Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 247 reviews | 1.7 out of 5

1.5 stars

247 reviews | 1.7 out of 5

1.5 stars

247 reviews | 1.7 out of 5

18%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
29
4 stars
9
3 stars
7
2 stars
17
1 stars
185
1-20 of 247 total reviews
18%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 247 total reviews
1-20 of 247 reviews
Wonderful product
8/18/2016

Customer review by cmhenn

5.0 stars 8/18/2016 by cmhenn
by cmhenn
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Holds my baby fine hair without extra weight or stickiness!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cmhenn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
THIS HAIRSPRAY STINKS IN MORE WAYS THAN ONE!
7/19/2012

Customer review by homepro55

1.0 stars 7/19/2012 by homepro55
by homepro55

FOR SOME REASON DOVE CHANGED THEIR OLD FORMULA FLEXIBLE HAIRSPRAY (IN THE BLUE CAN) TO THIS NIGHTMARE. THIS HAIRSPRAY LITERALLY STINKS! AWFUL, AWFUL SICKENING ODOR AND PUTS A FILM ON MY CONTACT LENSES. ON TOP OF THAT YOU CAN LITERALLY TASTE IT IN YOUR MOUTH AFTER YOU SPRAY YOUR HAIR. WHAT GENIUS THOUGHT THIS ONE UP? BRING BACK THE OLD FORMULA -- IF IT AIN'T BROKE -- DON'T TRY TO FIX IT! CHECK OUT ALL THE ONE STAR REVIEWS ALONG WITH THE COMPLAINTS ON AMAZON, DRUGSTORE.COM, ETC. I HAVE NOT SEEN ONE POSITIVE REVIEW ON THIS NEW FORMULA HAIRSPRAY. I CALLED DOVE CUSTOMER SERVICE ABOUT THIS PRODUCT AND THEY SAID THEY HAVE BEEN GETTING RAVE REVIEWS ON THIS HAIRSPRAY -- (I DON'T BELIEVE IT). THEIR CUSTOMER SERVICE IS VERY NICE AND THEY REFUNDED MY MONEY AND ALSO SENT ME FREE PRODUCT COUPONS, ETC. PLEASE LADIES CALL DOVE CUSTOMER SERVICE AND PLACE YOUR COMPLAINTS. THERE IS POWER IN NUMBERS!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
homepro55
IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Disappointed
7/27/2016

Customer review by Nikki

1.0 stars 7/27/2016 by Nikki
by Nikki
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After 2-3 uses, the spray button didn't work...I tried to contact the company bit the site was not operational.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nikki
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Dove, hairspray
7/19/2016

Customer review by Sandy

5.0 stars 7/19/2016 by Sandy
by Sandy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Hard to find as it runs out of stock and it will be so easy to order on line. I have used this for years. Personal favorite but individuals should judge for themselves.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sandy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
HORRIBLE product
8/21/2012

Customer review by precious1997

1.0 stars 8/21/2012 by precious1997
by precious1997

For some reason, Dove decided to change their hairspray formula. WHY??? The old was perfect. I have used Dove for years, and was always satisfied. NOT ANYMORE. A few weeks ago, I bought a can like normal. When I used it, a horrible smell came out. It was so bad, that I had a headache for several hours. I even had to get the bath towel that I had used earlier and rub it all over my head to get rid of the stink. I thought it was a fluke, so a few days later, I bought another can. This smell wasn't as strong, but it was still HORRIBLE. It smelled like an old lady. I don't want to smell like an old lady. And because the smell is so bad, I can't use my normal amount. And since I can't use the normal amount, my hair is constantly in my face. I will be buying groceries this week and I WILL NOT buy another can of this hairspray.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
precious1997
Baton Rouge, LA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Please bring back the old "BLUE" bottle
9/4/2012

