Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 223 reviews | 2.4 out of 5

2.5 stars

223 reviews | 2.4 out of 5

2.5 stars

223 reviews | 2.4 out of 5

35%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
60
4 stars
9
3 stars
14
2 stars
21
1 stars
119
1-20 of 221 total reviews
35%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 221 total reviews
1-20 of 221 reviews
Great product if you can get it out of the can.
10/4/2014

Customer review by Jezebette

1.0 stars 10/4/2014 by Jezebette
by Jezebette

I have two daughters and all of us love Dove hairspray. I have been using it for several years and suggested to my girls that they try it. They loved it and have been using it ever since, it's been about a year now. After a few hundred cans of Dove all of a sudden I have stacked up over a dozen cans of almost full hairspray that I can't use. I can't get it out of the aerosol can. It works great for about a day or two then all of a sudden it won't spray anymore. We tried running it under water and sticking a pin the hole because we thought it was just clogged. Nothing will get these cans to spray again. At first I thought it was just a bad batch so I bought some more at a different location. Same thing happened! I was even foolish enough to buy more at a third location. No better luck. I love the product but unfortunately it's a waste of money if I can't get it on my hair. Something has changed and the product is now not even an option when I buy hairspray.

Jezebette
Alberta, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage frequency:Daily
Gender:Female
Non-Aerosol, holds & smells great!
4/6/2014

Customer review by MJofAZ

5.0 stars 4/6/2014 by MJofAZ
by MJofAZ
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love the liquid pump spray. It doesnt "dry" as hard as most sprays but holds just as well. It smells awesome ... my husband uses it all the time too.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MJofAZ
MJinAZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
CAN I GIVE THIS LESS THAN 1 STAR?
10/3/2012

Customer review by yellowrose002

1.0 stars 10/3/2012 by yellowrose002
by yellowrose002

Sooo disappointed to find out I can no longer buy the old blue bottle formula of Dove hairspray, but that disappointment pales in comparison to the realization that THIS AWFUL PRODUCT is the replacement! Loved the old formula and bought it for many years. It left my hair with a soft hold that I could comb through, and my hair was not stiff or sticky. I assumed this would be similar with new packaging....WRONG! My hair is stiff, dry, AND sticky. UGH!! I hope Dove brings back the old formula, and soon. Meanwhile, I'll be searching for a suitable alternative. YOU would have to pay ME, and pay me a lot, to get me to use this stuff.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
yellowrose002
Freedom, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
REALLY terrible - bring back the old formula please
5/7/2012

Customer review by sunshinegirl001

1.0 stars 5/7/2012 by sunshinegirl001
by sunshinegirl001

This new Dove Extra Hold hairspray formula/scent is terrible. Overbearing, unpleasantly fruity scent, and the Extra Hold is SO incredibly sticky. I had to shampoo my hair 5 times in a row just to get the stuff out. And I mean a vigorous, scrubbing shampoo each time. This stuff can't be good for hair, it's like superglue. After I use this hairspray I have to wash my hands, because the spray makes everything so awfully sticky! Used to use the old formula daily (along with the Flexible Hold) but this partially-used can is going directly into the trash. Bring back the old formula and scent, please! I will not be purchasing Dove hairspray again, and I am one who used to buy four and five canisters at a time of the old formulas. A disappointment, and I am now looking for a new brand. (Also, I see someone from Dove is posting replies... please just return to something more closely resembling the old formula and especially the old scent.)

sunshinegirl001
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage frequency:Daily
Length of ownership:1 month
Gender:Female
GREAT VALUE.
1/9/2014

Customer review by wantwhatreallyworks

5.0 stars 1/9/2014 by wantwhatreallyworks
by wantwhatreallyworks

THIS STUFF IS GREAT!!!. NOT HEAVY. SMELLS VERY CLEAN. Dont look like dew on a spider web in your hair. And dont look wet if i get carried away and use too much. But I usually just use three sprays. and that lasts all day. Best spray I have used in years. LOVE LOVE LOVE IT!!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wantwhatreallyworks
princeton, mn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
Good hold but the scent made me queasy
3/22/2016

