Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 28 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

28 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

28 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
17
4 stars
1
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 stars
3
1-20 of 21 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 21 total reviews
1-20 of 21 reviews
Great univeral remote.
7/2/2012

Customer review by RJAD

5.0 stars 7/2/2012 by RJAD
by RJAD

I bought this univeral remote because the remote for my Vizio soundbar was absolute junk. I was somewhat skeptical about buying another Vizio remote since the remote for the soundbar was so bad. Well, I was pleasantly surprised. Not only could I work the soundbar from more than ten feet away as compared to the soundbar remote where I had to be about three feet away. I was able to easily replace five remotes (which is all that I was using) with this one remote. I would definitely recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RJAD
Broken Arrow, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Runs ALL of my home entertainment devices!
10/5/2012

Customer review by MediaGeek

5.0 stars 10/5/2012 by MediaGeek
by MediaGeek

When I bought this, I needed a remote that would operate my DVD-R unit, my TV, my Blu-ray player and an ATSC tuner box to use with my DVD-R that only has an analog tuner. This Vizio remote runs them all, including the setup and menu functions! Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MediaGeek
Everett, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not all it claims to be
7/23/2012

Customer review by xlsweettea

3.0 stars 7/23/2012 by xlsweettea
by xlsweettea

After my daughter washed the blanket off the couch with the TV remote wraped up inside it, I needed a remote for the Samsung LED 3D 55 TV. The remote has a great concept but lacks follow through. The learning or teaching is only gonna happen if you have the original remote and IT WORKS! I can't teach this remote to do things like connect to the internet because the remote that came with the tv doesn't work. I did teach it to do other things on the Cable box as i have the remote for the cable box. The words on the buttons of this remote have worn off and i've only been using it about three weeks. Also, the back light only lights up for about 3 seconds. Not long enough to hunt the button you are looking for, if you can still see the word that haven't rubbed off. If you're wanting a remote to replace a lost or broken high tech remote, don't buy this one.

Was this review helpful? (10) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
xlsweettea
Jacksonville, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Don't waste your time
8/16/2012

Customer review by MIgeektech

1.0 stars 8/16/2012 by MIgeektech
by MIgeektech

Remote was purchased to replace the factory remote controlling the Vizio TV and Sound bar. It doesn't. Contacted Vizio: remote is not produced by Vizio. Just badged a Vizio. They do not guarantee this remote will mate to both devices simultaneously. It doesn't. Remote returned.

Was this review helpful? (9) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MIgeektech
MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
GREAT COUCH TOOL!
9/3/2012

Customer review by BIRDLUVR

5.0 stars 9/3/2012 by BIRDLUVR
by BIRDLUVR

I LOVE THIS REMOTE! ITS EASY TO SET UP, AND THE LIGHT UP FEATURE IS GREAT. THE ONLY THING I WOULD HAVE LIKED IS LARGER KEYS WITH BIGGER LETTERING. FOR THE PRICE? THIS IS A NO BRAINER!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BIRDLUVR
BUNNELL, FLA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/10/2012

Customer review by 2domdom

2.0 stars 12/10/2012 by 2domdom
by 2domdom

this remote work well with all of the electronis items (ie) tv dvd but it dont work well with the cable box it want tranfer that signal to the tv when you turn on the cable box other than that its a great buy

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
2domdom
augusta
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/22/2012

Customer review by Forwarddad

1.0 stars 12/22/2012 by Forwarddad
by Forwarddad

Does not work with Sylvania HD TV.s. clearly stated on package that works with Sylvania. Called Sylvania and they stated Universal Remotes don't work on their TV's. they don't release the codes. So Universal are useless and packaging clearly states works with all Sylvania.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Forwarddad
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Terrific product.
12/21/2012

Customer review by RaBbbbbbbb

5.0 stars 12/21/2012 by RaBbbbbbbb
by RaBbbbbbbb

If you need a replacement remote, this one is the only way to go. Other remotes offer a list of codes which, half the time, don't work. The Visio, on the other hand, learns the codes off of your existing remote. So for example, if (like me) you want to replace an obscure audio remote, you can pick a button on the Visio to reproduce the signal of the on/off switch on the obscure remote and you're in business. Very handy. Very useful. Terrific product and a huge leap frog over what was available before.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RaBbbbbbbb
Arlington, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I was able to program my entire home theatre.
12/9/2012

Customer review by maarkon

5.0 stars 12/9/2012 by maarkon
by maarkon

Great product, easy to program, works great.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
maarkon
94102
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Backlit Must for Owner of a Vizio 3D LCD TV
2/9/2013

Customer review by MINDSCI

5.0 stars 2/9/2013 by MINDSCI
by MINDSCI

Beats the you-know-what out of me why TV manufacturers don't include feature rich BACKLIT remotes with the TVs we pay a ton of money for. Instead you get some cheapo after thought of a device. Fortunately, I found the Vizio XRU300 backlit 8 device remote. It is fully backlit- every button, and the type on each button lights up too. This remote has been perfect for watching movies at night on my Vizio E3D470VX 3D 47" smart HDTV VIZIO E3D470VX 47-Inch Class Theater 3D LCD HDTV with Internet Apps; because I always watch with the living room in theater like darkness. The remote has the black and silver VIA button for accessing apps like the remote that came with my TV. In addition, the button layout of the XRU300 is nearly identical too. I am also using the XRU300 to control several other devices: a Sony BDP-S590 3D Blu-ray player; a Magnavox 2D Blu-ray player; 2 JVC 5060 5.1 channel digital Receivers; and a Phillips upscaling DVD HT in a box. The XRU300 has been functioning great, and I have not had to change the NiMH rechargeable batteries I put in it 2 months ago. I got mine at my local Walmart for $20, so it was a bargain for me- I would still consider it a good buy at nearly twice that price. Actually, I would have been willing to pay $100 for it if it had come with a QWERTY keyboard too- hint, hint Vizio.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MINDSCI
Bozeman, MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Easy to program and use.
1/1/2013

