Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 245 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

245 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

245 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

69%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
119
4 stars
39
3 stars
16
2 stars
23
1 stars
48
1-20 of 217 total reviews
69%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 217 total reviews
1-20 of 217 reviews
Not easy out of the box, despite what you've read.
10/27/2012

Customer review by Skeptical00864

1.0 stars 10/27/2012 by Skeptical00864
by Skeptical00864
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This may be a one-in-a-million situation, considering all the great reviews I have read on multiple websites. This printer gave all indications that it connected to my home network, but neither the 5 second source button method nor the standard set up yielded a printer on my network that could be detected by any of my devices (laptop, iphone). It came out of the box with a firmware update 2.0 (thank goodness because Canon did not include a cable to connect it to a computer, must be purchased separately), which is what allows for AirPrint. I am very tech savvy, and I thought between my technical prowess and reading the manual (a step-by-step on peeling off the plastic an installing the cartridges), I would be able to master this thing in less than an hour. Five hours later, and I am so frustrated I am packing it up to take it back. I waited for a ship-to-store order to be delayed twice for this? A product from a company that does not have technical support during the weekends? NO WAY.

Was this review helpful? (7) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Skeptical00864
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It was good. Now bad. Making me lose my mind.
1/25/2016

Customer review by chels468

2.0 stars 1/25/2016 by chels468
by chels468

I'm no stranger with printers. I thought we bought a decent one. I mean, Canon has been around for some time now. I love my Canon camera, so why not? We've had it for about 2-3 years now and it's been nothing but a pain. It turns on, after about 15 minutes of it warming up and getting ready to act like it's going to print, it warms up some more. Then, maybe, if we are lucky, it'll bypass a reoccurring error message and it'll print something. The quality used to be pretty decent, not anymore. I don't what the deal is but avoid this older model if you see it sitting on the shelves. RUN. Save yourself the sanity.

chels468
Denton, TX, United States
Good all-around printer at a reasonable price
11/30/2012

Customer review by DBxprss

5.0 stars 11/30/2012 by DBxprss
by DBxprss

I bought this model printer at my local Wal-mart last week after becoming disillusioned with my old HP all-in-one printer and it's voracious hunger for expensive ink cartridges (about $35 per pair). This new Canon MG5320 was a little time-consuming, but otherwise very simple to set up on my network for my iMac desktop, computer, Macbook Pro laptop, and my iPad and iPod Touch. I can easily print from any of my devices now. I also went to Megatoners.com and found compatible ink cartridges for $2 each (Yes - $2). I ordered 25 cartridges (5 of each) as spares and spent $52 total. I am confident that my printing costs will now be greatly reduced.

Was this review helpful? (47) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DBxprss
Manitowoc, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great printer IF you learn how to use it
12/21/2013

Customer review by mdwychoff

5.0 stars 12/21/2013 by mdwychoff
by mdwychoff

Many reviews here complain of high ink consumption. Just because the printer 'nags' you that the ink is low, it DOES NOT mean that the ink cartridge is empty. By all means, keep a full set of cartridges handy, (I order when I get the first 'low ink' warning), but DO NOT REPLACE THE INK CARTRIDGE YET. Wait until the printer tells you that the ink cartridge is EMPTY. Even when the printer does tell you an cartridge is empty, you can still print a few more pages by pressing OK on the printer to ignore the warning because the printhead itself holds a LOT of ink. Using this method, in nearly a year of frequent use, printing photos, web pages, and lots of letter-size posters on card stock, as well as letters and envelopes, I've never had anything not print correctly because the ink actually ran out before I replaced it. I NEED a printer with both tray for letter paper AND a rear-feed for envelopes, card stock and photo paper. The newer models without a rear feed just don't meet my needs.

mdwychoff
Central Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
prints great! compact and quiet!
9/30/2012

Customer review by Fantasmo

5.0 stars 9/30/2012 by Fantasmo
by Fantasmo

The printer is nice and compact and very quiet. It prints really well! I don't use the scan bed, I have an EPSON that I've always really liked... I bought this particular model because it prints on CDs. I've been waiting for my CDs to come in..so, haven't used that function yet. But, otherwise, I think the prints are fabulous--and I love that I can just reach over and turn it off and on when I need to use it. It is very dusty where I live, so I keep the plastic bag that it came in, folded, laying on it to keep the dust to a minimum. So, I can't use the LCD panel--but it's ok. And, so far it prints on different paper types, ie 100 lb, 80 lb and foto paper.

