Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 2.4out of 5 stars
2.4 out of 5 | 224 reviews
5 stars
61
4 stars
9
3 stars
14
2 stars
21
1 stars
119
Sort by: 
1-20 of 222 reviews
1-20 of 222 reviews
Great product if you can get it out of the can.
10/4/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have two daughters and all of us love Dove hairspray. I have been using it for several years and suggested to my girls that they try it. They loved it and have been using it ever since, it's been about a year now. After a few hundred cans of Dove all of a sudden I have stacked up over a dozen cans of almost full hairspray that I can't use. I can't get it out of the aerosol can. It works great for about a day or two then all of a sudden it won't spray anymore. We tried running it under water and sticking a pin the hole because we thought it was just clogged. Nothing will get these cans to spray again. At first I thought it was just a bad batch so I bought some more at a different location. Same thing happened! I was even foolish enough to buy more at a third location. No better luck. I love the product but unfortunately it's a waste of money if I can't get it on my hair. Something has changed and the product is now not even an option when I buy hairspray.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Non-Aerosol, holds & smells great!
4/6/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I love the liquid pump spray. It doesnt "dry" as hard as most sprays but holds just as well. It smells awesome ... my husband uses it all the time too.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
CAN I GIVE THIS LESS THAN 1 STAR?
10/3/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Sooo disappointed to find out I can no longer buy the old blue bottle formula of Dove hairspray, but that disappointment pales in comparison to the realization that THIS AWFUL PRODUCT is the replacement! Loved the old formula and bought it for many years. It left my hair with a soft hold that I could comb through, and my hair was not stiff or sticky. I assumed this would be similar with new packaging....WRONG! My hair is stiff, dry, AND sticky. UGH!! I hope Dove brings back the old formula, and soon. Meanwhile, I'll be searching for a suitable alternative. YOU would have to pay ME, and pay me a lot, to get me to use this stuff.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Will buy again
7/11/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Great flexible hold. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
REALLY terrible - bring back the old formula please
5/7/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This new Dove Extra Hold hairspray formula/scent is terrible. Overbearing, unpleasantly fruity scent, and the Extra Hold is SO incredibly sticky. I had to shampoo my hair 5 times in a row just to get the stuff out. And I mean a vigorous, scrubbing shampoo each time. This stuff can't be good for hair, it's like superglue. After I use this hairspray I have to wash my hands, because the spray makes everything so awfully sticky! Used to use the old formula daily (along with the Flexible Hold) but this partially-used can is going directly into the trash. Bring back the old formula and scent, please! I will not be purchasing Dove hairspray again, and I am one who used to buy four and five canisters at a time of the old formulas. A disappointment, and I am now looking for a new brand. (Also, I see someone from Dove is posting replies... please just return to something more closely resembling the old formula and especially the old scent.)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
GREAT VALUE.
1/9/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
THIS STUFF IS GREAT!!!. NOT HEAVY. SMELLS VERY CLEAN. Dont look like dew on a spider web in your hair. And dont look wet if i get carried away and use too much. But I usually just use three sprays. and that lasts all day. Best spray I have used in years. LOVE LOVE LOVE IT!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good hold but the scent made me queasy
3/22/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I tried this hairspray one morning and I left the house and I went to work. All morning long I wondered what I had come in contact with that smelled too heavy and sweet like a stale men's cologne that lingers on surfaces where a man was who wears too much cologne. Unfortunately it was the Dove hairspray that I used that smelled that way and by mid day I had a headache from it. It's too spicy smelling and sweet, and actually musty smelling for me. I don't know exactly what scent it is supposed to be but I know that I don't want people smelling this weird scent on me when I stand near them. I washed my hair, clothes, and pillow cases to get rid of the heavy scent. Too bad because it does hold a hairstyle very well if you can cope with the strange smell. Why does nearly every product made today have so much scent that it can be detected on someone from 30 feet away? That is not attractive or considerate.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
poor
5/14/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I love all the Dove products. i had been using the dove product since i was 14 i am now 26 this year and still use the DOVE. with these new products for the hair although this is a newer product its okay to me. but i expected better. I think and for my opinion i love the old hair spray, and mousse back in maybe 2006 to 2010 i really love those. The new version i feel that every time i used these products on my hair its supper sticky, or when i blow dry my hair and add a bit of this it turns my hair into a snow flake. meaning it has all those white little particles that i hated into hair products. i loved the old ones and i wish they "DOVE" can bring it back, it never gave me any problems when i curl my hair or add a few hair spray to keep my hair the way i styled it. or even add volume after i had blow dry my hair it looks natural and does not leave my hair looking like i have dandruff. now i would not recommend any of these products to people i know because some of my problems with these new product is something they do not like as well. bring the old product back!! please,,,, its way BETTTERRR!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Fabulous Hairspray
6/30/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is by far one of the best products I have ever used. It holds great, goes on evenly, and combs out easily. It has a very pleasant and light fragrance that really smells fresh -- not at all overwhelming and not perfum-ey. Can't imagine what the other reviews are talking about. I used this product two hours ago and really cannot smell it at this point. I've used it for three years now and it's "thumbs up" every time. I'll drive across town just to find it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
ooo lala
1/27/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is first time buying Dove hairspray. I bought the non-aerosol type and I absolutely love it. My hair doesn't have hairspray buildup like the others. Not super stiff and brushes out easily. My hair stays clean and no flakey stuff. I don't understand some of the other comments having that problem. I have found using aerosol spray does have a tendency for that kind of buildup. I've used it for about a week and a half and still love it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great
9/3/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Great product
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Hairspray
2/13/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This product is light with great all day hold. Great fragrance...I've been using it for over a year and will not switch ever again. I highly recommend this to anyone looking for a clean, extra hold hair product.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Stinky, Stinkier & the Stinkiest!!!
