Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 215 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

215 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

215 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
117
4 stars
62
3 stars
12
2 stars
7
1 stars
17
1-20 of 157 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 157 total reviews
1-20 of 157 reviews
I'm happy with this item
6/26/2012

Customer review by GreenEyedGenie

4.0 stars 6/26/2012 by GreenEyedGenie
by GreenEyedGenie

I went with this item purely on price as it had no reviews at the time. Bought this to replace my 9 yr old very expensive Samsung TV. I had to buy this unexpectedly, since my old TV went out and I didnt have the money to replace it with the same quality TV I had. This TV is great...has nice picture, good sound, and Im very happy with it. Does not have all the bells and whistles of an expensive TV, and I dont mind. This is a good inexpensive TV, and I would recommend to anyone who is looking for a decent TV.

Was this review helpful? (167) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GreenEyedGenie
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Great TV For The Price
5/17/2012

Customer review by hinsandiego

5.0 stars 5/17/2012 by hinsandiego
by hinsandiego

I replaced an old Sony projection TV with the 40" Westinghouse LCD in my game room and it works great. I have a stereo system attached to the TV and the picture quality is simply great. It lacks the picture in picture that I used to have but for the price it's great because I think I paid close to 10 times the price of LCD today when I bought the old unit 10 years ago. The value is simply amazing to me.

Was this review helpful? (220) (34)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hinsandiego
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
6/26/2012

Customer review by CycloneJimmy

5.0 stars 6/26/2012 by CycloneJimmy
by CycloneJimmy

A superb purchase, with which we are enormously pleased. The picture is easy to adjust, and the unit's splendid picture quality is visible from various points in our den. We match it with AT&T UVerse and have enjoyed it thoroughly. The remote is easy to use and a good navigational guide. The instructional manual is even easy to read and understand -- a BIG plus!

Was this review helpful? (90) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CycloneJimmy
Kansas City, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great TV
6/12/2012

Customer review by CDCEG

5.0 stars 6/12/2012 by CDCEG
by CDCEG

I received this tv as a gift and had not previously looked at Westinghouse. This TV has a great picture. Great value for the money.

Was this review helpful? (67) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CDCEG
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Value, Love it
7/8/2012

Customer review by ssmith1726

5.0 stars 7/8/2012 by ssmith1726
by ssmith1726

Everything about this TV was a great value in my opinion. It looks great and the stand is sturdy.. other reviews have complained about the sound quality but flat screens are not generally known for having theatre surround sound.. In my opinion the sound on this TV is wonderful.

Was this review helpful? (26) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ssmith1726
Rochester, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good value, pretty good but not great performer.
7/10/2012

Customer review by lcdtvone

4.0 stars 7/10/2012 by lcdtvone
by lcdtvone

The speakers are out of the rear which throws sound towards another room which i don't like and they're just ok, not the greatest for music. I like the VGA input but most westinghouse tv's seem to have it. No alarm timer which is surprising considering this tv has a good amount of features. Definately worth the price despite a few things that are lacking.

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lcdtvone
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
GOOD FLAT SCREEN FOR THE PRICE
7/25/2012

Customer review by Anthocamp

4.0 stars 7/25/2012 by Anthocamp
by Anthocamp

Everything about this TV is good, the only exception is the sound. If you are just going to watch regular cable TV the sound is fine but if you want quality sound for movies you will need a speaker system with this TV. I actually bought the Phillips brand sound bar with sub woofer to connect to the TV which made watching Blurays 100% better.

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Anthocamp
Fredericksburg, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great for the money
7/22/2012

Customer review by Mainsailer

5.0 stars 7/22/2012 by Mainsailer
by Mainsailer

Bought on impulse via the website. The price was so attractive, and I like Wal-Mart. This 40" TV does all I need it to do. Plenty of connection optiions. Cool running. Straightforward menu to change features quickly. Decent remote. There are some TV's out there with slightly sharper definition, or web-straiming options, etc., but none within miles of this price. The picture looks great, actually. When I first auto-scanned to acquire my cable company's channels, it picked them all up. Later, I found that some had disappeared. I called the 800 number after fiddling with it, and got a live voice immediately. How cool is that! The person gave me correct instructions for re-set. All the channels popped back. All is fine and dandy now. What more could you ask of a product and its backup? The stand mounts off-set a bit which confused me, and no illustration to help with that install -- but no big deal. Buy it.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mainsailer
elgin, illnois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
A nice TV set.
7/9/2012

Customer review by greeleyman

5.0 stars 7/9/2012 by greeleyman
by greeleyman

Picture quality is exceptional for the very reasonable price and included free shipping. The remote works well and the sound quality can be changed whether watching movies or streaming music through my Apple tv via my computer. I would recommend this television to everyone.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
greeleyman
Mason Neck Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Tv
7/21/2012