Was this review helpful? (25) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fantasmo
Winnemucca, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Very good printer
8/21/2012

Customer review by Technofan

5.0 stars 8/21/2012 by Technofan
by Technofan

The Canon® Pixma® MG5320 All-in-one Printer is a welcome addition to my Home Office computer system. (Desktop, Windows 7-64bits, Netgear® router) Very easy to install. In a matter of minutes I had it connected to my WI-FI router and ready to test. In my many years of experience supporting personal computers, I have never encounter any other product of similar value and functionality that was easier to install than this handsome unit. Since I have this printer for less than a month, I haven’t been able to test all its offered options and I can’t comment about them. I’m looking forward to find out its maintenance costs. For low to medium volume requirements I would highly recommend it. PROS: Very simple installation and setup. Quiet and fast Photo quality printing. Very good Scanner. Intuitive controls and functionality. The 2-Way Paper Feeding is a very handy option The automatic Duplex Printing works effortlessly. Nice set of utilities included in the CD. CONS: For my requirements, none so far.

Technofan
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Pretty Good Printer
8/26/2012

Customer review by CheapSkate2

4.0 stars 8/26/2012 by CheapSkate2
by CheapSkate2

The drivers and included software work with windows XP and windows 7 It is a big printer and takes up a lot of room It has a small 75 to 100 page, fully enclosed lower paper tray Mixed pictures/print such as web pages print quickly Pictures are noticably grainy when printed on copier paper It prints real nice on inkjet printable cd/dvds, one at a time on a special tray The lcd display and functionality w/o a pc are pretty good Initial Setup was time consuming but easy to do on both usb and wireless Wireless works good, usb works good, has no wired network jack It is much bigger than I thought once I got it home and out of the box so it takes up a lot of space (width and depth). About as much as the average microwave. By the time you take all the plastic and tape off it and open and load the cartgridges, do the mandatory print head cleaning (4 min) and print head alignment (6 min) and then install the drivers and software on each pc and only then actually plug it into the pc - it seems like an hour has gone by. You do the initial setup of the printer on its display, without the pc connected. Then you install the software off the CD onto your pc and only then, you can plug in the usb cable or do wireless. I first plugged it into my desktop (windows xp sp2) via usb and it did setup no problem. I then did the wireless setup on the network, via the printer's display, to connect to my wireless router (wrt54g#. It will detect the network automatically and then you enter your pass key and its all set. Then onto the wireless for my laptop #windows 7) which was simple and quick. The software works ok in win xp or win 7 which is good because I am pretty sure you have to use the included software to be able to print to the cd/dvd tray. You go into its photo printing software, select a "cd label or cover" option and get presented with a bunch of templates which you can customize any way you want. I was very pleased with the cd/dvd printing quality. It prints all the way to within a sixteenth of an inch or so to the outer edge and about half that to the inner edge. The alignment was pretty exact without me adjusting it. The print had fully saturated color with no banding or lines or anything like that. You can only print one cd at a time on a special plastic tray that you insert into the printer manually each time after clicking the print button on your pc. For occasional use its pretty nice. Pictures printed on plain copier paper do come out noticably grainy. I think its done on purpose so you don't over saturate cheap paper. I don't have any photo paper so I don't know how well it prints on that yet.

Was this review helpful? (66) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CheapSkate2
CT-USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent for the price
2/12/2013

Customer review by bobnev

4.0 stars 2/12/2013 by bobnev
by bobnev
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am a long time Canon user. I recently had to replace our printer and at the time didn't want to go shopping so I brought the printer in from our RV, this printer is to replace the empty spot in the RV, biggest reason for choice was that it used the same ink as the printer it replaced, second reason is I am sold on Canon value for the price plus will only use a printer that uses individual color tanks. Print quality is excellent, controls are well placed and easy to use, a bonus is that it has a carriage for printing on printable CD's, that portion of the software is pretty basic but the rest of their software is easy to use and if instructions are followed, installs easily. The only con I have is that I wish it had network connection through Ethernet. It only connects with either USB or WiFi. Connecting through WiFi was the only part of installation that didn't go smooth, I found it was actually better to just use the internal setup and create the connection manually, that worked like a charm.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bobnev
Reno Nv
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It is a Gem and well worth it!
12/3/2012

