Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 89 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

89 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

89 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

65%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
37
4 stars
19
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 stars
24
1-20 of 84 total reviews
65%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 84 total reviews
1-20 of 84 reviews
Love it! :)
10/17/2014

Customer review by youstolemycookie

5.0 stars 10/17/2014 by youstolemycookie
by youstolemycookie

I bought this today because I was sick of hand sewing guinea pig liners and pads for my little guy. I actually bought the Vivo singer sewing machine and was 50 bucks and it was so horrible. They were out of stock of the other sewing machines and so I just grabbed this and lugged it up my apartment. Hooked it up EZ and went sewing. Keep in mind, guinea pig liners are usually 3-4 layers of fleece & absorbent material. This machine ate it like it was nothing. I had about 5 C4 errors and it creeped me out really bad because the noise it makes is actually frightening, BUT, it was user error. I had the bobbin in the wrong way >.< (counter clockwise in the bobbin shell instead of clockwise). But this machine is great! Was expecting to return but was actually worth half of my paycheck haha. I am very happy and I've been sewing since I opened the package (It's been 5 hours and will probably be more) and completed so many liners, pads, etc. Imagine how long it would take for me to do it by hand? Haha :)

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
youstolemycookie
Lowell, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
An Excellent Buy
5/4/2012

Customer review by nyfreedombelle

4.0 stars 5/4/2012 by nyfreedombelle
by nyfreedombelle

I'm not one who usually leaves reviews, but this machine inspired me to write. I've been an on-again, off-again sewer for the better part of two decades. I learned how to sew on my grandmother's 1950s model Singer sewing machine (hated it), and for the last ten years have used a Europro that my mom gave me as a graduation present. When the Euro-Pro died mid-project, I headed off to my local Walmart where they had this model in-stock. I'll admit, I was nervous at first to buy this model, especially when I saw that it had "automatic" stitch width and length set. When I got home, I was preparing myself mentally for having to take it back, but I was very pleasantly surprised to find that the "automatic" settings can be changed very easily, and it sews like a dream. Honestly, for the first sewing machine I've ever purchased myself, I'm incredibly happy and would recommend this model highly to any sewer.

Was this review helpful? (326) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nyfreedombelle
Beaver Falls, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Worst machine I have ever owned!
2/7/2014

Customer review by OkSusan

1.0 stars 2/7/2014 by OkSusan
by OkSusan

After not sewing in over 15 years I came across a craft project I wanted to make, so I bought this machine. I didn't want to spend a lot of money as I figured I would never again be an avid sewer...then I had a granddaughter and I believe that is about to change! This is my second machine. The first one I returned because I thought I had gotten a lemon. The replacement machine isn't any better. The thread if constantly breaking. The bobbin gets bound up, the machine gives me a C4 error reading EVERY time i use it. I have re-threaded it, cleaned it, and cussed like a sailor more times than I care to count and it continues to go it. It is now skipping stitches. I thought maybe it was because I was using the zig-zag stitch, but it does it on a straight stitch too. My husband suggested taking it for an adjustment/cleaning. That will cost me $60. I can't justify it. I regret buying this machine. I just want to bang my head against the wall.

Was this review helpful? (71) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OkSusan
Locust Grove, Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
This is a great sewing machine
8/24/2014

Customer review by carebear1911

5.0 stars 8/24/2014 by carebear1911
by carebear1911

Initially I left a bad review on this because the one I got was suppose to be new and when I got home and opened it I found it was used which was really upsetting but walmart fixed that issue. I have been sewing on this machine for a couple weeks now and quite a bit I made a blanket and did a zig zag stitch applique for my babies name in large letters on it, I have made numerous cloth diapers and inserts with it and it has held up beautifully. This machine can take a beating. It sews Velcro, elastic and numerous layers of fabric just fine. Singer is a good brand and people need to stop knocking it. When you buy a singer they tell you that the inside is made from metal I do not see that anywhere on any of the brother sewing machines. It is a mystery what is in the inside of a brother. I have a brother to the 100 stitch project runway one and it runs great don't get me wrong but this runs better it purrs when it sews and it goes through thick layers much more smoothly! If I had to choose I would choose this over brother sorry!

