Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 228 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

228 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

228 reviews | 3 out of 5

57%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
49
4 stars
58
3 stars
28
2 stars
25
1 stars
68
1-20 of 206 total reviews
57%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 206 total reviews
1-20 of 206 reviews
I was impressed with this system at this price!
10/13/2012

Customer review by ConsumerInfo4u

5.0 stars 10/13/2012 by ConsumerInfo4u
by ConsumerInfo4u

I was impressed with this system for only $168. If you want every Home Theater System option for a very large room you probably need a larger system at a much larger cost. But for an average family room this system rocks. Blu-ray with WiFi (and it found my wireless router with just a few clicks on the setup menu), FM, HDMI-ARC (ARC feeds the audio back through the HDMI cable so you hear your TV shows and movies through the Home Theater System with no additional connection needed) but not all TVs offer it. Not to worry though because this Home Theater System has several other ways to connect TV to the Home Theater System. DVDs and Blu-rays sound awesome. My wife kept asking me to turn it down a little and I only had it up to 40. I love bass so I had that set up to +2db (with more dbs if I want to go higher - it has an easy speaker set up and very well done with distance, volume control, and testing on each of the 6 speakers) The speakers are small but have plenty of power with no distortion. My only two cons are that the rear speaker wires should be about 5 to 10 feet longer and the remote has a slow responce time. For a $168 I can live with both (I had to add about 7 feet to the left rear speaker wire so I could run it around the room under the base board). It took me a little over an hour to install and setup the system - was it a pleasure to watch a blu-ray with that sound system. I don't know how theaters are going to last when you can have the same video and sound quality at home as they offer and end up saving money in the long run with the convenience of relaxing at home. Plus you can watch anything you want at any time you want with video streaming for $8 a month or rent a blu-ray at the local food mart for a $1.49 Thank you technology and thank you Philips for a good product at a fair price.

Was this review helpful? (134) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ConsumerInfo4u
NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great deal on this 5.1 Ch Home theater system
12/3/2013

Customer review by Love2Travel75

5.0 stars 12/3/2013 by Love2Travel75
by Love2Travel75

I got this as a cyber Monday deal and picked it up from my local Walmart within a couple of hours. After reading all the negative reviews I was skeptical and kept my receipt carefully in case I decided to return it ! But after opening the box and installing it and playing a couple of blue-rays and DVDs on a test run, it really meets my expectations. For it's price range it offers amazing sound quality (much better than my 32 inch plasma TV) and also it has an FM radio with excellent clarity which was another plus for me because I use a Bose Wave radio - but that is installed in my bedroom. While the sound is definitely not comparable to Bose, it does have good surround effect when playing DVDs / Blue-Rays. To get TV audio, you will need optical or digital co-axial cable which I have not tried yet. If your TV supports audio out using HDMI, that would also work. Pros: Sound Quality, Price, FM Radio, 3D Blue-Ray, plays wide variety of discs, includings Video CDs Cons: Wire length is limited, especially for the rear speakers - unless you can run your wires below the area rug or something, this would be a problem.

Was this review helpful? (40) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Love2Travel75
Bellevue,WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A good Product for the money
9/20/2013

Customer review by PStewart12

4.0 stars 9/20/2013 by PStewart12
by PStewart12

I bought this system and hooked it up and it works perfectly. The sound is great and fills a 17x24 den plenty. Rumbling bass and crystal clear highs. I also purchased the three year extended warranty for $19.00 just in case, but I hope I never have to use it. I hooked it up using the digital audio out from the TV to the Optical input on the unit and the sound is awesome. Maybe some people are hooking up the sound from the RCA audio outs from the TV to the unit. If you have a digital audio out I recommend the fiber optics digital audio cable for sound, it is 100% better.

