Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 100 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

100 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

5 stars
77
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 stars
4
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 87 total reviews
Fine for embroidery designs, not for monogramming
7/2/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars by An anonymous customer

I bought this machine as a beginner and I will agree that it is easy to use. I bought it with the intentions of monogramming and using it to embroider names, etc on things. In order to monogram, each letter has to be done separately, meaning you have to manually place the hoop on your fabric, etc for each letter and makes it very hard to get the placement 100% write for your monogram. The 4X4 hoop is not large enough when you want to embroider names/monograms on large things such as beach towels. I have been embroidering last names on beach towels and because of the size of the hoop I can not get the names large enough on the towel for it to even be worth it. Also buying fonts off the internet for this machine is a waste, because you can only do one letter at a time, again forcing you to manually place each letter which is time consuming. I have had this machine for one month and I am already ready to upgrade to one that at least allows for a bigger hoop and easier monogramming.

Was this review helpful? (317) (31)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
An anonymous customer
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for simple projects
5/11/2012

Customer review by lisatravels

4.0 stars by lisatravels

I'm not a master crafter. Last year I bought myself a Singer Curvy sewing machine and have made some simple bags and skirts, but I don't do very detailed, complicated projects yet. So for someone like me with basic experience, this machine offers a good way to start embroidering. My Singer came with a dvd that showed how to get started and I wish this machine had done that. The manual is a bit tricky to follow when it comes to setting up and threading the bobbin and machine the first time. Luckily it was similar enough to my other machine that I got it in just a couple of tries. What I like about the machine is that the touch screen made it very easy for me to get started with a plain text design very quickly. I wanted to make some fun, geeky bibs for a friend's baby and from the time I took the machine out of the box to when I got it set up, read the directions and finished my first bib it was just a little over an hour. (In the picture, the yellow bib came with the giraffe on it, I just added the monogram.) Changing the thread wasn't too tricky after I did it once and saving the pattern I created so I could use it again was simple. The only tricky part is that if you want to do something bigger than what the small embroidery hoop area allows then you have to follow the instructions for connecting two designs. I haven't needed to try that yet, but I could see how it could be limiting in your work. Using just one color at a time wasn't a problem for me since I was just doing text, but if you want to do more elaborate flower patterns or something it would be more time consuming. It looks like the machine guides you through the process though. I haven't tried downloading patterns from the website, but that looks simple enough. I would have liked for the manual to provide more details on how to create your own designs on a computer and add them to the machine, but there was nothing about that. Youtube does have some videos about it though, if you're really interested. Overall, a simple, fun machine to use. But if you want something with more options, or that will let you load more than one color of thread at a time, then you should invest in the next model up.

Was this review helpful? (111) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
lisatravels
Dublin, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Walmart associate
Staff sparks
Easy to use, great for letters and monograms
9/12/2012

Customer review by TenTwentyFive

5.0 stars by TenTwentyFive

I currently have a brother sewing machine that I love (also bought it from walmart.com!). This is my first embroidery machine and I'm really pleased with this so far. what I love: - easy to set up and get started on, especially if you're already familiar with using a Brother machine. All the set-up (like threading, bobbin winding etc) is all the same. Once I plugged it in, I scanned the manual and within an hour I was already doing some test embroidery. - the LCD touch screen is really user-friendly, and the graphics are intuitive - I know one of the reviewers said he/she had problems doing monograms, but I thought it was actually pretty easy to use, and you can fit a good size monogram into the 4" by 4" embroidery area, or you can just set it up so you can line up whatever letters you didn't fit the first time into the next pass - I love that it runs on its own, I can just put in a bunch of text and hit go, and then walk away and grab a drink, and come back and its all done what isn't perfect: - I experimented with a few fabrics and without the stabilizers (the white paper sheets) the stitches won't be exactly symmetric. you really do need to use the stabilizer sheets if you want the embroidery to be perfect. Especially if you're working with any kind of fabric that isn't 100% stiff. - I still can't figure out how to use the automatic threader, but I just squint and thread the machine without any issues

Was this review helpful? (118) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
TenTwentyFive
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
Perfect Embroidery Only Machine
6/8/2012

Customer review by AngMomOfTwo

5.0 stars by AngMomOfTwo

I have experience using regular sewing machines and this was the first time I ever used an embroidery machine and it was very easy to set up and use. The self threading needle is awesome and the self cutter button is a great feature that all machines should have. If you are looking for a machine that only does embroidery then this is the perfect machine for you! If you need a sewing/embroidery machine I would recommend the Brother sewing/embroidery machine.

