Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 16 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

16 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

16 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
5
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
1-15 of 15 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Great beginner flash if you've never owned one
6/21/2012

Customer review by Mjestic

4.0 stars 6/21/2012 by Mjestic
by Mjestic

I have a Nikon D90 and I'm very new to photography. A friend wanted me to take pictures for his wedding and I didn't have a flash but I knew I needed one. I search around for something cheap and I didn't have high expectations but this flash performed amazingly. I bought 4 Lithium Ion AA batteries to go with it and I took over 500 shots and it's still going!! The spread of the flash wasn't all that great but it can be compensated by adjusting the angle. Also, it's not the fastest flash ever so don't expect to take speed shots with it. The Nikon D90 is decent with speed and this flash was about half the speed of the D90 so it flashed on every other shot, which is not bad. I would have expected to pay a lot more for something that performs so well. This flash saved me hundreds of dollars and I would recommend it to any occasional photographer. Even though it doesn't come with all of the features of a $400 flash, it's great for what it cost.

Was this review helpful? (32) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mjestic
Baltimore
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Not a bad flash, for the price.
7/20/2012

Customer review by Jesse15

3.0 stars 7/20/2012 by Jesse15
by Jesse15

I bought this about a week ago for my Nikon D200, and here's my take on the Sunpak D3000N: It's actually not cheaply-made. The zoom head could be a little more solid, but it works decently enough. Settings for 18mm, 35mm, 55mm and 70mm. If you have a cropped sensor (4/3, APS-C, etc) remember that you will need to do a simple conversion to set the zoom head. When shooting with my 50mm f/1.8, I set the head to 70mm. The range of the swivel is more than you will need, trust me. The weight is very comfortable on my brick of a camera, and so far the battery power seems to last quite a while. This flash is very strong, and gives excellent results when bounced off white walls or ceilings, with much warmer tones than all built-in flashes I've seen. My real gripe about this flash (and the reason it only got three stars) is the lack of manual control. Sunpak claims it automatically adjusts power TTL or through the lens. There is no manual control for stepping down the power, unfrotunately, and there's nothing on the package that warns against this. For $60 USD, it is a good quality flash that can produce some great portraits. This flash excels in cases where a fully automatic flash is required- just set it on your camera's hot shoe, turn it on and click away. The recycle rate isn't anything amazing, but if you're intending on clicking shot after shot with flash, you probably aren't looking at a model in this price range anyway. I would recommend this unit to anyone who wouldn't want to deal with the hassle of manual controls. However, I myself will be buying a different model next time.

Was this review helpful? (26) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jesse15
Williamsport, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Bought it in a clinch but better than expected!
8/26/2012

Customer review by Venomhatch

4.0 stars 8/26/2012 by Venomhatch
by Venomhatch

I just picked this up tonight and it works very well with my D5100. Warms up in a sec, and fires off flashes one right behind the other even in sports mode. No lags or hangups. Wish it had a diffuser to dull it out but I can make one myself to add on to it. Simple as tape and some construction paper.

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Venomhatch
23602
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Essentially the same as the Bower SFD728
3/31/2012

Customer review by mmsumulong

4.0 stars 3/31/2012 by mmsumulong
by mmsumulong

This is essentially the same as the Bower SFD728 flash with the only difference is the widest focal angle is 18 instead of 28 found in the Bower. Even the manuals are similar in layout and copy (wordings). That said it is a solid well built beginners' TTL (not manual) camera flash. Given its price I would expect the build quality to be excellent but good enough. The only downside is that the zoom is manual. But you must spend more for a model that has auto zoom. Overall it has a great value.

