Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 257 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

257 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

257 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
187
4 stars
44
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 stars
15
1-20 of 229 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 229 total reviews
1-20 of 229 reviews
A GREAT piece of equipment...
8/13/2012

Customer review by CoastalDude

5.0 stars 8/13/2012 by CoastalDude
by CoastalDude

FINALLY!!! After trying a sony network media player(junk) and a panasonic DLNA certified Blu-Ray player (even worse junk) I have found a network connected player that behaves as though intelligent people designed it!!! The disc playback seems good. The menus are quick-moving and good looking. But the best part is that it connects to my home network with no problem and actually recognizes, reads and PLAYS pictures, video and music stored on my Windows 7 computer. And...oh my goodness...it comes with a user manual on cd? One that's actually informative? And it includes software to help make your computer DLNA compliant? Wow...takes my breath away. Obviously LG cares about their customers. If playing stored content wirelessly is important to you then DO NOT bother with any other player. THANK YOU LG!!!

Was this review helpful? (58) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CoastalDude
Brunswick, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best Out There
11/13/2012

Customer review by courtam

5.0 stars 11/13/2012 by courtam
by courtam

I have tried out blu ray 3d players from many of the manufacturers to compare picture and sound. The Sony s590 was a pain setting up and the results weren't that great. I also tried Panasonic, and Vizio. I can tell you that without a doubt the LG 620 is the best one out there. Some of my regular dvd's look close to blu ray quality rather than just regular dvds. Blu rays look incredible. Netflix, Pandora, and all the other premium apps look stunning on this player. I am running my 620 using the wireless option. I did try wired as well and there wasn't any noticeable difference in my eyes. I have had my LG for a couple of weeks now and I am very satisfied with it. I really can't find anything about this product that I don't like. It performs fabulously. Take it from a guy who studies electronics everyday. I read all the reviews and then I try a brand and model out. If I don't like something about it to where I'm unhappy with it, I return it and try a different brand. I know a good picture when I see one and know good sound when I here it. I am using the hdmi cable to go from the player directly to my hd tv. I just can't imagine anything out there that I haven't tried that could look this good and have such a good menu system,etc. It's not perfect , but I would say that for my needs it's very close. Do try this model if you are looking for blu ray 3d. If you are unhappy with it, you must have been unlucky enough to have gotten a defective unit. Otherwise, you will love this player. I got mine at Walmart for under $120. It's the best out there for me at the present model year of 2012.

Was this review helpful? (33) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
courtam
Omaha, Ne.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Blu-Ray with 3D and network connectivity
7/16/2012

Customer review by Villager7

5.0 stars 7/16/2012 by Villager7
by Villager7

Works well. Excellent picture quality. Wi-Fi connectivity is easily set up.

Was this review helpful? (25) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Villager7
CALIFORNIA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Can Support Closed Captioning IF...
9/7/2012

Customer review by humdog85

5.0 stars 9/7/2012 by humdog85
by humdog85

We needed a DVD player that could support closed captioning (not subtitles which are imbedded on most discs, but not all unfortunately). We originally purchased a Samsung player, but it could not do captioning, and had a few quality issues. I did some online research and discovered that CC signals are analog based, and most DVD players now only support digital signals on HDMI connections which render the CC unusable. I asked in the Q & A section of this model about captioning, but got impatient :-) and didn't wait for an answer. (The official LG answer said it wouldn't work.# I went ahead and bought the LG BP620 because of good reviews and because it had RCA jacks on the back. IF you use the RCA connections, with the red, yellow and white plugs, the closed captioning WILL work (at least it did on our less-than-2-years-old Samsung TV). The key, I'm guessing, for closed captioning to work on most new DVD players is that both the player and the TV must have the RCA connections. Subtitles on the disc will work with the HDMI connections. The nice thing about Walmart is that if there is a problem returns are simple. I'm glad I'd kept my receipt and original packaging for the Samsung player. As for the LG player itself, it works well and has an easy to read and use remote. Using the RCA connections does degrade the picture quality slightly- as opposed to the HDMI connections, but, if captioning is needed, it is well worth the small difference in quality. Hopefully, someone will soon figure out how to send captioning signals digitally....

