Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 351 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

351 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

351 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
217
4 stars
72
3 stars
18
2 stars
11
1 stars
33
1-20 of 333 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 333 total reviews
1-20 of 333 reviews
Excellent All-In-One Printer
12/1/2012

Customer review by Alex27

4.0 stars 12/1/2012 by Alex27
by Alex27

We purchased this printer 12 days ago and the first one that was shipped to us was defective but after telling HP the problem, HP sent us a new one & so far its working good (knock on wood). With a house full of wireless devices, we needed a wireless network printer. We got this all-in-one printer, and we are quite happy with it. We can print from anywhere in the house from any of our desktops, laptops, tablets & iPods. It also copies well. It does not have to be near the router. It can be located in any room, which makes it convenient. It does have a large footprint, so don't get this if you don't have space for it, the paper tray out front, and the flip up cover on the top (for copies). Printing is effortless. It also has duplex printing. We like the paper tray capacity, because we don't constantly have to refill it. Overall, I would recommend this printer for anyone who is looking to set up a small home/office.

Alex27
Nanuet, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Wow I can print from my bed or anywhere else
12/8/2012

Customer review by Colet73

5.0 stars 12/8/2012 by Colet73
by Colet73

I have had this printer for a few weeks now, I love, love, love it! I can print wirelessly from my iPad, iMac, hubby can print from his pc laptop, son from his cheapo tablet in and around the home....and I can print from anywhere, even out of state (not sharing this feature with the men of this home, else I will be out of ink and paper before I know it) It scared the hubby as he was sitting at the desk when I emailed files to our printers unique email address and they started printing out. Love the dual sided printing, saves on paper. I have yet to think of something I dislike on it. One thing that was a bit confusing was the set up paper directions, but once you get to step three, stop looking at the paper directions! Watch the printers directions on the panel carefully, it takes you through each step. It really was super easy from these directions! I highly recommend this printer for your home office needs!

Colet73
Niskayuna, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Officejet 6700 Premium has performed well
3/13/2013

Customer review by Golfer70

4.0 stars 3/13/2013 by Golfer70
by Golfer70

We replaced our Officejet J4680 printer with the Officejet 6700 Premium printer about 2 weeks ago and to this point, it has performed well. The set up was fairly straight forward. This printer is faster than our old printer. The copies are of good quality. It is not quiet, but our old printer was a little more noisy than this one. The only problem that we have had so far was setting the default for black or color prints. The old printer set up was simply checked "Color" or "Grayscale". This set up does not list a selection for color under "Preferences". It has "Print in grayscale: Black Ink only" for no color. To print in color, the setting is changed to "Off". Also, the preference for "Black Ink Only" is "Enabled" for no color and "Disabled" for color. We had been accustomed to selecting either color on or off, which I believe would have been simpler. The cost of the 6700 Premium was very competitive. The free shipping required 3 days. We have purchased several products from HP and to this point have been well satisfied with the quality of the products and the support .

Golfer70
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
This product is perfect for every day use.
11/21/2012

Customer review by LizzieTish316

4.0 stars 11/21/2012 by LizzieTish316
by LizzieTish316

I was excited to receive my new HP printer. I have it for one week now, and I haven't used all of the features that are shown on it (i.e. two-sided copying). One feature that my previous HP printer had which is not on this one is a photo card reader. The only drawback was the installation directions sheet. They made it difficult to read and difficult to follow the diagrams (especially for the ink cartridges). I did notice, also, that ever since installing the new printer, my mouse pointer tool kept "spinning." When I Googled this, one of the choices given asked if I had recently installed a new HP Printer! When I looked up the answer, sure enough, it described the problem. It had something to do with having the printer tell you about the ink levels! I also originally set up the printer as a wireless printer. I have since changed that to a wired via a USB cable printer and I'm enjoying it much better.

LizzieTish316
Brooklyn, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Not worth it at all!
3/11/2013

Customer review by WasteOfMoney

1.0 stars 3/11/2013 by WasteOfMoney
by WasteOfMoney

Ok, first off, after perusing along these reviews I know this review page MUST be filtered and edited by HP. The HP 6700 printer is grossly inferior, and I'll tell you why - Your forced to replaced the color cartridges, even though you only print in black and white. The color cartridges will dry out even though you dont use them just from the printers internal maintenance. When that happens, the driver will not allow any print at all (even if you just have black or grayscale selected as default). The driver will not allow ANY black ink printing if a COLOR cartridge is empty?!?!. I called HP tech support (who was very polite and knowledgeable) and they confirmed that is the way the 6700 operates. So even if you never use color, your forced to replace those cartridges or the printer will basically lock you out from any printing at all. This is a waste of money, and I demand a refund for this machine.

