Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 227 reviews | 1.6 out of 5

1.5 stars

227 reviews | 1.6 out of 5

1.5 stars

227 reviews | 1.6 out of 5

14%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
20
4 stars
7
3 stars
6
2 stars
15
1 stars
179
1-20 of 227 total reviews
14%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 227 total reviews
1-20 of 227 reviews
Please bring back the old "BLUE" bottle
9/4/2012

Customer review by true2reviewshelp

1.0 stars 9/4/2012 by true2reviewshelp
by true2reviewshelp

I tried all brands of hair spray and finally found the Dove (In the white and BLUE can) several years ago. It was not sticky, it did not dry out my hair and kept things together with a natural look. Was there something in the product you discovered was not safe to use? This new version is AWFUL!!! It leaves my hair feeling and looking stiff. And it dries it out! Zero added shine. Makes more sense to put a new product out and see if your customers like it before removing the old. You could have grabbed some new clients with the new version as well as kept your current ones. Now you are loosing all your old loyal customers with few purchasing the new version. Poor business decision, such a shame. Now off hunting for a new favorite. Will come back if the "old version" is released.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
true2reviewshelp
Boca Raton FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Tired of wasting my money
2/18/2014

Customer review by GGoutdoors

1.0 stars 2/18/2014 by GGoutdoors
by GGoutdoors

For at least the past 6 months, I have thrown out every other can or so of this Dove Hair Spray. It spits out stuff that doesn't hold and after that, the spray top and tube just don't work anymore. I can use a toothpick to clean it and a toothbrush to scrub the spray cap and it doesn't get better. I will no longer waste my money on this product but will find one that stinks and is sticky instead. Dove, I will miss you as I have been with you for so very long.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GGoutdoors
Columbia, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
7/5/2012

Customer review by jmnapa

1.0 stars 7/5/2012 by jmnapa
by jmnapa

What happened to the old formula? I have never understood why companies change their product, when the old one was great. Besides leaving my hair sticky and gummy, the smell is horrible. I thought I would get used it, but no way! It has a very sweet smell and is overwhelming. Bring back the blue can in flexible hold.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jmnapa
Napa, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
THIS HAIRSPRAY STINKS IN MORE WAYS THAN ONE!
7/19/2012

Customer review by homepro55

1.0 stars 7/19/2012 by homepro55
by homepro55

FOR SOME REASON DOVE CHANGED THEIR OLD FORMULA FLEXIBLE HAIRSPRAY (IN THE BLUE CAN) TO THIS NIGHTMARE. THIS HAIRSPRAY LITERALLY STINKS! AWFUL, AWFUL SICKENING ODOR AND PUTS A FILM ON MY CONTACT LENSES. ON TOP OF THAT YOU CAN LITERALLY TASTE IT IN YOUR MOUTH AFTER YOU SPRAY YOUR HAIR. WHAT GENIUS THOUGHT THIS ONE UP? BRING BACK THE OLD FORMULA -- IF IT AIN'T BROKE -- DON'T TRY TO FIX IT! CHECK OUT ALL THE ONE STAR REVIEWS ALONG WITH THE COMPLAINTS ON AMAZON, DRUGSTORE.COM, ETC. I HAVE NOT SEEN ONE POSITIVE REVIEW ON THIS NEW FORMULA HAIRSPRAY. I CALLED DOVE CUSTOMER SERVICE ABOUT THIS PRODUCT AND THEY SAID THEY HAVE BEEN GETTING RAVE REVIEWS ON THIS HAIRSPRAY -- (I DON'T BELIEVE IT). THEIR CUSTOMER SERVICE IS VERY NICE AND THEY REFUNDED MY MONEY AND ALSO SENT ME FREE PRODUCT COUPONS, ETC. PLEASE LADIES CALL DOVE CUSTOMER SERVICE AND PLACE YOUR COMPLAINTS. THERE IS POWER IN NUMBERS!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
homepro55
IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
HORRIBLE product
8/21/2012

