Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 235 reviews | 1.6 out of 5

1.5 stars

235 reviews | 1.6 out of 5

1.5 stars

235 reviews | 1.6 out of 5

16%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
25
4 stars
7
3 stars
6
2 stars
16
1 stars
181
1-20 of 235 total reviews
16%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 235 total reviews
1-20 of 235 reviews
Leaves hair soft.
1/8/2016

Customer review by AuntCindy11

5.0 stars 1/8/2016 by AuntCindy11
by AuntCindy11

Leaves hair soft but hols well.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AuntCindy11
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Please bring back the old "BLUE" bottle
9/4/2012

Customer review by true2reviewshelp

1.0 stars 9/4/2012 by true2reviewshelp
by true2reviewshelp

I tried all brands of hair spray and finally found the Dove (In the white and BLUE can) several years ago. It was not sticky, it did not dry out my hair and kept things together with a natural look. Was there something in the product you discovered was not safe to use? This new version is AWFUL!!! It leaves my hair feeling and looking stiff. And it dries it out! Zero added shine. Makes more sense to put a new product out and see if your customers like it before removing the old. You could have grabbed some new clients with the new version as well as kept your current ones. Now you are loosing all your old loyal customers with few purchasing the new version. Poor business decision, such a shame. Now off hunting for a new favorite. Will come back if the "old version" is released.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
true2reviewshelp
Boca Raton FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
THIS HAIRSPRAY STINKS IN MORE WAYS THAN ONE!
7/19/2012

Customer review by homepro55

1.0 stars 7/19/2012 by homepro55
by homepro55

FOR SOME REASON DOVE CHANGED THEIR OLD FORMULA FLEXIBLE HAIRSPRAY (IN THE BLUE CAN) TO THIS NIGHTMARE. THIS HAIRSPRAY LITERALLY STINKS! AWFUL, AWFUL SICKENING ODOR AND PUTS A FILM ON MY CONTACT LENSES. ON TOP OF THAT YOU CAN LITERALLY TASTE IT IN YOUR MOUTH AFTER YOU SPRAY YOUR HAIR. WHAT GENIUS THOUGHT THIS ONE UP? BRING BACK THE OLD FORMULA -- IF IT AIN'T BROKE -- DON'T TRY TO FIX IT! CHECK OUT ALL THE ONE STAR REVIEWS ALONG WITH THE COMPLAINTS ON AMAZON, DRUGSTORE.COM, ETC. I HAVE NOT SEEN ONE POSITIVE REVIEW ON THIS NEW FORMULA HAIRSPRAY. I CALLED DOVE CUSTOMER SERVICE ABOUT THIS PRODUCT AND THEY SAID THEY HAVE BEEN GETTING RAVE REVIEWS ON THIS HAIRSPRAY -- (I DON'T BELIEVE IT). THEIR CUSTOMER SERVICE IS VERY NICE AND THEY REFUNDED MY MONEY AND ALSO SENT ME FREE PRODUCT COUPONS, ETC. PLEASE LADIES CALL DOVE CUSTOMER SERVICE AND PLACE YOUR COMPLAINTS. THERE IS POWER IN NUMBERS!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
homepro55
IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Trouble with spray
11/20/2015

Customer review by Kelli

1.0 stars 11/20/2015 by Kelli
by Kelli

I love the hairspray, but it stops spraying at about half can. I try running under hot water and cleaning cap. Then i noticed it is the tube not the head getting clogged. Nothing I can do to fix that. Wasting a lot of money on product, hope you can fix problem.

Kelli
Dunmore, PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage frequency:Daily
Gender:Female
Excellent hair spray
11/9/2015

Customer review by Babs

5.0 stars 11/9/2015 by Babs
by Babs

This hair spray is non sticky and easily hold hair in place for a long time

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Babs
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
HORRIBLE product
8/21/2012