WasteOfMoney
NY NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Hp Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One
5/7/2012

Customer review by Compguy07

5.0 stars 5/7/2012 by Compguy07
by Compguy07

Just purchased theHP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One, I was an easy setup, It took awhile for the print carts to optimize. The printout was crisp and clean. The printer while printing is very quite and fast. The copy and scan options are very easy to use, have family members that were able to use these options right away with very little supervision. The e-print works well, tested out from work and was able to print a document from work to home. Love that I can also print from IOS devices, we have 3 iphones and 1 ipad so this is a very nice feature. I most likely won't use the fax option, with the scan option and e-mail that will be the way to send documents but you never know when I might need it. Over-all very happy with product, price and that I received 2nd day delivery for free. If you are in the market for a new printer I highly recommend this printer because of the price and features.

Compguy07
Providence, RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Slightly Disappointed
2/19/2013

Customer review by Carrie027

4.0 stars 2/19/2013 by Carrie027
by Carrie027

As Program Coordinator for a Developmental Day Treatment Center I do a lot of printing. Plans of Care, Calendars, Many, many forms, etc. My previous printer was an HP 6500A Plus, which lasted me several years. When it finally bit the dust I replaced it with an HP 6700 Premium. I love the features and am finding out that I like the eprint feature also! It prints fast and is quiet. The only thing I am disappointed with the new design for loading envelopes. The 6500 loaded envelopes in the right side of the paper tray. With the 6700 I have to take the paper out, place the envelopes in the center of the tray and adjust the side arms to align the envelope. This might just be a preference of mine but I find loading the envelopes in the 6700 is a bit troublesome. Otherwise the printer is the quality I always expect from HP. and is why HP printers are the only printers I will buy for home, or work.

Carrie027
Mountain Home, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Disappointed per set-up & features problems
11/1/2012

Customer review by NewOrleanian

2.0 stars 11/1/2012 by NewOrleanian
by NewOrleanian

Setting up the HP Officejet 6700 Premium was much more complexing than expected and I have problems in utilizing all the features of that the printer offers due to compatablitiy with my computer system. Whereas I have a smart TV and smartphone, each allowing for utilization of application software features; and I have used computers since the 1960's (per militiary duties, CPA firm staff member and corporate management employment (CFO) now retired), I was looking forward to utilizing the smart features of this printer. Unfortuantely it was not compatible with my computer system to utilize fully the wireless features available of the printer. Though I have years of experience with computers and vast knowledge and experience with complex material (including IRS tax code and corproate contract matters), the setup and learning to utilize the features available, as I have stated, was very complex. This review has been requested from HP after I have had the printer only a few weeks. Perhaps I will resolve the pending utilization matters after more experience and further knowledge of the printer.

NewOrleanian
Metro area of New Orleans, La
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
This is a terrific printer for anyone.
2/25/2013

Customer review by djgibson62

5.0 stars 2/25/2013 by djgibson62
by djgibson62

Perfect printer for any job you have for it. Pictures come out excellent as well as artwork I got off the internet for it. The best thing I like about it is it's ease of setting up and being able to use it from anywhere. And I do mean anywhere. It tied in with my wireless router so I can effectively print from anywhere in the world as long as I have some sort of communications device. Like a cell phone or a computer on a hotspot. All you have to do to do it wirelessly is send something to the printer's email address and it will get printed if your printer is plugged in and on. Even in it's "sleep" mode that it reverts to after a user specified time or factory default time it still wakes it's self up to print anything that comes in over the router. I don't have a land line so I don't know how the fax feature would work, which is the only way to have fax capabilities.

djgibson62
Terre Haute, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Excellent printer! Recommended!
7/29/2012

Customer review by KarenAnn

5.0 stars 7/29/2012 by KarenAnn
by KarenAnn

About a month ago I purchased another HP (model) printer which I hated. I exchanged it for this one paying a bit more money for this. This printer was so easy to install and everything worked right away. I use all functions and have found this model so easy to use. The scanner works and I have used the fax daily. It holds plenty of paper and the printer feeds well. So far, so good. What a difference from the first model I tried a month ago. There are no cons (so far). I highly recommend this printer. I do wish HP equipment came with manuals - hate looking things up in the web manual - what a pain but I guess that's how it is anymore. I always study the manuals and take with me as I run errands (and have to wait) but would have to print the darn thing out to do that and they are too long. It would benefit everyone if a manual were included with the equipment!

