Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 329 reviews | 2.1 out of 5

2.0 stars

329 reviews | 2.1 out of 5

2.0 stars

329 reviews | 2.1 out of 5

27%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
67
4 stars
13
3 stars
14
2 stars
26
1 stars
209
1-20 of 327 total reviews
27%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 327 total reviews
1-20 of 327 reviews
good
9/1/2016

Customer review by Piedad

5.0 stars 9/1/2016 by Piedad
by Piedad
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I like it

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Piedad
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product if you can get it out of the can.
10/4/2014

Customer review by Jezebette

1.0 stars 10/4/2014 by Jezebette
by Jezebette

I have two daughters and all of us love Dove hairspray. I have been using it for several years and suggested to my girls that they try it. They loved it and have been using it ever since, it's been about a year now. After a few hundred cans of Dove all of a sudden I have stacked up over a dozen cans of almost full hairspray that I can't use. I can't get it out of the aerosol can. It works great for about a day or two then all of a sudden it won't spray anymore. We tried running it under water and sticking a pin the hole because we thought it was just clogged. Nothing will get these cans to spray again. At first I thought it was just a bad batch so I bought some more at a different location. Same thing happened! I was even foolish enough to buy more at a third location. No better luck. I love the product but unfortunately it's a waste of money if I can't get it on my hair. Something has changed and the product is now not even an option when I buy hairspray.

Jezebette
Alberta, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Usage frequency:Daily
DOVE NON-AEROSOLO HAIRSPRAY
8/11/2016

Customer review by ENAHS

5.0 stars 8/11/2016 by ENAHS
by ENAHS
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

HOLDS GREAT WITH VERY LITTLE SPRAY.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ENAHS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good hold but the scent made me queasy
3/22/2016

Customer review by GirlIsSoDangerous

1.0 stars 3/22/2016 by GirlIsSoDangerous
by GirlIsSoDangerous

I tried this hairspray one morning and I left the house and I went to work. All morning long I wondered what I had come in contact with that smelled too heavy and sweet like a stale men's cologne that lingers on surfaces where a man was who wears too much cologne. Unfortunately it was the Dove hairspray that I used that smelled that way and by mid day I had a headache from it. It's too spicy smelling and sweet, and actually musty smelling for me. I don't know exactly what scent it is supposed to be but I know that I don't want people smelling this weird scent on me when I stand near them. I washed my hair, clothes, and pillow cases to get rid of the heavy scent. Too bad because it does hold a hairstyle very well if you can cope with the strange smell. Why does nearly every product made today have so much scent that it can be detected on someone from 30 feet away? That is not attractive or considerate.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GirlIsSoDangerous
Would recommend to a friend? No
You changed it...
7/12/2016

Customer review by Another Samantha

2.0 stars 7/12/2016 by Another Samantha
by Another Samantha

I loved the Extra Hold hair spray. Have used it for years. I would style my hair and spray on the extra hold Dove. It had a nice gentle spray. My style stayed in place while I sprayed. Now you have changed the strength of the spray. I style my hair....and when I spray. it blows my hair ...they style is ruined. That is why I liked Dove and left other sprays .. guess I will be looking for a new one again. I can never understand why...when something works, it has to be changed.

Another Samantha
ILLINOIS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Usage frequency:Daily
Non-Aerosol, holds & smells great!
4/6/2014

Customer review by MJofAZ

5.0 stars 4/6/2014 by MJofAZ
by MJofAZ
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love the liquid pump spray. It doesnt "dry" as hard as most sprays but holds just as well. It smells awesome ... my husband uses it all the time too.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MJofAZ
MJinAZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
CAN I GIVE THIS LESS THAN 1 STAR?
10/3/2012