Was this review helpful? (20) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
carebear1911
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Don't buy this machine.
6/25/2016

Customer review by Linda

1.0 stars 6/25/2016 by Linda
by Linda

I'm not a frequent sewer. I want a machine around to do repairs, hem things, maybe create a pair of cotton curtains. Nothing elaborate or complicated. The "Automatic Threader" is a joke. Nothing automatic about it. If you have trouble seeing up close as I do, this doesn't help; also the needle locked inside but it was under warranty. (This happened very soon after purchase.) The trip to the "necessary shop" caused me to travel 180 miles round-tip. It wasn't a month later until the same thing happened again only this time, no warranty coverage. This is a plastic, faulty, machine. I do NOT recommend it unless you live next door to their approved repair shop! I talked to a friend a couple of days ago who experienced the same issues with hers. Now, what do I do with it other than throw it out?!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Linda
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ineffective
7/12/2016

Customer review by CBloom

1.0 stars 7/12/2016 by CBloom
by CBloom

Used this machine a total of 3 weeks before it failed. Constant C4 error - jams and tangled thread. Have to stop often to remove jam and cut threads. Followed instructions from manual and Singer rep to no avail. Grateful I purchased the 2- year service plan which replaced my machine with ease. At this point I would really prefer to buy another brand, but Walmart's selections are limited.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CBloom
Would recommend to a friend? No
7/27/2012

Customer review by buggme

5.0 stars 7/27/2012 by buggme
by buggme

I have had a Singer serwing machine for 45 years that has worked perfectly. I needed to replace it and chose this machine. The machine is wonderful. It does so many things and it sews on all weights of fabric without a hitch.

Was this review helpful? (172) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
buggme
Arvada Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Love Love Love!
4/13/2013

Customer review by MountainMomma007

5.0 stars 4/13/2013 by MountainMomma007
by MountainMomma007

I have been using an older machine for a few years and thought this one would take some time to get use to.... Nope! I watched part of the DVD and went right in there and had no problem adjusting to my new machine! I love that it has the Bobbin in the same place as my old one and not a drop in, ... I just still can't figure out the Threader, but I don't need it anyway, I just thread it myself as usual. It is much quieter than my old machine... I have had NO problems with it whatsoever. I recommend it for anyone of any level of sewing! Last night I replaced a button on pants in a matter of minutes compared to hand sewing it. My hubby was also impressed! LOVE LOVE LOVE my machine!!!!

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MountainMomma007
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Sewing Machine
7/21/2013

Customer review by SweetSouthernBelleNDixie

5.0 stars 7/21/2013 by SweetSouthernBelleNDixie
by SweetSouthernBelleNDixie

I love my sewing machine! My husband bought for my birthday gift. It was very easy to learn. The first time I used it was tricky for me but now, after 2 months of use, it's 2nd nature to operate. It is very smooth and easy to work with. I am currently working on a car seat canopy for a friend. It's 2 very thick fabrics together and I was worried if it could handle this or not. A thick flannel and dot minky together. But all I had to do was change the needle. That's it. It does what I need it to do, any stitch, no problem. I have done small projects like a tab holder and cover, to throw pillows and drapes. It's seamless in the operation. I absolutely love this machine. The accessories are nice and affordable, it is easy to learn and operate, easy to clean, and most importantly it's there when you need it. The LED backlight is also a really nice extra. I will eventually upgrade to one with more options, but I plan on keeping this one and teaching my daughter when she is old enough like my grandmother did with me. It's not much, but to me, passing this on to my daughter is priceless. I highly recommend this machine. You will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (38) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SweetSouthernBelleNDixie
Little Rock, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
7/6/2012

Customer review by MostHappyMommy

5.0 stars 7/6/2012 by MostHappyMommy
by MostHappyMommy

I'm a beginner with sewing, have never owned a sewing maching, haven't even used one in 20+ years but I really wanted to get into sewing. This machine is great! I recieved the SewMate as a gift but the bobbin got hung up horribly after just a couple small projects so I upgraded a little to this machine. Very easy to use, simple threading, and I believe great for a beginner such as myself. Runs very smooth. It's pretty quiet too, I have a little one and I can use it just fine while he is napping in the other room. I would recommend this to anyone, even a beginner.

Was this review helpful? (177) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MostHappyMommy
Nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
DO NOT BUY THIS SEWING MACHINE
6/29/2016

Customer review by Soraya

1.0 stars 6/29/2016 by Soraya
by Soraya

This is possibly the worst sewing machine I ever had. I bought this a year ago and hate using it. The thread breaks multiple times for a simple sewing, the bobbin gets bound up, needle is not lined up properly and breaks often. I cleaned it and serviced but it is still the same. Forget about zig-zagging anything, you will have three broken needles, thread breaking and all other problems. I have been sewing all my life and this is the worst sewing machine I have ever had.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Soraya
Would recommend to a friend? No
low-quality
4/23/2013

Customer review by FemaleinMissouri

1.0 stars 4/23/2013 by FemaleinMissouri
by FemaleinMissouri

I received this as a gift. The thread take-up kept dropping the thread, and then it would tangle in the bobbin area. Changing tension did not solve the problem. I had to keep stopping to re-thread. I sent an e-mail to Singer customer service. Two weeks went by without a response, so I sent another e-mail. I tried calling. I was on hold for an hour and then got disconnected. I gave up, returned the machine to the store, and bought a different brand. The next day I finally received an e-mail response. It was completely unhelpful and told me I hadn't threaded it correctly. I know how to thread a sewing machine. Singer is not the quality brand it used to be.

