Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 112 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

112 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

112 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

66%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
42
4 stars
26
3 stars
8
2 stars
9
1 stars
27
1-20 of 110 total reviews
66%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 110 total reviews
1-20 of 110 reviews
A Lean Mean Toasting Machine
5/9/2012

Customer review by ItsalwaysFriday4me

5.0 stars 5/9/2012 by ItsalwaysFriday4me
by ItsalwaysFriday4me

This is an elegant and sleek toaster. The controls are easy and the design is very professional. In our house, we are constantly toasting bagels, muffins, and breads. The last model finally died earlier this week. This model is somewhat hard to find. We had to drive 20 miles one way to find it. Make sure to read the directions and turn it on and go throuh a couple of heating cycles to get rid of the new toaster smell and possible dust inside.

Was this review helpful? (70) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ItsalwaysFriday4me
Mission, Texas
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Top 100 contributor
Waste of money
7/19/2012

Customer review by Pepstar

1.0 stars 7/19/2012 by Pepstar
by Pepstar

I purchased this toaster and the element that pops the toast up broke after two uses that week. I returned it the following weekend for a replacement unit, brought it home and right out of the box, none of the buttons worked and it wouldn't heat up. I will be returning it again this weekend for my money back. When it worked the two times before it broke, it seemed to toast well and I liked the idea of the longer slots for odd sized bread slices but for the money, I expected better performance from a toaster that boasts "Built For Life".

Was this review helpful? (21) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pepstar
Prescott Valley, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Thumbs Down
6/29/2012

Customer review by Starrphyre

1.0 stars 6/29/2012 by Starrphyre
by Starrphyre

Toaster is a piece of junk. I am returning it ASAP. It burns the edges of bread black and leaves middle of bread untoasted. I tried to toast several different kinds of bread and tried putting the bread in different positions in the slots. Nothing worked.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Starrphyre
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Love this Toaster!
11/25/2013

Customer review by PlanetWeidknecht

5.0 stars 11/25/2013 by PlanetWeidknecht
by PlanetWeidknecht

The first thing I noticed about this toaster, besides the obvious gorgeous brushed stainless steel, is that it has just two slots, but fits four pieces of bread or four bagels. The neat thing about that is it fits larger pieces of bread like flatbreads and artisan breads. I've used it almost daily and have found it performs perfectly every time. If you prefer lighter toasted bread, I prefer to set it at 2. For darker toast, setting it at 3 appears to be the max. It's a great toaster! Disclosure: I received this product at no charge in exchange for my honest review.

Was this review helpful? (22) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PlanetWeidknecht
Hutto, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Bad Product
12/12/2012

Customer review by MrsAIT

2.0 stars 12/12/2012 by MrsAIT
by MrsAIT

My old Hamilton Beach cheapie toaster finally died after 4 years of continuous, daily use. I had wanted to upgrade to a 4 slice toaster anyway. I checked out another store for higher end toasters and I just wasn't ready to spend $70+ on a toaster...so back to Walmart I went. I loved the design of this toaster. I'm short on counter space and this one is narrow and long vs. wide. It also looks really nice with the brushed metal. I've had this toaster for 3 weeks now, hoping there's a learning curve to this thing...and unfortunately I think I just wasted $40. I cannot ever seem to get perfectly toasted toast to save my life. Just when I think I've got the right setting, I end up with either burnt toast or under-toasted toast. Also, the edges of the toast are always over-done. I can't win! This thing is going back to the store. The only reason I didn't give this a 1 start rating is because I really do like the design. To bad it doesn't work right.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrsAIT
Bellevue, NE
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Worst toaster ever.
12/26/2012

Customer review by PO1DaveN

1.0 stars 12/26/2012 by PO1DaveN
by PO1DaveN

Does not matter what bagel or toast setting you use or how many times you use it, it will not make toast or a bagel the same way twice. Half the time it makes a vibrating type noise while you are using it. Two peices of regular bread is to much weight for the spring to pop up with. You have to lift the handle up to the top to grab the toast. If you put four halves of bagels in it, it will NOT pop up at all when it is done and burn them to a crisp. Actually the four settings; warm, toast, bagel and frozen are basically the same. The dial for toast level; anything over level 3 is burned. I felt stupid for spending so much on a toaster anyway. Looks great though. Now i feel like a idiot. I left out to sea for two weeks the day after i got it. The box and receipt were thrown away by the wife. Was planning on taking it back. Do not buy this toaster.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PO1DaveN
Jacksonville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Not Recommended
3/25/2013

