Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 336 reviews | 2.2 out of 5

2.0 stars

336 reviews | 2.2 out of 5

2.0 stars

336 reviews | 2.2 out of 5

28%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
74
4 stars
13
3 stars
14
2 stars
26
1 stars
209
1-20 of 334 total reviews
28%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 334 total reviews
1-20 of 334 reviews
Great product if you can get it out of the can.
10/4/2014

Customer review by Jezebette

1.0 stars 10/4/2014 by Jezebette
by Jezebette

I have two daughters and all of us love Dove hairspray. I have been using it for several years and suggested to my girls that they try it. They loved it and have been using it ever since, it's been about a year now. After a few hundred cans of Dove all of a sudden I have stacked up over a dozen cans of almost full hairspray that I can't use. I can't get it out of the aerosol can. It works great for about a day or two then all of a sudden it won't spray anymore. We tried running it under water and sticking a pin the hole because we thought it was just clogged. Nothing will get these cans to spray again. At first I thought it was just a bad batch so I bought some more at a different location. Same thing happened! I was even foolish enough to buy more at a third location. No better luck. I love the product but unfortunately it's a waste of money if I can't get it on my hair. Something has changed and the product is now not even an option when I buy hairspray.

Jezebette
Alberta, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage frequency:Daily
Gender:Female
REALLY terrible - bring back the old formula please
5/7/2012

Customer review by sunshinegirl001

1.0 stars 5/7/2012 by sunshinegirl001
by sunshinegirl001

This new Dove Extra Hold hairspray formula/scent is terrible. Overbearing, unpleasantly fruity scent, and the Extra Hold is SO incredibly sticky. I had to shampoo my hair 5 times in a row just to get the stuff out. And I mean a vigorous, scrubbing shampoo each time. This stuff can't be good for hair, it's like superglue. After I use this hairspray I have to wash my hands, because the spray makes everything so awfully sticky! Used to use the old formula daily (along with the Flexible Hold) but this partially-used can is going directly into the trash. Bring back the old formula and scent, please! I will not be purchasing Dove hairspray again, and I am one who used to buy four and five canisters at a time of the old formulas. A disappointment, and I am now looking for a new brand. (Also, I see someone from Dove is posting replies... please just return to something more closely resembling the old formula and especially the old scent.)

sunshinegirl001
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Daily
Gender:Female
I like it!
11/3/2016

Customer review by Farney

5.0 stars 11/3/2016 by Farney
by Farney

I have very fine hair. I've dealt with products, many, trying to give boost, etc.. Recently, I noticed dandruff like stuff when I combed my wet hair. Figured out that it was plastic attached to my hair. Bought a clairifying shampoo. Stopped all other products! Still, I needed a hair spray. On a whim, I bought this. Works fine. No residue at all, so far.

Farney
30135
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage frequency:Daily
Gender:Female
poor
5/14/2013

Customer review by dove1234

1.0 stars 5/14/2013 by dove1234
by dove1234

I love all the Dove products. i had been using the dove product since i was 14 i am now 26 this year and still use the DOVE. with these new products for the hair although this is a newer product its okay to me. but i expected better. I think and for my opinion i love the old hair spray, and mousse back in maybe 2006 to 2010 i really love those. The new version i feel that every time i used these products on my hair its supper sticky, or when i blow dry my hair and add a bit of this it turns my hair into a snow flake. meaning it has all those white little particles that i hated into hair products. i loved the old ones and i wish they "DOVE" can bring it back, it never gave me any problems when i curl my hair or add a few hair spray to keep my hair the way i styled it. or even add volume after i had blow dry my hair it looks natural and does not leave my hair looking like i have dandruff. now i would not recommend any of these products to people i know because some of my problems with these new product is something they do not like as well. bring the old product back!! please,,,, its way BETTTERRR!!

dove1234
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:3 months
Usage frequency:Weekly
Gender:Female
disheartening downgrade
5/16/2012

Customer review by Majesty1976

1.0 stars 5/16/2012 by Majesty1976
by Majesty1976

Yes Unilever, that's exactly what you've turned this once fabulous product into. As a long time wig wearer (both human and synthetic), I had come to depend on the flexibility and cleanliness which characterized this hairspray before the formula got changed to what it is now. I was able to apply it without the worry that it would flake or worse yet, make my wig look like disgustingly shiny straw. I recently had to throw out 1 of my new wigs as the buildup that formed on it was impossible to remove. I deeply regret that you changed this product as I felt good about buying from a company that evidently cares about the environment. I have switched brands (just like another reviewer stated) as I'm not willing to continue using a product that instead of improving the quality of my own hair or that of the wigs I wear, into locks that belong on a grease monkey. Jeers!

Majesty1976
New York, NY, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Usage frequency:Daily
Gender:Female
You changed it...
7/12/2016

Customer review by Another Samantha

2.0 stars 7/12/2016 by Another Samantha
by Another Samantha

I loved the Extra Hold hair spray. Have used it for years. I would style my hair and spray on the extra hold Dove. It had a nice gentle spray. My style stayed in place while I sprayed. Now you have changed the strength of the spray. I style my hair....and when I spray. it blows my hair ...they style is ruined. That is why I liked Dove and left other sprays .. guess I will be looking for a new one again. I can never understand why...when something works, it has to be changed.

