Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 38 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

38 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

38 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
26
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 stars
3
1-20 of 27 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 27 total reviews
1-20 of 27 reviews
WOW!
8/14/2012

Customer review by zzmoore

5.0 stars 8/14/2012 by zzmoore
by zzmoore

I bought this computer while holding my breath because it was a referb. WOW was I wrong! This computer is one of the best I have ever bought. I have 5 laptops in my house right now. The only negative is the red letters are hard to read for these old eyes. That is if I get to use it! Seems my kids absolutely love the sound and movie experience. If you are looking for a moderate priced laptop that really has all the goods don't let the referb tag fool you. Buy this and save yourself $300 or $400 dollars. Just don't let your kids get a hold of it.

Was this review helpful? (42) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
zzmoore
Germantown,TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best priced backlit keyboard
9/15/2012

Customer review by Review4all

4.0 stars 9/15/2012 by Review4all
by Review4all

The best function is the backlit keyboard. Enjoyed using that feature. Also, prefer the matte screen. Hard to find matte screen laoptop. Pros Backlit Keyboard Rubberized Palm rests Quiet Matte screen Returned mine, since at the bottom, one of the sections, which can be unscrewed was protruding out, from the time the laptop was received. It's still a very good deal, if it wasn't for the flap protruding, would have kept it. Also, HP should really provide a 1 Year warranty instead of a 3 month warranty, since this is refurbished, meaning they have tested it, so, they should provide the same warranty as a new laptop. It's mainly the less 3 month warranty which is preventing me from keeping the laptop. Costco provides a 1 year warranty with their refurbished laptops, so not sure, why Wal-mart cannot work with HP & other manufacturers to negotiate 1 year warranty on the refurbished laptops that Wal-mart sells. I am sure Wal-Mart enjoys more customers then Costco, since Costco is a membership retailer, whereas Wal-mart is not, and Wal-Mart has way more stores then Costco, so in fact logically, Wal-Mart would have more negotiating power then Costco. In my opinion, Wal-mart should be able to negotiate a 1 year warranty on all the refurbished laptops they sell but keep the same low prices. If Costco can do it, so can Wal-Mart.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Review4all
Fairfax VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
AMAZING!!!
10/16/2012

Customer review by CzechThisReview

5.0 stars 10/16/2012 by CzechThisReview
by CzechThisReview

If your looking to save around $200 from bying a brand new one, referb. is the way ot go! Its perfect in every way and completly exceeds my expectations. You would never know it was used. The sound is awesome and the red back-lit keybaord is an eye catcher to anyone around. I have had it for about two weeks and its just the PERFECT computer.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CzechThisReview
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Outstanding little powerhouse!
10/10/2012

Customer review by chiefdeputy

5.0 stars 10/10/2012 by chiefdeputy
by chiefdeputy

If you are looking for a lot of power in a small package, look no further. You get a better video ability with this computer that produces 1600x900 resolution, 6 gigs of memory, a 640 gig hard drive and a great "Beats" sound system. Long battery life, fast hard drive access and built very well. The snappy red on black "Beats" logo really makes this laptop stand out. I highly recommend this laptop!

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chiefdeputy
Auburn, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Product at a good price
9/20/2012

Customer review by mervay

5.0 stars 9/20/2012 by mervay
by mervay

Got this for my daughter to last into her college years. So far she loves it. Its fast and for the size of the speakers, it sounds good. Its refurbished but it looks great, no blemishes. Runs great so I think I saved a couple hundred dollars! Got the extra 2 year service plan just in case, I am satisfied with my purchase,

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mervay
Kernersville, Nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent value
10/3/2012

Customer review by DB3949

5.0 stars 10/3/2012 by DB3949
by DB3949

I was not expecting this laptop to be this great of a purchase. Backlit keyboard, 1600X900 HD Matte screen, good speakers (for a laptop), durable feel, Intel Core i5, 6 gb, LOVE the HP simple pass all for mid-$500.. Need I say more?

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DB3949
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great results DJn with a Numark N4
11/1/2012

Customer review by CBrown828

5.0 stars 11/1/2012 by CBrown828
by CBrown828

If you are unfamiliar with DJ equipment, I am using a piece of technology that will not give you a good sound quality if you are using laptops with older Intel or AMD processors. If you are are DJing with it, I will warn you that you may need to take it out of power saver mode to get the best sound quality. In HP recommended power mode I have not experienced any kind of distortion or clipping what so ever. I was a tad apprehensive about the hard drive (5200rpm), but I was surprised when the machine took 128 gigs of info from a 7200rpm external hard in about 80 minutes. (Took 3 hours on my HP g62-355dx) I do however plan to upgrade to Solid State Hard Drive in this machine. As far as general (non dj) use. I use the machine if in power saver mode, and it runs 6 hours playing music with the screen on. I did test it out with a huge flash game to see how it performed under heat stress and I have to say this machine stays near silent and runs very, very cool. Also, the red backlit keyboard is amazing in dark night clubs! I would recommend this computer to any DJ or friend of mine in a heartbeat.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CBrown828
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Nice!!
11/8/2012

Customer review by mikson

5.0 stars 11/8/2012 by mikson
by mikson

This is a nice unit, the only draw back I have is the keyboard is kinda hard to read when you are in a darker room, but other than that this is a awesome computer!!!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mikson
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not per manufacturers specs
9/7/2012

Customer review by proconstruction

2.0 stars 9/7/2012 by proconstruction
by proconstruction

No backlit keyboard. Old battery. Still had UK settings installed. -- Took a while to get rid of the add-ons, but after that this works well when used in full light and not on battery. I bought this for travel for my job- not what I expected.