Was this review helpful? (53) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
AngMomOfTwo
Hayward, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
Staff sparks
Easy to use and does a good job
6/8/2012

Customer review by mrbandit

5.0 stars by mrbandit

Two years ago I bought my wife a high end hursqvarna embroidery machine, but it was complicated to use and had to be closely monitored during each job. My wife saw my frustration early on and refused to deal with it, so that job fell on me. I finally had all I could take and sold that unit on ebay for $950. Then I looked at smaller units and found this online. I bought it, choose site to store delivery and picked it up in an hour. Right out of the box my wife had it sewing and hasn't stopped. Not only was it easy to use the stitch quality is better then the high end machine I had before.

Was this review helpful? (69) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
mrbandit
Eastern NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Wonderful Machine
6/23/2012

Customer review by jiggs45

5.0 stars by jiggs45

This machine works really well! I love it! Easy to learn and does a wonderful job. A friend of mine has an embroidery machine that cost thousands of dollars and this one does as good or even better. Well worth the money!

Was this review helpful? (27) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
jiggs45
Whitehall, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great for small to medium projects
11/2/2013

Customer review by SewandSewlady

5.0 stars by SewandSewlady

This machine is even better than I expected. Just select the pattern, thread it and let it go. I love it. It will embroider up to 5" x 6". I've had it about a week and have embroidered pillow cases, napkins, scarves, towels, already.

Was this review helpful? (26) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
SewandSewlady
Oneonta, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great purchase
1/6/2014

Customer review by MittenMomx3

5.0 stars by MittenMomx3

This machine is great! I taught myself to sew about 3 years ago and have been able to learn on my own how to use this machine as well. It's very simple to use even if you haven't used a brother sewing machine before, but for me was a bit pricey... however, not compared to other embroidery machines. I have been able to download and use designs from websites other than ibroidery.com as well. The only issue is that the machine can only hold a few designs at a time. So say if you downloaded an alphabet for a 7 letter word, you would only be able to hold a few letters at a time on the machine, then delete those and add the next letters to the machine (and your machine needs to be connected to a computer for all of this). So, if your computer is close by or you don't plan on doing huge projects it's not really an issue. I am VERY happy with this machine.

Was this review helpful? (29) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
MittenMomx3
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This machine is GREAT!! Stitches beautifully!
7/8/2012

Customer review by Lashes4x5

5.0 stars by Lashes4x5

Good, if you have a small space for your sewing area or as is the problem that I have...too many machines, but I use them all. This machine is very easy to thread. Directions were easy to follow. I love the different patterns that it offers. Very nice that it came with embroidery thread (3) to get started. You can also connect to the internet and down load additional patterns. To me this is a very good 1st embroidery machine (my 1st). Only thing I don't like is the PINK decoration on the machine, I'm not a lover of the color. If you want a larger hoop than the 4x4 that comes with the machine, a bigger one can be purchased on the Brother web site. But for this price...this machine is awesome!!!

Was this review helpful? (22) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Lashes4x5
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Love it
1/6/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars by An anonymous customer

At first was a bit nervous/excited to play with my new toy. I wanted to just hop right in and make something! I was nervous that it would take a while to learn to do anything... but it was so simple.. I think within 20 minutes of opening box, I was making my first Monogram! (upside down of course, but still learning... and good thing I was making an M, turned into a W ;) I recommend this to anyone starting out. It's a wonderful learning machine!

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
An anonymous customer
Bay City, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
8/22/2012

Customer review by Mona26

1.0 stars by Mona26

i read the reviews before buying so i thought i could handle this. it's not as easy as everyone else has found it for me. i'm a pretty crafty person, so i can follow instructions but the manual for this is so lacking to me. it says you can combine patterns but doesn't tell you how. i haven't had time to google so it's i haven't found any extra instructions. i've used it twice and already had to take it in for service. I'm not happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (16) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Mona26
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
okay for a very beginner
6/7/2012

