Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 35 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

35 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

35 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

71%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
16
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 stars
6
1-20 of 30 total reviews
71%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 30 total reviews
1-20 of 30 reviews
Over all great Value
5/11/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 5/11/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

For the price, this an awesome deal. I've had my for a month now it is a great internet tablet. This is not an ipad, but an excellent alternative for 1/3 the cost. If your considering buying an ipad as gift for a young child 13 or under this is a great alternative. Pros: - the latest Android OS 4.0 - great internet tablet - great size (same as ipad) - great dispaly - able to download AMAZON app / kindle. netflic etc - USB connection - HDMI output - PRICE cannot beat the price for Adroid 4.0 10" tablet Con: - No ANDROID APP market (Now called Google Play) although you can download and install via a semi-hack way - processor speed is responsive but not as fast as ipad, but good enough - back plastic feel flimsy and cheap Over all great Value

Was this review helpful? (70) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Southern CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Great tablet
5/12/2012

Customer review by Terrijj

5.0 stars 5/12/2012 by Terrijj
by Terrijj

This is a great tablet. The large screen is wonderful. I have never had a problem with it. Great product for the money!!

Was this review helpful? (32) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Terrijj
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Awesome Tablet
5/15/2012

Customer review by Nightmocha

5.0 stars 5/15/2012 by Nightmocha
by Nightmocha

This is an Awesome tablet at a great price. I've had it for about a month and not one single problem. My friends, who already had tablets, now want mine.

Was this review helpful? (31) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nightmocha
Joplin, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
LOVE IT
6/1/2012

Customer review by CUTIEKAYKAY

5.0 stars 6/1/2012 by CUTIEKAYKAY
by CUTIEKAYKAY

I BOUGHT THIS TABLET FOR MY 10YR OLD SON AND WE ABSOLUTELY LOVE IT!!! IT IS JUST LIKE THE IPAD, SAME SIZE AND SIMILAR FEATURES FOR $200 LESS. I'M ABOUT TO ORDER A SECOND COBY TABLET FOR MY MOM THAT'S HOW GOOD IT IS. SHIPPING WAS SUPER FAST GOT IT WAY BEFORE THE TIME, ORDERED IT TUESDAY AND RECIEVED IT THURSDAY NOT BAD WALMART..

Was this review helpful? (35) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CUTIEKAYKAY
MIDDLETOWN, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Coby Could have done much better with their tablet
6/8/2012

Customer review by Qertety

2.0 stars 6/8/2012 by Qertety
by Qertety

Pros: This Tablet comes with Android 4.0, clear crisp screen, Netflix looks great on it, and internet works fine. Apps You Can Get: Kindle, Nook, Netflix, Twitter, games, NBC Nightly News ( The only news app they have), Pandora, Skype, and many unknown/ unpopular apps. Cons: No Google play. Comes with Jetjar and it has very few good apps. You can download the amazon app store, which is way better than Jetjar, but no app store can top Google play. Amazon app store still don't have all the apps you might want. You can also download the SlideMe Market, but once again, you won't find a lot of cool apps. Tablet comes with 2 cameras (Web and back cam). They both seem to work fine, but I had some problems using Skype to video chat (Note that Skype is the only app you'll be able to get for video chatting) you can see the person you call, but they can't see you on their end. So what good is the web cam then? Guess it's just there to take pics, but I don't know if the reason is because the tablet I have has some type of defect. The tablet comes with wack apps. The only social networking app you can download is twitter from the Jetjar app store. Conclusion: It all depends on what you want to do. It might be good for some people who want to use it for eReading (Kindle, Bible, Kolo, & Nook app), Netflix, games, etc.

Was this review helpful? (15) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Qertety
Jamaica, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Priced for what you are getting.
7/13/2012

Customer review by syconix

3.0 stars 7/13/2012 by syconix
by syconix

PROs: Affordable (kind of) - Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich - Big enough color LCD screen (9.7) with multitouch - Preloaded with simple apps - decent WiFi Connectivity - Considerable storage space @ 8 Gig - USB for external Storage and keyboard and mouse devices - Extended 16+ Gig microSD Slot (might be limited to a certain capacity, not sure). Has rear and front camera with decent megapixs @ 2 and 3 . includes built in speakers and microphone (will do skype or viber) - Has animated wallpaper. CONs: No Bluetooth connectivity (what a let down) - Battery is average to 3-4.5 hours (will shorten as it gets older) - It does not have Android market, uses GetJar. - When installing Skype and Viber togther it will uninstall the other communicator, it only allows one to exist. - USB Bluetooth devices does not seem to work using included usb adaptor, and usb apks or drivers are hard to find and most does not work (any hacks is greatly appreciated and anticipated - Please hack it!) - @ this moment (7/13/2012) NO downloadable Device support at CobyUSA.com.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
syconix
Thousand Oaks, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Worth the $$ for what it is.
6/19/2012

