Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 83 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

83 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

83 reviews | 4 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
40
4 stars
24
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 stars
9
1-20 of 65 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 65 total reviews
1-20 of 65 reviews
Get what you pay for...
8/9/2012

Customer review by tech4life

5.0 stars 8/9/2012 by tech4life
by tech4life

I had done extensive research before buying a new printer and I'm glad I chose this one! This printer has all of the features I needed and more. Print quality is excellent and the setup is easy as well. I'll probably never use the fax but it's good to know I have the option. I also got a great bundle deal via Walmart.com. Canon does not disappoint!

Was this review helpful? (72) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tech4life
Arlington, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
EXCELLENT,PRINTER
9/7/2012

Customer review by JacksonCo

5.0 stars 9/7/2012 by JacksonCo
by JacksonCo

EXCELLENT !, PRINTER / COPIER /SCANNER / FAX. AND IF YOU NEED HELP, CANON 800 # WILL HELP AND IT IS FAST.

Was this review helpful? (40) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JacksonCo
Gautier,Ms.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This printer is fantastic!!!
11/3/2012

Customer review by sstar00868

5.0 stars 11/3/2012 by sstar00868
by sstar00868

This does it all. Print, scan, copy, fax. Its amazing, its fast, easy to set up, everything works perfectly, the wi-fi is great its so simple. Everything I needed and better than expected!

Was this review helpful? (29) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sstar00868
Grand Rapids, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Quality
9/3/2012

Customer review by tadshopper

5.0 stars 9/3/2012 by tadshopper
by tadshopper

Best purchase. Great product. The speed is very good along with quality of print. I would recommend purchasing this to anyone. We are extremely please. Easy to connect wireless feature.

Was this review helpful? (36) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tadshopper
Huntington, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for replacement of low volume machine
1/7/2013

Customer review by Richer

5.0 stars 1/7/2013 by Richer
by Richer

Pros: 1) Machine is performing as described. I didn't have even one problem setting up the PC wireless connection, the fax settings, and the scan settings. 2) The Canon Pixma MX512 uses two ink cartridges, black & multicolor. The printheads are integral with the ink cartridge. This means that each year you get NEW printheads with the replacement ink cartridges. Otherwise you would be spending over $150 each year for a replacement printhead (needed for low volume users). 3) The auto scan provision is much easier to use than my former HP d145. 4) My first attempt at faxing went well. I just had to fax with black instead of color. 5) The color operational display on the unit is great. It is a great improvement over the older monochrome ones. Using it is mostly intuitive. 6) The instructions for the basic setup were helpful and have abundant graphics. 7) The machine is beautiful--it is much nicer looking than the picture. Cons: 1)There is no written manual. You have to read a topic several times to really understand it. Very time consuming. You can't make notes at appropriate areas of the on PC manual.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Richer
Akron, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Buy
1/12/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/12/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I've had this printer since Nov. 2012 and have not had a problem. It was a little hard setting up and it went off line once, so far, but it was really easy getting it back online. I use it mainly to print coupons and even though the ink is low right now, the quality of the print jobs are wonderful. No faded lines or error messages at the moment. Oh, I have had 1 paper jam.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Charleston, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
8/13/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 8/13/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Good bang for the buck!

Was this review helpful? (13) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Salida, Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Not easy to fix problems
1/29/2013

Customer review by magic111

1.0 stars 1/29/2013 by magic111
by magic111

I had read on-line reviews for this printer where some people had problems getting this wireless printer setup. I got through the setup without any real difficulty. I followed the steps to align the printer and again that was easy enough. I started printing and the first 10-15 pages printed beautifully. I was very happy with this printer up until this point. Then the problems began. The next page I printed got jammed. It didn't look like a bad jam. It was just stuck loading the paper. I followed the steps in the troubleshooting guide to remove the paper jam without much difficulty. However, now when I tried to print the alignment was all messed up and some of the lines on the page are shifted to the left. Because things aren't aligned it looks blurry and is hard to read. At this point I found that most of the diagnositic and repair features of this printer cannot be done wirelessly. I went through all of the auto alignment diagnostics that I could launch from the machine but the alignment problem remained. Next the guide said if that doesn't work try doing the manual alignment. To do this I had to get a usb cable to connect the computer to my laptop because the machine doesn't come with one. I then went through the very tedious manual alignment and every other option from the troubleshooting menu and the problem still remained. I needed to print some things right away so I connected back up my old HP that I was replacing with this one (and which I had borrowed the usb cable from to do the manual repairs) and printed what I needed. I packed this Canon back up and returned it. I'm sure that I could have called Canon to get help but this printer was already much more trouble than it was worth.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
magic111
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Canon Pixma MX512
10/22/2012

