Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 93 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

93 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

93 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

71%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
50
4 stars
15
3 stars
4
2 stars
7
1 stars
17
1-20 of 86 total reviews
71%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 86 total reviews
1-20 of 86 reviews
messed up measurements
8/25/2014

Customer review by misswildcat

2.0 stars 8/25/2014 by misswildcat
by misswildcat

ive been buying black and decker rice cookers all my life...use it almost everyday...when one finally dies, I have to go buy another the same day....just got this one because it was the only black and decker Walmart had on the shelves...came home to cook rice and put my 2 cups of rice in the pot ( cup that comes with it like they all have) cleaned my rice with water a few times and dumped it out...THEN I went to fill it with water on the line for 2 cups....something was very wrong...it was like a few spoons of water....I knew that was wrong....so I dumped it into my old pot and much more water was needed to get to 2 cups....I finally figured out that IN THIS RICE COOKER you have to put the water in first to the line for 2 cups , then the rice that has already been washed in a bowl...this is an extra step and an extra dirty bowl...not how ive done it for 25 years...if my old pot fit into this one ( a little too small) I would just use that....they shouldn't have changed it.....

Was this review helpful? (12) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
misswildcat
cherokee,nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Rice cooker
2/29/2016

Customer review by Julius

2.0 stars 2/29/2016 by Julius
by Julius

Once the unit goes into warm mode , it tends to burn the rice at the bottom of pan unless you occasional stirr it. You should be able to keep the rice warm without burning it regardless of whether you stirr it or not.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Julius
Would recommend to a friend? No
Black and Decker Rice Cooker RC 516
6/9/2016

Customer review by CDKC

1.0 stars 6/9/2016 by CDKC
by CDKC

My husband bought me my rice cooker in March of 2016. I have had to return 3 so far! It works a few times and then breaks for no reason. I only cook 3 cups of rice at a time at least 2-3 times per week so I don't feel that I am overusing it. Yes, it leaves a skin at the bottom, but I am tired of plugging it in, flipping the switch, then turning around and it isn't working. I keep checking the plug and it works just fine on other appliances. This is a piece of junk! I don't recommend buying it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CDKC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Stop working quickly
5/21/2014

Customer review by LadyZamzuu

1.0 stars 5/21/2014 by LadyZamzuu
by LadyZamzuu
Top 1000 contributor

Bought one two weeks ago. At first it works as expected. I have a small Aroma Rice cooker but I wanted a bigger one for family & friends get together dinner. So I bought this 14-cup two weeks ago. I used almost everyday to cook rice and it works fine. Then yesterday, I notice the lights were not on and no longer cooking. So I bought another one, because I really needed a bigger rice cooker. The first time I turned it on, it smelled like plastic was burning, so I ignored that and continue to cook my rice, it heated up and then it stop working, no light on, it didn't even bring my rice to boil. Tried unpluging it on and off, but no luck. It will not come back on. I don't know if anyybody else is having the same issue. But I'm returning it and getting another brand. I'm sticking to my Aroma.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LadyZamzuu
Macon, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Top 1000 contributor
Awesome rice cooker @ affordable price
9/27/2013

Customer review by mamakaaa

5.0 stars 9/27/2013 by mamakaaa
by mamakaaa
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Read reviews & wasn't sure what to expect, but I am VERY happy I decided to take a chance. Makes enough rice for our family of 3 to be able to have left overs for a couple days. Haven't had any problems with water mess as some other customers have mentioned. 100% satisfied

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mamakaaa
Albany, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Electrical issues
6/19/2016

Customer review by NoRiceTonight

1.0 stars 6/19/2016 by NoRiceTonight
by NoRiceTonight

Like many of the poor reviews before, I had the same issue with this rice cooker. While it worked tremendously well (and fast) for the short life that it had, within two weeks of purchase it simply stopped working inexplicably. Did some digging and there is some faulty wiring within the body that no one has apparently brought to the attention of B&D. Granted, it's a cheap cooker, but it's an issue that has persisted for a while with this particular model.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NoRiceTonight
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great rice cooker
6/4/2012

Customer review by Hurnst

5.0 stars 6/4/2012 by Hurnst
by Hurnst

For the price this rice cooker has exceeded all of my expectations. I generally cook two cups of rice at a time, and have not had any problems with liquid sputtering out of the steam vent as others have described. In cook mode it seems to be on a 1 hour timer, then it kicks into warm mode. 1 hour may not be enough for some brown rices, but its easy enough to work around. I just unplug it, add a bit more liquid, and plug it back in. You will be on your own with timing at that point, but it's still easier then tending a boiling pot, at least in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? (41) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hurnst
McIntosh, Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent price for a good rice cooker
10/15/2015

Customer review by W2015

5.0 stars 10/15/2015 by W2015
by W2015

I am Asian and eat rice almost every day. In the middle of moving so I'm without my Tiger brand rice cooker (the best brand for rice cookers). Needed a temporary rice cooker at a low price so bought this one. Likes: works, rice tastes good, cooks rice fast, good low price. For 1 person (1 serving) = 1 cup (the cup comes with rice cooker). For white rice: 1 cup rice + 1 cup water. For brown rice: 1 cup rice + 1 1/2 cups water. I usually eat/mix 1/2 white rice (kokuho rose brand) and 1/2 brown rice (nishiki brand) for taste (white rice) and fiber (brown rice). Though rice cooker says makes 14 cups, I usually only make 2-3 cups at most at one time. There is a hole in the lid to allow steam to escape when cooking rice.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
W2015
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Burns he rice EVERY time
5/17/2016

