Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 33 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

33 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

33 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

76%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
18
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 stars
7
1-20 of 31 total reviews
76%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 31 total reviews
1-20 of 31 reviews
Great new product for managing hair
4/8/2012

Customer review by HappyUser555

5.0 stars 4/8/2012 by HappyUser555
by HappyUser555

I found this while I was shopping in Walmart and was intrigued. I had been looking for a way to make my hair shinier and more manageable without using relaxer systems. I was feeling brave and decided to try this product. There are 3 steps: 1. Wash the hair twice with any shampoo 2. Apply the protein smoothing treatment to subsections of the hair, let sit for 20 minutes, rinse out. The protein has an "interesting" smell that lingered in the house for a while. The most difficult thing for me during this step was to remember to apply this product from the root to the end. I was conditioned to only apply products like this to new growth. After I rinsed out the protein smoothing treatment, I noticed that my fine hair felt coarser than usual. 3. Apply the neutralizing milk and rinse - you are encouraged to use the entire bottle at both step 2 and 3 and I found it difficult to do so. I found that I had a good amount left over and I had to force myself to find a way to use the remaining product. As I was washing out the milk, I immediately noticed that my hair felt softer and that my new growth was less noticeable... But not in the same way as a relaxer (not as pronounced). I then blow-dryed my hair and noticed that it was so soft! The instructions recommend flat ironing the hair if you want a straighter look. This was when I realized that I did not have to rely as much on the flat iron to straighten my new growth. I probably could have skipped the flat iron altogether as after blow drying my hair was light and fairly straight. In general, my hair is softer, shinier, and lighter than it was before I used this product. I am happy! I now do not have to rely on the flat iron and on relaxers to achieve straight hair. I would encourage others to try this product out. I think you will be amazed at how your hair turns out and happy to be able to steer clear of relaxers.

Was this review helpful? (103) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HappyUser555
North Jersey, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
7/29/2012

Customer review by tboo77

5.0 stars 7/29/2012 by tboo77
by tboo77

This product is simply amazing. I received this before it was on the market to give feedback because I used the more expensive keratin. I am a 3 yr keratin user and I was spending $200 every 3-5 months for the treatments, which are a great alternative to harsh perms. I would recommend to anyone to use. the treatments I use to use had to be left in for 48-72 hours and you couldn't bend, bind, use any headbands, get the hair wet or rubber-bands during the 72 hours, simple sets, but very time consuming. I was amazed with the results considering I was not sure of the results because of the extremely low price. I haven't used a perm in over 3 years and my grew 4 inches the 1st year of the treatments and sulfate free shampoo. If anyone has any questions, please feel free to send them. I use this on my 13 year old daughter's hair and people say her sew-in is beautiful:), but it is all her hair. it works miracles on all hair types. My niece is bi-racial and wanted a straight hair-do for school and I used this and the results were amazing. I wish I could post the pics of the styles.

Was this review helpful? (52) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tboo77
Conyers, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
No More Relaxers!
2/25/2013

Customer review by FxDiva

5.0 stars 2/25/2013 by FxDiva
by FxDiva

I saw this on Walmart's website, but they didn't have any in the stores in my area. I decided to look at another drugstore and was able to buy the very last one they had. After relaxing all my life, for the past 4 months I've been trying to go natural. That's extremely hard to do in Atl because the least little bit of humidity makes my hair revert. I applied this just like a relaxer, saturated the ends with what was left over and placed a plastic cap on my head for 30 minutes after using the neutralizer for 20 minutes, I then blow dried. With 4 inches of 4a/4b new growth, my hair looked like I had relaxed it. Soft and smooth, a miracle. I then went on to flat iron. My hair lasted all week with me only wrapping it, no touch ups and bone straight everyday (and it rained most of the week); and this past weekend I walked in the misting rain 3 times in 24hr period with no umbrella and had absolutely NO revision. . . .unbelivable. I've already referred my sisters. The only downside is the smell. Opt for a well ventilated area if possible, other than that you're going to love it.

Was this review helpful? (24) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FxDiva
ATL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Best thing for natural hair
7/14/2012

Customer review by LOVELYNGA

4.0 stars 7/14/2012 by LOVELYNGA
by LOVELYNGA

I've been natural since September 2011 and this is an awesome product to use when you miss having straight hair . It's as simple as 1,2,3. There is only ONE problem with this product...when I tried to "wash and go", my hair wasn't "nappy" just somewhat straight and I can't coil my hair :(. Other than that IT'S SO WORTH THE MONEY!!

