratios found using multiple front sprockets. The chain guard is just plain cool and functional. The suspension gets a little squeeky after a while, but I simply put a few drops of marvel oil on the rear suspension shock and spring and that went away. The tires and rims are excellent and the bike gives a nice smooth and quiet ride. Can't beat that for $112.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
droy
Bangor Me
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
An inexpensive, but quality bicycle.
4/21/2008

Customer review by Nafun

4.0 stars 4/21/2008 by Nafun
by Nafun

First, my wife and I bought a pair of these bicycles. They were marked down to $59.00 which made the few problems with the bikes seem a much smaller deal. We called ahead to local wal-marts trying to find one with the bikes in stock, when we found one, they offered to assemble them for us, free, while we drove up. First things first, if you're buying this bike for exercise, and you're substantially overweight, be advised that the shocks (front, rear, and seat) are probably going to max out eliminating any shock absorption and make the seat even more uncomfortable than normal. Secondly, the seat, while it is gel padded, is still only marginally more comfortable than sitting on the seat post. Finally, from the store, the brakes worked fine, however, the tires weren't inflated sufficiently. (25psi instead of the rated 45-65psi) Upon proper inflation, the brakes on both tires had to be adjusted. Unfortunately, this requires a 6mm metric alan wrench, which is NOT included. Overall, the bikes are nice, and well worth the money, I wholeheartedly agree with the above reviewer that you should get the bike professionally tuned before serious riding.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nafun
Paulding, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Amazing bike for it's price.
10/15/2007

Customer review by Adudefromspace

5.0 stars 10/15/2007 by Adudefromspace
by Adudefromspace

I got this bike for $58.99 on a clearance. For $60 it's a VERY good bike. The protector on the side of the main gear thing is really helpful. now I don't have to worry about my pants getting stuck on the gear. The seat is very comfortable and has soft springs to give a comfy ride. 7th gear is actually very hard to start off on. I find that to be right. The gear switching is a little slow but I'm used to that already from my previous bike. This is a great bike, even for $100. I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Adudefromspace
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 117 total reviews
1-20 of 117 reviews