Customer review by precious1997

1.0 stars 8/21/2012 by precious1997
by precious1997

For some reason, Dove decided to change their hairspray formula. WHY??? The old was perfect. I have used Dove for years, and was always satisfied. NOT ANYMORE. A few weeks ago, I bought a can like normal. When I used it, a horrible smell came out. It was so bad, that I had a headache for several hours. I even had to get the bath towel that I had used earlier and rub it all over my head to get rid of the stink. I thought it was a fluke, so a few days later, I bought another can. This smell wasn't as strong, but it was still HORRIBLE. It smelled like an old lady. I don't want to smell like an old lady. And because the smell is so bad, I can't use my normal amount. And since I can't use the normal amount, my hair is constantly in my face. I will be buying groceries this week and I WILL NOT buy another can of this hairspray.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
precious1997
Baton Rouge, LA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Smells great, long lasting, frizz free hold
7/16/2012

Customer review by Jojolina228

5.0 stars 7/16/2012 by Jojolina228
by Jojolina228

After being a loyal Dove conditioner and Dove soap customer I decided to give this spray a try since the spray I used in the past was discontinued (another brand). I must say, I fell in love. This is definitely my new go-to whenever I need frizz-free all-day hold that smells fresh and clean. The smell is NOT overwhelming at all to me and I suffer from migraines. It is nice, fresh, and a little bit soft and powdery like all Dove products. The formula is not as "flexible" as it advertises but it gives you all-day hold which withstands the horrible NYC summer humidity. It rinses off fairly easily in the shower if you properly wash your hair. Hair might get a little bit dried out (as with most hairsprays) but Dove conditioner does an excellent job at replenishing any lost moisture. I highly recommend this to anyone with thicker, oily hair as it looks and feels very fresh, straight-out-of-the-shower, doesn't weigh hair down, and it lasts for as long as you are out and about. Will most certainly purchase this again and again! Thank you Dove for making yet another wonderful product!!

Jojolina228
New York, NY, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage frequency:Weekly
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:3 months
Worst Smell Ever
1/15/2013

Customer review by Pandizz

1.0 stars 1/15/2013 by Pandizz
by Pandizz

The old hairspray (blue and silver can) was AMAZING! Did a fantastic job and smelled so unbelievably good, it was the only hairspray I would use. But this new formula? Beyond gross. I bought it on Saturday at noon and returned it to the store at 1:30 pm. The smell was so disgusting just thinking about it now makes me feel queasy. I used it right before lunch with friend and spent the whole hour and a half wondering what the awful smell was. I quickly realized it was my hair! It was humiliating and I couldn't wait to get home to rinse this junk out. All of the shampoos and body washes smell and work great, but these new Style + Care products are a complete failure. Please please please bring back the old formula!! I have just run out of my last can, and had I known this new, gross hairspray was going to take over, I would have stocked up. Listen to your customers!! We want the old stuff!

Pandizz
CT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Soft hold, works in humidity
10/2/2015

Customer review by ARC1

5.0 stars 10/2/2015 by ARC1
by ARC1

I'm surprised to see all the negative reviews. Perhaps the formula has changed since they were written. I have been using this for a while and it's the best hairspray I've found. I have curly hair but straighten my bangs. the bangs don't curl up and the curls don't frizz even in humidity and rain with this hairspray. I find it to have much less smell than most hairsprays and does not feel sticky or crunchy.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ARC1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great hold , but not stiff
10/1/2015

Customer review by LisaO

5.0 stars 10/1/2015 by LisaO
by LisaO

I like it so much that I buy an extra can to have on hand, don't want run out. I can style hair much easier and it lasts

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LisaO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Dove Fexible Hold Hair Spray
9/10/2015

Customer review by Quietcitizen

5.0 stars 9/10/2015 by Quietcitizen
by Quietcitizen

Dove Hairspray is superior in my books. Lightly holds without leaving hair heavy or sticky. Very pleasant, clean fragrance. If I can't find it at my regular store, I will not substitute for another brand. Will look til I find it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Quietcitizen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I will not repurchase
9/14/2015

Customer review by Great

2.0 stars 9/14/2015 by Great
by Great

It doesn't smell good and doesn't hold very well.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Great
Would recommend to a friend? No
Does not hold at all
9/7/2015

Customer review by Truth

1.0 stars 9/7/2015 by Truth
by Truth

Did not hold at all

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Truth
Would recommend to a friend? No
great product, packaging issue
7/21/2015

Customer review by 4bananas

3.0 stars 7/21/2015 by 4bananas
by 4bananas

I actually love this hairspray. I enjoy the scent and the way it feels in my hair. I keep trying other products but can't find another that I like this much. Why do I keep trying other products?? Because the nozzle on this can is nearly always problematic. I shouldn't have to wash my hands after applying hairspray. Fix the can and this gets five stars.

