Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 78 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

78 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

78 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

67%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
33
4 stars
17
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 stars
19
1-20 of 73 total reviews
67%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 73 total reviews
1-20 of 73 reviews
An Excellent Buy
5/4/2012

Customer review by nyfreedombelle

4.0 stars 5/4/2012 by nyfreedombelle
by nyfreedombelle

I'm not one who usually leaves reviews, but this machine inspired me to write. I've been an on-again, off-again sewer for the better part of two decades. I learned how to sew on my grandmother's 1950s model Singer sewing machine (hated it), and for the last ten years have used a Europro that my mom gave me as a graduation present. When the Euro-Pro died mid-project, I headed off to my local Walmart where they had this model in-stock. I'll admit, I was nervous at first to buy this model, especially when I saw that it had "automatic" stitch width and length set. When I got home, I was preparing myself mentally for having to take it back, but I was very pleasantly surprised to find that the "automatic" settings can be changed very easily, and it sews like a dream. Honestly, for the first sewing machine I've ever purchased myself, I'm incredibly happy and would recommend this model highly to any sewer.

Was this review helpful? (285) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nyfreedombelle
Beaver Falls, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
7/27/2012

Customer review by buggme

5.0 stars 7/27/2012 by buggme
by buggme

I have had a Singer serwing machine for 45 years that has worked perfectly. I needed to replace it and chose this machine. The machine is wonderful. It does so many things and it sews on all weights of fabric without a hitch.

Was this review helpful? (149) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
buggme
Arvada Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
7/6/2012

Customer review by MostHappyMommy

5.0 stars 7/6/2012 by MostHappyMommy
by MostHappyMommy

I'm a beginner with sewing, have never owned a sewing maching, haven't even used one in 20+ years but I really wanted to get into sewing. This machine is great! I recieved the SewMate as a gift but the bobbin got hung up horribly after just a couple small projects so I upgraded a little to this machine. Very easy to use, simple threading, and I believe great for a beginner such as myself. Runs very smooth. It's pretty quiet too, I have a little one and I can use it just fine while he is napping in the other room. I would recommend this to anyone, even a beginner.

Was this review helpful? (158) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MostHappyMommy
Nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love it!!!
8/14/2012

Customer review by ar0378

5.0 stars 8/14/2012 by ar0378
by ar0378

I bought this machine to replace a Kenmore I have had for 14 years. I got it home and tried it out. This machine doesn't shake or jump when using it. It is heavier than it looks. Everywhere else this machine cost more. It is easy to use. I highly recommend this one. I learned how to sew using a Singer when I was a teenager. I am glad I choose a Singer.

Was this review helpful? (95) (40)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ar0378
Napoleonville, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Worst machine I have ever owned!
2/7/2014

Customer review by OkSusan

1.0 stars 2/7/2014 by OkSusan
by OkSusan

After not sewing in over 15 years I came across a craft project I wanted to make, so I bought this machine. I didn't want to spend a lot of money as I figured I would never again be an avid sewer...then I had a granddaughter and I believe that is about to change! This is my second machine. The first one I returned because I thought I had gotten a lemon. The replacement machine isn't any better. The thread if constantly breaking. The bobbin gets bound up, the machine gives me a C4 error reading EVERY time i use it. I have re-threaded it, cleaned it, and cussed like a sailor more times than I care to count and it continues to go it. It is now skipping stitches. I thought maybe it was because I was using the zig-zag stitch, but it does it on a straight stitch too. My husband suggested taking it for an adjustment/cleaning. That will cost me $60. I can't justify it. I regret buying this machine. I just want to bang my head against the wall.

Was this review helpful? (36) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OkSusan
Locust Grove, Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Sewing Machine
11/14/2013

Customer review by radiantsteve

5.0 stars 11/14/2013 by radiantsteve
by radiantsteve

I have had my Singer 5400 long enough to have completed one project and this sewing machine couldn't be easier to use and work more effortlessly. Though I am not an expert by any means I have always been thankful my Mom taught me how to sew on her old Singer. I found the instructions easy to use and complete. I find the reviews that comment otherwise inaccurate. The DVD provided was very helpful as well. So for a guy who is 61 and not sewn in years, this was a great purchase. I would highly recommend the Singer 5400.