Customer review by yellowrose002

1.0 stars 10/3/2012 by yellowrose002
by yellowrose002

Sooo disappointed to find out I can no longer buy the old blue bottle formula of Dove hairspray, but that disappointment pales in comparison to the realization that THIS AWFUL PRODUCT is the replacement! Loved the old formula and bought it for many years. It left my hair with a soft hold that I could comb through, and my hair was not stiff or sticky. I assumed this would be similar with new packaging....WRONG! My hair is stiff, dry, AND sticky. UGH!! I hope Dove brings back the old formula, and soon. Meanwhile, I'll be searching for a suitable alternative. YOU would have to pay ME, and pay me a lot, to get me to use this stuff.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
yellowrose002
Freedom, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
REALLY terrible - bring back the old formula please
5/7/2012

Customer review by sunshinegirl001

1.0 stars 5/7/2012 by sunshinegirl001
by sunshinegirl001

This new Dove Extra Hold hairspray formula/scent is terrible. Overbearing, unpleasantly fruity scent, and the Extra Hold is SO incredibly sticky. I had to shampoo my hair 5 times in a row just to get the stuff out. And I mean a vigorous, scrubbing shampoo each time. This stuff can't be good for hair, it's like superglue. After I use this hairspray I have to wash my hands, because the spray makes everything so awfully sticky! Used to use the old formula daily (along with the Flexible Hold) but this partially-used can is going directly into the trash. Bring back the old formula and scent, please! I will not be purchasing Dove hairspray again, and I am one who used to buy four and five canisters at a time of the old formulas. A disappointment, and I am now looking for a new brand. (Also, I see someone from Dove is posting replies... please just return to something more closely resembling the old formula and especially the old scent.)

sunshinegirl001
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Daily
Fabulous Hairspray
6/30/2016

Customer review by GlamourGirl

5.0 stars 6/30/2016 by GlamourGirl
by GlamourGirl

This is by far one of the best products I have ever used. It holds great, goes on evenly, and combs out easily. It has a very pleasant and light fragrance that really smells fresh -- not at all overwhelming and not perfum-ey. Can't imagine what the other reviews are talking about. I used this product two hours ago and really cannot smell it at this point. I've used it for three years now and it's "thumbs up" every time. I'll drive across town just to find it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GlamourGirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
GREAT VALUE.
1/9/2014

Customer review by wantwhatreallyworks

5.0 stars 1/9/2014 by wantwhatreallyworks
by wantwhatreallyworks

THIS STUFF IS GREAT!!!. NOT HEAVY. SMELLS VERY CLEAN. Dont look like dew on a spider web in your hair. And dont look wet if i get carried away and use too much. But I usually just use three sprays. and that lasts all day. Best spray I have used in years. LOVE LOVE LOVE IT!!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wantwhatreallyworks
princeton, mn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Annoyed
6/20/2016

Customer review by JennJenn2330

3.0 stars 6/20/2016 by JennJenn2330
by JennJenn2330

Okay I love this hairspray, BUT there has been at least 3-4 cans that are pretty full that I can't use because the darn hairspray wont come out!! The aerosol can won't let it!! I upset to say I'm going to try something new because I'm getting really frustrated with dud cans of hairspray, waste of money!

JennJenn2330
Fair Oaks, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Usage frequency:Daily
Horrible Unbelievably Strong smell
6/13/2016

Customer review by Jacey

1.0 stars 6/13/2016 by Jacey
by Jacey

Wish I had checked these reviews before buying. Product holds, shines and combs out easily. However, the smell is the worst I've ever smelled in 45 years of experience. It is overwhelming and does not dissipate. Once it gets into your nose lookout!!! Do not recommend!!!

Jacey
Kalispell, MT, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Usage frequency:Daily
the worst hairspray
6/16/2016

Customer review by retha

1.0 stars 6/16/2016 by retha
by retha

don't get this hairspray. I literally sprayed and sprayed and sprayed this on my hair and within a minute, my hair was flat, zero hold. it does not hold at all! the worst hair spray.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
retha
Would recommend to a friend? No
Terrible!
5/26/2016

Customer review by LindaG

1.0 stars 5/26/2016 by LindaG
by LindaG

I used your Dove Extra Hold hairspray before and absolutely loved it but then it was discontinued and do not understand why. This new product STINKS and the hold is terrible! Please bring back what you all used before or at least one equivalent!

