Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 30 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

30 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

30 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

53%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
13
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 stars
11
1-20 of 30 total reviews
53%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 30 total reviews
1-20 of 30 reviews
THIS HAIRSPRAY STINKS IN MORE WAYS THAN ONE!
7/19/2012

Customer review by homepro55

1.0 stars 7/19/2012 by homepro55
by homepro55

FOR SOME REASON DOVE CHANGED THEIR OLD FORMULA FLEXIBLE HAIRSPRAY (IN THE BLUE CAN) TO THIS NIGHTMARE. THIS HAIRSPRAY LITERALLY STINKS! AWFUL, AWFUL SICKENING ODOR AND PUTS A FILM ON MY CONTACT LENSES. ON TOP OF THAT YOU CAN LITERALLY TASTE IT IN YOUR MOUTH AFTER YOU SPRAY YOUR HAIR. WHAT GENIUS THOUGHT THIS ONE UP? BRING BACK THE OLD FORMULA -- IF IT AIN'T BROKE -- DON'T TRY TO FIX IT! CHECK OUT ALL THE ONE STAR REVIEWS ALONG WITH THE COMPLAINTS ON AMAZON, DRUGSTORE.COM, ETC. I HAVE NOT SEEN ONE POSITIVE REVIEW ON THIS NEW FORMULA HAIRSPRAY. I CALLED DOVE CUSTOMER SERVICE ABOUT THIS PRODUCT AND THEY SAID THEY HAVE BEEN GETTING RAVE REVIEWS ON THIS HAIRSPRAY -- (I DON'T BELIEVE IT). THEIR CUSTOMER SERVICE IS VERY NICE AND THEY REFUNDED MY MONEY AND ALSO SENT ME FREE PRODUCT COUPONS, ETC. PLEASE LADIES CALL DOVE CUSTOMER SERVICE AND PLACE YOUR COMPLAINTS. THERE IS POWER IN NUMBERS!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
homepro55
IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Please bring back the old "BLUE" bottle
9/4/2012

Customer review by true2reviewshelp

1.0 stars 9/4/2012 by true2reviewshelp
by true2reviewshelp

I tried all brands of hair spray and finally found the Dove (In the white and BLUE can) several years ago. It was not sticky, it did not dry out my hair and kept things together with a natural look. Was there something in the product you discovered was not safe to use? This new version is AWFUL!!! It leaves my hair feeling and looking stiff. And it dries it out! Zero added shine. Makes more sense to put a new product out and see if your customers like it before removing the old. You could have grabbed some new clients with the new version as well as kept your current ones. Now you are loosing all your old loyal customers with few purchasing the new version. Poor business decision, such a shame. Now off hunting for a new favorite. Will come back if the "old version" is released.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
true2reviewshelp
Boca Raton FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Every day
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
HORRIBLE product
8/21/2012

Customer review by precious1997

1.0 stars 8/21/2012 by precious1997
by precious1997

For some reason, Dove decided to change their hairspray formula. WHY??? The old was perfect. I have used Dove for years, and was always satisfied. NOT ANYMORE. A few weeks ago, I bought a can like normal. When I used it, a horrible smell came out. It was so bad, that I had a headache for several hours. I even had to get the bath towel that I had used earlier and rub it all over my head to get rid of the stink. I thought it was a fluke, so a few days later, I bought another can. This smell wasn't as strong, but it was still HORRIBLE. It smelled like an old lady. I don't want to smell like an old lady. And because the smell is so bad, I can't use my normal amount. And since I can't use the normal amount, my hair is constantly in my face. I will be buying groceries this week and I WILL NOT buy another can of this hairspray.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
precious1997
Baton Rouge, LA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
7/5/2012

Customer review by jmnapa

1.0 stars 7/5/2012 by jmnapa
by jmnapa

What happened to the old formula? I have never understood why companies change their product, when the old one was great. Besides leaving my hair sticky and gummy, the smell is horrible. I thought I would get used it, but no way! It has a very sweet smell and is overwhelming. Bring back the blue can in flexible hold.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jmnapa
Napa, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Never
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Age:65 or older
dove hair spray.
2/3/2017

Customer review by Sally

2.0 stars 2/3/2017 by Sally
by Sally
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Smell nice but no holding strength not worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sally
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Dove Hair spray
2/1/2017

Customer review by Tbpaige

5.0 stars 2/1/2017 by Tbpaige
by Tbpaige
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have very sensitive skin and can use this product with no problems.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tbpaige
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Tired of wasting my money
2/18/2014

