Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 100 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

100 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

100 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

77%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
49
4 stars
25
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 stars
20
1-20 of 94 total reviews
77%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 94 total reviews
1-20 of 94 reviews
Great Alternative to Frying!!!!!
6/13/2012

Customer review by topjimmyd

4.0 stars 6/13/2012 by topjimmyd
by topjimmyd

First off, I am a LONG TIME deep fryer guy. But due to recent diagnosis of high blood pressure, I have retired my Fry Daddy. The Big Boss oil less fryer was exactly what I was looking for. It is as simple to operate as my deep fryer and the results are spectacular. This "air fryer" is as close to deep frying as you will get!! I have done pecan crusted catfish, parmesan salmon, montreal strip steak, and sweet potato fries. But the real winner was the chicken. it was crispy, great texture, and flavor was all there. I admit that i do spritz (sprayer included) it with olive oil but who cares??? I still reduced my calorie intake by 80%. My wife has taken to making buffalo hot wings in it....again, no oil and lots of flavor. My only gripe is that the tongs are kind of flimsy. Kudos to the Big Boss Oil Less Fryer for providing us fried food lovers an alternative. and to Walmart, whose $99 retail is considerably less than the $119 i was going to pay at amazon.com.

Was this review helpful? (331) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
topjimmyd
Cordova, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
6/14/2012

Customer review by nutrition11

5.0 stars 6/14/2012 by nutrition11
by nutrition11

I've been using the Oil-less fryer for a few months now, and it is hands-down my favorite kitchen appliance. I'm on a fairly restricted nutrition plan and eat TONS of boneless skinless chicken breasts. Broiling or baking turns chicken breasts into nasty little hockey pucks very quickly, and I could never quite figure out how to fully cook the chicken without drying it out. The Oil-less fryer makes it easy: I pop the chicken in, set the timer for 15-20 minutes, and get chicken that (really is) crispy and browned on the outside and moist on the inside. It's awesome. I've only been able to achieve comparable texture with my steamer, but the steamer takes much longer and doesn't cook the chicken as thoroughly. I've also "fried" potatoes and sweet potatoes with very good results. As you can tell, I'm a huge fan of this oven, and I hope it keeps working for a long time!

Was this review helpful? (208) (32)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nutrition11
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Excellent Appliance!!
7/9/2012

Customer review by England5

4.0 stars 7/9/2012 by England5
by England5

I recieved this for Mother's Day this year, and I have NOT fried anything in oil since I got it.. We have used it for chicken and wild turkey and french fries and even warming up cold pizza.. I highly recommend this product. It has a small recipe booklet inside, please note that it can be used with (Optional Olive Oil) a few sprays if you would like. Not necessary, our chicken comes out crispy on the outside and juicy on the inside..

Was this review helpful? (112) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
England5
KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very poor customer service.
9/15/2012

Customer review by Wayne66

1.0 stars 9/15/2012 by Wayne66
by Wayne66

The Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer I purchased would not get hot enough to cook very thinly sliced potatoes. After 45 minutes the potatoes were only warm. I could pick up the glass bowl with my bare hands. The fan never did come on. The customer service number is a recording that gives customer service numbers to a variety of other products but, not The Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer. The customer service number also has an operator option that went to voicemail. Leaving a message was a waste of time. After two days there was no return call. I went to the Emson web site and sent an email that also got no reply. I realize I probably just got a defective unit but, with the poor customer service I did not want to risk another one so I returned it to Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (71) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wayne66
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Works as advertised
6/19/2012

Customer review by Rocmiz

5.0 stars 6/19/2012 by Rocmiz
by Rocmiz

i saw this on TV and then saw it at Walmart store. My doctor just told me that my husbands cholesterol is way over the limit and he just loves fried food so I figured for $89 I'll give it a try (by the way Walmart is like $30 cheaper than the price on tv) And it really works great I had t get used to the timing though but just like anything new you need to get used to it Anyone who wants fried food with out all that Greece this is the fryer to get Oh by the way they throw in a free recipe book and an oil spritzer Enjoy

