Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 257 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

257 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

257 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
187
4 stars
44
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 stars
15
1-20 of 229 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 229 total reviews
1-20 of 229 reviews
A GREAT piece of equipment...
8/13/2012

Customer review by CoastalDude

5.0 stars 8/13/2012 by CoastalDude
by CoastalDude

FINALLY!!! After trying a sony network media player(junk) and a panasonic DLNA certified Blu-Ray player (even worse junk) I have found a network connected player that behaves as though intelligent people designed it!!! The disc playback seems good. The menus are quick-moving and good looking. But the best part is that it connects to my home network with no problem and actually recognizes, reads and PLAYS pictures, video and music stored on my Windows 7 computer. And...oh my goodness...it comes with a user manual on cd? One that's actually informative? And it includes software to help make your computer DLNA compliant? Wow...takes my breath away. Obviously LG cares about their customers. If playing stored content wirelessly is important to you then DO NOT bother with any other player. THANK YOU LG!!!

Was this review helpful? (58) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CoastalDude
Brunswick, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Can Support Closed Captioning IF...
9/7/2012

Customer review by humdog85

5.0 stars 9/7/2012 by humdog85
by humdog85

We needed a DVD player that could support closed captioning (not subtitles which are imbedded on most discs, but not all unfortunately). We originally purchased a Samsung player, but it could not do captioning, and had a few quality issues. I did some online research and discovered that CC signals are analog based, and most DVD players now only support digital signals on HDMI connections which render the CC unusable. I asked in the Q & A section of this model about captioning, but got impatient :-) and didn't wait for an answer. (The official LG answer said it wouldn't work.# I went ahead and bought the LG BP620 because of good reviews and because it had RCA jacks on the back. IF you use the RCA connections, with the red, yellow and white plugs, the closed captioning WILL work (at least it did on our less-than-2-years-old Samsung TV). The key, I'm guessing, for closed captioning to work on most new DVD players is that both the player and the TV must have the RCA connections. Subtitles on the disc will work with the HDMI connections. The nice thing about Walmart is that if there is a problem returns are simple. I'm glad I'd kept my receipt and original packaging for the Samsung player. As for the LG player itself, it works well and has an easy to read and use remote. Using the RCA connections does degrade the picture quality slightly- as opposed to the HDMI connections, but, if captioning is needed, it is well worth the small difference in quality. Hopefully, someone will soon figure out how to send captioning signals digitally....

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
humdog85
SW Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best Out There
11/13/2012

Customer review by courtam

5.0 stars 11/13/2012 by courtam
by courtam

I have tried out blu ray 3d players from many of the manufacturers to compare picture and sound. The Sony s590 was a pain setting up and the results weren't that great. I also tried Panasonic, and Vizio. I can tell you that without a doubt the LG 620 is the best one out there. Some of my regular dvd's look close to blu ray quality rather than just regular dvds. Blu rays look incredible. Netflix, Pandora, and all the other premium apps look stunning on this player. I am running my 620 using the wireless option. I did try wired as well and there wasn't any noticeable difference in my eyes. I have had my LG for a couple of weeks now and I am very satisfied with it. I really can't find anything about this product that I don't like. It performs fabulously. Take it from a guy who studies electronics everyday. I read all the reviews and then I try a brand and model out. If I don't like something about it to where I'm unhappy with it, I return it and try a different brand. I know a good picture when I see one and know good sound when I here it. I am using the hdmi cable to go from the player directly to my hd tv. I just can't imagine anything out there that I haven't tried that could look this good and have such a good menu system,etc. It's not perfect , but I would say that for my needs it's very close. Do try this model if you are looking for blu ray 3d. If you are unhappy with it, you must have been unlucky enough to have gotten a defective unit. Otherwise, you will love this player. I got mine at Walmart for under $120. It's the best out there for me at the present model year of 2012.

Was this review helpful? (33) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
courtam
Omaha, Ne.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Does not work like it should
1/3/2013

Customer review by ulpdaddy

1.0 stars 1/3/2013 by ulpdaddy
by ulpdaddy

I bought this player because of reviews on the internet. I am disappointed. First the wi-fi will not connect to my network. I spoke with LG customer service. They said that the player needed to be in the same room as the router and no more that 20 feet away. Well that is pointless to have wi-fi if that is the case. My router is about 20 feet away, but in another room. Anyway wi-fi does not work. Second, the player freezes at times. I have to unplug it and plug back in to reset it. Not fun to climb behind my entertainment unit and unplug. I spoke to LG customer service and they suggested I return it for another unit. I am going to replace it with something else. Maybe a Sony. I will say that when it played DVD's and BluRay disks it worked great except for the freezing. 3D was nice as well. I would not recommend this player.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ulpdaddy
Suwanee, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Blu-Ray with 3D and network connectivity
7/16/2012

Customer review by Villager7

5.0 stars 7/16/2012 by Villager7
by Villager7

Works well. Excellent picture quality. Wi-Fi connectivity is easily set up.

