Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 35 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

35 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

35 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
24
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
7
1-20 of 35 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 35 total reviews
1-20 of 35 reviews
Very good product
2/28/2014

Customer review by Ian247

5.0 stars 2/28/2014 by Ian247
by Ian247
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Why I got this product: When I booted my computer, I kept getting an error that said "no bootable device found" and decided it was best to replace the hard drive and re-install the operating system. (New motherboard did not solve this problem for me) Note: this hard drive does not come with any screws or cables. Only the hard drive itself! Use the screws and cables already in your computer. 1) Opened up the side panel of my desktop PC (make sure PC is powered off and power cables unplugged - you don't want to get shocked!) 2) Unplugged all of the cables going into my old hard drive 3) Unscrewed the mounting unit (case) that contained the hard drive 4) Unscrewed the old hard drive from the mounting unit and replaced it with the NEW hard drive 5) Screwed all of the cables into the NEW hard drive 6) Closed the side panel of the PC and re-plugged the power cables into the computer 7) Booted the computer and inserted a disc of my operating system 8) Installed the operating system on the new hard drive. Done! Everything works great! Very happy with the product and the price. Hope you like it too

Was this review helpful? (20) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ian247
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The Hard Drive I got was used!
5/6/2014

Customer review by JBaker

1.0 stars 5/6/2014 by JBaker
by JBaker

The hard drive arrived on time. I was very excited when I got it because my current hard drive is failing. When I opened the box, I found the hard drive was not in a box from the Western Digital factory. It was in a static bag with plastic supports. There was not any cables, no manual or CD in the box. I have bought hard drives in the past from Seagate that had cables, manuals, and CDs in the box sealed at the Seagate factory. I should have stuck with Seagate, but the Western Digital hard drive had more storage for the price than the Seagate ones sold on walmart.com. I tried to install the Western Digital hard drive for two days. It would not work on my Compaq Presario. The hard drive had read errors. It took 6 hours to format the hard drive to go with my operating system and it still did not work. I downloaded software from the Western Digital website, but that did not help. I will not purchase another hard drive from walmart.com. When I purchase something for my computer, I want it to be new, sealed in a box from the manufacture.

Was this review helpful? (7) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JBaker
JBaker
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
So, far so, good not a Bad Hardrive.
11/4/2012

Customer review by Manbreed

5.0 stars 11/4/2012 by Manbreed
by Manbreed
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Had a problem at first getting it online,but I called Western Digital and got step, by step, instruction's from their Tech and got it Online and it, run's great it run's a lot faster than my PATA/IDE 160 Gig Drive. I partitioned it to run Vista and Linux Ubuntu Operating System's, on the same Hardrive and Win 7 Ultimate, so far it run's without a hitch,Great Tech Service and,excellent product.....

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Manbreed
Abilene Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Product Great Price
11/19/2013

Customer review by SlimerGod

5.0 stars 11/19/2013 by SlimerGod
by SlimerGod
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I'm using this for my Security system DVR. It's awesome!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SlimerGod
Hugo, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
poor hard drive
6/25/2016

Customer review by Trackers

1.0 stars 6/25/2016 by Trackers
by Trackers

this hard drive lasted me 1 1/2 years and failed. Lost everything that was not backed up on a thumb drive. DONT BUY GREEN DRIVES

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Trackers
Would recommend to a friend? No
7/2/2013

Customer review by leobet

4.0 stars 7/2/2013 by leobet
by leobet

This is a good option for the price, only one comment i received the HD without any of these (supplier box, instruction manual, screws and Sata cable)..Fortunately i had all those components in my home.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
leobet
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
So far, so good
12/7/2014

Customer review by SurferGamer

5.0 stars 12/7/2014 by SurferGamer
by SurferGamer

I was surprised by a previous comment about the lack of mounting screws. Maybe it's just my tower, but I have several plastic "clips" that mount the drives in the bays...no screws needed. Easy install and format. This is enough storage to last two lifetimes for my needs. My computer is really fast now, too, with the larger cache.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SurferGamer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Doesn't come with Sata cables
12/12/2013