Was this review helpful? (140) (48)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rocmiz
lorain, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Makes Best Fried Chicken Ever!!
11/23/2012

Customer review by Chitson

5.0 stars 11/23/2012 by Chitson
by Chitson

I bought this unit because I had a gastric bypass surgery recently and am not able to tolerate fried foods. My wife used this unit to cook chicken with only two squirts of olive oil from a squirt bottle provided by the manufacturer. My entire family was shocked to find that the chicken is absolutely the very best fried chicken that we've ever had. This product is the best kept secret in food preparation on the market today. We just bought the product two days ago but have enthusiastically recommended it to family members and friends. Today, my father in law bought two of them and my wife is about to buy another as a present for a friend. I highly recommend this product to anyone that is trying to improve their eating lifestyle or that cannot tolerate greasy foods. Again, this wonderful product "fried" the best chicken that I've ever had and used only two small squirts of olive oil. I wish this product had been available 20 years ago because I'd sure be a lot healthier today if it had been. One other thing about this product is that I purchased it at a Wal-Mart Supercenter and the actual price was slightly less than the online price which was a very pleasant surprise.

Was this review helpful? (61) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chitson
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Healthy alternative
8/12/2012

Customer review by moviewatchingsoccermom

5.0 stars 8/12/2012 by moviewatchingsoccermom
by moviewatchingsoccermom

For health reasons my family decided to ditch the fried food, and try a more healthy alternative. The first night we tried this, we made onion rings, low fat jalapeno poppers, and calamari rings. The recipes were a mixed success, but the cooking was perfect. The onions were soft and done, the outside of everything was crispy and not over done. The calamari was just as good as at the restaurant without all the grease. Chicken was made the next day. Not one squirt of oil, and it was the juiciest, most delicious chicken ever made in this house. Bottom line is, the product works, it works well, and we are VERY happy. A few words of caution. If you are purchasing this product with the expectation that the food comes out tasting fried, those results are only achieved with meat products. Vegetables are done and tasty, but not the same. Also, it is BIG. It takes up a fair amount of counter space, and only cooks small portions at a time. If you have a large family, expect to make multiple batches. As the screen is hard to clean, aluminum foil on top of it is recommended for easier cleaning.

Was this review helpful? (121) (44)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
moviewatchingsoccermom
Vancouver, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Our Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer
9/24/2012

Customer review by ParentTeacher1

5.0 stars 9/24/2012 by ParentTeacher1
by ParentTeacher1

Our big boss is great. We have had ours for about 7 months now and it was well worth the money. We wanted to eat healthier and saw this and thought why not and tried it. Was the best decision we have made. It works great. We can do 2-3 courses at one time. Some recipes do have to be altered because it is not like cooking in oil and not like cooking in the oven but not much change in what you need to do from directions. Some things need a bit more time and others need less, just depends on what your cooking. Have fun experimenting, we have. There are other versions of this oil-less fryer out there and do not get mixed up with them. This is the one to get. Others have been found to not do what it sais it should do and break easily. The others are also smaller and do not cost as much as this one. This one cooks great and is easy clean up. At first I was very skeptical but after my dear husband cooked a couple dishes with it, we were both hooked. We use it every few days. We would use it more but we cook to where there are left overs so then we are not in the kitchen cooking all the time.

Was this review helpful? (47) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ParentTeacher1
Meridan, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
AMAZING!!!!!!
12/21/2012

Customer review by Slade87

5.0 stars 12/21/2012 by Slade87
by Slade87

I am not sure what is up with all the negative reviews but I purchased this Big Boss Oil-less fryer a few months ago for my mothers 59th birthday since she does a lot of cooking. So far, we have made french fries, tater tots, onion rings and chicken nuggets in it and I can honestly say this thing is the most wonderful machine ever! All you have to do is set it to the temperature that is recommended for what you are cooking, then turn on the timer and the light comes on automatically along with the fan. The results of the food turns out excellent as always but without the massive amounts of grease like a normal deep fryer and both me and my family think it tastes just as good. I love the fact this machine saves you money on your energy bills compared to the standard oven and plus its kinda fun to watch it cook. I also find it nice that it has a special safety feature that the oven will only turn on once the handle is down all the way. To get to the main point, I HIGHLY recommend this product to EVERYONE!

