Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 28 reviews | 1.7 out of 5

1.5 stars

28 reviews | 1.7 out of 5

1.5 stars

28 reviews | 1.7 out of 5

18%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
3
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
21
1-20 of 26 total reviews
18%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 26 total reviews
1-20 of 26 reviews
Junk - Don't buy
6/11/2012

Customer review by TurtleRiverLake

1.0 stars 6/11/2012 by TurtleRiverLake
by TurtleRiverLake

The Vizio VBR140 Blu-Ray player with wireless internet is junk. DO NOT BUY. 1. Freezes up requiring reboot by disconnecting power cord. Happens during start up, use and shutdown. Tried with both wired and wireless connections. 2. Slow response to remote commands. 3. Built-in apps are worthless, with the exception of Pandora and Netflix. Without decent keyboard input, YouTube is unworkable. 4. Video output does not have enough power to drive a signal through a high quality 6' HDMI cable. Better off buying a Sony.

Was this review helpful? (25) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TurtleRiverLake
Grand Forks, ND
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Poor quality, unreliable performance.
6/10/2012

Customer review by DisappointedwithVizio

1.0 stars 6/10/2012 by DisappointedwithVizio
by DisappointedwithVizio

The moment I took the player out of the box I had concerns based on it's light weight and cheap plastic feel. However, I thought I'd give it a chance. Unfortunately, it did not change my mind once we started using it. Frequently, it wouldn't power up properly forcing me to unplug it and plug it back in again to reboot it. Also, numerous times it wouldn't connect to Netflix (the main reason we bought it), forcing us to shut it down and try to connect again. Once it gets going, it seems fine, but not great. I will be returning this product and looking for something else.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DisappointedwithVizio
Northern California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Skip this one
6/8/2012

Customer review by JillofHearts

1.0 stars 6/8/2012 by JillofHearts
by JillofHearts

I had great expectations for this player, because I own an older Vizio Blu-ray player that has worked well and also a Vizio TV. It looks nice and has a small platform and I was planning to use this with my Vizio tv and thought that I could use one remote that way (that doesn't work either) Well this player worked okay for a few days, but buffered a lot. My wireless router is located in the very next room of my house. After a firmware update (it did this automatically) the player was unstable, would lock up and not respond to the remote control. I would have to unplug the power cord and plug it back in for the remote to work, until it inevitably would lock up again, requiring me to unplug the power cord and plug it back in, repeat. Do not buy.

Was this review helpful? (21) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JillofHearts
Middle Island, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Can't recommend this unit
7/14/2012

Customer review by geekspeak

1.0 stars 7/14/2012 by geekspeak
by geekspeak

I have to concur with the reviewers. I liked the features and intigration with my Vizio TV so I gave it a try. It works ok once you can finally get it to turn on. The power button on the console will not turn it on, nor will the remote control power button. As other reviewers have said, it must be unplugged and plugged back in to get it to turn on. I have had it for a week and it is going back today. This one is not yet ready for prime time.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
geekspeak
Lincoln, NE
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
So-So at this point
8/11/2012

Customer review by Dingo423

2.0 stars 8/11/2012 by Dingo423
by Dingo423

Bought this player yesterday 8/9/12 read the negative reviews,but wanted to try it because it had digital optical audio output(toslink) Worked fine out of the box, played pandora and netflix with no problems and played bluray disc without problems as well. A short time later the player did an automatic firmware update and that's when things went downhill. It started freezing up after using the apps or playing a bluray,had to unplug it and plug it back in a couple times to get to work again and a couple times wouldn't turn off with the remote or without. I wanted to try giving Vizio a call first before returning it. I called them this evening and they told me to do a factory reset, i did that and had to log back in to my apps again(not a big deal) the rep told me that a factory reset after a firmware update usually works, so far so good,but i feel somewhat skeptical at this point. Hopefully this works or probably have to return it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dingo423
Orlando,FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Does not work!
9/6/2012

Customer review by WVUGrad1995

1.0 stars 9/6/2012 by WVUGrad1995
by WVUGrad1995

This product is a total disappointment. It is slow and freezes and only works if I unplug it and plug it back in. I am amazed that Vizio has gotten so bad. I have 2 Vizio TVs and 2 other Vizio blu-ray players that all work fine. This is going back tomorrow!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WVUGrad1995
WV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not a good product.
9/18/2012

Customer review by mjfarmer

1.0 stars 9/18/2012 by mjfarmer
by mjfarmer

My biggest complaint is that the remote does not work very well. Had to push buttons over and over again to get it to work. I took it back.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mjfarmer
Merriam KS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
DO NOT BUY THIS MODEL
9/14/2012

Customer review by Christmassnowflake

1.0 stars 9/14/2012 by Christmassnowflake
by Christmassnowflake

This was a huge disappointment. I have a Vizio Blu-ray player that I have had for two years, but it does not support the Amazon app. Saw this in a Wal-Mart store but wish I had checked the reviews online first. I even called Vizio technical support and they were horrible. They gave me excuses saying that the wi-fi had to be less than ten feet from the router. That was crazy!! My other Vizio player is several rooms away from the router and it still plays Netflix just fine. This is a terrible investment. All reviews above mine explain exactly what I went through.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Christmassnowflake
Apopka, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
PIECE OF JUNK - DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY
7/24/2012

