Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 230 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

230 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

230 reviews | 3 out of 5

57%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
50
4 stars
58
3 stars
28
2 stars
25
1 stars
69
1-20 of 208 total reviews
57%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 208 total reviews
1-20 of 208 reviews
I bought this refurbished on WOOT for $89 + $5 s&h
2/6/2013

Customer review by bouldergramp

5.0 stars 2/6/2013 by bouldergramp
by bouldergramp

I wear hearing aids and am not an audiophile. I wanted to improve the sound from my bedroom 22 inch TV which only has optical digital audio out. The TV is also used as a monitor for the grandson's computer and we view it from a sofa at a distance of about 5 ft. The rear speaker wires run under the carpet to each side of the back of the sofa. I made a disk of a Dolby Surround sound trailer to test the sound system. It sounds great to me. It also replaces the computer speakers we were using. I am sure it is better than the more expensive sound bar I was thinking of buying.

Was this review helpful? (16) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bouldergramp
Boulder, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This is the worst system for the money
4/24/2014

Customer review by pmm4177

1.0 stars 4/24/2014 by pmm4177
by pmm4177

I bought my system a year and a half ago, to start, when I got it we couldn't get it to connect to my wifi, after a 2 hour phone call to customer service we discovered we had a defective unit but they were quick to send us a new system right away. The problem I have with it is it acts like a smart phone that has far too much stuff saved on it, its really slow to accept input from the controller even after pressing a function 5 or 6 times it often doesn't work. the Netflix function on it is as equally aggravating by rarely connecting to my wifi on the first try, I have to turn it off and back on everytime I try to access Netflix. The process of turning off and back on and accessing Netflix take almost 5 mins to do. The DVD player part of it does work good but again the controller input has any where from a 3 to 7 second delay which to me is very aggravating. I've never had a DVD player that acted so slow. My advise would be to steer clear of this one and buy a better system altogether

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pmm4177
Benton, Ar.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Where do I start?
2/13/2014

Customer review by RyanThaDude

1.0 stars 2/13/2014 by RyanThaDude
by RyanThaDude

First, this unit doesn't offer any inputs other than audio. No HDMI In to connect cable or dish. Fair enough, I'll just use my TV, then output the audio from TV back to the system. Second, speaker wires are horribly short. Unless you're wiring a system for a closet, then it's sure not to work. Also, who in their right mind would use permanently-attached wire for speakers? Even if I wanted to use longer speaker wire, I cant, unless I splice. Third, the picture here doesn't match what you get. The image shows dual drivers in each speaker. The ones I got only have one. And lastly, where do I begin with the audio quality? The music played through them sounded very tinny and lifeless. Needless to say this was a waste of time to even consider purchasing these, let alone letting them in my home. I'm promptly returning these and looking for something a little more flexible.

Was this review helpful? (23) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RyanThaDude
Walkerton, IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Great deal on this 5.1 Ch Home theater system
12/3/2013

Customer review by Love2Travel75

5.0 stars 12/3/2013 by Love2Travel75
by Love2Travel75

I got this as a cyber Monday deal and picked it up from my local Walmart within a couple of hours. After reading all the negative reviews I was skeptical and kept my receipt carefully in case I decided to return it ! But after opening the box and installing it and playing a couple of blue-rays and DVDs on a test run, it really meets my expectations. For it's price range it offers amazing sound quality (much better than my 32 inch plasma TV) and also it has an FM radio with excellent clarity which was another plus for me because I use a Bose Wave radio - but that is installed in my bedroom. While the sound is definitely not comparable to Bose, it does have good surround effect when playing DVDs / Blue-Rays. To get TV audio, you will need optical or digital co-axial cable which I have not tried yet. If your TV supports audio out using HDMI, that would also work. Pros: Sound Quality, Price, FM Radio, 3D Blue-Ray, plays wide variety of discs, includings Video CDs Cons: Wire length is limited, especially for the rear speakers - unless you can run your wires below the area rug or something, this would be a problem.

Was this review helpful? (40) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Love2Travel75
Bellevue,WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Bare Minimum 3d Blu ray player
2/11/2013

Customer review by Frank079

2.0 stars 2/11/2013 by Frank079
by Frank079
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The Positives are It plays 3d blu rays. It doesnt seem slow. Playing videos from the thumbdrive worked fine. It is possible to be region free. The Negatives are It only had netflix and vudu. I didnt see a way to get more apps. The speakers too weak for a large room. I think this set up is best suited for a small room. the rear speakers have to be a couple of feet right behind your head. I had it mounted to my ceilings about 8 feet away and the sound was just too low for me. The sound adjustments were too limited for me. I think If i lived in a dorm room or a computer room this would be great easy solution for plug in and your all set. My living room is larger and i want the surround sound to fill the room. I ended up returning this. I would only value it up to $80, because it plays 3d blu-rays and comes with speakers. The walmart price is too much. If your going to spend over $100 you can find a better setup than this price wise.