Customer review by WixieGirl

1.0 stars 3/25/2013 by WixieGirl
by WixieGirl

Finally bought a 4-slot toaster. Like the rectangular design and stainless steel exterior. But.....the burners do not all work after less than one year. Quite often the edges of the bread burn. Pop-tart (toaster pastries) fall through to the bottom and have to be fished out (unplug the toaster first). Very disappointed in this Oster product.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WixieGirl
Midland, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Returned It!
9/27/2012

Customer review by syland

1.0 stars 9/27/2012 by syland
by syland

I really wanted to like this toaster but had the same problem as some of the other reviewers. For normal slices of bread, the crust burned before the bread toasted even experimenting with different darkness settings. The slots are not only long but really wide and I think it would be good for reheating Belgian waffles, toasting bagels or thick slices of bread. For regular bread the slices slanted in the toaster and just did not work well. I am really pleased with Walmart's return policy and this is my first experience returning something that I had already used. In the meantime I'll just keep using my $7.92 Rival toaster.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
syland
Greencastle, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Looking Toaster! Multi-functional, too.
11/19/2013

Customer review by Lizzytedj

4.0 stars 11/19/2013 by Lizzytedj
by Lizzytedj

I was very excited for my new toaster to arrive. The Oster Designed for Life 4-Slice Toaster is beautiful. It looks great on my counter. I love the fact that I can toast four slices at once, and that it fits thick slices and bagels. Or even really oddly shaped bread. The toaster is lighter than it looks, and very easy to move, if you don’t want it on your counter all the time. This toaster comes in really handy when we have family in town, and everyone is eating breakfast at the same time. I used it to defrost frozen bread, and it was amazing. It heats up so fast! I make homemade bread sometimes, and the slices are really thick. Thick slices work fine in this toaster. But, cut as straight as possible or your bread will be toasted REALLY unevenly. And watch the toaster. It’s so fast that I almost burned a few slices before I got used to the timing. The only thing I really don't like about this toaster is that it doesn’t toast evenly, even with store bought professionally sliced bread. (Unless you turn the setting way down and rotate the bread, and then toast it again.) It toasts super-fast, but not perfectly even. So, if you like your toast perfectly even AND fast, this toaster is not for you. If you want an attractive toaster that makes lots of toast super-fast, and are not a perfectionist about your toast, then you might want to consider this toaster. It's good enough for me. There are four modes on the toaster: Warm, toast, bagel, and frozen. I only use the toast button, and press the cancel button when I think it’s done. I don’t really need all these buttons! Maybe if I learned to use the buttons, I would have better success with the toaster. There is a dial that adjusts how toasted you want it. It works well. I use it a lot because my kids like their bread barely toasted. NOTE: Toast nothing for a few times before you use it. The first time we used it, our bread tasted sort of plastic-like. It wasn’t very appetizing. After the first few times, it went away. Now it's perfectly normal. Disclaimer: I was given this product for free in exchange for an honest review

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lizzytedj
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Nice looking but only warms bread
1/1/2013

Customer review by mommymilestones

1.0 stars 1/1/2013 by mommymilestones
by mommymilestones

My son heats up at least 3 bagels a day between himself and his brothers. We also like frozen waffles. I got a 4 slice toaster because for the 5 of us it took forever to make breakfast. With this toaster I have to re-toast everything 2-3 x's, no exageration! I have a $5-10 toaster that has been in use for over 15 years that works perfectly. I don't want to spend $100 on a Cuisinart but every toaster under $70 has awful reviews. Too bad I really liked the long sleek design.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mommymilestones
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Piece of junk..
6/12/2012

Customer review by KaliforniaKidd

1.0 stars 6/12/2012 by KaliforniaKidd
by KaliforniaKidd

Had this toaster a little over two months when the center element burnt out, then a week later the catch broke and will not hold the plunger down, we have to hold it down then flip the toast and do the other side.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KaliforniaKidd
Sacramento Ca,
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Makes perfect toast
10/18/2012

Customer review by GBMINI

5.0 stars 10/18/2012 by GBMINI
by GBMINI

I wanted a toaster that can handle long slices and toast them properly - this purchase satisfies. Toasting is quick and even, and does not excessively dry the bread. The long slice easily fits the wide bread that I prefer. One small negative is that on the black version I ordered, it's very difficult to see the brownness setting, indicated only by a black bump on the black knob.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GBMINI
Gloucester, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Really good toaster
6/28/2012

Customer review by PurrPaws

5.0 stars 6/28/2012 by PurrPaws
by PurrPaws

This is a toaster! Not one of those small things that don't even hold a piece of bread. It is two very large toasting slots and the options are really good. Don't put frozen waffles on "Frozen"... they'll burn. I think the "Frozen" button is for something more durable like a frozen bagel. It is very good for bagels and other toasting items and has settings to cover it all. I am very happy with this toaster!