Another Samantha
ILLINOIS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage frequency:Daily
Gender:Female
Really hating the new - bring back the blue hair spray!
6/2/2012

Customer review by linderella

1.0 stars 6/2/2012 by linderella
by linderella

I went to your website to see if I could order the blue Damage Therapy pump hair spray, and I see there are close to 30 other comments that are all saying the same thing: Bring back the blue stuff! I thought the pink bottle was the same formula in a new bottle, but it's not - the old was light, smelled great , and left my hair shiny and easy to comb. New bottle is thick, gloppy, and leaves my hair stiff and dull. Ugh. Why can't companies leave well enough alone when you have a winning product? I have worked in advertising and marketing, and hope you guys listen to your consumers. (And if you're really smart, you'll bring it back in the old blue bottle, so we know it's the real thing...) Thanks for your consideration, and I hope we can get our favorite old blue hair spray back.

linderella
Willoughby, OH, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:1 week
Usage frequency:Daily
Gender:Female
My new favorite
4/22/2016

Customer review by Sue City Sue

5.0 stars 4/22/2016 by Sue City Sue
by Sue City Sue

I am a new consumer of the Dove flexible hold hair spray and I disagree with so many of the reviews. I haven't had any trouble with the cans spraying properly and I love the scent. In fact, last week I hopped on an airplane, sat down in my seat and the gal sitting next to me commented on how nice I smelled. Needless to say, I am a fan of the scent and I like how it holds my hair just the right amount without being sticky. With so many negative comments, I fear they may change the formula back, so I plan to go buy a case or two before that happens. As far as hairspray, it's #1 in my book.

Sue City Sue
Newport Beach, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage frequency:Daily
Gender:Female
Annoyed
6/20/2016

Customer review by JennJenn2330

3.0 stars 6/20/2016 by JennJenn2330
by JennJenn2330

Okay I love this hairspray, BUT there has been at least 3-4 cans that are pretty full that I can't use because the darn hairspray wont come out!! The aerosol can won't let it!! I upset to say I'm going to try something new because I'm getting really frustrated with dud cans of hairspray, waste of money!

JennJenn2330
Fair Oaks, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage frequency:Daily
Gender:Female
Fragrance has changed and not pleasant
6/13/2014

Customer review by skeetertrader

2.0 stars 6/13/2014 by skeetertrader
by skeetertrader

I have bought 3 can of this hairspray. The first can, the fragrance was really nice but the second can smelled like they put men's fragrance in the wrong can. Since I thought it was a manufacturing error I bought another can and it still is not pleasant for a woman. I like the product otherwise but can't get past the smell. I told my mother this was the product I was using and she bought it but after one use she went back to store to get a different product because of the fragrance. I had not told her the change that I had noticed. I will not be buying this product again. If there was a change in the manufacturing process you should change it back. If this was an error you should know that it is costing you sales.

skeetertrader
Iowa, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:6 months
Usage frequency:Daily
Gender:Female
Hate it--Please Bring Back the Original!
8/21/2012

Customer review by merri

1.0 stars 8/21/2012 by merri
by merri

I bought this a few months back when, to my complete chagrin, I realized that the Damage Therapy Extra Hold I'd been using for years had been discontinued. This new stuff is awful--heavy, wet, and sticky. It dries fast and crunchy; there's no way to get a brush through it if you want to style with it. It's pretty much the exact opposite of the original, which was great for styling and all-day hold. I've tried several other brands since, and nothing works as well as the original Dove Extra Hold. I finally broke down and bought some off amazon; I see they're still selling some, so I'll be buying more there until they run out. Dove, you've lost a long-time customer, unless you bring back the original! (Please!)

merri
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Horrible Unbelievably Strong smell
6/13/2016

Customer review by Jacey

1.0 stars 6/13/2016 by Jacey
by Jacey

Wish I had checked these reviews before buying. Product holds, shines and combs out easily. However, the smell is the worst I've ever smelled in 45 years of experience. It is overwhelming and does not dissipate. Once it gets into your nose lookout!!! Do not recommend!!!

Jacey
Kalispell, MT, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage frequency:Daily
Gender:Female
Love the smell
2/26/2016

Customer review by Christie33

5.0 stars 2/26/2016 by Christie33
by Christie33

I have been using this product for about three years. I don't understand what everyone is complaining about. I absolutely LOVE the scent of the product and it holds my thick, hard to hold hair perfectly. Make an unscented version for those who want it but please don't change the formula or scent of this product as there are some customers who are well satisfied with it. It is extremely hard for me to find a hairspray that works well for me but this one fits the bill perfectly. If you change it I will be looking for another brand again and would find anything else sadly lacking.