KarenAnn
OKC, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Prepare to Buy ALL of the Ink
2/22/2014

Customer review by Josh11

1.0 stars 2/22/2014 by Josh11
by Josh11

If you are like me, and you just want to buy a cheap printer to use occasionally for black and white only, DO NOT BUY THIS PRINTER. At every given opportunity, it wastes ink of all colors to clean its printerhead, and it uses color ink to print black and white. This is a "feature" that you can't turn off and the printer will refuse to work if any cartridge is low on ink. I have only used this printer for black and white, but I now have to buy color ink cartridges to keep doing so because it uses these in the background no matter what you do. And there are no ways to fool this printer into thinking it has color ink so it can keep using just black ink. I will be throwing this printer away and buying one that actually does what it advertises. If you like spending all your money on ink in colors that you don't use, then this is the printer for you.

Josh11
Would recommend to a friend? No
A Failure!
2/26/2014

Customer review by Bob9999

1.0 stars 2/26/2014 by Bob9999
by Bob9999

I would not wish this product on my worst enemy! I could stand the noise and slowness that were written up when I purchased the printer. However, the scanner function is totally unreliable. I scan 2 pages, but then it loses connection on the third (wireless routing). Or it says there is no connection and then successfully scans the page a minute later. I've relinked it multiple times by carrying the printer to place it next to the desktop and linking it via Ethernet cable. Doesn't make any difference - still fails intermittently and inconsistently. Now, I've downloaded the "Doctor" which you CANNOT delete - there is no "Close" on the window! All it does is what the installation software CD does - no help at all. Formerly, I had lots of respect for HP and its products, but now I understand why their business is struggIing. Unfortunate!

Bob9999
Seattle, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
What a mistake
8/27/2013

Customer review by McCutch

1.0 stars 8/27/2013 by McCutch
by McCutch

I am so sorry I purchased this printer/fax. It is nothing but trouble. Every time I try to do something simple like print a document, there is some hitch. The ink lasts only about 15 minutes and is very expensive. Unlike other printers, you can't continue to print on until it fades away. The printer says you are done and you are done. You can't shake the cartridge and get a few more pints, no way. And don't make the mistake of buying just a black cartridge and only printing in black cause that ain't happening. If the other inks are gone it won't allow you to print only in black. No, you have to buy ALL the colors to simply print in black. I allowed myself to be "sold" on this printer instead of leaving the HP brand because the ink is such a big cost. It was a very big mistake and if there were a way I could return it, I would.

McCutch
Cape Coral, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Convenience And Great Performance
7/20/2012

Customer review by Yola

5.0 stars 7/20/2012 by Yola
by Yola

Back in May, I have made a purchase to the HP OfficeJet 6700 Premium e-all-one printer, after two months of use, I was duly impressed with its features and performance. The features were very impressive, for it provided me convenience and ease when performaning task such as sending documents using the scanning feature on pdf format. It holds up to over two hundred sheets of paper in addition to allowing me to print double-sided documents. When I use the copy feature to make copies of items, the copy looks almost like the original, especially when it is run on color. The amazing performance is when the printer is used for air-printing via wireless, it allows me to print items while I am away from home especially, when I am using my iphone to send documents to my home printer. I find it to be highly useful when performaning task via cloud, thus providing convenience rather, than having to pay a fee to use other air or cloud printers in public establishments. There are many other tasks and features that are to many to mention in this review, but to make it short and simple, this multifunction printer, does exceed my expectations. That is all I have to mention about this great printer.

Yola
Brooklyn, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Can't Install Printer
9/7/2013

Customer review by eschitown

1.0 stars 9/7/2013 by eschitown
by eschitown

I've had a variety of HP printers over the years. When my last one stopped talking to my computer and I found that the drivers were no longer being updated, I thought I would get the current version. I am now going on 2+ hours fighting to get this thing installed. The wireless does not work at all, even though the machine is connected to the network (ran the diagnostics). I got it to print via USB from my iMac Desktop, but when I try to add the printer to my MacBook Air, I get an error message that the software is not available. That is with the CD and connected via USB. The website just instructs me to download the same HP Installer, but when I get to the last step of the Installer, it can't find the software. No obvious tech support number anywhere either.