Customer review by LilJorgy

5.0 stars 7/21/2012 by LilJorgy
by LilJorgy

I bought this tv for my new apartment in collage. I searched every where bestbuy, target, shopko, and walmart. I read every review went on to you tube and found reviews and i took a chance on this tv and it paid off. It is amazing the tv was packaged nice and was easy to set up. 3 questions when you first turn it on and you are ready to go. Any one that is nervous about buying this tv does not half to be it is just as good as my partents 40 inch vizio but for half the price

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LilJorgy
Oconto Falls, Wi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not bad for the buck
7/9/2012

Customer review by soundnsurf

4.0 stars 7/9/2012 by soundnsurf
by soundnsurf

Pic looks great and it was a great price. Got as a back up and really happy with it. Only problem I see is there is a slight noise you hear every once in a while. I think it's the cooling fan but hardly ever notice it.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
soundnsurf
Decatur, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great value but cannot use universal remote
7/19/2012

Customer review by CoachTom

4.0 stars 7/19/2012 by CoachTom
by CoachTom

The price of this 40" 1080P flat panel is hard to dismiss. The picture quality is good. The sound is acceptable for built-in speakers. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a decent high-def TV. BUT, you should be aware that there doesn't seem to be a code for universal remotes that works properly. This includes Time Warner and DirecTV remotes. I can find a code to turn the TV off, but none that will turn it back on. Some may find this a minor inconvenience, but I find this a major pain in the buttocks and may spend a little more next time to eliminate the need to keep track of two remotes.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CoachTom
Standish, ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good tv if you are just looking for a flat screen.
7/11/2012

Customer review by Theryck55

3.0 stars 7/11/2012 by Theryck55
by Theryck55

Reasonable price. Good picture and sound quality. No audio out, which I do not like. perfect size.

Was this review helpful? (15) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Theryck55
North Dartmouth
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Average TV, dead pixel on arrival
7/26/2012

Customer review by MotoSport

3.0 stars 7/26/2012 by MotoSport
by MotoSport

The picture quality of the TV is not bad, average for cheap 1080p LCD TV's. The connectivity is good, audio out, VGA, 3x HDMI are all there. The bad part I experienced was a dead pixel in the middle of the screen. It's only noticeable when the screen is dark, and the manufacturer wouldn't do anything about it since "it was only 1 pixel". Returned to Wal-Mart for a refund, but probably would have kept it otherwise.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MotoSport
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Simple Tv needs.
7/22/2012

Customer review by Deycee

5.0 stars 7/22/2012 by Deycee
by Deycee

I bought this TV like 9 months ago and now it's 100 dollars cheaper! but overall I really do like using it. No problems with it.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Deycee
Pomona, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Basic TV!
7/22/2012

Customer review by toolsrrr

5.0 stars 7/22/2012 by toolsrrr
by toolsrrr

Westinghouse TVs are a great value. If you are looking for a basic TV with really good picture quality and reliability, go for Westinghouse. This is my second Westinghouse. Not a replacement but an additional TV. I bought my first Westinghouse LCD TV 6 years ago and it is like I just took it out of the box. Buy this one and you will not be sorry. I'm glad I did.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
toolsrrr
Hallandale Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great bang for the buck
7/16/2012

Customer review by clevekenny

5.0 stars 7/16/2012 by clevekenny
by clevekenny

This was a replacement for a 42" plasma. 1080P plus LCD, the cheap price & free shipping sold me. Sound is not great but it's average. Picture quality is very good, I think you definitely need a blu-ray player to notice it. I've only had it for a week and the only bad thing I'll say is that there are to many steps to switch from tv to avi to hdmi. You have to choose and select, an extra step from my old tv. Also I channel surf a lot. Seems to be a 2 second delay between selecting a channel and it popping up on the screen. Overall happy with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
clevekenny
Westlake, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Wow! Great tv.
8/7/2012

Customer review by ISLIONAS

5.0 stars 8/7/2012 by ISLIONAS
by ISLIONAS

I purchase that television on July 2012, as a surprise birthday gift for my husband. He love it, great picture, awesome sound and very loud too. Overall that an A plus in our part.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ISLIONAS
PORT ST LUCIE FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
8/25/2012

Customer review by Dartan

5.0 stars 8/25/2012 by Dartan
by Dartan

This is a great deal for a tv. From my research, I find this tv to be the best deal anywhere for a 40" tv. When I first connected it to DirectTV, I thought the color and contrast were terrible. I checked with a DirectTV installer, who explained that the DirectTV connection was set at 480p, not 1080p. As soon as I changed the setting on the DirectTV remote, the contrast and color was true 1080p. Over and done. I strongly recommend this TV.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dartan
CAlifornia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
7/18/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/18/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Tv has a great picture and sound, a very good value.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Jackson, Mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
1-20 of 157 total reviews
1-20 of 157 reviews