Customer review by GirlIsSoDangerous

1.0 stars 3/22/2016 by GirlIsSoDangerous
by GirlIsSoDangerous

I tried this hairspray one morning and I left the house and I went to work. All morning long I wondered what I had come in contact with that smelled too heavy and sweet like a stale men's cologne that lingers on surfaces where a man was who wears too much cologne. Unfortunately it was the Dove hairspray that I used that smelled that way and by mid day I had a headache from it. It's too spicy smelling and sweet, and actually musty smelling for me. I don't know exactly what scent it is supposed to be but I know that I don't want people smelling this weird scent on me when I stand near them. I washed my hair, clothes, and pillow cases to get rid of the heavy scent. Too bad because it does hold a hairstyle very well if you can cope with the strange smell. Why does nearly every product made today have so much scent that it can be detected on someone from 30 feet away? That is not attractive or considerate.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GirlIsSoDangerous
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Hairspray
2/13/2017

Customer review by LeeD

5.0 stars 2/13/2017 by LeeD
by LeeD
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This product is light with great all day hold. Great fragrance...I've been using it for over a year and will not switch ever again. I highly recommend this to anyone looking for a clean, extra hold hair product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LeeD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
ooo lala
1/27/2017

Customer review by susitta

5.0 stars 1/27/2017 by susitta
by susitta

This is first time buying Dove hairspray. I bought the non-aerosol type and I absolutely love it. My hair doesn't have hairspray buildup like the others. Not super stiff and brushes out easily. My hair stays clean and no flakey stuff. I don't understand some of the other comments having that problem. I have found using aerosol spray does have a tendency for that kind of buildup. I've used it for about a week and a half and still love it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
susitta
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Salon Pas
1/26/2017

Customer review by Loon

5.0 stars 1/26/2017 by Loon
by Loon
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Wouldn't be without it. I just wish I could reply to all products at once.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Loon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
poor
5/14/2013

Customer review by dove1234

1.0 stars 5/14/2013 by dove1234
by dove1234

I love all the Dove products. i had been using the dove product since i was 14 i am now 26 this year and still use the DOVE. with these new products for the hair although this is a newer product its okay to me. but i expected better. I think and for my opinion i love the old hair spray, and mousse back in maybe 2006 to 2010 i really love those. The new version i feel that every time i used these products on my hair its supper sticky, or when i blow dry my hair and add a bit of this it turns my hair into a snow flake. meaning it has all those white little particles that i hated into hair products. i loved the old ones and i wish they "DOVE" can bring it back, it never gave me any problems when i curl my hair or add a few hair spray to keep my hair the way i styled it. or even add volume after i had blow dry my hair it looks natural and does not leave my hair looking like i have dandruff. now i would not recommend any of these products to people i know because some of my problems with these new product is something they do not like as well. bring the old product back!! please,,,, its way BETTTERRR!!

dove1234
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage frequency:Weekly
Length of ownership:3 months
Gender:Female
Favorite hair spray.
1/11/2017

Customer review by Michelle

5.0 stars 1/11/2017 by Michelle
by Michelle
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Favorite hair spray. Good hold not stiff or sticky.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Michelle
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fabulous Hairspray
6/30/2016

Customer review by GlamourGirl

5.0 stars 6/30/2016 by GlamourGirl
by GlamourGirl

This is by far one of the best products I have ever used. It holds great, goes on evenly, and combs out easily. It has a very pleasant and light fragrance that really smells fresh -- not at all overwhelming and not perfum-ey. Can't imagine what the other reviews are talking about. I used this product two hours ago and really cannot smell it at this point. I've used it for three years now and it's "thumbs up" every time. I'll drive across town just to find it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GlamourGirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Dove Hairspray
12/11/2016

Customer review by Melody

5.0 stars 12/11/2016 by Melody
by Melody
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've used this for years and it's great. Super hold without stiffness.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Melody
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect for light hold
12/8/2016