Was this review helpful? (4) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
proconstruction
Would recommend to a friend? No
10/26/2012

Customer review by meghan375

5.0 stars 10/26/2012 by meghan375
by meghan375

This laptop is amazing and super fast! Pros: -backlit keyboard -matte screen -beats audio -fingerprint scanner -soft touch material and mousepad and these are only a few! Only one negative i can think of: -fingerprints pick up easily, but they're not hard to get off

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
meghan375
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Small and Powerful!
11/8/2012

Customer review by demenderjr

5.0 stars 11/8/2012 by demenderjr
by demenderjr

Definately met my expectations! First time ordering a computer online using cite-to-store option and would use it again in a heartbeat! Never owned a refurbished laptop but this one is like new. I can't imagine what was "refurbished". I also love how small it is. It's very easy to take places b/c of its size but it's also big enough to handle the work. I don't feel like i've lost anything by going down to a 14" screen from a 17" screen. I love it!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
demenderjr
Charleston, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great refurbished computer---
9/30/2012

Customer review by lasvegassteve

5.0 stars 9/30/2012 by lasvegassteve
by lasvegassteve

sound is great cool look...a great computer for the money.. the red letters are hard to read even when the key board lights up... but that is the only drawback..great deal

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lasvegassteve
vegas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Acceptable!
10/26/2012

Customer review by ChristeenRN08

3.0 stars 10/26/2012 by ChristeenRN08
by ChristeenRN08

Laptop came in acceptable condition, However , it didnt came in original box and instruction manual did not came in with the laptop. I got what I payed for.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChristeenRN08
Hanford , CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Junk
10/22/2012

Customer review by jimbob01

1.0 stars 10/22/2012 by jimbob01
by jimbob01

I bought it and took it home and started it. Booted up fne. Let it charge up. Turned it off. Came back and turned it on......did not boot up....took it back and got my money. No problem on the return.

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jimbob01
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE IT
8/20/2012

Customer review by 5kittens4us

5.0 stars 8/20/2012 by 5kittens4us
by 5kittens4us

THIS COMPUTER IS EVERYTHING THAT I COULD EVER WANT. I LOVE IT!

Was this review helpful? (1) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
5kittens4us
Greer, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Received unit w/ optical DVD drive dead on arrival
9/19/2012

Customer review by LonghornDude

1.0 stars 9/19/2012 by LonghornDude
by LonghornDude

That says it all. A refurbished unit.

Was this review helpful? (1) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LonghornDude
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
HP stands for Hello Party!
6/28/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 6/28/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

HP stands for Hello Party! Our favourite company has done it again! The boys and girls at HP give us what we want, in a notebook. Lets face it work is not the only thing we do with our laptop and Pc, that is just the compulsory bit somewhere between 8 and 5. the rest of the time it is just a pain when you want to be entertained but the silly thing just wants to work? Not any more, Hello Party has given us the tool to play and have a good time any time. The stylish new Pavilion dm4-3170se is in town! It is not a want any more it is a need!

An anonymous customer
South Africa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
STYLISH AND SEXY
7/17/2012

Customer review by thejareddy

5.0 stars 7/17/2012 by thejareddy
by thejareddy

Black and red combination is good.It is makes it to look stylish and sexy. And the performance is good. The fringer print reader works perfectly due to wide place in reading.

thejareddy
DMM,IND
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
The Amazing Power-House
7/17/2012

Customer review by RcgHouse

5.0 stars 7/17/2012 by RcgHouse
by RcgHouse

When I heard about this HP beats Edition Notebook’s Specification I understand this is the best suit laptop for me. As I thought it was same. No need to think about more and this is the Laptop need for everybody. I’m very Satisfy with this product. I love this… Pros----- Matt Screen with Higher Resolution Light Weight Quality Sounds Red Backlit Keyboard DVD Drive Cons---- Poor Web cam No light in the front beats logo and HP logo Shortcut keys on the Function buttons Nothing so bad and I’m sure you can show up this laptop proudly when you are with others. Enjoy!

RcgHouse
Kurunegala, LK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
This computer is great!
7/30/2012

Customer review by wdboy

5.0 stars 7/30/2012 by wdboy
by wdboy

I ordered the dm4-3170se Beats Edition for college and have been using it to get used to its features lately and all I have to say is that this computer does everything I need it to. This computer is great it performs very well and is very stylish. I must say I enjoy the red backlight keyboard the most, in the past I've always had to turn a light on to do my work but now I can easily type now. The computer is a nice portable size also, with a 14" screen it is pretty great its not bulky at all and is very light weight. The beats sound is GREAT! I enjoy listening to my music a lot and this computers sound is awesome I really enjoy what beats has done to this computer and how they did it with style. The battery life on this computer is pretty good I can watch movies on this for a good 4 hours without having to plug it in, overall I think this is a great computer and good for someone who likes style and performance all in one.

wdboy
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
1-20 of 27 total reviews
1-20 of 27 reviews