Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 93 reviews | 2.5 out of 5

2.5 stars

93 reviews | 2.5 out of 5

5 stars
18
4 stars
16
3 stars
6
2 stars
9
1 stars
44
37%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 92 total reviews
Junk after 6 months
1/20/2013

Customer review by Ambrosia282

2.0 stars by Ambrosia282

I purchased this can in red. It worked great for 6 months but now the plastic push piece is worn out and the lid no longer stays closed. Now shopping for a replacement and it will not be this one or anything like it!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Ambrosia282
MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice trash containers!
9/8/2014

Customer review by Rosemom1

5.0 stars by Rosemom1

I wanted a container that would open with a pedal but these have a "spring top" so they work well. I ordered two (one for food garbage and one for burnables). It took longer to have them delivered to our local Walmart than I expected. The one was fine but the other didn't work. I discovered that the springs were on backwards-once I switched them it was fine too. They are roomy and I can get more garbage in them than my old cans. The lids close tight so no odors come out. There are metal rings that keep the bags in place-no slipping down as it gets filled. I would certainly recommend them!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Rosemom1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It Works
9/20/2014

Customer review by SitStayEnjoy

5.0 stars by SitStayEnjoy

Holds bag securly, top closes and opens easily. I don't expect a trashcan to do much except hold trash till I take it out and this can does just that.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
SitStayEnjoy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Faulty latch design doesn't keep lid closed
6/18/2014

Customer review by shoebear

1.0 stars by shoebear

This is an outstanding trash can in many respects: It's good looking and well built. It has an innovative bag holder that works great, and it has a capacious design that allows full use of a 13-gallon trash bag. However, it has a fatal flaw. The latch is weak and uses plastic as a spring to keep it closed. After a week or two of use, the plastic "spring" wore out and the latch wouldn't hold, allowing the lid to spring open. What good is a covered trash can that cannot be kept closed? If Rubbermaid fixed this one flaw, I would rate this can 5 stars; it really is a superior can in most respects. But we are throwing ours away after only about 6 weeks of use and replacing it with the step version of this can. Initially, we avoided a step can because past step cans we've owned have broken after a year or so. However, the step version of this can has a metal rod from the pedal to the lid, so maybe this one will last longer. I guess we'll see. Actually, I prefer a step can, if it will hold up, because you don't have to touch the can with clean hands.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
shoebear
Would recommend to a friend? No
Top doesn't open.
6/17/2014

Customer review by sj111

2.0 stars by sj111

Product doesn't function as advertised.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
sj111
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Pure Junk
5/5/2014

Customer review by Glenn84

1.0 stars by Glenn84

This trash can is pure TRASH! I really really wanted to like this but the darn lid won't stay shut!! I've re-aligned the bag and it will maybe stay shut once but then never again! It's so freakin annoying!! Do not buy this

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Glenn84
Would recommend to a friend? No
Love IT!!! No Problems
10/10/2010

Customer review by MommyCop

5.0 stars by MommyCop

I have read many of the other reviews and I was suprised with all the latch problems. I have had this trash can for around 4 months and have had No problems at all. I love it and so do my children. My 5 and 6 year old love to put in the trash can liners becuase they get to hold it in with the LinerLock (that just shows how easy it is to use). The LinerLock is such a great idea and works perfectly. The trash can liner stays in place always, no matter how many heavy items I put in the trash can. It has saved on clean ups in the trash can. I can't imagine my kitchen with out it. I included a picture of my upgrade to this great Trash Can. Here is a link to by blog where I talk about it. http://fishfulthinking-cbusch.blogspot.com/2010/08/rubbermaid-trash-cans-are-best.html

MommyCop
Nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Easy To Use
2/27/2013

Customer review by DKStraub

5.0 stars by DKStraub

The spring top makes throwing trash away so easy. It looks great because it conceals trash and it holds a lot of waste. A very good trash can.

DKStraub
Beckley, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
BEST garbage can ever!!
11/5/2013

Customer review by kat460

5.0 stars by kat460

I have had this garbage can for awhile and it is perfect to have when you have garbage rooting dogs.

kat460
York, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Love it!
12/22/2013

Customer review by CarolineT

5.0 stars by CarolineT

I've never had trouble with the lid staying closed like some of the other reviewers have mentioned.  The liner lock works great and is still holding strong after a few years of owning it!

CarolineT
Nashville, TN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Bag Stays Put - Lid stays shut!
2/2/2014

Customer review by Elaine09

5.0 stars by Elaine09

This is the can I've been waiting for!  Finally a can that makes the bag stay put.  So many years I've been waiting for an economical waste can to be manufactured to help with bags falling  (the bag companies have tried).  The lid on mine stays on great and the 13 gallon bags completely fills this LinerLock waste can unlike the bag in my old cans that had to be lifted out and then filled the rest of the way up.  I'm sorry for others who had poor fitting lid but mine works so great that I had to give my opinion of this can.  I was so happy with it's performance!

Elaine09
Milford, OH, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
FINALLY!!!!!!!!!!!
4/21/2014

Customer review by Nutplate

5.0 stars by Nutplate

This trash can is THE Best I've ever used.I've used it in my home for @ 5 years now and it has been flawless!!!! The wire locks keep the bag UP in the receptacle and the release/latch for the lid has worked without fail!!!!Easy bag removal,Always gets completely full,replacing bag is easy too!Can't say enough good things about this trash basket!!!!!!!!

Nutplate
Houston tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
BEST CAN EVER
5/24/2014

Customer review by Elvira

5.0 stars by Elvira

I bought this can after trying many flip tops and stainless steel can that didn`t open without intervention. This is a great can. It opens easily with just a gentle touch. The bag stays secure and never falls down. I recommend this to others and they love it as well. I need to get another one to replace the useless one I have. Good job Rubbermaid!

Elvira
Ottawa, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
We can open it, but the dog can not!!
6/22/2014

Customer review by Berbie

5.0 stars by Berbie

The best kitchen trash can I've ever owned and the only one my dog has not been able to break into! I'd like to buy another one for recycling, but I can't seem to find this exact style again in stores. Lid opens with one touch and stays open while in use, closes with a click and stays closed while not in use. I really like the bag lock feature too - keeps the bag from slipping, easy to swap out, does not pierce the bag when replacing lid. Perfect size container for any brand of tall kitchen bag, doesn't take up much space, easy to clean, simple and effective design. Thanks Rubbermaid!

Berbie
Severn, MD, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Love it!!
12/31/2014

Customer review by Jo Ann

5.0 stars by Jo Ann

Had it for almost 2 years! I love it. Best plastic kitchen garbage can I have owned.

Jo Ann
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
8/15/2013

Customer review by mm151

5.0 stars by mm151

Love the way lid opens and closes, plus bags do not fall in can.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
mm151
Osterville, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
nice size, great price
3/26/2014

Customer review by mrsadie

5.0 stars by mrsadie

durable, great size and price. I am not using the lid because it is under a counter but was unable to find a can this size with a reasonable price without a lid.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
mrsadie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Housewarming gift
5/31/2014

Customer review by JoyfulAK

5.0 stars by JoyfulAK

I've owned one for many years and thought it would make a great housewarming gift.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
JoyfulAK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Can
11/29/2014

Customer review by Purpleqnmd

5.0 stars by Purpleqnmd

I had this same can before. I like it because of the bag hooks. It really holds the bag securly.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Purpleqnmd
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Sturdy
1/6/2015

Customer review by jefinfl

5.0 stars by jefinfl

Excellent quality

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
jefinfl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 92 total reviews