Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 61 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

61 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

61 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

61%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
18
4 stars
12
3 stars
12
2 stars
4
1 stars
15
1-20 of 48 total reviews
61%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 48 total reviews
1-20 of 48 reviews
Good Starter Tablet
8/25/2012

Customer review by gizomosandgadgets

4.0 stars 8/25/2012 by gizomosandgadgets
by gizomosandgadgets

I recently purchased this tablet for my younger brother to play games, watch netflix, ect. I have to say that I am very pleased with the performance! The only thing I'm not crazy about is that it’s a resistive touch screen, but keep in mind you're only paying $80! Ive been able to download every app that my brother wants from the Amazon app store. At first I thought you needed to link your Amazon account to a credit card to purchase any apps (even free ones)but I figured out that if you go to the Amazon page on your computer, pick the app you want, and then click "1-click purchasing" directly to the right and it will automatically put that app on the device you have selected (go to account, "your apps & devices" under digital content# and you can add the Coby MID7033. Then you just pull up Amazon app store on the tablet and download them directly from there. Sounds like a hassle, but it’s not time consuming. However, if you don’t want to go to that trouble, just purchase an Amazon gift card #just has to have a positive balance: $0.01) and then you can download apps directly from the Amazon app store on your tablet! Bottom line: I would definitely recommend this tablet! Hope this review is helpful!

Was this review helpful? (59) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gizomosandgadgets
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
OVERALL RATING: 1 Star
9/29/2012

Customer review by SethCA

1.0 stars 9/29/2012 by SethCA
by SethCA

I didn't believe the previous unfavorable reviews so I decided to make a purchase. PRICE (3.5 Stars): The price was a good deal (after 2 weeks of use, not so much). Bought it last month when the retail price was still $89.98. I had to pay extra for CA E-Waste Fee Tax at $6, Sales Tax $7.18, for a total of $103.16. Now, the retail price is down $79.99. ORDER & PICKUP (5 Stars): Ordered it on a Sunday evening and was available for Site-to-Store pickup by Tuesday afternoon. Kind of surprised since typically that takes 5 business days, so that was great. Hate to pay extra for shipping when it can just be picked up at Walmart just a few blocks away. Remember to keep that receipt given by Walmart associate just in case! TABLET AESTHETICS & ACCESSORIES (5 stars): Open the sticker sealed box and it reveals the new tablet, protective pouch, professional earphones, ac adapter, USB OTG cord, USB cable, and quick start guide; all separately bagged, all glossy, brand new, and no finger print smudges. HARDWARE SPECIFICATION (3.5 Stars): For its price range, a 1 GHz processor, 512MB RAM, 7-inch 16:9 WVGA widescreen, and 4GB Hard Drive Size is a good deal. CONNECTIVITY (4 Stars): The WiFi 802.11 b/g/n setup was easy, and connection was surprisingly stable at 20ft from wireless router. Tested the miniUSB port using the supplied USB cable to connect my laptop & was able to copy pictures & audio MP3 collection with ease. Same miniUSB port can be used with supplied USB OTG cable to connect external keyboard. The HDMI port can connect to an external HDTV display. It's a shame, it does not come with HDMI cable. ALDIKO eREADER APP (1 Star): The pre-installed version of Aldiko Book Reader does not work. This is well documented on online forums. The fix is you have to uninstall it from Settings/Apps, then download the recent version using GetJar. Other than that hickup, the eBook reading is surprisingly convenient since it just involves swiping your index finger from page to page. TOUCHSCREEN: (1 Star) Not that resistive touchscreens are way inferior in comparison to Capacitive Touchscreen, but this model's resistive touchscreen is so unresponsive and inaccurate. For example, when you go to Settings and attempt to click on Apps, it would open the selection above (Battery) or down below it (Accounts & Sync), but not the one in the center you're trying to select, which kind of perplexed me. Later, you'll discover that it's not just on the Settings. ON-SCREEN KEYBOARD: (1 star) When you begin browsing, that's where the problems become more evident. If it were working correctly, a slight tap on the address bar or username login field should bring up the On-Screen Keyboard. But that's not always the case. I tapped the center blank field, slightly to the top/bottom/left/right, tried with my pinky/index, more pressure/less pressure, quick tap/longer tap, it seems to work by luck. Also, the double-tap feature for zooming in/out is unreliable. It's exasperating. Though inconvenient, I had to use the USB On-The-Go (OTG) cable, plug an external mouse to click on the field and then the On-Screen Keyboard comes out. By the 2nd week of use, my index finger so sore with the unwieldy touchscreen and the use of external mouse so impractical, that I had to return it.