Customer review by ParentGrandparent

5.0 stars 12/3/2012 by ParentGrandparent
by ParentGrandparent

We are grandparents. Our Canon i900D printer is dead after 15 years. Have 2 computers and home is wireless. The direction are pretty much straight forward. We needed a quality Photo Printer. The 5 individual print tanks are the way to go. You will find that not all printer cartiages run out at the same time in photo operation; this is where the value lies.The scanner was just a bonus and will be very useful; software will get you through on your home screen after set up. The dual paper feeder is a major plus. It feeds from the back ( lift it straight up)or slide out tray located on the bottom.This gives it the sleak look. The wife likes this and less dust inside the unit. The desktop is plugged in via USB cable note: ( need a male to male USB cable). Not all USB cables are a like, becareful don't go cheap! Sent print info from wireless laptop and the printer door(feed out tray) opens and it started printing! There is a center filp clip to balance the printed paper on the feed out print tray. Print was transferred quite fast and good quality. Sent print info from both computers at the same time and all went well.The print menu on your computer for printing has a lot of features. Hit preference and more option are available. This will give you option on how much ink will be used. Example printing web pages do not need the color printing go grey scale. All comes out black. Standard feature in printers; but saves ink for photos! The photos printed next, well done and the extra feature were helpful! Wife is happy! Not a waste of money as far as we are concerend. It will get used everyday.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ParentGrandparent
Parkersburg,WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Worked well for two years , then died
12/7/2015

Customer review by Nonac

1.0 stars 12/7/2015 by Nonac
by Nonac

This printer was all that I need. Low cost , maybe not so fast, but I,m old and don't need speed. All went well, then three days ago, it just died. A quick check of the power cord, by swapping to another did nothing. Voltage in was OK, then to the dc power adapter. I thought there may be a breaker, but finding none checked for dc voltages at the output and found some, but not knowing what they should be, I went off to service on the Canon site. No longer is service an option for this model....another wait on a phone line....too long again....this is the grand plan...throw it out and get another...there cheap enough......couldn't afford to have it fixed anyway

Nonac
Saint Cloud Florida
Another excellent Canon printer
10/16/2012

Customer review by Brown2012

5.0 stars 10/16/2012 by Brown2012
by Brown2012

We have purchased Canon printers over the years. They are easy to use and maintain. We like the fact that there are separate color cartridges, so that they can be replaced individually, instead of replacing an entire color cartridge when one color is empty . Ink replacements are reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Brown2012
Butler PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Canon PIXMA MG5320 printer
11/6/2012

Customer review by StephyL

4.0 stars 11/6/2012 by StephyL
by StephyL
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I had the model before this and it broke down within the year. I had a warranty that replaced it w/ this newest model. I like the print quality and the pictures you print on photograph paper are incredible. So sharp and vibrant. I love how easy it is to scan documents and make copies at the push of a button. My favorite feature is the quality options- you can do standard, high, and fast, and custom to save on ink. And the financial aspect is great as well- you only replace the ink color that has ran out since they have separate cartridges for black, yellow, magenta, blue.

Was this review helpful? (24) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
StephyL
Colorado Springs, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Print-TASTIC!
4/25/2013

Customer review by Mom4Research

5.0 stars 4/25/2013 by Mom4Research
by Mom4Research

I read tons of reviews before purchasing this printer. I wanted something that allowed me to print pictures with wonderful quality. I previously owned a Kodak printer and it just shut down on me one day and their customer service was lacking in the category of service SO I knew I didn't want another one of those. My in-laws had a new Canon and I used it a few times and thought it was okay, but it didn't seem to print super fast but I knew it would work for my home office so b/c of price and function I purchased this printer. I have NOT BEEN DISAPPOINTED! I LOVE this printer. It actually prints faster than my in-laws, I don't know if I got a better version or if my wireless network is higher or what, but I LOVE IT. I haven't used it for pictures yet, but I have no doubt in the quality. The ONLY bad thing I can say about it at this time is the LCD screen doesn't "stay" in an upright position really well...it isn't bad but it would be better if it had some "support".

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mom4Research
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
8/25/2013

Customer review by Paul99501

1.0 stars 8/25/2013 by Paul99501
by Paul99501

I've had this for over a year now and cannot say anything good about it. All I want is to be able to print over my secure and up-to-date wireless network and doing that with this printer is a nightmare. The help screens and on-screen manual are completely useless. My hacker teenage son and my friend the professional IT guy could not get the wireless printing to work. The Canon support website wasn't helpful -- instead of being written at a consumer level it is written at a tech level I could not understand. I finally really, really needed to get something to print and it took me about 3 hours of trial and error, frustration and guessing, etc., to get it to work wirelessly. For now. My kids get very frustrated because they cannot print their homework over the network, even after they each installed the up-to-date printer driver/software. And when it does work...slow slow slow. I'm very dissatisfied with this printer and absolutely do not recommend it.