Was this review helpful? (22) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PurrPaws
Centerton, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Prodect fails to toast on both sides
3/24/2014

Customer review by peice

1.0 stars 3/24/2014 by peice
by peice

I tried two of these machines, thinking maybe the first one was just bad. It burns the end of the toast and doesn't toast one side.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
peice
Fort Collins, co
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good performance & design
6/23/2012

Customer review by mln02a

5.0 stars 6/23/2012 by mln02a
by mln02a

I have really enjoyed having this toaster. I make a lot of toast, bagels & waffles for breakfast & I've had no problems with its performance. I also like its sleek retro design, it looks great sitting out on my kitchen counters. I would definitely recommend this product to anyone I know!

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mln02a
Amarillo, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good for longer bread
11/2/2012

Customer review by lisatravels

4.0 stars 11/2/2012 by lisatravels
by lisatravels

The problem I had with my old toaster is that it only worked for traditional sized bread. I prefer larger breads, but to fit those in my toaster I would have to trim off an edge, which was a hassle. This toaster solves that problem nicely, and if you're doing bagels or smaller break then you can make enough for two people at once - no waiting or taking turns. The only problem I has was with English muffins. They don't pop up far enough to pull them out. You can pull the lever up a little, and that helps, but I still burned my fingers reaching in to get them. It does take up more counter space than other toasters, so this might not be good in a tiny kitchen. And it looks nice, but like most stainless steel appliances it, shows every little fingerprint and smudge.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lisatravels
Dublin, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
Staff sparks
Oster 4-slice toaster
4/23/2014

Customer review by AlanFL

4.0 stars 4/23/2014 by AlanFL
by AlanFL

One side of our old 4-slice died. Went to Wal-mart and bought this toaster. I am very pleased with it so far. The slots on top are big enough for my rye bread. No more toasting one half, pulling it out turning it around and sticking it back in to toast the other half. My favorite breakfast item is a well known brand of English muffin. No toaster that I have had before this one would toast an English muffin in one set. You always had to push it back down for another run. I set this toaster on 7 (the highest setting) and it burned my muffins. Finally!!! a toaster that can cook my English muffins in one set. By the way a setting of 5 makes a perfect brown muffin for me. A setting of 3 is great for lightly toasting bread for sandwiches. This toaster is long rather than wide. I have a little more room on the counter when I push the side of the toaster up against the backsplash. The cord is only 2 feet (about 61cm) long. Most counter top appliances are like this now. The instructions say you can use a properly rated extension cord if you must. The US model is rated 120v 60hz and 1350 watts. The sides of the toaster are cool when in use but get warmer the closer you get to the top. Product is made in China. Alan

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AlanFL
South west Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Piece of junk
2/1/2013

Customer review by LA59

1.0 stars 2/1/2013 by LA59
by LA59

Not only is this the most inconsistent toaster I have ever owned, but the cage on which the toast sits, only raises on one end and causes everything to burn (regardless of setting) and must be turned upside down to get toasted item out. It looks good, but I really wished I had kept my receipt or box to return it to the store. I may still try for a store credit at the least.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LA59
Roscoe, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Toast that is toast'
7/8/2012

Customer review by FranksPoetry

5.0 stars 7/8/2012 by FranksPoetry
by FranksPoetry

Easy to set and use. Perfect toast everytime.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FranksPoetry
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This toaster barely made it 2 years!
2/4/2013

Customer review by FJBshopper

1.0 stars 2/4/2013 by FJBshopper
by FJBshopper

This toaster barely made it 2 years. First one side would not stay down and then the heating element on that side went. We used it about 3 times a week for toast it should have lasted longer than this. Will not buy another Oster brand toaster.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FJBshopper
milford MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 110 total reviews
1-20 of 110 reviews