Customer review by WalmartBuyer

1.0 stars 5/17/2016 by WalmartBuyer
by WalmartBuyer

Bought this about 3 weeks ago. We have used it 2-3 times, following the instructions to the dot. It burns the rice on the bottom EVERY TIME we use it. After reading reviews of the same happening to others, I wonder why B&D keeps selling this piece of junk with their name on it. Mine is going back to the store. No more B&D for me

WalmartBuyer
NC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Messy
1/30/2016

Customer review by Wilma

3.0 stars 1/30/2016 by Wilma
by Wilma

This is the second rice maker I have purchased this month. When using the first one, I made the smallest amount of rice that the recipe called for. Within 5 min the rice water was spitting out the breather hole of the lid and onto my counter and down the side of the cooker. This B&D started to do the same, but didn't make quite the mess the other did. I will try steaming some veggies and see how that goes

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wilma
Would recommend to a friend? No
It cooks moré than rice
1/16/2016

Customer review by aboutbike

4.0 stars 1/16/2016 by aboutbike
by aboutbike

I am very happy with it, the size is great for 4 people. The first one I bought thinking it would be enough was "6" cups....turns out that is messured according to the plastic small container that comes with the cooker, that small cup is equivalent to 1/2 regular cup/mug. So rally the 6 cup rice cooker I first bought was just 3 actual cups...it was tiny. This one is much better, I can cook rice, pasta, quinoa and soups. I saw that you can also make cakes and breads with it.... I like it very much! The only thing that prevents me of giving 5 stars is the fact that once it's set on cook, it won't pop up automatically, so you have to check it before your rice or anything you are cooking burns.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
aboutbike
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
a middle size rice cooker
5/21/2012

Customer review by cicelyzh

3.0 stars 5/21/2012 by cicelyzh
by cicelyzh

The cooker looks okay. It cooks quite fast and cooked rice is more or less fine. The problem is that it always comes out some liquid when it is cooking. I have to clean up the area near by after every usage. I do not cook too much, just about 3 cups rice. BTW, the cup comes with the cooker is smaller than usual, and bad in shape. Their 3 cups is like 2 standard cups.

Was this review helpful? (35) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cicelyzh
Baton Rouge, LA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
10/22/2012

Customer review by Jodyx

4.0 stars 10/22/2012 by Jodyx
by Jodyx

I have used this product twice. Its excellect for a party. It comes with a small measuring cup thats why its a 14 cup rice cooker. I'm enjoying it.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jodyx
Palm Coast, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Steam rice pot
2/15/2016

Customer review by torunda

5.0 stars 2/15/2016 by torunda
by torunda

I'm very happy with this purchase because is very useful to cook rice and vegetables....thanks Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
torunda
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
almost burns during cooking and warm cycle too hot
4/30/2016

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 4/30/2016 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Title says it all. Cooking white rice, Ive taken to stirring just before if I time it right, to minimize the crust that forms on bottom. Maybe cooking cycle should be a bit less hot and longer to compensate. On warm setting: I once owned a rice cooker from a major Chinese company (don't remember for sure the company name) that we could leave the rice on "Warm" through the next day and the texture would be just fine. The two or three we've owned since have, I think, had a warmer temp on "Warm". When shopping for this one, I found no mention anywhere about this issue.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Product
5/21/2016

Customer review by elorteps

5.0 stars 5/21/2016 by elorteps
by elorteps
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great product. Just not big enough.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
elorteps
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Boilng water and rice slime everywhere!
2/12/2014

Customer review by NCPDOUG

1.0 stars 2/12/2014 by NCPDOUG
by NCPDOUG

I had a smaller version of this Rice Cooker and it did spew steam out of the vent hole in the lid, but I was able to cover it with a small paper towel to limit the output. This larger version is worse by far. When I tried to slow the steam with a small paper towel, it began spewing from the lid and covered my counter as well as the lid. What a big mess!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NCPDOUG
Nevada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Black & Decker 14-Cup Rice Cooker
5/17/2016

Customer review by grace

5.0 stars 5/17/2016 by grace
by grace

I love it, thank you walmart.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
grace
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Highly recommended
5/16/2016

Customer review by Fabstore10

5.0 stars 5/16/2016 by Fabstore10
by Fabstore10

Nice rice cooker for the pricr, easy to use, I highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fabstore10
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Quit working, twice!
4/14/2016

Customer review by sahm

1.0 stars 4/14/2016 by sahm
by sahm

Arg I am so upset! When the rice cooker worked, I loved it, it would cook rice simple and quick. But this is my 2nd set and it quit working on me again! The first one broke down within a week. This one within 3 months. ?!!

sahm
AZ, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 86 total reviews
1-20 of 86 reviews