Was this review helpful? (20) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LOVELYNGA
GAINESVILLE, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Good for managing frizzy or thick hair.
8/22/2012

Customer review by ThereallonnieBonnie

4.0 stars 8/22/2012 by ThereallonnieBonnie
by ThereallonnieBonnie

I gave this four star's only because it stripped my color a little and it was time consuming,everybody may have different expeirences.,it smelled of sulphur raw egg's at first but after rinsing the product from my hair my hubby said it smelled funny,I think it had a light very pleasent smell,my hair is of a medium length,my hair looked better than it ever has it would'nt hold a curl that well but im very pleased with the result's,one thing you must know about this product you ca'nt use just any shampoo it must be sodium chloride free,and you ca'nt wash the hair for 72 hour's,just to let you know so if your used to washing everyday this is information that comes with the treatment,use this product in a well ventilated area,it did leave our home smelling of chemicals :/ .

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ThereallonnieBonnie
Philadelphia,Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Loved the way it smoothed my hair!
12/4/2012

Customer review by BrownPumpkin

5.0 stars 12/4/2012 by BrownPumpkin
by BrownPumpkin

I purchased this on a whim and I am glad I did. My hair is naturally, kinky curly but will straighten when blow dried and flat ironed. I've been very skeptical to try Keratin kits before because of the multiple steps and the fear of formaldehyde damaging my hair but this was very easy to use and seemed chemical free! The application and smoothing process was very similar to the relaxer application and I could actually see my hair straightening as I smoothed it out. I left it in for 15 minutes (I also have hair color so didn't want to leave it in too long), rinsed and then applied the protein milk, saturating my hair. I left the protein milk in for 20 minutes and then rinsed. My hair was soft, smooth and shiny although it wasn't curly merely wavy. However, as I don't wear my hair curly that much in the winter time, it didn't bother me. Blow drying was the easiest it's been since I went natural and flat ironing it took much less time because I didn't have to reapply heat as often. Also, I haven't had to curl my hair daily because it's not responding to humidty/moisture like it did when completely natural. I liked it and recommend it highly for those natural hair consumers who want the look and feel of relaxed hair without the chemical damage!

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BrownPumpkin
West New York, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
great product for the price
2/2/2013

Customer review by 50ble55ed

5.0 stars 2/2/2013 by 50ble55ed
by 50ble55ed

I heard alot about keratin treatments and I also know they are very expensive. I found this at a local beauty supply store and decided to give it a try. I weary my hair in a kinky curly style but I wanted something to help smooth out my curls and detangle a bit. The first time I used it I left it on for the full 25 min as instructed but it left my hair too straight so I let it wash out for a couple weeks. The next time I used it I left it on for 15 min and it did the trick. Exactly what I wanted smooth curls and easy to comb. The results lasted about 4-5wks for me. Definitely will be using this as a regular hair regimen.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
50ble55ed
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
Yay!!!!!
10/26/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 10/26/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I started using this product in June 2012 and am beyond excited about the results ... still! If traditional relaxers are too harsh for your hair/scalp, this is the perfect replacement. I must stress that you HAVE TO stick with the instructions. If you leave Smooth n Shine Semi Permanent Hair Tamer (for me, regular) on longer than the directions state, your hair color will lighten a lot; head's up!

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
easy application
12/1/2012

Customer review by emeraldjaeyde

5.0 stars 12/1/2012 by emeraldjaeyde
by emeraldjaeyde

does what it says. my hair is still straight from it and ive even sweated a little hasn't curled back up. Will buy again.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
emeraldjaeyde
Norfolk, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love It. Love It. Love It!
4/21/2014

Customer review by BigMable

5.0 stars 4/21/2014 by BigMable
by BigMable

Okay. I was reluctant to try this because of "bad reviews" on Keratin Hair tamers in general. Caught this on sale for under $4.00, and I said "Okay...". Put it in on March 14, 2014. I woke up with a mission to go to the store and get more. My hair is about 3-4 inches below my shoulders and it is that thick but coarse-wavy Black and Indian hair type. I do not have perm hair---at all. This worked our great for me. I used the regular strength and I FOLLOWED DIRECTIONS. 2-steps, very easy. no fumes! Just make sure to rinse thoroughly like you would a perm. Satin bonnet and satin pillowcases are a must. I twist braid loosely to air dry, and I use the Andis Electric straightening comb as my hair is too thick for flat irons. I hope they never stop making this brand. I'm buying it up!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BigMable
Cleveland, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Better than a relaxer or texturizer
11/15/2013

Customer review by Jmike92

5.0 stars 11/15/2013 by Jmike92
by Jmike92

I was fascinated when I heard of this product and couldn't wait to try but when I applied the product I noticed a horrible stinch immediately and I had to put up with for 25 minutes during that time I didn't notice a burn or itch I followed the instructions and blow dried only I dont use flat irons when I use the remaining portion next time I will buy another root straightener but it's been since Monday and my hair is still super soft and it still look natural if you are thinking about a relaxer or texturizer try this first.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jmike92
Birmingham, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
It works great!!
11/21/2014