4bananas
Wayne, NJ, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage frequency:Daily
Gender:Female
Tired of wasting my money
2/18/2014

Customer review by GGoutdoors

1.0 stars 2/18/2014 by GGoutdoors
by GGoutdoors

For at least the past 6 months, I have thrown out every other can or so of this Dove Hair Spray. It spits out stuff that doesn't hold and after that, the spray top and tube just don't work anymore. I can use a toothpick to clean it and a toothbrush to scrub the spray cap and it doesn't get better. I will no longer waste my money on this product but will find one that stinks and is sticky instead. Dove, I will miss you as I have been with you for so very long.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GGoutdoors
Columbia, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Whyy did you change a good thing?!
9/20/2012

Customer review by Doris

1.0 stars 9/20/2012 by Doris
by Doris

I was very loyal to the old Dove Flexible Hold Hairspray in the blue bottle--absolutely loved the smell and bought bottle after bottle. I couldn't find the blue bottle last time I went to the store so I grabbed this one without thinking much of it. After spraying it on my hair, I was horrified. The new smell is absolutely horrendous. It smells like cheap perfume and baby wipes. It's nauseating. I came on the website, and couldn't find the old blue bottle anywhere. Dove, if you're going to make a new line of products, that's all well and good, but please don't get rid of the well-loved originals. I haven't been able to find any of your hair products with the old scent I loved so much. I will most definitely NOT be repurchasing this hairspray and really hope you'll bring the old one back.

Doris
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage frequency:Daily
Length of ownership:1 week
7/5/2012

Customer review by jmnapa

1.0 stars 7/5/2012 by jmnapa
by jmnapa

What happened to the old formula? I have never understood why companies change their product, when the old one was great. Besides leaving my hair sticky and gummy, the smell is horrible. I thought I would get used it, but no way! It has a very sweet smell and is overwhelming. Bring back the blue can in flexible hold.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jmnapa
Napa, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Works fine - smells strongly like coconut !!
7/8/2015

Customer review by janlol

2.0 stars 7/8/2015 by janlol
by janlol

Do not care for the new scent. I like the product except for this.

janlol
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage frequency:Weekly
Gender:Female
Hate it!!
5/9/2012

Customer review by Diasppointed

1.0 stars 5/9/2012 by Diasppointed
by Diasppointed

I was a loyal user for years but now with the new change comes a lost loyal customer. I have spent a lot of money over the years with your company and now that you have decided to change someone else will be getting my money. The smell of the new Flexible Hold has to be the worst I have ever smelled. It is amazing that when you created this new scent that people actually gave you their approval, it's horrible and smells like something my grandmother wore as a perfume. Also, why in the world would you make all the packaging the same color and style? Not your finest moment in my mind, people like ease and you have created a nightmare. Change back to old formula or expect more lost customers. I hate to say it but change is never a good thing.

Diasppointed
Ohio, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage frequency:Daily
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Nothing But Trouble!
8/11/2012

Customer review by Troubled

1.0 stars 8/11/2012 by Troubled
by Troubled

I have been a long time Dove Flexible Hold Hairspray customer. I was so happy with the product that I even recommended it to my family and friends. Not anymore... I bought the new formula, and not long after I started using it, the can stopped spraying. I cleaned out the pink top (thinking it was clogged), but that didn't help. I assumed it was just a "bad" can, so I bought another one. It worked at first, but then quit spraying too. My mother-in-law wasn't happy with the new formula, so she gave me her can. I couldn't be it...it did the same thing! It worked at first and then stopped spraying. Three bad cans in a row???? What a waste of hairspray AND money! This new product has been nothing but trouble for me, and I won't buy it again!

Troubled
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage frequency:Daily
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
1-20 of 235 total reviews
1-20 of 235 reviews