Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 76 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

76 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

76 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

75%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
41
4 stars
15
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 stars
12
1-20 of 69 total reviews
75%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 69 total reviews
1-20 of 69 reviews
messed up measurements
8/25/2014

Customer review by misswildcat

2.0 stars 8/25/2014 by misswildcat
by misswildcat

ive been buying black and decker rice cookers all my life...use it almost everyday...when one finally dies, I have to go buy another the same day....just got this one because it was the only black and decker Walmart had on the shelves...came home to cook rice and put my 2 cups of rice in the pot ( cup that comes with it like they all have) cleaned my rice with water a few times and dumped it out...THEN I went to fill it with water on the line for 2 cups....something was very wrong...it was like a few spoons of water....I knew that was wrong....so I dumped it into my old pot and much more water was needed to get to 2 cups....I finally figured out that IN THIS RICE COOKER you have to put the water in first to the line for 2 cups , then the rice that has already been washed in a bowl...this is an extra step and an extra dirty bowl...not how ive done it for 25 years...if my old pot fit into this one ( a little too small) I would just use that....they shouldn't have changed it.....

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
misswildcat
cherokee,nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
It cooks moré than rice
1/16/2016

Customer review by aboutbike

4.0 stars 1/16/2016 by aboutbike
by aboutbike

I am very happy with it, the size is great for 4 people. The first one I bought thinking it would be enough was "6" cups....turns out that is messured according to the plastic small container that comes with the cooker, that small cup is equivalent to 1/2 regular cup/mug. So rally the 6 cup rice cooker I first bought was just 3 actual cups...it was tiny. This one is much better, I can cook rice, pasta, quinoa and soups. I saw that you can also make cakes and breads with it.... I like it very much! The only thing that prevents me of giving 5 stars is the fact that once it's set on cook, it won't pop up automatically, so you have to check it before your rice or anything you are cooking burns.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
aboutbike
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Messy
1/30/2016

Customer review by Wilma

3.0 stars 1/30/2016 by Wilma
by Wilma

This is the second rice maker I have purchased this month. When using the first one, I made the smallest amount of rice that the recipe called for. Within 5 min the rice water was spitting out the breather hole of the lid and onto my counter and down the side of the cooker. This B&D started to do the same, but didn't make quite the mess the other did. I will try steaming some veggies and see how that goes

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wilma
Would recommend to a friend? No
Excellent price for a good rice cooker
10/15/2015

Customer review by W2015

5.0 stars 10/15/2015 by W2015
by W2015

I am Asian and eat rice almost every day. In the middle of moving so I'm without my Tiger brand rice cooker (the best brand for rice cookers). Needed a temporary rice cooker at a low price so bought this one. Likes: works, rice tastes good, cooks rice fast, good low price. For 1 person (1 serving) = 1 cup (the cup comes with rice cooker). For white rice: 1 cup rice + 1 cup water. For brown rice: 1 cup rice + 1 1/2 cups water. I usually eat/mix 1/2 white rice (kokuho rose brand) and 1/2 brown rice (nishiki brand) for taste (white rice) and fiber (brown rice). Though rice cooker says makes 14 cups, I usually only make 2-3 cups at most at one time. There is a hole in the lid to allow steam to escape when cooking rice.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
W2015
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect and compact rice cooker
1/20/2016

Customer review by steph

5.0 stars 1/20/2016 by steph
by steph

My mom's old rice cooker finally took a dive and she was optimistic about getting another rice cooker, but when I went to Walmart and found this rice cooker after reading all the reviews on rice cookers I took the chance and broke down and bought it for her. She absolutely loves it. The rice cooker cooks faster than her original one she had for years. She likes this it's because its compact so now she leaves it on the counter. Thanks walmart!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
steph
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It's a great value product
1/24/2016

Customer review by Jaker

5.0 stars 1/24/2016 by Jaker
by Jaker

I like this cooker...It's a great value product

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jaker
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works great
1/22/2016

Customer review by David

5.0 stars 1/22/2016 by David
by David

Would buy again as a gift.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
David
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome rice cooker @ affordable price
9/27/2013

Customer review by mamakaaa

5.0 stars 9/27/2013 by mamakaaa
by mamakaaa
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Read reviews & wasn't sure what to expect, but I am VERY happy I decided to take a chance. Makes enough rice for our family of 3 to be able to have left overs for a couple days. Haven't had any problems with water mess as some other customers have mentioned. 100% satisfied

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mamakaaa
Albany, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
14 Cup Rice/Steamer
12/8/2015

