Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 42 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

42 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

42 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

74%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
22
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 stars
7
1-20 of 35 total reviews
74%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 35 total reviews
1-20 of 35 reviews
Great rice cooker
6/4/2012

Customer review by Hurnst

5.0 stars 6/4/2012 by Hurnst
by Hurnst

For the price this rice cooker has exceeded all of my expectations. I generally cook two cups of rice at a time, and have not had any problems with liquid sputtering out of the steam vent as others have described. In cook mode it seems to be on a 1 hour timer, then it kicks into warm mode. 1 hour may not be enough for some brown rices, but its easy enough to work around. I just unplug it, add a bit more liquid, and plug it back in. You will be on your own with timing at that point, but it's still easier then tending a boiling pot, at least in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? (32) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hurnst
McIntosh, Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
a middle size rice cooker
5/21/2012

Customer review by cicelyzh

3.0 stars 5/21/2012 by cicelyzh
by cicelyzh

The cooker looks okay. It cooks quite fast and cooked rice is more or less fine. The problem is that it always comes out some liquid when it is cooking. I have to clean up the area near by after every usage. I do not cook too much, just about 3 cups rice. BTW, the cup comes with the cooker is smaller than usual, and bad in shape. Their 3 cups is like 2 standard cups.

Was this review helpful? (34) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cicelyzh
Baton Rouge, LA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Awesome rice cooker @ affordable price
9/27/2013

Customer review by mamakaaa

5.0 stars 9/27/2013 by mamakaaa
by mamakaaa

Read reviews & wasn't sure what to expect, but I am VERY happy I decided to take a chance. Makes enough rice for our family of 3 to be able to have left overs for a couple days. Haven't had any problems with water mess as some other customers have mentioned. 100% satisfied

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mamakaaa
Albany, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/22/2012

Customer review by Jodyx

4.0 stars 10/22/2012 by Jodyx
by Jodyx

I have used this product twice. Its excellect for a party. It comes with a small measuring cup thats why its a 14 cup rice cooker. I'm enjoying it.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jodyx
Palm Coast, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
AWESOME!!!! A MUST BUY!!
7/24/2013

Customer review by mommawith5

5.0 stars 7/24/2013 by mommawith5
by mommawith5

I got this rice cooker mainly because of price, but it was worth it!!! I use it to cook 6 cups of rice pretty much everyday! We have a dog that needs a special diet and I tried once to make it by hand and boy is that a pain!! So now we give rice to all our dogs everyday and meal. Not ever having used one before, this completely surprised me. I am still surprised that in about 20 minutes it is done. add a little water and it wont stick to itself. I am currently trying to find another bowl for it or buy another one of this one. The price is awesome for this wonderful rice cooker!!!

Was this review helpful? (7) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mommawith5
Tucson,Az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not Great
5/16/2014

Customer review by Willowwisp

2.0 stars 5/16/2014 by Willowwisp
by Willowwisp

This was my first rice cooker and sad to say it didn't work out. The no matter how much rice I cooked it boiled over. Maybe mine is malfunctioning, but it got so hot the rice browned and stuck to the bottom every time. Back to the store! I am going to try an Aroma cooker next. Wish me luck!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Willowwisp
Would recommend to a friend? No
MESSY!
4/19/2014

Customer review by Hoosit

1.0 stars 4/19/2014 by Hoosit
by Hoosit

No matter what amount of rice I use, this rice cooker spews foamy, starchy goop everywhere. Not only does it come out of the vent hole, but also bubbles out around the lid. I've tried rinsing the rice to wash away some of the starch, that just made the rice more pasty-very unhappy!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hoosit
Would recommend to a friend? No
messed up measurements
8/25/2014

Customer review by misswildcat

2.0 stars 8/25/2014 by misswildcat
by misswildcat

ive been buying black and decker rice cookers all my life...use it almost everyday...when one finally dies, I have to go buy another the same day....just got this one because it was the only black and decker Walmart had on the shelves...came home to cook rice and put my 2 cups of rice in the pot ( cup that comes with it like they all have) cleaned my rice with water a few times and dumped it out...THEN I went to fill it with water on the line for 2 cups....something was very wrong...it was like a few spoons of water....I knew that was wrong....so I dumped it into my old pot and much more water was needed to get to 2 cups....I finally figured out that IN THIS RICE COOKER you have to put the water in first to the line for 2 cups , then the rice that has already been washed in a bowl...this is an extra step and an extra dirty bowl...not how ive done it for 25 years...if my old pot fit into this one ( a little too small) I would just use that....they shouldn't have changed it.....