Was this review helpful? (11) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Frank079
New Windsor, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Got what I paid for...
3/11/2014

Customer review by BrowneM

2.0 stars 3/11/2014 by BrowneM
by BrowneM
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I got what I thought to be a crazy deal on the surround sound system, I didn't even know that it was 3D ready. It was crazy simple to set up and start watching. Great picture, much better sound than my television. The negatives are the ridiculously sketchy wi-fi connection while trying to watch netflix and the uselessness of the netflix/vudu buttons on the remote. My wii worked quite perfectly for streaming on the same network in the exact same location, so I'm not sure why this is so temperamental. So far the "ok" button and the "home" button are all that work every time. I don't want to bash it completely as I have successfully watched 4 episodes of Parks and Rec on netflix, while enjoying decent sound. At the sale price I paid for it, I can't complain enough to make me return it.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BrowneM
Dayton, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A good Product for the money
9/20/2013

Customer review by PStewart12

4.0 stars 9/20/2013 by PStewart12
by PStewart12

I bought this system and hooked it up and it works perfectly. The sound is great and fills a 17x24 den plenty. Rumbling bass and crystal clear highs. I also purchased the three year extended warranty for $19.00 just in case, but I hope I never have to use it. I hooked it up using the digital audio out from the TV to the Optical input on the unit and the sound is awesome. Maybe some people are hooking up the sound from the RCA audio outs from the TV to the unit. If you have a digital audio out I recommend the fiber optics digital audio cable for sound, it is 100% better.

Was this review helpful? (26) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PStewart12
Midlotnian, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good value for a starter home theater set-up
12/14/2013

Customer review by tds570

4.0 stars 12/14/2013 by tds570
by tds570
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Ease of set-up and good sound for a smaller living room, would be perfect for the bedroom. The DVD and Blue Ray disc looked great on my 55 inch and the sound was good. Only draw back was the short speaker wires, good only really for a 10 X 12 foot living room to get your sound surround. Netflix set-up was very easy and the 5.1 Dolby for Netflix movies was good. I am happy with the purchase and service from WalMart.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tds570
Columbia, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I was impressed with this system at this price!
10/13/2012

Customer review by ConsumerInfo4u

5.0 stars 10/13/2012 by ConsumerInfo4u
by ConsumerInfo4u

I was impressed with this system for only $168. If you want every Home Theater System option for a very large room you probably need a larger system at a much larger cost. But for an average family room this system rocks. Blu-ray with WiFi (and it found my wireless router with just a few clicks on the setup menu), FM, HDMI-ARC (ARC feeds the audio back through the HDMI cable so you hear your TV shows and movies through the Home Theater System with no additional connection needed) but not all TVs offer it. Not to worry though because this Home Theater System has several other ways to connect TV to the Home Theater System. DVDs and Blu-rays sound awesome. My wife kept asking me to turn it down a little and I only had it up to 40. I love bass so I had that set up to +2db (with more dbs if I want to go higher - it has an easy speaker set up and very well done with distance, volume control, and testing on each of the 6 speakers) The speakers are small but have plenty of power with no distortion. My only two cons are that the rear speaker wires should be about 5 to 10 feet longer and the remote has a slow responce time. For a $168 I can live with both (I had to add about 7 feet to the left rear speaker wire so I could run it around the room under the base board). It took me a little over an hour to install and setup the system - was it a pleasure to watch a blu-ray with that sound system. I don't know how theaters are going to last when you can have the same video and sound quality at home as they offer and end up saving money in the long run with the convenience of relaxing at home. Plus you can watch anything you want at any time you want with video streaming for $8 a month or rent a blu-ray at the local food mart for a $1.49 Thank you technology and thank you Philips for a good product at a fair price.