Customer review by LizzyP

5.0 stars 12/8/2016 by LizzyP
by LizzyP
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great scent. Doesn't harden hair. Best for light holds.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LizzyP
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I like it!
11/3/2016

Customer review by Farney

5.0 stars 11/3/2016 by Farney
by Farney

I have very fine hair. I've dealt with products, many, trying to give boost, etc.. Recently, I noticed dandruff like stuff when I combed my wet hair. Figured out that it was plastic attached to my hair. Bought a clairifying shampoo. Stopped all other products! Still, I needed a hair spray. On a whim, I bought this. Works fine. No residue at all, so far.

Farney
30135
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage frequency:Daily
Gender:Female
Great
9/3/2015

Customer review by Anonimo

5.0 stars 9/3/2015 by Anonimo
by Anonimo

Great product

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Anonimo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Stinky, Stinkier & the Stinkiest!!!
12/11/2012

Customer review by Katy33

1.0 stars 12/11/2012 by Katy33
by Katy33

I don'k know why these manufacturers keep doing this to us. Years ago, I used Suave and they did the same thing. I've used Dove hair spray ever since it came out and have been so pleased with it, I recommended it to everyone. Now I've warned everyone about the disgusting smell of their "NEW" spray. The number is on the bottle. I use a rather expensive perfume and the last thing I want to smell like is the rotten stink of this hair spray. I called Unilever yesterday and the man I talked to acted like no one had ever complained. CALL THEM!!! The phone number is on the bottle. I just want the old spray back. Maybe if enough of us call they'll change it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Katy33
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Every day
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
This hairspray is awesome!
11/21/2015

Customer review by Ladybug

5.0 stars 11/21/2015 by Ladybug
by Ladybug

I love this hairspray. I wear my hair short and piecey with a lot of volume. My hair is fine, straight and very unmanageable. This hairspray holds my hairstyle through out the day without making it stiff. With other hairsprays I had to use a ton making my hair like cotton candy. This hairspray is the best I have ever used. It holds my hairstyle without using half the bottle. I love the fragrance and have looked a long time for a hairspray that smelt good. I have only been using it for about 6 months or so and was disappointed when shopping the other day only to find Walmart did not restock it in the store. Now I will have to see where else to buy it. Please bring this item back! It is the best!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ladybug
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fragrance has changed and not pleasant
6/13/2014

Customer review by skeetertrader

2.0 stars 6/13/2014 by skeetertrader
by skeetertrader

I have bought 3 can of this hairspray. The first can, the fragrance was really nice but the second can smelled like they put men's fragrance in the wrong can. Since I thought it was a manufacturing error I bought another can and it still is not pleasant for a woman. I like the product otherwise but can't get past the smell. I told my mother this was the product I was using and she bought it but after one use she went back to store to get a different product because of the fragrance. I had not told her the change that I had noticed. I will not be buying this product again. If there was a change in the manufacturing process you should change it back. If this was an error you should know that it is costing you sales.

skeetertrader
Iowa, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage frequency:Daily
Length of ownership:6 months
Gender:Female
Disappointing
4/10/2013

Customer review by wastedmoneytwice

1.0 stars 4/10/2013 by wastedmoneytwice
by wastedmoneytwice

I really like Dove products but this hairspray is not what I was expecting. It does have an overwhelming smell but the packaging is what sealed the deal for me. I bought this in the pump bottle first, it just quit working after about two weeks. Wouldn't do anything. Tried running warm water over the spray nozzle, still nothing. So I threw it away with well over half the product still in it. Well, I bought the aerosol version last week and today it has malfunctioned. wouldn't spray, so I ran warm water over the nozzle and it still wouldn't spray. After the third try it has now started squirting out from under the nozzle, making a real mess. that was the last chance. Really, really disappointed.

wastedmoneytwice
NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage frequency:Daily
Length of ownership:1 week
Gender:Female
1-20 of 221 total reviews
1-20 of 221 reviews