Was this review helpful? (27) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
radiantsteve
Apple Valley, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Sewing Machine
7/21/2013

Customer review by SweetSouthernBelleNDixie

5.0 stars 7/21/2013 by SweetSouthernBelleNDixie
by SweetSouthernBelleNDixie

I love my sewing machine! My husband bought for my birthday gift. It was very easy to learn. The first time I used it was tricky for me but now, after 2 months of use, it's 2nd nature to operate. It is very smooth and easy to work with. I am currently working on a car seat canopy for a friend. It's 2 very thick fabrics together and I was worried if it could handle this or not. A thick flannel and dot minky together. But all I had to do was change the needle. That's it. It does what I need it to do, any stitch, no problem. I have done small projects like a tab holder and cover, to throw pillows and drapes. It's seamless in the operation. I absolutely love this machine. The accessories are nice and affordable, it is easy to learn and operate, easy to clean, and most importantly it's there when you need it. The LED backlight is also a really nice extra. I will eventually upgrade to one with more options, but I plan on keeping this one and teaching my daughter when she is old enough like my grandmother did with me. It's not much, but to me, passing this on to my daughter is priceless. I highly recommend this machine. You will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (30) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SweetSouthernBelleNDixie
Little Rock, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Sewing Machine for Beginners!
9/29/2013

Customer review by tctw

5.0 stars 9/29/2013 by tctw
by tctw

I'm not a sewing expert...just a crafting aficionado trying to learn how to use a sewing machine. This singer sewing machine is easy to operate....easy enough for someone with no sewing machine knowledge like me, to work with. I haven't really done a lot of projects using my new singer yet...but so far so good.

Was this review helpful? (24) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tctw
Burkburnett, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
low-quality
4/23/2013

Customer review by FemaleinMissouri

1.0 stars 4/23/2013 by FemaleinMissouri
by FemaleinMissouri

I received this as a gift. The thread take-up kept dropping the thread, and then it would tangle in the bobbin area. Changing tension did not solve the problem. I had to keep stopping to re-thread. I sent an e-mail to Singer customer service. Two weeks went by without a response, so I sent another e-mail. I tried calling. I was on hold for an hour and then got disconnected. I gave up, returned the machine to the store, and bought a different brand. The next day I finally received an e-mail response. It was completely unhelpful and told me I hadn't threaded it correctly. I know how to thread a sewing machine. Singer is not the quality brand it used to be.

Was this review helpful? (21) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FemaleinMissouri
Would recommend to a friend? No
Disappointed
5/4/2014

Customer review by Tabbykins

1.0 stars 5/4/2014 by Tabbykins
by Tabbykins

When my over 20 year old Singer sewing machine decided to call it quits, I replaced it with this one. I was quite excited to have all of the neat little stitches at the press of a button and I love the needle threader! My first project went well and I was pleased. As soon as I started another project though, the thread kept breaking and the stitches kept getting knotted up. After checking that everything was set properly, I've come to the conclusion the machine is junk and am taking it back to the store. I'm left with a half finished project full of stitching knots and great disappointment in the Singer brand. I guess it's true that they don't make things like they used to.

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tabbykins
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great product for the price!
2/10/2013

Customer review by Mich36

5.0 stars 2/10/2013 by Mich36
by Mich36

This is my first brand new sewing machine, as others I had were passed on to me. I absolutely love it. It sews through heavy material, as well as lightweight. The price was cheaper online than in the store, and for the price it meets all my expectations. I actually like to sew, for now I have a machine that cooperates!! We bought our daughter the 70 stitch machine, and she also loves her machine. I saved a few bucks by getting "only" 60 stitches...which are plenty!

Was this review helpful? (20) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mich36
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
9/27/2012

Customer review by foxxygrandmother

2.0 stars 9/27/2012 by foxxygrandmother
by foxxygrandmother

sept. 2012. bought this mchine because i needed the blanket stitch reversed to left side, sewed good for about 10 days, the it stared skipping stitchs. got out my book and did everything it said, changed needle, cleaned bobbin, made sure it was threaded correct. nothing helped. so i returned it . was a cheap made mchine to stat with, i thought a singer was better quality...........wrong. i would give it 2 stars.

