Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 3.6out of 5 stars
3.6 out of 5 | 105 reviews
5 stars
46
4 stars
23
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 stars
25
Sort by: 
1-20 of 100 reviews
1-20 of 100 reviews
Perfect Sewing Machine for Beginners
11/21/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I am posting this review as part of my entry in Walmart's Holiday Sewing Contest. I am writing this review on the purchase of a Singer 5400 Sew Mate 60-stitch Sewing Machine. My husband purchased this sewing machine for me as a Christmas gift a couple of years ago. It was my first sewing machine and I knew absolutely nothing about sewing prior to this sewing machine. I became interested in sewing as a hobby after having children. This sewing machine is perfect for beginners. it is easy to work and is not at all complicated to learn and you do not need any prior sewing knowledge. It has 60 different stitches to choose from that gives you endless options from hemming to stitches. Also, the owners manual can be found online at no cost which can answer any question or concerns you may have. I simply purchase generic needles and thread from my local Walmart store which are always in stock and inexpensive. The sewing machine is lightweight and yet sturdy for all sewing projects with little effort. I have thoroughly enjoyed my SewMate and would purchase again. I haven't had any technical problems with the machine and it still works as good as it did on the very first use. I would recommend this machine to anyone who is interested in learning to sew or someone who is interested in sewing as a hobby. You will NOT have any regrets!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (26)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Smooth and easy sewing
10/16/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've had no issues with this sewing machine. The instructions are clear and easy to follow and I had it for over two months now (using it every weekend) and have not had an error message. I really enjoy the automatic threader and how quiet it is. I'm not an experienced seamstress but this machine makes learning new stitches fun and frustration free and the price is very affordable for all the features. 3 reusable floor dusters, 6 burp cloths and a tailored cardigan in and I've enjoyed every minute of it!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (16)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great
7/15/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I baught this a month ago and I am very happy with this
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love it! :)
10/17/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this today because I was sick of hand sewing guinea pig liners and pads for my little guy. I actually bought the Vivo singer sewing machine and was 50 bucks and it was so horrible. They were out of stock of the other sewing machines and so I just grabbed this and lugged it up my apartment. Hooked it up EZ and went sewing. Keep in mind, guinea pig liners are usually 3-4 layers of fleece & absorbent material. This machine ate it like it was nothing. I had about 5 C4 errors and it creeped me out really bad because the noise it makes is actually frightening, BUT, it was user error. I had the bobbin in the wrong way >.< (counter clockwise in the bobbin shell instead of clockwise). But this machine is great! Was expecting to return but was actually worth half of my paycheck haha. I am very happy and I've been sewing since I opened the package (It's been 5 hours and will probably be more) and completed so many liners, pads, etc. Imagine how long it would take for me to do it by hand? Haha :)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (30)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
An Excellent Buy
5/4/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I'm not one who usually leaves reviews, but this machine inspired me to write. I've been an on-again, off-again sewer for the better part of two decades. I learned how to sew on my grandmother's 1950s model Singer sewing machine (hated it), and for the last ten years have used a Europro that my mom gave me as a graduation present. When the Euro-Pro died mid-project, I headed off to my local Walmart where they had this model in-stock. I'll admit, I was nervous at first to buy this model, especially when I saw that it had "automatic" stitch width and length set. When I got home, I was preparing myself mentally for having to take it back, but I was very pleasantly surprised to find that the "automatic" settings can be changed very easily, and it sews like a dream. Honestly, for the first sewing machine I've ever purchased myself, I'm incredibly happy and would recommend this model highly to any sewer.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (342)No (29)
Report
Was this review helpful?