Was this review helpful? (94) (35)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Slade87
Appleton, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
Real Nice:)
7/25/2012

Customer review by kidlife12

5.0 stars 7/25/2012 by kidlife12
by kidlife12

My husband just purchased the Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer about a month ago. I just was able to use it last week for the first time, I fried wings in it, used only two sprays of olive oil and they were GREAT!!!!! My husband used it for the second time last night, he used batter on the chicken parts, three sprays and placed them in the fryer. His chicken came out even better than mine, Crispy, Tasty and much healther for the entire family. We really have had a great experience so far with the fryer after two uses. Also the amount of time varies from the cook book, it all depends on if you like your meat well done or not. We really don't have any Cons about this product. ALSO easy to clean, just soak the racks and the glass container cleans with a towel and soap.

Was this review helpful? (44) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kidlife12
New Orleans, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great way to cook chicken!
8/30/2013

Customer review by RioRanchoKid

5.0 stars 8/30/2013 by RioRanchoKid
by RioRanchoKid

I found this item for a friend who was dieting, but the more I looked at it the better I liked it. We got it and tried "fried" chicken breasts. The chicken was the best I have ever made period. I cut up the chicken in large pieces, and the smallest pieces were not over done. All of the chicken was tender and delicious. So good, my husband invited our neighbors over for more chicken. They pronounced the chicken awesome as well. A recipe book comes with, but I bought shake and bake which was great. The only down was ours was missing the instruction booklet so I found it online and printed it. There is some vital info in the manual. For one, the handle has to be down for the device to be on. To check the chicken, you lift up the handle and this turns the cooker off. You don't turn off the timer when your product is done, just let the timer run down. Today, I cooked half frozen chicken breasts and they were wonderful. I cut up the chicken into 1 inch pieces and cooked as for popcorn chicken. They were dipped in a beat up egg and done shake and bake style. In 15 minutes they were done tender and crispy as per my husband's taste. I made potatoes in a shake & bake style. They came out great as well. In our hot climate, this kind of cooker is a blessing!

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RioRanchoKid
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Unit Broke in First 5-minutes of Use.
9/23/2012

Customer review by SDLA

1.0 stars 9/23/2012 by SDLA
by SDLA

I purchased this unit on Sunday September 23, 2012 and it broke within the first 5-minutes of use, which ruined my meal. The light turned off within the first 5-minutes, since this unit was new to me I assumed it was part of the cycle. The heat and power light also went out at that time. After the timer (set at 30-minutes) turned off the food was raw and the unit was luke warm, not hot enough for cooking. I don't know if this was just a fluke isolated incident for this unit to break in 5-minutes or if it is the product is not ready for prime time. Within the paperwork of the unit it gives you a 1 800 number that states "Do not return it back to the store". I called that number, which prompts you though an automated system, only to get another number to call, that prompts you through an automated system only to find out they are closed on Sunday. The product itself appears to be of good quality (glass bowl versus plastic) but I'm now afraid that it may not be built to last.

Was this review helpful? (55) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SDLA
Metairie, LA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
FANTASTIC product!~
3/25/2013

Customer review by DeeDee1020

5.0 stars 3/25/2013 by DeeDee1020
by DeeDee1020

Saw this on the Dr Oz TV show and it looked like a product that would be convenient and make healthy meals. It does exactly what it's advertised to do.................cooks VERY quickly and quietly! It's a snap to clean and cooks as promoted.........with NO or just a tiny spray of oil. French fries taste as good as deep fried, just with NO oil and in 1/3rd the time!