Customer review by JustCallMeWally

5.0 stars 1/1/2013 by JustCallMeWally
by JustCallMeWally

I bought this remote specifically to replace the remote that came with my Vizio TV. I have a really old JVC VCR, and I was pleased to find that I was able to program this remote to run that also. The only thing that I'm not able to do is to program the timer feature of the VCR. But that's more the fault of the JVC design for programming. The lost remote for the VCR had really specific programming buttons, that no universal remote could be expected to replace. There are three methods available for programming this remote to operate up to eight differently labeled components: manual entry of codes, auto search, and learning from your current remote. The methods are each explained in easy-to-follow steps. Manual entry is the best method, because you can see for yourself which code provides the best functionality. About the only drawbacks, for me, were the price and the fact that the remote is a pretty hefty size. The size is necessary to accomodate the many different buttons. Those are necessary to provide the most compatibility with the greatest variability of devices. If you have a device that you need a replacement remote for, this universal remote will probably do the best job of it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JustCallMeWally
Corpus Christi, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works great! Reasonable price.
12/23/2012

Customer review by HappyWithRemote

5.0 stars 12/23/2012 by HappyWithRemote
by HappyWithRemote

Everything I expected. Being able to program the color buttons makes it possible to use this remote for all the functions of the original remote on my Philips LCD TV.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HappyWithRemote
near Roanoke, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
The Vizio remote does not support Vizio Soundbar
2/16/2013

Customer review by VizioNM

2.0 stars 2/16/2013 by VizioNM
by VizioNM

I purchased the Vizio Universal Remote Controller to support various Home Entertainment components, but specifically to support a new Vizio sound bar, model SB4021M-A1. The remote would not recognize the sound bar, even after letting an automatic scan run for 45 minutes before I terminated it. I called Vizio support, they gave me a code to try, but it did not work. Support checked with supervisors, and I was told that it was not supported, not now, not in the future. So, I returned the Vizio remote to Walmart and received my total refund. Thank you Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VizioNM
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
does what it says and does it well
1/14/2013

Customer review by biasdr

5.0 stars 1/14/2013 by biasdr
by biasdr

I've been using my vizio 8 remote for a few days now and am completely satisfied. Paired up w/vizio tv w/o setup and pairing up w/Bose audio, magnivox vcr/dvd, dishnetwork box flawlessly. Also added specific commands from all electronics without a hitch. Best I've used (and I've tried 8-10 other remotes in past years). Only wish? It would pair up with my ceiling fan...

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
biasdr
alaska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
2/28/2013

Customer review by pibbum

5.0 stars 2/28/2013 by pibbum
by pibbum

Great Remote! Came programed for my TV, Blue Ray & Sound Bar. Easy Setup to program Uverse. Learning mode made it easy to add buttons to match manufacture's remotes.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pibbum
Cleveland Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Surpassed ALL expectations!!
1/16/2013

Customer review by outlaw881188

5.0 stars 1/16/2013 by outlaw881188
by outlaw881188

This remote replaced 5 remotes. Runs all cable box menues (motorola). Runs all TV menues(samsung). Runs all VCR/DVD menues(LG). Runs all speaker bar options (memorex!!!). Runs all boom box options (sub woofer, FM/AM/AUX, etc), A JVC that is over 20 YEARS OLD!!! A god send indeed!!! Even runs my remote for my air conditioner!!!!! Just Awesome!!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
outlaw881188
RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
2/14/2013

Customer review by Everyday147

5.0 stars 2/14/2013 by Everyday147
by Everyday147

Real easy to work,well worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Everyday147
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very easy to use.
2/25/2013

Customer review by ginap007

5.0 stars 2/25/2013 by ginap007
by ginap007

I was able to setup the tv,cablebox and dvd player in minutes. I like using it. No problems.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ginap007
charlotte
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
works great...button layout not the best
1/23/2013

Customer review by turbokungfu

4.0 stars 1/23/2013 by turbokungfu
by turbokungfu

This remote does what it's supposed to--consolidates 5 of my remotes into one and has the ability to "learn" functions that aren't available through the standard codes. The fully illuminated keypad was a must for me for watching movies in the dark. Hard to find a remote at this price with this feature, so was happy to locate this one. The "learn" function is very easy to setup, which is nice because the stock codes didn't work on my cheap Insignia blue-ray player or for a lot of the features on my Yamaha receiver. With the "learn" feature I was able to get everything to work exactly like all the OEM remotes and it was relatively painless. My only complaint with the remote is the button layout. The play, FF, rewind, stop, pause, etc. buttons are all the same size and shape, plus they're mixed in with 20 other buttons that are all the same shape, size, etc. So...hard to find buttons by "feel." Instead you have to search for each button and read the tiny print that says what each one does. A small complaint, but I've had other remotes that were much more intelligent in the layout. Still...for $20 this is a great value.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
turbokungfu
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great All In One Remote But...
1/12/2013

Customer review by taz3267

3.0 stars 1/12/2013 by taz3267
by taz3267

The remote works great for all my units (VizioTV, Vizio Blu-Ray, and even my DirecTV DVR) however there is a problem with the back lit buttons, the light is so bright that you are unable to see the button labels, so unless you have the buttons memorized the back light is actually useless.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
taz3267
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 21 total reviews
1-20 of 21 reviews