Customer review by true2reviewshelp

1.0 stars 9/4/2012 by true2reviewshelp
by true2reviewshelp

I tried all brands of hair spray and finally found the Dove (In the white and BLUE can) several years ago. It was not sticky, it did not dry out my hair and kept things together with a natural look. Was there something in the product you discovered was not safe to use? This new version is AWFUL!!! It leaves my hair feeling and looking stiff. And it dries it out! Zero added shine. Makes more sense to put a new product out and see if your customers like it before removing the old. You could have grabbed some new clients with the new version as well as kept your current ones. Now you are loosing all your old loyal customers with few purchasing the new version. Poor business decision, such a shame. Now off hunting for a new favorite. Will come back if the "old version" is released.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
true2reviewshelp
Boca Raton FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Taste the smell!
6/24/2016

Customer review by Ritz

1.0 stars 6/24/2016 by Ritz
by Ritz

I Love Dove products, and I USED to use this hairspray exclusively, but since they changed the scent..........I literally feel like it's in my mouth, I taste it, breathe it, and I can't stand how it smells! So sad to give up my favorite hairspray because they chose to way over perfume it :-(

Ritz
Idaho, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Smells awful!
5/30/2016

Customer review by belle5876

4.0 stars 5/30/2016 by belle5876
by belle5876

I recently bought this product and used it for the first time today. I cannot stand the scent.

belle5876
Alabama, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage frequency:Daily
Gender:Female
Disappointed
4/26/2016

Customer review by Breve

1.0 stars 4/26/2016 by Breve
by Breve

I have enjoyed Dove products for years, everything from bath soap, to Deodorant, to shampoo & conditioner. But this hairspray was a huge disappointment. It says Super hold, but I find that it's no the case for me. I have to spray, spray & spray again, to get just a slight amount of hold. It seems like a waste of money. I will continue to use Dove products, but never again will I buy this hairspray.

Breve
NM, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage frequency:Daily
Gender:Female
Smells great, long lasting, frizz free hold
7/16/2012

Customer review by Jojolina228

5.0 stars 7/16/2012 by Jojolina228
by Jojolina228

After being a loyal Dove conditioner and Dove soap customer I decided to give this spray a try since the spray I used in the past was discontinued (another brand). I must say, I fell in love. This is definitely my new go-to whenever I need frizz-free all-day hold that smells fresh and clean. The smell is NOT overwhelming at all to me and I suffer from migraines. It is nice, fresh, and a little bit soft and powdery like all Dove products. The formula is not as "flexible" as it advertises but it gives you all-day hold which withstands the horrible NYC summer humidity. It rinses off fairly easily in the shower if you properly wash your hair. Hair might get a little bit dried out (as with most hairsprays) but Dove conditioner does an excellent job at replenishing any lost moisture. I highly recommend this to anyone with thicker, oily hair as it looks and feels very fresh, straight-out-of-the-shower, doesn't weigh hair down, and it lasts for as long as you are out and about. Will most certainly purchase this again and again! Thank you Dove for making yet another wonderful product!!

Jojolina228
New York, NY, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage frequency:Weekly
Length of ownership:3 months
Gender:Female
Love the flexibility!!
5/1/2016

Customer review by Jojo45

4.0 stars 5/1/2016 by Jojo45
by Jojo45

I love this hairspray because it doesn't make your hair stiff and it holds the style. I have thinning, fine and straight hair, all the things that make styling difficult. It hasn't damaged my hair and even after combing, it holds my style. I just wish it wasn't so hard to find!!