Was this review helpful? (26) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PStewart12
Midlotnian, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Where do I start?
2/13/2014

Customer review by RyanThaDude

1.0 stars 2/13/2014 by RyanThaDude
by RyanThaDude

First, this unit doesn't offer any inputs other than audio. No HDMI In to connect cable or dish. Fair enough, I'll just use my TV, then output the audio from TV back to the system. Second, speaker wires are horribly short. Unless you're wiring a system for a closet, then it's sure not to work. Also, who in their right mind would use permanently-attached wire for speakers? Even if I wanted to use longer speaker wire, I cant, unless I splice. Third, the picture here doesn't match what you get. The image shows dual drivers in each speaker. The ones I got only have one. And lastly, where do I begin with the audio quality? The music played through them sounded very tinny and lifeless. Needless to say this was a waste of time to even consider purchasing these, let alone letting them in my home. I'm promptly returning these and looking for something a little more flexible.

Was this review helpful? (23) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RyanThaDude
Walkerton, IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Good value for a starter home theater set-up
12/14/2013

Customer review by tds570

4.0 stars 12/14/2013 by tds570
by tds570

Ease of set-up and good sound for a smaller living room, would be perfect for the bedroom. The DVD and Blue Ray disc looked great on my 55 inch and the sound was good. Only draw back was the short speaker wires, good only really for a 10 X 12 foot living room to get your sound surround. Netflix set-up was very easy and the 5.1 Dolby for Netflix movies was good. I am happy with the purchase and service from WalMart.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tds570
Columbia, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
You get what you pay for
11/27/2012

Customer review by 13337

3.0 stars 11/27/2012 by 13337
by 13337

I gave this system a value of "average" because of the price but a "fair" expectation. I knew when i purchased this system it wasn't going to be a room rocking sound system. But I at least expected some kind of low end base. 5.1 sound system: Purchased it for the master bedroom and although the sound quality is decent there is NO base. The 5" subwoofer just cant push enough low's, even at its highest setting to give you that 5.1 sound. I had to turn the high's and mids down with low all the way up along with the volume on high to begin to hear the low from the subwoofer but still unable to feel it, even with it under the bed. It just lacks that kick. Adding to my disappointment, my 6 year old says; why can't i feel it like the speakers in the living room. referring to our living room theater system. a bit higher end. ugh! Blueray player: Is a little big but expected considering it is also an amplifier. As other stated it is a little slow but only on the initial bootup, once powered on its normal with regular off and on use. The WiFi is simple to setup and using zulu and netflix is as easy as browsing the show menu and selecting one to watch. Bottom line...If you don't care for the low end (base) of sound quality this is for you and works just fine for watching regular TV, and non-action packed movies. But If you want an all around 5.1 theater sound system that will submerse you into the movie where you feel the rumble of explosions, then spend a little extra more and get one with a bigger subwoofer and watts to complete the over all experience of a true 5.1 home theater sound system. overall i gave this buy a 3 star rating but only because for the price it is a decent system, but again you get what you pay for. I will be returning it and increasing my budget for a better system that wont disappoint. After all if a 6 year old notices the sound is off with no base. Then it needs to be upgraded.

Was this review helpful? (22) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
13337
San Diego
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/10/2012

Customer review by Bono123

2.0 stars 12/10/2012 by Bono123
by Bono123

Speakers are extremely small. Rear speakers for surround sound are weak.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bono123
Wyoming
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
11/15/2012

Customer review by ocean5432

4.0 stars 11/15/2012 by ocean5432
by ocean5432

The only thing I have a problem with this product is loading time a little slow. Other than that it's an exelent product for the price. I have'nt had it that long so still learning all the functions it has.

Was this review helpful? (14) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ocean5432
Forks Wa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Garbage
11/17/2012

Customer review by MomOfAPumper

1.0 stars 11/17/2012 by MomOfAPumper
by MomOfAPumper

I owned this player for 4 days before deciding to return it. Pros.. Hook up and connecting to my wifi was very simple, and for that I gave it 1 notch for meets expectations. Cons...The Blueray Player itself (not including speakers) is very large, and takes up a lot of space. The player is very slow. It Freezes up a lot. You have to press the remote 10 times to get unit to respond. Surround sound might be okay for a very very small room. This blue ray doesn't have many extras only Netflix and Vudu. This player is a 168 dollar peace of junk.

