Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 52 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

52 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

52 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

69%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
27
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 stars
8
1-20 of 51 total reviews
69%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 51 total reviews
1-20 of 51 reviews
Great for a novice...
6/5/2012

Customer review by Justanotherclue

2.0 stars 6/5/2012 by Justanotherclue
by Justanotherclue

Great for a novice if you have nothing but time, don't care about interoperability and open standards, and need a cool looking hot plate. This product has as good a feature set as any blu ray you can buy but don't be fooled. The implementation is awful. Every selection you make takes forever to load. The remote control and its methods for alpha entry (which you will be doing a lot of) is beyond medieval in its methods. If you actually use this device to its full potential you will come to truly loath it. The device gets very hot. Just playing a blu ray is three layers deep on the menu. To access the media files on your other devices you need to install proprietary and unstable 32 bit software called Allshare from Samsung. Hoping for an alternative to the stupendously awful remote, I installed the remote app on my android phone. The phone app is also so poorly made that it stopped working after one software update to the device. As much as I want to be happy with this device, I have to return. I will try the sony unit. I truly hope it is better than this.

Was this review helpful? (11) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Justanotherclue
Newtown, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
6/10/2012

Customer review by 000ooooo000ooo

1.0 stars 6/10/2012 by 000ooooo000ooo
by 000ooooo000ooo

i bought this mostly to use the web browser terrible the curser moves very slow and when it moves it takes a good 5 min to type in a site and then when your on it you cant do nothing cause the curser takes for ever to move so i just gave up not worth the money at all

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
000ooooo000ooo
wateva
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
HORRIBLE if your looking for a FULL WEB BROWSER!!!
6/27/2012

Customer review by Traceyyy

2.0 stars 6/27/2012 by Traceyyy
by Traceyyy

This thing was a huge disappointment, if your buying it for the apps, just get a Roku or something for $50. The "full web browser" is a joke to say the least. You'd have to be the worlds most patient person ever.. the mouse is insanely slow. It moves in this odd tick..tick..tick motion. Lets say your at the bottom of the screen, it literally takes 2 minutes to get the mouse to the top, though it may not seem long..think about it. We returned it the same day we bought it. I suggest you get a Logitech Revue, same apps and a legit FULL browser that's mouse moves as fast as you can!(look it up) The only pro I could find with this product, it has a blu ray player, but even thats a rip off since you can buy a blu ray player for $40 now.

Was this review helpful? (14) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Traceyyy
Gainesville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Player doesnt live up to it's name and price!
6/27/2012

Customer review by ChristianVET

2.0 stars 6/27/2012 by ChristianVET
by ChristianVET

After my Samsung 3D player stopped working one day, I replaced it with the BD-ES6000 and already wish I could purchase the older model again. If you are ok with a smart device, that connects to the internet, just so it can show you a movie trailer through the internet in which, by the way, takes exhaustingly and continuosly fast forwarding each trailer before it even reads the disc then you maybe ok with this product. This player takes twice as long or longer to begin playing a regular Blu Ray disc or a 3D movie than the previous model. Also the functionality of this player also lacks in comparison to previous player is the non use of memory in movie playback. If you pause your movie for an extended period (less than 10 minutes), and you come to finish watching. You will come back, to not only find that the player has quit playing the disc, but it also goes back to the main menu of the player itself, and you have to go through the entire long process again of going through online trailers and then the intial reading of the disc, and then lastly, you have to search to where you left off. Previous model had memory and would allow one to come back and finish your movie, even if you took the disc out and then reloaded it. The price of this player was considerbly more for what it offers, especially when it doesnt compare to it's predecessor in performance as a player. The only new feature it has, that the older did not, is the Cloud feature and netflix type applications which you may or maynot need.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ChristianVET
Lexington, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Waste of money!!
9/3/2012

Customer review by upndown

1.0 stars 9/3/2012 by upndown
by upndown

After reading reviews on this product I decided that I would like to try this box. This box was plugged into the HDMI 3 port on my tv (after trying other ports). After 5 minutes trying to get it to come on and communicate with the tv, it finally came on and went through all the set-up steps(which were very easy). Then nothing! It's like someone turned it off and the tv went back to flashing the "no signal" banner across the screen, then a few minutes later i inserted a dvd and it was very slow on starting. When the movie started playing I pressed the hub button on the remote and gained access to login to the samsung app. Tried to login...kept saying "wait a moment".....never would go any farther than that. Clicked on the samsung app toggle and it would throw up an error "error_setup_003#, no internet connection. I would go right back to make sure there was a connection and yes there was, but kept getting the error message when I would try to go to the app. After 2 hours of connecting and reconnecting and constant login fails, I called support, then ended up on live support chat...it started working then, but the box kept going off as if someone was pressing the power button. Press the power button to turn it on and 5 minutes later it would still flash the "no signal" banner across the tv #like this box wasn't even connected#. I had to insert and re-insert a dvd just to get it to come on so I could quickly press the hub on remote to get to settings. I reset this box and it is going back to the store! Sure wish I had listened to the other reviews on here instead of having to see for myself. Exchanging this for the Roku 2XS. Sorry Samsung, I am a huge fan of your products, but either this box has issues or is not user friendly, and I am no stranger to products of this nature.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
upndown
Golden, Ms
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Good product but go to settings .....
12/30/2012