Was this review helpful? (25) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Villager7
CALIFORNIA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Plays ZONE 2 DVD's
11/5/2012

Customer review by Tony59aa

4.0 stars 11/5/2012 by Tony59aa
by Tony59aa

I purchased this unit originally for the WIFI yet the specs say it will play ALL regions for DVD (Have not tried Blu Ray so watch out). I ordered a Concert DVD legally from England that I could not get in the U.S. and this is the ONLY player in my house that plays my European Region DVD's NO PROBLEMS. The other top brand did not. I did find that it locked up after about 55 minutes while watching a Blu Ray movie. Asked the person in electronics and he said it was over heating. When I went to get it and take it back I found that it was hot not even turned on. Stupidly I had put it on top of my DVR and it was heating up the player! Moved it elsewhere and works great now!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tony59aa
Duncan, Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great product for value
12/22/2012

Customer review by ElectronicsHappy

4.0 stars 12/22/2012 by ElectronicsHappy
by ElectronicsHappy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have checked with the Walmart other reviews and product specification before purchasing this product. So far it has been a great addition to my home theather system. Very easy to set up, the WI FI works regularly, movies play well, picture quality is really well, and LG is one of a best brand I have heard and I now believe it. However, some movies still not full screen picture. Don't know what would be the reason. Overall, a great purchase and happy to have LG brand in my collection. Thanks...

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ElectronicsHappy
Columbus, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
K7GDM-Missing Two MB's of Memory?
1/18/2013

Customer review by K7GDM

2.0 stars 1/18/2013 by K7GDM
by K7GDM
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Upon popping in a Blu-ray disc I received a notice that the machine was missing 2mb's of RAM. What? I don't know what RAM and why RAM is not on board, but this was a huge disappointment. After downloading the PDF help file, I'm still not pleased with the lack of required memory to play, I'm just guessing, a Blu-ray 3D movie. How does one add the needed RAM? I'm a very skilled and licensed Amateur Radio Operator. I know my way around radios and the associated electronic equipment found in commercial and Ham radio repeater sites and consumer electronics. Dare I take a screw driver and crack the case? Thereby voiding the warranty? Why was this not mentioned on the box or corresponding web page prior to my purchase? Before I buy a piece of equipment, I glean all information needed to satisfy my self that it has what I'm after.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
K7GDM
Great Falls, MT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I love this LG 3D Blu-ray!
9/2/2012

Customer review by AppreciativeCustomer

5.0 stars 9/2/2012 by AppreciativeCustomer
by AppreciativeCustomer

I love this Blu-ray. It meets all my needs & more. No problem setting up to my Wifi. It actually has more features than I need. I'm only using for Netflix & Blu-ray dvd. The HDMI cord is sold separately, but this reasonably priced. I would highly recommend this LG product. I don't have any problems thus far.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AppreciativeCustomer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great at first but failed after 4 1/2 months.
11/29/2012

Customer review by crazymommy5

1.0 stars 11/29/2012 by crazymommy5
by crazymommy5

This started out great. Played all blu rays great. Streamed netflix great! Then after only 4 1/2 months started freezing up every time we use it. You have to unplug it to get it to unfreeze. Of course there is only a 90 day labor warranty. So we waisted our money with this one.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
crazymommy5
Harrisburgh,il
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
One of the very best players
1/9/2013

Customer review by Vkanth

5.0 stars 1/9/2013 by Vkanth
by Vkanth

The picture quality of blu ray disks is stunning. DVD up scaling is superior without being blocky, patchy or blurred or stretched. The sound clarity is superb. The remote is easy to use with the useful Audio button prominent to switch between audio formats, I.e Dolby TrueHD and DTS HD Master Audio etc. It starts in a few seconds and from the time you put a BR disk to the first picture appearance is about 6 seconds. The front is pretty sleek and discrete, the counter display could've been a little better. The online content under premium apps is very limited, I.e. there's only the BBC iPlayer and Youtube as free service available. There are a couple of other not so interesting free services such as cine trailers and some art museum, services such as Netflix and Lovefilm will need an account to even get in. Overall very satisfied with the purchase and will definitely recommend this product. Well done LG!

Vkanth
London, UK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Doesn't work..
8/4/2012

Customer review by Frailmoon

1.0 stars 8/4/2012 by Frailmoon
by Frailmoon

Brought the player home hooked it up all was good for first couple of days.. then it wouldn't play some DVDs or Blurays, the eject would stick and wouldnt load or it would stick and not open. I would try to turn the player on/off to get the Bluray to load and nothing would happen. I had to unplug the player in order to get it to turn off and accept/eject my discs. Def returning for a diff product!