Was this review helpful? (29) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FemaleinMissouri
Would recommend to a friend? No
Disappointed
5/4/2014

Customer review by Tabbykins

1.0 stars 5/4/2014 by Tabbykins
by Tabbykins

When my over 20 year old Singer sewing machine decided to call it quits, I replaced it with this one. I was quite excited to have all of the neat little stitches at the press of a button and I love the needle threader! My first project went well and I was pleased. As soon as I started another project though, the thread kept breaking and the stitches kept getting knotted up. After checking that everything was set properly, I've come to the conclusion the machine is junk and am taking it back to the store. I'm left with a half finished project full of stitching knots and great disappointment in the Singer brand. I guess it's true that they don't make things like they used to.

Was this review helpful? (25) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tabbykins
Would recommend to a friend? No
12/25/2012

Customer review by Medana

5.0 stars 12/25/2012 by Medana
by Medana

I have owned Singer sewing machines before and although I have tried other makes I always return to Singer. This machine does everything I want to do and much more. There is also a great instructional video which is extremely helpful in getting started. The price was very reasonable too. I would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Medana
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great Sewing Machine
11/14/2013

Customer review by radiantsteve

5.0 stars 11/14/2013 by radiantsteve
by radiantsteve
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have had my Singer 5400 long enough to have completed one project and this sewing machine couldn't be easier to use and work more effortlessly. Though I am not an expert by any means I have always been thankful my Mom taught me how to sew on her old Singer. I found the instructions easy to use and complete. I find the reviews that comment otherwise inaccurate. The DVD provided was very helpful as well. So for a guy who is 61 and not sewn in years, this was a great purchase. I would highly recommend the Singer 5400.

Was this review helpful? (30) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
radiantsteve
Apple Valley, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Better than I expected for the price
4/10/2014

Customer review by SewPat

5.0 stars 4/10/2014 by SewPat
by SewPat

I bought this off the shelf in my local Wal Mart (got it for only $119.97)! Plugged it in and was ready to go. It sewed perfectly, right out of the box. It uses the same metal bobbins that my old machine used, so I didn't even have to thread the bobbin first. The bobbin loads like my old machine also. I was pleased to notice that you can do fine adjustment on the needle position, to get a perfect 1/4" seam allowance that is needed for quilting. I can't wait to try all of the decorative stitches and the buttonhole foot. Also anxious to see if it fits into my old sewing machine table.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SewPat
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Product for ALL users
12/26/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/26/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Super easy to use! I love my new machine.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
San Tan Valley, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Time Change
3/22/2016

Customer review by Happysewer

5.0 stars 3/22/2016 by Happysewer
by Happysewer

I have not sewn in 40 years and wanted a machine that could do advanced features yet easy for me to pick the craft back up. This is that machine. I spent time learning how it funtions work ie: needle moves 13 differnt steps left and right, bobbin case comes apart/back together easily and has it's own needle threader as well as 4 button holes and numerous stitches with capability to manually adjust yourself to your desired length and wide. I am very pleased with the ease of with one step the footer can be replaced and threading system in general is a breeze. Price made a difference also, so I am very pleased with the cost , which can be in anyones budget.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Happysewer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Singer model 5400 review
3/29/2013

Customer review by bigman02

4.0 stars 3/29/2013 by bigman02
by bigman02

I first had trouble getting this machine to work. The thread balled up under the bottom fabric. I checked the manual and adjusted the bobbin tension and was up and running. So far this machine has done everything I have needed to do.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bigman02
Aloha, Or
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
First 2 machines were defective!
1/21/2015

Customer review by Elshippe

2.0 stars 1/21/2015 by Elshippe
by Elshippe

I received my first machine as a Christmas gift. I went to use it and it made an odd clunk noise, which was the needle hitting the shuttle casing when it would go down. I thought, not a big deal, I will just exchange it. The next one will be perfect...wrong! Nowhere is this walmart's fault, but it is very frustrating to learn you have a second defective machine. The second one, the needle couldn't move side to side. It stayed aligned to the left. It at least sewed...kind of. Since the needle couldn't go back and forth it could sew a simple straight stitch. Now I was annoyed, so I called Singer. After an hour on hold, I finally spoke with a real person. (I was really hoping it was just an operator error this time, but had a gut feeling it was defective too.) and I was right, nothing could be done other than return the machine. I'm not sure what possessed me to even try a third machine, never am I so patient! But the next town over had one in stock so I exchanged. Thankfully, the third one works! It is a great machine, unless it's your third; then you're left with a sour taste in your mouth. I'm do love that it is simple to use and has several stitching functions.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Elshippe
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 84 total reviews
1-20 of 84 reviews