This is a great sewing machine
8/24/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Initially I left a bad review on this because the one I got was suppose to be new and when I got home and opened it I found it was used which was really upsetting but walmart fixed that issue. I have been sewing on this machine for a couple weeks now and quite a bit I made a blanket and did a zig zag stitch applique for my babies name in large letters on it, I have made numerous cloth diapers and inserts with it and it has held up beautifully. This machine can take a beating. It sews Velcro, elastic and numerous layers of fabric just fine. Singer is a good brand and people need to stop knocking it. When you buy a singer they tell you that the inside is made from metal I do not see that anywhere on any of the brother sewing machines. It is a mystery what is in the inside of a brother. I have a brother to the 100 stitch project runway one and it runs great don't get me wrong but this runs better it purrs when it sews and it goes through thick layers much more smoothly! If I had to choose I would choose this over brother sorry!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (36)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Worst machine I have ever owned!
2/7/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
After not sewing in over 15 years I came across a craft project I wanted to make, so I bought this machine. I didn't want to spend a lot of money as I figured I would never again be an avid sewer...then I had a granddaughter and I believe that is about to change! This is my second machine. The first one I returned because I thought I had gotten a lemon. The replacement machine isn't any better. The thread if constantly breaking. The bobbin gets bound up, the machine gives me a C4 error reading EVERY time i use it. I have re-threaded it, cleaned it, and cussed like a sailor more times than I care to count and it continues to go it. It is now skipping stitches. I thought maybe it was because I was using the zig-zag stitch, but it does it on a straight stitch too. My husband suggested taking it for an adjustment/cleaning. That will cost me $60. I can't justify it. I regret buying this machine. I just want to bang my head against the wall.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (87)No (24)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Sewing Machine
7/21/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I love my sewing machine! My husband bought for my birthday gift. It was very easy to learn. The first time I used it was tricky for me but now, after 2 months of use, it's 2nd nature to operate. It is very smooth and easy to work with. I am currently working on a car seat canopy for a friend. It's 2 very thick fabrics together and I was worried if it could handle this or not. A thick flannel and dot minky together. But all I had to do was change the needle. That's it. It does what I need it to do, any stitch, no problem. I have done small projects like a tab holder and cover, to throw pillows and drapes. It's seamless in the operation. I absolutely love this machine. The accessories are nice and affordable, it is easy to learn and operate, easy to clean, and most importantly it's there when you need it. The LED backlight is also a really nice extra. I will eventually upgrade to one with more options, but I plan on keeping this one and teaching my daughter when she is old enough like my grandmother did with me. It's not much, but to me, passing this on to my daughter is priceless. I highly recommend this machine. You will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (46)No (12)
Report
Was this review helpful?
7/27/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have had a Singer serwing machine for 45 years that has worked perfectly. I needed to replace it and chose this machine. The machine is wonderful. It does so many things and it sews on all weights of fabric without a hitch.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (186)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
7/6/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I'm a beginner with sewing, have never owned a sewing maching, haven't even used one in 20+ years but I really wanted to get into sewing. This machine is great! I recieved the SewMate as a gift but the bobbin got hung up horribly after just a couple small projects so I upgraded a little to this machine. Very easy to use, simple threading, and I believe great for a beginner such as myself. Runs very smooth. It's pretty quiet too, I have a little one and I can use it just fine while he is napping in the other room. I would recommend this to anyone, even a beginner.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (181)No (26)
Report
Was this review helpful?
It's OK....But....
2/3/2014
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I'm a Singer fan! When my almost 40 year old Fashion Mate couldn't hold the tension adjustment any longer I bit the bullet and got this machine on the recommendation of a friend. Apparently these machines are hit and miss because hers is fine but mine oiled up the thread horribly at first and still continued to some degree after several days of use. Also there were dropped stitches and tangles of thread under the fabric. Yes, I did hold the thread when I began each seam and that was better but didn't solve the problem completely. So after 3 garments and a week of frustration I returned it. Walmart was great about taking it back. I ordered a completely different machine and I'll review that one after I've sewn a little on it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love Love Love!