Was this review helpful? (45) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SethCA
CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
The Resistant Touch could be better.
5/19/2012

Customer review by Davingod

3.0 stars 5/19/2012 by Davingod
by Davingod

Well for starters the battery life (3h - online surfing) could be better and the fact that after some time in your hands it will get very warm. The screen is bright and easy to read and watch movies, but the touch recognition fades as you get close to the screen edge in diagonal. Overall the value is good for the price. After all the operating system is the "Ice-cream Sandwich" (Android 4.0).

Was this review helpful? (87) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Davingod
Sacramenot, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Good for the money
5/28/2012

Customer review by Mrsholloway11

4.0 stars 5/28/2012 by Mrsholloway11
by Mrsholloway11

I love my tablet except if u r running to many programs it freezes up and you have to reset it. Thats the only thing I dont like about the tablet, other than that its a great buy for the money.

Was this review helpful? (38) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mrsholloway11
Lasvegas, nv
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Don't waste your money
6/4/2012

Customer review by Lisa3407

1.0 stars 6/4/2012 by Lisa3407
by Lisa3407

I never write reviews, but this product did not have any when I bought it and I want to give readers a heads up. I bought two of these for my sons for a trip. With the first one, when I tried to set it up, the touch screen barely worked and while it connected to the internet, it would not download apps properly (it kept freezing up). The second would not stay connected to the same internet in the same room. I had to keep trying to find the network and connect. After about an hour of frustration, I took both back to the store.

Was this review helpful? (62) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lisa3407
Mountville, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Want Better? "Get an ipad" This Serves The Purpose
5/29/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 5/29/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This item was perfect for what I wanted. I was looking for something for my 18 month old. She is very advanced and tries playing with all types of electronics. I decided on this one after a few weeks of shopping. I knew my budget was $100. (after all: she is only 18 months) I wanted something that could go online and play you tube videos. This Was perfect!! I have downloaded several Toddler applications and games.... Its great cause it even doubles as an online tool for Myself!! Im Not a computer savy person BUT this is easy enough to navigate tru. I LOVE It.. For the price I got more than the other brands whom at different sites were charging more money for similar products... Remember: Its works tru the ANDROID network: and its 4.0, so: Its a Great buy. I recommend it for anyone who has young children who have begun their journey through the World Wide Web~ The BATTERY LIFE Is NOT Good~ But hey: It was just $100 bucks. I just carry the charger when we go out.

Was this review helpful? (71) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Queens, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good product for the money
7/26/2012

Customer review by 08panic09profit

5.0 stars 7/26/2012 by 08panic09profit
by 08panic09profit

It serves the purpose, web browsing and games. The android OS is good. At this low price range, I don't have any complain for this tablet.

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
08panic09profit
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
The Touch could be better
6/25/2012

Customer review by efpp

4.0 stars 6/25/2012 by efpp
by efpp

I bought this tablet knowing I wasn't buying an iPad. I wanted a cheap tablet that I could take with me when I travel. I only needed something that could give me decent internet and the ability to play games, music, and movies. Cons: The touch screen isn't nearly as responsive as it is on my Android phone, you really need to push down to make your selection. This tablet is not an authorized Google tablet, so there is no Google Play Store (Android Market) to download apps from, it does have a 3rd party app store, but the apps kind of stink. I did find out that a simple "root"ing can give you access to put Google Play on this tablet (which I will be doing shortly). If it weren't for those two minor inconveniences, this tablet would easily get 5 stars from me.

Was this review helpful? (28) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
efpp
Homestead, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
WOW, This is a really great tablet!!!
9/26/2012

Customer review by paytoncounts

4.0 stars 9/26/2012 by paytoncounts
by paytoncounts

I purchased 2 of these tablets for my 8 & 5 yr old daughters. They were dominating my laptop and desktop computers. After my youngest spilled water on my laptop, I decided I needed a low cost alternative. I purchased these tablets hoping they would allow my daughters to watch netflix and play both educational and fun games. After loading the appropriate applications I was able to teach the girls how to get to their favorite games and play Netflix and other online media. I was also able to upload photos and videos of their recent activities. So, now I have my computers back!!! I also purchased an 8 gig memory card for saving media and applications. Within 2 days, and with very little prompting from me, my daughters figured out how to use the tablets better than I could. Now, I find myself borrowing their tablets when I want to lookup something online and I don't feel like unpacking my laptop or if we are away from home. These tablets are so convenient, that I plan to buy one for myself. I just want to find one with a little larger screen and maybe a camera. But I refuse to buy an over expense tablet like the Apple or Kindle. NEGATIVES: My only complaint, it was time consuming to find and download the right applications. I wanted to install Netflix and various gaming apps. After an hour of attempting, I figured out that you need Amazon Apps for Android and Getjar apps. That's fine, but the problem is making sure you have the most recent version and patches. Before I was able to really use the tablet, I had to download, and patch, the Amazon App. I strongly recommend going to your computer and opening an account with Amazon, then click on the link called "Amazon Apps" and complete that setup. After performing this critical step, I was able to download the Netflix app and all the other apps I wanted, in the Amazon Apps Store". Overall, it took me about 3-4 hrs, over several days, to install all the applications I wanted my children to have on both tablets. also, you have to have WIFI access to run online apps.

