Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1183 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

1183 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

1183 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
656
4 stars
335
3 stars
69
2 stars
40
1 stars
83
1-20 of 815 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 815 total reviews
1-20 of 815 reviews
Price Performance ratio is amazing.
9/18/2012

Customer review by Maude

5.0 stars 9/18/2012 by Maude
by Maude

The printer I have from the series is the 2120. One set of Ink cartridges costs way more than the printer but is in line with cartridges from other companies. The printer price itself was comparably small at a large, big box retailer. Maybe I should just buy a new printer every time it runs out of ink. :) Construction seems a bit flimsy and I haven't used the scanner yet. I didn't buy it as a scanner, it was meant as a desk side printer for "quick stuff" which needs one or two sheets of special paper (like address labels) without having to run off to the file/print server room every time I printed something. For the intended use it is great. Considering the purchase cost, I can forgive just about any negative "features" of the printer but I really haven't found any yet. The only real complaint I have is that the support web page download for the MG2100 series Specifications seems broken.

Maude
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Printer, Cheap Price
4/27/2013

Customer review by Camaro72stroker

5.0 stars 4/27/2013 by Camaro72stroker
by Camaro72stroker

I have owned other Canon printers in the past. I am not surprised that this one does what I ask for. It does really good on my business cards and photos. I have had no problem on my word documents. My rubber mat helps quiet it. I have no problem scanning and saving drawing to my computer as PDF files. Some items I scan, I run through Photoshop. This is a excellent product. The initial cartridge like other machines, is not very big, but I purchased the 240XL and it has lasted awhile. It may not be a Laserjet, but I do not have the toner mess. I had no problem setting it up or using it because it doesn't take a rocket scientist to hook up a USB wire, plug it in and install the software. No initial head alignment was needed. Just install the cartridges after you remove the packing material. Others may have problems but those problems can be caused by their computer hardware or software.

Camaro72stroker
Ball, Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A Great Purchase
8/26/2013

Customer review by TXMC

5.0 stars 8/26/2013 by TXMC
by TXMC

I love the Pixma MG 2120. I think for me, was a great purchase. I like the fact of having a scanner, printer all in one. I have had others with even a fax didn't like them as well as this one. It lasted longer for me in the long run. I didn't like the jam ups either. For the most part it was my fault. Making sure your paper was all straight, had no wrinkles of any kind. I ran into those situations a few times. Now even though it has been a little less than a year, I am ready to purchase another one. For again as I said "I feel like it is my fault that it is no longer working properly". At least I'll take the blame for this one. I wonder if anyone else would. Pictures were perfect, none blurry, unless I made them to big within the enlargement of my pictures (Which sometimes I did). Also, it used less ink than other inkjet printers i have had in the past. That is a plus on my budget.

TXMC
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Endless frustration
2/5/2013

Customer review by dissappointed

1.0 stars 2/5/2013 by dissappointed
by dissappointed

I cannot understand the concept of a wireless printer that requires a usb printer cable connection from my computer to the printer in order to set up the printer for general use when there is no usb cable accompanying the purchased printer. Why promote a cost effecient printer when the only reason why the printer is marketed cheaper than other 'all hardware included models' is the fact that you have to go above and beyond the purchase of the printer to add the accessories that will actually make it function. Unbelievably dissappointing...and this is even after the almost impossible to find one line statement on the box hidden WITHIN the 'contents' listing on the box that conveys that there is no usb cable attatched. if there is NO usb cable why make listing of it under the portion of the box that is labeled for content contained in the box...

dissappointed
Would recommend to a friend? No
beat your head into the wall now - save time
8/5/2014

Customer review by bdkcu

1.0 stars 8/5/2014 by bdkcu
by bdkcu

I've owned this for a few years now. Will NEVER buy another Cannon - if they can't produce a quality entry model that works, why should I spend bigger bucks, especially when all I needed was a basic printer/scanner? Okay - cheaper and easier to buy a new printer than the Cannon approved refills. Which are the only ones that seem to work. It would help to have an actual MANUAL to see what the error codes are. I've finally gotten so frustrated trying to get this to work that I'm giving up and getting a new printer. NOT a Cannon. after answering the questions at the bottom of this review, I am seriously not a Cannon enthusiast, and this didn't replace anything, considering how difficult it is to use. I could have saved my money and kept the other working but difficult to use because of print/scan/fax/receive fax.

bdkcu
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great All In one Printer
8/31/2013