Customer review by Fenaj

5.0 stars 11/21/2014 by Fenaj
by Fenaj

This product is kind of like a texturizer, it does soften the texture of your hair as much as relaxer does while you can keep maintaining a natural look, it is a lot safer for the hair than a relaxer, it is easy to apply although it has a funky smell, but it works!!....One thing I recommend to people who use this product is for those with thick hair or kinkier texture make sure you get the "Super" version because the Regular might not be strong enough, and also one thing I always do is after I'm done with the texturizer and neutralizer, I make sure to apply a good conditioner, which the instruction don't mention, but believe me your hair will turn out better if you apply conditioner, and I also dry my hair under the dryer with rollers or blow dry it that first day and then wait about 3-5 days to re wash it. But this product is worth you money believe me!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fenaj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Product
9/11/2012

Customer review by TUnique

4.0 stars 9/11/2012 by TUnique
by TUnique

I would have to say that this product worked and was well worth the price. It does have a strong smell but its great without all the chemical like perms/relaxers have. The only downfall I have is that the shipping of the product was bad because I receive it pretty much damage from the company it could have been the soft packaging of it instead of it being boxed.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TUnique
Hattiesburg, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Worked well in daughter's hair
12/9/2013

Customer review by JustBae

4.0 stars 12/9/2013 by JustBae
by JustBae

I bought this product initially for myself and after worked well in my hair, I tried it in hers. She has a fine texture hair that will go straight with relaxers and or texturizers. Her hair does get awfully thick and she hates for you to comb it. We put it in and tried the plastic cap on to keep it moist while waiting the recommended time. I will say, it does lighten up your hair if you leave it in too long. Watch the time! Her hair stayed easy to comb even after the 6 weeks, I am getting ready to apply to her hair after 9 weeks out. I was worried about her hair drying out so I put her under the dryer for 15 mins with a deep conditioner and carrot/olive/shea butter oil mix. Might not have been needed but it eased my mind. Hair was soft and more importantly, manageable. I had the same experience and was able to do this on my new growth after a protective style while giving my hair a break.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JustBae
VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
It's actually a low grade sodium relaxer!!
5/21/2013

Customer review by Stylebarginista

1.0 stars 5/21/2013 by Stylebarginista
by Stylebarginista

I should have researched this product more before putting it in my hair. It's actually a low grade sodium relaxer. Nothing more than a texturizer. Sodium relaxers dry out my hair and I NEVER use them. Now this. So disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Stylebarginista
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ruined My Hair!
4/15/2013

Customer review by dealbuddy

1.0 stars 4/15/2013 by dealbuddy
by dealbuddy

This product made my hair drier and caused lots of breakage. Never again will I use it!

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dealbuddy
FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Quality Product
8/26/2012

Customer review by sobloo

4.0 stars 8/26/2012 by sobloo
by sobloo

I like the touch and the appearance of my hair in comparision to other keratin treatment products.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sobloo
Charleston, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Better than expected
5/4/2015

Customer review by BeFreddy

4.0 stars 5/4/2015 by BeFreddy
by BeFreddy

I hardly ever write reviews but felt that this needed one. I picked this up in the clearance aisle and have been desperate to try something to help tame my hair. I just moved to a dry climate and have been dealing with horrible static as well as unruly wavy hair that is half-way down my back and extremely thick. I wasn't really sure what to expect but it was either try something drastic or cut my hair. First, if you use this product make sure you do a test strand of hair. Mine was okay so I moved forward. After I did everything my hair was super dry and felt kind of weird, so my first impression of it was not great. But after I added a light leave in conditioner to help with hydration and I blow dried my hair I loved how tame my hair was! I didn't even need to straight iron my hair because this tamer did it for me. They recommend not washing your hair for three days and I'm nearly on day two and my hair is even better. My natural hair oil is helping with that odd dry feeling, static has reduced (but not gone), and my hair is easy to manage. I haven't washed it yet, and I'm really hoping for the same results. I recommend this product but with caution. Just make sure you test your hair first, and be gentle with your hair for the first couple days as it did cause it to be dry and a little brittle (which does get better).

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BeFreddy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
works for smoothing
4/2/2014

Customer review by missCissy

2.0 stars 4/2/2014 by missCissy
by missCissy

this product stinks so ,so ,so bad. I will probably never buy it again ,it did a good job of smoothing but I got a little hair damage and the smell is something horrible the smell does go away after you shampoo your hair but during the smoothing process you need a lot of ventilation and if you have asthma or allergies I suggest you don't try this.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
missCissy
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Did not work...
8/13/2012

Customer review by bjauned

1.0 stars 8/13/2012 by bjauned
by bjauned

This did not work at all and actually made my hair feel drier and look frizzier than before. Also, it is really very time consuming to complete the whole process, it took me 2 hours in total.

Was this review helpful? (3) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bjauned
Southern California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
1-20 of 31 total reviews
1-20 of 31 reviews