Customer review by AbbyBeej

5.0 stars 10/22/2012 by AbbyBeej
by AbbyBeej

I've only had the product a couple of weeks, but so far so good. Bought it for it's ability to print from our iPhones and iPad, and it works like a charm. Also set it up for our Mac Book and HP lap top. Works great all around. I live in Canada and bought this product in the U.S., so the warranty may be void in Canada. Something to think about if warranty is important to you.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AbbyBeej
Abbotsford, BC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Error 5011
11/5/2012

Customer review by FL1031

1.0 stars 11/5/2012 by FL1031
by FL1031

Upon plugging it in experienced an error code 5011. After multiple attempts to clear the ink cartridge track was able to start the printer with no errors. Upon scanning first document noticed a constant black bar to the right of every scan. Cannot complete a full document scan without the black bars, might be a portion of the scanner that is dead or broken. Will be returning and not purchasing another one due to this experience. Complete fail and disappointment from Canon.

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FL1031
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great product
10/9/2012

Customer review by cw52

5.0 stars 10/9/2012 by cw52
by cw52

I love, love, love it! very easy to set up. Took me less than 30 minutes.,and i am a computer nerd.Very easy and clear instrutions. Wireless is the way to go.You will not be sorry you bought it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cw52
newport news,Va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Works great
10/26/2012

Customer review by VikingsFan4Ever

4.0 stars 10/26/2012 by VikingsFan4Ever
by VikingsFan4Ever

I work through a VPN the printer will not work via wi fi unless I disconnect from the VPN. Otherwise works great, a little trouble trying to figure out how to work options. But then if all else fails read the directions

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VikingsFan4Ever
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great All in One Wireless Printer!
2/8/2013

Customer review by FLNative5777

5.0 stars 2/8/2013 by FLNative5777
by FLNative5777

Looking for an All-in-One Printer with wireless access? Stop shopping! This is your baby! As a Consumer Reports member, I checked out all of the printers in this category; and the Canon PIXMA MX512 is by far the best for the money! I love the wireless! My wife teased me because I muted the TV so I could hear the printer in the study print a document I sent to it! Now, to be fair, I haven't had it long enough to verify how it does on ink usage. But the quality of print for regular Word color documents has been far above average! I am so pleased, I am considering getting one for the office!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FLNative5777
Naples, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great all-in-one!
12/12/2012

Customer review by GrandpaDuck62

5.0 stars 12/12/2012 by GrandpaDuck62
by GrandpaDuck62

A fantastic printer with easy set-up; had difficulty with my virus protection, stayed on phone with Canon customer support and they walked me through until I cleared the problem!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GrandpaDuck62
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great printer and an even better price.
12/28/2012

Customer review by Falcons78

5.0 stars 12/28/2012 by Falcons78
by Falcons78

Great printer and an even better price. Not even Amazon, Ebay or any other outlet had this printer at this price.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Falcons78
Bowie, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Printer for anyone using Wi-Fi or wired conn
3/25/2013

Customer review by grandmafay1

5.0 stars 3/25/2013 by grandmafay1
by grandmafay1

I love this printer.....it works great and my son also has one and they have no problems...the only thing i wish, if it came with the larger ink tanks to begin with.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
grandmafay1
Northern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
12/26/2012

Customer review by KEEPONTRKN

5.0 stars 12/26/2012 by KEEPONTRKN
by KEEPONTRKN

we were well pleased with the CANON PIXMA MX512, was not bulky, nice looking piece of equipment complimented our computer we already had, easy to set up, glad we did our homework before we purchased one,you cant go wrong. Thank you walmart for making it so easy to order it on line and pick it up at the store. EASY TO SET UP.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KEEPONTRKN
JACKSBORO,TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great price, scanner options and print preview
1/21/2013

Customer review by jnd80

5.0 stars 1/21/2013 by jnd80
by jnd80

this was hard to set up wireless but worth the effort. The scanner is all I wanted it to be and more, copies good and quickly. On screen menu gives great flexibility.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jnd80
Deer Park, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very good product for the money
1/1/2013

Customer review by WOdom

4.0 stars 1/1/2013 by WOdom
by WOdom

Set-up was easy and output has been great.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WOdom
Chesapeake, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I like the print quality and ease of paper loading
12/19/2012

Customer review by VUMS

4.0 stars 12/19/2012 by VUMS
by VUMS

I am still learning how to operate efficiently all the features like scanning and photo printing. So far it is operating as good or better than similar priced printers that I have owned.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VUMS
Jackson, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 65 total reviews
1-20 of 65 reviews