Customer review by tweetybird

5.0 stars 8/31/2013 by tweetybird
by tweetybird

I've had this one for almost 3 months now. I have had other more expensive all in ones before and this one works as well or BETTER than all the others. Never any blurry printouts. I've had only one crinkled? printout but that was because I put the paper in wrong at the very beginning. I have had no problem whatsoever since then. It was an easy set up. Very easy to use. Great for the budget. Fast printout. Good on ink use.I just now had to add a new black ink to it. Even with all the printing I've done its taken a few months for it to run out. The color ink is still the one that came with the printer and not out of ink yet. I would highly recommend this to anyone who needs a great printer/scanner thats on a budget.

tweetybird
Springfield Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Solid performance, quirky software
1/3/2013

Customer review by sarookha

4.0 stars 1/3/2013 by sarookha
by sarookha

I've been using the Pixma MG 2140 for several moths now. It's copy quality, printing speed and quality and scan quality are excellent. I use it for a home office, so it gets quite a lot of work, and has always done just what I asked of it. The MP Navigator software, when operating under Mac OSX, crashes on opening, then reopens and works fine. When closing the program, it crashes again and wants to send an error report. This bug has persisted through several software versions (I had a previous Pixma, same scenario) and several upgrades of OSX. Nevertheless, the software make scanning a large stack of receipts of various sizes super simple, and it's easy to then integrate the scans into my accounting paperwork.

sarookha
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Mehh...
3/16/2013

Customer review by Unhappy Customer

2.0 stars 3/16/2013 by Unhappy Customer
by Unhappy Customer

Well, it prints ok. As for scanning and attaching to an email, good luck. The "user's guide" is a waste of time, the onscreen instructions are worthless, and there is no onscreen help that really helps you do ANYTHING. I've never seen such a complete lack of communication on how to use a product, so I guess it's all supposed to be so "user friendly" that you don't need any instruction. But, like I said, it prints ok, and it wasn't expensive. You get what you pay for. It seems kind of a waste of effort to have the scanning feature, if you can't do anything with it though. I guess it helps make it sound like you're getting more for your money than just a basic printer, which really is all you're getting.

Unhappy Customer
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? No
So Happy I Chose This
9/19/2013

Customer review by Lee

5.0 stars 9/19/2013 by Lee
by Lee

I have owned several other "all-in-one"printers that were supposed to be something special due to their name recognition. Their price tags were up there too. Each of them failed to perform to my expectations and gave me trouble from "day one!" Getting service was always complicated by an overseas call to an English-as-a second-language person. The ink cartridges kept going up and up in price to the point of ridiculous. I finally gave up and decided to buy locally and found my Canon PIXMA-MG2120, The price was exceptionally reasonable and so were the cartridges. It's easy to use and reload. I love it and will never go back to those other brands! It performs perfectly for all my needs! :-)

Lee
West Palm Beach, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Setup
9/27/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 9/27/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

When we first got ours, we thought it was a wireless printer. The box and everything we looked up on it said it was, it also didn't come with a computer to printer hook up cable. We tried to set it up, but it wouldn't respond. Turns out it was NOT wireless unless you had a wireless adapter which was sold separately. Needless to say, we were not happy with that outcome. However we did have an old printer cable that fit, so we hooked it up manually and have enjoyed it since. We are, however, still very disappointed with the claim of being wireless ready/capable and not including the proper devices to make it so.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Printer/Copier/Scanner for Home Use
9/13/2012

Customer review by Cat2

5.0 stars 9/13/2012 by Cat2
by Cat2

I use the PixmaMG2120 for scanning old photographs onto my computer which I can then print copies of for family. I use it to print and copy regular text. The other thing I do is design greeting card on my computer and then print them myself. As varied as all these task are - the Pixma MG2120 does a good job on them all - each requiring a different paper - and responding well to the variations in paper. That was my # 1 priority when I chose Canon and the Pixma MG2120. The only negative I can say about it is that it is a littltle noisy, not real loud, but enough to startle my cats nearby when it prints.

Cat2
Mid-Atlantic Region
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Software will not run
5/21/2012

Customer review by Big blues

3.0 stars 5/21/2012 by Big blues
by Big blues

The scanner/printer/copier all seem to work fine. I installed the software multiple times (5+) to get the MP Navigator and Solution Manual to run. No Luck. I downloaded another trial scan software and the scanner worked. I can not get the software to open. It is loaded but I get a screen that says to check power, cables, etc. Still software program will not open. I will have to buy another software program or take this back. I bought the multifunction because I wanted the scanner. Now I must decide to return the machine or pay more for another software program.