Customer review by 25KM25

5.0 stars 12/8/2015 by 25KM25
by 25KM25

Makes perfect rice, doesn't spit all over the place like one review stated. I love it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
25KM25
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great rice cooker
6/4/2012

Customer review by Hurnst

5.0 stars 6/4/2012 by Hurnst
by Hurnst

For the price this rice cooker has exceeded all of my expectations. I generally cook two cups of rice at a time, and have not had any problems with liquid sputtering out of the steam vent as others have described. In cook mode it seems to be on a 1 hour timer, then it kicks into warm mode. 1 hour may not be enough for some brown rices, but its easy enough to work around. I just unplug it, add a bit more liquid, and plug it back in. You will be on your own with timing at that point, but it's still easier then tending a boiling pot, at least in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? (39) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hurnst
McIntosh, Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great
1/12/2016

Customer review by DDSo

5.0 stars 1/12/2016 by DDSo
by DDSo

It works great and it's convenient. Easy to clean too.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DDSo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great!
1/7/2016

Customer review by Karabout

5.0 stars 1/7/2016 by Karabout
by Karabout

Simply said. It's a great product with a great price. It does exactly what it's suppose to do.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Karabout
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Rice cooker
1/8/2016

Customer review by mazzman

3.0 stars 1/8/2016 by mazzman
by mazzman

always burns the bottom rice

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mazzman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Stop working quickly
5/21/2014

Customer review by LadyZamzuu

1.0 stars 5/21/2014 by LadyZamzuu
by LadyZamzuu
Top 1000 contributor

Bought one two weeks ago. At first it works as expected. I have a small Aroma Rice cooker but I wanted a bigger one for family & friends get together dinner. So I bought this 14-cup two weeks ago. I used almost everyday to cook rice and it works fine. Then yesterday, I notice the lights were not on and no longer cooking. So I bought another one, because I really needed a bigger rice cooker. The first time I turned it on, it smelled like plastic was burning, so I ignored that and continue to cook my rice, it heated up and then it stop working, no light on, it didn't even bring my rice to boil. Tried unpluging it on and off, but no luck. It will not come back on. I don't know if anyybody else is having the same issue. But I'm returning it and getting another brand. I'm sticking to my Aroma.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LadyZamzuu
Macon, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Top 1000 contributor
Great product.
12/25/2015

Customer review by redjohn284

5.0 stars 12/25/2015 by redjohn284
by redjohn284

I got it at reduced price. It cooks fast and great. Cleaning the bowl is very easy as rice won't stick to it. Great product for temporary/permanent use.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
redjohn284
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
a middle size rice cooker
5/21/2012

Customer review by cicelyzh

3.0 stars 5/21/2012 by cicelyzh
by cicelyzh

The cooker looks okay. It cooks quite fast and cooked rice is more or less fine. The problem is that it always comes out some liquid when it is cooking. I have to clean up the area near by after every usage. I do not cook too much, just about 3 cups rice. BTW, the cup comes with the cooker is smaller than usual, and bad in shape. Their 3 cups is like 2 standard cups.

Was this review helpful? (35) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cicelyzh
Baton Rouge, LA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
very good
12/23/2015

Customer review by state11

5.0 stars 12/23/2015 by state11
by state11

good

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
state11
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works well but....
11/19/2015

Customer review by bigspender

3.0 stars 11/19/2015 by bigspender
by bigspender

This is my second Black and Decker rice cooker with nonstick bowl. I love the way it cooks and not stick. It is great but I want the regular one back. The black nonstick coating scratchs off and flakes into the rice. That's the only reason I have to buy another cooker. The old one still works after many years of regular use, about three to four times a week so I checked into ordering just the bowl (October 2015) but the price is so high that it's better to buy a whole new cooker. But overall, Black and Decker is the best brand I have been buying for years and always satisfied with how long they make things to last for the price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bigspender
Would recommend to a friend? No
10/22/2012

Customer review by Jodyx

4.0 stars 10/22/2012 by Jodyx
by Jodyx

I have used this product twice. Its excellect for a party. It comes with a small measuring cup thats why its a 14 cup rice cooker. I'm enjoying it.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jodyx
Palm Coast, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Black & Decker 14-Cup Rice Cooker
12/8/2015

Customer review by donseglio

4.0 stars 12/8/2015 by donseglio
by donseglio

I like this rice cooker because it come with a steam tray so you can steam vegetables while cooking the rice, I also like that the cooking container, steam tray, and lid are all items that come out so it's easy to clean, that is very important.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
donseglio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 69 total reviews
1-20 of 69 reviews