Was this review helpful? (135) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ConsumerInfo4u
NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Problematic Blu-Ray Player
2/14/2014

Customer review by Crystalizer

1.0 stars 2/14/2014 by Crystalizer
by Crystalizer

I received this item as a gift on 12/25/2012, so I've had it just over one year and the blu-ray player will no longer play any discs. I used a Blu-Ray cleaner disc on it, but that didn't help it. It makes a beeping noise every time I insert a disc & says "unknown disc" and it won't play. Complaints I have for when it was actually working: 1. If you pressed Pause while watching a Blu-Ray disc, it would mess up when you pressed to start playing it again. Didn't really have that issue when watching DVD's. 2. The remote control doesn't respond very well. I often have to hit a button 2 or 3 times before it will actually respond. I've had that problem from the very beginning, so it isn't a battery or overuse issue. I have no complaints about the sound system portion of this product. I'm just very disappointed in the lack of longevity of the Blu-Ray player.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Crystalizer
Cincinnati, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
worked three months then quit, not worth the price
1/9/2013

Customer review by driftingcowboy1966

1.0 stars 1/9/2013 by driftingcowboy1966
by driftingcowboy1966

I bought this in september of 2012, the sound quality was NOT as great as it was represented, in december of 2012, not even a full three months I turned the system on to watch a movie, it came on to the "starting" page, THREE HOURS LATER it was STILL on the starting page, in fact I left it on a full 24 hours and it NEVER did start. Another day passed and it FINALLY got passed "starting", I thought maybe a firmware update or something had gone wrong so I tried restoring it to factory settings and it started working like it was suppose to again, hit the power button and in a few minutes it would come on ready to play a movie, this worked,,,,,FOR THREE DAYS AND IT QUIT AGAIN!!! I THOUGHT buying a name like Philips meant I was getting a quality piece of merchandise but looks like I was wrong. It's like playing russian roulette to watch a movie, it MIGHT work and it might not. For the price this unit was sold at, it SHOULD NOT be broke down less than three months later.

driftingcowboy1966
Glasgow, KY, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Great product for the price
12/11/2013

Customer review by Charly1234553024

4.0 stars 12/11/2013 by Charly1234553024
by Charly1234553024
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This product works well enough for the price point. In fact, you'd be hard pressed finding any other system for this price (I got it at the Christmas special price). I bought 2 and I don't yet have my rear speakers in their correct position, but I can tell that from an audio standpoint, it will not be a "wow", but it will suffice to give a better effect than just using the TV speakers. As far as video, it is pretty phenomenal--it looks better than my old Blu-Ray player. If I wanted something really impressive, I would upgrade to something better, but this system will work fine for my household.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Charly1234553024
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/10/2012

Customer review by Bono123

2.0 stars 12/10/2012 by Bono123
by Bono123
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Speakers are extremely small. Rear speakers for surround sound are weak.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bono123
Wyoming
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Decent for a temporary solution
3/18/2014

Customer review by WhyIsThat21

2.0 stars 3/18/2014 by WhyIsThat21
by WhyIsThat21
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This Blu-ray surround sound system was purchased with a 60in TV I had just bought so that I didn't have to suffer the LED TV's terrible sound. This was at a price point where I could afford the Blu-ray feature combined with the sound system, so I picked it up. Overall I don't regret it, seeing as it was more of a temporary fix for me. 90% of the time it works with good picture and no sound issues. As weird as it is, sometimes it will play a DVD at about 80% frame rate, and even the sound is visibly slower so as to distort the people talking or noises on screen (both with the Netflix feature and a Blu-ray). All I've had to do is turn it off and on again to return the speed back to normal, but I wish it either never happened or was quicker to fix without interruption. Overall, I feel 2 stars was what it deserved since it was purchased at a fair price, with average features (though the WiFi is quite useful), but due to the sound/replay speed issues it makes it a coin flip if I have to start watching something and then reset it, or have it work properly immediately.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WhyIsThat21
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Really Happy with my Purchase
2/26/2014

Customer review by Imelectron

5.0 stars 2/26/2014 by Imelectron
by Imelectron
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Some reviews said it wasn't loud enough, I think it is plenty loud enough to fill a 10x16 room.. I have been really pleased with the quality of the sound as well.. I am using the digital coax connection to my source so maybe that makes a difference but for the money I am really pleased with the system.. Setup was easy as everything is color coded I did have to extend the front speakers as the wires are pretty short but that was no big deal just got some speaker wire and shrink tape and about 15 minutes that was done.. This system would make a great dorm room setup and I like that it has an aux hookup for second device as well as HDMI out, a FM radio and of course a USB connection.. The WiFi setup was a breeze as well.. The only con I have is the LED display is hard to read but for the money well worth the purchase...