Customer review by FidoSysop

3.0 stars 6/19/2012 by FidoSysop
by FidoSysop

Not a bad little tablet for a low price. Pros: very bright crisp display, easily connects to wifi, good battery life, ability to connect external keyboard / mouse combo with usb. My skype works great on it. Cons: Getjar app suit is total trash. It's full of junk apps. Found one news app for USA Today and installed it, app said it was too old and gave an update link that lead to Google Play that this device can not access. You cant get access to Google Play period. Must be the Android licensing. I think this my worst experience with it. However if you have another device it's fairly simple to back up your apps on that device with Astro, then transfer them to Coby's download directory via usb cable connected to your pc. You can install any .apk apps from there easily with it's included file manager. Beware some of your apps will not work. Possibly because there is no menu key in Android 4.0. I have loaded Opera Mobile browser on it, along with Adobe flash to be able to view embedded videos. This tablet handles Opera Mobile much better than it's included Android browser. However if your browsing a site with a lot of graphics, give the page time to fully load before trying to scroll down it. I also recommend using the resource manager to kill any unneeded processes that stay running after you go back to the home screen before doing any serious web browsing. But remember, this is not an iPad. It's a cheap generic tablet that is great for a beginner, or a child. If your a perfectionist and demand excellence, this probably is not the unit for you.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FidoSysop
Clearwater Fla
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good product -- good price
6/25/2012

Customer review by Patterdl

5.0 stars 6/25/2012 by Patterdl
by Patterdl

Not knowing if I would even use a tablet (I'm a heavy computer user -- laptop and desktop), I thought this would be a logical product to try. The price (on sale when I ordered it) was great. It arrived quickly and worked perfectly from day one. I have downloaded lots of different apps and even purchased the Office/app to view and edit documents and powerpoints. Have used it everyday since it arrived to check all my email accounts; googled maps and information for a trip; have downloaded several books I am reading; Facebook; games; music, just about everything. It connects easily to a USB port and a TV for larger for synching and viewing. I'm sure there are more powerful tablets on the market, but this one is great for my uses.

Was this review helpful? (10) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Patterdl
Altoona, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great tablet
9/21/2012

Customer review by terasec

4.0 stars 9/21/2012 by terasec
by terasec

i browsed tablets for my niece, being an Ipad user, was hard to judge tablets just by specs online, tablet is great, easy to use, fast and powerful, apps are plentiful, for the price, paid $169 at BJ's, i would purchase this over an Ipad, and no ads like kindle and such it runs adroid 4.0 which i prefer over others, interface is very very similar to Ipad, no regrets,

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
terasec
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
6/22/2012

Customer review by MsObserver

4.0 stars 6/22/2012 by MsObserver
by MsObserver

I'm thoroughly enjoying my new tablet. I'm no techy and don't have a complicated phone and I found this easy to learn. It was a little complicated to put flash player on because it doesn't accept adobe but i eventually found one to download. My girlfriend has an Ipad and it's no Ipad but it isn't several hundred dollars for something that will be obsolete with something newer and greater. It's a great price for a tablet with dual camera, enough speed for me. I did a great deal of research before I purchased this and noticed on another website it was $100 more. The apps you can find like newspapers from all over the world, radio stations from all over the world. I didn't buy this for games but for reading and using the internet and it definitely meets my needs. It is nice and lightweight compared to my laptop.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MsObserver
Dallas, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
You get what you pay for
9/12/2012

Customer review by iquintessence

1.0 stars 9/12/2012 by iquintessence
by iquintessence

I did what I thought was fairly solid research before purchasing this product for my mom's birthday. She wanted a tablet to play games like Scramble, Drawsomething, and mess with Facebook. These are all apps that are not compatible with this tablet. They say there are comparable apps, but whats the point if you can't play with your friends? I've already returned it and will be getting something compatible with Google.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
iquintessence
Chalreston, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
8/14/2012

Customer review by indybiker

5.0 stars 8/14/2012 by indybiker
by indybiker

I am very satisified with my coby tablet. I think it does the same as ipad, except for the price. Walmart again got my order on time. not damaged, and i know i got the lowest price.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
indybiker
Independence, La.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
not for downloading movies
9/10/2012

Customer review by rburt

2.0 stars 9/10/2012 by rburt
by rburt

I got this because it was my son's 9 th bday. We have two long trip that are coming up and thought it would be a good way to occupy the time. IPlaying games and watching movies. If there is a way to download movies I couldnt find it and I work in the IT field Im not technically challenged. I returned it the same night I received it in the mail and exchanged it for a little more expensive but does what I want Nexus 7.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rburt
TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Great tool for work and awesome toy for the family
5/31/2012

Customer review by Headbuzz

5.0 stars 5/31/2012 by Headbuzz
by Headbuzz

This thing rocks..! Now my wife wants one.

