Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 26 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

26 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

26 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

69%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
5
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
6
1 stars
1
1-20 of 24 total reviews
69%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 24 total reviews
1-20 of 24 reviews
good camera, poor android app.
2/8/2013

Customer review by stovis

2.0 stars 2/8/2013 by stovis
by stovis
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This taken from another user as I encountered same issues:..." The Swanneye camera is a great device. The viewer through Internet Explorer is good. Setting up remote viewing is a challenge, even if you are a DDNS and port forwarding guru. But this Android app is obviously written by someone as their first Android application. It loses all the setup information you typed in (address, ports, name, username, password) so every time you quit, you have to type it in again. It can't flip images if you install camera on ceiling. I found some work-arounds (put in same camera many times, as if you have many cameras) but the software is still full of odd bugs...." Not easy to set up based on the manual instructions because it reads like a dictionary when it comes to setting up dynamic DNS. Dealing with tech support is not very helpful. They read FAQ off a screen to troubleshoot instead of understanding problem first hand.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
stovis
oswego,ny
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love it!
3/7/2013

Customer review by Rickyph

5.0 stars 3/7/2013 by Rickyph
by Rickyph

I love this camera so much I am buying 2 more of them. Easy enough to install if you know a little bit about routers and dns. I had mine up and going in about an hour. The android app is a little bit disappointing but, I can live with it. Good security camera for the money.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rickyph
Sidney Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Horrible Swann cust service, hard to configure
6/2/2014

Customer review by bus933

3.0 stars 6/2/2014 by bus933
by bus933

Swann agents either are 1) ina hurry and want you off the line or 2) less knowledgable that a beginner and want to solve the issue as :"Try again in 30 min"/ I recently went out of town and remote viewing was touchy - sometimes it worked great and snappy, sometimes it wouldnt load (even on 3G or solid wifi signal). Motion alarm seems to be a little buggy. It will pick up nothing and send an email and sometimes when we knew it should have triggered it didnt. O probably need to experiment with sensitivity more but something as obvious as someone walking in the door wasn't triggered on at least 1 occasion. But so far better than D-link or Insteon products (both of those went back).

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bus933
Nixa, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
installation instructions confusing
3/3/2013

Customer review by swp727

4.0 stars 3/3/2013 by swp727
by swp727

SwannEye came with a flyer for gotocamera wifi setup wizard....address does not exist any more. 1st page of manual talks about quick start guide.....no such thing exists. After about four hours finally got everything set up and working...and figured out that it could be done in about 15 minutes if it had simpler instructions. I have a friend in austin texas that writes user manuals for this kind of thing .... you need his name and #. Now that I've got it set up it seems to be working great and does just what I want it to do. I am looking for a more complicated system for some other property and definetly will consider your other products but will definetly contact tech support quick if the installation instructions are this confusing.

swp727
Abilene, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Expertise:Intermediate
Appalling SW
6/2/2013

Customer review by CPRItter

2.0 stars 6/2/2013 by CPRItter
by CPRItter

"Browse" function freezes on the login window. Have to kill with Big Red X and then force end. I have to launch IE directly to configure the camera (not everyone would know to do this). Some controls (play, stop, record) work only on IE browser, not with Firefox, due to use of MS's proprietary ActiveX. Very poor choice, Swann. When you use a browser, for pan and tilt control, there is one button to activate ("patrol") and another to stop; there is no incremental control. On the standalone app, there is incremental but no patrol. Android smartphone app is barely usable. Hoping to find a firmware or app update, I checked the Swann web site but unfortunately, the "Software" download button take me to a non-existent URL.

CPRItter
Would recommend to a friend? No
Expertise:Expert
Works Well Except...
4/25/2013

Customer review by breid1966

4.0 stars 4/25/2013 by breid1966
by breid1966

I've had this camera for about 2 months. It was really not difficult to set up through my home network and view/monitor my home. I have it set up on my front porch to see my driveway and road in front of my house and connected to my PC. The daytime pictures are crisp and clear with night vision very good as well. The only problem I am having is that it will sporadically point straight up on its own and I have to reposition it from my PC. I haven't gotten it to work with my Android smartphone and the app for it. Maybe I am not doing something right. Overall, I am well pleased and would be very pleased if I could figure these two things out.

breid1966
North Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
Good device but very limited functional Android app
5/12/2013

Customer review by htcmember

3.0 stars 5/12/2013 by htcmember
by htcmember

Hi Swann Team, I've just bought your product: SWADS-440IPC and feel it's very good when using on Windows/Mac site but very limited functions when using and controling via your Android app that public on Google Play It just allow Users watch the camera, move the visions, sound on or microphone on only I think the Record/Snapshot features should be a must to have in your Android app like other Android Camera Management app that's available on the GOogle Play, such as: EagleEye, SwannView.... Specially this is an IP cam, these functions are really usefull that way. Pls consider and release the updated versions Tks Team, htcmember

htcmember
HCMC, Viet Nam
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
Cannot be used looking through a window at night
10/23/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 10/23/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Picture is very good , only had 2 issues with the camera. Firstly it doesnt have an option to turn off the infra red lights when it gets dark. This means if you have the camera located in a window looking out then whilst it works fine during the day, at night the infra red lights automatically come on and the lights reflect back into the camera producing white out pictures. Other similar cameras I have, have an option to turn the lights off and are still perfectly usable looking into a lighted street through a window with the infra lights turned off.The other issue is that from a first floor window it only motion detects cars passing by and groups of people, not single people walking passed below, even with the motion detection turn up max. Both of the issues could be addressed by Swann in a software update.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
london
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good clarity both day and total darkness with IR, flimsy construction
12/30/2012

Customer review by Milton

4.0 stars 12/30/2012 by Milton
by Milton

PROS: Daytime clarity is what one would expect from a 0.3MP camera. Nighttime clarity is better than my other low cost cameras. Typical of Swann products, its documentation is clear and well written. CONS: Camera is very flimsy and seems fragile. Pan/Tilt works albeit kinda jerky. SUMMARY: Have had camera for about two months and am happy with it. Would recommend it to a friend looking for a low cost camera. (Tried to upload picture but system wouldn't accept the VGA image (640x480) because height was less than 533 px. Go figure.)

