Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 251 reviews | 1.7 out of 5

1.5 stars

251 reviews | 1.7 out of 5

1.5 stars

251 reviews | 1.7 out of 5

19%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
32
4 stars
9
3 stars
7
2 stars
18
1 stars
185
1-20 of 251 total reviews
19%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 251 total reviews
1-20 of 251 reviews
Finally!
10/28/2016

Customer review by Hollysue24

5.0 stars 10/28/2016 by Hollysue24
by Hollysue24

I have HATED hair spray for years! It has always smelled like old fashioned fly spray. It didn't matter what brand I bought and believe me I've bought them all! Yesterday I bought this one thinking it would be another one to make me gag. This morning I was so delighted with the fragrance! Very nice smell and not over powering either. FINALLY a great product! Thank you!

Hollysue24
Hiawatha, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage frequency:Daily
Gender:Female
Smells great, long lasting, frizz free hold
7/16/2012

Customer review by Jojolina228

5.0 stars 7/16/2012 by Jojolina228
by Jojolina228

After being a loyal Dove conditioner and Dove soap customer I decided to give this spray a try since the spray I used in the past was discontinued (another brand). I must say, I fell in love. This is definitely my new go-to whenever I need frizz-free all-day hold that smells fresh and clean. The smell is NOT overwhelming at all to me and I suffer from migraines. It is nice, fresh, and a little bit soft and powdery like all Dove products. The formula is not as "flexible" as it advertises but it gives you all-day hold which withstands the horrible NYC summer humidity. It rinses off fairly easily in the shower if you properly wash your hair. Hair might get a little bit dried out (as with most hairsprays) but Dove conditioner does an excellent job at replenishing any lost moisture. I highly recommend this to anyone with thicker, oily hair as it looks and feels very fresh, straight-out-of-the-shower, doesn't weigh hair down, and it lasts for as long as you are out and about. Will most certainly purchase this again and again! Thank you Dove for making yet another wonderful product!!

Jojolina228
New York, NY, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage frequency:Weekly
Length of ownership:3 months
Gender:Female
Worst Smell Ever
1/15/2013

Customer review by Pandizz

1.0 stars 1/15/2013 by Pandizz
by Pandizz

The old hairspray (blue and silver can) was AMAZING! Did a fantastic job and smelled so unbelievably good, it was the only hairspray I would use. But this new formula? Beyond gross. I bought it on Saturday at noon and returned it to the store at 1:30 pm. The smell was so disgusting just thinking about it now makes me feel queasy. I used it right before lunch with friend and spent the whole hour and a half wondering what the awful smell was. I quickly realized it was my hair! It was humiliating and I couldn't wait to get home to rinse this junk out. All of the shampoos and body washes smell and work great, but these new Style + Care products are a complete failure. Please please please bring back the old formula!! I have just run out of my last can, and had I known this new, gross hairspray was going to take over, I would have stocked up. Listen to your customers!! We want the old stuff!

Pandizz
CT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Whyy did you change a good thing?!
9/20/2012

Customer review by Doris

1.0 stars 9/20/2012 by Doris
by Doris

I was very loyal to the old Dove Flexible Hold Hairspray in the blue bottle--absolutely loved the smell and bought bottle after bottle. I couldn't find the blue bottle last time I went to the store so I grabbed this one without thinking much of it. After spraying it on my hair, I was horrified. The new smell is absolutely horrendous. It smells like cheap perfume and baby wipes. It's nauseating. I came on the website, and couldn't find the old blue bottle anywhere. Dove, if you're going to make a new line of products, that's all well and good, but please don't get rid of the well-loved originals. I haven't been able to find any of your hair products with the old scent I loved so much. I will most definitely NOT be repurchasing this hairspray and really hope you'll bring the old one back.

Doris
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage frequency:Daily
Length of ownership:1 week
Hate it!!
5/9/2012

Customer review by Diasppointed

1.0 stars 5/9/2012 by Diasppointed
by Diasppointed

I was a loyal user for years but now with the new change comes a lost loyal customer. I have spent a lot of money over the years with your company and now that you have decided to change someone else will be getting my money. The smell of the new Flexible Hold has to be the worst I have ever smelled. It is amazing that when you created this new scent that people actually gave you their approval, it's horrible and smells like something my grandmother wore as a perfume. Also, why in the world would you make all the packaging the same color and style? Not your finest moment in my mind, people like ease and you have created a nightmare. Change back to old formula or expect more lost customers. I hate to say it but change is never a good thing.

Diasppointed
Ohio, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage frequency:Daily
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Gender:Female
Nothing But Trouble!
8/11/2012

Customer review by Troubled

1.0 stars 8/11/2012 by Troubled
by Troubled

I have been a long time Dove Flexible Hold Hairspray customer. I was so happy with the product that I even recommended it to my family and friends. Not anymore... I bought the new formula, and not long after I started using it, the can stopped spraying. I cleaned out the pink top (thinking it was clogged), but that didn't help. I assumed it was just a "bad" can, so I bought another one. It worked at first, but then quit spraying too. My mother-in-law wasn't happy with the new formula, so she gave me her can. I couldn't be it...it did the same thing! It worked at first and then stopped spraying. Three bad cans in a row???? What a waste of hairspray AND money! This new product has been nothing but trouble for me, and I won't buy it again!