12/11/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I don'k know why these manufacturers keep doing this to us. Years ago, I used Suave and they did the same thing. I've used Dove hair spray ever since it came out and have been so pleased with it, I recommended it to everyone. Now I've warned everyone about the disgusting smell of their "NEW" spray. The number is on the bottle. I use a rather expensive perfume and the last thing I want to smell like is the rotten stink of this hair spray. I called Unilever yesterday and the man I talked to acted like no one had ever complained. CALL THEM!!! The phone number is on the bottle. I just want the old spray back. Maybe if enough of us call they'll change it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Fragrance has changed and not pleasant
6/13/2014
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have bought 3 can of this hairspray. The first can, the fragrance was really nice but the second can smelled like they put men's fragrance in the wrong can. Since I thought it was a manufacturing error I bought another can and it still is not pleasant for a woman. I like the product otherwise but can't get past the smell. I told my mother this was the product I was using and she bought it but after one use she went back to store to get a different product because of the fragrance. I had not told her the change that I had noticed. I will not be buying this product again. If there was a change in the manufacturing process you should change it back. If this was an error you should know that it is costing you sales.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
This hairspray is awesome!
11/21/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I love this hairspray. I wear my hair short and piecey with a lot of volume. My hair is fine, straight and very unmanageable. This hairspray holds my hairstyle through out the day without making it stiff. With other hairsprays I had to use a ton making my hair like cotton candy. This hairspray is the best I have ever used. It holds my hairstyle without using half the bottle. I love the fragrance and have looked a long time for a hairspray that smelt good. I have only been using it for about 6 months or so and was disappointed when shopping the other day only to find Walmart did not restock it in the store. Now I will have to see where else to buy it. Please bring this item back! It is the best!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Salon Pas
1/26/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Wouldn't be without it. I just wish I could reply to all products at once.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Disappointing
4/10/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I really like Dove products but this hairspray is not what I was expecting. It does have an overwhelming smell but the packaging is what sealed the deal for me. I bought this in the pump bottle first, it just quit working after about two weeks. Wouldn't do anything. Tried running warm water over the spray nozzle, still nothing. So I threw it away with well over half the product still in it. Well, I bought the aerosol version last week and today it has malfunctioned. wouldn't spray, so I ran warm water over the nozzle and it still wouldn't spray. After the third try it has now started squirting out from under the nozzle, making a real mess. that was the last chance. Really, really disappointed.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
My new go to hairspray
4/21/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Love this hairspray! everything it says on the label, it does, I DON'T get helmet head AT ALL which is why I'm loving this product, the smell is like a very light, clean shampoo smell and it holds all day and looks natural, it's not wet, weighed down, sticky or crunchy like other brands I've tried, just soft and natural. I like how it sprays out of the can - comes out strong but sprays a very fine, super fast drying mist, also it seems to give my hair luminosity (like the can says). I've never had a hairspray hold this well and look so natural and be brushable without snags and breakage. I'm really excited and happy I bought this product so much I just had to come on here and say so.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Favorite hair spray.
1/11/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Favorite hair spray. Good hold not stiff or sticky.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Won't spray!
8/26/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I absolutely love the Dove Hairspray... If I could get it out of the can! The first few cans I purchased were fine, but over the last few months they have all been awful! A brand new bottle will spray for about 5 seconds then start oozing out from under the cap. It's as if there is plastic in the nozzle not allowing the spray to continue. Soaking it in warm water doesn't help. I have also bought bottles from various locations hoping Dove had made a running change in the tooling and I would find a fixed bottle somewhere! Come on Dove... fix the tooling on your nozzle!!!! PS: My bottles are not old. With my curly hair I use on average a can of hairspray a week.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184640673, DC-prod-dfw3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-