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
humdog85
SW Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Doesn't work..
8/4/2012

Customer review by Frailmoon

1.0 stars 8/4/2012 by Frailmoon
by Frailmoon

Brought the player home hooked it up all was good for first couple of days.. then it wouldn't play some DVDs or Blurays, the eject would stick and wouldnt load or it would stick and not open. I would try to turn the player on/off to get the Bluray to load and nothing would happen. I had to unplug the player in order to get it to turn off and accept/eject my discs. Def returning for a diff product!

Was this review helpful? (18) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Frailmoon
Centralia, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great at first but failed after 4 1/2 months.
11/29/2012

Customer review by crazymommy5

1.0 stars 11/29/2012 by crazymommy5
by crazymommy5

This started out great. Played all blu rays great. Streamed netflix great! Then after only 4 1/2 months started freezing up every time we use it. You have to unplug it to get it to unfreeze. Of course there is only a 90 day labor warranty. So we waisted our money with this one.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
crazymommy5
Harrisburgh,il
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Poor product
11/14/2012

Customer review by Anaverageguy

1.0 stars 11/14/2012 by Anaverageguy
by Anaverageguy

It freezes constantly like an old computer, and I have to unplug it each time which is a huge pain. And if you turn it on with a disc in it none of the buttons work until you get to the menu screen of the DVD, so if you want netflix you have to wait through previews and whatever else is on the DVD. I don't recommend this at all.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Anaverageguy
Would recommend to a friend? No
I love this LG 3D Blu-ray!
9/2/2012

Customer review by AppreciativeCustomer

5.0 stars 9/2/2012 by AppreciativeCustomer
by AppreciativeCustomer

I love this Blu-ray. It meets all my needs & more. No problem setting up to my Wifi. It actually has more features than I need. I'm only using for Netflix & Blu-ray dvd. The HDMI cord is sold separately, but this reasonably priced. I would highly recommend this LG product. I don't have any problems thus far.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AppreciativeCustomer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product for value
12/22/2012

Customer review by ElectronicsHappy

4.0 stars 12/22/2012 by ElectronicsHappy
by ElectronicsHappy

I have checked with the Walmart other reviews and product specification before purchasing this product. So far it has been a great addition to my home theather system. Very easy to set up, the WI FI works regularly, movies play well, picture quality is really well, and LG is one of a best brand I have heard and I now believe it. However, some movies still not full screen picture. Don't know what would be the reason. Overall, a great purchase and happy to have LG brand in my collection. Thanks...

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ElectronicsHappy
Columbus, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Plays ZONE 2 DVD's
11/5/2012

Customer review by Tony59aa

4.0 stars 11/5/2012 by Tony59aa
by Tony59aa

I purchased this unit originally for the WIFI yet the specs say it will play ALL regions for DVD (Have not tried Blu Ray so watch out). I ordered a Concert DVD legally from England that I could not get in the U.S. and this is the ONLY player in my house that plays my European Region DVD's NO PROBLEMS. The other top brand did not. I did find that it locked up after about 55 minutes while watching a Blu Ray movie. Asked the person in electronics and he said it was over heating. When I went to get it and take it back I found that it was hot not even turned on. Stupidly I had put it on top of my DVR and it was heating up the player! Moved it elsewhere and works great now!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tony59aa
Duncan, Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
12/17/2012

Customer review by Hammey

5.0 stars 12/17/2012 by Hammey
by Hammey

Excellent product and works as advertised. Starts blurays fast and setup to local wifi was a breeze.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hammey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Does not work like it should
1/3/2013