Troubled
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage frequency:Daily
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Gender:Female
Taste the smell!
6/24/2016

Customer review by Ritz

1.0 stars 6/24/2016 by Ritz
by Ritz

I Love Dove products, and I USED to use this hairspray exclusively, but since they changed the scent..........I literally feel like it's in my mouth, I taste it, breathe it, and I can't stand how it smells! So sad to give up my favorite hairspray because they chose to way over perfume it :-(

Ritz
Idaho, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
What did you do with this hairspray?!? It's horrible!
2/13/2013

Customer review by Disgusted

1.0 stars 2/13/2013 by Disgusted
by Disgusted

Just like SO many other reviewers, I've been a loyal Dove customer for years and years, and loved the previous flexible hold hairspray. What happened?? What on earth were you thinking? This new hairspray is horrible! The smell is nauseatingly strong and sickeningly sugary! I can't escape from it all day! Is this a hairspray or a perfume? The job of this product is to fix hair, not to choose my perfume for me and drown anything else I might be wearing! Also, the hold is much weaker, the spray is sticky, and where it lands on skin it forms a solid immovable crust. This is the worst product I've ever bought. I'm jumping ship and switching brands. Seems like you've lost a LOT of customers. You should consider bringing the old product back!

Disgusted
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
New smell ruins the good product.
12/4/2012

Customer review by SrLoJa

3.0 stars 12/4/2012 by SrLoJa
by SrLoJa

I found the old flexible hold hairspray by Dove right before they switched to this new pink one. I loved it. It held my hair exactly how I wanted it to and it retained an ability for me to run my fingers through it without having a helmet. Now, the new packaging is INCREDIBLY pink and feminine, which makes me feel like cashier is gonna raise an eyebrow at me (I'm a man who already isn't terribly masculine) and the smell doesn't wear off for like two hours and I've had more than a couple people ask if I use candy-scented shampoo because of it. It's the ONLY stuff that I've found that makes my hair LOOK and FEEL the way I like, though. The old stuff was PERFECT! Unisex, and effective. The new stuff... well... my pictures look nice.

SrLoJa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage frequency:Daily
Length of ownership:6 months
Gender:Male
What where "you" thinking Dove?
5/2/2012

Customer review by YouMadeMomMad

1.0 stars 5/2/2012 by YouMadeMomMad
by YouMadeMomMad

Used Dove Flexible Hold hairspray & Dove Damage Theraphy Flexible Hold for years. I was happy & content. Even other brands coupons could not make me stray from DOVE. Even my husband used a very light & quick spray of Dove to keep his hair from falling into his face. I never imagined getting so upset over hairsprays until you replaced the hairsprays we used with this NEW Style & Care. If it's flexible, then it's TOO flexible. My bangs fly all over the place... You produced a whole bunch of cans that were DEFECTIVE. The spray nozzle did not work which made for an extra trip to Walmart to exchange that can for another. There customer service said they had many cans come back. Please bring back the other flexible hairsprays.

YouMadeMomMad
Lexington, KY, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage frequency:Daily
Length of ownership:1 month
Gender:Female
Good Product - Poor Packaging
7/13/2012

Customer review by n042888

3.0 stars 7/13/2012 by n042888
by n042888

I recently bought this hairspray and I loved how it made my hair feel, not to crunchy or stiff. However, about halfway through the bottle, the aerosol spray stopped working altogether. I am so disappointed because there is a significant amount of hairspray left in the bottle and for some reason the aerosol sprayer on the top just bubbles up and all of the hairspray leaks out of the sides. I don't want to buy another one risking that the same thing will happen again, even though I really like the product. It just seems like a waste of money at this point because the aerosol can just stopped working. I'm not sure if I should try it again and potentially waste the money (if the bottle doesn't work)?

n042888
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage frequency:Daily
Length of ownership:1 month
Gender:Female
It may be new, but it's not improved.
5/21/2012

Customer review by KrankyCrow

1.0 stars 5/21/2012 by KrankyCrow
by KrankyCrow

I've been a loyal blue Dove hairspray user and felt a little panicked when I couldn't find it anywhere. I have fine hair and a hard to hold signature style. The blue can never let me down (pun intended), and unlike many other hairsprays, didn't dry my hair or dull my color. This "new and improved" Dove spray not only dries and dulls my hair, it doesn't hold. My hair feels like straw and falls in odd shapes that aren't easily fixable. My red color is flat and the intensity drained quicker than usual--how Dove thinks this products helps with shine is beyond me. I'm joining in with the other voices--bring the blue back! Until then, you've lost my haircare business, and I use a lot of it.