Customer review by GGoutdoors

1.0 stars 2/18/2014 by GGoutdoors
by GGoutdoors

For at least the past 6 months, I have thrown out every other can or so of this Dove Hair Spray. It spits out stuff that doesn't hold and after that, the spray top and tube just don't work anymore. I can use a toothpick to clean it and a toothbrush to scrub the spray cap and it doesn't get better. I will no longer waste my money on this product but will find one that stinks and is sticky instead. Dove, I will miss you as I have been with you for so very long.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GGoutdoors
Columbia, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Every day
Gender:Female
Age:65 or older
Disappointed
7/27/2016

Customer review by Nikki

1.0 stars 7/27/2016 by Nikki
by Nikki
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After 2-3 uses, the spray button didn't work...I tried to contact the company bit the site was not operational.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nikki
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I will not repurchase
9/14/2015

Customer review by Great

2.0 stars 9/14/2015 by Great
by Great

It doesn't smell good and doesn't hold very well.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Great
Would recommend to a friend? No
Finally!
10/28/2016

Customer review by Hollysue24

5.0 stars 10/28/2016 by Hollysue24
by Hollysue24

I have HATED hair spray for years! It has always smelled like old fashioned fly spray. It didn't matter what brand I bought and believe me I've bought them all! Yesterday I bought this one thinking it would be another one to make me gag. This morning I was so delighted with the fragrance! Very nice smell and not over powering either. FINALLY a great product! Thank you!

Hollysue24
Hiawatha, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Usage frequency:Daily
Does not hold at all
9/7/2015

Customer review by Truth

1.0 stars 9/7/2015 by Truth
by Truth

Did not hold at all

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Truth
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good formula
10/10/2016

Customer review by Grimalkin

5.0 stars 10/10/2016 by Grimalkin
by Grimalkin
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

One of the few less stiff hairsprays left.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Grimalkin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wonderful product
8/18/2016

Customer review by cmhenn

5.0 stars 8/18/2016 by cmhenn
by cmhenn
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Holds my baby fine hair without extra weight or stickiness!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cmhenn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Dove, hairspray
7/19/2016

Customer review by Sandy

5.0 stars 7/19/2016 by Sandy
by Sandy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Hard to find as it runs out of stock and it will be so easy to order on line. I have used this for years. Personal favorite but individuals should judge for themselves.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sandy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Taste the smell!
6/24/2016

Customer review by Ritz

1.0 stars 6/24/2016 by Ritz
by Ritz

I Love Dove products, and I USED to use this hairspray exclusively, but since they changed the scent..........I literally feel like it's in my mouth, I taste it, breathe it, and I can't stand how it smells! So sad to give up my favorite hairspray because they chose to way over perfume it :-(

Ritz
Idaho, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Disappointed
4/26/2016

Customer review by Breve

1.0 stars 4/26/2016 by Breve
by Breve

I have enjoyed Dove products for years, everything from bath soap, to Deodorant, to shampoo & conditioner. But this hairspray was a huge disappointment. It says Super hold, but I find that it's no the case for me. I have to spray, spray & spray again, to get just a slight amount of hold. It seems like a waste of money. I will continue to use Dove products, but never again will I buy this hairspray.

Breve
NM, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Usage frequency:Daily
Not sure what happened
4/5/2016

Customer review by Rachael1231

3.0 stars 4/5/2016 by Rachael1231
by Rachael1231

I have bought this product time and time again and I am in love with it! Not sure if anything changed but the most recent can I bought feels like it does nothing to my hair. There is no hold and even when I spray it on my hand it isn't sticky. Could be a defective bottle as it feels like the spray isn't coming out very well but I was disappointed that I can't really use this brand new can.

Rachael1231
Rhode Island, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Usage frequency:Weekly
Great hairspray!
5/3/2016

Customer review by Sally

5.0 stars 5/3/2016 by Sally
by Sally

I've been using this product for a couple of years and am very satisfied with the hold. I've tried other brands but haven't been as satisfied and I always go back to Dove. Now I stick with my Dove.....I know it works.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sally
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good hold; bad scent
5/12/2016

Customer review by kcp1

2.0 stars 5/12/2016 by kcp1
by kcp1

I liked the flexible hold but the scent was awful and I could not handle it so in the trash it went. I would recommend it for the hold but would inform them about the strange scent.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kcp1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love the flexibility!!
5/1/2016

Customer review by Jojo45

4.0 stars 5/1/2016 by Jojo45
by Jojo45

I love this hairspray because it doesn't make your hair stiff and it holds the style. I have thinning, fine and straight hair, all the things that make styling difficult. It hasn't damaged my hair and even after combing, it holds my style. I just wish it wasn't so hard to find!!

Jojo45
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Usage frequency:Daily
1-20 of 30 total reviews
1-20 of 30 reviews