Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 39 reviews | 2.6 out of 5

2.5 stars

39 reviews | 2.6 out of 5

2.5 stars

39 reviews | 2.6 out of 5

49%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
6
4 stars
7
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 stars
16
1-20 of 36 total reviews
49%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 36 total reviews
1-20 of 36 reviews
Yes, it works...
8/23/2012

Customer review by Coloradocut

4.0 stars 8/23/2012 by Coloradocut
by Coloradocut

My four year old saw this on TV and wanted it for his birthday. I hit the web to see the reviews on it and was surprised at how polarized the reviews were. Most people either liked or hated it. It either worked for them or it didn't. After reading through a lot of reviews, I decided that it was probably worth the money, if nothing else for the novelty and science lesson. I ordered it online from Wal-Mart and picked it up in the store. Following the advice of the most positive reviews, I made sure to freeze the ice cubes overnight, chill the liquid beforehand and only filled the glass about half way. Following this route, I've been able to get a decent slushy after about 3 minutes of me (adult) shaking it. We’ve used cherry Kool-Aid and lemonade. My kids love it. You get a much lighter slush than you ever would in a blender with ice and the drink is not watered down.

Was this review helpful? (20) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Coloradocut
Castle Rock, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Slushy Magic
6/16/2012

Customer review by GB24

3.0 stars 6/16/2012 by GB24
by GB24

My husband picked this up while at the store. The kids have been asking for one for a while now and were very excited to finally get their hands on it! The first time we used it we let the cubes freeze for three hours, and the drink was chilled in the fridge for the same amount of time, yet the drink did not become slushy, only had a few pieces of ice in it. The kids were dejected. But I suggested to put the cubes back in the freezer along with their drink. The did that for about an hour, then placed the cubes inside the super chilled drink, and bam, we had a slushy like you see on the commercial. They've had the Slushy Magic for over a month now, and they still use it almost daily.

Was this review helpful? (56) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GB24
Pgh,PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Not a quality product.
12/14/2015

Customer review by Angie

1.0 stars 12/14/2015 by Angie
by Angie

This product seemed to work well but the cup was bulky and then it didn't work as well the 3rd and 4th time. It was also hard to clean. We didn't want to use it after that. I would not recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Angie
Would recommend to a friend? No
Fun and Educational for the Kids
5/22/2012

Customer review by FamilyManP

5.0 stars 5/22/2012 by FamilyManP
by FamilyManP
Top 500 contributor

I got this for my kids and they love it. They are amazed how their favorite drink can turn into a slushy... They ask to use it almost every night. One thing I noticed is make sure you use all of the ice packets that come with it. If you only use two it will not freeze enough and makes it cold with a little slush on top. If you use all three right out of the freezer it works perfectly.

Was this review helpful? (105) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FamilyManP
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Top 500 contributor
Good slushy maker, but hard to use
7/19/2012

Customer review by seattlemom123

4.0 stars 7/19/2012 by seattlemom123
by seattlemom123

My kids loved this when they saw the commerical, but we were wating until it came to the store. When it finally came to walmart. We bought it. The bad part is that it is kind of hard to use, but to make it work right you have to have the 3 freezer cubes completely frozen which took two days in our freezer. Then you have to make sure your juice or drink you put in it is really cold. We chilled in the freezer. You then have to shake for more than 1 minute sometimes up to 7 minutes to turn it into a slushy. My kids really enjoyed making it.

Was this review helpful? (28) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
seattlemom123
Seattle, wa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Slushy Magic Not So Slushy?
11/27/2012

Customer review by hamcg

3.0 stars 11/27/2012 by hamcg
by hamcg
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The instructions do say that the colder the beverage, the better the slushy. This is OH SO TRUE! We found that unless the beverage is already really cold, we could not get Slushy Magic to make a slushy. It just made the beverage colder. Our beverages had to be 36 degrees F or colder in order for ourts to work at all.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hamcg
Westminster, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
So-So product
5/18/2012

Customer review by LeeMT

2.0 stars 5/18/2012 by LeeMT
by LeeMT
Top 500 contributor

Just like that "Eggie" I bought a while back, the Slushy Magic will probably end up at my next garage sale table. If you're expecting a convenience store type slushy with this product, forget it. But it does make an very cold drink with a little slush floating on top, so I'm not giving it an F. Also, be sure to do your shaking over a sink. Even with the lid screwed on tight, it leaks like crazy.

Was this review helpful? (40) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LeeMT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Top 500 contributor
Not Worth $15
7/22/2012

Customer review by SaneSpender

2.0 stars 7/22/2012 by SaneSpender
by SaneSpender

It's NOT completely worthless. It DOES make a slushy. But most of the room is taken up by the cubes so you don't get much slushy. It's a cute product for the kids to shake but at nearly $15 a piece? You have to buy one per child because it's not enough to share and that's too much money to spend on a product like this in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SaneSpender
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
My daughter loves this!
8/15/2012

Customer review by bridgetteky

4.0 stars 8/15/2012 by bridgetteky
by bridgetteky

This is great for little kids! My daughter is 3 and she loves it. I only gave it 4 stars because it's pretty messy. I would recommend shaking it over the sink it does leak. Also make sure the cubes are froze solid not just slushy.