KrankyCrow
Pennsylvania, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage frequency:Daily
Length of ownership:1 month
Gender:Female
Disappointed
4/26/2016

Customer review by Breve

1.0 stars 4/26/2016 by Breve
by Breve

I have enjoyed Dove products for years, everything from bath soap, to Deodorant, to shampoo & conditioner. But this hairspray was a huge disappointment. It says Super hold, but I find that it's no the case for me. I have to spray, spray & spray again, to get just a slight amount of hold. It seems like a waste of money. I will continue to use Dove products, but never again will I buy this hairspray.

Breve
NM, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage frequency:Daily
Gender:Female
So bad, after being faithful to Dove for years
8/9/2012

Customer review by OldFaithful

1.0 stars 8/9/2012 by OldFaithful
by OldFaithful

I used the Dove aerosol flexible hold and extra hold for years. Had one at home, one in my gym locker, one in my skating locker, and one in my work drawer. I loved them. When I stopped seeing them in the stores, I bought them online. I was excited when I saw the pink one on the shelves. However, after years of being faithful to Dove, I will have to stop using the hairspray. This new version just doesn't work. You have to spray at least five times the amount for it to hold anything, and even then it barely works. And the smell is this overpowering bad baby powder smell, which gets worse because you have to use so much hairspray. Dove, please bring back the old and good product!!

OldFaithful
New York, NY, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage frequency:Monthly
Length of ownership:1 month
Gender:Female
Why did you change the Flexible Hold Hair Spray?
4/24/2012

Customer review by Diane

1.0 stars 4/24/2012 by Diane
by Diane

I am very disappointed in this product! I will be returning it. Please bring back the old product. I have used it for years and loved it. It didn't damage my hair. The price was good and the product was great! It was the only hair spray that didn't make my hair stiff, it did what the title said. It didn't feel like hair spray in my hair but held my hair like it was intended.My hair still felt like hair, not straw. It also didn't smell, this product has a terrible smell! In my opinion, hair spray shouldn't smell anyway. I don't think it is meant to double as purfume. I don't understand why you would change a product that your customers seem to love. Very disappointed.....

Diane
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage frequency:Daily
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Gender:Female
Chemical Warfare
11/18/2014

Customer review by Hammy

1.0 stars 11/18/2014 by Hammy
by Hammy

Does anyone else remember the old version of this hairspray...the one with the blue writing? That stuff was the magical genie that could make all of my voluminous hair wishes come true. Well, looks like the genie got the old heave-ho, and the big-wigs at Dove decided cast Beelzebub as the lead role in this "new and improved" formula. Evidently, someone must be doing a few too many sniff-tests on their own product to realize that this is the most putrid, rank, noxious, migraine-inducing, foul-smelling, sticky-mess, weapon of mass destruction (disguised as a hair care product) to ever hit the drugstore shelves. Bombs-away, fellas! This one is a complete flop!

Hammy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Smells awful!
5/30/2016

Customer review by belle5876

4.0 stars 5/30/2016 by belle5876
by belle5876

I recently bought this product and used it for the first time today. I cannot stand the scent.

belle5876
Alabama, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage frequency:Daily
Gender:Female
Not sure what happened
4/5/2016

Customer review by Rachael1231

3.0 stars 4/5/2016 by Rachael1231
by Rachael1231

I have bought this product time and time again and I am in love with it! Not sure if anything changed but the most recent can I bought feels like it does nothing to my hair. There is no hold and even when I spray it on my hand it isn't sticky. Could be a defective bottle as it feels like the spray isn't coming out very well but I was disappointed that I can't really use this brand new can.

Rachael1231
Rhode Island, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage frequency:Weekly
Gender:Female
Love the flexibility!!
5/1/2016

Customer review by Jojo45

4.0 stars 5/1/2016 by Jojo45
by Jojo45

I love this hairspray because it doesn't make your hair stiff and it holds the style. I have thinning, fine and straight hair, all the things that make styling difficult. It hasn't damaged my hair and even after combing, it holds my style. I just wish it wasn't so hard to find!!

Jojo45
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage frequency:Daily
Gender:Female
Bring back original flexible hold!!!
7/25/2012

Customer review by Alayne

1.0 stars 7/25/2012 by Alayne
by Alayne

I have been a loyal Dove customer for over 5 years, faithfully using Dove mousse and hairspray. I picked up a bottle of this after my stash ran out, thinking that just the packaging was revamped. Boy, was I wrong. This product is NOTHING like the old flexible hold hairspray. I am thoroughly dissapointed. The hold is awful, and the smell is even worse. I used to get regular compliments on the style and smell of my hair and would always tell people it was the Dove hairspray. I do NOT recommend this new product. I think that Dove made a big mistake discontiuing their old product line. And now, sadly, I'm left to find myself new styling products.... :-(

Alayne
Reading, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage frequency:Daily
Length of ownership:1 week
Gender:Female
1-20 of 251 total reviews
1-20 of 251 reviews