Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 22 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

22 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

22 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

77%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
10
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
4
1-18 of 18 total reviews
77%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Perfect for the price.
8/27/2012

Customer review by labelflash

5.0 stars 8/27/2012 by labelflash
by labelflash

For the price i love it, don't need all the bells and whistles like the expensive Canon speedlite flash units, i just wanted a little more flash for indoor photos and this unit works great. Simple to operate with no complicated adjustments and features i will never use? Just set your dslr camera to Auto and the flash takes care of the output, i like how nice my photos turn out. People complain about this flash not having a flash ouput adjustment, well then go and buy one for 300.00 plus dollars and you will get all the bells and whistles you want?

Was this review helpful? (32) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
labelflash
El Paso, TX.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
6/14/2013

Customer review by rshimi

4.0 stars 6/14/2013 by rshimi
by rshimi

I recently purchased the Sunpak DF 3000 to compare it with some of my other flash equipment. I also own a Targus TG-DL20c (GN 52), a Canon 220EX (GN72), and a Canon 580ex (GN 190). I used to shoot professionally and I usually carried my Canon 220ex with my Canon G12 for social events (When I didn't want to carry my DSLR, assortment of lenses and larger flash -580ex#. The issue I have with the Canon 220ex flash is it always overexposed my images and it did not have a bounce function. I started carrying the Canon 580ex flash, but it's size made it incompatable for the use I was looking for. That's when I purchased the Sunpak DF3000 from Walmart ($60# because it's reasonable powerful #GN 92# and the flash head has the ability to bounce and rotate. I have been extremely happy with this flash. It's very light weight, will illuminate most social event situations, and the bounce and rotating head makes it possible to achieve soft lighting by bouncing off of walls & ceilings. The limiting factor is the GN of 92 doesn't provide much latitude for bouncing off of walls or high ceilings in larger rooms. The bounce function works relatively well for smaller rooms #10' x 12' with 8' ceilings max#. The Sunpak's light output is around 160% higher than the Targus flash unit. The Targus flash has the ability to bounce, but it's extremely low light output #GN 52# makes the bounce ability almost useless. As other's have indicated, it's construciton is not very sturdy, but if you want something lightweight that illuminates small parties and social events, it is OK. For $10 more, I would definitely purchase the Sunpak DF3000. The upside of the Targus is it is smaller and lighter than the Sunpak DF3000. It provides more light output than the built in flash on my Canon G12 camera. It's relatively inexpensive and a decent flash. Overall, I would purchase the Sunpak DF3000 again. It's price point is very good and it provides a decent light output for the money, size, and weight of the flash. The bounce and rotating head make it a very nice addition to my photography equipment. It is much, much, much better than the Canon 220ex and Targus TG-DL20C flashes

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rshimi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Works great with Canon S5 IS
8/21/2012

Customer review by charles910

5.0 stars 8/21/2012 by charles910
by charles910

Pictures looked great when bouncing the flash off the ceiling. In manual mode, I can dial down the brightness using in-camera menu. It would be even better if it has on-flash manual with brightness settings for to use as a remote flash.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
charles910
Sarasota, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Wow not bad for $60 bucks!
9/27/2013

Customer review by AlwaysPayMyDebts

4.0 stars 9/27/2013 by AlwaysPayMyDebts
by AlwaysPayMyDebts

Ok, I may be over stating this, or maybe it's just because this thing got me out of a huge pinch. I am a professional photographer, and normally I use a Canon 600EX-RT flash (which is amazing). I was on my way to do a wedding and I sopped for something to eat. I figured I would double check all my equipment before I got there, and low a behold my flash would not fire. I was in a very small town where all they had was a Walmart. So, I went in to see if they had anything, and that's when I stumbled on to this little baby. The Sunpak DF3000 was all they had, and for $60 it did a heck of a job and saved me. Don't get me wrong this flash is not my primary flash and it is very simplistic, on and off, that's about the extent of it, but the fact that the head was able to tilt into a bounce flash position was what saved me. I now keep this in my bag as an emergency backup.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AlwaysPayMyDebts
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
No frills dummy flash
6/30/2012

Customer review by Astanax

3.0 stars 6/30/2012 by Astanax
by Astanax

I bought this as a beginner flash for my Canon Rebel XS DSLR. The flash is nothing much, just a on/off switch and a test flash button. It can swivel and rotate to a good degree. It has a magnification from 18, to 35, to 55, to 70 mm. I only have automatic flash and 1/200th of a second for external flash on my camera, so I can't comment on that. The Sunpak DF3000 syncs up well with my camera, but only has one power setting (Full power flash) from what I can assume. The Through The Lens auto focusing system is obtained by flashing a very bright red light twice. For my niece, this was just as bright as the white flash and both her and I didn't like that aspect. I realize there must be other external flashes that utilize this TTL feature, but there is no way to turn the bright red flash feature off on this model. However, for small enclosed areas indoors, this flash is powerful enough to get decent photos for the beginning external flash user like me.

Was this review helpful? (19) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Astanax
Middleburg, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
8/20/2012

Customer review by Lightspeed101

5.0 stars 8/20/2012 by Lightspeed101
by Lightspeed101

A great fit for my Canon DSL with the right amount of flash that works well with the tilt for bounce with less shadows. Thanks for the great buy.