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
paytoncounts
Harvey, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
excellent i love it!
6/8/2012

Customer review by randif517

5.0 stars 6/8/2012 by randif517
by randif517

i bought this for my 5 yr old o play angry birds while traveling and truefully i love it for my self. i got into the apps and i can do anything. i can listen to the radio, watch tv and youtube videos, play words with friends on facebook, play angry birds and even listen to the police scanner in california lol. easy to connect to the internet. works great and great picture. i had a kindle fire that i returned because it was 200.00 and this was 90.00 and i love it better than the kindle fire!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (27) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
randif517
iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
10/26/2012

Customer review by woodshed5567

5.0 stars 10/26/2012 by woodshed5567
by woodshed5567

I was looking for something simple, that I could play games on and read books on. This tablet definetly meets my expectations and more. You can surf the web, check your emails, watch videos and more. Great product for someone who does not need every gadget on there tablet and just wants something simple.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
woodshed5567
Oswego, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/25/2012

Customer review by arracatsdragonfly

5.0 stars 10/25/2012 by arracatsdragonfly
by arracatsdragonfly

I got this to watch movies, play music, read books, PDF files and Word files. I downloaded a PDF viewer and the Kindle reader and Love this thing. I have not found anything that wont play or read. I can use this for myself and I downloaded apps for the kids school learning games and fun paint games. This is definatly worth it.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
arracatsdragonfly
California, Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
PURCHASED A TABLET COBY MID 7033-4
7/30/2012

Customer review by LITTLEPINKPIXIEPRINCESS

5.0 stars 7/30/2012 by LITTLEPINKPIXIEPRINCESS
by LITTLEPINKPIXIEPRINCESS

MY PURCHASE THROUGH WALMART.COM WAS EXCELLENT. PRODUCT REVIEW: DIFFICULT FOR DISABLED PEOPLE WITH ISSUES REGARDING HANDS. YOU NEED A STYLUS THAT IT DOESN'T COME WITH. YOU REALLY HAVE "TO PUSH HARD" AND ITS A TOUCH SCREEN. THERE ARE NO SETTINGS TO CHANGE THAT. IT DOESN'T HAVE "SWYPE" AND IT IS IMPOSSIBLE TO TYPE CORRECTLY WITH THE PUSH SETTING SO DIFFICULT. SO FOR THE PRICE IT WAS WONDERFUL. A STYLUS RUNS FROM 16.99 TO 42.99 AND I FOUND A CUTE PINK ONE FOR LESS THAN 6.00 ON www.cellularfactory.com, WHERE I HAVE ORDERED ACCESSORIES FOR SMART PHONES AND COMPUTERS BEFORE. SO, IF YOU BUY ONE YOU WILL LOVE IT AS LONG AS YOU GET A STYLUS. IF YOU HAVE ISSUES WITH HOLDING A PEN BUY ONE THAT IS CALLED CHUNKY (ITS LIKE A TODDLER CRAYON) EASY TO HOLD AND USE FOR LONG PERIODS OF TIME. THIS PROBLEM IS NOT WALMART'S FAULT. THIS IS THE MANUFACTURER'S FAULT FOR INCLUDING THE STYLUS WITH SOME AND NOT WITH OTHERS, EVEN THOUGH THEIR WEBSITE RECOMMENDS THE USE OF ONE! I LOVE USING www.walmart.com BECAUSE AS A DISABLED PERSON I FIND THE STORE WAY TOO BIG TO WALK AND OTHER SHOPPERS "NOT KIND". I ALSO ASK AND NEVER HAVE BEEN DENIED AN ASSOCIATE TO DO MY SHOPPING WITH ME FOR READING THINGS (CATARACTS), GETTING ITEMS OFF SHELVES AND KNOWING WHERE EVERYTHING IS (TO AVOID EXTRA WALKING).