Customer review by grubstakes

1.0 stars 7/24/2012 by grubstakes
by grubstakes

We are now on our 3rd Vizio player and every one has disappointed!!!! The first one worked one time and then quit! Spent 2 hrs with Vizio tech on the phone & he finally said "Return It!". So we figured we got a bad one - it happens - so we just exchanged it for the same thing. It lasted about 10 days and then it gave up! Our local store only has a limited variety of DVD players so we took it back and just exchanged it. Well, this one lasted 3 weeks and now it's screwing up!!! I can't believe that they would make such a piece of junk and not recall these!!! I always heard good things about Vizio but this sure has changed my mind. I wouldn't recommend this to my worst enemy - well, maybe my worst enemy - but certainly not any friends!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
grubstakes
Hi Desert, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Every day
Junk, Junk, Junk
8/30/2012

Customer review by nevegagain

1.0 stars 8/30/2012 by nevegagain
by nevegagain

I received my 4th. one from Vizio today and it lasted 30min. I bought first one from Wallmart it lasted one week took it back and swapped it, second one lasted 3 weeks, called Vizio and they sent another one it lasted 4days, called they sent another it lasted 30min. I begged Vizio to send me a different model and I would pay the difference but they said could not do. I have talked with ever tech they have. This is a piece of JUNK I would not buy anything with the Vizio name again. And won't buy electronics from Wallmart again. I was told by Richard badge #423955 they was aware of the problem and was working on a new software update and would be ready in about 2 weeks that was on 8-4-2012 now they say they is no new software coming. JUNK<JUNK<JUNK<JUNK

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nevegagain
Kennesaw Ga
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
DO NOT BUY
8/31/2012

Customer review by Lov2Crochet

1.0 stars 8/31/2012 by Lov2Crochet
by Lov2Crochet

Bought this player 1 week ago today and taking it back to Wal-Mart tonight. This player will frustrate the heck out of you. We have had the same exact problems with ours as everyone else here states. The player does not respond to the remote. We have to unplug the player everytime we want to use it. Won't connect to Netflix about 80% of the time on the first try. We thought for the price, not being the most expensive but also not the least expensive, that it might be a decent product. I wish we would have read the reviews first. This is a warning that if this many people have had issues with it, don't buy it!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lov2Crochet
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awful, Awful, Awful
8/22/2012

Customer review by campergirlaz

1.0 stars 8/22/2012 by campergirlaz
by campergirlaz

I have had this horrid machine for over two months now. I should have returned it immediately as it never worked right from the beginning. My machine won't respond to the remote, won't turn off, Netflix will just stop working and I will have to go out of it and then come back in, and while watching Hunger Games the other night, simply shut down TWICE and went to a blue screen for no reason at all. I have have called Vizio customer service twice. Twice they have disconnected me and not tried to call back. They have no help for me besides re-booting it again. I will call tomorrow and demand a new box but I'm not holding out hope for a better one. Should have read the reviews first but I thought Vizio had a decent product line. Avoid this blu-ray like the plague.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
campergirlaz
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
good first blueray with wifi..
6/28/2012

Customer review by pjfunnybunny

3.0 stars 6/28/2012 by pjfunnybunny
by pjfunnybunny

Little hard to access apps without a keyboard and you have to join apps to use some other apps like Fb and twit othewise not a bad unit.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pjfunnybunny
bristol,pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
2/10/2013

Customer review by Dpoper

5.0 stars 2/10/2013 by Dpoper
by Dpoper

This inexpensive Blu-ray disc player gave me everything I wanted. Better picture quality from the regular DVDs I allready owned, and Netflix and Hulu right to my TV. I have had many hours of really good viewing with this product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dpoper
Milwaukee, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
GREAT BLUE-RAY VIDEO PLAYER!!
3/4/2013

Customer review by BIGBRUCE11047

5.0 stars 3/4/2013 by BIGBRUCE11047
by BIGBRUCE11047

This is a great blue-ray player as it is smaller than the regular DVD player we used to have. It takes up less space in our entertainment center and it plays all of our DVD's, not just the blue-ray DVDs we have accumulated.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BIGBRUCE11047
WOODGATE, NEW YORK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
NO DISC
1/18/2013

Customer review by besc10873

3.0 stars 1/18/2013 by besc10873
by besc10873

When we bought a new TV we thought it'd be a great idea to get a bluray player that's the same brand... nope! It constantly tells us "No disc" even if its a brand new bluray that I unwrapped myself. It freezes on a lot of the new movies & we have to reboot multiple times a month. The play button doesn't work, only the big ok button.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
besc10873
Parker, Co
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very Poor Performance
1/22/2013

Customer review by USAConsumer

1.0 stars 1/22/2013 by USAConsumer
by USAConsumer

The Vizio kept losing the setup, the signal, the player and remote kept locking up or didn't work at all. It stopped working completely in less than a year's usage but never worked well in all the months that I used it. The new different brand I now have works great. That's when I realized that the Vizio is a low-quality non-performer. Don't waste your time and money with this one. It isn't worth it!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
USAConsumer
Jo
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
2/4/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 2/4/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Junk broke after a year would not play blu-ray now a year and a half later its just done. Not worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Junk
2/4/2013

Customer review by wolfs2424

1.0 stars 2/4/2013 by wolfs2424
by wolfs2424

The only good thing I can say is the video quality was great. The bad is if you use any of the apps after a couple of minutes it freezes and the only way to make it work again is to reset it. Gave it a chance to see but it did it every time had it for 3 weeks, just returned it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wolfs2424
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Won't Play, Remote quits, drops wireless
5/30/2013

Customer review by iowagarden

1.0 stars 5/30/2013 by iowagarden
by iowagarden

Have to unplug all the time to get remote to work. Not worth it. Don't buy.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
iowagarden
New Virginia, IA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 26 total reviews
1-20 of 26 reviews