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DeeDee1020
Lakebay, Wa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not worth the expense
1/25/2013

Customer review by nanlon

2.0 stars 1/25/2013 by nanlon
by nanlon

Expected good things from this product. Advertising showed several items being cooked at once, but mostly cannot be done. Potatoes burn at ends before they get done. Chicken does not brown as shown in advertising. I tried to contact the manufacturer as I had questions, and wanted to buy another basket, but no response from the email address given. Very disappointed in product and would not recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (26) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nanlon
Forest Hill, WV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
THIS ITEM ROCKS!!!
7/9/2012

Customer review by forestb

5.0 stars 7/9/2012 by forestb
by forestb

I just love this item. It does exactly what it said it would when I saw it on TV. Its efficient, its user friendly, and it does a great job of making products taste deep fried even though I am air frying them. I have only one complaint and that is that its a bit large for just me. My mom says its time I settle down with a wife, so maybe the BIG BOSS will be the catalyst I need to make that happen! Anyway, this is a great item that I will use for years to come.

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
forestb
dallas, tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
EVERYONE should cook this way!
6/10/2014

Customer review by mcoggan

5.0 stars 6/10/2014 by mcoggan
by mcoggan

I can't get over the efficiency and ease of this product....Yeah, it's bulky, but WHO cares!!! Clear alower shelf or floor in your pantry and make room for the miracle tool! Southern Fried Chicken? Haven't had it in 30 years (always fighting the battle of the bulge) with THIS? Incredible...Crispy out, moist in! Next night? Veal chops breaded in panko....added a side of spaghetti and thought I was at my favorite Italian restaurant. Next up? Turkey breast....ok, ok, I admit I overcooked it (definitely my mistake) but still mosit and very very good! Next trick....can't wait to try fried chicken livers and (at a separate time)won tons! WELCOME BACK FRIED FOODS!!!

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mcoggan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fragile and doesn't heat well
8/2/2012

Customer review by halfull

1.0 stars 8/2/2012 by halfull
by halfull

Tried this out on some poultry. Greatly exceeded the recommended time and the meat was still raw. Construction appears flimsy. We have had convection ovens before that were much sturdier and worked much better

Was this review helpful? (25) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
halfull
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
2/2/2013

Customer review by timone

4.0 stars 2/2/2013 by timone
by timone

I think that this product would be excellent for a person who had no oven. It is quite large. Also it is attractive but heavy. Should be able to have it located in one special place and not have to put away after each use.

Was this review helpful? (16) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
timone
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Worthless...Doesn't taste fried...read on
9/19/2013

Customer review by jehuruth

1.0 stars 9/19/2013 by jehuruth
by jehuruth

I have been hungry for Fried Chicken. I have a Nu-Wave, but it doesn't give a fried taste. So I bought the Big Boss. Following their instructions in their cookbook, I made fried chicken. First, while it looked like it was frying while cooking, it didn't come close even tasting fried. Second, at the end of time in their cookbook, the skin was done, looked good, but the chicken was way under cooked. When I cooked it till the chicken was done, the skin was burnt. Third, for as big as the product is, it doesn't cook much. Definitely not family sized. In order to cook enough for me and my two boys, I would have to have two Big Bosses to make enough chicken and another one or two to make a side like fries. This product was a real disappointment.

Was this review helpful? (16) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jehuruth
USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
save your $ not worh it!
3/28/2013

Customer review by chickebabe72

1.0 stars 3/28/2013 by chickebabe72
by chickebabe72

Returned it! Tried sliced potatos for homemade french fries. the time indicated for that item ...hadn't even begun cooking process. After more than 3times the original cooking time..... they were still not even half cooked! Tried ore ida sweet potato fries.... same thing 3x the cooking time and they were still soggy! I can accomplish soggy fries in my oven! It's a good concept just does not work!

Was this review helpful? (14) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chickebabe72
south dakota
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 94 total reviews
1-20 of 94 reviews