Customer review by Mrcmspt

4.0 stars 12/12/2013 by Mrcmspt
by Mrcmspt
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Drive came ready to go. Easy to upgrade. However, make sure you have available Sata cables in your machine or you will be making a trip to radio shack for required connector cables. Walmart doesn't carry them in most stores.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mrcmspt
RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very economic
11/5/2014

Customer review by LuluReverand

5.0 stars 11/5/2014 by LuluReverand
by LuluReverand
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Many desktops now need more space because of the amount of applications running at the same time. This 1TB should take care of all your space hungry software.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LuluReverand
FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not sure what everyone is talking about.
10/25/2013

Customer review by lee47512

5.0 stars 10/25/2013 by lee47512
by lee47512

I had the 500 gb green drive as my primary drive lasted five years.When it went out I ordered this one no problems yet.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lee47512
Bicknell in
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great hard drive replacement
10/31/2014

Customer review by Litlelady713

5.0 stars 10/31/2014 by Litlelady713
by Litlelady713
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Loaded easily and fixed my hard drive problem

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Litlelady713
Tucson, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
the product is great, speed is very good
9/15/2013

Customer review by babajan123

5.0 stars 9/15/2013 by babajan123
by babajan123
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

the only disappointment was that Walmart did NOT include the four screws needed to install the drive!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
babajan123
Lake Worth
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
hard drive
1/24/2016

Customer review by craftylady49

5.0 stars 1/24/2016 by craftylady49
by craftylady49

It came as promised and was installed and works great!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
craftylady49
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Plug and Play!
11/2/2015

Customer review by Blacklab74

5.0 stars 11/2/2015 by Blacklab74
by Blacklab74

I bought this as my current drive died after 4 years of constant use. I read the reviews and this drive seemed to have the best. I received the drive which was in good shape and packaged well. It did not include the mounting screws or CD drivers but neither one was needed. I simply used my old screws and plugged this drive in. Using my factory computer reboot disc this drive was installed with zero problems and I was up in running in a short time. Overall, good product for little cost!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Blacklab74
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
sounded like a train going down the road
12/22/2015

Customer review by karprozac

1.0 stars 12/22/2015 by karprozac
by karprozac

it came already failing .started to put windows on the HD and it sounded like a train.my failing HD did not sound this bad .great thing is that I can take it back today for a refund. just to let you know I have put many HD in computers .so I know it is not my error it was just a bad egg.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
karprozac
Would recommend to a friend? No
A Good Hard Drive by a Solid Company
7/24/2015

Customer review by CompleatWebAholic

5.0 stars 7/24/2015 by CompleatWebAholic
by CompleatWebAholic
Top 1000 contributor

I am using this hard drive as part of a PC build that I have been working on. It is going to be used as an archive/backup drive to my primary solid state drive. It's not the fastest drive out there but for my purposes along with its price, fit my needs perfectly. I was also attracted to its claim of quiet operation and low power consumption. Western Digital has been around since 1970 and has a reputation for making high quality, reliable products. With my own personal experience, I have never had a Western Digital hard drive that failed during its lifetime in my possession.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CompleatWebAholic
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Top 1000 contributor
I found one just like it for $35
12/4/2015

Customer review by UtahDawn2

1.0 stars 12/4/2015 by UtahDawn2
by UtahDawn2

I found one just like it for $35

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
UtahDawn2
Would recommend to a friend? No
VERY POOR RELIABILITY!!!!!!!!!!!!
1/13/2013

Customer review by mep0123

1.0 stars 1/13/2013 by mep0123
by mep0123
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I installed this drive & installed Windows 7 Ulimatye 32-Bit IS & drive failed within 1 week!!!!!! Would not purchase another Western Digital 1TB Caviar Green SATA 6Gbps Desktop Hard Drive!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mep0123
NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Harddrive. Great price
10/5/2015

Customer review by cyates40

5.0 stars 10/5/2015 by cyates40
by cyates40

This Western Digital Harddrive has great capacity, is of good quality and very cheaply priced. I am pleased with the purchase

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cyates40
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great drive.
8/6/2015

Customer review by mgfp

5.0 stars 8/6/2015 by mgfp
by mgfp

I have been in the IT industry for 30 years and once again Western Digital has become the standard drive for me. I still have some very old WD's that are fully functional without error. Can't go wrong with a Western Digital drive.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mgfp
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 35 total reviews
1-20 of 35 reviews