Big blues
Fort Valley, Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Noisy but worth the Price
9/27/2012

Customer review by Wil

3.0 stars 9/27/2012 by Wil
by Wil

Not a bad printer for what I paid. BUT, it's cheaper to buy this printer again rather than pay for the ink cartridges separately (a new printer comes with ink). Does that make ANY sense at all? It's ink...water and dye. Stop charging so much for it. Prints fine but is really noisy. After 20 seconds of not printing anything, it does a bunch of stuff and goes into a "sleepy" type mode. Then I'm printing 10 seconds after that. Kind of a waste of time. I imagine the printer doing this all the time, will take it's toll on it working sometime soon. We will see.

Wil
Mesa, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
No usb cable included.
3/11/2013

Customer review by Sahan

1.0 stars 3/11/2013 by Sahan
by Sahan

I was very excited to get this printer home and set up. We've got a new apartment and I was going to organize everything with the scanner/printer's help. I got home and hooked everything up and put the install disc in and it said to insert the usb cable. I looked and looked through the packaging and re looked at the manual and saw that there was no usb cable included. I am very disappointed and wish it would have said somewhere on the box that this cord was needed. If i had known i would never have bought this printer.

Sahan
Pulaski VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Worth it
10/5/2012

Customer review by WillChill

4.0 stars 10/5/2012 by WillChill
by WillChill

It's very inexpensive for what it does. I only print one or two pages infrequently. The paper feeder pulls out too many pages at a time. So what? I put them back in. The scanner works about 10% of the time becaue the MP Navigaor keeps crashing. I'm contacting support. It's an easy fix. But still. The price of the printer was less than most ink refills for me. So what if its noisy, that means its doing its job. Pay more if you want quiet. I'll get it going. I'm happy a company offers something at a reasonable price.

WillChill
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Broken in four months
5/11/2013

Customer review by John

2.0 stars 5/11/2013 by John
by John

The printer worked fine for 3 1/2 months. Then, it started to jam. Then, it started making a clunking sound when it printed, and the print alignment went completely berserk. Unfortunately, it only has a 90-day warranty. It made it to about 110 days. The shame is, I just bought replacement ink for this thing that I will never use. Bottom line: we did nothing to mistreat this printer, and it failed. I realize it's an economy model, but I expected more than four months out of this machine.

John
Bethlehem, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ok, For Windows but NO drivers for LINUS
5/28/2014

Customer review by GaryE

2.0 stars 5/28/2014 by GaryE
by GaryE

Works well with Windows XP through 8.1 with minor issues when shared in Windows. The ink is long lasting and quality of prints are good. Why are there NO LINUX drivers? I originally bought this item for LINUX only operation. Other series of Cannon printers I used in the past had LINUX drivers. If you love Microsoft then fall in line and this printer might be an economical printer but do NOT purchase if you want some other operating system.

GaryE
Would recommend to a friend? No
Too Much Ink Usage
7/7/2013

Customer review by LadyJ

4.0 stars 7/7/2013 by LadyJ
by LadyJ

I am pretty happy with the performance and features of the new Pixma MG 2120 that I recently purchased, however, it seems to use up a lot more ink than any of the other printers that I have owned in the past. It seems as though I am buying ink very frequently even though I buy the long lasting packs of ink. The ink costs nearly as much as the printer did so I'm wondering if it was a wise choice in purchasing this particular type of printer.

LadyJ
Interlachen, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Didn't last very long
11/23/2012

Customer review by T2theO

3.0 stars 11/23/2012 by T2theO
by T2theO

I haven't had this printer very long (a little over a month) and it's already giving me problems. I bought it because I want to start couponing and I haven't used it very often so far. It got one paperjam that I pulled out and now it won't work. I wan't rough with it, I didn't touch any parts on the inside. And the problem i'm having isn't in the troubleshooting part of the manual. So now I get to deal with customer service.

T2theO
Linda, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Slow and loud
3/25/2013

Customer review by Megstoo

2.0 stars 3/25/2013 by Megstoo
by Megstoo

I needed a cheap printer for some work documents. I figured for the price it should at least be able to do the basic features the box said - print and scan.... I guess it got 50% of it right (at best). The print feature is incredibly LOUD and so SLOW. It won't scan and i've installed and uninstalled so many times that I think it's just a lost cause. If you're looking for a cheap printer that's not reliable this is the one.

Megstoo
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 815 total reviews
1-20 of 815 reviews