Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 88 reviews | 2.3 out of 5

2.5 stars

88 reviews | 2.3 out of 5

2.5 stars

88 reviews | 2.3 out of 5

30%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
19
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
7
1 stars
51
1-20 of 86 total reviews
30%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 86 total reviews
1-20 of 86 reviews
AVOID THIS PRODUCT
6/24/2012

Customer review by kdubya53

1.0 stars 6/24/2012 by kdubya53
by kdubya53

So very disapointed. Oster used to be a brand one could trust. Not so with this model. Cumbersome procedure required to use large food chute. You have unlatch the safety lock, then lift the pusher out of the opening before being able to open the chute for the next batch. This takes two hands. That is not the half of it. Tried shredding cheese exactly as the directions stated. Placed cheese in freezer for 30 minutes to firm. Didn't even get two ounces shredded when the internal safety clutch gave up and the shredding disc stopped turning. IMHO, this is one of the most overpriced pieces of prep equipment available. Looks good sitting on the counter, but what good is that when the object was to make food prep fast, easy and dependable.

Was this review helpful? (38) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kdubya53
Norton Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great machine
5/4/2012

Customer review by thegreatcook

5.0 stars 5/4/2012 by thegreatcook
by thegreatcook

Fantasic machine no lack of power here. I f I had to complaine. it would be getting to the wide mouth door. you have to lift the food pusher then unlock the door then lift the door to open. qiite in conveniant if your processing a lot of large veggies. But for safety sake I understand.

Was this review helpful? (42) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thegreatcook
5/12/2012

Customer review by shellgame

5.0 stars 5/12/2012 by shellgame
by shellgame

This product is easy to use and easy to clean. My old one was hard to use and messy because it was a hassle to get the processed food out of it. I am so glad I made this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (27) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shellgame
St. Petersburg, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Do not buy!
8/26/2012

Customer review by mdo123

1.0 stars 8/26/2012 by mdo123
by mdo123

I bought this food processor from Walmart and expected it to be able to shred cheese, chop nuts, slice veggies, etc. like any food processor should. When I tried to chop nuts, it worked at first and then the blade would just stop rotating. I took everything out and tried the blade on its own without food in it and it would work as it should. As soon as food was placed in it it stopped rotating and I couldn't finish the chopping. I also tried to use it to shred cheese which it couldn't do and the blade would stop spinning. When I tried to slice veggies (followed the instructions in manual), it struggled and would stop spinning once again. Very disappointing purchase as it looks great and should work but doesn't. I have only used it about 3-4 times. My second time using it I started having problems. I am now looking to exercise the warranty and get my money back! Today I searched online to see if others were having problems and found the very same problems I'm having described by other buyers. Buyer beware!!!

Was this review helpful? (30) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mdo123
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Don't Waste Your Money
11/15/2013

Customer review by Frustratedchef

1.0 stars 11/15/2013 by Frustratedchef
by Frustratedchef

Cheap plastic parts will not last! I have owned this for less than a year and the plastic pieces (on the lid assembly) have already broken in two separate places. It has never been dropped and always handled with care. Because this was a piece of junk made especially for Wal-Mart stores one cannot purchase replacement parts for it. My advice is to keep shopping, because you'll regret the purchase of this one.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Frustratedchef
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Good product overall
6/8/2012

Customer review by jasuz7

4.0 stars 6/8/2012 by jasuz7
by jasuz7

We have used this food processor several times now and have owned it for 1 month. It processes large batches nicely. Small batches don't turn out as well even in the small bowl provided. I make pesto from scratch & use the amount of basil grown in our garden- usually makes about 1 cup and it wouldn't process it in this little bowl- much prefer my mini one for that but it's broken and this was supposed to replace that (and do more). Otherwise, it is a good machine & it looks great. My only other complaint is the design of the top- extra parts to wash over the standard lid designs. Little bit of a pain since I do all the dish washing at our house. One great thing about the large bowl is that it can handle quite a lot of liquids with no problems (other products seem to lack in this area based on other reviews). Good product & great price.