Milton
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
The Android app needs alot
4/29/2013

Customer review by RLamb

3.0 stars 4/29/2013 by RLamb
by RLamb

The Android app stinks…”QUOTE from another review “….It loses all the setup information you typed in (address, ports, name, username, and password) so every time you quit, you have to type it in again And I agree…. Other than that the camera seems to reboot itself every 12 hours or so, leaving the camera pointed to the sky. Tech support is very hard to get to s I gave up… It does have good resolution on the PC but on my android not so much…. I like the camera but the software/firmware needs attrition! R. Lamb Wilmington NC

RLamb
Wilmington, NC, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
Good product, good price, Internet Setup Requires More Advanced Knowledge
11/20/2012

Customer review by feckech

4.0 stars 11/20/2012 by feckech
by feckech

We have had the camera installed for a few months now. Works well for the price. Every once in a while the motion sensor seems to trigger for no reason sending an email, but overall the camera has worked well for us. The setup for the local network can be done by a basic user with minimal networking knowledge. The setup for internet access is much more difficult and will require a more advanced knowledge of porting, router configuration and Dynamic DNS.

feckech
Gilbert, AZ, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Expert
Great camera at a great price
1/9/2013

Customer review by jcornett

5.0 stars 1/9/2013 by jcornett
by jcornett

This camera works great. It has clear video in the daylight time and some what good resolution for the night time. It's pretty simple to set up for the basic user except for the Internet part. You need to have knowledge of port forwarding or you're going to be making a phone call. I like that it has a built in mic so you can communicate with others. The speaker on it is pretty good too. All in all awesome cam.

jcornett
Louisiana, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Expertise:Intermediate
Good camera for the cost
11/6/2013

Customer review by 3camsgood

4.0 stars 11/6/2013 by 3camsgood
by 3camsgood

I have setup 3 of these cameras. 1 at summer home - Range of motion is very good. Using with IE and find interface easy to use. Good response time from camera. Had no problem setting up the email alerts and alarm functionality. Other 2 cams are used to keep an eye on the dogs. I agree with others that would like functionality to turn of the IR.

3camsgood
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Electronic junk with zero backup
8/18/2013

Customer review by Farmermatthew

1.0 stars 8/18/2013 by Farmermatthew
by Farmermatthew

When you buy something new you expect it to work. Neither my home, my work and my wife's work pc can recognise the camera. The instruction is confusing and obviuos the unit I bought is not working. I've spend the better of 2 hours on Swann website for some assistance to no avail.Tomorrow I'm taking this piece of junk back for a refund.

Farmermatthew
Melbourne VIC, Australia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Expertise:Expert
TECH SUPPORT
6/25/2013

Customer review by BOB13

4.0 stars 6/25/2013 by BOB13
by BOB13

Had some problems installing the software on my VISTA system, I emailed Tech Support and got the solution very fast. Nicolas you rock. After overcoming that hurdle the rest was a piece of cake. As far as the system itself, good picture with easy controls. I can see more cameras being added in the near future.

BOB13
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Limited functionality for MACs
10/31/2013

Customer review by Wayne

2.0 stars 10/31/2013 by Wayne
by Wayne

This is good camera and features if you have a Windows PC. But if you have a MAC you get dumbed down software that doesn't even allow you to record video. This was confirmed by Swann Technical Support, which is very good. Without recording video it is quite pointless as a security camera. Mine is going back.

Wayne
Darwin NT, Australia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Expertise:Expert
Very Versatile
9/1/2013

Customer review by SaintAtlantis

4.0 stars 9/1/2013 by SaintAtlantis
by SaintAtlantis

Have 7 of these Cameras running 24/7 and not had any issues with them as long as I use 3rd Party Software with them to record ect. In the Future I do plan on buying 9 more of these to get Full Security coverage. The down side is Sound, Voice Quality and their Monitoring Software.

SaintAtlantis
Stillwater, MN, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Expert
Value pan/tilt ip camera
5/14/2013

Customer review by Graphguy

4.0 stars 5/14/2013 by Graphguy
by Graphguy

Exceptional value in a ip camera. Wish list... Ipad app ... They have a iPhone app that works on iPad , but that is not the same. Higher resolution is needed, 640/480 is not that great Outside version is needed also USB storage needed also Other than these wish items, it is great

Graphguy
Sacramento, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
software not good
10/6/2013

Customer review by lonnieg

2.0 stars 10/6/2013 by lonnieg
by lonnieg

this is a good camera, but the software running it needs to be improved. i set up all usernames and passwords, but every time i go to view recordings (which is hard to do) i have to re-install some features of the software. it is too difficult to operate. i'm taking mine back.

lonnieg
Roseburg, OR, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Tech Support - Hello?
2/18/2013

Customer review by SortwareBlues

2.0 stars 2/18/2013 by SortwareBlues
by SortwareBlues

Trying to reach tech support for this product - all fast busy, no matter what I select in your prompts. Sortware install comes back with error 740 - requires elevation. No idea what that means. Frustrated with your product - not great out of the box appeal.

SortwareBlues
Flower Mound, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
1-20 of 24 total reviews
1-20 of 24 reviews