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Headbuzz
Lakeland Fl.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
i bought 2!
6/30/2012

Customer review by militarywife11

1.0 stars 6/30/2012 by militarywife11
by militarywife11

So my spouse is deployed , i bought this product becuase of the the front and back camra. Well as all people know that the time differences is huge and opportunity to skype or video chats very small .the camra did not work! So i had 2 waste my time and gas to return items that said I can video chat. went back online and got the same product because it was a good tablet , other then the camera not working. waited for the tablet to be shipped back to me ....more time without seeing my spouse !! finally got my new tablet come to find out it's not the camera it's the product that doesnt work!! had to waste my time and gas again for the second time to return the product. I just purchased a different tablet online and now have to wait for it to be shipped to me. not only did this product not do what it was supposed to do but I've lost precious time to spend with my spouse .my daughter is 4years and this is hard for all of us . sad thing about it is I had a great tablet for skyping and but the internet slow on it, and it was returned. this will be my fourth tablet I have purchased within a month and a half ! all i want is to see my spouse....:-(

Was this review helpful? (11) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
militarywife11
chino,ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
great for kids! easy to load amazon apps...
6/11/2012

Customer review by happyshopperinNY

5.0 stars 6/11/2012 by happyshopperinNY
by happyshopperinNY

I know it's not an ipad but so what....It does more than I need it to do for a 9 year old. I have also loaded some apps from amazon app store that I like. So for us, it's great. Graphics are clear and bright. Battery life is decent. For 1/2 the price of an ipad, it's a great little device!

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
happyshopperinNY
Tarrytown, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent Tablet
6/12/2012

Customer review by crystaltear

5.0 stars 6/12/2012 by crystaltear
by crystaltear

Great value does everything and more....Easy to operate am really am pleased with it!

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
crystaltear
Mountain View,AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not bad - Not great
8/23/2012

Customer review by kencm

3.0 stars 8/23/2012 by kencm
by kencm

Arthritis made using a laptop with mouse or touch pad difficult and since retirement I do not need the laptops power except on occasion. I thought a tablet might be the answer and after a LOT of reading and shopping I decided to go low cost, just in case it did not fulfill my needs. Well the Coby MID9742-8 did. Once I got over the quirks and limitations and with the help of excellent telephone support this tablet performs just fine. I will not duplicate much of what is said in other reviews so here is my list of pros and cons. PRO: 1. Nice size screen an it is bright enough I can even use it out side. 2. Card slot, hdmi port and USB port are useful and a surprise for a tablet at this cost. 3. Responsive screen and nice solid feel when holding it. 4. Fast charging which is good since battery life is not the best. CONS: 1. Finger print magnet. 2. It is slow and sometimes hangs up when loading games. 3. Not all aps will work on it, even some GetJar aps. I had to load and delete a lot of aps to get it to do everything I wanted. Again thanks to excellent support staff. 4. Battery life is shorter than expected but for my use it is adequate. I am happy with it. Just do not expect iPad/Samsung/Acer performance or utility and you won't be disappointed. A better tablet tablet for the dollar.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kencm
Brillion WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Does what it claimed
10/10/2012

Customer review by Billiam1

5.0 stars 10/10/2012 by Billiam1
by Billiam1

I was not sure what to expect as I have never had one. I-phones are to hard for me to see and to small to correctly type. This is easy and solves the problem. I am very fond of it, and use it a lot.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Billiam1
Menomonie, Wis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
tablet I received was defective
9/18/2012

Customer review by Parteemiz

2.0 stars 9/18/2012 by Parteemiz
by Parteemiz

product was shipped out of Arkansas. I think it had been returned. some of programs didn't work or were missing. called Coby technical support and they said to return product. product has been inspected and had sticker on it. not impressed with Cosby quality. returned product and bought Nexus 7

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Parteemiz
Austin Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
1-20 of 30 total reviews
1-20 of 30 reviews