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jasuz7
Birmingham, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Good Processor - Customer Service Very Prompt
4/23/2014

Customer review by RYAN123SMITH

5.0 stars 4/23/2014 by RYAN123SMITH
by RYAN123SMITH

Our food processor performed well until it quit working after about two years. Emailed Oster, gave them a few numbers from the unit - new one coming in a few days. All done by email and quick responses. So a very reasonably priced unit with a company actually backing their warranty without making it difficult.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RYAN123SMITH
Clarksville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Poor Design
8/27/2012

Customer review by Radolf

1.0 stars 8/27/2012 by Radolf
by Radolf

Here I am rating the food processor alone and not the Wal-Mart service or ship to store which has always been 5 star for me. I ordered this food processor online to be shipped to my designated Wal-Mart store. The unit arrived exactly as was promised. This unit is not available in the same Wal-Mart store shelf. I have selected this unit mainly because of its large 14 cup capacity and the additional 5 cup for smaller jobs. I use the food processor mostly for chopping and shredding and the recopies that I make necessitate uniform chop or shredding piece of vegetables. I have used this unit for two weeks. Overall description: The plastic bowls are thinner than any food processor I have seen so far and I am certain is not gong to last very long. There are two blades small for 5 cup bowl and a large one for the 14 cup. Although the blades for the 5 cup is pressed and pinned down to the plastic structure, the large blade is simply pressed between two thin plastic layers and is not pinned down. It looks to me that the blade will not last for the life of the food processor especially if someone would use it to mix dough. The top food feeding chute is connected by plastic hinge to the cover. It is difficult to clean and wash. And if your are not supper careful, the could easily break. This food processor is very poorly designed to say the best. The 5 cup processor sits on the top of the 14 cup bowl. So it means when you use the 5 cup bowl you need to wash the 14 cup bowl too even though you are not using the 14 cup bowl. The 5 cup food processor is just useless because it does not get you anything near uniform cutting or chopping. It is very poorly designed. The small blade cannot mix the ingredients uniformly - it does not pull the ingredients from the top to the bottom of the bowl. It simply makes a puree at the bottom whereas the pieces on the top are still large and rotating. The 14 cup bowl is performing nearly the same but not as poorly, however, it still did not get me a satisfactory result. My shredded vegetable is a mix of puree and chunks of vegetable. If you are liquefying any ingredients in this 14 cup bowl, don't expect a full 14 cup capacity. The best you can get is 9 cup capacity because the middle hallow cylinder that holds the blades is only 2/3 height of the bowl. Any liquefying ingredients that exceed about 9 cup, would drain through the middle cylinder hole. I did not use the unit to shred cheese. If your use would be mainly to make puree, this unit should work for you. If I had a chance to inspect this food processor on the Wal-Mart shelf, I would have not chosen it. I am returning it to Wal-Mart for full refund to try the 12 Cup Hamilton Beach.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Radolf
San Jose, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Do not buy, junk
11/26/2013

Customer review by hansvdb

1.0 stars 11/26/2013 by hansvdb
by hansvdb

This unit's lid with a safety interlock broke after only 4 uses. Worse yet the company does not even respond to my several requests for a replacement part. Lousy product, worse customer support. Will get the "ninja" next it has good reviews, no more oster or Jardin products for us!

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hansvdb
snow hill, md
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
DON'T buy it...BIG disappointment!
12/11/2013

Customer review by BigLuv4Walmart

1.0 stars 12/11/2013 by BigLuv4Walmart
by BigLuv4Walmart

When it worked, it functioned well. But that didn't last very long. I used the food processor only a few times before it stopped working completely. My biggest complaint is the locking mechanism. I had to fight every time I used the product. For some reason it was difficult to get the top on and off. Being plastic, I was afraid to bang on it too hard, but that was the only way to loosen it enough to get my food out of the thing! The last time I tried to use is was the night before Thanksgiving when I attempted to shread some cheese. Of all times, my food processor decided to not work at all. So terribly frustrating. I tried many times, and got no sound or movement at all. I will be returning this hunk of junk to Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BigLuv4Walmart
Denton, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Garbage
7/10/2012

Customer review by Machasom

1.0 stars 7/10/2012 by Machasom
by Machasom

If I could give this -5 stars I would. It stopped working after not even 1/2 an Hour. The motor would spin but the blade wouldn't. I got it because it was the only 1 Walmart had in stock(wanted to get another Hamilton Beach). We previously had a Hamilton beach which lasted for 2 years under heavy use and were happy with it but it finally died in the middle of cooking. We needed a replacement right now and got this one thinking it would do the job. Boy were we wrong. Steer clear if this one.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Machasom
NH, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Bowl Cracked
11/8/2013

Customer review by heathadawn74

2.0 stars 11/8/2013 by heathadawn74
by heathadawn74

The bowl and the lid have both cracked. I might be willing to give this item a better review if I could order replacement parts from the manufacturer. However, as this is a Walmart exclusive, that option is not available from Oster. So now in order to have a bowl that doesn't leak and a lid that stays on properly I have to purchase a whole new food processor.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
heathadawn74
Aberdeen, MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Fabulous Food Processor!
11/2/2012