Was this review helpful? (32) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MomOfAPumper
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Useless product
11/24/2012

Customer review by Hello1122

1.0 stars 11/24/2012 by Hello1122
by Hello1122

Bought it on Black Friday and returning it. Speaker is useless. My tv speakers sounds far better. What is the point of surround sound if the speakers are so bad. The rear speaker wires are too short even for a small room. The iLink connection is nothing but connecting with audio wires and even the wires are not provided.

Was this review helpful? (13) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hello1122
Albany, ny
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Bare Minimum 3d Blu ray player
2/11/2013

Customer review by Frank079

2.0 stars 2/11/2013 by Frank079
by Frank079

The Positives are It plays 3d blu rays. It doesnt seem slow. Playing videos from the thumbdrive worked fine. It is possible to be region free. The Negatives are It only had netflix and vudu. I didnt see a way to get more apps. The speakers too weak for a large room. I think this set up is best suited for a small room. the rear speakers have to be a couple of feet right behind your head. I had it mounted to my ceilings about 8 feet away and the sound was just too low for me. The sound adjustments were too limited for me. I think If i lived in a dorm room or a computer room this would be great easy solution for plug in and your all set. My living room is larger and i want the surround sound to fill the room. I ended up returning this. I would only value it up to $80, because it plays 3d blu-rays and comes with speakers. The walmart price is too much. If your going to spend over $100 you can find a better setup than this price wise.

Was this review helpful? (11) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Frank079
New Windsor, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Got what I paid for...
3/11/2014

Customer review by BrowneM

2.0 stars 3/11/2014 by BrowneM
by BrowneM

I got what I thought to be a crazy deal on the surround sound system, I didn't even know that it was 3D ready. It was crazy simple to set up and start watching. Great picture, much better sound than my television. The negatives are the ridiculously sketchy wi-fi connection while trying to watch netflix and the uselessness of the netflix/vudu buttons on the remote. My wii worked quite perfectly for streaming on the same network in the exact same location, so I'm not sure why this is so temperamental. So far the "ok" button and the "home" button are all that work every time. I don't want to bash it completely as I have successfully watched 4 episodes of Parks and Rec on netflix, while enjoying decent sound. At the sale price I paid for it, I can't complain enough to make me return it.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BrowneM
Dayton, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I bought this refurbished on WOOT for $89 + $5 s&h
2/6/2013

Customer review by bouldergramp

5.0 stars 2/6/2013 by bouldergramp
by bouldergramp

I wear hearing aids and am not an audiophile. I wanted to improve the sound from my bedroom 22 inch TV which only has optical digital audio out. The TV is also used as a monitor for the grandson's computer and we view it from a sofa at a distance of about 5 ft. The rear speaker wires run under the carpet to each side of the back of the sofa. I made a disk of a Dolby Surround sound trailer to test the sound system. It sounds great to me. It also replaces the computer speakers we were using. I am sure it is better than the more expensive sound bar I was thinking of buying.

Was this review helpful? (16) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bouldergramp
Boulder, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not a good choice
11/24/2012

Customer review by DallasGuy28

2.0 stars 11/24/2012 by DallasGuy28
by DallasGuy28

I purchased this system on Black Friday and have only had it for almost 2 days now and I am going to return it. Setup was simple and picture is great but the remote and system move very slow! It sounds and looks good but I definately would not have bought this system if I had known how slow it moves.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DallasGuy28
Dallas, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Problematic Blu-Ray Player
2/14/2014

Customer review by Crystalizer

1.0 stars 2/14/2014 by Crystalizer
by Crystalizer

I received this item as a gift on 12/25/2012, so I've had it just over one year and the blu-ray player will no longer play any discs. I used a Blu-Ray cleaner disc on it, but that didn't help it. It makes a beeping noise every time I insert a disc & says "unknown disc" and it won't play. Complaints I have for when it was actually working: 1. If you pressed Pause while watching a Blu-Ray disc, it would mess up when you pressed to start playing it again. Didn't really have that issue when watching DVD's. 2. The remote control doesn't respond very well. I often have to hit a button 2 or 3 times before it will actually respond. I've had that problem from the very beginning, so it isn't a battery or overuse issue. I have no complaints about the sound system portion of this product. I'm just very disappointed in the lack of longevity of the Blu-Ray player.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Crystalizer
Cincinnati, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great product for the price
12/11/2013