Customer review by KadenXL1

5.0 stars 12/30/2012 by KadenXL1
by KadenXL1

I have read a few reviews about this product and allot of them had issues with internet browsing. Yes I do agree that the internet browser is slow, HOWEVER, there are options to speed up browsing. At first glance while in the internet browsing, the pointer is big and it's very slow to navigate while using the included remote control that comes with the unit. What you can do is go out and purchase a cheap mini usb mouse for bout $ 15. Or you can buy a combo usb keyboard and mouse that uses one usb. Plug in the usb on the back of the box and the unit will accept it and allows you to navigate the internet much much faster but you can change the speed of the mouse pointer and the size of the pointer under settings. You can also use your keyboard (that you have purchased seperatly) to type your words. Yes it does work a whole lot better and faster. You can also use the mouse to navigate the apps. on the main screen as well. With any device that has internet browsing functions, using a remote that comes with it really is slow simply because we are so used to using computers and laptops. So if a unit has a usb connector and if it accepts usb mouse and or keyboards usb functions, chances is that your browsing functions will improve drastically. Since the unit only has one usb connector and you have multiple devises you would like to connect to the box such as a flash drive with music, movies, photos, then purchase a usb dongle that allows your to connect multiple usb's all at once while the other end of the dongle plugs into the one usb port on the box. Okay, as for apps. Well it's really cool. Their apps store has some decent apps and are growing. You would be surprised at the apps they have on their website that will actually work and is downloadable. They have many free apps and some paid ones. But you must be patient with your new samsung box and play around with it. Make sure you go to settings and click "on" in the fast boot mode. This boots the unit much faster. So you have to take your time and be patient. Change the settings that best fits your needs or desires. I have a sony google blu ray internet box also and of course I purchased a usb combo keyboard and mouse and it works pretty good and yes the browser on the sony is much faster than the samsung but when it comes to apps....the samsung is much better than the sony. I love them both. My sony does not play Hulu at all but the samsung does. So the samsung is truly a great buy and the app store is growing. I hope this helps.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KadenXL1
Grand Prairie, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Lasted a WEEK
6/30/2012

Customer review by ScottTVgirl

1.0 stars 6/30/2012 by ScottTVgirl
by ScottTVgirl

Ive bought SAMSUNG in the past got a great 3D bluray player from them and I wanted another for my bedroom well ended up taking it back in less than a week. I ended up with a PANASONIC, it seems to actually work.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ScottTVgirl
Canton, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Slow to give the disc back
1/10/2013

Customer review by TulsaShopper81

1.0 stars 1/10/2013 by TulsaShopper81
by TulsaShopper81

If you leave your disc in the player (i.e. the kind of person that turns off your TV, ignores the disc and then come back later to get it) then the player won't give you the disc back. You need to turn off the power (wait a while while it thinks# turn back on the power #wait some more# press play #wait a while while it thinks some more# press stop #wait a while some more# press eject #wait just a little bit more) and then you get your disc back. Very irritating.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TulsaShopper81
Tulsa, OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
HBO GO is not available on blu ray players
8/31/2013

Customer review by lak2158

3.0 stars 8/31/2013 by lak2158
by lak2158

Overall, not a bad player if you're just putting a disc in. But if you wanted to be able to watch HBO GO (like me), you're out of luck. Samsung should be more specific that the apps available via blu ray are different from those via Smart TVs. The "full web browser" is not able to play content direct from the HBO website, nor from the Comcast website, not the MTV website either...not from any website that i've come across. You get an error message that the flash player needs to be updated - which you try to download, and the blu ray player blocks. I would definitely recommend that you download the app onto your iphone to use it as a remote, as the standard remote is incredibly painful to use on the web browser.

lak2158
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
No control panel lights
6/2/2012

Customer review by TrueGeek

3.0 stars 6/2/2012 by TrueGeek
by TrueGeek

Love the functionality of this little player, but I cannot imagine why Samsung would have left out the control panel lights! You cannot tell if the unit is on or not unless you press a button on the lackluster remote (you'll get a momentary light on the unit saying that it recognized a command) and you cannot see any of the stop/play/forward/eject icons in low light on the unit itself because they are not backlit. It appears that you are not getting a dual inteface to interact with this machine, you get onscreen and remote only.