Customer review by SuperAmma

5.0 stars 11/2/2012 by SuperAmma
by SuperAmma

It's a wonderful food processor that I have ever had. It does all my vegetable slicing, cubing, mincing, shredding, etc very quickly and perfectly. It really made my life easier by finishing my cooking very fast. The other good thing, all the parts are dishwasher and hence no pain in cleaning and washing. It's designed very well as it doesn't mess up. It has different bowl size and so we can use any size depending upon our quantity preparation. I love it and worth buying it.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SuperAmma
Foster City, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
Staff sparks
Food Processor has made summer canning much easier
7/10/2012

Customer review by bluewaterdreams

5.0 stars 7/10/2012 by bluewaterdreams
by bluewaterdreams

The Oster Food Processor is large enough to cut several quarts at a time and sharp enough to cut up--without squashing--very ripe Homestead tomatoes. It decreased my pre-processing time for the tomatoes by at least half. I have also used it to process roasted pumpkin and squash and it did great with large batches, so I made a few pies and we had some left over to freeze. As well as being an efficient and effective kitchen appliance, it looks very nice with the brushed stainless steel base.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bluewaterdreams
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Stay away from this product its a poor bargain
5/5/2013

Customer review by Coloradoc

1.0 stars 5/5/2013 by Coloradoc
by Coloradoc

I purchased this product about 8 months ago to replace my previous food processor which lasted 10 years. This lasted about 6 months when it began cracking, the bottom then began to split leaving the plastic part unstable when mounted to the motor. It is a pain to wash and water gets caught in the handle that doesn't come apart, leaving you with small amounts of water and soap in the handle that drys in there making it look dirty. Which it might have bacteria. The grater for cheese and veggies is horrible, it gets jammed up even when lightly pushing. All and all I would not purchase this again or any other food processor from this company. Do they stand behind their product? That is yet to be seen I am in negotiation with them about whether they will replace the plastic top. If it cannot stand up to food being spun in it they shouldn't make the top out of that material.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Coloradoc
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Can't remove lid
2/26/2014

Customer review by adnahsl

2.0 stars 2/26/2014 by adnahsl
by adnahsl

I bought this a few months ago, and have used it 3 or 4 times. The second-to-last time, I placed the lid on and chopped up some cauliflower. When I wanted to empty it, I couldn't remove the lid. There were no food particles anywhere near where the lid rotates onto the bowl, and I could see nothing else that would prevent it from coming off. Or budging at all for that matter. I worked on it for half an hour, tried EVERYTHING to get it off, and then my husband worked on it as well. After fifteen minutes, he got it off. This happened again the next time I used it, but the lid would NOT come off. AT ALL. I looked for replacement parts, and couldn't find anything online. This worked great at doing what I needed it to, but it is useless now that the lid is permanent. Such a waste.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
adnahsl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per month
Piece of Garbage
12/23/2013

Customer review by DingoDan

1.0 stars 12/23/2013 by DingoDan
by DingoDan

Bought one today to make Italian fig cookies. Lasted on batch and motor died. Wow. Lifetime? Of what? A mayfly?

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DingoDan
Ware, Ma
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Didn't last long!
2/8/2014

Customer review by nanamary518

2.0 stars 2/8/2014 by nanamary518
by nanamary518

Does the job but always had issues with the lid locking. Less than a year after I bought it the lid locking device cracked, and I can't find a replacement lid even through Oster, so although the rest of the unit looks nice it is a useless piece of metal/plastic.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nanamary518
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Hero to Zero
8/26/2012

Customer review by WindWitch

1.0 stars 8/26/2012 by WindWitch
by WindWitch

I purchased this machine SEVEN days ago. It had all the features I wanted and it looked great. It definately had the power to do the job. But, I found it to be clumsy to use, extremely messy, irritating in the way you had to pull this, push that, click this, and lock this. After using it three times I was so unhappy with it that I was contemplating taking it back but did not feel that was the right thing to do just because I was beginning to hate the machine. Well, the problem was solved for me this morning when it quit working while slicing boiled eggs. There is no way I would put my friends through this aggravation hence I most certainly would not recommend it to anyone (unless I really disliked them) !!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WindWitch
Eastern Plains, Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Find something else
2/16/2014

Customer review by Jayw341

1.0 stars 2/16/2014 by Jayw341
by Jayw341

I received this as a Christmas present to replace a very old and broken smaller food processor. The motor stopped working the second time it was used. I have the receipt from the gift giver and hope that Walmart will accept it as a return.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jayw341
Milwaukee, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
1-20 of 86 total reviews
1-20 of 86 reviews