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LITTLEPINKPIXIEPRINCESS
NORTH PORT, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not worth the money!
7/7/2012

Customer review by masterhomieg

1.0 stars 7/7/2012 by masterhomieg
by masterhomieg

I bought this from Amazon.com good price yea but the thing is is it's really glitchy I was setting up my email accounts and noticed the top left corner glitching really badly put it to sleep unlocked it and still glitched bad had to turn it off then back on. Came home today after work go on the browser with it and it had a big black spot it the top left no thank you. I have a wireless router in my room says it's not in range but the one in the front room it connects to just fine poor signal but why's that matter when I have one in my room correct. It has a modified Android Market called GetJar has low variety of apps. You can't install apps like Facebook or any other app like that because this market has junky apps to choose from. Another downside to this tablet it's slow yea the processor is a nice size but I try listening to music on it and doing other things it runs slowly. I haven't had this for 2days and I'm returning it it's just not worth the $97 I paid for it hate to break the ice but customers who are wanting a tablet should know this stuff about this tablet save your money get something different. I'm trying to save you the time and effort of having to return this. Hope this review helps your decision.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
masterhomieg
Rogers,Ar
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Walmart associate
You get what you pay for.
7/10/2012

Customer review by Artifonic

3.0 stars 7/10/2012 by Artifonic
by Artifonic

Touch screen not very sensitive. Has difficulty picking up WIFI signals unless they are very strong. Good for the casual user who doesn't need all the bells and whistles.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Artifonic
Bethlehem,PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Started out fine, but had to return.
6/28/2012

Customer review by psimon

1.0 stars 6/28/2012 by psimon
by psimon

Started out fine. Easy to set and download apps for the 1st week. Main use was for games and email. Then after about a week I started having problems. The email would not work anymore. I was never able to set up the calendar. Battery would only last about an hour. The touch screen did not operate right. And when I would start to type or delete something the keyboard would go wild putting in letters I had not touched. Walmart was very nice about refunding my money. I was very disappointed with the tablet.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
psimon
Youngsville, LA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
excellent tablet for NON-business people
6/23/2012

Customer review by Bevy63

3.0 stars 6/23/2012 by Bevy63
by Bevy63

Not compatible with Google Play (Android Market) Nor iTunes!!! Without either of those.... I can't load Intuit GoPayment nor SquareUp apps for credit card transactions. Otherwise an excellent tablet/reader. I returned this to the store! Useless to me without above mentioned apps!

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bevy63
Jenera, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
9/16/2012

Customer review by ChevysAreBest

4.0 stars 9/16/2012 by ChevysAreBest
by ChevysAreBest

I bought the Coby for my son and he loves it. The only problems he's had with it is that it doens't update like it should, so for some reason he's not been able to download any music onto it. Otherwise, it seems to function fine. He enjoyes watching videos on it and it works very well for that.

Was this review helpful? (15) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChevysAreBest
Hillsdale, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Worth it!
9/25/2012

Customer review by LauraEmt

5.0 stars 9/25/2012 by LauraEmt
by LauraEmt

I was thinking of getting another Nook but came across this and I am SO GLAD that I bought it. I can't believe this was so cheap. I read all the reviews on here and on Amazon and I am so confused as to why this has recieved some bad reviews. It is what is and for me it's perfect. Everyone who claims to have issues with apps just isnt patient enough to take 20mins and download some apps on your computer/laptop and transfer them over or email them to yourself on the tablet it's self. No you don't get google play but so what! I used Amazon and mobile1 and have EVERYTHING i would have had from google play and there are more app sites out there than just the two that I mentioned. All you need to do is spend a little time to get the things you want and it's awesome.

Was this review helpful? (10) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LauraEmt
Orange, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not the latest model 7" tablet from Coby
5/25/2012

Customer review by ValueShopper41

2.0 stars 5/25/2012 by ValueShopper41
by ValueShopper41

This is not the latest 7" tablet from Coby, that would be the 7042 model and the 8" model is 8042, 9.7" model is 9742-8 and the newest model is 1042-8 the 10" model which Walmart doesn't currently sell. I'm not sure this models spec information is accurate, as the older models only came with Android 2.3 OS not Ice Cream Sandwich 4.0.3 which comes on the newer xx42 models since March 2012. The newer Coby models are Capacitive Touch screens which is a much better technology. The batteries on the older models are used on the newer xx42 models, they are adequate depending on what you are doing ie games, web browsing or video. Try out this model compared to a Capacitive Touch 7042 Coby model, and you will notice the better response from your finger touches. Though its not the highest accuracy it is very good for what you need to do. I would highly recommend the newer model as this model has a Resistive screen. Resistive screens are not good for finger touching, they just don't work that well. Get one of the newer Android 4.0.3 xx42 Capacitive Touch models, preferably Multi Touch Capactive screens. The 9742-8 model is a very good Coby and has worked very well since we bought it 2 months ago. There is a 10" model Coby MID1042-8 which gives you a larger screen and also includes 4.0.3 Ice Cream Sandwich Android OS.

Was this review helpful? (18) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ValueShopper41
Tacoma, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Top 1000 contributor
1-20 of 48 total reviews
1-20 of 48 reviews