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Imelectron
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice affordable starter home theater system
3/6/2013

Customer review by Tower1011

4.0 stars 3/6/2013 by Tower1011
by Tower1011

I just purchased this HTIB a month ago from Wal-Mart and overall (so-far) I am fairly impressed. I have it set up in a small bedroom (about 161 SQ. FT) room. Set up speakers optimally in accordance to Dolby's suggestions on their website. I just watched Avatar in Blu-Ray with DTS-HD and am very impressed. Sound quality seems decent however it may be just me but it seems like it doesnt do well with higher frequency sounds (sounds low and muffled). Maybe it's just the speakers but unfortunately these cannot be swapped out as Phillips uses their own proprietary connector on the back of the reciever. I'm sure you could replace with 3rd party speakers if you know how to splice speaker wire. No HDMI input so no DTS-HD and Dolby-HD through other sources (for me PS3) because those only work with HDMI. If you want to listen to your blu-ray with "HD sound" you'll have to use the Blu-Ray reciever. Con's - Speakers cannot be replaced

Tower1011
South Lyon, MI 48178, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Quite good for what it does, not a top end unit.
12/14/2013

Customer review by FlyGuyJoe

4.0 stars 12/14/2013 by FlyGuyJoe
by FlyGuyJoe
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Easy to set up. Sound quality excellent. Volume good for me, and I like to listen to movies loud. Picture Excellent. Everything worked out of the box. Cons, some of the speaker cords not long enough. Had to splice in some of my own, making it unreturnable. Entering wifi password is a pain. Only 1 pair RCA audio in connectors, could use another set of audio in connectors. DVR and VCR (yes, some people still actually use those) means you will need an extra switch or y jacks for audio in. Note: Only had for a week, so durability undetermined.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FlyGuyJoe
San Diego
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I LOVE IT!!!
12/23/2012

Customer review by nursemulet2009

5.0 stars 12/23/2012 by nursemulet2009
by nursemulet2009
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We purchased this home theater system & are very satisfied with its overall performance! The set up was extremely easy & the instructions were very detailed. The Wi-Fii is one of my favorite functions of the system, it eliminates having to run ethernet wire to a modem to connect to the internet. The Netflix button on the remote is awesome too, within seconds I'm able to watch movies. We have this system connected to a 60" LCD TV in our living room downstairs & I can clearly hear the music from upstairs. It also has an antenna that allows you to listen to radio clearly. There are several different sound options for your viewing pleasure. The 1 minor option I feel it is missing is the Pandora app...other then that we are very happy!

Was this review helpful? (9) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nursemulet2009
Lakeland,FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
You get what you pay for
11/27/2012

Customer review by 13337

3.0 stars 11/27/2012 by 13337
by 13337

I gave this system a value of "average" because of the price but a "fair" expectation. I knew when i purchased this system it wasn't going to be a room rocking sound system. But I at least expected some kind of low end base. 5.1 sound system: Purchased it for the master bedroom and although the sound quality is decent there is NO base. The 5" subwoofer just cant push enough low's, even at its highest setting to give you that 5.1 sound. I had to turn the high's and mids down with low all the way up along with the volume on high to begin to hear the low from the subwoofer but still unable to feel it, even with it under the bed. It just lacks that kick. Adding to my disappointment, my 6 year old says; why can't i feel it like the speakers in the living room. referring to our living room theater system. a bit higher end. ugh! Blueray player: Is a little big but expected considering it is also an amplifier. As other stated it is a little slow but only on the initial bootup, once powered on its normal with regular off and on use. The WiFi is simple to setup and using zulu and netflix is as easy as browsing the show menu and selecting one to watch. Bottom line...If you don't care for the low end (base) of sound quality this is for you and works just fine for watching regular TV, and non-action packed movies. But If you want an all around 5.1 theater sound system that will submerse you into the movie where you feel the rumble of explosions, then spend a little extra more and get one with a bigger subwoofer and watts to complete the over all experience of a true 5.1 home theater sound system. overall i gave this buy a 3 star rating but only because for the price it is a decent system, but again you get what you pay for. I will be returning it and increasing my budget for a better system that wont disappoint. After all if a 6 year old notices the sound is off with no base. Then it needs to be upgraded.

Was this review helpful? (23) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
13337
San Diego
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Garbage
11/17/2012

Customer review by MomOfAPumper

1.0 stars 11/17/2012 by MomOfAPumper
by MomOfAPumper

I owned this player for 4 days before deciding to return it. Pros.. Hook up and connecting to my wifi was very simple, and for that I gave it 1 notch for meets expectations. Cons...The Blueray Player itself (not including speakers) is very large, and takes up a lot of space. The player is very slow. It Freezes up a lot. You have to press the remote 10 times to get unit to respond. Surround sound might be okay for a very very small room. This blue ray doesn't have many extras only Netflix and Vudu. This player is a 168 dollar peace of junk.

Was this review helpful? (34) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MomOfAPumper
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 208 total reviews
1-20 of 208 reviews