eschitown
Would recommend to a friend? No
Printer Failure After Warrenty
9/14/2013

Customer review by BMWorld

3.0 stars 9/14/2013 by BMWorld
by BMWorld

I like the printer. It has cool features and all. I do not use it that much. Mostly for fundraiser 2 times a year. Then right after the warrenty ran out. The message on the printer touchscreen display for the OfficeJet 6700 Premium printer says . . . . . Printer Failure. Tried everything on my own with HP troubleshoot instruction. Called HP and no luck that way either. The guy was cool enough about a upgrade and I am a awesome HP costumer he says. So I said I think about the deal he said to me by phone. I am low on cash. I am not rich you. The bad news is that the printer dies on me just after the warrenty ran out in July 2013. Now I have to borrow a printer from a friend till I can scrape up money for a new printer. Maybe Santa will get me a new printer.

BMWorld
Essex County, NJ, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
HP is Back on Track!!
7/31/2012

Customer review by tstefl

5.0 stars 7/31/2012 by tstefl
by tstefl

I have owned MANY HP printers - Photosmarts, Officejets and Laserjets (8750, c309a, c410a, c5180, 5610, 2420d, 8000, etc.) I have loved some - (the 8750 and c410a are my favorites...in fact, the 8750 has been the best printer I've ever owned, and I still use it as my primary printer). But, I have not liked others (the c309a was a good wired printer, but I bought it for its wireless capability, which failed a year after I bought it). This new printer - the Officejet 6700 - has returned HP to it's rightful place atop the consumer printing world. Setup was easy. Connection was immediate (wireless). Printing, scanning and emailing (to the printer) is all done remotely. I will put it somewhere in the house near a phone line (for the fax function), and forget about it until I need it. Then I will remotely scan something I've placed on the glass, or I'll wirelessly print to the photo or general paper trays. And, every so often we'll get a call from one of my two brothers in law to go pick up a picture that's sitting in the arrival slot...because they've just emailed THE PRINTER a picture of their respective newborn babies, and the picture JUST PRINTS! I LIKE this printer. My wife (their sister) LOVES this printer!! Good job, HP!

tstefl
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Easy Setup
7/20/2013

Customer review by kcsanta

5.0 stars 7/20/2013 by kcsanta
by kcsanta

Just purchased an HP Officejet 6700 printer. Set it up on my router and then plugged it in via cable. Ran the install disk and installed from the internet. Very easy setup. The program went out and found the printer - installed it for me. Also installed the HP6700 icon on the main screen that allows me to scan, print, fax, etc. Printed and scanned with no problem. Then I installed it on the two laptops in the house and they all print fine. As I was right next to the router, it was easier and more secure to set it up wired than wireless. Went out and setup the eprinter setup and recieved my email address and changed it to an easier one to remember. In all a VERY fast and clean setup. Much easier than some of the old setups I've done.

kcsanta
Kansas City
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Know your Router...
8/31/2013

Customer review by GKL1

4.0 stars 8/31/2013 by GKL1
by GKL1

The Officejet 6700 works great once you have it installed correctly. HP Installation Instructions are poor and incomplete, HP Support on web and phone was a disaster. I thought it was a Windows 8 compatibility problem but it turned out to be a router set-up issue. I had to figure it out myself (with the help of Linksys support) to get the settings right. Many reviewers reported problems with printer "off-line" or "Windows not not seeing the printer". The "Fix" is easy, you can only use a router with a 2.4GHz Network, not 5 GHz, not mixed. If you have a Dual Band Router make sure to assign 2 different network names and you are in business. I was ready to return the printer but now everything works and I'm very impressed with the it.

GKL1
Chicago
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Not good for college if your PC only has USB 3.0
9/16/2012

Customer review by Mark12

2.0 stars 9/16/2012 by Mark12
by Mark12

I purchased this printer for use at college with a new laptop. It has a great feature set along with good quality scanning and printing. I connected the printer to the USB ports on the PC (it only has USB 3.0 ports). Printing repeatedly hung and crashed the PC. Research found an HP support person explaining that these printers do not work with USB 3.0 and recommended users use the printer's wireless feature. This workaround would be fine for my home network, but it's not good for college. Since student printers cannot be connected to the university network and the printer's wireless has to have access to a router, I had to purchase a router for the printer and PC to connect to. This works with no hangs or crashes.

Mark12
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
1-20 of 333 total reviews
1-20 of 333 reviews