TrueGeek
IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Expertise:Expert
Very Disappointing
8/21/2012

Customer review by ThomasPJ

3.0 stars 8/21/2012 by ThomasPJ
by ThomasPJ

The price for ES6000 is very high and compare to last year models you have very minimal connectivity, USB hard disk support is very poor, The limition on usb if you need 2 port. The player Support most of the format than last year. It support signle wireless doggle usb for keyboard and mouse. Till last year model my Samsung S2 1TB was reading all folders in this it doesn't. if you have one wired mouse and keyboard you can only connect one. The Value for its features and limitation is to High.

ThomasPJ
UAE
Would recommend to a friend? No
Expertise:Expert
Smart Hub blu ray player
5/9/2012

Customer review by biggshopper

4.0 stars 5/9/2012 by biggshopper
by biggshopper

I really love this little thing. It is not the fastest when it comes to loading nor is it the fastest at opening the apps but the picture and sound on disc are awesome. The size of it is great. It is about six by six inches(not exact) and about two inches high, maybe a little less but it's size makes it easy to install. Works great with my tv and 3D surround sound receiver. With one push of the on button the tv and receiver turn on. Great job Samsung.

biggshopper
Fort Worth, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Expert
This product HAD potential!!
1/7/2013

Customer review by Ignatius24

1.0 stars 1/7/2013 by Ignatius24
by Ignatius24

I bought this BD Player just for the smart hub and WEB BROWSER, all the network apps and smart hub features worked, but very very slow. And the web browser didnt work at all. I trouble shooted this product 4 times with the tech support and still did not work. I didnt need a new player but thought have the web browser in the living room was a great idea, big fail here. Save your money, dont buy this product.

Ignatius24
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Expertise:Intermediate
Not worth it for web surfing
11/27/2012

Customer review by tugood2b

1.0 stars 11/27/2012 by tugood2b
by tugood2b

It is almost a great system. The only thing that keeps it from being a good way to surf the web is the lack of a keyboard and mouse. The remote is painfully slow at typing in alpha-numeric information. Its like surfing with a Nintindo Wii. Also the mouse function with the remote is equally slow. If Samsung would only provide a keyboard and mouse, it would be great!

tugood2b
Lexington, KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Unavailable Apps
6/3/2012

Customer review by Jonozo

1.0 stars 6/3/2012 by Jonozo
by Jonozo

How does the newest Samsung blu-ray player not have all of the available Samsung apps. I bought this player to replace my older Sony blu-ray player and Roku. Unfortunately, HBO Go is not an available app???? That's unacceptable. Not to mention I have been waiting for 3 months now for Disc to Digital to go live.....

Jonozo
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great player for the price
1/16/2013

Customer review by Mavrick40

5.0 stars 1/16/2013 by Mavrick40
by Mavrick40

For the price I like the features that come on this Blu-ray player. This player gives the options and apps that in some cases you would have to buy 2 difrent dvices to do what you want to do with this one player. I would and have reqemended the player to friends and family I love this 3D Blu-87ray player.

Mavrick40
Wapato, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Excellent
6/13/2012

Customer review by DFP49

5.0 stars 6/13/2012 by DFP49
by DFP49

This player has played every disk inserted and played it perfectly. The Netflix streaming is flawless. Video and audio quality are the best of any I have seen. Allshare works great and accesses all the media files on my PC. The only thing lacking is a backlight for the buttons on the front of the unit.

DFP49
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Expert
Great value for price
2/21/2013

Customer review by Alabamafanman

4.0 stars 2/21/2013 by Alabamafanman
by Alabamafanman

My first 3D BRD player and while I've not yet had the opportunity to yet use that function I've used it otherwise and find it to be an excellent addition to my home entertainment system. This is my 3rd Samsung product and have yet to have any problem with any of them. Would definitely recommend.

Alabamafanman
Coastal Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Expert
great size
10/8/2012

Customer review by stepmom2

5.0 stars 10/8/2012 by stepmom2
by stepmom2

nice little disc player, doesn't take up much room and works great.

Was this review helpful? (1) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
stepmom2
Bellville, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
BD-ES6000
11/13/2012

Customer review by GashouseInc

5.0 stars 11/13/2012 by GashouseInc
by GashouseInc

This player is the best, to be so small, it blast most of all players away. I have not used all the features that it has, but who cares, it will play effortelessly every blu-ray that is put in it. Recommend to anyone looking for quality.

GashouseInc
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Expert
1-20 of 51 total reviews
1-20 of 51 reviews