Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.1out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5 | 35 reviews
5 stars
24
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
7
Sort by: 
1-20 of 35 reviews
1-20 of 35 reviews
Very good product
2/28/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Why I got this product: When I booted my computer, I kept getting an error that said "no bootable device found" and decided it was best to replace the hard drive and re-install the operating system. (New motherboard did not solve this problem for me) Note: this hard drive does not come with any screws or cables. Only the hard drive itself! Use the screws and cables already in your computer. 1) Opened up the side panel of my desktop PC (make sure PC is powered off and power cables unplugged - you don't want to get shocked!) 2) Unplugged all of the cables going into my old hard drive 3) Unscrewed the mounting unit (case) that contained the hard drive 4) Unscrewed the old hard drive from the mounting unit and replaced it with the NEW hard drive 5) Screwed all of the cables into the NEW hard drive 6) Closed the side panel of the PC and re-plugged the power cables into the computer 7) Booted the computer and inserted a disc of my operating system 8) Installed the operating system on the new hard drive. Done! Everything works great! Very happy with the product and the price. Hope you like it too
Was this review helpful?
Yes (20)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
The Hard Drive I got was used!
5/6/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The hard drive arrived on time. I was very excited when I got it because my current hard drive is failing. When I opened the box, I found the hard drive was not in a box from the Western Digital factory. It was in a static bag with plastic supports. There was not any cables, no manual or CD in the box. I have bought hard drives in the past from Seagate that had cables, manuals, and CDs in the box sealed at the Seagate factory. I should have stuck with Seagate, but the Western Digital hard drive had more storage for the price than the Seagate ones sold on walmart.com. I tried to install the Western Digital hard drive for two days. It would not work on my Compaq Presario. The hard drive had read errors. It took 6 hours to format the hard drive to go with my operating system and it still did not work. I downloaded software from the Western Digital website, but that did not help. I will not purchase another hard drive from walmart.com. When I purchase something for my computer, I want it to be new, sealed in a box from the manufacture.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
So, far so, good not a Bad Hardrive.
11/4/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Had a problem at first getting it online,but I called Western Digital and got step, by step, instruction's from their Tech and got it Online and it, run's great it run's a lot faster than my PATA/IDE 160 Gig Drive. I partitioned it to run Vista and Linux Ubuntu Operating System's, on the same Hardrive and Win 7 Ultimate, so far it run's without a hitch,Great Tech Service and,excellent product.....
Was this review helpful?
Yes (16)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Product Great Price
11/19/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I'm using this for my Security system DVR. It's awesome!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
7/2/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is a good option for the price, only one comment i received the HD without any of these (supplier box, instruction manual, screws and Sata cable)..Fortunately i had all those components in my home.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
So far, so good
12/7/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was surprised by a previous comment about the lack of mounting screws. Maybe it's just my tower, but I have several plastic "clips" that mount the drives in the bays...no screws needed. Easy install and format. This is enough storage to last two lifetimes for my needs. My computer is really fast now, too, with the larger cache.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Doesn't come with Sata cables
12/12/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Drive came ready to go. Easy to upgrade. However, make sure you have available Sata cables in your machine or you will be making a trip to radio shack for required connector cables. Walmart doesn't carry them in most stores.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very economic
11/5/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Many desktops now need more space because of the amount of applications running at the same time. This 1TB should take care of all your space hungry software.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not sure what everyone is talking about.
10/25/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I had the 500 gb green drive as my primary drive lasted five years.When it went out I ordered this one no problems yet.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great hard drive replacement
10/31/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Loaded easily and fixed my hard drive problem
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
the product is great, speed is very good
9/15/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
the only disappointment was that Walmart did NOT include the four screws needed to install the drive!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A Good Hard Drive by a Solid Company
7/24/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Top 1000 contributer
I am using this hard drive as part of a PC build that I have been working on. It is going to be used as an archive/backup drive to my primary solid state drive. It's not the fastest drive out there but for my purposes along with its price, fit my needs perfectly. I was also attracted to its claim of quiet operation and low power consumption. Western Digital has been around since 1970 and has a reputation for making high quality, reliable products. With my own personal experience, I have never had a Western Digital hard drive that failed during its lifetime in my possession.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
VERY POOR RELIABILITY!!!!!!!!!!!!
1/13/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I installed this drive & installed Windows 7 Ulimatye 32-Bit IS & drive failed within 1 week!!!!!! Would not purchase another Western Digital 1TB Caviar Green SATA 6Gbps Desktop Hard Drive!!!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (11)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Plug and Play!
11/2/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this as my current drive died after 4 years of constant use. I read the reviews and this drive seemed to have the best. I received the drive which was in good shape and packaged well. It did not include the mounting screws or CD drivers but neither one was needed. I simply used my old screws and plugged this drive in. Using my factory computer reboot disc this drive was installed with zero problems and I was up in running in a short time. Overall, good product for little cost!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
sounded like a train going down the road
12/22/2015
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
it came already failing .started to put windows on the HD and it sounded like a train.my failing HD did not sound this bad .great thing is that I can take it back today for a refund. just to let you know I have put many HD in computers .so I know it is not my error it was just a bad egg.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
poor hard drive
6/25/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
this hard drive lasted me 1 1/2 years and failed. Lost everything that was not backed up on a thumb drive. DONT BUY GREEN DRIVES
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
lack of knowledge and memory made a slow install
7/23/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
computer would not recognize the hard drive and it would not show up in my computer. After trying different jumper settings, and some angry words I remembered that the hard drive may not be formatted. after I formatted it and left off the jumpers it was easy as pie. Works well and am happy with it
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good value, slow to ship though
11/20/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I needed a quality HDD for a recently purchased home video security system. The Western Digital "Green" was recommended by the DVR manufacturer. Was simple to install in the DVR and works great. Great price @ $53.00 and free shipping. Too bad it took Walmart so long to ship.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great drive.
8/6/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have been in the IT industry for 30 years and once again Western Digital has become the standard drive for me. I still have some very old WD's that are fully functional without error. Can't go wrong with a Western Digital drive.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Hard Disk Rock's ~
5/6/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
WD 1 TB Desktop Hard Drive is a great value! Excellent performance. When you register it on their website it's a 2 year warranty! Site to store rocks too! Thanks Walmart & Western Digital.... I'm a "Happy Camper" :)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184641750, DC-prod-dfw4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-