Paul99501
Anchorage, AK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good basic all in one
11/6/2012

Customer review by BusyGirl1

4.0 stars 11/6/2012 by BusyGirl1
by BusyGirl1

I use this printer for school. I've had it for almost a year now, and it usually prints quickly. I do feel like it uses ink pretty quickly, but it works pretty well. Also, the ink is almost $15.00 a piece unless you buy the all in one pack. I think that's a little expensive, but this is the first printer I've ever owned. I haven't used it to print out picture except for one on accident on regular paper. It was descent. I would recommend this to someone else.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BusyGirl1
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
I can't set up the printer with my cell phone
11/26/2015

Customer review by tiosanto

5.0 stars 11/26/2015 by tiosanto
by tiosanto

I bought this printer, but I can't print any documents or photos from my cell phone

tiosanto
North Carolina, United States
Try another model no more 5320
11/3/2015

Customer review by Tee

2.0 stars 11/3/2015 by Tee
by Tee

I tried to like the MG5320 but it uses a lot of ink. Paper jams are frequent and now 2 1/2 years it is dead . Error code B200 which I see is common if you google it . Tech support says it was a mechanical failure . Not worth the cost to repair .This is the 2nd Cannon in the Pixma 5300 series I have purchased . Disappointed they last past warranty but that's about it . I guess 2 years is great the last one lasted a year and 1/2 the other one I returned .

Tee
Georgia
Best value in the price range
4/9/2013

Customer review by butterflydreaming

5.0 stars 4/9/2013 by butterflydreaming
by butterflydreaming
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Even at full price, this Canon Pixma MG5320 is the best overall value in the under $300 dollar range. It comes with a complete set of ink cartridges. Other printers that I looked at had "trial size" cartridges that were not full. So that's about $75 value there. Compare that cost with other Canon models and with any other brand. A lot of inks don't tell you how much printing you will get out of them now, but I know from my other printer that these PGI-225 and CLI-226 cartridges can do a whole ream of paper before they run low, printing "normal," everyday documents. You will have to put a fresh cartridge in if any one of them runs out or it won't print, so have a back up set of inks. It was a breeze to set up because I read the instructions. (It had been a while since I bought and set up a new printer.) The wireless function is like magic. The photo quality is gorgeous! It also prints on CDs when you use the included software and the special tray. Some things to watch out for: use the special paper for the alignment! Set up the printer before you set it up on your computer! Open the cartridges "upside down" so that you don't get ink on your fingers from touching the little sponge circle.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
butterflydreaming
Seattle
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good for the price. Not very good as photo printer
3/16/2013

Customer review by trompo54

4.0 stars 3/16/2013 by trompo54
by trompo54
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought this printer based on my experience with a previous Canon Pixma earlier model (MP560) which was very good on both, documents and photos (Color and B&W) but died by error b200. The MG5320 takes a bit more time to start printing documents but has a reasonable printing speed so for me this is not an issue. Where I found noticeable difference in quality is when printing B&W photos. My son is a skateboarder photographer and likes to print a lot in B&W and is here where this printer fails to deliver a nice, acceptable level of quality. Airprint capability is a plus for people using iPads And iPhones like we do. My wife loves to easy print directly from her iPhone wireless. Overall a good, reliable printer for your daily needs. If you print a lot of photos, better get something a bit more expensive and of a better quality.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
trompo54
Miami, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Disappointing
9/11/2015

Customer review by tdj2591

1.0 stars 9/11/2015 by tdj2591
by tdj2591

When I first installed this printer, I loved it, especially the air print feature, and rated it a 5. After using is for over a year, I now rate it much lower. It takes forever to print the first page - when I can get it to print. I get error messages and nothing prints about 9 out of 10 print attempts. I waste a ton of time just trying to get it to print. It sometimes disconnects itself from wifi and then air print won't work. I generally love Canon products (such as my cameras and lenses) but highly doubt that I will ever buy another Canon printer. I do not recommend this printer at all.

tdj2591
Deep South
1-20 of 217 total reviews
1-20 of 217 reviews