Jojo45
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage frequency:Daily
Gender:Female
love
5/20/2016

Customer review by sabrina

5.0 stars 5/20/2016 by sabrina
by sabrina
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

this is by far my favorite hair spray

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sabrina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Worst Smell Ever
1/15/2013

Customer review by Pandizz

1.0 stars 1/15/2013 by Pandizz
by Pandizz

The old hairspray (blue and silver can) was AMAZING! Did a fantastic job and smelled so unbelievably good, it was the only hairspray I would use. But this new formula? Beyond gross. I bought it on Saturday at noon and returned it to the store at 1:30 pm. The smell was so disgusting just thinking about it now makes me feel queasy. I used it right before lunch with friend and spent the whole hour and a half wondering what the awful smell was. I quickly realized it was my hair! It was humiliating and I couldn't wait to get home to rinse this junk out. All of the shampoos and body washes smell and work great, but these new Style + Care products are a complete failure. Please please please bring back the old formula!! I have just run out of my last can, and had I known this new, gross hairspray was going to take over, I would have stocked up. Listen to your customers!! We want the old stuff!

Pandizz
CT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Good hold; bad scent
5/12/2016

Customer review by kcp1

2.0 stars 5/12/2016 by kcp1
by kcp1

I liked the flexible hold but the scent was awful and I could not handle it so in the trash it went. I would recommend it for the hold but would inform them about the strange scent.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kcp1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great hairspray!
5/3/2016

Customer review by Sally

5.0 stars 5/3/2016 by Sally
by Sally

I've been using this product for a couple of years and am very satisfied with the hold. I've tried other brands but haven't been as satisfied and I always go back to Dove. Now I stick with my Dove.....I know it works.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sally
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not sure what happened
4/5/2016

Customer review by Rachael1231

3.0 stars 4/5/2016 by Rachael1231
by Rachael1231

I have bought this product time and time again and I am in love with it! Not sure if anything changed but the most recent can I bought feels like it does nothing to my hair. There is no hold and even when I spray it on my hand it isn't sticky. Could be a defective bottle as it feels like the spray isn't coming out very well but I was disappointed that I can't really use this brand new can.

Rachael1231
Rhode Island, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage frequency:Weekly
Gender:Female
7/5/2012

Customer review by jmnapa

1.0 stars 7/5/2012 by jmnapa
by jmnapa

What happened to the old formula? I have never understood why companies change their product, when the old one was great. Besides leaving my hair sticky and gummy, the smell is horrible. I thought I would get used it, but no way! It has a very sweet smell and is overwhelming. Bring back the blue can in flexible hold.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jmnapa
Napa, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Tired of wasting my money
2/18/2014

Customer review by GGoutdoors

1.0 stars 2/18/2014 by GGoutdoors
by GGoutdoors

For at least the past 6 months, I have thrown out every other can or so of this Dove Hair Spray. It spits out stuff that doesn't hold and after that, the spray top and tube just don't work anymore. I can use a toothpick to clean it and a toothbrush to scrub the spray cap and it doesn't get better. I will no longer waste my money on this product but will find one that stinks and is sticky instead. Dove, I will miss you as I have been with you for so very long.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GGoutdoors
Columbia, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nothing helpful in this can
2/21/2016

Customer review by Madgab

1.0 stars 2/21/2016 by Madgab
by Madgab

This product doesn't have flexible hold, it has no hold at all. What it does have is a terribly strong smell and lots of fumes. Had to stop using it.

Madgab
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Whyy did you change a good thing?!
9/20/2012

Customer review by Doris

1.0 stars 9/20/2012 by Doris
by Doris

I was very loyal to the old Dove Flexible Hold Hairspray in the blue bottle--absolutely loved the smell and bought bottle after bottle. I couldn't find the blue bottle last time I went to the store so I grabbed this one without thinking much of it. After spraying it on my hair, I was horrified. The new smell is absolutely horrendous. It smells like cheap perfume and baby wipes. It's nauseating. I came on the website, and couldn't find the old blue bottle anywhere. Dove, if you're going to make a new line of products, that's all well and good, but please don't get rid of the well-loved originals. I haven't been able to find any of your hair products with the old scent I loved so much. I will most definitely NOT be repurchasing this hairspray and really hope you'll bring the old one back.

Doris
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage frequency:Daily
Length of ownership:1 week
1-20 of 247 total reviews
1-20 of 247 reviews