Christie33
London, KY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage frequency:Daily
Gender:Female
Disappointing
4/10/2013

Customer review by wastedmoneytwice

1.0 stars 4/10/2013 by wastedmoneytwice
by wastedmoneytwice

I really like Dove products but this hairspray is not what I was expecting. It does have an overwhelming smell but the packaging is what sealed the deal for me. I bought this in the pump bottle first, it just quit working after about two weeks. Wouldn't do anything. Tried running warm water over the spray nozzle, still nothing. So I threw it away with well over half the product still in it. Well, I bought the aerosol version last week and today it has malfunctioned. wouldn't spray, so I ran warm water over the nozzle and it still wouldn't spray. After the third try it has now started squirting out from under the nozzle, making a real mess. that was the last chance. Really, really disappointed.

wastedmoneytwice
NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:1 week
Usage frequency:Daily
Gender:Female
better than most
5/9/2015

Customer review by zeelo

4.0 stars 5/9/2015 by zeelo
by zeelo

My mom originally had bought this stuff and used it herself. Id never been one for hairspray. I never did my hair in ways that i needed it to hold the shape and i sometimes worried it would make my hair crunchy. but one bad hair day I decided to give this a try and i was highly impressed. i started using it more and more and then had to get my own bottle! and that was ok bc this stuff isn't overly expensive. Its not overly fragrant either. The only woes i have about this stuff is that its number 1 content is alcohol, which is not friendly to my hair's health. So while it did add extra shape i didn't know i was missing, it also added extra frizz i didn't know i could prevent.

zeelo
Minneapolis, MN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage frequency:Daily
Gender:Female
My new go to hairspray
4/21/2012

Customer review by dearmarie

5.0 stars 4/21/2012 by dearmarie
by dearmarie

Love this hairspray! everything it says on the label, it does, I DON'T get helmet head AT ALL which is why I'm loving this product, the smell is like a very light, clean shampoo smell and it holds all day and looks natural, it's not wet, weighed down, sticky or crunchy like other brands I've tried, just soft and natural. I like how it sprays out of the can - comes out strong but sprays a very fine, super fast drying mist, also it seems to give my hair luminosity (like the can says). I've never had a hairspray hold this well and look so natural and be brushable without snags and breakage. I'm really excited and happy I bought this product so much I just had to come on here and say so.

dearmarie
Aurora, CO, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Length of ownership:1 week
Usage frequency:Daily
Gender:Female
Tacky feel
5/30/2012

Customer review by lin8289

1.0 stars 5/30/2012 by lin8289
by lin8289

Used Dove Damage Therapy extra hold hair spray in the clear bottle for years until it was discontinued recently. The new kid on the block is this product. I immediately bought a bottle and used it a total of 3 times - I live in Florida and the weather is very, very humid where I reside - so this product became very tacky feeling once exposed to the humidity. Plus when sprayed on, my hair became almost like a board - very stiff, then add the tackiness to that and what a mess. I wish the old product was still available. What a shame companies have to keep trying to improve on products that people really like, and actually make them worse. I am not a Dove consumer anymore.

lin8289
Spring Hill, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Daily
Gender:Female
This is awful. BRING BACK THE BLUE BOTTLE!
5/9/2012

Customer review by klm1025

1.0 stars 5/9/2012 by klm1025
by klm1025

Like every other review I have read, I am so terribly disappointed. With the new formula, my hair looks greasy, feels stiff and it smells horrible. I went to visit my mom and she actually asked me when the last time I washed my hair was because of how it looked (dull and greasy) and smelled. I had just showered only a couple hours before. I was so embarrassed. I will not buy another bottle. I am very upset. I have been using Dove Hairspray for YEARS and chose it because it offered awesome hold, natural movement and people used to comment about how shiny my hair was and how awesome it smelled. Those days with Dove are apparently gone. I'll be looking for a new brand. :(

klm1025
Indianapolis, IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Daily
Gender:Female
Terrible!
5/26/2016

Customer review by LindaG

1.0 stars 5/26/2016 by LindaG
by LindaG

I used your Dove Extra Hold hairspray before and absolutely loved it but then it was discontinued and do not understand why. This new product STINKS and the hold is terrible! Please bring back what you all used before or at least one equivalent!

LindaG
TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage frequency:Daily
Gender:Female
Won't spray!
8/26/2014

Customer review by RileyD16

1.0 stars 8/26/2014 by RileyD16
by RileyD16

I absolutely love the Dove Hairspray... If I could get it out of the can! The first few cans I purchased were fine, but over the last few months they have all been awful! A brand new bottle will spray for about 5 seconds then start oozing out from under the cap. It's as if there is plastic in the nozzle not allowing the spray to continue. Soaking it in warm water doesn't help. I have also bought bottles from various locations hoping Dove had made a running change in the tooling and I would find a fixed bottle somewhere! Come on Dove... fix the tooling on your nozzle!!!! PS: My bottles are not old. With my curly hair I use on average a can of hairspray a week.

RileyD16
Monrovia, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:1 week
Usage frequency:Daily
Gender:Female
1-20 of 334 total reviews
1-20 of 334 reviews