Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 10 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

10 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

10 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
0
1-7 of 7 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Worth the $1398.00 online price
9/8/2012

Customer review by CarmensBFF

5.0 stars 9/8/2012 by CarmensBFF
by CarmensBFF

This is the second of two 55 inch Sony's in the house. The first one was purchased over a year ago at the store, at the same price, and is used in the spare room for playing XBox. This older model is now priced in the store for $998. The $400 increase for the new model (which can only be purchased online with free shipping) was well worth it for the family room. The picture is clear. The sound is crisp. AND...Netflix is right on the remote. Since the new model is in the family room, this luxury is considered justified. On the other hand, a third purchase is being considered for the bedroom. The decision on which model and which price is still being debated. The old model is superb and the lower price is attractive.

Was this review helpful? (32) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CarmensBFF
Panama City, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good TV for the price.
12/2/2012

Customer review by tinternabbey

4.0 stars 12/2/2012 by tinternabbey
by tinternabbey

The TV is loaded with features and custom settings. Accesses the internet very quickly via the wifi adapter which is included. The sound is pretty weak since the speakers fire out the rear so you will probably need an external sound system. I'm using a cheap set of computer speakers and they do a fairly good job. It does have variable audio out so the external sound system can be controlled with the TV's remote. Another great feature is the up converting that it does to standard broadcast channels. It makes them so much better that one can actually enjoy watching them after watching HD channels.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tinternabbey
Maysville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Actually it's 240hz frame rate NOT 60hz
4/23/2013

Customer review by davdav

3.0 stars 4/23/2013 by davdav
by davdav

Rather than reinvent the wheel, I agree with this review: http://reviews.lcdtvbuyingguide.com/sony-lcd-tv/sony-kdl55ex640.html Not sure if I'll keep it. If not, would wait longer and get something "better" for a lower price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
davdav
Southern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent
11/3/2012

Customer review by LACM

5.0 stars 11/3/2012 by LACM
by LACM

great all-around led tv. did not want 3d, so this was an easy choice. SD picture is 100 times sharper and clearer than any HD set that i have viewed! SD picture is almost as good as HD. HD picture is top of the line. Motion feature is wonderful.

LACM
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Outstanding!!!
11/17/2012

Customer review by Timewarpone

5.0 stars 11/17/2012 by Timewarpone
by Timewarpone

I was looking for a NON-3D TV with excellent picture quality that didn't break the bank. I have had this TV for about a month now and I must say the picture quality is truly OUTSTANDING!!! We receive HD programming from Directv and the HD images are STUNNING!!! I have owned many different Sony TV's for over 25 years now and this TV produces the best picture I have ever seen. All our quests and friends rave about our TV. We wanted a TV for watching TV. PERIOD!!! We are not interested in 3D or internet on our TV. (We have 2 desktops and a laptop computer.) The only slightly negative feature about this TV is the sound. The speakers are rear firing and there isn't much bass. The stand is a little wobbly but we have the TV wall mounted. Don't let that deter you from owning this TV. You won't regret your purchase.

Timewarpone
Central California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fantastic
1/21/2013

Customer review by PeterJ

5.0 stars 1/21/2013 by PeterJ
by PeterJ

After I played with the settings, I was really pleased. I turned up the brightness and turned downed the sharpness. The strange 3D quality of the picture was throwing me off at first until I found a setting called Cinemotion. Once I turned that off, it made all the difference. I am also pleased that it works with my Sony Surround System. Now it turns everything on by pressing one button.

PeterJ
Huntington Beach, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
12/18/2012

Customer review by 1den

2.0 stars 12/18/2012 by 1den
by 1den

Picture is to dark in standard mode I have to view in vivid and I don't think this is good for the tv

1den
glenolden pa
Would recommend to a friend? No