Customer review by craftymary1

3.0 stars by craftymary1

Had to go to u tube for product demonstration All other brother machines had a cd with them .Will only hold 1 importer design.Has a nice stitch Be sure to use size 15 bobbins or it will skip stitches Have not figured out how to take it back stitches to cover it when the thread breaks

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
craftymary1
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Awesome machine..great price!
10/11/2012

Customer review by Dmarie2

5.0 stars by Dmarie2

This machine is reasonably priced, but don't let the price fool you...it is ready to go right out of the box, easy to set up, easy to use and does wonderful embroidery! The only down side is that you are not able to embroider a pattern larger than 4 x4 without buying additional software. Highly recommend this machine to anyone who is new to embroidery and is interested without having a big expense. This is my first embroidery machine and the first time I have done machine embroidery. Having a great time embroidering!!

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Dmarie2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
love it
6/25/2014

Customer review by flirtyberty

5.0 stars by flirtyberty

love this machine,and really love the fact i can download patterens on it from internet.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
flirtyberty
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great starter machine for the price!
6/16/2012

Customer review by ILRob

5.0 stars by ILRob

I have had this machine for a little over a month and I actually have been getting a lot of use from it! It's a great starter machine for someone just starting out. It has an awesome self threader and it is very very easy to operate, right out of the box! I have another machine with a bigger embroidery area, but I seem to be using this one a lot more. You must have a computer to download designs from the internet. This machine does not use the usb sticks. It has some great designs already loaded onto it and it also has some fonts too! If you are wanting to try machine embroidery, buy this machine....you can't go wrong with it!

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ILRob
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great machine
1/1/2014

Customer review by sewingranny

5.0 stars by sewingranny

I have been looking at Embroidery Machines for a while and this Brother meets and exceeds my expectations.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
sewingranny
Frisco City AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/29/2013

Customer review by StayAtHomeGramma

5.0 stars by StayAtHomeGramma

My daughter and I purchased this machine a few weeks ago. We are very pleased with it. It is easy to use as we have never used an embroidery machine before..We searched and were able to buy other fonts offline and download them to use when monograming.We were worried at first about the 4 inch hoop area not being large enough but so far have been pleased.Even some other machines that cost more still have only the 4 inch hoop area.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
StayAtHomeGramma
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great beginner machine !!!!!
3/29/2014

Customer review by kris423sam

5.0 stars by kris423sam

I got this home opened the box a few minutes later I was embroidering for the first time so easy to set up I wish I would have bought this years ago, I also bought the 3 year warranty so I am good for years to come...If you are thinking about buying one please do you will not be sorry..

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
kris423sam
TN.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Difficut to Setup and Use
8/4/2012

Customer review by MomShopping

1.0 stars by MomShopping

This product was very hard to setup and use. There are many pieces to put together, but I managed to complete the setup. When I tried to use it, I received an error message. It indicated to turn off and turn on again. Even after turning off and on multiple times, I still received the error message so I gave up on it.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
MomShopping
San Mateo, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Staff sparks
Top 500 contributor
Good, simple machine
1/17/2014

Customer review by WestCJ

4.0 stars by WestCJ

I bought this as a Christmas gift for my mother, who is in her late 50's. I was worried about her being able to figure it out due to the fact that she isn't very up-to-date with technology. I have recently asked her about the machine, and she is very happy with it so far. Although she hasn't had a chance to do a whole lot with it yet, she said it was very easy to set up, thread, and figure out how to embroider the simple pictures that come built into the machine. She said the machine basically threads itself, and that it is very easy to set up and navigate and choose the item/picture you wish to embroider. She additionally figured out that the pictures that have differnet colors require you to change the thread (which is really easy) (we neither one had an idea how that would work). As far as quality of the embroiderees, I have seen those myslef. They look really good and crisp. She has additionally had no trouble with needles breaking, material tearing, or any of the machine's settings being out of whack out of the box. As far as a few of the other details of the machine, she has not figured them out yet. I do not know if you can make the letters and pictures bigger. I do not know if you can embroider full names. I do know that the machine cannot accept bigger hoop sizes, and I also know that it cannot embroider an area bigger than the hoop size. Overall, for the price, this is a really good machine, so far. It seems easy to navigate and figure out. Although she has not had the chance to figure it out completely, she is really happy with it. If you plan on just doing some occasional embroidering, it looks like this would be a good choice. It is really nice.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
WestCJ
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 87 total reviews