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
misswildcat
cherokee,nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Boilng water and rice slime everywhere!
2/12/2014

Customer review by NCPDOUG

1.0 stars 2/12/2014 by NCPDOUG
by NCPDOUG

I had a smaller version of this Rice Cooker and it did spew steam out of the vent hole in the lid, but I was able to cover it with a small paper towel to limit the output. This larger version is worse by far. When I tried to slow the steam with a small paper towel, it began spewing from the lid and covered my counter as well as the lid. What a big mess!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NCPDOUG
Nevada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Rice taste better.
6/13/2013

Customer review by Vickyniki

5.0 stars 6/13/2013 by Vickyniki
by Vickyniki

Rice taste so much better. It is soft and I can cook more with less rice. When I save the left over in the fridge the next day I warm it up in the microwave and it taste like I just made it and still very soft. Love it! The only regrest I have if that I didn't buy it a long time a go. It would of made as happy as I am now in the kitchen. Price is good so, I would say try it. It is worth it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Vickyniki
Lehigh Acres, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 1000 contributor
great rice pot great
7/26/2013

Customer review by guede1021

5.0 stars 7/26/2013 by guede1021
by guede1021

I am so happy with my item, glad I order 2 1 for me and 1 for my daughter.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
guede1021
kissimmee, fl.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great cooker
12/19/2013

Customer review by textexgirl

5.0 stars 12/19/2013 by textexgirl
by textexgirl

worked well for the size and price. not complicated.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
textexgirl
rockport, tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works Great!
4/1/2014

Customer review by SaveThePlanet

5.0 stars 4/1/2014 by SaveThePlanet
by SaveThePlanet

The Black & Decker 14 -Cup Rice Cooker works great! It's not too small and not too large for us. I've been practicing cooking Spanish rice recipes, and the rice turns out so fluffy. Very nice! The trick is not to stir the rice, and to let it rest after cooking for at least 10 minutes. The steamer basket could be improved by putting handles on it. I steamed some baby carrots and they turned out fine, but removing the hot steamer basket is awkward.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SaveThePlanet
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/26/2013

Customer review by KristineT8

4.0 stars 3/26/2013 by KristineT8
by KristineT8

makes perfect rice, although i wouldnt leave it on the warmer setting. I left it for the 10 minutes it said after it was done cooking and the whole bottom was like glue, i just scraped the top layer off. Next time i will set the time for about 15 minutes and keep and eye on it so when it changes from cook to warm i can remove the rice so it doesnt cook anymore. Also the directions on how much water isnt very clear. I pretty much guessed at what they were saying about the different lines for different types of rice, they dont show what is what in the manual and it turned out fine except the bottom was way over cooked from the warmer setting.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KristineT8
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Tossing in garbage
1/29/2015

Customer review by CrescentCityShopper

1.0 stars 1/29/2015 by CrescentCityShopper
by CrescentCityShopper

First cooker stopped working after 10 weeks. Returned plug per warranty instructions to receive replacement. Took over a month to get. This one has stopped. Putting in garbage.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CrescentCityShopper
Would recommend to a friend? No
DON'T BUY THIS RICE COOKER!!!
9/22/2014

Customer review by chamellie

1.0 stars 9/22/2014 by chamellie
by chamellie

I am using this rice cooker for the 2nd time. First time I only cooked 2 cups and it burned on the bottom. This time I am cooking 4 cups. It isn't even done yet and is boiling over and spewing boiling rice water all over the place and burned my arm when I tried to move it. It will be going back to store. Glad I saved the receipt.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chamellie
Yuma,AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Stop working quickly
5/21/2014

Customer review by LadyZamzuu

1.0 stars 5/21/2014 by LadyZamzuu
by LadyZamzuu

Bought one two weeks ago. At first it works as expected. I have a small Aroma Rice cooker but I wanted a bigger one for family & friends get together dinner. So I bought this 14-cup two weeks ago. I used almost everyday to cook rice and it works fine. Then yesterday, I notice the lights were not on and no longer cooking. So I bought another one, because I really needed a bigger rice cooker. The first time I turned it on, it smelled like plastic was burning, so I ignored that and continue to cook my rice, it heated up and then it stop working, no light on, it didn't even bring my rice to boil. Tried unpluging it on and off, but no luck. It will not come back on. I don't know if anyybody else is having the same issue. But I'm returning it and getting another brand. I'm sticking to my Aroma.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LadyZamzuu
Macon, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Top 1000 contributor
Good
4/30/2014

Customer review by GVRR

4.0 stars 4/30/2014 by GVRR
by GVRR

Switch failure is the bad part of Black & Decker. I really wondered how Black & Decker produces products with bad switches. I replaced my 2month old cooker with a new one because of switch failure.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GVRR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Simplifies supper preparation.
8/21/2014

Customer review by cookerofrice

5.0 stars 8/21/2014 by cookerofrice
by cookerofrice

I received my B&D rice cooker for Christmas several years ago. Honestly, I rolled my eyes. Another kitchen appliance for Christmas. It turns out though that I love this one, and I use it several times a week. I just purchased one for a wedding gift. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cookerofrice
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It's a great product
7/25/2013

Customer review by kaslak

4.0 stars 7/25/2013 by kaslak
by kaslak

This is great product for everyday usage and its very quick. Rice will not stick to bottom. I really love this.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kaslak
Aurora, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 35 total reviews
1-20 of 35 reviews