LindaG
TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Usage frequency:Daily
My new favorite
4/22/2016

Customer review by Sue City Sue

5.0 stars 4/22/2016 by Sue City Sue
by Sue City Sue

I am a new consumer of the Dove flexible hold hair spray and I disagree with so many of the reviews. I haven't had any trouble with the cans spraying properly and I love the scent. In fact, last week I hopped on an airplane, sat down in my seat and the gal sitting next to me commented on how nice I smelled. Needless to say, I am a fan of the scent and I like how it holds my hair just the right amount without being sticky. With so many negative comments, I fear they may change the formula back, so I plan to go buy a case or two before that happens. As far as hairspray, it's #1 in my book.

Sue City Sue
Newport Beach, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Usage frequency:Daily
Good Potential
5/19/2016

Customer review by January

3.0 stars 5/19/2016 by January
by January

This hairspray has great hold, shine and flexibility, but I can't use it. The scent is overpowering and unattractive. Please, please, please make this in an unscented formula.

January
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
poor
5/14/2013

Customer review by dove1234

1.0 stars 5/14/2013 by dove1234
by dove1234

I love all the Dove products. i had been using the dove product since i was 14 i am now 26 this year and still use the DOVE. with these new products for the hair although this is a newer product its okay to me. but i expected better. I think and for my opinion i love the old hair spray, and mousse back in maybe 2006 to 2010 i really love those. The new version i feel that every time i used these products on my hair its supper sticky, or when i blow dry my hair and add a bit of this it turns my hair into a snow flake. meaning it has all those white little particles that i hated into hair products. i loved the old ones and i wish they "DOVE" can bring it back, it never gave me any problems when i curl my hair or add a few hair spray to keep my hair the way i styled it. or even add volume after i had blow dry my hair it looks natural and does not leave my hair looking like i have dandruff. now i would not recommend any of these products to people i know because some of my problems with these new product is something they do not like as well. bring the old product back!! please,,,, its way BETTTERRR!!

dove1234
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:3 months
Usage frequency:Weekly
disheartening downgrade
5/16/2012

Customer review by Majesty1976

1.0 stars 5/16/2012 by Majesty1976
by Majesty1976

Yes Unilever, that's exactly what you've turned this once fabulous product into. As a long time wig wearer (both human and synthetic), I had come to depend on the flexibility and cleanliness which characterized this hairspray before the formula got changed to what it is now. I was able to apply it without the worry that it would flake or worse yet, make my wig look like disgustingly shiny straw. I recently had to throw out 1 of my new wigs as the buildup that formed on it was impossible to remove. I deeply regret that you changed this product as I felt good about buying from a company that evidently cares about the environment. I have switched brands (just like another reviewer stated) as I'm not willing to continue using a product that instead of improving the quality of my own hair or that of the wigs I wear, into locks that belong on a grease monkey. Jeers!

Majesty1976
New York, NY, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Usage frequency:Daily
Perfect
5/27/2016

Customer review by M5DMomma

5.0 stars 5/27/2016 by M5DMomma
by M5DMomma
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great product

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
M5DMomma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Subtle fragrance, excellent lift for fine hair,
4/14/2016

Customer review by klbr

5.0 stars 4/14/2016 by klbr
by klbr

Dove Style + Care Hairspray is a most excellent product! It provides lift and volume for extremely fragile, fine, and difficult hair without matting, clumping, or weighing down the hair. It is pleasant to the touch with a soft subtle fragrance. It is a quality product within an affordable and modest price range. I have been waiting decades for a product such as this! Thank you, Dove.

klbr
California, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Usage frequency:Daily
1-20 of 327 total reviews
1-20 of 327 reviews