4/13/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have been using an older machine for a few years and thought this one would take some time to get use to.... Nope! I watched part of the DVD and went right in there and had no problem adjusting to my new machine! I love that it has the Bobbin in the same place as my old one and not a drop in, ... I just still can't figure out the Threader, but I don't need it anyway, I just thread it myself as usual. It is much quieter than my old machine... I have had NO problems with it whatsoever. I recommend it for anyone of any level of sewing! Last night I replaced a button on pants in a matter of minutes compared to hand sewing it. My hubby was also impressed! LOVE LOVE LOVE my machine!!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (29)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
low-quality
4/23/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I received this as a gift. The thread take-up kept dropping the thread, and then it would tangle in the bobbin area. Changing tension did not solve the problem. I had to keep stopping to re-thread. I sent an e-mail to Singer customer service. Two weeks went by without a response, so I sent another e-mail. I tried calling. I was on hold for an hour and then got disconnected. I gave up, returned the machine to the store, and bought a different brand. The next day I finally received an e-mail response. It was completely unhelpful and told me I hadn't threaded it correctly. I know how to thread a sewing machine. Singer is not the quality brand it used to be.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (35)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great machine
8/31/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I bought this light weight machine and I am so happy with it. I came across some minor problems but I was able to fix it. The needle broke but the kit came with extra needles. The quick start guide helped me being a visual learner and all, I was able to bob the thread.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
12/25/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have owned Singer sewing machines before and although I have tried other makes I always return to Singer. This machine does everything I want to do and much more. There is also a great instructional video which is extremely helpful in getting started. The price was very reasonable too. I would definitely recommend.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (15)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
First 2 machines were defective!
1/21/2015
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I received my first machine as a Christmas gift. I went to use it and it made an odd clunk noise, which was the needle hitting the shuttle casing when it would go down. I thought, not a big deal, I will just exchange it. The next one will be perfect...wrong! Nowhere is this walmart's fault, but it is very frustrating to learn you have a second defective machine. The second one, the needle couldn't move side to side. It stayed aligned to the left. It at least sewed...kind of. Since the needle couldn't go back and forth it could sew a simple straight stitch. Now I was annoyed, so I called Singer. After an hour on hold, I finally spoke with a real person. (I was really hoping it was just an operator error this time, but had a gut feeling it was defective too.) and I was right, nothing could be done other than return the machine. I'm not sure what possessed me to even try a third machine, never am I so patient! But the next town over had one in stock so I exchanged. Thankfully, the third one works! It is a great machine, unless it's your third; then you're left with a sour taste in your mouth. I'm do love that it is simple to use and has several stitching functions.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Sewing Machine
11/14/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I have had my Singer 5400 long enough to have completed one project and this sewing machine couldn't be easier to use and work more effortlessly. Though I am not an expert by any means I have always been thankful my Mom taught me how to sew on her old Singer. I found the instructions easy to use and complete. I find the reviews that comment otherwise inaccurate. The DVD provided was very helpful as well. So for a guy who is 61 and not sewn in years, this was a great purchase. I would highly recommend the Singer 5400.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (32)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Better than I expected for the price
4/10/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this off the shelf in my local Wal Mart (got it for only $119.97)! Plugged it in and was ready to go. It sewed perfectly, right out of the box. It uses the same metal bobbins that my old machine used, so I didn't even have to thread the bobbin first. The bobbin loads like my old machine also. I was pleased to notice that you can do fine adjustment on the needle position, to get a perfect 1/4" seam allowance that is needed for quilting. I can't wait to try all of the decorative stitches and the buttonhole foot. Also anxious to see if it fits into my old sewing machine table.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (17)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Disappointed
5/4/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
When my over 20 year old Singer sewing machine decided to call it quits, I replaced it with this one. I was quite excited to have all of the neat little stitches at the press of a button and I love the needle threader! My first project went well and I was pleased. As soon as I started another project though, the thread kept breaking and the stitches kept getting knotted up. After checking that everything was set properly, I've come to the conclusion the machine is junk and am taking it back to the store. I'm left with a half finished project full of stitching knots and great disappointment in the Singer brand. I guess it's true that they don't make things like they used to.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (28)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Product for ALL users
12/26/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Super easy to use! I love my new machine.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184643943, DC-prod-dal4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-