Customer review by precious1997

1.0 stars 8/21/2012 by precious1997
by precious1997

For some reason, Dove decided to change their hairspray formula. WHY??? The old was perfect. I have used Dove for years, and was always satisfied. NOT ANYMORE. A few weeks ago, I bought a can like normal. When I used it, a horrible smell came out. It was so bad, that I had a headache for several hours. I even had to get the bath towel that I had used earlier and rub it all over my head to get rid of the stink. I thought it was a fluke, so a few days later, I bought another can. This smell wasn't as strong, but it was still HORRIBLE. It smelled like an old lady. I don't want to smell like an old lady. And because the smell is so bad, I can't use my normal amount. And since I can't use the normal amount, my hair is constantly in my face. I will be buying groceries this week and I WILL NOT buy another can of this hairspray.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
precious1997
Baton Rouge, LA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
All day hold for curly hair.
5/6/2012

Customer review by LaViolet

5.0 stars 5/6/2012 by LaViolet
by LaViolet

I have read negative reviews about this product so I was reluctant to use it. I found that it holds my curls all day long and does not leave them sticky or crunchy. It will not give you helmet head. It does not have a hairspray odor and will not leave any weird residue on your hair. I will be purchasing this product again.

LaViolet
Mt Holly, NC, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Usage frequency:Daily
Length of ownership:1 week
Love the new formulation!
5/12/2012

Customer review by Kari

5.0 stars 5/12/2012 by Kari
by Kari

I have been a loyal Dove Hairspray user for years. I saw the new packaging but didn't realize the product had changed until I used it & WOW! do I LOVE it! Much softer on my hair, flexible and the scent is lovely! I really appreciate the new anti-clog spray nozzle as well. Good job DOVE! Looking forward to trying more products.

Kari
Cobb, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Usage frequency:Daily
Length of ownership:3 months
Excellent for Fine Hair
6/5/2012

Customer review by Iyiyi

5.0 stars 6/5/2012 by Iyiyi
by Iyiyi

I have at least 4 cans of hair spray for my fine and thinning hair. They all give me helmet head and change my color because of the alcohol. I decided to try Dove Style&Care flex hold hair spray mostly because the price was great. I am thrilled. My hair holds all day and is soft to the touch. I have been using for 2 weeks and no build up either. I love their thermal styling protection product, too.

Iyiyi
Chicago, IL, USA
Usage frequency:Daily
Length of ownership:1 month
I love this product!
7/23/2012

Customer review by Easytostylehair

5.0 stars 7/23/2012 by Easytostylehair
by Easytostylehair

My hair is extremely fine and most hairsprays "slip off" my hair or they are sticky and leave your hair like a board. This product doesn't smell and last. Thumbs up Dove!!!

Easytostylehair
Fort Worth, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage frequency:Daily
Gender:Female
Love the flexible hairspray.
7/31/2012

Customer review by RED1

5.0 stars 7/31/2012 by RED1
by RED1

The flexible hairspray allows you to style and hold without stiffness, and then finish with the extra hold spray, but I have been unable to find this product for the past month.

RED1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage frequency:Daily
Length of ownership:6 months
The best!
8/14/2012

Customer review by Micol

5.0 stars 8/14/2012 by Micol
by Micol

I love this product , it is manageable and holds my fine hair very well. Please do not discontinue it

Micol
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Usage frequency:Daily
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Want old scent back!
8/28/2012

Customer review by JayJay

5.0 stars 8/28/2012 by JayJay
by JayJay

I did love this hairspray until the scent was changed. Please change the scent back to the light pleasant scent. The new musky scent is to strong and nauseating. I will be returning the 3 cans of spray I have on hand for a refund and have to find another product with a more pleasant scent. Please Please change back to the scent introduced when the new pink can was introduced. I also use Dove Shampoo and Conditioner and love them. Thank You!