Was this review helpful? (12) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bridgetteky
London, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome! But
12/30/2012

Customer review by Lizard808

3.0 stars 12/30/2012 by Lizard808
by Lizard808

It works great but it's not mess free like it says on the box. I suggest u shake it over the sink or wrap a towel around it or u will have liquid all over the place

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lizard808
Morehead, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Spend more and get a food processor instead!
1/12/2015

Customer review by JLSMOMMA

1.0 stars 1/12/2015 by JLSMOMMA
by JLSMOMMA

I had bought one of these from the local Price Chopper. Like any product that you will eat or drink from (or cook with) I washed it before use and put the "ice cubes" in the freezer overnight to make sure they were frozen. I tried it out the next day and I must say this product is a joke! I shook the cup for a total of 15-30 minutes with very little results; (just a cold drink; not enough "ice crystals" to be considered a "slushie"). I washed everything and had called customer service that manufactured these and was told to just box it back up and return it to where I bought it for a refund. Don't waste your money one these; you're better off spending more for a food processor or blender that will work better and have more uses for!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JLSMOMMA
Would recommend to a friend? No
WASTE OF MONEY
8/21/2012

Customer review by POORSLUSHIEMAGIC

1.0 stars 8/21/2012 by POORSLUSHIEMAGIC
by POORSLUSHIEMAGIC

I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND. I TRIED MANY TIMES AND I COULD NOT MAKE A SLUSHIE THE ONLY TIME IT TURNED INTO A SLUSHIE WAS WHEN I LEFT THE WHOLE CUP IN THE FREEZER FOR A FEW HOURS. WASTE OF 15 BUCKS. WELL AT LEAST MY DAUGHTER HAS A NEW CUP. BUT WE ARE MAD!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (11) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
POORSLUSHIEMAGIC
ILLINOIS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
It works!!!
11/29/2012

Customer review by Calsmom

5.0 stars 11/29/2012 by Calsmom
by Calsmom

I was very skeptical that this would work when my daughter got it for her bday. It does work and she's made many drinks with it. She loves it and I'm happy that it worked for her since she was excited to get it as a gift.

Was this review helpful? (10) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Calsmom
MASS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
does what its suppoused to
12/27/2012

Customer review by Sweettea215

5.0 stars 12/27/2012 by Sweettea215
by Sweettea215

I bought my daughter the disney princess version of this, she has been asking for it for a while now... soon as you get it put the ice cubs in the freezer. the colder they are the better it makes the slushy

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sweettea215
ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
My 9 year old daughter makes her own slushies!!
12/31/2012

Customer review by MarietheMom

4.0 stars 12/31/2012 by MarietheMom
by MarietheMom
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My 9 year old daughter can make her own slushies very easily with this and it really works!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MarietheMom
Grayslake, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/4/2013

Customer review by shortlegs44

5.0 stars 1/4/2013 by shortlegs44
by shortlegs44
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My son was very happy to recieve his slushy magic for Christmas. He say this is the best toy ever. Thanks again for getting it here before Christmas, so my son had something to open on Christmas Day.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shortlegs44
Milwaukee, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/30/2012

Customer review by saphronaes

3.0 stars 12/30/2012 by saphronaes
by saphronaes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My daughter loves it. However, as a parent I am not a big fan. It makes a mess, and you get more drink then you do slushy.. It works for kids.. However, it's messy!! I wouldn't say it's great, but it's not terrible either. Just an average product!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
saphronaes
Huntingdon, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Actually Works!
1/2/2013

Customer review by BobfromCortland

4.0 stars 1/2/2013 by BobfromCortland
by BobfromCortland
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The science behind it is sound but you still have to questions whether it will work. It's just like the old ice cream makers. salt and ice create intense cold. Will we use it on a regular basis, probably not but kind of neat on occasion.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BobfromCortland
Cortland, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/27/2012

Customer review by slrandolph

1.0 stars 7/27/2012 by slrandolph
by slrandolph

My daughter pick this for a birthday gift and was so excited to get it home. She was so disappointed! It didnot freeze much and she almost cried! This is going back!

Was this review helpful? (5) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
slrandolph
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Junk
9/2/2012

Customer review by needitnow29

1.0 stars 9/2/2012 by needitnow29
by needitnow29

Tried a soft drink and chocolate milk; did not make a "slushie", only collected ice directly on the reusable cubes. If I had been a child (I had intended to buy more for children in my charge), I would have been sorely disappointed in the whole world.

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
needitnow29
Winston Salem, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
1-20 of 36 total reviews
1-20 of 36 reviews