Customer review by ulpdaddy

1.0 stars 1/3/2013 by ulpdaddy
by ulpdaddy

I bought this player because of reviews on the internet. I am disappointed. First the wi-fi will not connect to my network. I spoke with LG customer service. They said that the player needed to be in the same room as the router and no more that 20 feet away. Well that is pointless to have wi-fi if that is the case. My router is about 20 feet away, but in another room. Anyway wi-fi does not work. Second, the player freezes at times. I have to unplug it and plug back in to reset it. Not fun to climb behind my entertainment unit and unplug. I spoke to LG customer service and they suggested I return it for another unit. I am going to replace it with something else. Maybe a Sony. I will say that when it played DVD's and BluRay disks it worked great except for the freezing. 3D was nice as well. I would not recommend this player.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ulpdaddy
Suwanee, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
K7GDM-Missing Two MB's of Memory?
1/18/2013

Customer review by K7GDM

2.0 stars 1/18/2013 by K7GDM
by K7GDM

Upon popping in a Blu-ray disc I received a notice that the machine was missing 2mb's of RAM. What? I don't know what RAM and why RAM is not on board, but this was a huge disappointment. After downloading the PDF help file, I'm still not pleased with the lack of required memory to play, I'm just guessing, a Blu-ray 3D movie. How does one add the needed RAM? I'm a very skilled and licensed Amateur Radio Operator. I know my way around radios and the associated electronic equipment found in commercial and Ham radio repeater sites and consumer electronics. Dare I take a screw driver and crack the case? Thereby voiding the warranty? Why was this not mentioned on the box or corresponding web page prior to my purchase? Before I buy a piece of equipment, I glean all information needed to satisfy my self that it has what I'm after.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
K7GDM
Great Falls, MT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/21/2013

Customer review by LazydogTN

4.0 stars 1/21/2013 by LazydogTN
by LazydogTN

Apps are pretty lame, but it is a nice Blu-ray player. Got it because I have an LG TV and sound bar and I naively thought I could do most things from one remote - wrong. Was pleasantly surprised when I ordered on-line for store pickup and the price was $40 less in the store and Walmart automatically adjusted the price.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LazydogTN
Knoxville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice Blu-Ray 3D Player
1/7/2013

Customer review by Gezawy

5.0 stars 1/7/2013 by Gezawy
by Gezawy

Great Blu-Ray 3D player. Picture is sharp. Online Applications are great. You can access you Media Drives through your Home Network Wired or Wireless. I recommend upgrading Wireframe.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gezawy
San Francisco, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
BEST yet!!!
1/9/2013

Customer review by dlmcq

5.0 stars 1/9/2013 by dlmcq
by dlmcq

I purchased this on Christmas Eve after being disappointed with another brand, and am thrilled with this device!!!!! Highly recommend it for the value, quality and ease of setup.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dlmcq
Manchester, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Poor quality control
1/17/2013

Customer review by pleasantfiction

1.0 stars 1/17/2013 by pleasantfiction
by pleasantfiction

I've had two of these now -- the first one wouldn't play any discs at all, and the second one made a static / glitchy sound every few seconds. I really wanted to like this LG 3D Blu-Ray player because having one the same brand as my TV would have been convenient for the remote control. After having two faulty units in a row I'm afraid the quality just isn't there, though. I did update the firmware on both models just in case that was the issue, but that didn't help at all.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pleasantfiction
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Excellent picture quality and 3D is awesome.
1/2/2013

Customer review by TCm74

5.0 stars 1/2/2013 by TCm74
by TCm74

Great picture quality and 3D viewing is awesome. For 3D movie streaming, you will need a smart DVD player with this unit however. LG has one of these also that is easy to set up. ROKU does not stream 3D.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TCm74
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Even a "non tech person can do it". Love it!!!!!
1/5/2013

Customer review by QC1951

5.0 stars 1/5/2013 by QC1951
by QC1951

Really enjoy watching movies on it which I get from Netflix. I don't even have to leave home. The wi-fi feature is great! Saved enough money already by not going to the movie theatre to pay for it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
QC1951
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/6/2013

Customer review by AUTLynn

5.0 stars 1/6/2013 by AUTLynn
by AUTLynn

The blu-ray works great. As for the apps, we have only used Netflix. It works great too!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AUTLynn
FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 229 total reviews
1-20 of 229 reviews