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lightspeed101
Greenville SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
I'm not a professional but it works for me.
11/12/2012

Customer review by MAMommyOf2

4.0 stars 11/12/2012 by MAMommyOf2
by MAMommyOf2

I got this because my Digital Canon Rebel (the first one they made, so on the older side) was dropped and the camera & flash didn't want to communicate anymore. A friend had bought one of these and I tried it on my camera to make sure the camera would "talk" to an external flash. When it did, I ran right out and bought myself the flash. I researched flashes previously but for the price of an external flash it was hard to find a "cheap" flash that wasn't a manual. I'm not a professional and I wasn't sure if I'd be able to work a manual flash. This one works just fine for taking pictures of my kids. The only thing I noticed was when I'm trying for continuous shooting the flash didn't fully keep up, but it wasn't that bad at all. Out of 10 pictures the flash didn't go off maybe twice at most.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MAMommyOf2
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good buy for the money!
1/24/2013

Customer review by RockmanFL

5.0 stars 1/24/2013 by RockmanFL
by RockmanFL

Great value for the price! Great addition to a Canon camera without breaking the bank. Meets/exceeds my expectations!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RockmanFL
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great value
6/23/2014

Customer review by eliteteach

5.0 stars 6/23/2014 by eliteteach
by eliteteach

Great value for the price! Simple and easy to use. Would recommend.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
eliteteach
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works well for a great price.
9/11/2014

Customer review by Novicecameraman

5.0 stars 9/11/2014 by Novicecameraman
by Novicecameraman

Flash works well with my DSLR as described. Shows clear photos and great lighting effects for a reasonable price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Novicecameraman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Basic flash is excellent replacement for built-in
11/14/2014

Customer review by CFDavis12

4.0 stars 11/14/2014 by CFDavis12
by CFDavis12

Sunpak has long made top quality electronic flashes, and this one is no exception. It is the lowest priced automatic flash I have found for Canon EOS cameras. It has a moderate guide number (measure of output brightness) and is compact. It does not have a PC (cable) connector for off-camera use and doesn't have Sunpak's renown partial brightness level settings so it may not be suitable for advanced amateurs. I bought this flash because I needed an automatic (TTL) flash in a hurry for shooting at a conference and it did everything it was needed for as a more powerful replacement for the camera's built-in flash. The one limitation I encountered was that after a series of rapid firings, it needed some extra time to recycle. I will get a more versatile and expensive flash in the future for heavy-duty shooting, but this one will certainly stay in my gadget bag. Today, there are more options available for photo lighting. In most settings, I prefer an LED light, the kind geared toward shooting video. A constantly-on LED unit, about the same size as this flash, lets you see what the lighting will be like before you snap the picture. However , in some settings, an electronic flash still has its place -- at a conference, where a continuous light would be more distracting than occasional flashes (where there isn't enough available light to shoot without supplemental lighting). Also, a flash is sometimes necessary to freeze action, because of its very short duration. As a basic flash to serve as a more powerful replacement for the built-in flash on Canon cameras with a hot show, I would definitely recommend this unit. At its price, the Canon Sunpak DF3000 is a bargain.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CFDavis12
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great flash fora beginner
8/27/2014

Customer review by RowdyKia

5.0 stars 8/27/2014 by RowdyKia
by RowdyKia

I havent used this yet, just been playing around with it at home. Seems easy to use, looks like has very good light and seems to be just what I want. Will know more when I finally use it, but so far have not being taking night pictures.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RowdyKia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
SO severly UNDERwhelmed
11/9/2013

Customer review by CelticDragonWarrior

1.0 stars 11/9/2013 by CelticDragonWarrior
by CelticDragonWarrior

This was the third and LAST time I gave Sunpak a chance. I thought it a fluke, but I see it is just cheap (non)quality merchandise. My first one quit working so I bought another. It lasted about 3 weeks and just stopped working. I went and bought another thinking I could use the second as a spare for parts. HA! The 3rd one arrived NON Functional! If you want an external flash, spend the few extra bucks and buy a better quality one. This is not worth even thinking about., Buyer beware!

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CelticDragonWarrior
Erie PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Quit firing after 2 months
11/24/2012

Customer review by mmommmyy

1.0 stars 11/24/2012 by mmommmyy
by mmommmyy

There's no value in a flash that quits working after 2 months. It stopped working at my kids' birthday party to add to insult :/

Was this review helpful? (2) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mmommmyy
Tomball, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
You get what you pay for!
11/2/2014

Customer review by Jetblondie

1.0 stars 11/2/2014 by Jetblondie
by Jetblondie

I don't know if mine was broken and that was the problem, but this thing was a piece of garbage. I'd have had better luck using the flash that came sitting on top of the camera (which, as a rule, you should never do!). Even though I'm a professional photographer, and therefore have a more critical view of products, I would not recommend this to any level photographer. I was being cheap when I bought this and got what I paid for.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jetblondie
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
JUNK
11/13/2012

Customer review by sammywalmarts

1.0 stars 11/13/2012 by sammywalmarts
by sammywalmarts

bought this external flash to complement canon rebel xs. put 4 brand new batteries in it, tried testing it out. snapped off probably 15 pictures (that looked washed out, and when i adjusted the amount of flash i was back to the same brightness as the stock internal flash) all of sudden it stopped working. so i either burned out the bulb taking 15 pictures, or idk what happened. tried putting new batteries in it, still doent work. wow great product, $4 per picture. id advise to not buy this, definitely invest in better external flash you get what u pay for (CHEAP) piece of crud

Was this review helpful? (4) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sammywalmarts
putnam, ct
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
cheap price, cheap quality. u get what u pay for
1/28/2013

Customer review by ELVEEEn

2.0 stars 1/28/2013 by ELVEEEn
by ELVEEEn

its works. just a simple flash. u get what u pay for on this

Was this review helpful? (0) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ELVEEEn
katy, texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
6/9/2013

Customer review by jppjoffroad

5.0 stars 6/9/2013 by jppjoffroad
by jppjoffroad

great product for the price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jppjoffroad
black canyon city, az.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.