Was this review helpful? (25) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
foxxygrandmother
alabama
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Better than I expected for the price
4/10/2014

Customer review by SewPat

5.0 stars 4/10/2014 by SewPat
by SewPat

I bought this off the shelf in my local Wal Mart (got it for only $119.97)! Plugged it in and was ready to go. It sewed perfectly, right out of the box. It uses the same metal bobbins that my old machine used, so I didn't even have to thread the bobbin first. The bobbin loads like my old machine also. I was pleased to notice that you can do fine adjustment on the needle position, to get a perfect 1/4" seam allowance that is needed for quilting. I can't wait to try all of the decorative stitches and the buttonhole foot. Also anxious to see if it fits into my old sewing machine table.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SewPat
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Product for ALL users
12/26/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/26/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Super easy to use! I love my new machine.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
San Tan Valley, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love Love Love!
4/13/2013

Customer review by MountainMomma007

5.0 stars 4/13/2013 by MountainMomma007
by MountainMomma007

I have been using an older machine for a few years and thought this one would take some time to get use to.... Nope! I watched part of the DVD and went right in there and had no problem adjusting to my new machine! I love that it has the Bobbin in the same place as my old one and not a drop in, ... I just still can't figure out the Threader, but I don't need it anyway, I just thread it myself as usual. It is much quieter than my old machine... I have had NO problems with it whatsoever. I recommend it for anyone of any level of sewing! Last night I replaced a button on pants in a matter of minutes compared to hand sewing it. My hubby was also impressed! LOVE LOVE LOVE my machine!!!!

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MountainMomma007
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
12/25/2012

Customer review by Medana

5.0 stars 12/25/2012 by Medana
by Medana

I have owned Singer sewing machines before and although I have tried other makes I always return to Singer. This machine does everything I want to do and much more. There is also a great instructional video which is extremely helpful in getting started. The price was very reasonable too. I would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Medana
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Singer model 5400 review
3/29/2013

Customer review by bigman02

4.0 stars 3/29/2013 by bigman02
by bigman02

I first had trouble getting this machine to work. The thread balled up under the bottom fabric. I checked the manual and adjusted the bobbin tension and was up and running. So far this machine has done everything I have needed to do.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bigman02
Aloha, Or
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
nice machine
10/28/2013

Customer review by montanna1948

4.0 stars 10/28/2013 by montanna1948
by montanna1948

If you are learning to sew or getting back into it this is a good machine. Its easy and quiet. The dvd makes everything easy to understand. I gave four stars for this because of those reasons but I chose to return it and put a few dollars into having my old machine gone over and adjusted. The quality in the new model is just not there. lightweight plastic. Also. It is a bright white color with a bluish white light bulb. Very hard on the eyes.

Was this review helpful? (13) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
montanna1948
north carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
One gets what one pays for...
9/26/2013

Customer review by emmylou2u

2.0 stars 9/26/2013 by emmylou2u
by emmylou2u

As a cheaper machine it does stitch, but is frustrating in that the bobbin binds up constantly if one sews at max. speed. Makes a lot of noise when stitching, not a quiet machine. I'm a very experienced sewer and wanted a simple machine to cart around or to have just as an extra one for sewing a few simple stitches. Would recommend buying a better machine for someone who only has need of one or fine if one only does mending and a few projects now and than. Have a really good machine [Janome] that I use for applique and more decorative stitches which runs much smoother and quieter ... never binds up.

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
emmylou2u
Wausau, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
This is a great sewing machine
8/24/2014

Customer review by carebear1911

5.0 stars 8/24/2014 by carebear1911
by carebear1911

Initially I left a bad review on this because the one I got was suppose to be new and when I got home and opened it I found it was used which was really upsetting but walmart fixed that issue. I have been sewing on this machine for a couple weeks now and quite a bit I made a blanket and did a zig zag stitch applique for my babies name in large letters on it, I have made numerous cloth diapers and inserts with it and it has held up beautifully. This machine can take a beating. It sews Velcro, elastic and numerous layers of fabric just fine. Singer is a good brand and people need to stop knocking it. When you buy a singer they tell you that the inside is made from metal I do not see that anywhere on any of the brother sewing machines. It is a mystery what is in the inside of a brother. I have a brother to the 100 stitch project runway one and it runs great don't get me wrong but this runs better it purrs when it sews and it goes through thick layers much more smoothly! If I had to choose I would choose this over brother sorry!

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
carebear1911
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 73 total reviews
1-20 of 73 reviews