Was this review helpful? (18) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Frailmoon
Centralia, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Poor product
11/14/2012

Customer review by Anaverageguy

1.0 stars 11/14/2012 by Anaverageguy
by Anaverageguy

It freezes constantly like an old computer, and I have to unplug it each time which is a huge pain. And if you turn it on with a disc in it none of the buttons work until you get to the menu screen of the DVD, so if you want netflix you have to wait through previews and whatever else is on the DVD. I don't recommend this at all.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Anaverageguy
Would recommend to a friend? No
12/17/2012

Customer review by Hammey

5.0 stars 12/17/2012 by Hammey
by Hammey

Excellent product and works as advertised. Starts blurays fast and setup to local wifi was a breeze.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hammey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1/21/2013

Customer review by LazydogTN

4.0 stars 1/21/2013 by LazydogTN
by LazydogTN
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Apps are pretty lame, but it is a nice Blu-ray player. Got it because I have an LG TV and sound bar and I naively thought I could do most things from one remote - wrong. Was pleasantly surprised when I ordered on-line for store pickup and the price was $40 less in the store and Walmart automatically adjusted the price.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LazydogTN
Knoxville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Just the right player
11/28/2012

Customer review by Jerry

4.0 stars 11/28/2012 by Jerry
by Jerry

This player is connected to a LG 32" 1080P HDTV through HDMI and to a theater system through optical cable We watch movies at least once a week and sometimes more, either from our DVD and now BLU Ray collection and movies from Net Flix. The great thing about his player in HD is now we can really get the movie theater experience with superior image quality and audio. The set up wasn't too bad, but a little more involved than setting up a DVD player . I have set up the internet feature and if I want I can access the premium content in the future. I also have connection to our computers and can watch prepared slide show from our photo's and as well as individual photo's on our HDTV. One feature we had on our previous DVD players was a zoom button on the remote to remove the black bars which is not available on this player. It is annoying to expect to find a feature like this in each movies et up but so far on the few movies from our collection that we have reviewed there is no zoom feature included. This should be a mandatory feature that is still included on current DVD and Blu Ray players.

Jerry
Erie, PA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Poor quality control
1/17/2013

Customer review by pleasantfiction

1.0 stars 1/17/2013 by pleasantfiction
by pleasantfiction

I've had two of these now -- the first one wouldn't play any discs at all, and the second one made a static / glitchy sound every few seconds. I really wanted to like this LG 3D Blu-Ray player because having one the same brand as my TV would have been convenient for the remote control. After having two faulty units in a row I'm afraid the quality just isn't there, though. I did update the firmware on both models just in case that was the issue, but that didn't help at all.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pleasantfiction
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Best Blu-Ray Player I've Owned
1/25/2015

Customer review by Rickh2012

5.0 stars 1/25/2015 by Rickh2012
by Rickh2012

I've owned several Blu-ray players since they have hit the market, and the LG players (I own two# are the best. LG continually sends updates to the players so they play the latest discs #something Sony and Samsung stopped after about six months when their new players came out), LG upscaling truly works...hard to tell the difference between a DVD and Blu-ray and the smart apps that are built in are great since it allows you to play your streaming videos through your stereo/sound system and take advantage of your 5.1 or 7.1 sound system instead of just your tv or tv "surround sound". But truly the best of all and the main reason you buy a disc player in the first place is the fact that it plays almost any disc you put in. I've played PAL discs from England, some homemade BD, some mkv discs and DVDs, and Blu-rays from everywhere, including some region 1 and region free, and so far except for one or two damaged discs, they have all played. I've even played DVDs that wouldn't play on any other DVD player with no problems. I've owned this one for over a year now and when I decide to upgrade to a 4K player, I'll be looking for a LG one to replace this one or my other one.

Rickh2012
TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice Blu-Ray 3D Player
1/7/2013

Customer review by Gezawy

5.0 stars 1/7/2013 by Gezawy
by Gezawy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great Blu-Ray 3D player. Picture is sharp. Online Applications are great. You can access you Media Drives through your Home Network Wired or Wireless. I recommend upgrading Wireframe.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gezawy
San Francisco, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
LG BD645 3D Blu-ray Disc Player
12/11/2012

Customer review by RayJ

1.0 stars 12/11/2012 by RayJ
by RayJ

I got this unit as part of a package with a 3D LED TV, and a set of 4 glasses. After almost a month it stopped working. (The tv still works great). I would rather not get the player included and just save some $$ on the TV purchase.I played 3 blueray disc and about 8 dvd disc before it quit working, started making loud grinding noises then the disc would start spinning very fast, whirling around, when you pushed eject and the drawer was opening you could see the disc spinning very fast,the blueray disc would make grinding noises , sounded like the disc were breaking then an error message came up on the panel. took it to bestbuy to look at, they did an update and said that didnt fix it. instad of a free junk blueray player, i would of enjoyed a price discount on the tv which still works fine. blueray player lasted about a month out of the box

RayJ
topeka
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 229 total reviews
1-20 of 229 reviews