Was this review helpful? (26) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mmsumulong
Glendora, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
3/31/2013

Customer review by RockinRoss

5.0 stars 3/31/2013 by RockinRoss
by RockinRoss

This is a great flash for the money. It does just what I needed it to do and I didn't have to pay $900.00 dollars for it.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RockinRoss
Tipton California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good value if you just need more light.
2/3/2013

Customer review by Pipewelder1999

5.0 stars 2/3/2013 by Pipewelder1999
by Pipewelder1999

I bought this to get the ability to bounce flash indoors. It has wotked very well. I also use it outside for longer distance flash needs than can be met by tbe built in. It has also been handy for painting objects during long exposures. It works well on my D5100.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pipewelder1999
Iuka ms
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
11/30/2012

Customer review by SweetAdeline

5.0 stars 11/30/2012 by SweetAdeline
by SweetAdeline

Works very well with my Nikon D5100 digital camera.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SweetAdeline
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great flash!
4/5/2013

Customer review by samwisethebrave

5.0 stars 4/5/2013 by samwisethebrave
by samwisethebrave

I love this flash. It works perfectly on my camera and my photos come out great. I love the bounce and swivel features, so I can bounce the light off a ceiling or off a wall. I primarily do wedding and some sports photography and I would recommend this flash to anyone. It's advanced enough for professional, but easy enough for beginners too. What a great flash!

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
samwisethebrave
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good flash for every day photos
8/16/2014

Customer review by GlendaleFotoGpa

4.0 stars 8/16/2014 by GlendaleFotoGpa
by GlendaleFotoGpa

I recently purchased a Nikon D3200 camera & wanted a good flash for every day photos, providing something more than the built-in flash. I do not take a lot of flash photos, mostly landscapes. So far after using this flash for 2 indoor parties, I could not be more pleased. The only draw back to this flash is the build quality, although pretty good, I can see that one must be careful & not force anything, like the battery door & the manual zoom head. I did not want to pay for a high end flash that I did not need, & to pay almost as much for it as I did for the camera. The price of the flash made all kinds of sense( around $50) & on-line ordering & store pick up within 4 hours made it easy. I think I made a god choice.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GlendaleFotoGpa
Glendale, Az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Spot On
12/5/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 12/5/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The flash is perfect for short (3ft) to medium distances (30ft). I have not tested this flash at (50ft) but I'm sure I would be equally impressed. The Flash Syncs well with Nikon D3200 both in auto and manual modes.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not worth the money
2/3/2013

Customer review by BAChaos

1.0 stars 2/3/2013 by BAChaos
by BAChaos

I can't recommend another flash, but I can certainly say not this one. Used this flash for one whole day and half way through my shoot it stopped working properly. At first I thought it was the batteries, so switched those out, and still nothing. I couldn't use the bounce ability at all without the flash turning itself off. I understand things break, but not from typical use on the first day.

Was this review helpful? (1) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BAChaos
Cheyenne, Wy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Cheap Plastic
11/20/2012

Customer review by RReflection

1.0 stars 11/20/2012 by RReflection
by RReflection

I bought this flash to attach to my canon rebel t2i. Within a month the on/off switch broke off. It was stored in a traveling bag when not in use. It was never dropped. The test button never worked properly. I would suggest a Yongnuo YN-560 Speedlight Flash for Canon and Nikon over this product. It is priced less and of better quality.

Was this review helpful? (0) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RReflection
Great Bend, Ks
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Excellent
9/28/2014

Customer review by NSR1

5.0 stars 9/28/2014 by NSR1
by NSR1

Great photos for the price of flash. Took great pictures, at least so far.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NSR1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Seems like a good flash for the price
8/5/2014

Customer review by Huckleberry99

4.0 stars 8/5/2014 by Huckleberry99
by Huckleberry99

I have not used it very much, but those pictures that I have taken seem to have the right colors and appear to be sharp and crisp.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Huckleberry99
Leesburg, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good product for the money so far
11/20/2014

Customer review by Doodlejump

4.0 stars 11/20/2014 by Doodlejump
by Doodlejump

I bought this flash about a week ago while in a pinch. I used it for a small photo shoot and it did a really good job.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Doodlejump
Would recommend to a friend? Yes