JayJay
Bay Minette, AL 36507, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Usage frequency:Daily
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Smells great, long lasting, frizz free hold
7/16/2012

Customer review by Jojolina228

5.0 stars 7/16/2012 by Jojolina228
by Jojolina228

After being a loyal Dove conditioner and Dove soap customer I decided to give this spray a try since the spray I used in the past was discontinued (another brand). I must say, I fell in love. This is definitely my new go-to whenever I need frizz-free all-day hold that smells fresh and clean. The smell is NOT overwhelming at all to me and I suffer from migraines. It is nice, fresh, and a little bit soft and powdery like all Dove products. The formula is not as "flexible" as it advertises but it gives you all-day hold which withstands the horrible NYC summer humidity. It rinses off fairly easily in the shower if you properly wash your hair. Hair might get a little bit dried out (as with most hairsprays) but Dove conditioner does an excellent job at replenishing any lost moisture. I highly recommend this to anyone with thicker, oily hair as it looks and feels very fresh, straight-out-of-the-shower, doesn't weigh hair down, and it lasts for as long as you are out and about. Will most certainly purchase this again and again! Thank you Dove for making yet another wonderful product!!

Jojolina228
New York, NY, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Usage frequency:Weekly
Length of ownership:3 months
LOVE the NEW formula!!!!!
1/10/2013

Customer review by jpmargt

5.0 stars 1/10/2013 by jpmargt
by jpmargt

LOVE the NEW formula!!!! I have the OLD can and hate it; threw it out! The stuff was awful and did not smell well at all either. The new formula is exactly what I have been looking for. The hold is perfect for my hair type!!!! I am surprised to hear about all the remarks of disappointment in the new formula; I love it and it seems to be popular because I have a hard time finding it in stock in some stores. I buy a few bottles at a time. Please do NOT change the formula; the smell, hold and price all are PERFECT!!!!!!! Thank you!!!!!!!

jpmargt
Newark, DE, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Usage frequency:Daily
Length of ownership:6 months
New Smell Is Too Strong
11/8/2012

Customer review by hairspray123

5.0 stars 11/8/2012 by hairspray123
by hairspray123

Dear Dove, I love your products! But I just bought this new hairspray and was super bummed about the smell. This new smell is too strong and more masculine than feminine. Please bring back the old, light and fun smell. Unfortunately, now I have to buy a new bottle from another brand because the smell is too strong and unflattering. I really hope the old scent is back on the markets soon. Really, please! Thank you.

hairspray123
san francisco, california
Gender:Female
Usage frequency:Daily
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
LOVE THIS HAIRSPRAY! DON'T EVER CHANGE FORMULA OR SMELL OR LABEL. IT' S GREAT FOR NATURAL CURLEY HAIR.
6/7/2013

Customer review by LIPP

5.0 stars 6/7/2013 by LIPP
by LIPP

I'LL BE BUYING THIS PRODUCT THE REST OF MY NATURAL LIFE.

LIPP
VERO BEACH,FL.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Usage frequency:Daily
Length of ownership:1 month
I love it
7/9/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/9/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I love the hairspray it's amazing I always get compliments about the smell never had an issue with it. It holds great. I love dove all around shampoo and body wash .

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
works wonders on greasy bangs
8/16/2014

Customer review by idahoangie

5.0 stars 8/16/2014 by idahoangie
by idahoangie

I could never get my bangs to stay styled before thus product. I love that it can be brushed through & touched up over & over again.if I need to. Before I used this, my bangs would literally look like they were glued to my forehead by the end of the day! Looove it!

idahoangie
Boise, ID, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Feels Great
10/21/2014

Customer review by Kat3

5.0 stars 10/21/2014 by Kat3
by Kat3

Love this hairspray. It's lightweight enough that my hair isn't glued to my head but it still has enough holding power. You can brush through it and your hair doesn't feel gunky. Wish it lasted longer in my house!

Kat3
Pennsylvania, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage frequency:Daily
Gender:Female
The only hairspray that holds my style and I can still run my fingers through my hair!!!
9/10/2014

Customer review by KellyK

5.0 stars 9/10/2014 by KellyK
by KellyK

The only hairspray that holds my style and I can still run my fingers through my hair!!! You should see how many other products I have tried!

KellyK
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Usage frequency:Daily
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
1-20 of 227 total reviews
1-20 of 227 reviews