Customer review by Charly1234553024

4.0 stars 12/11/2013 by Charly1234553024
by Charly1234553024

This product works well enough for the price point. In fact, you'd be hard pressed finding any other system for this price (I got it at the Christmas special price). I bought 2 and I don't yet have my rear speakers in their correct position, but I can tell that from an audio standpoint, it will not be a "wow", but it will suffice to give a better effect than just using the TV speakers. As far as video, it is pretty phenomenal--it looks better than my old Blu-Ray player. If I wanted something really impressive, I would upgrade to something better, but this system will work fine for my household.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Charly1234553024
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I LOVE IT!!!
12/23/2012

Customer review by nursemulet2009

5.0 stars 12/23/2012 by nursemulet2009
by nursemulet2009

We purchased this home theater system & are very satisfied with its overall performance! The set up was extremely easy & the instructions were very detailed. The Wi-Fii is one of my favorite functions of the system, it eliminates having to run ethernet wire to a modem to connect to the internet. The Netflix button on the remote is awesome too, within seconds I'm able to watch movies. We have this system connected to a 60" LCD TV in our living room downstairs & I can clearly hear the music from upstairs. It also has an antenna that allows you to listen to radio clearly. There are several different sound options for your viewing pleasure. The 1 minor option I feel it is missing is the Pandora app...other then that we are very happy!

Was this review helpful? (9) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nursemulet2009
Lakeland,FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product for the price
12/14/2013

Customer review by hfoxgrandma

5.0 stars 12/14/2013 by hfoxgrandma
by hfoxgrandma

Took a minute for me to get acquainted. Okay let's be honest, I'm 67 and trying to get a new TV, new cable box and home theater hooked up was a challenge. I did pretty good but my Granddaughter had told me she would do it. I couldn't wait, she unhooked my setup, did it right, showed me which buttons to use and told me to stay out of menus. System works fine she has it programmed so one remote works all 3. I'm a happy camper, this morning I'm listening to music.

Was this review helpful? (14) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hfoxgrandma
cincinnati, oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Quite good for what it does, not a top end unit.
12/14/2013

Customer review by FlyGuyJoe

4.0 stars 12/14/2013 by FlyGuyJoe
by FlyGuyJoe

Easy to set up. Sound quality excellent. Volume good for me, and I like to listen to movies loud. Picture Excellent. Everything worked out of the box. Cons, some of the speaker cords not long enough. Had to splice in some of my own, making it unreturnable. Entering wifi password is a pain. Only 1 pair RCA audio in connectors, could use another set of audio in connectors. DVR and VCR (yes, some people still actually use those) means you will need an extra switch or y jacks for audio in. Note: Only had for a week, so durability undetermined.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FlyGuyJoe
San Diego
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This is the worst system for the money
4/24/2014

Customer review by pmm4177

1.0 stars 4/24/2014 by pmm4177
by pmm4177

I bought my system a year and a half ago, to start, when I got it we couldn't get it to connect to my wifi, after a 2 hour phone call to customer service we discovered we had a defective unit but they were quick to send us a new system right away. The problem I have with it is it acts like a smart phone that has far too much stuff saved on it, its really slow to accept input from the controller even after pressing a function 5 or 6 times it often doesn't work. the Netflix function on it is as equally aggravating by rarely connecting to my wifi on the first try, I have to turn it off and back on everytime I try to access Netflix. The process of turning off and back on and accessing Netflix take almost 5 mins to do. The DVD player part of it does work good but again the controller input has any where from a 3 to 7 second delay which to me is very aggravating. I've never had a DVD player that acted so slow. My advise would be to steer clear of this one and buy a better system altogether

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pmm4177
Benton, Ar.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 206 total reviews
1-20 of 206 reviews